FURP.ORG / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

BONE HEALTH AND OSTEOPOROSIS FOUNDATION: Form 990, tax year 2013

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
BONE HEALTH AND OSTEOPOROSIS FOUNDATION (EIN 36-3350532)
Tax period
2013-01-01 to 2013-12-31
Filed
2014-07-22
IRS object ID
201422039349300002
Schema version
2013v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2014-07-22T04:36:35-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2013-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN521511275PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Raffa PCBusinessNameLine1

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11899 L Street NW Suite 900AddressLine1
CityWashingtonCity
StateDCState
ZIP Code20036ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2013-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN363350532EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1National Osteoporosis FoundationBusinessNameLine1
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlNATIBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2022232226PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11150 17th Street NW No 850AddressLine1
CityWashingtonCity
StateDCState
ZIP Code20036ZIPCode

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonAmy PorterPersonNm
Person TitleExecutive Director/CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone2022232226PhoneNum
Signature2014-07-22SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonFrank H SmithPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00639053PTIN
Phone2028225000PhoneNum
Preparation2014-07-22PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2013TaxYr
Build TS2015-11-30 17:44:51ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJudy BlackPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11150 17th Street NW No 850AddressLine1
CityWashingtonCity
StateDCState
ZIP Code20036ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$5,639,727GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.nof.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1984FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMOLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTo prevent osteoporosis and improve the lives of those affected by the disease.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body22VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent22VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee24TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers28TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$2,932,324PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$2,103,896CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$362,944PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$888,895CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$177,559PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$258,700CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$318,715PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$294,318CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$3,791,542PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$3,545,809CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,960,699PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$2,230,571CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$6,837PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$6,979CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,129,414CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$2,685,269PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$2,042,025CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$4,652,805PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$4,279,575CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$861,263PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$733,766CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$5,644,249TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$4,477,050TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$1,528,861TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$929,659TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$4,115,388NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$3,547,391NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionNational Osteoporosis Foundation (the Foundation) is the leading health organization dedicated to preventing osteoporosis and broken bones, promoting strong bones for life and reducing human suffering through programs of public and clinician awareness, education, advocacy and research.Established in 1984, NOF is the nation's only health organization solely dedicated to osteoporosis and bone health.Osteoporosis is a major public health threat for an estimated 54 million Americans. Studies show that one in two women and up to one in four men over age 50 will break a bone due to osteoporosis in their lifetime. NOF works to improve patient care and support for those who have broken bones due to osteoporosis and to educate the public to prevent osteoporosis and broken bones and promote strong bones for life.In order to accomplish its mission, NOF accepts support from a wide breadth of diversified sources, including individuals, foundations, government sources and corporations.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$912,133ExpenseAmt
Revenue$245,683RevenueAmt
DescNational Bone Health Alliance - In 2011, the Foundation launched the National Bone Health Alliance (NBHA), a public-private partnership that brings together the expertise and resources of 55 participating organizations to collectively promote bone health and prevent disease; improve diagnosis and treatment of bone disease; and enhance bone research surveillance and evaluation. In 2013, NBHA welcomed 3 new members.NBHA is advocating for the widespread implementation of the fracture liaison service (FLS) model of secondary fracture prevention in a number of health care settings and has a number of complementary efforts to support this goal. FLS programs coordinate post-fracture care through a FLS coordinator (a nurse, nurse practitioner, physician assistant or other healthcare professional) who ensures that individuals who suffer a fracture receive appropriate diagnosis, treatment and support.To help spread the implementation of FLS programs, NBHA launched Fracture Prevention CENTRAL (www.FracturePreventionCENTRAL.org) in March 2013, which provides tools to healthcare