PITZER COLLEGE: Form 990, tax year 2014

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
PITZER COLLEGE (EIN 95-2261113)
Tax period
2014-07-01 to 2015-06-30
Filed
2016-05-12
IRS object ID
201601339349306365
Schema version
2014v6.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2016-05-12T19:42:28-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2015-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN910189318PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Moss Adams LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13121 W March LaneAddressLine1Txt
CityStocktonCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP95219ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2014-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN952261113EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Pitzer CollegeBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlPITZBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone9096218043PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11050 N Mills AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityClaremontCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP917116101ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonYuet K LeePersonNm
Person TitleVP for Admin/TreasurerPersonTitleTxt
Phone9096218043PhoneNum
Signature2016-05-03SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonTracy S PagliaPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00366884PTIN
Phone2099556100PhoneNum
Preparation2016-05-03PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2014TaxYr
Build TS2016-08-17 19:52:53ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerThomas PoonPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11050 N Mills AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityClaremontCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP917116101ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$239,470,745GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.pitzer.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1963FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateCALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionPitzer College is an educational institution focusing on undergraduate education.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body36VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent35VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1025TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers150TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$38,217TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$36,400NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$6,124,923PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$7,331,963CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$62,208,153PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$63,571,171CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$6,137,297PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$6,985,252CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$437,772PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$547,633CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$74,908,145PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$78,436,019CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$11,958,958PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$12,279,896CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$27,026,802PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$28,052,954CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,442,743CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$29,030,709PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$29,864,631CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$68,016,469PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$70,197,481CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$6,891,676PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$8,238,538CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$270,616,829TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$275,870,697TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$93,836,567TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$97,438,028TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$176,780,262NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$178,432,669NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionPitzer College produces engaged socially responsible citizens of the world through an academically rigorous, interdisciplinary liberal arts education emphasizing social justice, intercultural understanding and environmental sensitivity. The meaningful participation of students, faculty and staff in college governance and academic program design is a Pitzer core value. Our community thrives within the mutually supportive framework of The Claremont Colleges, which provide an unsurpassed breadth of academic, athletic and social opportunities.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$61,745,062ExpenseAmt
Grant$12,279,896GrantAmt
Revenue$63,571,171RevenueAmt
DescPitzer College is an educational institution focusing on undergraduate education. The undergraduate full time equivalent enrollment for the year was 1,025 students.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$61,745,062TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficeYes (1)ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (1)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control Ent0TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document1684IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee1025EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountYes (1)ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Foreign CountryNPForeignCountryCd
Foreign CountryITForeignCountryCd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OfYes (1)Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Form8282 Filed2Form8282FiledCnt
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members36GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member35IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Mia Alonzo Claremont University CoBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone9096218043PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1101 S Mills AveAddressLine1Txt
CityClaremontCityNm
State AbbreviationCAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP91711ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (51 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
Laura Skandera Trombley
President (through 6/30/15)70.001.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$575,248$0$132,471
Hirschel Abelson
Trustee5.80Yes (X)$0$0$0
Bridget Baker
Trustee2.60Yes (X)$0$0$0
Harold Arthur Brown
Trustee3.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
William G Brunger
Vice Chair of the Board1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Steven Chang
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jack Cohen
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Susan G Dolgen
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Stuart Finkelstein
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Vicki Kates Gold
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Donald P Gould
Trustee10.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Susan E Hollander
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Deborah Bach Kallick
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Susan Kessler
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jill A Klein
Trustee1.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robin M Kramer
Trustee3.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
John Landgraf
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
David Brady Levin
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mark London
Trustee3.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Magdalena Marquet
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Julie Mazer
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Arnold Palmer
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Shana Passman
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ann Pitzer
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kenneth Pitzer
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Paula B Pretlow
Trustee3.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Susan Pritzker
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robert Redford
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Alissa Okuneff Roston
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Edwin Ryu
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Steven R Scheyer
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
William Sheinberg
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Shahan Soghikian
Chair of the Board1.001.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Eugene Stein
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Tracy McDonald Tindle
