THE HOPE FOUNDATION: Form 990, tax year 2014

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
THE HOPE FOUNDATION (EIN 74-2655302)
Tax period
2014-01-01 to 2014-12-31
Filed
2015-07-22
IRS object ID
201532039349300953
Schema version
2014v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2015-07-22T12:46:55-00:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2014-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Bennett & Associates CPAs PLLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1100 Huronview BlvdAddressLine1Txt
CityAnn ArborCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48103ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2014-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN742655302EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1The Hope Foundation IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlHOPEBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7349987150PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line124 Frank Lloyd Wright Drive Room POAddressLine1Txt
CityAnn ArborCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48106ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJohanna HornPersonNm
Person TitlePresident CEOPersonTitleTxt
Signature2015-07-22SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonJames H Bennett CPAPreparerPersonNm
Phone7346228015PhoneNum
Preparation2015-07-22PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2014TaxYr
Build TS2016-02-25 16:41:14ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Principal Ofcr Business Name PrincipalOfcrBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Johanna HornBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line124 Frank Lloyd Wright Dr Box 483AddressLine1Txt
CityAnn ArborCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48106ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$37,484,917GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.thehopefoundation.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1993FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateTXLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionThe Hope Foundation is a public charity with the mission of raising and contributing funds for the treatment and prevention of cancer.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body12VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent11VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee33TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers70TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$5,196,316PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$5,600,513CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$807,620PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$1,434,785CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$1,040,729PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,014,362CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$35,488PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$54,360CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$7,080,153PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$8,104,020CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$2,028,114PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$1,941,498CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$2,175,725PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$2,405,520CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$96,810CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$1,652,282PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$1,796,198CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$5,856,121PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$6,143,216CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$1,224,032PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$1,960,804CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$36,299,648TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$43,464,984TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$14,184,496TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$19,839,108TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$22,115,152NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$23,625,876NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionAs the philanthropic arm of the Southwest Oncology Group, The Hope Foundation strives to provide funding and resources for cancer clinical trials research in various forms of adult cancers. Fellowships, research grants, professional medical education training sessions, technical equipment, and meeting coordination are funded by the foundation.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$710,415ExpenseAmt
DescSupport all associated costs of the Spring and Fall 2014 group meetings of the Southwest Oncology GroupDesc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$4,493,942ExpenseAmt
Grant$1,941,498GrantAmt
DescSupport of cancer research groupsDesc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$5,204,357TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsfalseTempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (true)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgYes (true)MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (true)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document3IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee33EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members12GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member11IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsYes (true)ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherfalseCompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJohanna HornPersonNm
Phone7349987150PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line124 Frank Lloyd Wright Dr Box 483AddressLine1Txt
CityAnn ArborCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48106ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (13 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmt
Nathan R Eriksen
Secretary000.20Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Anne F Schott
Chair000.50Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Deborah E Collyar
Board Member000.20Yes (X)$0$0$0
Michael L LeBlanc
Board Member000.20Yes (X)$0$0$0
David R Gandara
Board Member000.20Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dawn L Hershman
Vice Chair000.20Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
David N Pappas
Treasurer000.20Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
John S Macdonald
Board Member000.20Yes (X)$0$0$0
Joni Marra
Board Member000.20Yes (X)$0$0$0
Johanna Horn
President CEO040.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$127,154$0$25,008
James L Wade III
Board Member000.20Yes (X)$0$0$0
Charles D Blanke
Board Member000.20Yes (X)$0$0$0
Lee M Ellis
Board Member000.20Yes (X)$0$0$0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$127,154TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$25,008TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K1IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd
Government Grants$3,113,246GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$2,487,267AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$5,600,513TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescService feesDesc
Business541700BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$1,434,785TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,434,785RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$1,434,785TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$733,204TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$733,204ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$29,662,055SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$29,380,897SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$281,158SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$281,158TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$281,158ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescExhibitor incomeDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$40,500TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$40,500RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$13,860TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$13,860RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$54,360OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$8,104,020TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,489,145RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$1,014,362ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,828,998TotalAmt
Program Services$1,828,998ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$112,500TotalAmt
Program Services$112,500ProgramServicesAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$152,162TotalAmt
Program Services$13,543ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$103,964ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$34,655FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,677,396TotalAmt
Program Services$1,405,477ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$265,312ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$6,607FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$159,240TotalAmt
Program Services$135,339ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$23,435ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$466FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$277,021TotalAmt
Program Services$228,138ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$45,865ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$3,018FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$139,701TotalAmt
Program Services$109,880ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$27,063ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,758FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$55,210TotalAmt
Management And General$55,210ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$22,385TotalAmt
Management And General$22,385ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fees For Services Prof FundraisingFeesForServicesProfFundraising