professionals, health insurers, Accountable Care Organizations, hospitals and other sites interested in implementing this model of care. By the end of 2013, over 1,900 individuals had registered to access these materials. Included in the resources are case studies, best practices and business plans and a series of six webinars available for on demand viewing. Further, in December 2013, NBHA launched demonstration study that will provide participating hospitals with the FLS model of care in a cloud-based platform to assess the hospitals' adoption and implementation of a FLS across their communities and measuring the impact on patient care.NBHA's public and health professional awareness campaign, 2Million2Many, launched in April 2012, highlights the connection between fractures and osteoporosis and the two million bone breaks each year that are no accident but signs of osteoporosis. The centerpiece of the campaign is Cast Mountain, a thought-provoking 12-foot tall by 12-foot wide installation that represents the 5,500 bone breaks due to osteoporosis that occur in the U.S. every day. The campaign encourages individuals 50 and older who break a bone to ask their healthcare professional for an osteoporosis test and gets people thinking about their bone health. Cast Mountain has traveled to several events across the country and the campaign has been featured in online and print stories through national media outreach activities. The 2Million2Many public service announcements and other materials can be accessed at www.2Million2Many.org.As part of an effort to address the short comings in using biochemical markers as tools in clinical practice, NBHA is executing a series of related projects built on the recommendations of the International Osteoporosis Foundation (IOF)/International Federation of Clinical Chemistry and Laboratory Medicine (IFCC) Bone Marker Standards Working Group position paper published in Osteoporosis International in 2011 regarding the use and utility of bone turnover markers in clinical practice. As a first step, the Project Team published a position paper in July 2012 that outlined the challenges to widespread use of bone turnover markers and described the bone turnover standardization project, which aims to give clinician's confidence in their use of bone turnover markers to help monitor osteoporosis treatment and assess future fracture risk for their patients. These efforts include the standardization of U.S. bone marker sample collection procedures, establishment of a U.S. reference range for these bone turnover markers, and a drug holiday study. These activities will allow clinicians to have confidence in their use of bone turnover markers to help monitor osteoporosis treatment and assess future fracture risk.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$866,620ExpenseAmt
Revenue$554,363RevenueAmt
DescProfessional education - The Foundation's Education department provides evidence-based information, education, services and initiatives to healthcare professionals through various activities and channels. These efforts are designed to help healthcare professionals make informed decisions about the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of osteoporosis.In 2013, the Foundation planned and implemented the 2013 International Symposium on Osteoporosis (ISO13). ISO13 took place in Chicago, IL from April 18-21, included an internationally recognized faculty and was certified for continuing education credit for physicians, nurses, nurse practitioners and physical therapists. More than 400 professionals participated in the conference. In conjunction with the conference, the two of the Foundation's advisory councils held pre-conference dinner symposia for attendees and community members. These symposia were hosted by the Nursing Advisory Council and the Exercise and Rehabilitation Advisory Council and attracted a total of 180 participants. The Foundation also produced four issues of its professional newsletter, Osteoporosis: Clinical Updates, providing continuing education credit for health care professionals on topics relevant to clinical practice. An online CME activity, planned in partnership with Medscape, concluded in December. As a result of its application for ACCME reaccreditation, the Foundation was awarded Accreditation with Commendation for a period of 6 years. During 2013, a total of 21 activities were offered, reaching a total of 6,878 healthcare professionals.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$354,863ExpenseAmt
Revenue$46,193RevenueAmt
DescPatient education - The Foundation's Education department provides patients and caregivers with the latest information on osteoporosis prevention, treatment and detection by providing updated information on the NOF.org website. Additionally, NOF sponsors patient support groups across the country and provides educational information and resources for distribution at consumer events. NOF's online patient support community has grown dramatically over the past year with more than 17,000 participating members offering peer-to-peer support and advice to one another.NOF has appointed one of its volunteer support group leaders to serve as the Foundation's National Support Group Leader. This important volunteer position is responsible for initiating contact with prospective support group leaders and providing information and peer-to-peer support as the new group gets established. New support groups are now required to have a medical advisor and at least five founding members to affiliate with the Foundation to improve the quality of information disseminated through the support groups and give new groups a better chance at succeeding.NOF currently reaches over 100,000 unique monthly visitors on its website - www.nof.org - and thousands more have connected with the organization via its social media platforms on Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn. The Foundation's website is its most valuable channel for communicating directly with the osteoporosis patients, caregivers and the general public. The site features easy-to-navigate and practical information on how to live with osteoporosis and low-bone mass, learn more about the prevention and treatment of the disease and ways to connect with the Foundation and others through the online community and support groups.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp (4 entries)