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Charles C K Woo
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robert Bookman
Trustee (through 10/31/14)1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Yuet Lee
VP for Administration/Treasurer40.001.00Yes (X)$253,740$0$33,226
Lori Yoshino
Assoc VP for Administration/Assoc Treasurer40.00Yes (X)$133,400$0$38,067
Jennifer Berkley
Asst. VP/ Secretary to the Board40.001.00Yes (X)$128,612$0$26,610
Mia Alonzo
Controller4.0016.00Yes (X)$0$117,178$32,873
Muriel Poston
VP/Dean of Faculty40.001.00$260,752$0$38,133Yes (X)
Angel Perez
VP/Admis. & Fin. Aid (thru 1/2015)40.00$184,464$0$28,196Yes (X)
Adrian Stevens
VP/College Advancement40.00$230,019$0$47,776Yes (X)
Brian Carlise
VP/Office of Student Affairs40.00$181,454$0$30,258Yes (X)
Albert Wachtel
Faculty40.00$157,170$0$31,269Yes (X)
Sheryl Miller
Faculty40.00$154,278$0$18,972Yes (X)
Lean Light
Faculty40.00$152,030$0$21,175Yes (X)
Sharon Snowiss
Faculty40.00$148,075$0$18,177Yes (X)
Larry Burik
Assistant VP/Facilities40.00$145,628$0$25,490Yes (X)
Alan Jones
Faculty (former key employee)40.00$122,837$0$27,161Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,827,707TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$117,178TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$549,854TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K38IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (1)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Bon Appetit Inc
PO Box 50196Los AngelesCA900740196Food Service$2,527,155
Perera Construction & Design Inc
2890 Inland Empire Blvd Ste 102OntarioCA91764Construction$2,375,149
American Wrecking Inc
2459 Lee AveSouth El MonteCA91733Demolition contractor$489,640
Meyer Coatings Inc
606 N EckhoffOrangeCA92868Painter$341,561
LPA Inc
PO Box 7399Newport BeachCA926587399Architect$277,785
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K17CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$19,735FundraisingAmt
Government Grants$173,351GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$7,138,877AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$513,853NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$7,331,963TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Tuition and fees611600$50,501,877$50,501,877
Auxiliary enterprises611710$11,590,561$11,590,561
Summer conferences611710$1,024,190$1,024,190
Federal Grants and Contracts611710$383,865$383,865
Private contracts900099$70,678$70,678
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$63,571,171TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,758,947TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue-$22,435UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$2,781,382ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$165,175,694SecuritiesAmt
Other$60,652OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$160,972,310SecuritiesAmt
Other$37,731OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$4,203,384SecuritiesAmt
Other$22,921OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$4,226,305TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$60,652UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$4,165,653ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$5,614FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$19,735ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$24,685FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$19,071TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$19,071ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOther sourcesDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$566,704TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$566,704ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$566,704OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$78,436,019TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$63,571,171RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$38,217UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$7,494,668ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$12,279,896TotalAmt
Program Services$12,279,896ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,487,415TotalAmt
Program Services$1,213,525ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$991,595ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$282,295FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$153,181TotalAmt
Program Services$153,181ProgramServicesAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$18,763,437TotalAmt
Program Services$17,088,932ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,000,615ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$673,890FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,760,340TotalAmt
Program Services$2,389,146ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$269,386ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$101,808FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,434,329TotalAmt
Program Services$2,250,194ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$88,566ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$95,569FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,454,252TotalAmt
Program Services$1,220,576ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$170,252ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$63,424FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$280,444TotalAmt
Program Services$18,600ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$261,844ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$161,291TotalAmt
Management And General$161,291ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$125,215TotalAmt
Management And General$125,215ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$315,131TotalAmt
Management And General$315,131ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,232,854TotalAmt
Program Services$1,152,892ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$78,992ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$970FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$520,120TotalAmt
Program Services$460,757ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$46,467ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$12,896FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,735,350TotalAmt
Program Services$1,587,210ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$77,460ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$70,680FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$630,576TotalAmt
Program Services$202,812ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$408,328ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$19,436FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,118,455TotalAmt
Program Services$1,061,718ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$47,642ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$9,095FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,310,050TotalAmt
Program Services$1,193,408ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$61,180ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$55,462FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$317,414TotalAmt
Program Services$295,738ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$20,944ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$732FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,094,815TotalAmt
Program Services$4,035,572ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$59,243ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,443,041TotalAmt
Program Services$7,255,780ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,184,972ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,289FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,184,522TotalAmt
Program Services$3,911,752ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$272,770ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$238,049TotalAmt
Program Services$6,373ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$231,676ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Food and Housing$2,809,049$2,809,049
Building Repair$812,397$793,773$15,559$3,065
Books & Periodicals$13,024$13,024

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$522,834TotalAmt
Program Services$351,154ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$120,548ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$51,132FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$70,197,481TotalAmt
Program Services$61,745,062ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$7,009,676ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,442,743FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$798,667BOYAmt
EOY$1,139,992EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$17,881,946BOYAmt
EOY$27,545,385EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,539,131BOYAmt
EOY$4,142,346EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,064,345BOYAmt
EOY$2,378,828EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$169,570BOYAmt
