ST JOHNS SCHOOL: Form 990, tax year 2024

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
ST JOHNS SCHOOL (EIN 74-1185668)
Tax period
2024-07-01 to 2025-06-30
Filed
2026-02-03
IRS object ID
202630349349301568
Schema version
2024v5.5
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2026-02-03T15:47:29-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2025-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN760269860PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Blazek & VetterlingBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12900 Weslayan Suite 200AddressLine1Txt
CityHoustonCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP77027ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2024-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN741185668EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1St John's SchoolBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSTJOBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7138500222PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12401 Claremont LaneAddressLine1Txt
CityHoustonCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP770195897ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonIleana Del ToroPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone7138500222PhoneNum
Signature2026-02-03SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr0IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonSusanna BlackmonPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01226926PTIN
Phone7134395739PhoneNum
Preparation2026-01-30PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2024TaxYr
Build TS2025-03-06 01:10:19ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerDaniel AligPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12401 Claremont LaneAddressLine1Txt
CityHoustonCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP770195897ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$118,104,973GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.sjs.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1946FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateTXLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionSt. John's School provides talented students in grades K-12 with a rigorous college preparatory curriculum and a wealth of enrichment opportunities carefully designed to prepare students for lives of leadership, service, and personal fulfillment.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body23VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent23VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee590TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers500TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$4,717TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$2,717NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$30,031,423PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$53,933,040CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$50,050,698PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$51,880,537CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$7,532,829PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$10,855,757CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$565,222PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$381,760CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$88,180,172PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$117,051,094CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$4,226,130PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$4,485,564CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$34,101,381PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$36,500,906CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$14,315CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,594,719CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$20,949,079PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$20,732,795CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$59,276,590PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$61,733,580CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$28,903,582PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$55,317,514CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$366,400,256TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$426,990,043TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$142,136,594TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$141,702,549TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$224,263,662NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$285,287,494NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionSee Schedule OSt. John's School is an independent, co-educational day school presenting a 13-year sequence of college preparatory training. A non-profit institution, it was founded in 1946 to provide the community with a school of exacting standards in the development of individual, spiritual, ethical, intellectual, social and physical growth. While the means to achieve that purpose may change, it remains the basic mission of the School.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$51,719,839ExpenseAmt
Grant$4,485,564GrantAmt
Revenue$52,197,630RevenueAmt
DescSt. John's School provides 1,422 talented students in grades K-12 with a rigorous college preparatory curriculum and a wealth of enrichment opportunities carefully designed to prepare students for lives of leadership, service, and personal fulfillment.The School seeks to develop the whole person in preparation for a lifetime of personal fulfillment and contribution to society. In particular, it is dedicated to the enhancement and the expansion of future leadership for Houston and the country. The School offers talented, motivated and energetic students a genuine challenge for academic accomplishment and development of a sense of self-worth and personal responsibility. The School in turn holds itself responsible for providing that challenge.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$51,719,839TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (1)CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other Liabilities0ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document135IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee590EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members23GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member23IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Ileana Del ToroBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone7138504100PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12401 Claremont LaneAddressLine1Txt
CityHoustonCityNm
State AbbreviationTXStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP770195897ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (35 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
William Gentry Lee Jr
Chairman10.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Christopher B Johnson
Vice Chair2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Elizabeth N Stepanian
Secretary2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Camilo E Munoz
Treasurer2.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
August Al-Uqdah II
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Laura Arnold
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jean-Pierre Baizan
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Scott Bender
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kathy Britton
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Alan Christensen
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Holbrook Dorn
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Angela Fullen
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Katherine Hobby Gibson
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Will Giraud
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Lacey Fluor Goossen
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
David Harvey
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Tola Laniyan
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Andrew D McCullough Jr
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LeRoy Melcher
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ba Nguyen
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Leslie E Sasser
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jonathan Sloan
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jing Zhou
