FURP.ORG / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

NORTH GREENVILLE UNIVERSITY: Form 990, tax year 2014

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
NORTH GREENVILLE UNIVERSITY (EIN 57-0314406)
Tax period
2014-06-01 to 2015-05-31
Filed
2016-04-18
IRS object ID
201621099349301017
Schema version
2014v6.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2016-04-18T14:39:26-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2015-05-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN363990892PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Capin Crouse LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11255 Lakes Parkway Suite 130AddressLine1Txt
CityLawrencevilleCityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP30043ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2014-06-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN570314406EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1North Greenville UniversityBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlNORTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8649777000PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 1892AddressLine1Txt
CityTigervilleCityNm
State AbbreviationSCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP29688ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDr Randall PannellPersonNm
Person TitleInterim PresidentPersonTitleTxt
Phone8649777000PhoneNum
Signature2016-04-18SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonEdward M Priem IIPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01783684PTIN
Phone6785185301PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2014TaxYr
Build TS2016-08-17 19:52:53ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerDr Randall PannellPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 1892AddressLine1Txt
CityTigervilleCityNm
State AbbreviationSCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP29688ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$66,092,034GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.NGU.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1892FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateSCLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionThe University offers a quality education in a biblically sound, Christ-centered environment.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body25VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent25VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1270TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers200TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$10,953,715PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$5,071,299CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$46,719,558PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$50,992,121CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$2,954,567PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,201,297CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$66,550PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$445,526CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$60,694,390PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$57,710,243CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$15,180,547PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$17,346,613CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$19,125,673PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$22,612,278CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,156,529CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$14,863,224PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$16,394,651CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$49,169,444PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$56,353,542CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$11,524,946PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$1,356,701CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$114,083,533TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$115,157,307TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$6,290,970TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$8,424,834TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$107,792,563NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$106,732,473NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionNorth Greenville University believes that the truths found in Holy Scriptures permeate every aspect of reality. All truth is ultimately from God. Therefore, a commitment to academic excellence can be an integral component in the maturation of one's faith. Faculty members meet regularly to study ways in which matters of faith can be brought into the classroom experience. Students are encouraged to participate in the process of integrating faith and learning. North Greenville University strives to be a place where graduates will leave with both and understanding of their chosen fields of endeavor and an appreciation for how the truths of scripture apply to those areas. The University offers the following degrees: the Bachelor of Arts degree, the Bachelor of Science degree, the Master of Business Administration degree, and the Master of Christian Ministries degree. Within the undergraduate degrees there are 36 program options and choices of major.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$50,987,160ExpenseAmt
Grant$17,346,613GrantAmt
Revenue$51,381,313RevenueAmt
DescThe University is a co-educational liberal arts university offering graduate and undergraduate degrees. It has Level V membership in the Commission of Colleges of the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. The University's purpose is to provide opportunities for higher education in a Christian atmosphere. The University provided education services to 2,428 students.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$50,987,160TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (1)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingYes (1)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonYes (1)GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (1)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document3974IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee1270EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members25GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member25IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldSCStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Michelle SabouBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone8649777000PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO Box 1892AddressLine1Txt
CityTigervilleCityNm
State AbbreviationSCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP29688ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (42 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Beverly N Hawkins
Chairman (Part Yr Vice Chairman)1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Michael D Hamrick
Part Year Chairman1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
William Tyler
Vice Chairman1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Lucile Sullivan
Secretary1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rodney Back
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Daniel Boling
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Lee Capell
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Edward Case
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
David Charpia
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jimmy Cox
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Betty Jo Craft
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
David Edwards
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ronald Edwards
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mark Ells
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Arnold E Emery
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rebecca W Freel
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Gary Glenn
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Joe F Hayes
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Lucian R Lee Jr
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Greg Mathis
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Eugene Merritt
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Laura Messer
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Lee McCormick
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Melvin K Younts
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Robert A Dickard
Part Year Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Ralph S Hendricks
Part Year Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Bruce A Russell
Part Year Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr G Elton Todd
Part Year Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Donald E Ward
Part Year Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Donald J Wilton
Part Year Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Randall Pannell
Interim President & VP Ac. Affairs40.00Yes (X)$101,036$0$17,331
Dr James Epting
President40.00Yes (X)$375,848$0$54,219
Michelle Sabou
VP Business Affairs40.00Yes (X)$108,718$0$13,464
Wayne Landrith
VP Corporate & Foundation40.00Yes (X)$109,930$0$13,386
Dr Tony Beam
VP for Student Services40.00Yes (X)$101,848$0$23,511
Dr Stephen Crouse
VP of Campus Ministries40.00Yes (X)$99,511$0$26,026
Alexander Miller
VP for University Advancement40.00Yes (X)$99,676$0$21,102
Mayson Easterling
VP for Denominational Relations40.00Yes (X)$103,776$0$23,973
Keli Sewell
VP of Admissions & FA40.00Yes (X)$104,978$0$26,026
Dr Sam Isgett
VP for Graduate Programs40.00Yes (X)$106,735$0$18,414
Thomas Allen
Dean College of Science & Math40.00$124,658$0$15,742Yes (X)
Gregory Davenport
Associate Dean of Health Professions40.00$121,558$0$11,543Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,558,272TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$264,737TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K10IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Aramark Corporation
PO Box 198532AtlantaGA30384Food Services$2,172,663
Bank Bros Asphalt
PO Box 670Travelers RestSC29690Asphalt$561,002
Sportscapes
432 Country RidgeRed OakTX75154Construction$376,000
Oakwood Synthetic Turf
23679 Lauren RoadMacombMI48042Turf$300,000
Blackboard Inc
650 Massachusetts Ave NW 6th FlooWashingDC20001Learning Management System Provider$224,966
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K28CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$27,441FundraisingAmt
Related Organizations$1,233,036RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Government Grants$112,119GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$3,698,703AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$324,764NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$5,071,299TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Tuition and fees900099$35,076,963$35,076,963
Auxiliary revenue900099$15,359,308$15,359,308
Other income900099$555,850$555,850
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$50,992,121TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$710,377TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$710,377ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$7,907,381SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$4,933,985SecuritiesAmt
Other$2,482,476OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,973,396SecuritiesAmt
Other-$2,482,476OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$490,920TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$490,920ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$82,215FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$27,441ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$25,881FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$56,334TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$56,334ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$1,328,641GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$939,449CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$389,192TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$389,192RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$57,710,243TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$51,381,313RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,257,631ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$17,346,613TotalAmt
Program Services$17,346,613ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,231,222TotalAmt
Program Services$749,502ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$260,400ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$221,320FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$318,834TotalAmt
Program Services$190,796ProgramServicesAmt
Fundraising$128,038FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$16,530,512TotalAmt
Program Services$13,858,177ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,374,733ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$297,602FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$671,144TotalAmt
Program Services$620,787ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$28,558ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$21,799FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,563,699TotalAmt
Program Services$2,077,353ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$390,781ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$95,565FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,296,867TotalAmt
Program Services$1,199,560ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$55,184ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$42,123FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$48,454TotalAmt
Program Services$3,267ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$45,187ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$59,800TotalAmt
Program Services$10,500ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$49,300ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$135,641TotalAmt
Management And General$135,641ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$720,698TotalAmt
Program Services$720,698ProgramServicesAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$54,806TotalAmt
Management And General$54,806ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,291,585TotalAmt
Program Services$1,955,279ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$78,572ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$257,734FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$969,441TotalAmt
Program Services$969,441ProgramServicesAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$508,960TotalAmt
Program Services$494,712ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$14,248ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$475,576TotalAmt
Program Services$445,161ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,370ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$24,045FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$85,249TotalAmt
Program Services$81,852ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$619ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,778FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$21,789TotalAmt
Program Services$20,844ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$816ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$129FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,198,505TotalAmt
Program Services$2,103,141ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$82,304ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$13,060FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$377,985TotalAmt
Program Services$364,792ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$13,193ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Repairs & maintenance$4,214,465$4,028,409$161,711$24,345
Food services$3,471,462$3,471,462
Accreditation & members$103,589$62,525$41,064