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$96,314TotalAmt
Management And General$96,314ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$83,299TotalAmt
Management And General$52,507ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$30,792FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$204,807TotalAmt
Program Services$137,280ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$66,470ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,057FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$23,068TotalAmt
Program Services$18,507ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,561ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$135,108TotalAmt
Program Services$109,239ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$25,869ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$367,902TotalAmt
Program Services$347,770ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$20,132ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$710,415TotalAmt
Program Services$710,415ProgramServicesAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$40,864TotalAmt
Program Services$35,152ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,712ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,393TotalAmt
Management And General$8,393ManagementAndGeneralAmt

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$48,433TotalAmt
Program Services$12,119ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$18,857ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$17,457FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,143,216TotalAmt
Program Services$5,204,357ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$842,049ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$96,810FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,410,760BOYAmt
EOY$647,272EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,485,860BOYAmt
EOY$2,550,188EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$140,590BOYAmt
EOY$298,025EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,430,882BOYAmt
EOY$5,159,066EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$39,288BOYAmt
EOY$26,625EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$343,884LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$244,783LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$139,965BOYAmt
EOY$99,101EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,299,004BOYAmt
EOY$30,851,707EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,353,299BOYAmt
EOY$3,833,000EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$36,299,648BOYAmt
EOY$43,464,984EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,367,895BOYAmt
EOY$1,850,367EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$633,867BOYAmt
EOY$529,854EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,182,734BOYAmt
EOY$17,458,887EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,184,496BOYAmt
EOY$19,839,108EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,263,682BOYAmt
EOY$17,454,856EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,851,470BOYAmt
EOY$6,171,020EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,115,152BOYAmt
EOY$23,625,876EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$36,299,648BOYAmt
EOY$43,464,984EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$1,960,804ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$450,080NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (true)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (true)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$9,650,274CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$9,187,989CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$5,075,477CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$5,196,316CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$5,600,513CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$34,710,569TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$9,650,274CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$9,187,989CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$5,075,477CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$5,196,316CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$5,600,513CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$34,710,569TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total170$34,710,569PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$822,877CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$913,119CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,085,293CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,040,729CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,014,362CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$4,876,380TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$39,586,949TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$4,919,197GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.87680PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.87630PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind
Public Support CY5090.00000PublicSupportCY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.00000InvestmentIncomeCYPct

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabfalseInclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$22,179OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$22,179DepreciationAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$321,705OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$222,604DepreciationAmt
Book Value$99,101BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$99,101TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
Financial derivatives and other financial products
Closely-held equity interests
Limited partnerships$3,833,000F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$3,833,000TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Federal income taxes
Site/study payments liability$1,171,117
Assets held for others$16,287,770
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$17,458,887TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$7,557,626TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$450,080NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$450,080RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$8,007,706RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$96,314InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$96,314RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$8,104,020TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$6,046,902TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Subtotal$6,046,902ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$96,314InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$96,314ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$6,143,216TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceX 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe organization has evaluated the provisions of ASC Topic 740, Accounting for Uncertainty in Income Taxes. The evaluation was performed for the tax years 2011 through 2014, the years which remain subject to examination as of December 31, 2014. The organization concluded that there are no significant uncertain tax positions requiring recognition in the organizations consolidated financial statements.ExplanationTxt

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
RegionEuropeRegionTxt
Type Of Activities ConductedProgram servicesTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt
Specific Services ProvidedCancer researchSpecificServicesProvidedTxt
Region Total Expenditures$112,500RegionTotalExpendituresAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Spent$112,500SubtotalSpentAmt
Total Spent$112,500TotalSpentAmt

