SOLAR RESPONDERS INC

Reduce your risk when donating: see where the money actually goes.

Cite this

Plain text SOLAR RESPONDERS INC. furp.org, nonprofit organization profile, tax years 2020–2025. https://furp.org/org/solar-responders-inc-833822965. Retrieved 2026-11-05.

APA furp.org. (n.d.). SOLAR RESPONDERS INC [Nonprofit organization profile; tax years 2020–2025]. Retrieved November 5, 2026, from https://furp.org/org/solar-responders-inc-833822965

MLA “SOLAR RESPONDERS INC.” furp.org, tax years 2020–2025, https://furp.org/org/solar-responders-inc-833822965. Accessed 5 Nov. 2026.

Retrieved 2026-11-05; covers tax years 2020–2025. Data: furp.org, CC BY 4.0.

2025 · Form 990 · revenue $180K · expenses $178K · assets $467K

EIN
83-3822965
Address
485 MADISON AVE FL 7, NEW YORK, NY 10022-5873
Website
SOLARRESPONDERS.ORG
NTEE code
M20 Disaster Preparedness and Relief Services (Public Safety, Disaster Preparedness and Relief) published (IRS Business Master File)
Exempt type
501(c)(3): charitable, religious, educational, scientific or literary (corporation)
Ruling date
August 2019 (when the IRS recognized its exemption)
IRS status
Exempt (unconditional) (IRS Business Master File) IRS data ↗
Tax-deductible donations
Yes: listed in IRS Publication 78 (public charity) Pub 78 ↗
Foundation status
Public charity supported by the public (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))
Principal officer
Hunter Johansson (its 2019 Form 990-N)
Form 990-N e-postcards
1 filed, 2019 (organizations with gross receipts normally $50,000 or less file this instead of a full Form 990) IRS data ↗
Cross-check
ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer

Mission

THE ORGANIZATIONS MISSION IS TO MAXIMIZE THE CAPACITY OF FIRST RESPONDERS TO SAVE LIVES WITH RENEWABLE ENERGY. THE ORGANIZATIONS SUPPORT COMES PRIMARILY FROM FOUNDATIONS, CORPORATIONS, AND PRIVATE DONORS.

Each tax year counts once: when a return was amended, only the latest return for that period is used below (superseded returns stay listed, greyed, under Finances).

People paid by the organization

1 person paid across every filing: current people first, then by total pay from this organization. Organizations counts every nonprofit each person appears on.

NameLatest titleYearsLatest year payTotal pay from hereOrganizations
Hunter Johansson Founder/CEO2020-2025 $67,500$459,170 1

Officers and directors, no compensation reported

4 people listed on the returns with $0 (or no amount) in every compensation column: current people first. Hours are as filed on the latest return each person appears on.

NameLatest titleYearsHrs/wk (latest)CompensationOrganizations
Raj Thakkar BOARD TREASURER2020-2025 Not reported $0 reported 1
Melinda Wang BOARD MEMBER2023-2025 Not reported $0 reported 1
Jeffrey Jimenez BOARD CHAIR2022-2025 Not reported $0 reported 1
Nita Baum (former) Board Chair, Director2020-2022 5 $0 reported 1

People by year

2025 · 4 people listed · 1 paid, $68K · 1 employee
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
HUNTER JOHANSSON Founder/CEO40 $67,500$0$0 $67,5001
RAJ THAKKAR BOARD TREASURER- $0$0$0 $01
MELINDA WANG BOARD MEMBER- $0$0$0 $01
JEFFREY JIMENEZ BOARD CHAIR- $0$0$0 $01
2024 · 4 people listed · 1 paid, $29K · 1 employee
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
HUNTER JOHANSSON Founder/CEO40 $29,167$0$0 $29,1671
RAJ THAKKAR BOARD TREASURER- $0$0$0 $01
MELINDA WANG BOARD MEMBER- $0$0$0 $01
JEFFREY JIMENEZ BOARD CHAIR- $0$0$0 $01
2023 · 4 people listed · 1 paid, $100K · 1 employee
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
HUNTER JOHANSSON FOUNDER/CEO40 $100,000$0$0 $100,0001
JEFFREY JIMENEZ BOARD CHAIR- $0$0$0 $01
RAJ THAKKAR BOARD TREASU- $0$0$0 $01
MELINDA WANG BOARD MEMBER- $0$0$0 $01
2022 · 4 people listed · 1 paid, $100K · 1 employee · 1 volunteer
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
Hunter Johansson Founder/CEO, Director40 $99,583$0$0 $99,5831
Nita Baum Board Chair, Director5 $0$0$0 $01
Raj Thakkar Board Treasurer, Director5 $0$0$0 $01
Jeffrey Jimenez Board Secretary, Director5 $0$0$0 $01
2021 · 3 people listed · 1 paid, $85K · 1 employee
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
Hunter Johansson Founder/CEO, Secretary, Director40 $85,002$0$0 $85,0021
Nita Baum Board Chair, Director5 $0$0$0 $01
Raj Thakkar Board Treasurer, Director5 $0$0$0 $01
2020 · 3 people listed · 1 paid, $78K · 1 employee
NameTitleHrs/wkFrom orgFrom relatedOtherTotalOrgs
Hunter Johansson Founder/CEO, Secretary30 $77,918$0$0 $77,9181
Nita Baum Board Chair5 $0$0$0 $01
Raj Thakkar Board Treasurer5 $0$0$0 $01

