Marathon Petroleum Foundation Inc

Reduce your risk when donating: see where the money actually goes.

Cite this

Plain text Marathon Petroleum Foundation Inc. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2020–2022. https://furp.org/org/marathon-petroleum-foundation-inc-464439930. Retrieved 2026-11-07.

APA furp.org. (n.d.). Marathon Petroleum Foundation Inc [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2020–2022]. Retrieved November 7, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/marathon-petroleum-foundation-inc-464439930

MLA “Marathon Petroleum Foundation Inc.” furp.org, tax years 2020–2022, https://furp.org/org/marathon-petroleum-foundation-inc-464439930. Accessed 7 Nov. 2026.

Retrieved 2026-11-07; covers tax years 2020–2022. Data: furp.org (index © the FURP Alliance; the records are public domain).

2022 · Form 990PF · revenue $1K · expenses $1.3M · assets $0

EIN
46-4439930
Address
539 Main Street, Findlay, OH 45840
NTEE code
T21 Corporate Foundations (Philanthropy, Voluntarism and Grantmaking Foundations) inferred (by a small language model from the name and 990 text, confidence 0.80; not an IRS classification)
FURP topic
abuse: substance · domestic violence · girls boys: boys girls clubs · launch: aviation · launch: space · science: research education · shelter: homeless · space: outer · women: issues (from its 990 text; the topic index)
Exempt type
-
Ruling date
-
Cross-check
ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer

Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).

People paid by the organization

None of the 17 people listed on these returns reported compensation from the organization. They are listed below.

Officers and directors, no compensation reported

17 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.

NameLatest titleYearsHrs/wk (latest)CompensationOrganizations
Nicole Burgy Sec2021-2022 1 $0 reported 1
Ray Brooks Dir2021-2022 1 $0 reported 1
Greg Floerke Dir2020-2022 1 $0 reported 1
Tom Kaczynski Treas, Dir2021-2022 1 $0 reported 1
Fiona Laird Dir, Pres, Chairman2020-2022 1 $0 reported 1
Jodi Baker (former) Sec2020-2021 1 $0 reported 1
Timothy T Griffith (former) Dir2020-2021 1 $0 reported 1
Michael J Hennigan (former) Dir, Chairman2020-2021 1 $0 reported 1
Donald Templin (former) Dir2020-2021 1 $0 reported 1
Raymond Brooks (former) Dir2020 1 $0 reported 1
Gary R Heminger (former) Dir, Chairman2020 1 $0 reported 1
Thomas Kaczynski (former) Treas2020 1 $0 reported 1
Anthony Kenney (former) Dir2020 1 $0 reported 1
Donald Malarky (former) Dir2020 1 $0 reported 1
Dave Sauber (former) Dir2020 1 $0 reported 1
John Swearingen (former) Dir2020 1 $0 reported 1
Karma Thomson (former) Dir, Pres2020 1 $0 reported 1

People by year

2022 · 5 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
Nicole Burgy Sec1 $0-$0 $01
Ray Brooks Dir1 $0-$0 $01
Greg Floerke Dir1 $0-$0 $01
Tom Kaczynski Treas, Dir1 $0-$0 $01
Fiona Laird Dir, Pres, Chairman1 $0-$0 $01
2021 · 9 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
Jodi Baker Sec1 $0-$0 $01
Ray Brooks Dir1 $0-$0 $01
Greg Floerke Dir1 $0-$0 $01
Timothy T Griffith Dir1 $0-$0 $01
Michael J Hennigan Dir, Chairman1 $0-$0 $01
Tom Kaczynski Treas, Dir1 $0-$0 $01
Fiona Laird Dir, Pres, Chairman1 $0-$0 $01
Donald Templin Dir1 $0-$0 $01
Nicole Burgy Sec1 $0-$0 $01
2020 · 14 people listed · none paid
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
Jodi Baker Sec1 $0-$0 $01
Raymond Brooks Dir1 $0-$0 $01
Greg Floerke Dir1 $0-$0 $01
Timothy T Griffith Dir1 $0-$0 $01
Gary R Heminger Dir, Chairman1 $0-$0 $01
Michael J Hennigan Dir, Chairman1 $0-$0 $01
Thomas Kaczynski Treas1 $0-$0 $01
Anthony Kenney Dir1 $0-$0 $01
Fiona Laird Dir, Pres1 $0-$0 $01
Donald Malarky Dir1 $0-$0 $01
Dave Sauber Dir1 $0-$0 $01
John Swearingen Dir1 $0-$0 $01
Donald Templin Dir1 $0-$0 $01
Karma Thomson Dir, Pres1 $0-$0 $01