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$656,646TotalAmt
Program Services$212,289ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$416,366ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$27,991FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$56,353,542TotalAmt
Program Services$50,987,160ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,209,853ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,156,529FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,922,042BOYAmt
EOY$12,372,544EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,888,074BOYAmt
EOY$13,040,519EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$325,223BOYAmt
EOY$283,468EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,500BOYAmt
EOY$1,000EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$99,095BOYAmt
EOY$13,385EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$737,403BOYAmt
EOY$563,967EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$350BOYAmt
EOY$2,433EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$82,751,761LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$23,979,237LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$54,978,198BOYAmt
EOY$58,772,524EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,235,097BOYAmt
EOY$16,311,908EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,796,958BOYAmt
EOY$11,830,268EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,099,593BOYAmt
EOY$1,965,291EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$114,083,533BOYAmt
EOY$115,157,307EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,604,508BOYAmt
EOY$3,423,371EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,367,873BOYAmt
EOY$1,559,761EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$399,813BOYAmt
EOY$370,273EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$360,417BOYAmt
EOY$318,750EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,558,359BOYAmt
EOY$2,752,679EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,290,970BOYAmt
EOY$8,424,834EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$76,697,044BOYAmt
EOY$73,184,248EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,686,583BOYAmt
EOY$12,478,960EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,408,936BOYAmt
EOY$21,069,265EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$107,792,563BOYAmt
EOY$106,732,473EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$114,083,533BOYAmt
EOY$115,157,307EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$1,356,701ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$2,047,366NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$6,000DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$375,425OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$5,612,303CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$5,783,927CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$8,817,750CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$10,953,715CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$5,071,299CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$36,238,994TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$5,612,303CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$5,783,927CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$8,817,750CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$10,953,715CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$5,071,299CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$36,238,994TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$10,159,210SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$26,079,784PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$385,260CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$571,614CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$573,049CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$825,025CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$710,377CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$3,065,325TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$58,750CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$73,804CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$79,429CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$86,375CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$82,215CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$380,573TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$39,684,892TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$224,832,627GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.65720PublicSupportCY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule A, Part IIFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe organization is a school as described under 170(b)(1)(A)(ii) and is not required to complete a public support schedule. Schedule A, Part II is completed to verify the School can qualify under public charity status section 170(b)(1)(A)(vi) and qualifies to use the first listed special rule for Schedule B reporting.ExplanationTxt

