PENNSYLVANIA DISTANCE LEARNING CHARTER SCHOOL: Form 990, tax year 2024

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
PENNSYLVANIA DISTANCE LEARNING CHARTER SCHOOL (EIN 20-1331146)
Tax period
2024-07-01 to 2025-06-30
Filed
2026-05-15
IRS object ID
202631359349305368
Schema version
2024v5.5
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2026-05-15T11:40:06-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2025-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN341897225PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1HILL BARTH & KING LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1100 PINEWOOD DRIVE STE 201AddressLine1Txt
CityWARRENDALECityNm
State AbbreviationPAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP15086ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2024-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN201331146EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1PENNSYLVANIA DISTANCE LEARNING CHARTERBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2SCHOOLBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlPENNBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7249337300PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12605 NICHOLSON ROAD 4100AddressLine1Txt
CitySEWICKLEYCityNm
State AbbreviationPAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP15143ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDR MICHAEL LEITERAPersonNm
Person TitleCEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone7249337300PhoneNum
Signature2026-05-15SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (1)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonTIMOTHY GAGENPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01939333PTIN
Phone7249345300PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2024TaxYr
Build TS2025-03-06 01:10:19ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerDR MICHAEL LEITERAPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12605 NICHOLSON ROAD 4100AddressLine1Txt
CitySEWICKLEYCityNm
State AbbreviationPAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP15143ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$28,470,476GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.PADISTANCE.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation2004FormationYr
Legal Domicile StatePALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionOPERATION OF AN ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY CYBER SCHOOL FOR EDUCATIONAL PURPOSES.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body5VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent5VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee175TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers5TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$3,132,358PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$1,263,366CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$22,514,335PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$26,480,910CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$563,415PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$588,094CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$696PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$138,106CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$26,210,804PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$28,470,476CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$16,425,196PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$16,658,544CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$8,367,021PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$7,799,542CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$24,792,217PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$24,458,086CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$1,418,587PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$4,012,390CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$30,716,135TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$31,842,904TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$22,738,142TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$19,852,522TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$7,977,993NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$11,990,382NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionPENNSYLVANIA DISTANCE LEARNING CHARTER SCHOOL'S MISSION IS TO EMPOWER STUDENTS TO OWN THEIR LEARNING, GROW, ACHIEVE, AND SUCCEED THROUGH THE USE OF EVIDENCE-BASED, INCLUSIVE, AND CULTURALLY RESPONSIVE PRACTICES AS WE BUILD POSITIVE RELATIONSHIPS IN OUR ONLINE ENVIRONMENT WITH ALL STUDENTS, FAMILIES, AND COMMUNITIES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$15,779,595ExpenseAmt
Revenue$26,619,016RevenueAmt
