FURP.ORG / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

DAKOTA WESLEYAN UNIVERSITY: Form 990, tax year 2013

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
DAKOTA WESLEYAN UNIVERSITY (EIN 46-0224589)
Tax period
2013-06-01 to 2014-05-31
Filed
2015-01-05
IRS object ID
201520099349301257
Schema version
2013v4.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2015-01-05T13:18:33-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2014-05-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN460434947PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1ELO PROF LLCBusinessNameLine1

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 249AddressLine1
CityMITCHELLCity
StateSDState
ZIP Code57301ZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2013-06-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN460224589EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DAKOTA WESLEYAN UNIVERSITYBusinessNameLine1
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlDAKOBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6059952607PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11200 W UNIVERSITY AVEAddressLine1
CityMITCHELLCity
StateSDState
ZIP Code57301ZIPCode

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonTHERESA KRIESEPersonNm
Person TitleEXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENTPersonTitleTxt
Phone6059952607PhoneNum
Signature2014-11-14SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonJAMIE A ELDEEN CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00736101PTIN
Phone6059967717PhoneNum
Preparation2015-01-05PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2013TaxYr
Build TS2016-03-07 17:11:31ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$29,813,561GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.DWU.EDUWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1885FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateSDLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionDAKOTA WESLEYAN UNIVERSITY ASPIRES TO BE A LEADING UNIVERSITY THAT EDUCATES STUDENTS TO IDENTIFY AND DEVELOP THEIR INDIVIDUAL TALENTS FOR SUCCESSFUL LIVES IN SERVICE TO GOD AND THE COMMON GOOD.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body26VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent25VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee489TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$4,109,181PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$8,685,893CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$18,841,475PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$19,444,367CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$488,739PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$669,712CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$762,561PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$806,552CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$24,201,956PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$29,606,524CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$7,939,460PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$8,418,961CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$8,526,263PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$8,629,674CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$400,727CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$6,345,194PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$6,553,990CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$22,810,917PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$23,602,625CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$1,391,039PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$6,003,899CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$55,228,386TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$63,560,484TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$9,272,513TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$9,547,825TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$45,955,873NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$54,012,659NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionDAKOTA WESLEYAN UNIVERSITY ASPIRES TO BE A LEADING UNIVERSITY THAT EDUCATES STUDENTS TO IDENTIFY AND DEVELOP THEIR INDIVIDUAL TALENTS FOR SUCCESSFUL LIVES IN SERVICE TO GOD AND THE COMMON GOOD.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$21,080,831ExpenseAmt
Grant$8,418,961GrantAmt
DescPROVIDED INSTRUCTION AND OTHER SUPPORTING SERVICES TO APPROXIMATELY 714 FULL-TIME AND 169 PART-TIME STUDENTSDesc
Total Program Service Expenses$21,080,831TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (true)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (true)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (true)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt BondsfalseInvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemYes (true)BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntYes (true)BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (true)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document89IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee489EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (true)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (true)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Form8899 FiledindfalseForm8899Filedind
Form1098 C FiledfalseForm1098CFiledInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members26GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member25IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonTHERESA KRIESEPersonNm
Phone6059952607PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11200 UNIVERSITY BLVDAddressLine1
CityMITCHELLCity
StateSDState
ZIP Code57301ZIPCode

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (26 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerInd
BETTY OLDENKAMP
SECRETARY1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBERT BENSON
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRADLEY PRATT
EXEC COMM CH2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
DEANELL BACKLUND
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BISHOP BRUCE OUGH
EXEC COMM2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DONALD MESSER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
GOPAL VYAS
TRUSTEE - CO2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BILL FARRIS
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JERRY THOMSEN
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN GRINAGER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN CLARKE
TRUSTEE - CO1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RON MARTIN
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RITA JOHNSON
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KENT MILLARD
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LISA RENTSCHLER
TRUSTEE - CO1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROGER MUSICK
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LINDA KROPENSKE
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JERRY MILLER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
THEODORE ROMAN
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JULIE NELSON
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DOUGLAS POWERS
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBERT KJELDEN
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KERMIT CULVER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBERT RUEDEBUSCH
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
AMY NOVAK
PRESIDENT40.00$138,624$0$20,251Yes (X)
THERESA KRIESE
EXECUTIVE VP40.00$117,184$0$20,324Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$255,808TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$40,575TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K2IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityStateContractorAddress/USAddress/StateZIP CodeContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCodeServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
ARAMARK CORPORATION
1101 MARKET STREETPHILIDELPHIAPA19107FOOD SERVICES$1,247,202
PUETZ CORPORATION
800 N KIMBALL STMITCHELLSD57301CONSTRUCTION$236,511
GEORGE DEHNE & ASSOCIATES
33 MAIN ST SUITE FOLD SAYBROOKCT06475MARKETING$113,575
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K3CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$485,431GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$8,200,462AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$61,775NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$8,685,893TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
TUITION & FEES$16,334,407$16,334,407
SALES & SERVICES OF AUX ENT$3,109,960$3,109,960
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$19,444,367TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$480,249TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$480,249ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$372,826RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$198,155RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$174,671RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$174,671TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$174,671ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$198,345OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$8,882OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$189,463OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$189,463TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$189,463RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOTHER INCOMEDesc
Total Revenue Column$631,881TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$631,881RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$631,881OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$29,606,524TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$20,265,711RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$654,920ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,418,961TotalAmt
Program Services$8,418,961ProgramServicesAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,660,321TotalAmt
Program Services$5,589,808ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$851,824ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$218,689FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$234,081TotalAmt
Program Services$196,457ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$29,938ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$7,686FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,225,757TotalAmt
Program Services$870,301ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$328,760ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$26,696FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$509,515TotalAmt
Program Services$427,620ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$65,165ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$16,730FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,437TotalAmt
Management And General$7,437ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$46,703TotalAmt
Management And General$46,703ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,847TotalAmt
Program Services$173ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,674ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$58,458TotalAmt
Program Services$40,371ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$18,087ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$170,827TotalAmt
Program Services$122,366ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$24,574ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$23,887FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$844,150TotalAmt
Program Services$782,915ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$61,235ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$444,994TotalAmt
Program Services$401,558ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$28,439ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$14,997FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$48,745TotalAmt
Program Services$13,801ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$26,905ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$8,039FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,064,160TotalAmt
Program Services$1,064,160ProgramServicesAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$236,669TotalAmt
Management And General$236,669ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
CONTRACTUAL SERVICES$1,513,340$1,301,970$172,966$38,404
SUPPLIES$793,133$742,066$31,267$19,800
PROGRAMMING$383,093$340,194$38,461$4,438
COST OF SALES - BOOKSTORE$364,581$364,581

