CLARK R SMITH FAMILY FOUNDATION
Reduce your risk when donating: see where the money actually goes.
Cite this
Plain text CLARK R SMITH FAMILY FOUNDATION. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2016–2024. https://furp.org/org/clark-r-smith-family-foundation-222757313. Retrieved 2026-11-06.
APA furp.org. (n.d.). CLARK R SMITH FAMILY FOUNDATION [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2016–2024]. Retrieved November 6, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/clark-r-smith-family-foundation-222757313
MLA “CLARK R SMITH FAMILY FOUNDATION.” furp.org, tax years 2016–2024, https://furp.org/org/clark-r-smith-family-foundation-222757313. Accessed 6 Nov. 2026.
Retrieved 2026-11-06; covers tax years 2016–2024. Data: furp.org, CC BY 4.0.
2024 · Form 990PF · revenue $1.4M · expenses $1.8M · assets $15.7M
- Also known as
- C/O HEMENWAY & BARNES LLP
- EIN
- 22-2757313
- Address
- 75 STATE STREET, BOSTON, MA 02109-1827
- NTEE code
- T22 Private Independent Foundations (Philanthropy, Voluntarism and Grantmaking Foundations) inferred (by a small language model from the name and 990 text, confidence 0.60; not an IRS classification)
- FURP topic
- science: research education · shelter: homeless (from its 990 text; the topic index)
- Exempt type
- 501(c)(3): charitable, religious, educational, scientific or literary (trust)
- Ruling date
- February 1987 (when the IRS recognized its exemption)
- IRS status
- Exempt (unconditional) (IRS Business Master File) IRS data ↗
- Tax-deductible donations
- Yes: listed in IRS Publication 78 (private foundation) Pub 78 ↗
- Foundation status
- Private non-operating foundation
- Cross-check
- ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).
People paid by the organization
None of the 4 people listed on these returns reported compensation from the organization. They are listed below.
Officers and directors, no compensation reported
4 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.
| Name | Latest title | Years | Hrs/wk (latest) | Compensation | Organizations |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Carlton Smith | TRUSTEE | 2016-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 2 |
| Owen Smith | TRUSTEE | 2016-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Trina Smith | TRUSTEE | 2016-2024 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
| Emma Greene For Boa Us Trust Institution (former) | Trustee | 2016-2019 | 1 | $0 reported | 1 |
People by year
2024 · 3 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CARLTON SMITH | TRUSTEE | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| OWEN SMITH | TRUSTEE | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| TRINA SMITH | TRUSTEE | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2023 · 3 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CARLTON SMITH | TRUSTEE | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| OWEN SMITH | TRUSTEE | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| TRINA SMITH | TRUSTEE | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2022 · 3 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Carlton Smith | Trustee | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Owen Smith | Trustee | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Trina Smith | Trustee | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2021 · 3 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Carlton Smith | Trustee | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Owen Smith | Trustee | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Trina Smith | Trustee | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2020 · 3 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Carlton Smith | Trustee | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Owen Smith | Trustee | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Trina Smith | Trustee | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2019 · 4 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Carlton Smith | Trustee | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Owen Smith | Trustee | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Trina Smith | Trustee | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| EMMA GREENE FOR BOA US TRUST Institution | Trustee | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2018 · 4 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Carlton Smith | Trustee | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Owen Smith | Trustee | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Trina Smith | Trustee | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Emma Greene for boa us trust Institution | Trustee | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2017 · 4 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Carlton Smith | Trustee | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Owen Smith | Trustee | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Trina Smith | Trustee | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Emma Greene for BOA US Trust Institution | Trustee | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2016 · 4 people listed · none paid
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Emma Greene for BOA US Trust Institution | Trustee | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Carlton Smith | Trustee | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 2 |
| Owen Smith | Trustee | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| Trina Smith | Trustee | 1 | $0 | - | $0 | $0 | 1 |
Highest-paid independent contractors
2024 · 1 contractor · $110K
| Name | Location | Service | Paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| BANK OF AMERICA TRUST OPERATIONS | DALLAS, TX | INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT | $109,605 |
2023 · 1 contractor · $140K
| Name | Location | Service | Paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| BANK OF AMERICA - US TRUST | BOSTON, MA | INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT | $139,620 |
2022 · 1 contractor · $109K
| Name | Location | Service | Paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| BANK OF AMERICA US Trust | BOSTON, MA | Investment MGMT | $109,009 |
2021 · 1 contractor · $122K
| Name | Location | Service | Paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bank of America US TRUST | BOSTON, MA | INVESTMENT MGMT | $122,124 |
2020 · 1 contractor · $107K
| Name | Location | Service | Paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| BANK OF AMERICA US TRUST | BOSTON, MA | Investment Mgmt | $106,887 |
2019 · 1 contractor · $157K
| Name | Location | Service | Paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| BANK OF AMERICA US TRUST | BOSTON, MA | Investment Mgmt | $157,078 |
2018 · 2 contractors · $229K
| Name | Location | Service | Paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| BANK OF AMERICA US TRUST | BOSTON, MA | Investment mgmt | $177,698 |
| Foundation Source | Fairfield, CT | Administrative | $51,075 |
2017 · 1 contractor · $172K
| Name | Location | Service | Paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bank of America US Trust | BOSTON, MA | Investment MGMT | $172,405 |
2016 · 1 contractor · $157K
| Name | Location | Service | Paid |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bank of America US Trust | BOSTON, MA | Investment Mgmt | $157,357 |
Who the money went to
Grants this organization reported paying: Schedule I Part II of the Form 990, or the grants-paid list on the 990-PF. Open a year for every recipient. Recipients link to their own page when the grant names an EIN we have (990-PF grants list no EIN, so those link only on an exact, unique name and state). Grants to individuals are counted; their names are not shown.
