HARLEM ACADEMY: Form 990, tax year 2020

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
HARLEM ACADEMY (EIN 56-2454573)
Tax period
2020-07-01 to 2021-06-30
Filed
2022-05-06
IRS object ID
202221269349303127
Schema version
2020v4.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-05-06T14:42:01-07:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN134036703PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SCHALL & ASHENFARB CPAS LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1307 FIFTH AVE 15TH FLAddressLine1Txt
CityNEW YORKCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP10016ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2020-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN562454573EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Harlem AcademyBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlHARLBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2123482600PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1655 St Nicholas AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityNew YorkCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP10030ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonVincent DotoliPersonNm
Person TitleHead of SchoolPersonTitleTxt
Signature2022-05-06SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstVincentPersonFirstNm
Person LastDotoliPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonMichael SchallPreparerPersonNm
PTINP02024184PTIN
Phone2122682800PhoneNum

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer3TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
Federated Assurance LevelFAL1FederatedAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2020TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address ChangeYes (X)AddressChangeInd
Principal OfficerVincent DotoliPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1655 St Nicholas AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityNew YorkCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP10030ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$12,918,363GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.harlemacademy.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation2004FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNYLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionHarlem Academy drives equity of opportunity for promising children, guiding them to thrive at the highest academic levels and one day make a mark on the world.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body23VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent22VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee40TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers300TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$9,458,804PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$12,546,947CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$423,725PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$362,850CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$16,975PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$8,566CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$9,899,504PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$12,918,363CYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$2,845,131PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$2,400,126CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$526,350CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$1,087,332PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$1,078,376CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$3,932,463PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$3,478,502CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$5,967,041PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$9,439,861CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$26,005,690TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$36,968,972TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$770,223TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$2,025,450TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$25,235,467NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$34,943,522NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionHarlem Academy drives equity of opportunity for promising children, guiding them to thrive at the highest academic levels and one day make a mark on the world.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$2,600,223ExpenseAmt
Revenue$362,850RevenueAmt
DescOverview.Harlem Academy drives equity of opportunity for promising students, guiding them to thrive at the highest academic levels and one day make a mark on the world.Commitment to low-income children.Harlem Academy provides a full-need scholarship to every attending student. The school is committed to a meritocracy where hard work drives the opportunity to realize potential and where no family is ever turned away for an inability to pay.Transformational growth.Harlem Academy admits promising children and supports them in cultivating their talents. Students gain a tremendous 16 points during their time at Harlem Academy, on average entering at the 74th percentile and graduating at the 90th percentile.Nationally, a promising, low-income student starting first grade at the 72nd percentile (a similar profile to our students) will lose 13 points by eighth grade, dropping to the 59th percentile.Secondary school success.For the fifth consecutive year, 100% of Harlem Academy eighth graders matriculated at selective secondary schools. Among them, 79% percent moved on to independent day and boarding schools with full-need scholarships, including Fieldston, Riverdale, and Trinity.College success.Over the past four years, 94% of Harlem Academy graduates enrolled in four-year colleges, compared to the national average of 51%. Harlem Academy students are currently enrolled at Carnegie Mellon, Cornell, Dartmouth, Hamilton Howard, New York University, Princeton, Tufts, Wesleyan, and Yale with a college persistence rate of 98%.Providing a model education.Harlem Academy is dedicated to sharing successful strategies to extend its impact beyond its walls. The school has published eight articles in national education journals, reaching hundreds of thousands of educators and school leaders.Top rating from GuideStar and Charity Navigator.Harlem Academy receiveda four-star rating from Charity Navigator for financial management, accountability, and transparency, as well asGuideStars platinum rating for measuring progress and sharing results, highlighting the schools continued commitment to use gifts effectively toward advancing the mission.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$2,600,223TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (true)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesfalseReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (true)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document18IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee40EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Form8282 Filed0Form8282FiledCnt
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Form8899 FiledindfalseForm8899Filedind
Form1098 C FiledfalseForm1098CFiledInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members23GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member22IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (true)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherfalseCompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Own WebsiteYes (X)OwnWebsiteInd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonLeonard SmithPersonNm
Phone2123482600PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1655 St Nicholas AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityNew YorkCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP10030ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (26 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmt
Vincent Dotoli
Head of School40.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$177,996$0$13,898
Leonard Smith
Finance Director40.000.00$148,311$0$5,118
LaShonda Davis
Assistant Head40.000.00$144,011$0$632
Vanessa Scanfeld
Strategy Director40.000.00$121,599$0$3,684
David B Peterson
Board Chair20.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
John Belizaire
Secretary5.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Will Cook
Treasurer5.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Tony Asnes
Trustee5.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Elizabeth McHenry
Trustee5.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Thomas Klein
Trustee5.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Avi Banyasz
Trustee5.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
W Graham Cole Jr
Trustee5.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mary Ganzenmuller
Trustee5.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Doug Griebel
Trustee5.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dale Hemmerdinger
Trustee5.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Valarie A Hing
Trustee5.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Richard Schaps
Trustee5.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ann MacRae
Trustee5.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rodney Pope
Trustee5.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Tom Reycraft
Trustee5.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Joshua Easterly
Trustee5.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Hillary Thomas
Trustee5.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rob Harteveldt
Trustee5.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Alan Washington
Trustee5.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Betsy Michel
Trustee5.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Hank Prybylski
Trustee5.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$591,917TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$23,332TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K4IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K0CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$554,598GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$11,992,349AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$12,546,947TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescProgram income and feesDesc
Business611600BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$362,850TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$362,850RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$362,850TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$8,566TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$8,566ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$0OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$12,918,363TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$362,850RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$8,566ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$213,872TotalAmt
Program Services$106,936ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$53,468ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$53,468FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,833,496TotalAmt
Program Services$1,403,027ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$158,248ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$272,221FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$29,764TotalAmt
Program Services$23,812ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,748ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$4,204FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$168,130TotalAmt
Program Services$128,956ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$13,413ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$25,761FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$154,864TotalAmt
Program Services$116,787ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$13,625ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$24,452FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$50,743TotalAmt
Program Services$11,630ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$28,676ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$10,437FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$99,517TotalAmt
Program Services$9,407ProgramServicesAmt
Fundraising$90,110FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,630TotalAmt
Program Services$7,630ProgramServicesAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$466,855TotalAmt
Program Services$429,133ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$9,550ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$28,172FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$12,043TotalAmt
Program Services$11,070ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$246ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$727FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$62,490TotalAmt
Program Services$58,303ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$940ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$3,247FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Education$175,129$175,129
Other Expense$42,408$30,759$11,649
Printing and Publications$32,573$32,573
Bad Debt Expense$30,299$30,299