EOY$119,155EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,869,977BOYAmt
EOY$3,431,961EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$137,659,593LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$37,164,365LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$92,191,759BOYAmt
EOY$100,495,228EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$99,397,471BOYAmt
EOY$90,415,993EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$36,450,048BOYAmt
EOY$39,466,129EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,835,206BOYAmt
EOY$4,419,906EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,418,709BOYAmt
EOY$2,315,774EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$270,616,829BOYAmt
EOY$275,870,697EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,533,580BOYAmt
EOY$6,371,421EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,397,766BOYAmt
EOY$1,687,911EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$77,254,710BOYAmt
EOY$80,772,405EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$497,996BOYAmt
EOY$433,425EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,152,515BOYAmt
EOY$8,172,866EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$93,836,567BOYAmt
EOY$97,438,028EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$107,486,675BOYAmt
EOY$108,102,212EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,510,205BOYAmt
EOY$34,017,546EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,783,382BOYAmt
EOY$36,312,911EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$176,780,262BOYAmt
EOY$178,432,669EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$270,616,829BOYAmt
EOY$275,870,697EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$8,238,538ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$6,933,501NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$347,370OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$7,968,212CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$5,665,891CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$14,671,036CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$6,124,923CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$7,331,963CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$41,762,025TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$7,968,212CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$5,665,891CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$14,671,036CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$6,124,923CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$7,331,963CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$41,762,025TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$12,542,589SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$29,219,436PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$4,357,139CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,645,597CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$2,815,917CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,788,622CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,781,382CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$15,388,657TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$23,733CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,229CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$17,329CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$43,291TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$369,722CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$328,016CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$484,886CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$451,296CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$566,704CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$2,200,624TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$59,394,597TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$297,836,165GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.49200PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.54930PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$134,877,145BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$3,479,846ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$328,900InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$721,579GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$4,167,851OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$305,413AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$132,833,248EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$119,050,563BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,596,178ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$19,000,104InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$664,296GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$3,818,288OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$287,116AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$134,877,145EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$110,612,081BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,284,824ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$10,827,503InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$646,432GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$3,715,622OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$311,791AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$119,050,563EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$114,169,993BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$736,362ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$836,804InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$429,123GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$2,616,042OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$412,305AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$110,612,081EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$94,577,476BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$3,121,095ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$18,474,522InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$237,969GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$1,385,016OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$380,115AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$114,169,993EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.60000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.25000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.15000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgYes (1)EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$11,705,070OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$11,705,070BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$114,587,207OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$30,021,316DepreciationAmt
Book Value$84,565,891BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$10,012,674OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$7,143,049DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,869,625BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,354,642OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,354,642BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$100,495,228TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
Funds held in trust by others$579,100F
Limited Partnerships$38,887,029F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$39,466,129TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Government advances for student loans$3,093,100
Annuities payable$48,577
Early retirement liability$4,368,385
Asset retirement obligation$662,804
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$8,172,866TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$59,375,765TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$6,933,501NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$347,370OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$6,586,131RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$65,961,896RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$309,590InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$12,164,533OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$12,474,123RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$78,436,019TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$57,798,029TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$74,670OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$74,670ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$57,723,359ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$309,589InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$12,164,533OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$12,474,122ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$70,197,481TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part V, Line 4:The College uses the income from the endowment funds per the requirements of the donor. Such income is used for grants, scholarships, professorships, lectures and general operations of the College.
