FURP.ORG / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

ASHEVILLE SCHOOL INCORPORATED: Form 990, tax year 2018

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
ASHEVILLE SCHOOL INCORPORATED (EIN 56-0530248)
Tax period
2018-07-01 to 2019-06-30
Filed
2020-01-16
IRS object ID
202040169349300219
Schema version
2018v3.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2020-01-16T15:23:16-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2019-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN561391615PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CRAWLEY LEE & COMPANY PABusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 5595AddressLine1Txt
CityASHEVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP288135595ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2018-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN560530248EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ASHEVILLE SCHOOL INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlASHEBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8282546345PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1360 ASHEVILLE SCHOOL ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityASHEVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP28806ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonROBERT MCARTHURPersonNm
Person TitleASSISTANT TREASURERPersonTitleTxt
Phone8282546345PhoneNum
Signature2020-01-09SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonJAMES A LEE CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00548231PTIN
Phone8282745524PhoneNum
Preparation2020-01-14PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address72.250.236.102IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2020-01-16IPDt
IP Tm15:23:16IPTm
IP TimezoneCSIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device Id12AFE51CE6C28436B70305FC435DEFAB720CEA90AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id02E8C0BD08FD009FE9E87756E1BCE0F9FA7E6AF7AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2018TaxYr
Build TS2020-09-23 17:36:50ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerDR ANTHONY H SGROPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1360 ASHEVILLE SCHOOL ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityASHEVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP28806ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$39,789,069GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.ASHEVILLESCHOOL.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1900FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNCLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO PREPARE OUR STUDENTS FOR COLLEGE AND FOR LIFE AND TO PROVIDE AN ATMOSPHERE IN WHICH ALL MEMBERS OF A DIVERSE, ENGAGED, AND PURPOSEFULLY SMALL SCHOOL COMMUNITY APPRECIATE AND STRIVE FOR EXCELLENCE - AN ATMOSPHERE THAT NURTURES CHARACTER AND FOSTERS THE DEVELOPMENT OF MIND, BODY, AND SPIRIT.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body22VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent22VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee140TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers82TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$6,156,795PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$3,950,756CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$14,798,475PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$15,556,160CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$9,388,280PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$3,011,602CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$142,195PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$187,969CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$30,485,745PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$22,706,487CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$2,635,259PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$2,680,585CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$8,580,983PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$8,978,212CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,098,149CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$7,371,645PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$6,680,608CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$18,587,887PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$18,339,405CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$11,897,858PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$4,367,082CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$91,211,374TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$96,169,776TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$10,314,477TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$9,718,703TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$80,896,897NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$86,451,073NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionTO PREPARE OUR STUDENTS FOR COLLEGE AND FOR LIFE AND TO PROVIDE AN ATMOSPHERE IN WHICH ALL MEMBERS OF A DIVERSE, ENGAGED, AND PURPOSEFULLY SMALL SCHOOL COMMUNITY APPRECIATE AND STRIVE FOR EXCELLENCE - AN ATMOSPHERE THAT NURTURES CHARACTER AND FOSTERS THE DEVELOPMENT OF MIND, BODY, AND SPIRIT.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$13,018,206ExpenseAmt
Grant$2,680,585GrantAmt
Revenue$15,556,160RevenueAmt
DescASHEVILLE SCHOOL INCORPORATED IS A COLLEGE PREPARATORY SCHOOL FOR STUDENTS IN GRADES NINE THROUGH TWELVE. STUDENTS REPRESENT NINETEEN U.S. STATES AND TWELVE FOREIGN COUNTRIES. TWENTY-EIGHT PERCENT OF STUDENTS RECEIVE FINANCIAL AID FROM THE SCHOOL. ONE HUNDRED PERCENT OF STUDENTS IN THE CLASS OF 2019 ARE ATTENDING COLLEGE AFTER GRADUATION.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$13,018,206TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (true)CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (true)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (true)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsYes (true)MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (true)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt BondsfalseInvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (true)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (true)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document36IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee140EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members22GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member22IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherfalseCompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonROBERT MCARTHURPersonNm
Phone8282546345PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1360 ASHEVILLE SCHOOL ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityASHEVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP28806ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (28 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
WALTER G COX JR
CHAIR4.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANN CRAVER
CO-VICE CHAI1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
DR GREGORY K MORRIS
CO-VICE CHAI1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARSHALL T BASSETT
TREASURER1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
DR AUDREY ALLEYNE
EX-OFFICIO P1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
HAYWOOD COCHRANE
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
THOMAS E CONE
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ELISABETH P EWING
