BARTON COLLEGE: Form 990, tax year 2015

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
BARTON COLLEGE (EIN 56-0529933)
Tax period
2015-07-01 to 2016-06-30
Filed
2017-05-15
IRS object ID
201741359349306869
Schema version
2015v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2017-05-15T13:15:38-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2016-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN540504608PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BROWN EDWARDS & COMPANY LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11715 PRATT DRIVE SUITE 2700AddressLine1Txt
CityBLACKSBURGCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP24060ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2015-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN560529933EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BARTON COLLEGEBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlBARTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2523996331PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 5000AddressLine1Txt
CityWILSONCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP278937000ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDAVID A BROWNINGPersonNm
Person TitleVP FOR ADMIN AND FINANCEPersonTitleTxt
Phone2523996328PhoneNum
Signature2017-05-12SignatureDt

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonMARK WOOLWINEPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00647446PTIN
Phone5404433606PhoneNum
Preparation2017-05-12PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2015TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerDOUGLAS N SEARCYPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 5000AddressLine1Txt
CityWILSONCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP278937000ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$43,542,854GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.BARTON.EDUWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1902FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNCLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionLOCATED IN WILSON, NORTH CAROLINA, BARTON COLLEGE IS AN ACADEMIC COMMUNITY OF APPROXIMATELY 1,000 STUDENTS AND 200 FACULTY AND STAFF. NATIONALLY RECOGNIZED FOR ITS PROGRAMS IN EDUCATION, DEAF EDUCATION, NURSING, AND SOCIAL WORK AND ITS CHAMPIONSHIP MEN'S ATHLETICS TEAMS, THE SCHOOL MAINTAINS A CLOSE-KNIT ATMOSPHERE AND EMPHASIZES INDIVIDUAL ATTENTION AND ENGAGED LEARNING. THE 65-ACRE CAMPUS IS HOME TO BARTON BULLDOGS VARSITY ATHLETICS AND BOASTS FIVE RESIDENCE HALLS, THE W.N. HACKNEY LIBRARY, THE KENNEDY RECREATION & INTRAMURAL CENTER, AND OTHER STATE-OF-THE-ART FACILITIES. IN 1923 THE COLLEGE ADOPTED THE WORDS HABEBUNT LUMEN VITAE - "THEY SHALL HAVE THE LIGHT OF LIFE" - AS ITS OFFICIAL COLLEGE MOTTO. IN 1955, THE COLLEGE WAS ACCREDITED BY THE SOUTHERN ASSOCIATION OF COLLEGES AND SCHOOLS COMMISSION ON COLLEGES.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body35VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent35VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee673TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$4,089,386PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$12,216,704CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$28,617,059PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$29,849,019CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$827,390PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,076,169CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$238,855PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$322,662CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$33,772,690PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$43,464,554CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$10,399,746PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$10,700,968CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$12,028,536PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$13,046,276CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,381,568CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$11,457,749PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$11,927,426CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$33,886,031PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$35,674,670CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$113,341PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$7,789,884CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$69,388,180TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$74,681,636TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$23,282,903TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$22,335,722TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$46,105,277NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$52,345,914NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionBARTON COLLEGE IS COMMITTED TO PROVIDING PROGRAMS AND OPPORTUNITIES TO ENCOURAGE THE INTELLECTUAL, SPIRITUAL, SOCIAL, AND CULTURAL DEVELOPMENT OF ITS STUDENTS AND TO CHALLENGE THEM FOR FUTURE LEADERSHIP AND SERVICE TO THEIR LOCAL AND GLOBAL COMMUNITIES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$9,361,107ExpenseAmt
Revenue$25,989,001RevenueAmt
DescINSTRUCTION: ACCREDITATED ACADEMIC PROGRAMS WITH 27 MAJORS AND 29 MINORS FOR UNDERGRADUATES, 8 ACCELERATED PROFESSIONAL PROGRAMS, AND 4 GRADUATE DEGREE PROGRAMS. AWARDED 253 DEGREES IN 2015-16. SERVING APPROXIMATELY 1,000 UNDERGRADUATES.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$2,679,832ExpenseAmt
Revenue$4,182,680RevenueAmt
DescAUXILIARY SERVICES: ROOM, BOARD, AND BOOKSTORE.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$10,700,968ExpenseAmt
Grant$10,700,968GrantAmt
DescINSTITUTIONAL AID AND SCHOLARSHIPS FROM ENDOWMENT, RESTRICTED SCHOLARSHIPS, AND INSTITUTIONAL DISCOUNT.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$6,588,534ExpenseAmt