ExpenseExpenseAmtDescDesc
$248,760Communications
$83,194Membership
$41,665Research
$15,068Public policy
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$388,687TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$2,522,303TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (1)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingYes (1)ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (1)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document27IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee24EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members22GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member22IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldALStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldAKStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldARStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldAZStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCOStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCTStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldFLStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldGAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldHIStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldILStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldKSStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldKYStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMEStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMDStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMIStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMNStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMSStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMOStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNHStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNJStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNMStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNYStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNCStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNDStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldOHStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldOKStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldORStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldPAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldRIStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldSCStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldTNStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldUTStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldVAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldWAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldWVStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldWIStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Own WebsiteYes (X)OwnWebsiteInd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDeAnn ShafferPersonNm
Phone2022232226PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11150 17th Street NW Suite 850AddressLine1
CityWashingtonCity
StateDCState
ZIP Code20036ZIPCode

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (37 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Robert R Recker MD
President & Acting chair5.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
The Honorable Daniel A Mica
Chair- until 04/20135.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robert F Gagel MD
VP & Acting Treasurer5.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
L Scott Scharer
Treasurer - until 11/20135.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ann C Miller MD
Secretary5.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
William Ashton
Member - until 04/20135.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Douglas C Bauer MD
Member5.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ther Honorable Shelley Berkley
Member5.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Judy A Black
Member5.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Felicia Cosman MD
Member5.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Richard Dell MD
Member5.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Deborah T Gold PhD
Member - until 04/20135.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Susan Greenspan
Member5.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Judith P Hulka APR
Member5.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Karl Isogna MD
Member5.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Franmarie Kennedy
Member - until 04/20135.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
David L Kim
Member5.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Joan Lappe PhD
Member5.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Berdon Lawrence
Member5.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Meryl S LeBoff MD
Member5.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Barbara Levin
Member5.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
E Michael Lewiecki MD FACP FACE
Member5.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robert Lindsay MD PhD
Member - until 04/20135.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kenneth G Saag MD
Member5.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Carol Saline
Member - until 04/20135.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Gail Sheehy
Member5.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ethel S Siris MD
Member5.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Heidi Skolnik MS CDN FACSM
Member5.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Connie M Weaver PhD
Member5.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Amy Porter
Executive Director/CEO40.00Yes (X)$267,192$0$9,869
DeAnn Shaffer
Director of Finance40.00Yes (X)$99,699$0$7,250
David B Lee
Director, NBHA40.00$163,660$0$9,028Yes (X)
Claire Gill
Director of Marketing40.00$174,604$0$6,506Yes (X)
Susan Randall
Director of Education & Science40.00$126,324$0$10,469Yes (X)
Gary Barbarash
Dir. of Operations - until 08/201340.00$117,934$0$4,735Yes (X)
Debra Erikson
Director of Development Operations40.00$100,633$0$6,945Yes (X)
Valerie Patmintra
Dir. of Comm. - until 08/201340.00$100,633$0$752Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,150,679TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$55,554TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K7IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityStateContractorAddress/USAddress/StateZIP CodeContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCodeServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Haines and Company Inc
8050 Freedom Ave NWNorth CantonOH44720Direct mailing$267,133
Medscape
825 Eigth Ave 11th FloorNew YorkNY10019Consulting$157,000
GSW Worldwide
PO Box 505214St LouisMO63150Public relations$104,230
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K3CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Federated Campaigns$10,342FederatedCampaignsAmt
Membership Dues$60,203MembershipDuesAmt
Fundraising$34,598FundraisingAmt
All Other Contributions$1,998,753AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$10,453NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$2,103,896TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Symposium/ISO 2013900099$575,634$531,884$43,750
Contract revenue900099$245,683$245,683
Education consulting900099$38,883$38,883
Subscriptions/reprints900099$27,378$27,378
Clinician Guide App900099$1,317$1,317
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$888,895TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$80,207TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$80,207ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$288,373TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$288,373ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,238,555SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,060,062SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$178,493SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$178,493TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$178,493ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$24,000FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$34,598ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$33,805FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$9,805TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$9,805ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$1,145GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$51CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,094TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,094RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
List rental income900099$11,478$11,478
Miscellaneous900099$3,178$3,178
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$14,656OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,545,809TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$846,239RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$595,674ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$737,808TotalAmt
Program Services$426,992ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$148,307ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$162,509FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,247,045TotalAmt
Program Services$751,157ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$56,639ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$439,249FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$33,196TotalAmt
Program Services$20,672ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,146ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$11,378FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$65,217TotalAmt
Program Services$37,447ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,076ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$21,694FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$147,305TotalAmt
Program Services$87,415ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$15,002ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$44,888FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$29,944TotalAmt
Program Services$17,849ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$8,700ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$3,395FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$41,309TotalAmt
Program Services$24,624ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$12,001ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$4,684FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,979TotalAmt
Fundraising$6,979FundraisingAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$19,372TotalAmt
Management And General$16,372ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$3,000FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$458,873TotalAmt
Program Services$283,693ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$112,797ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$62,383FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$300TotalAmt
Program Services$300ProgramServicesAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$218,828TotalAmt
Program Services$155,896ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$15,381ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$47,551FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$121,375TotalAmt
Program Services$71,758ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$26,939ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$22,678FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$320,738TotalAmt
Program Services$144,516ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$99,129ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$77,093FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$57,252TotalAmt
Program Services$45,855ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,000ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$7,397FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$347,249TotalAmt
Program Services$284,136ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$22,150ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$40,963FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,573TotalAmt
Program Services$6,780ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,463ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,330FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$156,826TotalAmt
Program Services$70,487ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$48,568ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$37,771FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$35,980TotalAmt
Program Services$17,195ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$10,567ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$8,218FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescDirect mailDesc
Total$222,406TotalAmt
Program Services$75,531ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$21,621ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$125,254FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,279,575TotalAmt
Program Services$2,522,303ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$627,858ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,129,414FundraisingAmt