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Daniel J Alig
Head of School/CEO50.00Yes (X)$522,069$0$434,302
Ileana del Toro
CFOO (from 7/24)50.00Yes (X)$164,783$0$28,293
Christine M Curran
Associate Head of School50.00$272,939$0$68,150Yes (X)
Kevin G Weatherill
Head of Upper School50.00$220,278$0$37,432Yes (X)
Dawsey D Romero
Director of Advancement50.00$215,534$0$38,941Yes (X)
Margaret E Henry
Head of Middle School50.00$179,763$0$46,486Yes (X)
Richard A Still
Director of Security & Facilities50.00$239,445$0$45,943Yes (X)
Courtney R Burger
Director of Admissions50.00$172,700$0$31,464Yes (X)
David W Cohn
Director of Athletics50.00$166,112$0$26,433Yes (X)
Dwight Raulston
Senior Faculty50.00$161,626$0$58,710Yes (X)
Kenley E Turville
Director of College Counseling50.00$161,175$0$29,439Yes (X)
L Greg Swan
Former CFO (thru 6/24)50.00$234,761$0$52,041Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,711,185TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$897,634TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K58IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (1)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Curtis & Windham Architects Inc
3815 Montrose Blvd 100HoustonTX77006Architect services$1,302,656
Janissary LLC
306 Main St 303HoustonTX77002Security services$400,622
PJS of Houston Inc
2303 Nance StHoustonTX77020Cleaning services$352,846
Hirtle Callaghan & Co
300 Barr Harbor Dr Ste 500West ConshohockenPA19428Investment management$340,402
Sam's Limousine & Transportation
9102 Westpark DrHoustonTX77063Transportation services$213,725
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K8CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
All Other Contributions$53,933,040AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$1,078,350NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$53,933,040TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Tuition611600$48,492,047$48,492,047
Cafeteria fees611710$1,706,713$1,706,713
Auxiliary service fees611710$858,680$858,680
Activity fees611710$823,097$823,097
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$51,880,537TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$4,736,153TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$4,736,153ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$59,950RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$59,950RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$59,950TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$59,950ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$6,950,908SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$831,304SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$6,119,604SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$6,119,604TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$6,119,604ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$373,576GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$222,575CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$151,001TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$151,001RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Shared parking garage income900099$166,092$166,092
Partnership income722100$4,717$4,717
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$170,809OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$117,051,094TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$52,197,630RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$4,717UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$10,915,707ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,485,564TotalAmt
Program Services$4,485,564ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,258,966TotalAmt
Program Services$1,057,400ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$668,838ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$532,728FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$27,187,332TotalAmt
Program Services$25,346,792ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,428,130ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$412,410FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,630,381TotalAmt
Program Services$1,215,410ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$378,140ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$36,831FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,270,067TotalAmt
Program Services$2,490,951ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$726,482ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$52,634FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,154,160TotalAmt
Program Services$1,701,795ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$383,976ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$68,389FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,892TotalAmt
Management And General$9,892ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$65,700TotalAmt
Management And General$65,700ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$14,315TotalAmt
Fundraising$14,315FundraisingAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$445,431TotalAmt
Management And General$445,431ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$227,709TotalAmt
Program Services$96,692ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$131,017ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,539,575TotalAmt
Program Services$2,119,171ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$315,300ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$105,104FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,211,959TotalAmt
Program Services$724,859ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$487,100ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,562,425TotalAmt
Program Services$2,362,834ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$174,119ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$25,472FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$485,697TotalAmt
Program Services$402,846ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$45,705ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$37,146FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,457,909TotalAmt
Management And General$2,457,909ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,495,044TotalAmt
Program Services$5,389,633ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$44,426ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$60,985FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,465,997TotalAmt
Program Services$1,302,168ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$149,094ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$14,735FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Student activities,trip$1,246,092$1,246,092
Food services$1,152,145$1,129,775$16,246$6,124
Contract services$551,534$513,309$10,931$27,294
Community relations$377,618$251,595$126,023

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$438,068TotalAmt
Program Services$134,548ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$228,991ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$74,529FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$61,733,580TotalAmt
Program Services$51,719,839ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$8,419,022ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,594,719FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$18,363,192BOYAmt
EOY$19,645,503EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$47,192,069BOYAmt
EOY$72,258,997EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,723,036BOYAmt
EOY$23,327,964EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$284,318BOYAmt
EOY$293,352EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$378,625BOYAmt
EOY$397,522EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,457,401BOYAmt
EOY$1,700,459EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$282,266,174LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$86,513,784LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$187,571,557BOYAmt
EOY$195,752,390EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$73,282,429BOYAmt
EOY$80,019,391EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,144,071BOYAmt
EOY$33,590,631EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,558BOYAmt
EOY$3,834EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$366,400,256BOYAmt
EOY$426,990,043EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,292,609BOYAmt