DescSTUDENT SERVICES: ENROLLMENT SERVICES, FINANCIAL AID, POST OFFICE, CO-CURRICULAR ACTIVITIES IN STUDENT LIFE, AND COLLEGIATE ATHLETICS (NCAA DIVISION II WITH 8 MEN'S VARSITY TEAMS AND 8 WOMEN'S VARSITY TEAMS).Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$6,588,534TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$29,330,441TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document166IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee673EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members35GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member35IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DAVID A BROWNINGBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone2523996328PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1311 HARPER HALLAddressLine1Txt
CityWILSONCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP278937000ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (40 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
MR WILLIAM DENNIS ADAMS III
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DR DUDLEY B ANDERSON
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR ROBERT VAN ANDREWS
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DR SUSAN K BLUE
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR JOHN C BRANTLEY III
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MRS JOSEPHINE M BROWN
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DR ROBERT B CAYTON
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR JAMES EARL COBB JR
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MRS LINDA DAWSON CONNOR
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR SCOTT C CRUIKSHANK
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR GROVER T DEES SR
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR GREGG A DEMAR
BOARD CHAIR/VICE PRESIDENT2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
MR JAMES M DURHAM
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR DAVID A EVANS JR
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR DONALD I EVANS
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR GEORGE CHARLES FINKLEA JR
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR ROBERT B GOINS
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DR HARLOW Z HEAD
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR GARETH CARL HOSFORD
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR KENNETH A JONES
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR KENNETH DURWOOD KENNEDY III
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR JOHN FLOYD LEE
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MRS ANNE M ODDEN
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR JAMES SELBY PRIDGEN
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
THE REVEREND JOHN M RICHARDSON
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR ERIC WAYNE SELLERS
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR L DAIL TURNER
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR E JEROME VICK
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR D STUART WALSTON JR
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MRS BRENDA HOBBS WHALEY
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DR GARNETT B WHITEHURST
BOARD VICE CHAIR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MRS SHEILA BARKER WIGGINS
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR LUKE DANIEL WILKINS
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR GARY WILLIAMSON
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR STEPHEN CHRISTOPHER WILLIFORD
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DR DOUGLAS SEARCY
PRESIDENT50.00$113,675$0$15,903Yes (X)
MR DAVID BROWNING
VP ADMINISTRATION AND FINANCE50.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
DR GARY DAYNES
PROVOST50.00$164,416$0$15,282Yes (X)
MR NORVAL KNETEN
FORMER PRESIDENT50.00$122,775$0$16,970Yes (X)
MR KRIS LYNCH
FORMER VP ADMIN AND FINANCE/SECRETARY & TREAS50.00$160,016$0$11,981Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$560,882TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$60,136TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K4IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (1)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
ARAMARK
27310 NETWORK PLACECHICAGOIL60673FACILITIES CONTRACT/FOOD SERVICES$4,322,192
REHAB BUILDERS INC
401 E FOURTH ST SUITE 200WINSTONSALEMNC27101CONSTRUCTION$514,103
CITY OF WILSON
PO BOX 2407WILSONNC27894SECURITY SERVICES$270,416
STYLE MASTERS CHARTER
3210 N TILGHMAN RDWILSONNC27896TRANSPORTATION SERVICES$221,247
COMPUTER CENTRAL OF WILSON INC
2701 WOOTEN BLVDWILSONNC27896COMPUTERS & IT SERVICES$182,027
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K10CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$122,190GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$12,094,514AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$8,743,102NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$12,216,704TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
TUITION AND FEES611310$25,666,339$25,666,339
HOUSING, FOOD AND OTHER SERVICES611710$4,182,680$4,182,680
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$29,849,019TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$730,350TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$730,350ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$424,119SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$0SecuritiesAmt
Other$78,300OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$424,119SecuritiesAmt
Other-$78,300OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$345,819TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$345,819ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOTHER INCOMEDesc
Business611710BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$322,662TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$322,662RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$322,662OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$43,464,554TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$30,171,681RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,076,169ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,700,968TotalAmt