DescTHE SCHOOL PROVIDES PERSONALIZED, BASIC AND ENHANCED LEARNING OPPORTUNITIES FOR K-12 STUDENTS THROUGH A HOME-BASED DELIVERED EDUCATION. THE SCHOOL INVOLVES AND EMPOWERS PARENTS OF STUDENTS TO THE HIGHEST DEGREE IN THE ROLE OF THE EDUCATOR. STUDENTS ACHIEVE THEIR OPTIMUM LEVELS OF DEVELOPMENT WITHIN THE SAFE ENVIRONMENT OF THEIR HOME USING ALL THE SCHOOL'S RESOURCES.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$15,779,595TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (1)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document12IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee175EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members5GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member5IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesYes (1)DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Own WebsiteYes (X)OwnWebsiteInd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MICHAEL WHISMAN CPABusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone2154819777PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1222 KESWICK AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityGLENSIDECityNm
State AbbreviationPAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP19038ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (13 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
JOHN MAROUS
PRESIDENT2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
WILLIAM DONAHUE
VICE PRESIDENT1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
STEPHEN CATANZARITE
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RICHARD CAVETT
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
NIKKIE HUGGLER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DR MICHAEL LEITERA
CEO40.00Yes (X)$164,348$0$75,261
NICHOLAS KOCUBA
CHIEF OPERATIONS OFFICER40.00Yes (X)$116,033$0$59,732
KELLY CROOKS
CHIEF ACADEMIC OFFICER40.00Yes (X)$135,399$0$67,725
DEAN PAPPATERRA
CHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICER40.00Yes (X)$134,717$0$28,748
AUBREY PLOESCH
ELEMENTARY PRINCIPAL40.00$116,616$0$61,348Yes (X)
CHARLES MORT
HIGH SCHOOL PRINCIPAL40.00$135,130$0$67,633Yes (X)
STEPHANIE FAITH
SPECIAL EDUCATION COORDINA40.00$115,908$0$59,944Yes (X)
ROBERT ALLAN DIGIANDOMENICO III
CHIEF OF COMMUNICATIONS40.00$122,438$0$27,601Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,040,589TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$447,992TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K8IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
VERTEX EDUCATION-PA LLC
222 KESWICK AVENUEGLENSIDEPA19038BUSINESS SERVICES$764,609
CONNECTING THE PIECES LLC
987 OLD EAGLE SCHOOL RD SUITE 704WAYNEPA19087SPECIAL EDUCATION$684,673
THERAPY SOURCE INC
5215 MILITIA HILL ROAD SUITE APLYMOUTH MEETINGPA19462SPECIAL EDUCATION$549,417
INFRADAPT
40 S CEDAR CREST BOULEVARDALLENTOWNPA181045912IT SUPPORT$394,718
SOARING ABILITIES
537 WOODSIDE AVENUEBERWYNPA19312SPECIAL EDUCATION$340,246
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K6CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$1,263,366GovernmentGrantsAmt
Total Contributions$1,263,366TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescDISTRICT FUNDINGDesc
Business611710BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$26,480,910TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$26,480,910RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$26,480,910TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$588,094TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$588,094ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescMISCELLANEOUSDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$138,106TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$138,106RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$138,106OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$28,470,476TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$26,619,016RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$588,094ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$550,497TotalAmt
Program Services$270,116ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$280,381ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,346,312TotalAmt
Program Services$6,713,169ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,633,143ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,792,625TotalAmt
Program Services$1,110,148ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$682,477ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,096,944TotalAmt
Program Services$1,966,177ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,130,767ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$872,166TotalAmt
Program Services$535,774ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$336,392ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$36,455TotalAmt
Management And General$36,455ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$35,849TotalAmt
Management And General$35,849ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,469,252TotalAmt
Program Services$2,387,820ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,081,432ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$434,844TotalAmt
Management And General$434,844ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,504,360TotalAmt
Program Services$1,186,924ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$317,436ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$145,129TotalAmt
Management And General$145,129ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$195,881TotalAmt
Program Services$178,988ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$16,893ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,782,952TotalAmt
Program Services$1,406,730ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$376,222ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmt
INSTRUCTIONAL AND STUDE$37,912$37,912
PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMEN$23,749$23,749
STUDENT ACTIVITIES$14,171$14,171

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$118,988TotalAmt
Management And General$118,988ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$24,458,086TotalAmt
Program Services$15,779,595ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$8,678,491ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$228,700BOYAmt
EOY$25,000EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,403,928BOYAmt
EOY$20,596,163EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$602,250BOYAmt
EOY$488,179EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,637,707BOYAmt
EOY$1,518,127EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$372,916BOYAmt
EOY$326,578EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$1,102,546LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$235,051LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$662,736BOYAmt
EOY$867,495EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,807,898BOYAmt
EOY$8,021,362EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,716,135BOYAmt
EOY$31,842,904EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,049,461BOYAmt
EOY$1,160,111EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,688,681BOYAmt
EOY$18,692,411EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,738,142BOYAmt
EOY$19,852,522EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$662,736BOYAmt
EOY$867,495EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,315,257BOYAmt
EOY$11,122,887EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,977,993BOYAmt
EOY$11,990,382EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,716,135BOYAmt
EOY$31,842,904EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$4,012,390ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,335,282CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,652,194CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$3,651,347CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$3,132,358CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,263,366CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$12,034,547TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,335,282CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,652,194CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$3,651,347CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$3,132,358CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,263,366CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$12,034,547TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total170$12,034,547PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$25,972CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,593CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$260,443CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$563,415CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$588,094CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,439,517TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$13,474,064TotalSupportAmt
Public Support CY1700.89320PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.92840PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$171,952OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$85,976DepreciationAmt
Book Value$85,976BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$930,594OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$149,075DepreciationAmt
Book Value$781,519BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$867,495TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
GASB 68 & 75 DEFERRED OUTFLOWS OF RESOURCES RELATED TO PENSIONS AND OPEB$3,063,315
SECURITY DEPOSITS$23,010
GASB 87 ROU ASSET AND ACCUMULATED DEPRECIATION$4,935,037
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$8,021,362TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (6 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
GASB 68 INFLOWS FROM PENSIONS$755,000
GASB 68 PENSION LIABILITY$10,924,000
DUE TO SCHOOL DISTRICTS$607,214
DEFERRED INFLOWS OF OPEB$105,000
OPEB LIABILITY$465,000
GASB 87 LEASE LIABILITY$5,836,197
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$18,692,411TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$28,470,476TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$28,470,476RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$28,470,476TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$24,458,086TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$24,458,086ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$24,458,086TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
DR MICHAEL LEITERA
CEO$164,348$0$0$0$0$0$53,249$0$22,012$0$239,609$0$0$0
KELLY CROOKS
CHIEF ACADEMIC OFFICER$135,399$0$0$0$0$0$45,713$0$22,012$0$203,124$0$0$0
CHARLES MORT
HIGH SCHOOL PRINCIPAL$135,130$0$0$0$0$0$45,621$0$22,012$0$202,763$0$0$0
AUBREY PLOESCH
ELEMENTARY PRINCIPAL$116,616$0$0$0$0$0$39,336$0$22,012$0$177,964$0$0$0
STEPHANIE FAITH
SPECIAL EDUCATION COORDINA$115,908$0$0$0$0$0$39,350$0$20,594$0$175,852$0$0$0
NICHOLAS KOCUBA
CHIEF OPERATIONS OFFICER$116,033$0$0$0$0$0$39,138$0$20,594$0$175,765$0$0$0
DEAN PAPPATERRA