Grants To Org Outside US GrantsToOrgOutsideUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
RegionEurope Including Iceland and GreenlandRegionTxt
Purpose Of GrantBreast Cancer ResearchPurposeOfGrantTxt
Cash Grant$112,500CashGrantAmt
Manner Of Cash DisbursementCheckMannerOfCashDisbursementTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org1Total501c3OrgCnt
Transfer To Foreign CorpfalseTransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign TrustfalseInterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipfalseForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CofalsePassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipfalseForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott CountriesfalseBoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I Line 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationProgress reporting at varying intervals based on the amount of grant and time period.ExplanationTxt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (19 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
Cancer Research and Biostatistics
1730 Minor Ave Suite 1900SeattleWA981011468911828539501c3$25,228Lung Master Protocol
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
1100 Fairview Ave NSeattleWA98109237156071501c3$70,294Professorship for cancer clinical research
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
1100 Fairview Ave NSeattleWA98109237156071501c3$117,795SWOG Development
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
1100 Fairview Ave NSeattleWA98109237156071501c3$50,000Coltman Fellowships
Genomic Health
301 Penobscot DriveRedwood CityCA94063770552594$648,180s1007 Jobs
MD Anderson Cancer Center
1515 Holcombe BlvdHoustonTX77030746001118$122,375SWOG Development
MD Anderson Cancer Center
1515 Holcombe BlvdHoustonTX77030746001118$8,799SWOG Social Media
Oregon Health & Science University
3303 SW Bond AvenuePortlandOR97239931176109$36,500SWOG Development
Regents University of California Los Angeles
11000 Kinross Avenue Suite 211Los AngelesCA90095956006143501c3$125,000SWOG Development
The Jackson Laboratory
600 Main StreetBar HarborME04609010211513501c3$12,500SWOG ITSC Pilot Projects
The Jackson Laboratory
600 Main StreetBar HarborME04609010211513501c3$24,688Educational Pilot
University of Arizona College of Medicine
PO Box 245043TucsonAZ85724742652689$125,000SWOG Development
University of Arizona
PO Box 245024TucsonAZ85724742652689$50,000Coltman Fellowships
Regents of the University of California Davis
1580 Research Park Drive Suite 300DavisCA95618946036494501c3$50,000SWOG ITSC Pilot Projects
University of Colorado Denver
MS 8117 12801 E 17th AvenueAuroraCO80045846000555501c3$28,841Lung Project Support
Yale University
333 Cedar Street FMP 130New HavenCT06520060646973501c3$50,000Coltman Fellowships
Columbia University Medical Center
161 Fort Washington AvenueNew YorkNY10032135598093501c3$125,000SWOG Development
University of Kansas Medical Center
2330 Shawnee Mission ParkwayWestwoodKS66205481108830501c3$129,854SWOG Development
Boston VA Research Institute
150 S Huntington Ave Room 11B-60BostonMA02130043081524501c3$30,000SWOG VA Integration
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org12Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org7TotalOtherOrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I Line 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationProgress reporting at varying intervals based on the amount of grant and time period.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJohanna HornPersonNm
TitlePresident CEOTitleTxt
Base Compensation Filing Org$127,154BaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Deferred Compensation Flng Org$12,996DeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt
Nontaxable Benefits Filing Org$12,012NontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt
Total Compensation Filing Org$152,162TotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, Line 4Amendments were made to The Hope Foundation Bylaws in March 2014. An overview of the changes are as follows 1 to stagger terms and minimize board turnover at any one time, 2 clarification that the three directors appointed by SWOG BOG do not require a secondary approval process by the THF Board, and 3 clarification that a director voted to the executive board will automatically have their term extended to include a full term in that executive position.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 11bThe Form 990 is reviewed by the Board President/CEO, Board Chair, and Secretary prior to filing.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 12cThere is a conflict of interest committee that manages any reported conflicts. Conflict forms are requested annually.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 15For all compensated persons, job classifications are matched with the University of Michigan job classification and compensation is set in a comparative range.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 19All governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements are made available to the public upon request.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SWOG Clinical Trials Initiative LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line124 Frank Lloyd Wright DriveAddressLine1Txt
CityAnn ArborCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP481059484ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN261146046EIN
Primary ActivitiesCancer Clinical TrialsPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateTXLegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$1,284,116TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$18,930,405EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1The Hope FoundationBusinessNameLine1Txt

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.