Part X, Line 2:The objective of the College is to maintain and conduct a 501(c)(3) nonprofit educational institution. The primary purpose of accounting and reporting is the recording of resources received and applied rather than the determination of net income. The College had no uncertain tax positions and/or obligations at June 30, 2015 and 2014. The College's tax returns are subject to review and examination by federal and state authorities. The College is no longer subject to income tax examinations by taxing authorities for years before 2012 for its federal filing and for years before 2011 for its state filings.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Actuarial Adjustments 152,362. Staff retirement plan comprehensive loss 195,008. Revenue of relatd organization included in financial statements
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Student Financial aid 12,164,533.
Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Expenses reported on Pitzer College Costa Rica's return 74,670.
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Student Financial aid 12,164,533.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule E, Part I, Line 3Students applying to the college receive registration materials that state the nondiscrimination policy. The policy is also published on the Pitzer College website. www.pitzer.edu
Schedule E, Part I, Line 6Pitzer College participates in the Pell Grant, Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant, Cal Grants, College Work-Study and Perkins Loan programs.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (10 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
Central America and the Caribbean11Program servicesEducation$386,714
East Asia and the Pacific11Program servicesEducation$303,118
Europe (including Iceland and Greenland)11Program servicesEducation$174,005
South America11Program servicesEducation$187,430
South Asia11Program servicesEducation$347,511
Sub-Saharan Africa11Program servicesEducation$208,613
Central America and the Caribbean00Investments$15,864,980
East Asia and the Pacific00Investments$3,742,312
Europe (including Iceland and Greenland)00Investments$6,557,567
Middle East and North Africa00Investments$19,936
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices6SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees6SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continutation Total Office0ContinutationTotalOfficeCnt
Continutation Total Employee0ContinutationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office6TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee6TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$21,214,683SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$6,577,503ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$27,792,186TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpYes (1)TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipYes (1)ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CoYes (1)PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipYes (1)ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationFunds are sent via wire to the director in charge of the program. Receipts for all expenses are sent to the Treasurer's office where they are reconciled, translated into US currency and recorded. Actual expenses are recorded each year except for some expenses at the end of the year that are estimated and reconciled in the following year when the receipts are received.ExplanationTxt

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1AuctionEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$25,349GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$19,735CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$5,614GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Non Cash Prizes Event1$1,500NonCashPrizesEvent1Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event1$4,337RentFacilityCostsEvent1Amt
Food And Beverage Event1$13,527FoodAndBeverageEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$5,321OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Gross Receipts Total$25,349GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$19,735CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$5,614GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Non Cash Prizes Total Events$1,500NonCashPrizesTotalEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Total Events$4,337RentFcltyCostsTotalEventsAmt
Food And Beverage Total Events$13,527FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$5,321OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$24,685DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary-$19,071NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (3 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmt
Institutional Grant Aid391$11,991,182
Supplemental Educational Opportunity Grant59$173,351
Stipends67$115,363

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationPitzer College awards scholarships only to individual undergraduate students. These scholarships are awarded based upon academic achievement and/or demonstrated financial need. The Financial Aid Office, with the assistance of the Registrar's Office, monitor student enrollment each semester to ensure that students remain qualified for financial aid. The College also awards tuition to dependents of its employees who meet the requirements of the College's Tuition Remission Program. Employee dependent's must be enrolled at one of the undergraduate schools of The Claremont Colleges. Tuition is paid directly to the undergraduate college after grades are submitted to the Human Resources Office as evidence of course completion.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