CHIEF COMPLIANCE OFFICER$134,717$0$0$0$0$0$6,736$0$22,012$0$163,465$0$0$0
ROBERT ALLAN DIGIANDOMENICO III
CHIEF OF COMMUNICATIONS$122,438$0$0$0$0$0$6,122$0$21,479$0$150,039$0$0$0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (13 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 3SUBSTANTIALLY ALL OF THE SCHOOL'S BUSINESS FUNCTIONS HAVE BEEN CONTRACTED TO VERTEX-PA LLC(VERTEX). VERTEX PERFORMS PAYROLL SERVICES, ACCOUNTS PAYABLE SERVICES, ACCOUNTS RECEIVABLE SERVICES, MAINTAINS THE ACCOUNTING SYSTEM OF RECORDS AND REPORTS, FEDERAL CONSOLIDATED GRANT RECONCILIATIONS, FINANCIAL REPORTING AND BUDGETS, FINANCIAL PROJECTIONS AND PLANNING, ENTERS AND MAINTAINS STUDENT DATA RECORDS FOR BILLING PURPOSES, PREPARES DISTRICT BILLING USING SCHOOL PROVIDED INFORMATION, AND FISCAL COMPLIANCE REPORTING. THE SCHOOL PAYS AN ANNUAL FEE OF $602 PER AVERAGE DAILY MEMBERSHIP TO VERTEX.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 8BTHERE ARE NO UNDERLYING COMMITTEES OF THE GOVERNING BODY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BDRAFTS OF THE FORM 990 ARE DISTRIBUTED TO VERTEX-PA LLC AND THE BOARD, FOR THEIR REVIEW. HILL, BARTH & KING LLC PREPARES THE SCHOOL'S FORM 990. THEY ARE AVAILABLE TO RESPOND TO QUESTIONS OR RECOMMENDATIONS AS A RESULT OF THE BOARD REVIEW.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE BOARD OF TRUSTEES MONITORS EMPLOYMENT AND CONSULTING ARRANGEMENTS TO ENSURE THAT CONFLICTS OF INTEREST DO NOT OCCUR IN THE SCHOOL. ALL APPOINTMENTS ARE ASKED AT THE TIME OF INTERVIEW IF THEY ARE RELATED TO ANYONE IN THE ORGANIZATION. ADDITIONALLY, TRUSTEES AND THE CEO ARE REQUIRED TO COMPLETE A FINANCIAL DISCLOSURE DECLARATION ANNUALLY. THE DISCLOSURE FORM IS CONSISTENT WITH THE PENNSYLVANIA ETHICS REQUIREMENTS FOR SCHOOL BOARD OFFICIALS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE PRESIDENT OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES ANNUALLY EVALUATES THE CEO AND USES COMPARABILITY DATA TO RECOMMEND COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS SUBJECT TO THE APPROVAL OF THE TRUSTEES. THE CEO IS RESPONSIBLE FOR RECOMMENDING SALARIES FOR ALL OTHER EMPLOYEES FOR TRUSTEE APPROVAL.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19REQUESTS FOR ADDITIONAL INFORMATION SHOULD BE ADDRESSED TO THE FISCAL OFFICER C/O PENNSYLVANIA DISTANCE LEARNING CHARTER SCHOOL, 2605 NICHOLSON RD, SUITE 4100, SEWICKLEY, PA 15143.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 11GBUSINESS CONTRACTED SERVICES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 0. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 931,725. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 931,725. SOFTWARE AND IT CONTRACTED SERVICES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 633,381. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 105,413. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 738,794. EDUCATION CONTRACTED SERVICES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 1,754,439. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 0. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 1,754,439. OTHER CONTRACTED SERVICES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 0. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 44,294. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 44,294.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2B:THE PROCESS HAS NOT CHANGED FROM THE PRIOR YEAR.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C:THE ORGANIZATION DID NOT CHANGE ITS OVERSIGHT PROCESS NOR THE SELECTION PROCESS DURING THE TAX YEAR.
SCHEDULE A, PART II, SECTIONS A-C:FOR PURPOSES OF REPORTING THE SCHOOL'S REASON FOR PUBLIC CHARITY STATUS IN SCHEDULE A OF FORM 990, THE SCHOOL CLASSIFIES ITSELF AS AN ORGANIZATION THAT NORMALLY RECEIVES A SUBSTANTIAL PART OF ITS SUPPORT FROM A GOVERNMENT UNIT OR FROM THE GENERAL PUBLIC DESCRIBED IN SECTION 170(B)(1)(A)(VI) SOLELY FOR CONSISTENCY WITH THE SCHOOL'S PUBLIC CHARITY STATUS AS DETERMINED BY THE IRS EFFECTIVE JUNE 10, 2003. THE SCHOOL DOES NOT ACTIVELY SOLICIT FUNDS FROM THE GENERAL PUBLIC; HOWEVER, IT RECEIVES A PORTION OF ITS REVENUE FROM PUBLIC SOURCES IN THE FORM OF GRANTS AND CONTRIBUTIONS FROM THE PENNSYLVANIA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION AND A LOCAL INTERMEDIATE UNIT. CONSISTENT WITH OTHER PENNSYLVANIA CHARTER SCHOOLS, THE MAJORITY OF THE SCHOOL'S REVENUES ARE RECEIVED FROM THE RESIDENT SCHOOL DISTRICTS OF ITS STUDENTS BASED ON ADMISSION AND REIMBURSEMENT RATES ESTABLISHED BY THE PENNSYLVANIA DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION. REVENUES FROM SCHOOL DISTRICTS ARE NOT CONSIDERED PUBLIC SUPPORT FOR PURPOSES OF THE COMPUTATION OF PUBLIC SUPPORT IN SCHEDULE A. A REVIEW OF THE ORIGINAL APPLICATION FOR EXEMPTION INDICATES THAT WE APPLIED FOR EXEMPTION AS A SCHOOL, AND THAT THROUGH THE PROCESS OF APPROVAL, OUR STATUS WAS ULTIMATELY GRANTED AS A PUBLIC SUPPORTED CHARITY RATHER THAN AS A SCHOOL. IN FILING THIS RETURN, WE CERTIFY THAT WE MEET ALL OF THE REQUIREMENTS FOR TAX EXEMPTION AS A SCHOOL, INCLUDING THE NON-DISCRIMINATION RULES. BASED ON THESE FACTS AND CIRCUMSTANCES WHICH HAVE NOT CHANGED FROM THE SCHOOL'S INCEPTION AND ORIGINAL IRS DETERMINATION OF EXEMPTION, THE SCHOOL'S OPERATIONS SUPPORT ITS PUBLIC CHARITY STATUS.