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$26,137,823BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$793,104ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,417,232InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$147,957OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$28,200,202EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$20,918,556BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$3,112,855ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,253,765InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$27,902GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$119,451OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$26,137,823EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$16,632,823BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,839,690ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,537,892InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$40,775GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$51,074OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$20,918,556EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$16,897,846BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$635,120ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$829,059InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$13,067GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$58,017OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$16,632,823EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$14,005,945BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$541,201ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,445,568InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$30,756GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$64,112OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$16,897,846EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.12550BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.67950PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.19500TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgYes (1)EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd
Related Org List Sch RYes (1)RelatedOrgListSchRInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$1,966,527InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$6,489,611OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$8,456,138BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$60,143,956OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$16,366,090DepreciationAmt
Book Value$43,777,866BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,503,664OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$960,267DepreciationAmt
Book Value$543,397BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$8,964,244OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$6,652,880DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,311,364BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,683,759OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$3,683,759BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$58,772,524TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Closely Held Equity Interests CloselyHeldEquityInterestsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Book Value$33,028BookValueAmt
Method ValuationCMethodValuationCd

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
Cash value of life insurance$531,738F
Baptist Foundation$9,657,847F
Alternative investments$1,443,590F
Commodities$164,065F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$11,830,268TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Student deposits$616,390
Trust liability$59,237
Funds held for others$253,919
Post-retirement benefit obligation$1,271,161
Capital lease obligation$551,972
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$2,752,679TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$38,813,363TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$2,047,366NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$42,835DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Other Revenue-$375,425OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$2,379,956RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$41,193,319RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$135,641InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$16,381,283OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$16,516,924RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$57,710,243TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$39,873,453TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$36,835DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Other Expenses Included$965,330OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$1,002,165ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$38,871,288ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$135,641InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$17,346,613OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$17,482,254ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$56,353,542TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part V, Line 4:The majority of the University's endowment earnings is used to provide scholarship assistance. A small portion of earnings are used to provide programs as designated by donors and the Board of Trustees.
Part X, Line 2:The consolidated financial statement effects of a tax position taken or expected to be taken are recognized in the consolidated financial statements when it is more likely than not, based on the technical merits, that the position will be sustained upon examination. Interest and penalties, if any, are included in expenses in the consolidated statements of activities. As of May 31, 2015 and 2014, the University had no uncertain tax positions that qualify for recognition or disclosure in the consolidated financial statements. The University files information tax returns in the U.S. and various states. The University is generally no longer subject to U.S. Federal and state income tax examinations by tax authorities for years before 2011.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Change in value of trust -145,425. Unrealized loss on assets held for sale -230,000.
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Fundraising expenses reported on Part VIII, Line 8b -25,881. Cost of goods sold reported on Part VIII, Line 10B -939,449. Scholarships netted with revenue 17,346,613.
Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Fundraising Expenses reported on Part VIII, Line 8B 25,881. Cost of goods sold reported on Part VIII, Line 10B 939,449.
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Scholarships netted with revenue 17,346,613.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule E, Part I, Line 3The non-discrimination policy is included in the catalog that goes to all prospective students and that is included on the University website. This information is also included in all admissions materials.
Schedule E, Part I, Line 6Federal financial aid funds under Title IV are received by the University and are awarded and disbursed to its students.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (7 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
Sub-Saharan Africa00Program ServicesStudy Abroad$64,987
South America00Program ServicesStudy Abroad$45,333
Central America and the Caribbean00Program ServicesStudy Abroad$38,107
South Asia00Program ServicesStudy Abroad$12,778
North America00Program ServicesStudy Abroad$12,762
Europe (Including Iceland & Greenland)00Program ServicesStudy Abroad$12,540
Middle East and North Africa00Program ServicesStudy Abroad$1,703
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices0SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees0SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continutation Total Office0ContinutationTotalOfficeCnt
Continutation Total Employee0ContinutationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$188,210SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$0ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$188,210TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign Corp0TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp Ownership0ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest Co0PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign Partnership0ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, line 3:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationAccrual method is used to account for foreign expenditures.ExplanationTxt