First Class Or Charter TravelYes (X)FirstClassOrCharterTravelInd
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Personal ServicesYes (X)PersonalServicesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (15 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Laura Skandera Trombley
President (through 6/30/15)$518,284$0$0$0$56,964$0$97,867$0$34,604$0$707,719$0$0$0
Yuet Lee
VP for Administration/Treasurer$252,420$0$0$0$1,320$0$30,542$0$2,684$0$286,966$0$0$0
Lori Yoshino
Assoc VP for Administration/Assoc Tr$132,560$0$0$0$840$0$16,849$0$21,218$0$171,467$0$0$0
Jennifer Berkley
Asst. VP/ Secretary to the Board$127,444$0$0$0$1,168$0$15,750$0$10,860$0$155,222$0$0$0
Mia Alonzo
Controller$0$116,698$0$0$0$480$0$12,574$0$20,299$0$150,051$0$0
Muriel Poston
VP/Dean of Faculty$255,952$0$0$0$4,800$0$30,906$0$7,227$0$298,885$0$0$0
Angel Perez
VP/Admis. & Fin. Aid (thru 1/2015)$182,194$0$0$0$2,270$0$21,937$0$6,259$0$212,660$0$0$0
Adrian Stevens
VP/College Advancement$228,043$0$0$0$1,976$0$28,240$0$19,536$0$277,795$0$0$0
Brian Carlise
VP/Office of Student Affairs$180,330$0$0$0$1,124$0$21,960$0$8,298$0$211,712$0$0$0
Albert Wachtel
Faculty$157,170$0$0$0$0$0$19,078$0$12,191$0$188,439$0$0$0
Sheryl Miller
Faculty$154,221$0$0$0$57$0$18,506$0$466$0$173,250$0$0$0
Lean Light
Faculty$152,030$0$0$0$0$0$18,506$0$2,669$0$173,205$0$0$0
Sharon Snowiss
Faculty$148,075$0$0$0$0$0$17,695$0$482$0$166,252$0$0$0
Larry Burik
Assistant VP/Facilities$145,628$0$0$0$0$0$17,739$0$7,751$0$171,118$0$0$0
Alan Jones
Faculty (former key employee)$122,744$0$0$0$93$0$15,306$0$11,855$0$149,998$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 1aAny of the items checked above are provided only as documented in a particular individual's contract with the College. President is required to live in a Pitzer owned or leased residence as part of her contract. All maintenance expenses related to the house are paid by Pitzer.
Part I, Line 4Part II: President Laura Trombley participates in a Section 457(f) supplemental nonqualified plan. A payment was made to the President in July of 2010 for the amount that vested on June 30, 2010. A payment was made to the President in July 2013 for the amount that vested on June 30, 2013. An additional amount would have been due to the President on June 30, 2016 if the President had continued in the College's employment through that date. The President tendered her resignation on November 20, 2014, effective June 30, 2015. As a result additional payments under her agreement that would have been due June 30, 2016 and any prorated amounts that might have been due as a death benefit per the terms of her contract are no longer due as of June 30, 2015.

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINCUSIPCUSIPNumBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
California Educational Facilities Authority Series 2009
A521705592130178UR52009-11-18$63,724,597Facility construction & improvement, refinance CEFA Series 1999 and 2005B000
California Municipal Finance Authority 2014 Tax-Exempt Loan
B2015634662014-06-26$24,937,500Advance refund CEFA 2005A in April 2015, property purchase, capital projects000

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrCurrent RefundingCurrentRefundingIndAdvance RefundingAdvanceRefundingIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd
A$3,725,000$63,897,893$792,003$38,675,810$24,709,55020130Yes (1)Yes (1)Yes (1)
B$21,047,741$125,241$5,000,000$15,860,0000Yes (1)0Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndPrivate Bus Use By OthersPrivateBusUseByOthersPctPrivate Bus Concerning UBIPrivateBusConcerningUBIPctTotal Private Business UseTotalPrivateBusinessUsePctBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
A00000.000000.000000.0000000Yes (1)
B00000.000000.000000.0000000Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
A000Yes (1)000Yes (1)Yes (1)
B0Yes (1)000000Yes (1)

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (1)
B0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart II, Line 3, Column A, B and CFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationExplanation of difference between line 3 and issue price: Interest income and gain/loss.ExplanationTxt

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution25ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$513,853NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form8283 Received0Form8283ReceivedCnt