Highest-paid independent contractors

2021 · 1 contractor · $171K
NameLocationServicePaid
Foundation SourceFairfield, CTAdministrative$171,226
2020 · 1 contractor · $170K
NameLocationServicePaid
Foundation SourceFairfield, CTAdministrative$169,900

Who the money went to

Grants this organization reported paying: Schedule I Part II of the Form 990, or the grants-paid list on the 990-PF. Open a year for every recipient. Recipients link to their own page when the grant names an EIN we have (990-PF grants list no EIN, so those link only on an exact, unique name and state). Grants to individuals are counted; their names are not shown.

2022 · 21 grants to organizations · $1.3M
2021 · 361 grants to organizations · $12.1M
2020 · 174 grants to organizations · $3.6M

Negative amounts are returned or refunded grants; they are listed last and left out of the totals of grants paid.

Who gave

Contributors listed on Schedule B of the Form 990-PF: name, city and state as filed (street addresses are not shown), with total and noncash contributions for the year. A link to an organization's page is tagged Fuzzy with its name-similarity score (0 to 1) when it rests on name and state; Schedule B lists no EIN, so no link here is an exact identifier match.

2020 · 2 contributors · $5.0M
#ContributorTypeCity, stateTotalNoncashSource
1 Marathon Petroleum Corporation Person Findlay, OH $5,000,000- Form 990PF Sch. B, 2020 · filing
2 STC Person Houston, TX $5,000- Form 990PF Sch. B, 2020 · filing

Contributors listed here are as reported on the filing. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.

Finances

Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.

RevenueExpensesAssetsNet assetsContributionsProgram revenueOfficer payEmployeesVolunteers
2022 · Form 990PF period ending 2022-09-15 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$1,249$1,341,211 $0$0 $0- $0--
2021 · Form 990PF period ending 2021-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$161,443$12,325,848 $1,240,962$1,240,962 $0- $0--
2020 · Form 990PF period ending 2020-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$5,101,014$3,750,495 $13,405,367$13,405,367 $5,005,000- $0--

Funders of this organization

1 grantor reported grants to this organization, $8,250 in all, tax years 2021 to 2021. Exact: the grantor wrote this organization's EIN. Fuzzy: the grantor wrote only a name (foundations' 990-PF has no EIN field), matched to the same or a near-identical name in the same state; the name as filed is shown. From the latest return for each grantor and year, so amended returns aren't counted twice. CSV

GrantorTotal givenGrantsLatest year's amountLatest yearYears givenTypeMatchGrants
LOS ANGELES FIRE DEPARTMENT FOUNDATION $8,2501 $8,2502021 2021 Public charity Exact
show

Nearby + Similar BETA

Organizations like this one: what they do and who they are linked to

Same category: NTEE code and revenue

Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (32)

OrganizationStateNTEELatest revenueLatest expensesTop-paid titleTop payWhy similar
MARANATHA FOUNDATION INCWANot reported $653$42,747 PRESIDENT$747 Similar name, revenue within 2x
PETRONIS FOUNDATION INCFLNot reported $250$250 Director$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
PHOENIX MARATHON FOUNDATIONAZNot reported $3,611$12,060 President & CEO$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
PETTY FOUNDATION INCCONot reported $5,128$9,601 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue within 5x
MAREA FOUNDATION INCFLQ32 $6,500$7,505 OFFICER$0 Similar name, revenue within 10x
MARCUM FOUNDATION INCOHT70 $1,147,583$1,956,460 DIRECTOR$128,246 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x, same state
CLIPPER PETROLEUM FOUNDATION INCGAB12 $151,252$194,316 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
MARATHON FOUNDATIONTXT21 $179,127$178,649 EXECUTIVE DI$17,000 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
HOUSTON MARATHON FOUNDATION INCTXT30 $417,366$270,624 Executive Director$22,070 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
Marathon Savings Foundation IncWINot reported $5$4,850 President$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
BIG SUR MARATHON FOUNDATION INCCANot reported $4,565,017$3,934,999 EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR$129,167 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
HARTFORD MARATHON FOUNDATION INCCTN30 $3,032,520$2,845,544 PRESIDENT$148,808 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
PETRA FOUNDATION INCGAP20 $72,889$87,921 DIRECTOR$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
PARENT PETROLEUM FOUNDATIONILT21 $392,515$401,913 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
MAR FOUNDATION INCNYT22 $353,144$746,025 DIRECTOR$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
MARANATHA FOUNDATION INCTXNot reported $47,296$81,884 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
MARANATHA FOUNDATION INCCTL41 $270,264$579,969 CHAIRPERSON$10,000 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
MARANATHA FOUNDATION INCPAT90 $527,435$81,270 TREASURER$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
MARC FOUNDATION INCNYT60 $88,879$97,722 President$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
MARASEK FOUNDATION INCTXT22 $1,346,238$545,644 President$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
MARH FOUNDATION INCFLT20 $1,438,112$159,857 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
WYOMING PETROLEUM FOUNDATIONWYC35 $327,364$222 EX-OFFICIO MEMBER$304,985 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
MARES FOUNDATION INCCAL25 $29,660$28,218 Director$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
ANCHORAGE PETROLEUM WOMENS FOUNDATION INCAKS81 $45,077$34,322 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x
PETRO FAMILY FOUNDATION INCFLT20 $52,795$45,920 PRESIDENT$0 Similar name, revenue differs more than 10x