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$98,689TotalAmt
Program Services$85,830ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$10,957ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,902FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,478,502TotalAmt
Program Services$2,600,223ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$351,929ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$526,350FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,137,395BOYAmt
EOY$3,000,418EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,054,941BOYAmt
EOY$6,482,048EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,911,136BOYAmt
EOY$2,799,786EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$54,648BOYAmt
EOY$44,785EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$55,171BOYAmt
EOY$37,354EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$25,293,353LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$691,122LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,694,970BOYAmt
EOY$24,602,231EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$97,429BOYAmt
EOY$2,350EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,005,690BOYAmt
EOY$36,968,972EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$255,211BOYAmt
EOY$1,529,786EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,581BOYAmt
EOY$44,111EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$486,431BOYAmt
EOY$451,553EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$770,223BOYAmt
EOY$2,025,450EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,178,037BOYAmt
EOY$27,968,735EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,057,430BOYAmt
EOY$6,974,787EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$25,235,467BOYAmt
EOY$34,943,522EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,005,690BOYAmt
EOY$36,968,972EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$9,439,861ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$268,194DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$142,992BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$500,000ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$520InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$643,512EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$142,283BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$709InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$142,992EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$141,575BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$708InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$142,283EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$140,871BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$704InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$141,575EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$140,194BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$677InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$140,871EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY1.00000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd
Related Org List Sch RfalseRelatedOrgListSchRInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$9,855,832InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$9,855,832BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$14,736,831InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$14,736,831BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$450,103InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$450,103DepreciationAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$250,587InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$241,019DepreciationAmt
Book Value$9,568BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$24,602,231TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$13,204,716TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$286,353DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Revenue Not Reported$286,353RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$12,918,363RevenueSubtotalAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$12,918,363TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$3,496,661TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$18,159DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Expenses Not Reported$18,159ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$3,478,502ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$3,478,502TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart X : FIN48 FootnoteFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe Academy does not believe its financial statements include any material uncertain tax positions. Tax filings for periods ending June 30, 2018 and later are subject to examination by applicable taxing authorities.ExplanationTxt

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (true)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (true)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (true)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (true)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (true)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (true)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (true)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts RghtsfalseDiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm FcultyfalseDiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race SchsfalseDiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of FcltsfalseDiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt ProgfalseDiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other ActyfalseDiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (true)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid RvkdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (true)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule E, Line 3 - Racially Nondiscriminatory Policy PublicizedOur nondiscriminatory policy is published on all admissions materials distributed to the general community, in addition to specific family inquiries.
Schedule E, Line 4 - Explanation of Records and Materials Not Maintained
Schedule E, Line 5 - Explanation of Organization Discrimination by Race
Schedule E, Line 6 - Explanation of Aid or Assistance from Governmental AgencyThe school receives funding from two New York agencies. These funds are used to provide food to students and support other activites of the school.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (2 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Leonard Smith
Finance Director$148,311$4,486$632$153,429
Vincent Dotoli
Head of School$177,996$5,376$8,522$191,894

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Line 2: Description of Business or Family Relationship of Officers, Directors, EtFather-daughter relationship exists among two trustees.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b: Form 990 Review ProcessA draft 990, which is prepared by the auditors, is first reviewed by the Finance Director before being presented for review to the Audit committee. Any edits resulting from committee review are made and the draft is presented to the entire board for final review prior to filing.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c: Explanation of Monitoring and Enforcement of ConflictsThe organization has a board approved conflicts of interest policy. Prior to appointment or hiring, each board member, senior staff member, and other board committee member must sign a declaration statement affirming they have (1) received a copy of the policy, (2) read and understand the policy, and (3) agree to comply with the policy. Each year, they sign an annual declaration stating they were in compliance of such policy for the preceding year and agree to comply with the policy for the upcoming year.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15a: Compensation Review & Approval Process - CEO, Top ManagementThe board determines and votes on the Head of School's compensation package based off the combination of market research, financial health of the organization, and evaluation of individual performance. This process occurs during the September board meeting and the final compensation package is communicated to the Finance Director by the Board Chair to be effective immediately, and retroactive back to the beginning of the current employee contract period.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15b: Compensation Review and Approval Process for Officers and Key EmployeesThe board determines and votes on the Head of School's compensation package based off the combination of market research, financial health of the organization, and evaluation of individual performance. This process occurs during the fall board meeting and the final compensation package is communicated to the Finance Director by the Finance Committee to be effective immediately, and retroactive back to the beginning of the current employee contract period.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 19: Other Organization Documents Publicly AvailableGoverning documents and conflict of interest policy are made available upon request. Financial statements and information are made available to the public through our website, as well as nonprofit websites such as Guidestar and Charity Navigator.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.