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11The form is reviewed by the Audit Committee. A copy of the 990 is provided electronically to each member of the Board, excluding emeriti Trustees who are non-voting members.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cPitzer has a Conflict of Interest Policy that prohibits trustees, officers and employees from using their positions and knowledge in any way that could create a conflict between the interests of the College and their own interests. The policy also requires that trustees, officers or other employees promptly report to the Trustee Audit Committee, any transaction or situation, pertaining to themselves or others, that may be a conflict of interest. Each trustee, officer and senior administrator must annually sign a statement documenting any existing or potential conflict of interest. The results of this annual reporting are reviewed by the Trustee Audit Committee. If any conflicts were identified during this documentation process, the Trustee Audit Committee would report this to the full board for their review and action, if warranted. In addition, it is the practice of trustees to recuse themselves from discussion and voting in circumstances where there may be a potential conflict of interest.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15The College uses benchmark salary data from comparable higher education institution groups for all employees, including executive management positions. Salaries are also reviewed in relation to performance as evidenced by annual written performance evaluations and years in position. Compensation for Pitzer's top executives is reviewed and approved by the Trustee Compensation Committee whose charge, drawn from the bylaws, is as stated below: 4.22 (a)(i) Compensation Committee. There shall be a subcommittee of the Executive Committee known as the Compensation Committee that shall review and approve the compensation, including benefits, of all of the following: (a) the President, (b) the Treasurer, and (c) every person, regardless of title, with powers, duties or responsibilities comparable to a president, chief executive officer, treasurer or chief financial officer. The review shall be conducted in accordance with California Government Code Section 125856(g). The Compensation Committee shall be composed of independent Trustees and shall not include the President or Treasurer. In addition to the President and Treasurer, the Trustee Compensation Committee reviews and approves compensation for the Vice President of Academic Affairs as this position is designated to act as the chief executive officer in exigency. For the Treasurer and Vice President of Academic Affairs, the Compensation Committee reviews and approves recommended compensation after reviewing performance, and salary and benefits in relation to the average salary and benefits packages of selected peer organizations and years in position. Minutes of the committee and the analyses are kept in confidentiality, limited to the committee, the President, the Secretary of the Board, the Vice President for Administration and Finance/Treasurer, and the Director of Human Resources. The Director of Human Resources retains the minutes and analyses as documentation of this process. President's contract: As outlined in Pitzer College's by-laws, the Board's Executive Committee annually conducts a performance review of the President. Under the by-laws, if any changes to the President's employment contract, including salary and benefits, are considered appropriate and necessary, these changes are constructed carefully by the Compensation Committee, in discussions with the President, reviewed by the Executive Committee and submitted to the full Board of Trustees for discussion and approval. In particular, the Board discusses the President's performance, the external market for comparable presidents at peer liberal arts colleges and the overall needs and means of Pitzer College. After discussion, and given the importance that the Board attaches to its supervision of the President, the Board attempts to achieve a consensus in favor of -- and then formally approves -- all compensation decisions. A couple of years ago, the Compensation Committee, the Executive Committee and the Board of Trustees decided that, under these policies, it was appropriate and necessary to extend the President's contract for an additional period to coincide with the College's strategic planning horizon and its pending capital fund-raising campaign. As a result, under the process described above, the two committees and the Board, in consultation with independent compensation experts and legal counsel, considered a new contract for the President contract, effective July 1, 2010, for a five-year period, and it was approved by the Board of Trustees. The deliberations and review included the President's exceptional performance, her years in position and the external market for comparable presidents at a large cohort group of peer liberal arts colleges, as summarized in a report prepared by independent compensation consultants. The Board approved the new contract by consensus, its final formal vote being unanimous. The new contract was then executed by the President and the Board Chair.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19- Governing documents are not available to the general public - Conflict of interest policy is not available to the public - Audited financial statements are available on the College's website
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:Actuarial adjustment 152,362. Staff retirement plan comprehensive loss 195,008.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtDirect Controlling NADirectControllingNACdControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
Claremont University Consortium
101 S Mills AveClaremontCA91711954786748Support Claremont collegesCA501(c)(3)11a, Type IN/A0
Pitzer College - Costa Rica
101 S Mills AveClaremontCA91711320152376Conservation easement for forest conservationCA501(c)(3)11a, Type IN/AYes (1)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgYes (1)AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (1)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.