TRUSTAFRICA: Form 990, tax year 2015

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
TRUSTAFRICA (EIN 20-3074517)
Tax period
2015-04-01 to 2016-03-31
Filed
2017-02-14
IRS object ID
201730459349301358
Schema version
2015v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2017-02-14T07:48:11-08:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2016-03-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BCA WATSON RICE LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line15 PENN PLAZA 15TH FLAddressLine1Txt
CityNEW YORKCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP100011810ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2015-04-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN203074517EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1TRUSTAFRICABusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlTRUSBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone1338694691PhoneNum

Foreign Address ForeignAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1TF 5247-NGA lot 4 Almadies NgorAddressLine1Txt
CityDakar FannCityNm
Province Or StateSub-Saharan AfricProvinceOrStateNm
CountrySGCountryCd
Foreign PostalBP45435ForeignPostalCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonTENDAI MURISAPersonNm
Person TitleExecutive DirectorPersonTitleTxt
Signature2017-02-14SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonCAZEMBE BEKTEMBA CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00642018PTIN
Phone2124477300PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2015TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address ChangeYes (X)AddressChangeInd
Principal OfficerTENDAI MURISAPrincipalOfficerNm

Foreign Address ForeignAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1Lot 87 Sacre Coeur 3AddressLine1Txt
CityPyrotechnie X VDNCityNm
Province Or StateSub-Saharan AfricProvinceOrStateNm
CountrySGCountryCd
Foreign Postal45435 Dakar-FanForeignPostalCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$10,409,084GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
All Affiliates IncludedfalseAllAffiliatesIncludedInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.trustafrica.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation2005FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateDCLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionSee Schedule O.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body8VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent8VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee4TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers8TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$10,606,617PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$10,375,846CYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$0CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$81,351PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$10,033CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$121,103PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$19,307CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$10,809,071PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$10,405,186CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$1,971,192PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$2,364,180CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,273,770PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,480,398CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$18,665PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$3,057,944PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$2,807,158CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$6,321,571PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$6,651,736CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$4,487,500PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$3,753,450CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$14,078,723TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$18,137,907TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$1,668,421TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$2,003,628TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$12,410,302NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$16,134,279NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionPromote peace, democracy and economic prosperity in Africa.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$2,613,771ExpenseAmt
Grant$1,490,033GrantAmt
DescEquitable Development - See AttachmentDesc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$2,482,441ExpenseAmt
Grant$854,145GrantAmt
DescCivil Society and Democracy - See Attachment.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$204,201ExpenseAmt
Grant$20,000GrantAmt
DescAfrican Philanthropy - See Attachment.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$5,300,413TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundYes (true)DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsfalseTempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesfalseReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficeYes (true)ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (true)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgYes (true)MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredfalseScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt BondsfalseInvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntfalseTransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document2IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee4EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledfalseForm990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountYes (true)ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Foreign CountryOCForeignCountryCd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Form8282 Filed0Form8282FiledCnt
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Form8899 FiledindfalseForm8899Filedind
Form1098 C FiledfalseForm1098CFiledInd
DAF Excess Business HoldingsfalseDAFExcessBusinessHoldingsInd
Taxable DistributionsfalseTaxableDistributionsInd
Distribution To DonorfalseDistributionToDonorInd
Org Filed In Lieu Of Form1041falseOrgFiledInLieuOfForm1041Ind
Licensed More Than One StatefalseLicensedMoreThanOneStateInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members8GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member8IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldDCStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNYStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Own WebsiteYes (X)OwnWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonTendai MurisaPersonNm
Phone1338694691PhoneNum