SCHEDULE D, PARTS IX AND X:DURING THE FISCAL YEAR ENDING JUNE 30, 2015, THE SCHOOL WAS REQUIRED TO IMPLEMENT GASB 68. THIS ACCOUNTING STANDARD REQUIRED THE SCHOOL TO REPORT ITS PROPORTIONATE SHARE OF THE NET PENSION LIABILITY OF THE UNDERFUNDED COST-SHARING MULTI-EMPLOYER DEFINED BENEFIT PENSION PLAN PROVIDED BY THE COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA. AT JUNE 30, 2025, THE SCHOOL REPORTED A LIABILITY OF $10,924,000 WHICH IS REDUCED BY DEFERRED OUTFLOWS OF RESOURCES IN THE AMOUNT OF $2,877,120. EACH YEAR, THE SCHOOL'S PROPORTIONATE SHARE OF THE LIABILITY WILL BE ADJUSTED. THE ADJUSTMENT WILL BE DONE IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE ACCOUNTING STANDARD BUT WILL NOT HAVE AN EFFECT ON THE ONGOING CASH REQUIREMENTS OF THE SCHOOL.
SCHEDULE D, PARTS IX AND X:DURING THE FISCAL YEAR ENDING JUNE 30, 2019, THE SCHOOL WAS REQUIRED TO IMPLEMENT GASB 75. THIS ACCOUNTING STANDARD REQUIRED THE SCHOOL TO REPORT ITS PROPORTIONATE SHARE OF THE NET OTHER POST EMPLOYMENT BENEFITS (OPEB) OF THE UNDERFUNDED COST-SHARING MULTI-EMPLOYER DEFINED BENEFIT OPEB PLAN PROVIDED BY THE COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA. AT JUNE 30, 2025, THE SCHOOL REPORTED A LIABILITY OF $465,000 WHICH IS REDUCED BY DEFERRED OUTFLOWS OF RESOURCES IN THE AMOUNT OF $186,194. EACH YEAR, THE SCHOOL'S PROPORTIONATE SHARE OF THE LIABILITY WILL BE ADJUSTED. THE ADJUSTMENT WILL BE DONE IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE ACCOUNTING STANDARD BUT WILL NOT HAVE AN EFFECT ON THE ONGOING CASH REQUIREMENTS OF THE SCHOOL.
SCHEDULE D, PARTS IX AND X:DURING THE FISCAL YEAR ENDING JUNE 30, 2022, THE SCHOOL WAS REQUIRED TO IMPLEMENT GASB 87. THIS ACCOUNTING STANDARD REQUIRED THE SCHOOL TO REPORT CERTAIN LEASE ASSETS AND LIABILITIES THAT PREVIOUSLY WERE CLASSIFIED AS OPERATING LEASES. AT JUNE 30, 2025, THE SCHOOL REPORTED A RIGHT-OF-USE ASSET OF $9,430,379, ACCUMULATED AMORTIZATION OF $4,418,508, AND A LEASE LIABILITY OF $5,836,197.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.