Program Services$10,700,968ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$506,882TotalAmt
Management And General$506,882ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,816,698TotalAmt
Program Services$7,819,405ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,295,528ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$701,765FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$536,001TotalAmt
Program Services$377,469ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$112,717ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$45,815FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,456,236TotalAmt
Program Services$859,677ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$528,650ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$67,909FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$730,459TotalAmt
Program Services$574,120ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$97,799ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$58,540FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$22,808TotalAmt
Management And General$22,808ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$42,197TotalAmt
Management And General$42,197ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,558,578TotalAmt
Program Services$2,334,455ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$224,123ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$240TotalAmt
Program Services$240ProgramServicesAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,278,374TotalAmt
Program Services$859,018ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$360,350ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$59,006FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$420,318TotalAmt
Program Services$390,983ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$25,018ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$4,317FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$45,221TotalAmt
Program Services$24,621ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$18,837ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,763FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$352,587TotalAmt
Program Services$170,953ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$181,634ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,750,196TotalAmt
Program Services$1,176,065ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$493,348ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$80,783FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$183,989TotalAmt
Management And General$183,989ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
OTHER EXPENSES$1,991,901$1,634,758$83,639$273,504
OPERATIONS & MAINTENANC$1,874,346$1,259,488$528,344$86,514
SUPPLIES, PHOTOCOPYING$932,457$871,155$59,650$1,652
BOOK PURCHASES FOR RESA$277,066$277,066

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$197,148TotalAmt
Management And General$197,148ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$35,674,670TotalAmt
Program Services$29,330,441ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,962,661ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,381,568FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$289,442BOYAmt
EOY$95,136EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,686,006BOYAmt
EOY$9,489,717EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,866,980BOYAmt
EOY$1,897,705EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,230,479BOYAmt
EOY$1,060,646EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$827,067BOYAmt
EOY$628,658EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$109,107BOYAmt
EOY$99,832EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$126,250BOYAmt
EOY$164,139EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$62,709,362LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$27,569,988LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,514,741BOYAmt
EOY$35,139,374EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,738,108BOYAmt
EOY$24,726,429EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$1,380,000EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$69,388,180BOYAmt
EOY$74,681,636EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,653,702BOYAmt
EOY$1,481,576EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,149,688BOYAmt
EOY$1,065,769EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,000,000BOYAmt
EOY$5,000,000EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,819,565BOYAmt
EOY$13,030,020EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,659,948BOYAmt
EOY$1,758,357EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,282,903BOYAmt
EOY$22,335,722EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,248,914BOYAmt
EOY$12,711,288EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,700,618BOYAmt
EOY$14,283,367EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$25,155,745BOYAmt
EOY$25,351,259EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$46,105,277BOYAmt
EOY$52,345,914EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$69,388,180BOYAmt
EOY$74,681,636EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$7,789,884ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$1,549,247NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$6,046,976CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,695,131CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$2,452,352CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$4,101,379CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$12,216,704CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$27,512,542TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$6,046,976CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,695,131CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$2,452,352CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$4,101,379CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$12,216,704CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$27,512,542TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$7,913,409SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$19,599,133PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$495,156CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$662,761CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,075,356CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,006,955CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$730,350CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$3,970,578TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$383,692CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$383,792CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$268,920CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$238,855CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$322,662CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,597,921TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$33,081,041TotalSupportAmt