EOY$5,179,867EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,808,738BOYAmt
EOY$36,778,929EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$101,496,756BOYAmt
EOY$99,216,498EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$538,491BOYAmt
EOY$527,255EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$142,136,594BOYAmt
EOY$141,702,549EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$97,162,689BOYAmt
EOY$106,747,872EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$127,100,973BOYAmt
EOY$178,539,622EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$224,263,662BOYAmt
EOY$285,287,494EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$366,400,256BOYAmt
EOY$426,990,043EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$55,317,514ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$5,706,318NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$5,419,680CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$6,971,863CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$16,952,073CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$30,031,423CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$53,933,040CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$113,308,079TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$5,419,680CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$6,971,863CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$16,952,073CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$30,031,423CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$53,933,040CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$113,308,079TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$21,803,867SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$91,504,212PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,923,763CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,513,464CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$2,857,345CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$3,683,613CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$4,796,103CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$15,774,288TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$11,131CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$20,017CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$6,839CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$4,717CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$42,704TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$166,092CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$166,092CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$166,092CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$166,092CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$166,092CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$830,460TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$129,955,531TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$242,537,195GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.70410PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.61080PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule A, Part II, Line 10, Explanation of Other Income:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationShared parking garage income - 2020 Amount: $ 166,092. 2021 Amount: $ 166,092. 2022 Amount: $ 166,092. 2023 Amount: $ 166,092. 2024 Amount: $ 166,092.ExplanationTxt

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$101,688,319BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,590,440ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$13,232,056InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$3,595,000OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$113,915,815EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$91,837,738BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$746,009ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$12,604,572InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$3,500,000OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$101,688,319EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$87,436,101BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$728,918ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$7,172,719InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$3,500,000OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$91,837,738EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$100,631,944BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$495,687ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$10,441,530InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$3,250,000OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$87,436,101EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$80,236,090BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$4,244,228ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$19,311,626InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$3,160,000OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$100,631,944EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.10616BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.44398PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.44986TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$106,263,727OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$106,263,727BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$117,285,675OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$49,591,594DepreciationAmt
Book Value$67,694,081BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$26,649,440OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$16,093,379DepreciationAmt
Book Value$10,556,061BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$23,151,719OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$20,828,811DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,322,908BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$8,915,613OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$8,915,613BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$195,752,390TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPartnership investmentsDesc
Book Value$33,590,631BookValueAmt
Method ValuationFMethodValuationCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$33,590,631TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$118,048,992TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$5,706,318NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$5,706,318RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$112,342,674RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$445,431InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$4,262,989OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$4,708,420RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$117,051,094TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$57,025,160TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$222,575OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$222,575ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$56,802,585ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$445,431InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$4,485,564OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$4,930,995ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$61,733,580TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part IV, Line 2b:The School holds funds for several related school groups. The School has limited discretion over the use of these funds. Funds held for others are included in the School's cash and as a liability of the School.
Part V, Line 4:The endowment fund was established to support St. John's School in the following areas: faculty salaries, tuition aid, faculty studies, college scholarships, college counseling, technology, and operation and maintenance of facilities.
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Bookstore COGS -222,575. Financial aid 4,485,564.
Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Bookstore COGS 222,575.
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Financial aid 4,485,564.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid Rcvd0GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule E, Part I, Line 3FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationNotice of the school's nondiscriminatory policy regarding students is posted on the School's website. It was also posted on the website of Houston Area Independent Schools at houstonprivateschools.org.ExplanationTxt