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DR JOSE' A GONZALEZ
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARY ROBINSON HERVIG
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEAN GRAHAM KELLER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RICHARD J KELLY
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
NISHANT N MEHTA
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
J ALLEN NIVENS JR
EX-OFFICIO A1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LARA NOLLETTI
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LAURANCE D PLESS
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
OLIVER G PRINCE JR
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ARTHUR H ROGERS III
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
THOMAS H SHORES JR
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID M STOVER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MORGAN MISHNER WARTH
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN W WILLINGHAM
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ARCHIBALD MONTGOMERY
SECRETARY50.00Yes (X)$213,148$0$80,042
ROBERT MCARTHUR
ASSISTANT TR50.00Yes (X)$179,495$0$28,686
DEBRA ALY
ASSISTANT SE40.00Yes (X)$74,421$0$14,627
DR ANTHONY H SGRO
HEAD OF SCHOYes (X)$0$0$0
JACK BONNER
ASSOC HEAD O50.00$144,746$0$24,344Yes (X)
MARY ELIZABETH MARTIN
ASST HEAD OF50.00$107,933$0$24,980Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$719,743TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$172,679TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K4IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
BARRINGER CONSTRUCTION LLC
4020 OLD PINEVILLE ROADCHARLOTTENC28217CONTRUCTION$3,195,498
ARAMARK CORP
131 S DEARBORN 6TH FLOORCHICAGOIL60603FOOD SERVICE$1,260,548
SERVICE MASTER PROFESSIONAL BLDG
PO BOX 600CANDLERNC28715CLEANING$281,686
RLC SERVICE GROUP INC
103 SOUTH BEAR CREEK ROADASHEVILLENC28806CONSTRUCTION$268,686
ACS BENEFITS SERVICES INC
PO BOX 2000WINSTONSALEMNC27102BENEFIT ADMIN$234,686
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K5CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
All Other Contributions$3,950,756AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$363,149NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$3,950,756TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescTUITION AND FEESDesc
Business611710BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$15,556,160TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$15,556,160ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$15,556,160TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,081,028TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,081,028ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$74,357RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$74,357RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$74,357TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$74,357ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$18,895,953SecuritiesAmt
Other$50,950OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$16,996,591SecuritiesAmt
Other$19,738OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,899,362SecuritiesAmt
Other$31,212OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,930,574TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$31,212RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$1,899,362ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$79,995GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$66,253CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$13,742TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$13,742RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
OTHER611710$92,739$92,739
CHG IN SPLIT-INT AGREEMENT611710$7,131$7,131
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$99,870OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$22,706,487TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$144,824RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$18,610,907ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,606,285TotalAmt
Program Services$2,606,285ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$74,300TotalAmt
Program Services$74,300ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$766,765TotalAmt
Management And General$601,010ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$165,755FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,865,159TotalAmt
Program Services$3,979,059ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,537,468ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$348,632FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$484,868TotalAmt
Program Services$356,998ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$82,324ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$45,546FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,386,417TotalAmt
Program Services$855,131ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$486,562ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$44,724FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$475,003TotalAmt
Program Services$290,037ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$147,963ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$37,003FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$16,505TotalAmt
Management And General$16,505ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$42,051TotalAmt
Management And General$42,051ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$478,179TotalAmt
Program Services$337,520ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$96,719ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$43,940FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$142,464TotalAmt
Management And General$55,683ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$86,781FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$157,563TotalAmt
Program Services$48,023ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$87,323ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$22,217FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$307,575TotalAmt
Program Services$330ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$307,245ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$838,845TotalAmt
Program Services$733,125ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$70,717ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$35,003FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$241,632TotalAmt
Program Services$123,697ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$62,701ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$55,234FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$64,620TotalAmt
Program Services$62,645ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,975ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$162,737TotalAmt
Management And General$162,737ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,673,413TotalAmt
Program Services$1,557,015ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$72,216ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$44,182FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$138,337TotalAmt
Program Services$109,054ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$21,645ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$7,638FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
MEALS AND ENTERTAINMENT$1,087,752$1,019,205$33,201$35,346
SUPPLIES$411,622$335,760$45,981$29,881
SUMMER SCHOOL EXPENSES-OT$243,293$243,293
DUES MEMBERSHIPS SUBSCRIP$182,786$62,943$73,702$46,141