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$574,853TotalAmt
Program Services$403,529ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$149,963ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$21,361FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$23,602,625TotalAmt
Program Services$21,080,831ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,121,067ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$400,727FundraisingAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$467,883BOYAmt
EOY$3,055,414EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$648,860BOYAmt
EOY$3,638,755EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$283,378BOYAmt
EOY$443,282EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$958,011BOYAmt
EOY$916,445EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$103,894BOYAmt
EOY$111,651EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$192,943BOYAmt
EOY$233,899EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$46,514,321LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$16,725,382LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$29,047,933BOYAmt
EOY$29,788,939EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,690,785BOYAmt
EOY$24,454,295EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$580,981BOYAmt
EOY$695,486EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$253,718BOYAmt
EOY$222,318EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$55,228,386BOYAmt
EOY$63,560,484EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,381,112BOYAmt
EOY$1,342,004EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$642,114BOYAmt
EOY$696,776EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,960,000BOYAmt
EOY$1,525,000EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,921,494BOYAmt
EOY$3,612,058EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,367,793BOYAmt
EOY$2,371,987EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,272,513BOYAmt
EOY$9,547,825EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,341,592BOYAmt
EOY$9,064,385EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,135,590BOYAmt
EOY$27,090,221EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,478,691BOYAmt
EOY$17,858,053EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$45,955,873BOYAmt
EOY$54,012,659EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$55,228,386BOYAmt
EOY$63,560,484EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$6,003,899ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$2,071,152NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$18,265OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (true)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (true)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$23,414,162BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$511,375ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,530,329InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships-$569,520GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures-$320,325OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$25,566,021EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$20,344,891BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,356,493ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,544,275InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships-$574,921GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures-$256,576OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$23,414,162EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$21,372,735BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$313,633ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$452,160InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships-$564,832GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures-$324,485OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$20,344,891EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$19,201,111BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$237,511ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,866,873InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships-$545,285GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures-$387,475OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$21,372,735EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$17,447,188BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$480,802ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,246,479InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships-$598,509GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures-$374,848OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$19,201,111EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.79000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.21000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,134,072OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,134,072BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$1,180,100InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$37,899,283OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$12,324,256DepreciationAmt
Book Value$26,755,127BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,743,493OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,681,742DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,061,751BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,557,373OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$719,384DepreciationAmt
Book Value$837,989BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$29,788,939TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
ADV FROM FED FOR STUDENT LOANS$1,495,942
ANNUITIES PAYABLE & SPLIT INT AGREEM$592,996
OTHER LIABILITIES$283,049
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$2,371,987TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$23,240,450TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$2,071,152NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue-$18,265OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$2,052,887RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$21,187,563RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$8,418,961OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$8,418,961RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$29,606,524TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$15,183,664TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Subtotal$15,183,664ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$8,418,961OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$8,418,961ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$23,602,625TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XI, LINE 2DCHANGE IN VALUE OF SPLIT INT AGREEMENTS -18,265
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XI, LINE 4BTUITION ALLOWANCES (NETTED ON F/S'S) 8,418,961
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 4BTUITION ALLOWANCES (NETTED ON F/S'S) 8,418,961

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (true)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (true)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (true)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (true)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (true)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (true)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (true)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts RghtsfalseDiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm FcultyfalseDiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race SchsfalseDiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of FcltsfalseDiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt ProgfalseDiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other ActyfalseDiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (true)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid RvkdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (true)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE E, LINE 3POLICY IS INCLUDED IN ALL PROMOTIONAL LITERATURE AND REGISTRATION MATERIALS.
SCHEDULE E, LINE 6FINANCIAL AID FOR COLLEGE STUDENTS