Total Joint Costs TotalJointCostsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$229,385TotalAmt
Program Services$75,531ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$21,621ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$132,233FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$250BOYAmt
EOY$250EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,024,314BOYAmt
EOY$1,091,620EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$405,315BOYAmt
EOY$658,408EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$61,542BOYAmt
EOY$39,384EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$124,652BOYAmt
EOY$130,668EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$139,851BOYAmt
EOY$123,250EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$704,554LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$620,871LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$236,219BOYAmt
EOY$83,683EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,652,106BOYAmt
EOY$2,349,787EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,644,249BOYAmt
EOY$4,477,050EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$597,156BOYAmt
EOY$191,188EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,196BOYAmt
EOY$216,245EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$850,000BOYAmt
EOY$475,000EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$59,509BOYAmt
EOY$47,226EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,528,861BOYAmt
EOY$929,659EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,317,108BOYAmt
EOY$2,664,054EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$618,268BOYAmt
EOY$703,325EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$180,012BOYAmt
EOY$180,012EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,115,388BOYAmt
EOY$3,547,391EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,644,249BOYAmt
EOY$4,477,050EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$733,766ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$165,769NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,870,158CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$3,170,954CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$3,297,233CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,932,324CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,103,896CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$14,374,565TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,870,158CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$3,170,954CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$3,297,233CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,932,324CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,103,896CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$14,374,565TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$3,663,885SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$10,710,680PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$469,733CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$503,775CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$461,014CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$509,916CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$380,058CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$2,324,496TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$15,467CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,475CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$638CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$35,240CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$3,178CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$55,998TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$16,755,059TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$4,534,501GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.63930PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.68030PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part IV Form990ScheduleAPartIVGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule A, Part II, Line 10, Explanation of Other Income:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationMiscellaneous - 2009 Amount: $ 15,467. 2010 Amount: $ 1,475. 2011 Amount: $ 638. 2012 Amount: $ 35,240. 2013 Amount: $ 3,178.ExplanationTxt