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$491,234TotalAmt
Program Services$223,786ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$217,322ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$50,126FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$18,339,405TotalAmt
Program Services$13,018,206ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,223,050ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,098,149FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,600BOYAmt
EOY$2,500EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,781,496BOYAmt
EOY$10,144,227EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,250,297BOYAmt
EOY$4,403,141EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$630,711BOYAmt
EOY$366,427EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$44,156BOYAmt
EOY$47,824EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$167,162BOYAmt
EOY$284,138EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$48,634,215LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$24,183,950LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,659,966BOYAmt
EOY$24,450,265EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$51,710,111BOYAmt
EOY$54,716,821EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$79,019BOYAmt
EOY$69,989EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,885,856BOYAmt
EOY$1,684,444EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$91,211,374BOYAmt
EOY$96,169,776EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,315,527BOYAmt
EOY$902,095EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,204,441BOYAmt
EOY$3,191,882EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,260,000BOYAmt
EOY$4,730,000EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$16,711EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$125,000BOYAmt
EOY$614,541EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$409,509BOYAmt
EOY$263,474EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,314,477BOYAmt
EOY$9,718,703EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,453,753BOYAmt
EOY$38,337,887EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,731,218BOYAmt
EOY$11,460,644EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,711,926BOYAmt
EOY$36,652,542EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$80,896,897BOYAmt
EOY$86,451,073EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$91,211,374BOYAmt
EOY$96,169,776EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$4,367,082ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$1,202,204NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$15,110OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee EtcfalseAgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (true)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$52,339,711BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$957,846ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$4,219,387InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$676,399GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures-$1,650,707OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$55,189,838EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$52,759,607BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$3,028,824ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,293,667InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships-$703,848GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures-$4,038,539OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$52,339,711EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$49,189,496BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,568,840ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$3,753,409InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships-$696,560GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures-$1,055,578OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$52,759,607EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$49,208,537BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,279,846ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,396,728InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships-$662,743GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures-$3,032,872OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$49,189,496EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$49,867,585BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,584,257ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$140,519InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships-$596,194GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures-$1,506,592OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$49,208,537EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.21000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.66000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.13000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgYes (true)EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$332,421OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$332,421BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$42,523,392OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$19,373,460DepreciationAmt
Book Value$23,149,932BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,625,473OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,717,435DepreciationAmt
Book Value$908,038BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,152,929OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,093,055DepreciationAmt
Book Value$59,874BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$24,450,265TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
ANNUITY PAYABLE$177,944
LEASE OBLIGATION$85,530
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$263,474TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$20,969,703TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$1,202,204NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$1,202,204RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$19,767,499RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$2,938,988OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$2,938,988RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$22,706,487TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$15,415,527TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Subtotal$15,415,527ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$2,923,878OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$2,923,878ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$18,339,405TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 2, PART IV, LINE 2BFUNDS HELD FOR STUDENTS
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 2, PART V, LINE 4THE SCHOOL'S ENDOWMENT FUNDS ARE USED TO SUPPLEMENT INSTRUCTIONAL AND FINANCIAL AID EXPENSES.
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 3, PART XTHE SCHOOL'S POLICY IS TO EVALUATE ALL TAX POSITIONS AND TO CONSULT WITH EXPERTS TO IDENTIFY THOSE THAT MAY BE CONSIDERED UNCERTAIN. ALL IDENTIFIED MATERIAL TAX POSITIONS WILL BE ASSESSED AND MEASURED BY A REASONABLY POSSIBLE THRESHOLD TO DETERMINE IF THE BENEFIT OF AN UNCERTAIN TAX POSITION SHOULD BE RECOGNIZED IN THE PERIOD THE CHANGE OCCURS. THE SCHOOL'S FEDERAL RETURNS OF ORGANIZATION EXEMPT FROM INCOME TAX (FORM 990) FOR 2018, 2017, AND 2016 ARE SUBJECT TO EXAMINATION BY THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE, GENERALLY FOR THREE YEARS AFTER THEY WERE FILED.
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XI, LINE 4BSUMMER OPERATIONS EXPENSE NETTED ON FINANCIAL STATEMENT 243,293 CHANGE IN SPLIT INTEREST AGREEMENTS 15,110 FINANCIAL AID INCLUDED ON STATEMENT OF FUNCTIONAL EXPENSES 2,680,585
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 4BSUMMER OPERATIONS EXPENSES NETTED ON FINANCIAL STATEMENT 243,293 FINANCIAL AID INCLUDED ON STATEMENT OF FUNCTIONAL EXPENSES 2,680,585