Highest-paid independent contractors

No independent contractors reported.

Who gave

Contributor names are not public for this form type.

Public charities filing Form 990 or 990-EZ report large donors on Schedule B, but the IRS withholds their names and addresses from public copies. Private foundations (990-PF) are different: their contributors are public.

Finances

Newest first. Each filing: its name on one row, its figures on the row beneath. Greyed filings are superseded by a later return for the same period and are left out everywhere else on this page.

RevenueExpensesAssetsNet assetsContributionsProgram revenueOfficer payEmployeesVolunteers
2025 · Form 990 period ending 2025-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$179,642$178,057 $466,748$465,750 $179,642$0 $67,5001-
2024 · Form 990 period ending 2024-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$44,735$137,213 $465,115$464,165 $44,735$0 $29,1671-
2023 · Form 990 period ending 2023-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$128,727$275,098 $560,394$556,688 $128,727$0 $100,0001-
2022 · Form 990 period ending 2022-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$258,463$315,906 $708,857$703,100 $258,463$0 $011
2021 · Form 990 period ending 2021-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$657,534$216,899 $768,160$760,543 $616,729$0 $01-
2020 · Form 990 period ending 2020-12-31 · view filing · original 990 ↗
$406,650$210,992 $347,610$319,908 $406,650$0 $01-

Funders of this organization

8 grantors reported grants to this organization, $955,681 in all, tax years 2019 to 2024. Exact: the grantor wrote this organization's EIN. Fuzzy: the grantor wrote only a name (foundations' 990-PF has no EIN field), matched to the same or a near-identical name in the same state; the name as filed is shown. From the latest return for each grantor and year, so amended returns aren't counted twice. CSV

GrantorTypeMatchYears givenGrantsTotalLatest yearLatest year's amountGrants
DIRECT RELIEF Public charity Exact 2020-2022 5$388,407 2022$6,975
show
SURDNA FOUNDATION INC Private foundation Fuzzy filed as “Solar Responders Inc”, “SOLAR RESPONDERS INC” 2020, 2022-2024 4$195,000 2024$15,000
show
CHARITIES AID FOUNDATION AMERICA DAF sponsor Exact 2019, 2021 2$151,326 2021$30,085
show
COMPANIES FOR CAUSES Public charity Exact 2019 1$110,090 2019$110,090
show
HISPANICS IN PHILANTHROPY Public charity Exact 2019-2020 2$85,647 2020$55,647
show
DONOR ADVISED CHARITABLE GIVING DAF sponsor Exact 2020, 2022 2$15,144 2022$10,144
show
NEWMANS OWN FOUNDATION Private foundation Fuzzy filed as “SOLAR RESPONDERS INC” 2020-2023 4$10,000 2023$2,500
show
AMAZONSMILE FOUNDATION Private foundation Fuzzy filed as “SOLAR RESPONDERS INC” 2021, 2023 2$67 2023$55
show

Nearby + Similar BETA

Organizations like this one: what they do and who they are linked to

Same category: NTEE code and revenue

Ranked without any AI: same NTEE code first, then the same NTEE group; then revenue within 2x, 5x or 10x; then the same state; then similar name and mission text. Same state only · More (100)