Foreign Address ForeignAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1No 44 Highway RoadAddressLine1Txt
CityMzareCityNm
Province Or StateSub-Saharan AfricProvinceOrStateNm
CountryZICountryCd
Foreign PostalChinhoyiForeignPostalCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (11 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmt
Diallo Aicha Bah
Chairperson1.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Gerry Salole
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Bishop Malusi Mpulwana
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Tade Aina
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Janet Naumi Mawiyoo
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ASSEFA BEQUELE
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Natalia Kanem
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KARIM TAZI
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TENDAI MURISA
Executive Dir.40.000.00Yes (X)$122,200$0$27,800
Sunday Khan
Dir.of Programs40.000.00Yes (X)$69,469$0$5,792
Rose Maruru
Dir. of Oper40.000.00Yes (X)$21,430$0$2,842
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$213,099TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$36,434TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K1IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KfalseTotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K0CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$14,300GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$10,361,546AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$10,375,846TotalContributionsAmt
Total Program Service Revenue$0TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$10,033TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$10,033ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$7,155RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$3,898RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$3,257RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,257TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$3,257ExclusionAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Descoverhead IncomeDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$16,050TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$16,050RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$16,050OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$10,405,186TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$16,050RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$13,290ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,364,180TotalAmt
Program Services$2,364,180ProgramServicesAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$271,938TotalAmt
Program Services$81,756ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$190,182ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,016,575TotalAmt
Program Services$678,331ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$338,244ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$57,660TotalAmt
Program Services$43,032ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$14,628ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$99,445TotalAmt
Program Services$47,697ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$51,748ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$34,780TotalAmt
Program Services$12,083ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$22,697ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,788TotalAmt
Management And General$2,788ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$25,756TotalAmt
Management And General$25,756ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$23,145TotalAmt
Management And General$23,145ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$471,603TotalAmt
Program Services$397,022ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$74,581ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$331,830TotalAmt
Program Services$191,582ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$140,248ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$26,494TotalAmt
Management And General$26,494ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$87,580TotalAmt
Program Services$79,790ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$7,790ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$176,927TotalAmt
Program Services$117,391ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$59,536ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,139,525TotalAmt
Program Services$977,295ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$162,230ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$93,316TotalAmt
Management And General$93,316ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,355TotalAmt
Program Services$6,355ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,000ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
Foreign Exchange Loss$261,045$178,256$82,789
Program Technical Assistance$108,614$108,614
Staff Recruiment & Relocation$32,983$5,631$27,352
repair and maintenance$16,197$11,398$4,799

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,651,736TotalAmt
Program Services$5,300,413ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,351,323ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,637,135BOYAmt
EOY$560,187EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,505,196BOYAmt
EOY$12,786,219EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,489,915BOYAmt
EOY$3,483,300EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$64,942BOYAmt
EOY$60,200EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$1,590,901LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$520,531LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$301,403BOYAmt
EOY$1,070,370EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$80,132BOYAmt
EOY$177,631EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,078,723BOYAmt
EOY$18,137,907EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$553,922BOYAmt
EOY$552,271EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,114,499BOYAmt
EOY$1,451,357EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,668,421BOYAmt
EOY$2,003,628EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,410,302BOYAmt
EOY$16,134,279EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,410,302BOYAmt
EOY$16,134,279EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,078,723BOYAmt
EOY$18,137,907EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$3,753,450ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$29,473NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$6,047,663CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$6,424,417CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$6,363,622CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$10,606,617CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$10,375,846CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$39,818,165TotalAmt

Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft170 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl170 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$6,047,663CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$6,424,417CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$6,363,622CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$10,606,617CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$10,375,846CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$39,818,165TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$28,711,361SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$11,106,804PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$41,471CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$18,296CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$15,581CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$81,351CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$17,188CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$173,887TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$39,992,052TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$180,039GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.27770PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.32680PublicSupportPY170Pct
Ten Pct Facts Crcmstncs Test CYYes (X)TenPctFactsCrcmstncsTestCYInd
Facts And Circumstances TestPrior Year Facts and Circumstances: See attached "Facts and Circumstances" of TrustAfrica as Publicly-supported Organization.FactsAndCircumstancesTestTxt

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Donor Advised Funds Held3DonorAdvisedFundsHeldCnt
Donor Advised Funds Contri$5,000,000DonorAdvisedFundsContriAmt
Donor Advised Funds Vl EOY$5,000,000DonorAdvisedFundsVlEOYAmt
Disclosed Org Leg CtrlYes (true)DisclosedOrgLegCtrlInd
Disclosed For Charitable PrpsYes (true)DisclosedForCharitablePrpsInd

