ALMA BONITA ANIMAL RESCUE
Reduce your risk when donating: see where the money actually goes.
Cite this
Plain text ALMA BONITA ANIMAL RESCUE. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2023–2025. https://furp.org/org/alma-bonita-animal-rescue-841779286. Retrieved 2026-11-07.
APA furp.org. (n.d.). ALMA BONITA ANIMAL RESCUE [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2023–2025]. Retrieved November 7, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/alma-bonita-animal-rescue-841779286
MLA “ALMA BONITA ANIMAL RESCUE.” furp.org, tax years 2023–2025, https://furp.org/org/alma-bonita-animal-rescue-841779286. Accessed 7 Nov. 2026.
Retrieved 2026-11-07; covers tax years 2023–2025. Data: furp.org (index © the FURP Alliance; the records are public domain).
2025 · Form 990 · revenue $148K · expenses $180K · assets $132K
- EIN
- 84-1779286
- Address
- 5970 LITTLE UVAS RD, MORGAN HILL, CA 95037-9155
- Website
- www.almabonitaanimalrescue.org
- NTEE code
- D20 Animal Protection and Welfare (Animal-Related) published (IRS Business Master File)
- Exempt type
- 501(c)(3): charitable, religious, educational, scientific or literary (corporation)
- Ruling date
- October 2019 (when the IRS recognized its exemption)
- IRS status
- Exempt (unconditional) (IRS Business Master File) IRS data ↗
- Tax-deductible donations
- Yes: listed in IRS Publication 78 (public charity) Pub 78 ↗
- Foundation status
- Public charity, 509(a)(2)
- Principal officer
- Sheila Murphy (its 2022 Form 990-N)
- Form 990-N e-postcards
- 1 filed, 2022 (organizations with gross receipts normally $50,000 or less file this instead of a full Form 990) IRS data ↗
- Cross-check
- ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer
Mission
The specific purpose of the Corporation shall include, without limitation, rescuing, proving home to negligent animal and educating school-age children to understand variety of animals.
Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).
People paid by the organization
None of the 6 people listed on these returns reported compensation from the organization. They are listed below.
Officers and directors, no compensation reported
6 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.
| Name | Latest title | Years | Hrs/wk (latest) | Compensation | Organizations |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sheila M Murphy-Brewer | PRESIDENT | 2023-2025 | Not reported | $0 reported | 1 |
| Diana Orlando | VICE PRESIDENT | 2023-2025 | Not reported | $0 reported | 1 |
| Deanna Saiten | SECRETARY | 2023-2025 | Not reported | $0 reported | 1 |
| Sherri Marquez | OFFICER | 2023-2025 | Not reported | $0 reported | 1 |
| Mikela Zirkel | OFFICER | 2023-2025 | Not reported | $0 reported | 1 |
| Michael Murphy | OFFICER | 2023-2025 | Not reported | $0 reported | 1 |
People by year
2025 · 6 people listed · none paid · 0 employees · 20 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SHEILA M MURPHY-BREWER | PRESIDENT | - | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| DIANA ORLANDO | VICE PRESIDENT | - | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| DEANNA SAITEN | SECRETARY | - | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| SHERRI MARQUEZ | OFFICER | - | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| MIKELA ZIRKEL | OFFICER | - | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| MICHAEL MURPHY | OFFICER | - | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2024 · 6 people listed · none paid · 0 employees · 20 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SHEILA M MURPHY-BREWER | PRESIDENT | - | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| DIANA ORLANDO | VICE PRESIDENT | - | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| DEANNA SAITEN | SECRETARY | - | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| SHERRI MARQUEZ | OFFICER | - | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| MIKELA ZIRKEL | OFFICER | - | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| MICHAEL MURPHY | OFFICER | - | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
2023 · 6 people listed · none paid · 0 employees · 15 volunteers
| Name | Title | Hrs/wk | From org | From related | Other | Total | Orgs |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SHEILA M MURPHY-BREWER | PRESIDENT | - | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| DIANA ORLANDO | VICE PRESIDENT | - | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| DEANNA SAITEN | SECRETARY | - | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| SHERRI MARQUEZ | OFFICER | - | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| MIKELA ZIRKEL | OFFICER | - | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
| MICHAEL MURPHY | OFFICER | - | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
Highest-paid independent contractors
No independent contractors reported.