Public Support CY1700.59250PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.72190PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE A, PART IIFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE COLLEGE IS CLASSIFIED AS A PUBLIC CHARITY, A SCHOOL, IN ACCORDANCE WITH SECTION 170(B)(1)(A)(II) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. HOWEVER, THE COLLEGE HAS ELECTED TO FOLLOW THE "SPECIAL RULE" FOR SCHEDULE B WHICH PROVIDES THAT 501(C)(3) ORGANIZATIONS THAT SATISFY THE 33 1/3% SUPPORT TEST OF SECTIONS 509(A)(1)/170(B)(1)(A)(VI) NEED ONLY LIST THE GREATER OF (1) $5,000 OR (2) 2% OF TOTAL CONTRIBUTIONS, GIFTS, GRANTS AND SIMILAR AMOUNTS RECEIVED. THEREFORE, THE COLLEGE HAS CHECKED SCHEDULE A, PART 1, BOX 7 AND COMPLETED THE SUPPORT SCHEDULE IN PART II TO SUBSTANTIATE THAT IT MEETS THE PUBLIC SUPPORT TEST. THE COLLEGE CONTINUES TO QUALIFY AS A SCHOOL.ExplanationTxt

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$28,964,495BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$671,102ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$436,976InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$3,339,216OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$25,859,405EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$28,720,632BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$765,643ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$813,098InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,334,878OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$28,964,495EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$25,481,294BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$515,206ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$3,290,753InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$566,621OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$28,720,632EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$23,190,444BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$373,102ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$3,048,286InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,130,538OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$25,481,294EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$23,141,234BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$881,807ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$248,040InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,080,637OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$23,190,444EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.00000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.91830PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.08170TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,278,277OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$3,278,277BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$43,522,211OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$18,592,428DepreciationAmt
Book Value$24,929,783BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$11,277,120OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$5,253,965DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,023,155BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,631,754OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,723,595DepreciationAmt
Book Value$908,159BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$35,139,374TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
ALTERNATIVE INVESTMENTS$4,360,563F
DEBT SECURITIES$7,043,199F
EQUITY SECURITIES$13,322,667F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$24,726,429TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
ASSET RETIREMENT OBLIGATION$1,031,792
STUDENT LOAN ADVANCES$583,345
DEPOSITS AND STUDENT CREDIT BALANCES$123,152
CAPITAL LEASE PAYABLE$20,068
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,758,357TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$31,172,141TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$1,549,248NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue-$10,700,968OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$12,250,216RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$43,422,357RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$42,197InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$42,197RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$43,464,554TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$24,931,505TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$24,931,505ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$42,197InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$10,700,968OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$10,743,165ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$35,674,670TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART V, LINE 4:THE COLLEGE'S ENDOWMENT CONSISTS OF APPROXIMATELY 400 INDIVIDUAL FUNDS ESTABLISHED FOR A VARIETY OF PURPOSES INCLUDING BOTH DONOR-RESTRICTED ENDOWMENT FUNDS AND FUNDS DESIGNATED BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES TO FUNCTION AS ENDOWMENTS. NET ASSETS ASSOCIATED WITH ENDOWMENT FUNDS, INCLUDING FUNDS DESIGNATED BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES TO FUNCTION AS ENDOWMENTS, ARE CLASSIFIED BASED ON THE EXISTENCE OR ABSENCE OF DONOR-IMPOSED RESTRICTIONS.