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1Golf tournamentEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$109,656GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$27,441CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$82,215GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Cash Prizes Event1$1,500CashPrizesEvent1Amt
Non Cash Prizes Event1$14,479NonCashPrizesEvent1Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event1$3,200RentFacilityCostsEvent1Amt
Food And Beverage Event1$5,241FoodAndBeverageEvent1Amt
Entertainment Event1$1,461EntertainmentEvent1Amt
Gross Receipts Total$109,656GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$27,441CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$82,215GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Cash Prizes Total Events$1,500CashPrizesTotalEventsAmt
Non Cash Prizes Total Events$14,479NonCashPrizesTotalEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Total Events$3,200RentFcltyCostsTotalEventsAmt
Food And Beverage Total Events$5,241FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt
Entertainment Total Events$1,461EntertainmentTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$25,881DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary$56,334NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeScholarshipsGrantTypeTxt
Recipient2200RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$17,346,613CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe financial aid planning office requires students to complete the free application for federal student aid (FAFSA) form to determine eligibility for federal, state and institutional grants, scholarships and loans. This is an equitable formula that measures all assets consistently. In addition to this form, the institution does require some other guidelines in the event that funds are offered based on certain academic credentials or performance in a university sponsored activity or athletic event. These credentials are clearly stated in the university catalog and the university website. Enrollment and eligibility are monitred by the university.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentYes (1)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDr James EptingPersonNm
TitlePresidentTitleTxt
Base Compensation Filing Org$275,746BaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Compensation Based On Rltd Orgs$0CompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt
Bonus Filing Organization$100,102BonusFilingOrganizationAmount
Bonus Related Organizations$0BonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt
Other Compensation Filing Org$0OtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Other Compensation Rltd Orgs$0OtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt
Deferred Compensation Flng Org$40,500DeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt
Deferred Comp Rltd Orgs$0DeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt
Nontaxable Benefits Filing Org$16,207NontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt
Nontaxable Benefits Rltd Orgs$0NontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt
Total Compensation Filing Org$432,555TotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Total Compensation Rltd Orgs$0TotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt
Comp Report Prior990 Filing Org$0CompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt
Comp Report Prior990 Rltd Orgs$0CompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 1aThe President is required to live on the University's main campus. The home is University property and is adjacent to the Univeristy. This benefit is not taxable. A nontaxable housing allowance is also provided to the VP of Business Affairs, VP of Denomenational Relations, and the VP of Academics who are required to live on campus by the University to complete their job duties and respond in emergency situations. All of the houses are on campus and are University property.
Part I, Lines 4a-bDr. Epting, former president, had a 457(f) plan and a severance agreement in FY14-15. However no severance payments were made to him before 5/31/15. A $10,000 contribution was made to his 457(f) plan during the fiscal year, prior to the agreement being formed.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonVlad SabouPersonNm
Relationship With OrgEmployeeRelationshipWithOrgTxt
Loan PurposeStaff Improvement LoanLoanPurposeTxt
Loan From OrganizationYes (X)LoanFromOrganizationInd
Original Principal$1,500OriginalPrincipalAmt
Balance Due$1,000BalanceDueAmt
Default0DefaultInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (1)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Written AgreementYes (1)WrittenAgreementInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$1,000TotalBalanceDueAmt

Grnt Asst Bnft Interested Prsn GrntAsstBnftInterestedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cash Grant$56,765CashGrantAmt
Type Of AssistanceMerit BasedTypeOfAssistanceTxt
Assistance PurposeTuition AssistanceAssistancePurposeTxt