OrganizationStateNTEELatest revenueLatest expensesTop-paid titleTop payWhy similar
UNITED RESCUE USA INCNYM20 $155,020$221,166 DIRECTOR$0 Same NTEE code M20, revenue within 2x, same state
ISRAEL RESCUE COALITION INCNYM20 $260,000$517,773 VICE PRESIDENT$512,751 Same NTEE code M20, revenue within 2x, same state
WORLD CARES CENTER INCNYM20 $291,228$306,940 Founder & Chair$0 Same NTEE code M20, revenue within 2x, same state
CIVIL INFORMATION SHARING PROJECT INCORPORATEDNYM20 $199,500$201,859 Director$0 Same NTEE code M20, revenue within 2x, same state
MICROAID INTERNATIONAL INCNYM20 $99,964$104,197 CEO$36,000 Same NTEE code M20, revenue within 2x, same state
THE ELEVATED STUDIO INCNYM20 $161,388$170,222 Executive Director/President$35,600 Same NTEE code M20, revenue within 2x, same state
9 11 ENVIRONMENTAL ACTION INCNYM20 $234,224$229,617 President$73,000 Same NTEE code M20, revenue within 2x, same state
LONG LAKE RESCUE SQUAD INCNYM20 $107,987$108,516 President$0 Same NTEE code M20, revenue within 2x, same state
PEF RELIEF FUNDNYM20 $351,427$353,427 PRESIDENT$109,154 Same NTEE code M20, revenue within 2x, same state
SALISBURY COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT INCNYM20 $145,664$3,429 CO-CHAIR$0 Same NTEE code M20, revenue within 2x, same state
HUMMINGLY FOUNDATIONNYM20 $207,582$106,210 Board Member$0 Same NTEE code M20, revenue within 2x, same state
ROMULUS VOLUNTEER FIRE DEPARTMENT INCNYM20 $157,804$166,312 Asst Chief$0 Same NTEE code M20, revenue within 2x, same state
UFT DISASTER RELIEF FUNDNYM20 $129,599$12,154 PRESIDENT$431,656 Same NTEE code M20, revenue within 2x, same state
DEFREESTVILLE FIRE DEPARTMENT INCNYM20 $103,968$54,629 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code M20, revenue within 2x, same state
ASSOCIATED PRESS EMERGENCY RELIEF FUNDNYM20 $108,389$169,606 DIRECTOR$0 Same NTEE code M20, revenue within 2x, same state
HARRIMAN ENGINE CO NO 1 INCNYM20 $93,926$57,686 TREASURER$0 Same NTEE code M20, revenue within 2x, same state
YAD SOFFIN FOUNDATIONNYM20 $270,897$206,478 President$0 Same NTEE code M20, revenue within 2x, same state
THE PROSKAUER ROSE CHARITABLE FOUNDATIONNYM20 $137,387$136,363 DIRECTOR & PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code M20, revenue within 2x, same state
ITIPAIKAH FOUNDATION INCNYM20 $129,139$40,125 Director$0 Same NTEE code M20, revenue within 2x, same state
EASTPORT CHEMICAL FIRE ENGINE COMPANY NUMBER ONE INCNYM20 $116,198$87,057 Treasurer$1,000 Same NTEE code M20, revenue within 2x, same state
UKRAINIAN HOUSING FOUNDATION INCNYM20 $338,657$41,094 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code M20, revenue within 2x, same state
NATIONAL FIRST RESPONDERS FUNDCAM20 $153,507$35,002 President$0 Same NTEE code M20, revenue within 2x
POWDER RIVER FIRST RESPONDERS LTDMTM20 $154,075$155,380 VICE PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code M20, revenue within 2x
HEAVY RESCUE INCRIM20 $111,700$57,286 PRESIDENT$6,100 Same NTEE code M20, revenue within 2x
ALASKA STEAMSHIP RESPONSE INCAKM20 $152,654$82,402 PRESIDENT$0 Same NTEE code M20, revenue within 2x

Who funds organizations like this

Grantors that funded the 100 most similar organizations. Ranked by total given to them. Foundations (990-PF) and donor-advised fund sponsors only. Same matching as Funders above (by EIN, or by name for foundations).