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (true)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (true)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (true)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (true)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (true)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (true)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (true)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts RghtsfalseDiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm FcultyfalseDiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race SchsfalseDiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of FcltsfalseDiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt ProgfalseDiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other ActyfalseDiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid RvkdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (true)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE E, LINE 3FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationADS IN NEWSPAPER AND IN SCHOOL LITERATUREExplanationTxt

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Foreign Individuals Grants ForeignIndividualsGrantsGrp (3 entries)

Type Of AssistanceTypeOfAssistanceTxtRegionRegionTxtRecipientRecipientCntNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmtDescription Of Non Cash AsstDescriptionOfNonCashAsstTxtValuation Method UsedValuationMethodUsedDesc
SCHOLARSHIPS/FINANCIAL AINORTH AMERICA - MEXICO1$24,650FINANCIAL AIDBOOK
SCHOLARSHIPS/FINANCIAL AICENTRAL AMERICA & THE CARIBBEAN1$27,650FINANCIAL AIDBOOK
SCHOLARSHIPS/FINANCIAL AIMIDDLE EAST N. AFRICA3$22,000FINANCIAL AIDBOOK
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transfer To Foreign CorpfalseTransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign TrustfalseInterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipfalseForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CofalsePassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipfalseForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott CountriesfalseBoycottCountriesInd

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeSCHOLARSHIPS/FINANCIAL AIGrantTypeTxt
Recipient85RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$2,606,285CashGrantAmt
Valuation Method UsedN/AValuationMethodUsedDesc
Non Cash AssistanceN/ANonCashAssistanceDesc

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE I, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationASHEVILLE SCHOOL TRACKS DISTRIBUTIONS FROM THE FUNDS THAT ARE SPECIFICALLY RESTRICTED FOR A DESIGNATED PURPOSE AND COMPARES IT TO FUNDS AWARDED TO STUDENTS TO ENSURE THERE ARE NO VIOLATIONS OF DONOR INTENT. A SPREADSHEET IS ALSO KEPT DETAILING EACH STUDENT TO RECEIVE A SCHOLARSHIP, ALONG WITH GRADE AND AMOUNT AWARDED.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Discretionary Spending AcctYes (X)DiscretionarySpendingAcctInd
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (3 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
ARCHIBALD MONTGOMERY
SECRETARY$213,148$72,985$8,269$293,190
ROBERT MCARTHUR
ASSISTANT TREASURER$179,495$18,500$10,613$208,181
JACK BONNER
ASSOC HEAD OF SCHOOL$144,746$14,767$10,675$169,090