2024 · 42 grants to organizations · $1.6M
2023 · 37 grants to organizations · $1.4M
2022 · 35 grants to organizations · $1.5M
2021 · 41 grants to organizations · $1.4M
2020 · 37 grants to organizations · $925K
2019 · 34 grants to organizations · $850K
2018 · 37 grants to organizations · $880K
2017 · 27 grants to organizations · $854K
2016 · 20 grants to organizations · $820K
Negative amounts are returned or refunded grants; they are listed last and left out of the totals of grants paid.
Who gave
No contributors are listed on Schedule B in the e-filed returns we have for this organization.
Finances
Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.
| Revenue | Expenses | Assets | Net assets | Contributions | Program revenue | Officer pay | Employees | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2024 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $1,429,366 | $1,786,565 | $15,690,524 | $15,690,524 | - | - | $0 | - | - |
| 2023 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $902,583 | $1,647,893 | $16,047,723 | $16,047,723 | - | - | $0 | - | - |
| 2022 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $1,384,055 | $1,670,205 | $17,251,021 | $17,251,021 | $0 | - | $0 | - | - |
| 2021 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $4,026,285 | $1,625,675 | $17,537,171 | $17,537,171 | $0 | - | $0 | - | - |
| 2020 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $665,375 | $1,091,254 | $15,136,561 | $15,136,561 | $0 | - | $0 | - | - |
| 2019 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $1,043,905 | $1,065,446 | $15,562,359 | $15,562,359 | $0 | - | $0 | - | - |
| 2018 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $1,549,328 | $1,127,908 | $15,583,900 | $15,583,900 | $0 | - | $0 | - | - |
| 2017 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $1,470,247 | $1,095,647 | $15,162,480 | $15,162,480 | $0 | - | $0 | - | - |
| 2016 · Form 990PF | ||||||||
| $635,266 | $1,022,651 | $14,787,880 | $14,787,880 | $0 | - | $0 | - | - |
Connected to
Organizations that list some of the same people on their returns (officers, directors, key employees on this organization’s latest return), and related organizations it lists on Schedule R.
- THEDA AND TAMBLIN CLARK SMITH FAMILY FOUNDATION INC Neenah, WI · 1 person in common (Carlton Smith)
Funders of this organization
Not reported: no grants to this organization appear in the filings we have (tax years 2010 to 2025).
Nearby + Similar BETA
Organizations like this one: what they do and who they are linked to
Same category: NTEE code and revenue
Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (100)
| Organization | State | NTEE | Latest revenue | Latest expenses | Top-paid title | Top pay | Why similar |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SAAB FAMILY FOUNDATION | MA | B82 | $1,226,328 | $1,056,250 | TRUSTEE, CHAIR, TREASURER | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x, same state |
| SMITH FAMILY FOUNDATION | NV | T20 | $1,534,544 | $294,849 | TRUSTEE | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| CLARKE FAMILY FOUNDATION | TX | T22 | $1,231,293 | $1,686,371 | VICE PRESIDENT/SECRETARY | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| ORIN SMITH FAMILY FOUNDATION | WA | T20 | $1,728,140 | $1,600,377 | DIRECTOR | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| CLAUSEN FAMILY FOUNDATION | CA | Not reported | $939,661 | $661,968 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| R C SMITH FOUNDATION INC | NY | T22 | $861,888 | $1,036,996 | ADMINISTRATOR | $64,200 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| SS FAMILY FOUNDATION | WA | T20 | $1,871,612 | $5,045,409 | DIRECTOR | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| RAO FAMILY FOUNDATION | DE | T22 | $1,304,922 | $269,060 | Dir, Treas | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| CDL FAMILY FOUNDATION | PA | P20 | $1,138,946 | $1,758,596 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| RJS FAMILY FOUNDATION | KS | T20 | $1,917,358 | $473,546 | TRUSTEE | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| CLAYBOURN FAMILY FOUNDATION | OK | P20 | $2,004,009 | $3,814 | DIRECTOR | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| FOX FAMILY FOUNDATION | CO | A12 | $961,320 | $1,231,390 | DIRECTOR | $6,821 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| SHAW FAMILY FOUNDATION | PA | T22 | $1,294,846 | $1,347,098 | DIRECTOR/PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| COIT FAMILY FOUNDATION | CA | T20 | $1,246,728 | $2,355,263 | DIRECTOR, PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| RUVO FAMILY FOUNDATION | NV | T20 | $1,240,887 | $632,466 | President | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| CAHN FAMILY FOUNDATION | LA | Not reported | $1,041,797 | $696,282 | DIRECTOR | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| SUNA FAMILY FOUNDATION | NY | T20 | $967,488 | $1,104,241 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| ROSS FAMILY FOUNDATION | MO | T22 | $2,515,901 | $4,487,367 | TRUSTEE | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| COOK FAMILY FOUNDATION | TX | T22 | $780,000 | $83,385 | Director | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| C R SMITH MUSEUM FOUNDATION | TX | A50 | $2,120,951 | $3,613,578 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| SILLS FAMILY FOUNDATION | VT | Not reported | $1,446,711 | $1,593,753 | Secretary | $89,803 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| SVANE FAMILY FOUNDATION | CA | T20 | $1,398,861 | $1,759,238 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| SCOUT FAMILY FOUNDATION | SC | T22 | $1,746,172 | $0 | Director | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| SLICK FAMILY FOUNDATION | NC | T20 | $1,753,837 | $1,271,514 | Vice President/Director | $152,269 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
| RUSTON FAMILY FOUNDATION | WA | T23 | $1,148,332 | $19,047 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Similar name, revenue within 2x |
Who funds organizations like this
Grantors that funded the 100 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).
The full list · all similar organizations
Where the money went
Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.
2024 · Form 990PF · $1,786,565 spent · pay $0 · grants $1,611,000 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $1,611,000 | 90.2% | |
| Fees: other professional | $126,978 | 7.1% | |
| Fees: accounting | $22,276 | 1.2% | |
| Taxes | $15,878 | 0.9% | |
| Other expenses | $10,247 | 0.6% | |
| Fees: legal | $186 | 0.0% | |
| Total | $1,786,565 | 100% |
2023 · Form 990PF · $1,647,893 spent · pay $0 · grants $1,441,500 · events $1,999
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $1,441,500 | 87.5% | |
| Fees: accounting | $147,620 | 9.0% | |
| Taxes | $29,100 | 1.8% | |
| Other expenses | $27,674 | 1.7% | |
| Travel, conferences and meetings | $1,999 | 0.1% | |
| Total | $1,647,893 | 100% |
2022 · Form 990PF · $1,670,205 spent · pay $0 · grants $1,476,500 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $1,476,500 | 88.4% | |
| Fees: other professional | $138,804 | 8.3% | |
| Other expenses | $36,146 | 2.2% | |
| Taxes | $18,755 | 1.1% | |
| Total | $1,670,205 | 100% |
2021 · Form 990PF · $1,625,675 spent · pay $0 · grants $1,403,630 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $1,403,630 | 86.3% | |
| Fees: other professional | $135,322 | 8.3% | |
| Other expenses | $43,749 | 2.7% | |
| Taxes | $36,850 | 2.3% | |
| Fees: legal | $6,124 | 0.4% | |
| Total | $1,625,675 | 100% |
2020 · Form 990PF · $1,091,254 spent · pay $0 · grants $925,000 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $925,000 | 84.8% | |
| Fees: other professional | $125,887 | 11.5% | |
| Other expenses | $35,567 | 3.3% | |
| Taxes | $4,800 | 0.4% | |
| Total | $1,091,254 | 100% |
2019 · Form 990PF · $1,065,446 spent · pay $0 · grants $850,000 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $850,000 | 79.8% | |
| Fees: other professional | $157,078 | 14.7% | |
| Other expenses | $50,768 | 4.8% | |
| Taxes | $7,600 | 0.7% | |
| Total | $1,065,446 | 100% |
2018 · Form 990PF · $1,127,908 spent · pay $0 · grants $880,000 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $880,000 | 78.0% | |
| Fees: other professional | $177,698 | 15.8% | |
| Other expenses | $52,210 | 4.6% | |
| Taxes | $18,000 | 1.6% | |
| Total | $1,127,908 | 100% |
2017 · Form 990PF · $1,095,647 spent · pay $0 · grants $854,000 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $854,000 | 77.9% | |
| Fees: other professional | $172,405 | 15.7% | |
| Other expenses | $50,042 | 4.6% | |
| Taxes | $19,200 | 1.8% | |
| Total | $1,095,647 | 100% |
2016 · Form 990PF · $1,022,651 spent · pay $0 · grants $820,000 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Share |
|---|---|---|---|
| Contributions, gifts, grants paid | $820,000 | 80.2% | |
| Fees: other professional | $157,357 | 15.4% | |
| Other expenses | $34,444 | 3.4% | |
| Taxes | $9,600 | 0.9% | |
| Fees: legal | $1,250 | 0.1% | |
| Total | $1,022,651 | 100% |
Comments