PART X, LINE 2:THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE HAS DETERMINED THAT THE COLLEGE QUALIFIES UNDER SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE AND IS, THEREFORE, NOT GENERALLY SUBJECT TO INCOME TAXES UNDER PRESENT TAX LAWS EXCEPT ON INCOME UNRELATED TO ITS EXEMPT FUNCTION, IF ANY. IN ACCORDANCE WITH GUIDANCE ON ACCOUNTING FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES, THE COLLEGE'S POLICY IS TO RECORD A LIABILITY FOR ANY TAX POSITION TAKEN THAT IS BENEFICIAL TO THE COLLEGE, INCLUDING ANY RELATED INTEREST AND PENALTIES, WHEN IT IS MORE LIKELY THAN NOT THE POSITION TAKEN BY MANAGEMENT WITH RESPECT TO A TRANSACTION OR CLASS OF TRANSACTIONS WILL BE OVERTURNED BY A TAXING AUTHORITY UPON EXAMINATION. MANAGEMENT BELIEVES THERE ARE NO SUCH POSITIONS AS OF JUNE 30, 2016 AND 2015 AND, ACCORDINGLY, NO LIABILITY HAS BEEN ACCRUED. THE COLLEGE IS NO LONGER SUBJECT TO TAX EXAMINATIONS FOR THE YEARS PRIOR TO 2013.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:SCHOLARSHIPS SHOWN NET OF TUITION AND FEES ON FINANCIALS -10,700,968.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:SCHOLARSHIPS SHOWN NET OF TUITION AND FEES ON FINANCIALS 10,700,968.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 3THE COLLEGE PUBLICIZES ITS RACIALLY NONDISCRIMINATORY POLICY IN ALL ADVERTISEMENTS FOR OPEN POSITIONS, THE COLLEGE CATALOG (WHICH IS ALSO ON THE WEBSITE), AND ALL FINANCIAL AID PUBLICATIONS.
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 6THE COLLEGE RECEIVES FEDERAL AND STATE AWARDS FROM THE STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA AND THE US DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION FOR THE PURPOSE OF STUDENT GRANTS, LOANS AND SCHOLARSHIPS.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
RegionEUROPE & ASIARegionTxt
Offices0OfficesCnt
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Type Of Activities ConductedINVESTMENTSTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt
Region Total Expenditures$3,468,516RegionTotalExpendituresAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices0SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees0SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continutation Total Office0ContinutationTotalOfficeCnt
Continutation Total Employee0ContinutationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$3,468,516SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$0ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$3,468,516TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign Corp0TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp Ownership0ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest Co0PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign Partnership0ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeSCHOLARSHIPS AND GRANTSGrantTypeTxt
Recipient976RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$10,700,968CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationSCHOLARSHIPS AND FINANCIAL AID FUNDS ARE AWARDED BY THE FINANCIAL AID DEPARTMENT AND APPLIED DIRECTLY TO STUDENT ACCOUNTS. STUDENT ACCOUNT BALANCES ARE THEN MONITORED BY THE BUSINESS OFFICE AND STUDENT ELIGIBILITY AND ACADEMIA ARE MONITORED BY THE REGISTRAR.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
First Class Or Charter TravelYes (X)FirstClassOrCharterTravelInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Personal ServicesYes (X)PersonalServicesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (3 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
DR GARY DAYNES
PROVOST$164,416$0$0$0$0$0$11,509$0$3,773$0$179,698$0$0$0
MR NORVAL KNETEN
FORMER PRESIDENT$122,775$0$0$0$0$0$8,594$0$8,376$0$139,745$0$0$0
MR KRIS LYNCH
FORMER VP ADMIN AND FINANCE/SECRETAR$160,016$0$0$0$0$0$7,421$0$4,560$0$171,997$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 1AFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE COLLEGE PROVIDES HOUSING TO THE PRESIDENT FOR THE CONVENIENCE OF THE EMPLOYER SO THAT THE PRESIDENT CAN PERFORM ESSENTIAL COLLEGE BUSINESS AND ACTIVITIES AT THE HOME. FIRST CLASS TRAVEL WAS PROVIDED AS PART OF A CONTRACTUAL COMMITMENT TO THE PAST PRESIDENT. ALL TRAVEL WAS SUPPORTING A BONAFIDE BUSINESS PURPOSE AND CONNECTED TO FUNDRAISING ACTIVITIES. ADDITIONALLY, THE PRESIDENT WAS PROVIDED A MEMBERSHIP AT A LOCAL COUNTRY CLUB TO BE USED FOR BUSINESS PURPOSES AND FUNDRAISING ACTIVITIES. USE OF THE MEMBERSHIP IS WELL DOCUMENTED.ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NC FACILITIES FINANCING AGENCYBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN561592154BondIssuerEIN