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE J, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 4FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationARCHIBALD MONTGOMERY 0 51,500 0ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NC CAPITAL FACILITIES FINANCE AGENCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN561592154BondIssuerEIN
Bond Issued2014-10-16BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$7,185,000IssuePriceAmt
PurposeCAPITAL EXPENDITURESPurposeDesc
DefeasedYes (true)DefeasedInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool FinancingfalsePoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Bond Defeased$530,000BondDefeasedAmt
Total Proceeds$7,185,000TotalProceedsAmt
Issuance Costs From Proceeds$112,885IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
Capital Expenditures$7,072,115CapitalExpendituresAmt
Substantial Completion2004SubstantialCompletionYr
Refunding Tax Exempt BondsYes (true)RefundingTaxExemptBondsInd
Refunding Taxable BondsfalseRefundingTaxableBondsInd
Final Allocation MadeYes (true)FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (true)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed PropertyfalseOwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease ArrangementsfalseAnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropfalseMgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Any Research AgreementsfalseAnyResearchAgreementsInd
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestYes (true)BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed PropfalseChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdfalseProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T FiledfalseForm8038TFiledInd
Rebate Not Due YetfalseRebateNotDueYetInd
Exception To RebatefalseExceptionToRebateInd
No Rebate DuefalseNoRebateDueInd
Variable Rate IssuefalseVariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And RecfalseHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GICfalseGrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds InvestedfalseGrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor ReqsfalseWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective ActionfalseProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (2 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionAmtTransactionTransactionDescSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd
MARGARET RUCH FRELINGHUYSEN
PART V$42,150WAGESfalse
SUNTRUST BANK
PART V$15,043PROFESSIONAL FEESfalse

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE L, PART VFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationPART IV, LINE (1), COLUMN (B): MARGARET RUCH FRELINGHUYSEN IS THE DAUGHTER OF TREY RUCH. MR. RUCH IS A PAST BOARD MEMBER AND CURRENLTY SERVES ON THE INVESTMENT COMMITTEE. PART IV, LINE (2), COLUMN (B): ANN CRAVER IS THE CO-VICE CHAIR OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. HER SPOUSE IS ON THE REGIONAL BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF SUNTRUST BANK.ExplanationTxt

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution24ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$363,149NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be HeldfalseAnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (true)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedfalseThirdPartiesUsedInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990 - ORGANIZATION'S MISSIONTO PREPARE OUR STUDENTS FOR COLLEGE AND FOR LIFE AND TO PROVIDE AN ATMOSPHERE IN WHICH ALL MEMBERS OF A DIVERSE, ENGAGED, AND PURPOSEFULLY SMALL SCHOOL COMMUNITY APPRECIATE AND STRIVE FOR EXCELLENCE - AN ATMOSPHERE THAT NURTURES CHARACTER AND FOSTERS THE DEVELOPMENT OF MIND, BODY, AND SPIRIT.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 11BTHE FORM 990 IS PREPARED BY INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTANTS, REVIEWED BY THE AUDIT COMMITTEE, AND THEN REVIEWED BY THE ENTIRE BOARD OF TRUSTEES PRIOR TO FILING.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 12CIN THE EVENT THERE SHOULD ARISE AN ACTUAL OR POTENTIAL CONFLICT BETWEEN THE INTEREST OF THE SCHOOL AND THE INTEREST OF THE TRUSTEE OR MEMBER OF THE ADMINISTRATION, THEN THE TRUSTEE OR MEMBER OF THE ADMINISTRATION INVOLVED MUST DISCLOSE THE EXISTENCE OF THE CONFLICT OR POSSIBLE CONFLICT TO THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES AND TO THE HEAD OF SCHOOL.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15ACOMPENSATION OF OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES IS DETERMINED BY THE HEAD OF SCHOOL. USING BENCHMARK DATA FROM THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF INDEPENDENT SCHOOLS (NAIS) AND OTHER SIMILAR SCHOOLS' FORM 990, THE COMPENSATION OF THE HEAD OF THE SCHOOL IS REVIEWED BY THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE WITH COMPARABILITY DATA BUT WITHOUT SUBSTANTIATION OF DELIBERATION AND DECISION.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 19THE SCHOOL MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC VIA THE OFFICE OF THE ASSISTANT HEAD OF SCHOOL FOR OPERATIONS. A PUBLIC INSPECTION COPY OF FORM 990 IS ALSO AVAILABE AT GUIDESTAR.ORG.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9SUMMER OPERATIONS NETTED IN REVENUES ON FINANCIAL 103,481 FINANCIAL AID INCLUDED ON STMT OF FUNCTIONAL EXPEN 2,680,585 FINANCIAL AID INCLUDED ON STATEMENT OF FUNCTIONAL -2,680,585 CHANGE IN SPLIT INTEREST AGREEMENTS -15,110 SUMMER OPERATIONS NETTED IN REVENUES ON FINANCIAL -103,481 TOTAL -15,110