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeSCHOLARSHIP ALLOWANCESGrantTypeTxt
Recipient757RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$8,418,961CashGrantAmt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonAMY NOVAKPersonNm
TitlePRESIDENTTitleTxt
Base Compensation Filing Org$138,624BaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Deferred Compensation Flng Org$20,251DeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt
Total Compensation Filing Org$158,875TotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE J, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 1AFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE UNIVERSITY PROVIDES TRAVEL FOR THE PRESIDENT'S SPOUSE. THE PRESIDENT HAS A 1,800 PER MONTH HOUSING ALLOWANCE.ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CITY OF MITCHELLBusinessNameLine1
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN466000305BondIssuerEIN
Bond Issued2010-03-25BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$2,820,000IssuePriceAmt
PurposeFUNDS WERE ISSUED TO REFINCE THE ORIGINAL ISSUE FOR THE CONSTRUCTION OF LBPurposeDesc
DefeasedfalseDefeasedInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool FinancingfalsePoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Current RefundingfalseCurrentRefundingInd
Advance RefundingfalseAdvanceRefundingInd
Final Allocation MadeYes (true)FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (true)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed PropertyfalseOwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease ArrangementsfalseAnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropfalseMgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Any Research AgreementsfalseAnyResearchAgreementsInd
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestfalseBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed PropfalseChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdfalseProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T FiledfalseForm8038TFiledInd
Rebate Not Due YetfalseRebateNotDueYetInd
Exception To RebatefalseExceptionToRebateInd
No Rebate DuefalseNoRebateDueInd
Variable Rate IssuefalseVariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And RecfalseHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GICfalseGrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds InvestedfalseGrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor ReqsfalseWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE K - PURPOSE OF ISSUE DESCRIPTIONFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationCITY OF MITCHELL WILLIAMS ELEMENTARY SCHOOL.ExplanationTxt

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (3 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionAmtTransactionTransactionDescSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd
PUETZ CORPORATION
BOARD MEMBER$236,511CONSTRUCTIONfalse
COUNTY FAIR FOOD STORES
BOARD MEMBER$14,040FOOD AND FUELfalse
MORGAN THEELER LLP
BOARD MEMBER$4,328LEGAL SERVICESfalse

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution1ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$61,775NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be HeldfalseAnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (true)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedfalseThirdPartiesUsedInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 11BTHE FORM 990 IS REVIEWED WITH ADMINISTRATION FOR ACCURACY OF INFORMATION. THE FORM IS THEN REVIEWED BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES AUDIT COMMITTEE BEFORE SUBMISSION TO THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT. THE AUDIT COMMITTEE HAS BEEN GRANTED AUTHORITY FROM THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES TO APPROVE THE SUBMISSION. THE ENTIRE FORM 990 IS THEN REVIEWED WITH THE WHOLE BOARD AT THE NEXT REGULARLY SCHEDULED MEETING.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 12CEACH YEAR ADMINISTRATION REVIEWS THE VENDORS USED BY THE UNIVERSITY TO DETERMINE IF THERE IS A CONNECTION WITH ANY EMPLOYEE, OFFICER, OR TRUSTEE. MAJOR CONTRACTS INVOLVING THESE INDIVIDUALS ARE APPROVED BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES PRIOR TO ENGAGEMENT WITH THE VENDOR. ALL INDIVIDUALS FALLING UNDER THIS POLICY ARE AWARE OF THE POLICY AND THE DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENTS. ANY RELATED PARTY TRANSACTIONS ARE DISCLOSED IN THE ANNUAL AUDIT.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15ACOMPENSATION IS DETERMINED BY A BOARD OF TRUSTEES APPOINTED COMMITTEE. THIS COMMITTEE REVIEWS COMPARABLE DATA FROM OTHER INSTITUTIONS OF SIMILAR SIZE AND MISSION. THE COMMITTEE RECOMMENDS COMPENSATION TO THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE FOR BOARD APPROVAL. THE PRESIDENT IS ISSUED A MULTI-YEAR CONTRACT THAT ADDRESSES ALL COMPENSATION.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15BCOMPENSATION FOR OTHER OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES OF THE UNIVERSITY IS DETERMINED AFTER COMPARABLE DATA IS REVIEWED. COMPENSATION FOR OTHER OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES IS AT THE DISCRETION OF THE PRESIDENT WITH BOARD OF TRUSTEES OVERSIGHT.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 19THESE DOCUMENTS ARE MADE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. THE 990 FORM IS AVAILABLE ONLINE THROUGH THE IRS WEBSITE.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9CHANGE IN VALUE OF SPLIT INT AGREEMENTS -18,265 TUITION ALLOWANCES (NETTED ON F/S'S) -8,418,961 TUITION ALLOWANCES (NETTED ON F/S'S) 8,418,961