CUSIP65818PDY2CUSIPNum
Bond Issued2004-06-24BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$18,000,000IssuePriceAmt
PurposeFACILITIES CONSTRUCTION AND RENOVATION & RE-FINANCED EXISTING BONDSPurposeDesc
Defeased0DefeasedInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool Financing0PoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Total Proceeds$18,000,000TotalProceedsAmt
Capital Expenditures$18,000,000CapitalExpendituresAmt
Current Refunding0CurrentRefundingInd
Advance Refunding0AdvanceRefundingInd
Final Allocation Made0FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec Maint0AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed Property0OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease Arrangements0AnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd Prop0MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Any Research Agreements0AnyResearchAgreementsInd
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt Test0BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed Prop0ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond Remdtd0ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T Filed0Form8038TFiledInd
Rebate Not Due Yet0RebateNotDueYetInd
Exception To Rebate0ExceptionToRebateInd
No Rebate Due0NoRebateDueInd
Variable Rate IssueYes (1)VariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And Rec0HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC0GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds Invested0GrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor ReqsYes (1)WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$7,363,102NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Real Estate Other RealEstateOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$1,380,000NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesVALUE PROVIDED BY DONORMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11THE AUDIT COMMITTEE WILL REVIEW AND APPROVE THE 990 PRIOR TO FILING. IN ADDITION, THE 990 WILL BE MADE AVAILABLE TO ALL BOARD MEMBERS PRIOR TO FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD REVIEWS CONFLICT OF INTEREST STATEMENTS AS THEY ARE SUBMITTED BY THE TRUSTEES. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETS SEVERAL TIMES DURING THE YEAR. AS STATED IN THE BYLAWS, ALL TRUSTEES SHALL DISCLOSE TO THE BOARD ANY POSSIBLE CONFLICT OF INTEREST AT THE EARLIEST PRACTICABLE TIME. NO TRUSTEE SHALL VOTE ON ANY MATTER UNDER CONSIDERATION AT A BOARD OR COMMITTEE MEETING IN WHICH THE TRUSTEE HAS A CONFLICT OF INTEREST. THE MINUTES OF SAID MEETING SHALL REFLECT THAT A DISCLOSURE WAS MADE THAT THE TRUSTEE HAVING A CONFLICT OF INTEREST ABSTAINED FROM VOTING. ANY TRUSTEE WHO IS UNCERTAIN WHETHER HE/SHE HAS A CONFLICT OF INTEREST IN ANY MATTER MAY REQUEST THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE TO DETERMINE IF A CONFLICT OF INTEREST EXISTS, AND THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SHALL RESOLVE THE QUESTION BY AFFIRMATIVE VOTE OF A MAJORITY OF ITS MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE PROCESS FOR DETERMINING THE COMPENSATION FOR THE CEO (PRESIDENT) IS LED BY THE EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE AND TRUSTEESHIP COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD. THESE COMMITTEES MEET WITH FACULTY, STAFF, STUDENTS AND ADMINISTRATORS TO EVALUATE THE PRESIDENT'S JOB PERFORMANCE. THEY ALSO REVIEW THE PRESIDENT'S ANNUAL REPORT TO ASSESS ACCOMPLISHMENTS. COMPENSATION SURVEYS FROM NATIONAL AND STATE INSTITUTIONS (COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES PERSONNEL ASSOCIATION AND NORTH CAROLINA INDEPENDENT COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES) ARE REVIEWED TO DETERMINE A REASONABLE COMPENSATION RANGE. THE PRESIDENT DETERMINES THE COMPENSATION FOR ALL OTHER KEY EMPLOYEES AND RECEIVES EVALUATIONS FROM THEIR DIRECT REPORTS. HE ALSO USES COMPENSATION INFORMATION FROM NATIONAL AND STATE SURVEYS TO DETERMINE APPROPRIATENESS OF COMPENSATION LEVEL.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE COLLEGES GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE BY REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C:THE PROCESS HAS NOT CHANGED FROM THE PRIOR YEAR.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.