Who gave
Contributor names are not public for this form type.
Public charities filing Form 990 or 990-EZ report large donors on Schedule B, but the IRS withholds their names and addresses from public copies. Private foundations (990-PF) are different: their contributors are public.
Finances
Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.
| Revenue | Expenses | Assets | Net assets | Contributions | Program revenue | Officer pay | Employees | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $148,281 | $179,630 | $132,436 | $132,436 | $145,362 | $0 | - | 0 | 20 |
| 2024 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $174,541 | $106,073 | $163,785 | $163,785 | $174,541 | $0 | - | 0 | 20 |
| 2023 · Form 990 | ||||||||
| $240,921 | $128,782 | $0 | $0 | $240,921 | $0 | - | 0 | 15 |
Funders of this organization
5 grantors reported grants to this organization, $332,071 in all, tax years 2020 to 2025. Exact: the grantor wrote this organization's EIN. Fuzzy: the grantor wrote only a name (foundations' 990-PF has no EIN field), matched to the same or a near-identical name in the same state; the name as filed is shown. From the latest return for each grantor and year, so amended returns aren't counted twice. CSV
| Grantor | Total given | Grants | Latest year's amount | Latest year | Years given | Type | Match | Grants |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| SILICON VALLEY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION | $300,000 | 3 | $100,000 | 2024 | 2022-2024 | DAF sponsor | Exact | show |
| FORGOOD INC | $22,624 | 2 | $10,190 | 2022 | 2021-2022 | DAF sponsor | Exact | show |
| AMERICAN ONLINE GIVING FOUNDATION INC | $8,826 | 1 | $8,826 | 2025 | 2025 | DAF sponsor | Exact | show |
| AMAZONSMILE FOUNDATION | $521 | 3 | $164 | 2023 | 2021-2023 | Private foundation | Fuzzy filed as “ALMA BONITA ANIMAL RESCUE” | show |
| JHGM FOUNDATION | $100 | 1 | $100 | 2020 | 2020 | Private foundation | Fuzzy filed as “ALMA BONITA ANIMAL RESCUE” | show |
Nearby + Similar BETA
Organizations like this one: what they do and who they are linked to
Same category: NTEE code and revenue
Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (100)
| Organization | State | NTEE | Latest revenue | Latest expenses | Top-paid title | Top pay | Why similar |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| LEASH ANIMAL RESCUE | CA | D20 | $151,457 | $123,344 | President | $0 | Same NTEE code D20, revenue within 2x, same state, similar name |
| NIKE ANIMAL RESCUE FOUNDATION | CA | D20 | $150,735 | $255,068 | President | $0 | Same NTEE code D20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| SOULMATE ANIMAL RESCUE FOUNDATION | CA | D20 | $152,419 | $113,478 | President | $0 | Same NTEE code D20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| DESTINYS HOPE ANIMAL RESCUE | CA | D20 | $151,248 | $38,206 | President | $0 | Same NTEE code D20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| ANGUILLA ANIMAL RESCUE CORPORATION | CA | D20 | $159,810 | $129,269 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Same NTEE code D20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| NORTHERN CALIFORNIA ANIMAL RESCUE FRIENDS | CA | D20 | $153,598 | $119,322 | Director Treasurer | $0 | Same NTEE code D20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| HOME FREE ANIMAL RESCUE & SANCTUARY | CA | D20 | $148,553 | $246,954 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Same NTEE code D20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| ANIMAL RESCUE SQUAD INTERNATIONAL | CA | D20 | $152,226 | $154,022 | CEO | $0 | Same NTEE code D20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| SOUTH MONTEREY COUNTY ANIMAL RESCUE | CA | D20 | $138,178 | $159,595 | Treasurer | $0 | Same NTEE code D20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| BUY SELL RESCUE INC | CA | D20 | $150,289 | $176,312 | Executive Dir. | $38,000 | Same NTEE code D20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| BUBBLES DOG RESCUE | CA | D20 | $147,300 | $142,540 | CEO | $0 | Same NTEE code D20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| NORCAL COCKER RESCUE | CA | D20 | $156,417 | $178,496 | Executive Dir. | $0 | Same NTEE code