GrantorTypeTotal givenGrantsOrganizations fundedYearsWhich ones
FIDELITY INVESTMENTS CHARITABLE GIFT FUND DAF sponsor$2,020,86744 142016–2024 UNITED RESCUE USA INC; OPERATION BLESSING DISASTER RELIEF SERVICES INC; RICHARD REESE EMPLOYEE RELIEF FUND INC; COOPER LANDING EMERGENCY SERVICE INC and 10 more
WACO FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$1,839,5601 12013–2013 WEST TX FOUNDATION INC
DONOR ADVISED CHARITABLE GIVING funds this one DAF sponsor$473,64719 62014–2024 MUTUAL AID DISASTER RELIEF INC; MICROAID INTERNATIONAL INC; OPERATION BLESSING DISASTER RELIEF SERVICES INC; FRIENDS OF NATHANIEL WITHERELL INC and 2 more
SILICON VALLEY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$440,4505 22014–2023 COLLABORATING AGENCIES DISASTER RELIEF EFFORT; ONE BACKPACK INC
NEW WORLD FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$390,0003 12020–2022 RESILIENT POWER PUERTO RICO INC
UNITED WAY OF THE BAY AREA DAF sponsor$366,2503 12021–2023 COLLABORATING AGENCIES DISASTER RELIEF EFFORT
ALASKA COMMUNITY FOUNDATION DAF sponsor$354,4504 12020–2023 COOPER LANDING EMERGENCY SERVICE INC
NATIONAL PHILANTHROPIC TR DAF sponsor$267,3005 42015–2024 UNITED RESCUE USA INC; FRIENDS OF NATHANIEL WITHERELL INC; HELENE REBUILD COLLABORATIVE INC; RELIEF FOUNDATION INC
COMMUNITY FOUNDATION OF SARASOTA COUNTY INC DAF sponsor$243,4692 12023–2024 HOPE DESOTO LONG TERM RECOVERY GROUP INC
AMERICAN ONLINE GIVING FOUNDATION INC DAF sponsor$211,41513 72019–2025 MUTUAL AID DISASTER RELIEF INC; NATIONAL FIRST RESPONDERS FUND; DR PEPPER SNAPPLE GROUP EMPLOYEE RELIEF FUND; RESILIENCE GUILD and 3 more
PAYPAL CHARITABLE GIVING FUND DAF sponsor$178,74413 72019–2024 FRIENDS UNITED IN RESCUE; CRISIS RESPONSE CANINES; EAST METRO HEALTH DISTRICT MEDICAL RESERVE CORPS INC; MUTUAL AID DISASTER RELIEF INC and 3 more
PRINCETON AREA COMMUNITY FOUNDATION INC DAF sponsor$155,5258 12019–2023 HADPRE INC
GOLDMAN SACHS CHARITABLE GIFT FUND DAF sponsor$120,5004 12022–2024 SALISBURY COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT INC
MOUNTAIN STRONG-YANCEY & MITCHELL COUNTY RELIEF TEAM DAF sponsor$103,8201 12025–2025 SOUTHERN WATERS RESCUE AND RELIEF INC
COMMUNITY FOUNDATION OF ABILENE DAF sponsor$101,7976 12018–2023 ABILENE PALM HOUSE INC

The full list · all similar organizations

Where the money went

Every expense line on each return, biggest first: Form 990 Part IX (with its program, management and fundraising columns), 990-EZ Part I, or 990-PF Part I. Event marks lines the organization itself describes as events. “Events” in each summary adds those lines, conferences and meetings, and the direct costs of fundraising events. Unusual is not the same as improper. Many of these patterns have ordinary explanations. Check the filing.

2025 · Form 990 · $178,057 spent · pay $92,554 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Depreciation and depletion $70,207$70,207-- 39.4%
Pay: officers, directors, trustees, key employees $67,500$57,375$6,750$3,375 37.9%
Other employee benefits $19,621$16,677$1,962$981 11.0%
Payroll taxes $5,433$4,618$543$272 3.1%
Insurance $4,806$3,845$961- 2.7%
Office expenses $3,764$523$3,188$52 2.1%
Information technology $2,738$2,738-- 1.5%
Fees: accounting $1,575-$1,575- 0.9%
Other (as described)LEASE $1,188-$1,188- 0.7%
Other (as described)BANK CHARGES $755-$755- 0.4%
Travel $470$447-$23 0.3%
Total$178,057100%