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$901,456OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$43,033DepreciationAmt
Book Value$858,423BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$101,503OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$29,281DepreciationAmt
Book Value$72,222BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$409,437OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$285,967DepreciationAmt
Book Value$123,470BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$178,505OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$162,250DepreciationAmt
Book Value$16,255BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$1,070,370TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$10,379,611TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$29,473NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$29,473RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$10,409,084RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included-$3,898OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt-$3,898RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$10,405,186TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$6,655,634TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$3,898OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$3,898ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$6,651,736ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$6,651,736TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part III, Line 4: Description of organization's collections and how it furthers its purpose.The paintings are all produced by local artists, and are used as decor in the office. The paintings not only make the office a pleasant place to be, but it also helps promote the work of local artists, those organized in cooperatives, which aligns with encouraging the work of African artists, writers, etc. to promote a culture of tolerance, peace and democracy.
Part XII, Line 2d: Other expenses and losses per audited F/SForeign Exchange Gain $0 rental expenses $3898

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
RegionSub-Saharan AfricaRegionTxt
Offices2OfficesCnt
Employee77EmployeeCnt
Type Of Activities ConductedProg svcs & grants to recipienTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt
Specific Services ProvidedTraining,workshops & tech assiSpecificServicesProvidedTxt
Region Total Expenditures$6,655,634RegionTotalExpendituresAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices2SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees77SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Total Office2TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee77TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$6,655,634SubtotalSpentAmt
Total Spent$6,655,634TotalSpentAmt

Grants To Org Outside US GrantsToOrgOutsideUSGrp (40 entries)

RegionRegionTxtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxtCash GrantCashGrantAmtManner Of Cash DisbursementMannerOfCashDisbursementTxt
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$10,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$10,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$10,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$10,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$100,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$102,012Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$110,932Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$116,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$118,490Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$12,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$125,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$13,200Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$135,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$147,914Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$15,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$20,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$20,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$30,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$30,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$30,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$35,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$35,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$37,136Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$38,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$40,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$40,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$40,940Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$50,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$50,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$50,974Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$60,005Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$65,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$65,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$80,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$80,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$80,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$80,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$80,006Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$85,000Wire trnsfr.
Sub-Saharan AfrProgram Service$85,000Wire trnsfr.
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org40Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org40TotalOtherOrgCnt
Transfer To Foreign CorpfalseTransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign TrustfalseInterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipfalseForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CofalsePassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipfalseForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott CountriesfalseBoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 2 - Grantmakers Explanation For Monitoring Use of Funds Outside USTrustAfrica requires each grantee to submit both interim and final reports. The interim report must be received and approved by TrustAfrica before the second grant installment can be disbursed. These reports should contain (a) a narrative account of what was accomplished by the expenditure of funds, including a description of progress made toward achieving the goals of the grant; and (b) a financial account, which includes a statement by the responsible financial officer of the organization certifying the accuracy of the report.Financial reports should reflect expenditures according to the categories enumerated in the approved budget. Receipts and invoices must be provided as back up for all expenditures. In the event that original invoices cannot be sent, notarized photocopies are acceptable.Financial data must be expressed in U.S. dollars equivalency.In addition to financial reports, audited accounts should be sent within six months after the close of the organization's fiscal year, and in subsequent fiscal years in which it receives or expends any portion of the grant. Upon completion of the use of grant funds, a final report on all expenditures under the grant should be submitted, indicating that all grant funds have been expended.
Part I, Line 3f - Method of AccountingThe organization's financial statements are prepared on an accrual basis.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b: Form 990 Review ProcessPrior to the preparation of the Form 990 by TrustAfrica's consultants, the Audit Committee of the Board of Trustees reviews the audited accounts of TrustAfrica. The Director of Programs also reviews drafts of individual program reports from staff. Once the draft of the Form 990 is prepared by the consultant of TrustAfrica, the Finance Manager of TrustAfrica carefully reviews the draft document for coverage of financial data. This is followed by a second-tier review by the Director of Operations of TrustAfrica for comprehensiveness and data accuracy. A final review is conducted by the Executive Director and President of TrustAfrica, who is a voting-member of the Board of Trustees.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c: Explanation of Monitoring and Enforcement of ConflictsSpecific guidelines for Trustees:Review of Policy1.Each new Trustee and Officer shall be required to review a copy of this conflict of interest statement and to acknowledge in writing that he or she has done so.2.Each Trustee and Officer shall annually complete a disclosure form identifying any relationships, positions or circumstances in which he or she is involved that he or she believes could contribute to a conflict of interest arising. Information regarding business interests of a Trustee, an Officer or a Family Member shall be treated as confidential to the extent practicable and shall generally be made available only to the Chairperson, the Executive Director, and any committee appointed to address conflicts of interest, except to the extent necessary in connection with the implementation of this policy.3.TrustAfrica will periodically conduct reviews of compliance with this policy.Reporting of Violations1.If a Trustee or Officer violates or thinks he or she has violated any provision of this policy, or if he or she observes, learns of or in good faith believes it is possible that another Trustee has violated any provision of this policy, that person must immediately report the actual or suspected violation to the Chairperson or to the Board as a whole.2.The Board and the Executive Director, respectively, have an obligation to investigate, address promptly and treat as confidential, to the extent possible, all reported violations of this conflict of interest policy.Specific Guidelines for Staff Members.Review of Policy1.Each new employee shall be required to review a copy of this conflict of interest policy and to acknowledge in writing that he or she has done so.2.All staff members must annually complete a disclosure form identifying any relationships, positions or circumstances in which he or she is involved that he or she believes could contribute to a conflict of interest arising. Information regarding business interests of a staff member shall be treated as confidential to the extent practicable, except to the extent necessary in connection with the implementation of this policy.3.TrustAfrica will periodically conduct reviews of compliance with this policy.Disclosure and Reporting of Violations1. An employee must promptly disclose any actual or potential conflict of interest to the Executive Director. The Executive Director will consider the circumstances, make a decision as to whether there is an actual or apparent conflict of interest, and resolve how to handle the situation. The Executive Director will document the existence and resolution of any potential conflict of interest.2. In the event that an employee knows or has a good faith belief that another employee has violated this policy, he or she is under an obligation to report this to the Executive Director and will be protected from retaliation pursuant to TrustAfrica's Whistle-Blower Policy.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15a: Compensation Review & Approval Process - CEO, Top ManagementReliance on comparable data. The Board of Trustees engages an independent consulting firm to obtain appropriate compensation data from at least ten comparable organizations prior to making its determination. Such data are reviewed prior to each contract period. Comparable organizations are defined in terms of public charity status, job description and scale of operations, size of annual budget, and geographic location.On an annual basis, the Board of Trustees may provide a compensation adjustment based solely on a performance appraisal and cost of living data. If the adjustment is more than 5%, the Board of Trustees will engage an independent consulting firm to obtain appropriate data from comparable organizations.The determination of compensation must be completed and decided upon at a regular meeting of the Board of Trustees before any payments are actually made. Any trustee who has any conflict of interest in relation to the determination must be excluded from the decision-making process. The Board of Trustees must adequately document the basis for compensation determination concurrently with making that determination, which is normally within 60 days of the Board's decision or the date of the next board meeting if that occurs before 60 days of the decision being made. The documentation must note the terms of the transaction and the date it was approved, the trustees who were present and voted, the comparable data which was used and how the data was obtained, and any decisions and actions taken regarding any trustee who has a conflict of interest in the compensation determination decision.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 19: Other Organization Documents Publicly AvailableTrustAfrica makes its governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and audited financial statements available to the general public by posting these documents on the organization's website, www.trustafrica.org, and providing copies upon request. The audited financial statements are also made available to the public through the annual report which is distributed widely to the public.
Form 990, Part 1, SummaryPromote peace, democracy and economic prosperity in Africa. In this context, we seek to address the most difficult challenges facing strengthen initiatives that address the most difficult challenges facing the continent, focusing on three critical areas: democracy, fostering African enterprise and achieving broadly shared prosperity and cultivating African resources for democracy and equitable development.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.