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

Total Grassroots Lobbying TotalGrassrootsLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$0FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Total Direct Lobbying TotalDirectLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$0FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Total Lobbying Expend TotalLobbyingExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$0FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Other Exempt Purpose Expend OtherExemptPurposeExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$4,272,597FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Total Exempt Purpose Expend TotalExemptPurposeExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$4,272,597FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Lobbying Nontaxable Amount LobbyingNontaxableAmountGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$363,630FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Grassroots Nontaxable GrassrootsNontaxableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$90,908FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Tot Lbbyng Grassroot Mns Non Tx TotLbbyngGrassrootMnsNonTxGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$0FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Tot Lbby Expend Mns Lbbyng Non Tx TotLbbyExpendMnsLbbyngNonTxGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Filing Organizations Total$0FilingOrganizationsTotalAmt

Avg Lobbying Nontaxable Amount AvgLobbyingNontaxableAmountGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Year Minus3$385,295CurrentYearMinus3Amt
Current Year Minus2$465,058CurrentYearMinus2Amt
Current Year Minus1$382,298CurrentYearMinus1Amt
Current Year$363,630CurrentYearAmt
Total$1,596,281TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Lobbying Ceiling$2,394,422LobbyingCeilingAmt

Avg Total Lobbying Expend AvgTotalLobbyingExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Year Minus3$141,977CurrentYearMinus3Amt
Current Year Minus2$59,473CurrentYearMinus2Amt
Total$201,450TotalAmt

Avg Grassroots Nontaxable AvgGrassrootsNontaxableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Year Minus3$96,324CurrentYearMinus3Amt
Current Year Minus2$116,265CurrentYearMinus2Amt
Current Year Minus1$95,575CurrentYearMinus1Amt
Current Year$90,908CurrentYearAmt
Total$399,072TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grassroots Ceiling$598,608GrassrootsCeilingAmt

Avg Grassroots Lobbying Expend AvgGrassrootsLobbyingExpendGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Year Minus3$15,461CurrentYearMinus3Amt
Current Year Minus2$59,473CurrentYearMinus2Amt
Total$74,934TotalAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$191,163BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$3,313InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$194,476EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$180,012BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$11,151InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$191,163EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$180,012BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$8,474InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$8,474OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$180,012EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$180,012BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$5,753InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$5,753OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$180,012EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$180,012BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$271InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$271GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$180,012EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.00000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.92560PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.07440TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$130,822OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$118,806DepreciationAmt
Book Value$12,016BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$573,732OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$502,065DepreciationAmt
Book Value$71,667BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$83,683TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescDeferred rentDesc
Amt$47,226Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$47,226TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$3,746,279TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$165,769NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$20,217DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Other Revenue$33,856OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$219,842RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$3,526,437RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$19,372InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$19,372RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$3,545,809TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$4,314,276TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$20,217DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Other Expenses Included$33,856OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$54,073ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$4,260,203ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$19,372InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$19,372ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$4,279,575TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part V, Line 4:The Shou Mei Hu - Cecelia Wu Kojima Fund totaled $80,012 and the restricted income is for medical and scientific research related to the prevention, cure, and/or treatment of osteoporosis. The Dr. Burton Spiller Fund for Bone Health Research totaled $100,000 and the restricted income is for medical research regarding bone health and bone research grants.
Part X, Line 2:The Foundation performed an evaluation of uncertain tax positions for the year ended December 31, 2013, and determined that there were no matters that would require recognition in the financial statements or that may have any effect on its tax-exempt status.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Cost of goods sold 51. Special event expenses 33,805.
Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Cost of goods sold 51. Special event expenses 33,805.

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Mail SolicitationsYes (X)MailSolicitationsInd
Agrmt Prof Fundraising ActyYes (1)AgrmtProfFundraisingActyInd

Fundraiser Activity Info FundraiserActivityInfoGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonHaines and Company IncPersonNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 2117AddressLine1
CityNorth CantonCity
StateOHState
ZIP Code44720ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ActivityDirect Mail ProgramActivityTxt
Fundraiser Control Of Funds0FundraiserControlOfFundsInd
Gross Receipts$461,344GrossReceiptsAmt
Retained By Contractor$6,979RetainedByContractorAmt
Net To Organization$231,959NetToOrganizationAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Gross Receipts$461,344TotalGrossReceiptsAmt
Total Retained By Contractors$6,979TotalRetainedByContractorsAmt
Total Net To Organization$231,959TotalNetToOrganizationAmt
Licensed StatesALLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesAKLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesAZLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesARLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesCALicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesCOLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesCTLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesDCLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesFLLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesGALicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesHILicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesIDLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesILLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesINLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesIALicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesKSLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesKYLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesLALicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesMELicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesMDLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesMALicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesMILicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesMSLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesMOLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesMTLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesNHLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesNJLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesNMLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesNYLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesMNLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesNCLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesNDLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesOHLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesOKLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesORLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesPALicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesRILicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesSCLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesTNLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesTXLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesUTLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesVTLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesVALicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesWALicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesWVLicensedStatesCd
Licensed StatesWILicensedStatesCd

