Allen University
Cite this
Plain text Allen University. furp.org, institution profile. https://furp.org/institution/allen-university-217624. Retrieved 2026-11-06.
APA furp.org. (n.d.). Allen University [Institution profile]. Retrieved November 6, 2026, from https://furp.org/institution/allen-university-217624
MLA “Allen University.” furp.org, https://furp.org/institution/allen-university-217624. Accessed 6 Nov. 2026.
Retrieved 2026-11-06. Data: furp.org, CC BY 4.0.
Affiliated nonprofits revenue $22.6M (990s)
- Place
- 1530 Harden Street, Columbia, SC 29204
- Control
- Private nonprofit
- Level
- Four or more years
- Enrollment
- 677 (fall 2023, IPEDS)
- Website
- https://www.allenuniversity.edu/
- IPEDS ID
- 217624 College Navigator ↗
- EIN (IPEDS)
- 57-0341191
What we have
- Public payroll: Not reported: private institutions have no state payroll. Their pay appears on their own Form 990 and their foundations'.
- IPEDS faculty salary averages: academic year 2023-24.
- 990 filers linked to this institution: 4 EXACT, 2 FUZZY.
Faculty salary averages (IPEDS)
Averages for full-time instructional staff, equated to a 9-month contract, academic year 2023-24. These are averages reported by the institution, not individual pay.
| Rank | Staff | Average | Men | Women |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Associate professor | 4 | $61,188 | $59,542 | $66,126 |
| Assistant professor | 25 | $45,679 | $41,609 | $52,915 |
| Instructor | 6 | $47,300 | $47,300 | Not reported |
| All ranks | 35 | $47,729 | $45,127 | $54,236 |
Federal cohort default rate (Department of Education)
The share of the school's federal student loan borrowers who entered repayment in a fiscal year and defaulted within three years (the "cohort year" is that fiscal year), as published by the U.S. Department of Education for OPE ID 003417. This is the government's figure for the school's own borrowers; it is separate from, and not comparable with, the student loan trust data on this site.
Cohorts FY2021 to FY2023 entered repayment during the federal pause on student loan payments and collections (March 2020 to September 2023), so rates for those years are close to zero at almost every school.
| Cohort year | Rate | Borrowers in repayment | Defaulted |
|---|---|---|---|
| FY2023 | 1.8% | 106 | 2 |
| FY2022 | 0.0% | 283 | 0 |
| FY2021 | 0.0% | 350 | 0 |
Source: FSA official cohort default rates ↗.
Related nonprofits (Form 990)
Exact the EIN IPEDS lists for the institution, or a name that is the institution's name plus only a relation word (foundation, alumni association, athletic association, research foundation, hospital) in the same state. Fuzzy the name has other words too, or several organizations share the name and this one files from another place. Totals elsewhere on this page use EXACT links only.
| Organization | Relation | Link | Latest year | Revenue | Expenses | Net assets | Funders | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ALLEN UNIVERSITY 57-0341191 | The institution itself | Exact | 2024 | $22,602,833 | $23,327,006 | $52,472,589 | 26 | IPEDS lists EIN 570341191 for this institution. |
| ALLEN UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION 31-1495219 | Foundation | Exact | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 | Name is “Allen University” plus “foundation”, same state, same city. |
| FOUNDATION OF ALLEN UNIVERSITY 87-0875909 | Foundation | Exact | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 | Name is “Allen University” plus “foundation of”, same state, same city. |
| ALLEN UNIVERSITY ALUMNI ASSOCIATION INC 58-2280931 | Alumni association | Exact | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 | Name is “Allen University” plus “alumni association”, same state, same city. |
| ALLEN UNIVERSITY EDUCATION FOUNDATION INC 20-5843613 | Foundation | Fuzzy | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 | Name is “Allen University” plus “education foundation”, same state, same city. Other words in the name: education. |
| ALLEN UNIVERSITY PRE ALUMNI COUNCIL 47-1879520 | Alumni association | Fuzzy | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | 0 | Name is “Allen University” plus “pre alumni council”, same state, same city. Other words in the name: pre. |
People paid by the linked nonprofits
From each EXACT-linked organization's latest Form 990: reportable pay from the organization, from related organizations, and other compensation.
Funders of the institution and its affiliates
Grants other filers list to the EXACT-linked organizations above (foundations on the 990-PF; charities, including donor-advised fund sponsors, on Schedule I). Grants between the institution's own affiliates are left out.
Fundraising events at affiliated nonprofits
| Organization | Tax year | Gross income (8a) | Direct expenses (8b) | Net (8c) | Filing |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ALLEN UNIVERSITY | 2024 | $79,400 | $115,631 | -$36,231 | view |
Sources: IPEDS (U.S. Department of Education, NCES) for the directory, enrollment and salary averages; state and university payroll publications as listed; IRS Form 990 e-file data for nonprofits. Payroll coverage by state.
Trademarks
7 US trademarks, 3 live.
- Allen University 7 marks, SC EXACT high confidence: identical full name and state
| Mark | Serial | Filed | Status | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| A | 97427905 | 2022-05-25 | Registered | TRCFECO2, file of 2024-03-27 |
| ALLEN YELLOW JACKETS | 90709616 | 2021-05-13 | Abandoned | TRCFECO2, file of 2024-03-27 |
| DICKERSON-GREEN THEOLOGICAL SEMINARY 1870 ALLEN UNIVERSITY COGITO · LABORO · AMO | 90706449 | 2021-05-12 | Registered | TRCFECO2, file of 2024-03-27 |
| ALLEN UNIVERSITY 1870 | 90705867 | 2021-05-12 | Abandoned | TRCFECO2, file of 2024-03-27 |
| AU | 90699740 | 2021-05-10 | Abandoned | TRCFECO2, file of 2024-03-27 |
| A | 90694142 | 2021-05-06 | Abandoned | TRCFECO2, file of 2024-03-27 |
| ALLEN UNIVERSITY 1870 | 90690073 | 2021-05-04 | Registered | TRCFECO2, file of 2024-03-27 |
The newest marks of the trademark owners above, matched to this record by name (and state).
Comments