D20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| HAPPY ENDINGS ANIMAL RESCUE SANCTUARY | CA | D20 | $153,602 | $165,044 | Director | $0 | Same NTEE code D20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| SPARK RESCUE SANTA BARBARA | CA | D20 | $142,742 | $140,022 | Director | $14,000 | Same NTEE code D20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| CAT TALES RESCUE | CA | D20 | $151,942 | $131,019 | President | $0 | Same NTEE code D20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| DR DOGHOUSE BULLY CREW RESCUE | CA | D20 | $139,482 | $137,734 | CEO | $0 | Same NTEE code D20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| SANCTUARY ANIMAL ASSISTED THERAPY | CA | D20 | $151,600 | $159,423 | CEO | $0 | Same NTEE code D20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| KARMA RESCUE INC | CA | D20 | $158,990 | $222,572 | Executive Director | $40,214 | Same NTEE code D20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| ANIMAL LIVES MATTER ALWAYS | CA | D20 | $158,311 | $128,119 | CEO | $16,200 | Same NTEE code D20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| RESCATE FENIX | CA | D20 | $138,971 | $122,805 | PRESIDENT | $0 | Same NTEE code D20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| YOLO COUNTY SOCIETY FOR THE PREVENTION OF CRUELTY TO ANIMALS | CA | D20 | $138,345 | $253,439 | Director | $0 | Same NTEE code D20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| KITTEN CROSSING RESCUE INC | CA | D20 | $152,410 | $142,214 | CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | $0 | Same NTEE code D20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| COMMUNITY CAT ADVOCATES AND RESCUE | CA | D20 | $143,666 | $147,071 | President | $0 | Same NTEE code D20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| EAST OF EDEN K-9 RESCUE | CA | D20 | $146,489 | $148,769 | CEO | $0 | Same NTEE code D20, revenue within 2x, same state |
| HIDDEN TREASURES SANCTUARY AND RESCUE | CA | D20 | $138,981 | $140,108 | President | $0 | Same NTEE code D20, revenue within 2x, same state |
Who funds organizations like this
Grantors that funded the 100 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).
The full list · all similar organizations
Where the money went
Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.
2025 · Form 990 · $179,630 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| All other expenses | $108,158 | $108,158 | $0 | $0 | 60.2% | |
| Other (as described) | Feed | $50,657 | $50,657 | $0 | $0 | 28.2% |
| Advertising and promotion | $7,783 | $7,783 | $0 | $0 | 4.3% | |
| Other (as described) | Veterinary | $7,687 | $7,687 | $0 | $0 | 4.3% |
| Other (as described) | Animal services | $3,551 | $3,551 | $0 | $0 | 2.0% |
| Information technology | $1,794 | $1,794 | $0 | $0 | 1.0% | |
| Total | $179,630 | 100% |
2024 · Form 990 · $106,073 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $0
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Other (as described) | Feed | $47,337 | $47,337 | $0 | $0 | 44.6% |
| Other (as described) | Supporting services | $26,516 | $26,516 | $0 | $0 | 25.0% |
| All other expenses | $12,210 | $12,210 | $0 | $0 | 11.5% | |
| Other (as described) | Repairs & maintenance | $7,109 | $7,109 | $0 | $0 | 6.7% |
| Advertising and promotion | $5,072 | $5,072 | $0 | $0 | 4.8% | |
| Other (as described) | Veterinary | $4,618 | $4,618 | $0 | $0 | 4.4% |
| Information technology | $3,211 | $3,211 | $0 | $0 | 3.0% | |
| Total | $106,073 | 100% |
2023 · Form 990 · $128,782 spent · pay $0 · grants $0 · events $2,313
| Line | As described | Total | Program | Management | Fundraising | Share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Other (as described) | Feed | $51,532 | $51,532 | $0 | $0 | 40.0% |
| All other expenses | $43,467 | $43,467 | $0 | $0 | 33.8% | |
| Other (as described) | Repairs & maintenance | $16,121 | $16,121 | $0 | $0 | 12.5% |
| Other (as described) | Veterinary | $8,427 | $8,427 | $0 | $0 | 6.5% |
| Advertising and promotion | $4,435 | $4,435 | $0 | $0 | 3.4% | |
| Information technology | $2,487 | $2,487 | $0 | $0 | 1.9% | |
| Other (as described) Event | Event | $2,313 | $2,313 | $0 | $0 | 1.8% |
| Total | $128,782 | 100% |
Comments