View the filing

2024 · Form 990 · $137,213 spent · pay $49,135 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Depreciation and depletion $70,625$70,625-- 51.5%
Pay: officers, directors, trustees, key employees $29,167$24,792$2,917$1,458 21.3%
Other employee benefits $17,349$14,747$1,735$867 12.6%
Fees: management $5,650$2,363$3,242$45 4.1%
Insurance $5,093$4,074$1,019- 3.7%
Payroll taxes $2,619$2,226$262$131 1.9%
Travel $1,887$1,793-$94 1.4%
Fees: accounting $1,525-$1,525- 1.1%
Occupancy $1,188-$1,188- 0.9%
Advertising and promotion $865$822-$43 0.6%
Fees: legal $666$633$33- 0.5%
All other expenses $579-$579- 0.4%
Total$137,213100%

View the filing

2023 · Form 990 · $275,098 spent · pay $124,051 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other salaries and wages $124,051$105,444$12,405$6,202 45.1%
Depreciation and depletion $70,625$70,625-- 25.7%
Other (as described)OTHER GRANT EXPENSES $26,800$26,800-- 9.7%
Travel $15,116$14,360-$756 5.5%
Other (as described)PUERTO RICO TAXES $10,006-$10,006- 3.6%
Advertising and promotion $7,810$7,421-$389 2.8%
Information technology $5,941$2,587$3,294$60 2.2%
Fees: accounting $3,750-$3,750- 1.4%
Insurance $3,553$2,842$711- 1.3%
Fees: legal $2,357$2,240$117- 0.9%
Fees: management $2,296-$575$1,721 0.8%
Office expenses $1,440$523$882$35 0.5%
Occupancy $1,353-$1,353- 0.5%
Total$275,098100%

View the filing

2022 · Form 990 · $315,906 spent · pay $124,446 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other salaries and wages $124,446$105,779$12,445$6,222 39.4%
Depreciation and depletion $62,187$62,187-- 19.7%
Information technology $32,170$30,235$1,935- 10.2%
Fees: accounting $30,624$25,079$5,545- 9.7%
Travel $26,631$25,299-$1,332 8.4%
Other (as described)Workforce development $17,400$17,400-- 5.5%
Insurance $11,065$8,852$2,213- 3.5%
Other (as described)Telephone $4,611$2,305$2,075$231 1.5%
Advertising and promotion $2,197$2,087-$110 0.7%
Office expenses $2,068$1,551$414$103 0.7%
Occupancy $1,451-$1,451- 0.5%
All other expenses $717-$717- 0.2%
Other (as described)other $339-$339- 0.1%
Total$315,906100%

View the filing

2021 · Form 990 · $216,899 spent · pay $107,910 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other salaries and wages $107,910$86,328$10,791$10,791 49.8%
Depreciation and depletion $46,341$44,024-$2,317 21.4%
Travel $13,275$12,612-$663 6.1%
Insurance $11,354$9,083$2,271- 5.2%
Other (as described)Workforce development $9,900$9,900-- 4.6%
Fees: legal $8,116$7,304$406$406 3.7%
Advertising and promotion $5,309$4,778-$531 2.4%
Fees: accounting $3,675-$3,675- 1.7%
All other expenses $3,637$3,637-- 1.7%
Other (as described)Other $2,867$280$2,587- 1.3%
Occupancy $1,715-$1,715- 0.8%
Other (as described)Telephone $1,454$727$654$73 0.7%
Office expenses $745$670$37$38 0.3%
Other (as described)Fundraising expense $601--$601 0.3%
Total$216,899100%

View the filing

2020 · Form 990 · $210,992 spent · pay $97,177 · grants $0 · events $0
LineAs describedTotalProgramManagementFundraisingShare
Other salaries and wages $77,918$62,334$7,792$7,792 36.9%
Fees: legal $36,466$32,820$1,823$1,823 17.3%
Depreciation and depletion $25,353$24,085-$1,268 12.0%
Advertising and promotion $24,123$21,711-$2,412 11.4%
Travel $14,383$13,664-$719 6.8%
Other employee benefits $12,881$10,305$1,288$1,288 6.1%
Payroll taxes $6,378$5,102$638$638 3.0%
Insurance $3,741$2,993$748- 1.8%
Fees: accounting $3,500-$3,500- 1.7%
Other (as described)Telephone $1,519$760$683$76 0.7%
Office expenses $1,510$1,358$76$76 0.7%
Information technology $1,505-$1,505- 0.7%
Occupancy $1,167-$1,167- 0.6%
Other (as described)Fundraising Expense $326--$326 0.2%
Other (as described)Miscellaneous $222-$222- 0.1%
Total$210,992100%

View the filing

State business registration

The same business name in the same state, from the state’s official registry data.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.