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
RegionCentral America and the CaribbeanRegionTxt
Offices0OfficesCnt
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Type Of Activities ConductedInvestmentsTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt
Region Total Expenditures$17,639,581RegionTotalExpendituresAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices0SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees0SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continuation Total Office0ContinuationTotalOfficeCnt
Continuation Total Employee0ContinuationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$17,639,581SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$0ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$17,639,581TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpYes (1)TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipYes (1)ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CoYes (1)PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipYes (1)ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 3f - Investments & Expenditures Per RegionFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe amount reported in Part I, Line 3f represents the fair value of investments held in the region.ExplanationTxt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeFinancial assistanceGrantTypeTxt
Recipient200RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$4,485,564CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationSt. John's School awards financial aid each year based on demonstrated financial need of the student's family regardless of race, color, nationality or ethnic origin.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Idemnification Gross Up PmtsYes (X)IdemnificationGrossUpPmtsInd
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Personal ServicesYes (X)PersonalServicesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (12 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Daniel J Alig
Head of School/CEO$481,484$0$0$0$40,585$0$190,250$0$244,052$0$956,371$0$0$0
Christine M Curran
Associate Head of School$272,939$0$0$0$0$0$57,548$0$10,602$0$341,089$0$0$0
L Greg Swan
Former CFO (thru 6/24)$234,761$0$0$0$0$0$45,493$0$6,548$0$286,802$0$0$0
Richard A Still
Director of Security & Facilities$239,445$0$0$0$0$0$44,330$0$1,613$0$285,388$0$0$0
Kevin G Weatherill
Head of Upper School$220,278$0$0$0$0$0$21,954$0$15,478$0$257,710$0$0$0
Dawsey D Romero
Director of Advancement$215,534$0$0$0$0$0$37,323$0$1,618$0$254,475$0$0$0
Margaret E Henry
Head of Middle School$179,763$0$0$0$0$0$31,075$0$15,411$0$226,249$0$0$0
Dwight Raulston
Senior Faculty$161,626$0$0$0$0$0$43,303$0$15,407$0$220,336$0$0$0
Courtney R Burger
Director of Admissions$172,700$0$0$0$0$0$20,965$0$10,499$0$204,164$0$0$0
Ileana del Toro
CFOO (from 7/24)$164,783$0$0$0$0$0$20,969$0$7,324$0$193,076$0$0$0
David W Cohn
Director of Athletics$166,112$0$0$0$0$0$8,691$0$17,742$0$192,545$0$0$0
Kenley E Turville
Director of College Counseling$161,175$0$0$0$0$0$16,789$0$12,650$0$190,614$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 1aAll of the benefits checked in Part I are provided to Daniel Alig, the Head of School. - The School provides a house on campus and pays for utilities and maintenance of the house including the services of a housekeeper. The value of this benefit (estimated at $227,149 for this fiscal year) is not treated as taxable compensation because it meets the criteria for exclusion under IRC Section 119. - The School included a gross-up payment of $60,318 for this fiscal year relating to non-cash fringe benefits provided. This amount was treated as taxable compensation.
Part I, Line 4bThe School has established a Rabbi Trust for the benefit of Daniel Alig, the Head of School. The amount treated as deferred compensation to him under this plan during this fiscal year was $150,000.

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1COH Higher Education Finance CorporationBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN760387014BondIssuerEIN
Bond Issued2022-06-03BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$105,385,000IssuePriceAmt
PurposeCurrent refunding of taxable loan dated 4/15/2020PurposeDesc
Defeased0DefeasedInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool Financing0PoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Retired$5,870,000RetiredAmt
Total Proceeds$105,385,000TotalProceedsAmt
Other Spent Proceeds$105,385,000OtherSpentProceedsAmt
Substantial Completion2022SubstantialCompletionYr
Refunding Tax Exempt Bonds0RefundingTaxExemptBondsInd
Refunding Taxable BondsYes (1)RefundingTaxableBondsInd
Final Allocation MadeYes (1)FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (1)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed Property0OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease Arrangements0AnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd Prop0MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Any Research Agreements0AnyResearchAgreementsInd
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt Test0BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed Prop0ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdYes (1)ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T Filed0Form8038TFiledInd
Rebate Not Due Yet0RebateNotDueYetInd
Exception To Rebate0ExceptionToRebateInd
No Rebate DueYes (1)NoRebateDueInd
Variable Rate Issue0VariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And Rec0HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC0GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds Invested0GrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor ReqsYes (1)WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective ActionYes (1)ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution51ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$1,078,350NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesNYSEMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form8283 Received0Form8283ReceivedCnt
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bForm 990 is reviewed by the Audit Committee of the Board of Trustees. A copy of the Form is provided to the entire Board prior to filing.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cBoard members are required to complete a questionnaire annually which discloses any potential conflicts of interest. The question of whether a financial interest gives rise to a conflict of interest shall, at the Chairman of the Board of Trustees' discretion, be referred to either the full Board or the Audit Committee. After disclosure of the financial interest and all material facts relating thereto, and after any discussion thereof, including the interested person's presentation to the Board or Audit Committee (as the case may be), the interested person shall leave the Board meeting or Audit Committee meeting while the potential conflict of interest is discussed and voted upon. The remaining disinterested Board Trustees or Audit Committee members shall decide if a conflict of interest exists. An interested person shall not be present in any meeting during any discussion of, and vote on, the financial interest, transaction or arrangement that results in the potential or actual conflict of interest.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15Compensation of the Head of School/CEO is determined by the Head of School Committee of the Board of Trustees. The Head of School Committee consists of only independent trustees. To assist in its determinations, the Committee is provided with information from an independent consultant regarding comparability data and the Intermediate Sanctions provisions of the Internal Revenue Code. The deliberations and determinations of the Committee are recorded in the minutes of the Committee's meetings, which are approved by the Committee. Compensation of other officers of the organization is determined by the Head of School/CEO based upon comparability data and contemporaneous substantiation. The organization is a member of several groups that benchmark various metrics for independent schools including comparative compensation data.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19Upon request.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.