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Name Of Event1Mothers to Daughter LuncheonNameOfEvent1Amt
Gross Receipts Event1$58,598GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$34,598CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$24,000GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Food And Beverage Event1$17,814FoodAndBeverageEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$15,991OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Gross Receipts Total$58,598GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$34,598CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$24,000GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Food And Beverage Total Events$17,814FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$15,991OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$33,805DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary-$9,805NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationIn the contract with Haines and Company, Inc., work performed out of the scope of fundraising counsel services are approved by NOF before they are performed and paid. During the year ended 12/31/2013, $222,406 was paid to Haines and Company, Inc. for production and mailing of public awareness materials and is included in Part IX, 24 (b), (c) & (d).ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Idemnification Gross Up PmtsYes (X)IdemnificationGrossUpPmtsInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentYes (1)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (3 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Amy Porter
Executive Director/CEO$242,050$0$0$0$25,142$0$7,448$0$2,421$0$277,061$0$0$0
David B Lee
Director, NBHA$163,660$0$0$0$0$0$3,323$0$5,705$0$172,688$0$0$0
Claire Gill
Director of Marketing$174,604$0$0$0$0$0$4,760$0$1,746$0$181,110$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 1bDuring 2010, the Board voted and approved to provide additional retirement benefits for the Executive Director/CEO, Amy Porter. As these benefits exceeded the amount allowed under the plan, the Board provided the excess amount as a cash reimbursement which included a gross-up for tax imdemnification.
Part I, Line 4aDuring the year ended December 31, 2013 Gary Barbarash, Director of Operations, and Valerie Patmintra, Director of Communications, each received severance payments of $30,000 and $25,385, respectively.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11The Director of Finance and the Senior Accountant, as well as the Executive Director/CEO, review the federal Form 990 as prepared by Raffa, P.C. to determine if the information presented in the federal Form 990 is in agreement with information originally provided to Raffa, P.C. The Foundation and Raffa, P.C. discuss issues, if any. Before the federal Form 990 is filed with the Internal Revenue Service, Board members are notified that the completed federal Form 990 is available for their review.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cThe Board annually reviews the conflict of interest policy and discloses any potential conflict of interest. Senior Staff, officers and highly compensated employees are asked to sign a Conflict of Interest Disclosure Statement. The signed documents are reviewed by the Executive Director/CEO and kept by the Director of Finance. The COI Policy is always taken into consideration when there is the potential for conflict, particularly when signing new contracts or beginning new relationships. Any possible appearance of conflict of interest that arises in the course of business is researched to determine the existence of a conflict. If a contract is to be made with a related party, it is disclosed to the Board and a vote is taken. If the Foundation's staff members identify a conflict of interest, the Foundation's Executive Director/CEO and its Director of Operations share this information with the Executive Committee of the Board for its action.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15Compensation surveys for employees in similar positions with similar responsibilities in the not-for-profit industry are used as benchmarks for determining compensation of officers and key employees. The compensation for the Executive Director/CEO is decided by the Board privately. Each year, prior to the meeting when the compensation decision is made, the Chairman of the Board reviews comparable salaries in the not-for-profit industry and sends out a performance review to each Board Member to use in evaluating the Executive Director/CEO's performance.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The Foundation's governing documents and conflict of interest policy are not made public as the Foundation believes these are proprietary in nature. The Foundation's financial statements and federal Form 990 are made available to the public on the Foundation's web site.
Form 990, Part IX, line 11gComputer support: Program service expenses 283,693. Management and general expenses 112,797. Fundraising expenses 62,383. Total expenses 458,873.