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (5 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionAmtTransactionTransactionDescSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd
Paul Epting
Family Member of James Epting, President$104,335W-2 and Benefits0
Joe Hayes Jr
Family Member of Joe Hayes, Trustee$86,981W-2 and Benefits0
Vlad Sabou
Family Member of Michelle Sabou, VP of Business Affairs$40,157W-2 and Benefits0
Nancy Isgett
Family Member of Joseph Isgett, VP Graduate Studies$46,304W-2 and Benefits0
Julie Styles
Former Board Member$43,060W-2 and Benefits0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule L, Part IIFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationVlad Sabou, husband of Michelle Sabou (VP of Business Affairs) had a staff improvement loan, which is forgiven based on years of service, from the organization with a balance of $1,000 as of 5/31/2015.ExplanationTxt

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Works Of Art WorksOfArtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution1ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$4,000NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesAppraisalMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Books And Publications BooksAndPublicationsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$14,801NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFair market valueMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Clothing And Household Goods ClothingAndHouseholdGoodsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$269,942NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFair market valueMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Cars And Other Vehicles CarsAndOtherVehiclesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution4ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$32,000NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFair market valueMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Food Inventory FoodInventoryGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution14ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$4,021NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFair market valueMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form8283 Received4Form8283ReceivedCnt
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Column (b):FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe number of contributions represent the number of contributions received, not the number of items donated.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 1The executive committee is composed of the chairman, the vice chairman, the secretary, two members-at-large, and the chairman of each of the other board committees. When the board is not in session, the executive committee has the authority to: a) Discharge such duties as the board may assign from time to time and submit a report of its action at the next meeting of the board. b) Review and approve the annual budget prepared by the president and recommend the budget to the entire board for final action. c) Except as limited by these bylaws, or the board itself, have general oversight over matters relating to finance, and implement the fiscal policies of the board. d) Initiate and implement long-range planning for the institution. e) Through the president, serve as the avenue of communication between the board, the faculty, staff, and student body. f) Serve as a grievance committee on complaints received through the office of the president from member of the faculty or staff at the executive committee's initiative or at the request of the president
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11The 990 is prepared by an independent CPA firm and reviewed in detail by the Organization's top management. Every member of the governing body is provided with a copy of the 990 prior to filing with the IRS.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cThe trustees and officers must sign a conflict of interest policy annually. The conflict of interest disclosure forms are then reviewed by the VP for Business Affairs. Any conflicts are disclosed to the President and the Chairman of the Board. If a matter related to a conflict is considered by the Board, the Board Member with the conflict will recuse him or herself.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15The Executive Committee of the independent Board of Trustees reviews the salary and benefits of the President and decides what the new contract amounts will be using comparability data from colleges with similar budgets. This process is documented in the committee minutes. The salary of the Officers is reviewed annually by the independent Board during budget approval. The Officers are typically eligible to receive the same rate of merit increases as other employees, and the final salary decisions for the Officers is made by the President. This process is documented in board minutes as part of the annual budget process.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19At this time, the University does not make available to the public its governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements.
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:Change in value of trust -145,425. Unrealized loss on assets held for sale -230,000.
Form 990, Part XII, line 2c:The University's Board assumes oversight of the audit of its financial statements and selection of its independent accountant. This process has not changed since the prior year.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 7a/7b:The University is an institution of the South Carolina Baptist Convention (Convention). The Convention appoints the University's 25 trustees and must approve all changes or amendments to the University's charter.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Crusader Mountie LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 332AddressLine1Txt
CityTigervilleCityNm
State AbbreviationSCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP29688ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN471461194EIN
Primary ActivitiesWastewater TreatmentPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateSCLegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$80,213TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$1,435,352EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1North Greenville UnivBusinessNameLine1Txt

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtDirect Controlling NADirectControllingNACdControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationIndBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt
South Carolina Baptist Convention
190 Stoneridge DriveColumbiaSC29210570360087Association of Southern Baptist ChurchesSC501(C)(3)1N/A0
The Baptist Foundation of South Carolina
190 Stoneridge DriveColumbiaSC29210570348054Institution of SCBC designated for the management of trust fundsSC501(C)(3)10South Carolina Baptist Convention

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp (2 entries)

Primary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtEntity TypeEntityTypeTxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
Living Trust (1)
Irrevocable Living TrustSCNorth Greenville UniverstiyT0
Charitable Remainder Unitrust (5)
Charitable Remainder UnitrustSCNorth Greenville UniverstiyT0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp

Other Organization Name OtherOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1South Carolina Baptist ConventionBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transaction TypeCTransactionTypeTxt
Involved$0InvolvedAmt