Who funds organizations like this

Grantors that funded the 32 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).

GrantorTotal givenGrantsOrganizations fundedTypeYearsWhich ones
PERMIAN BASIN AREA FOUNDATION $146,6266 1DAF sponsor2016–2023 MARATHON FOUNDATION
GREATER HARTFORD GIVES FOUNDATION $132,8007 1DAF sponsor2016–2024 HARTFORD MARATHON FOUNDATION INC
VANGUARD CHARITABLE ENDOWMENT PROGRAM $60,6804 2DAF sponsor2020–2024 MARCUM FOUNDATION INC; HARTFORD MARATHON FOUNDATION INC
FIDELITY INVESTMENTS CHARITABLE GIFT FUND $30,1223 2DAF sponsor2018–2020 HARTFORD MARATHON FOUNDATION INC; MARCUM FOUNDATION INC
COMMUNITY FOUNDATION FOR MONTEREY COUNTY $28,0002 1DAF sponsor2015–2016 BIG SUR MARATHON FOUNDATION INC
AMERICAN ENDOWMENT FOUNDATION $20,0002 1DAF sponsor2022–2023 MARATHON FOUNDATION
WILLIAM AND ALICE MORTENSEN FOUNDATION $15,0003 1Private foundation2023–2025 HARTFORD MARATHON FOUNDATION INC
NATIONAL PHILANTHROPIC TR $15,0001 1DAF sponsor2024–2024 MARCUM FOUNDATION INC
JAMES HYDE PORTER TESTAMENTARY $15,0003 1Private foundation2013–2015 PETRA FOUNDATION INC
HIGHLAND PARK FAMILIES FOUNDAITON $10,0004 1Private foundation2022–2025 HARTFORD MARATHON FOUNDATION INC
FORGOOD INC $6,2501 1DAF sponsor2020–2020 KIDS MARATHON FOUNDATION
AMERICAN ONLINE GIVING FOUNDATION INC $5,2811 1DAF sponsor2020–2020 BIG SUR MARATHON FOUNDATION INC
DONOR ADVISED CHARITABLE GIVING $5,0001 1DAF sponsor2020–2020 MARES FOUNDATION INC
FARMERS AND MERCHANTS BANK FOUNDATION $5,0001 1Private foundation2024–2024 MARES FOUNDATION INC
SHELL USA COMPANY FOUNDATION $1,6382 1Private foundation2023–2024 HOUSTON MARATHON FOUNDATION INC

The full list · all similar organizations

Where the money went

Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.

2022 · Form 990PF · $1,341,211 spent · pay $0 · grants $1,297,870 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $1,297,870 96.8%
Other expenses $43,341 3.2%
Total$1,341,211100%

View the filing

2021 · Form 990PF · $12,325,848 spent · pay $0 · grants $12,119,796 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $12,119,796 98.3%
Other expenses $171,426 1.4%
Fees: other professional $33,726 0.3%
Taxes $900 0.0%
Total$12,325,848100%

View the filing

2020 · Form 990PF · $3,750,495 spent · pay $0 · grants $3,552,659 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalShare
Contributions, gifts, grants paid $3,552,659 94.7%
Other expenses $170,917 4.6%
Fees: other professional $26,019 0.7%
Taxes $900 0.0%
Total$3,750,495100%

View the filing

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.