MDWISE INC: Form 990, tax year 2016
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- MDWISE INC (EIN 35-1931354)
- Tax period
- 2016-01-01 to 2016-12-31
- Filed
- 2017-11-15
- IRS object ID
- 201733199349302698
- Schema version
- 2016v3.0
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2017-11-15T09:00:16-06:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2016-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 350921680 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | CROWE HORWATH LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 135 N Pennsylvania Street Suite 200 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Indianapolis | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | IN | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 46204 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2016-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 351931354 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | MDWise Inc | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | MDWI | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 3178227100 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1200 MADISON AVENUE 400 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | INDIANAPOLIS | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | IN | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 46225 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | ROBERT KOMULA | PersonNm |
| Person Title | CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER | PersonTitleTxt |
| Signature | 2017-11-15 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (true) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | Rachel Spurlock | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00520729 | PTIN |
| Phone | 3176321100 | PhoneNum |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2016 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2017-02-10 21:41:12Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
Principal Ofcr Business Name PrincipalOfcrBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | ROBERT KOMULA | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1200 MADISON AVENUE 400 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | INDIANAPOLIS | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | IN | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 46225 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $1,472,816,588 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | false | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c | Yes (X) | Organization501cInd |
| Website Address | WWW.MDWISE.ORG | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1994 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | IN | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | MDWise is a not-for-profit health maintenance organization contracting with healthcare providers to provide services to its members for three state programs: Hoosier Healthwise, Healthy Indiana Plan & Hoosier Care Connect (HCC). | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 9 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 9 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 604 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 9 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $0 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $0 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $1,034,618,527 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $1,435,604,329 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $537,095 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $1,269,619 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $9,816,921 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $12,166,987 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $1,044,972,543 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $1,449,040,935 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $269,059 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $117,949 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $18,878,921 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $20,598,252 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $1,012,059,357 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $1,398,834,450 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $1,031,207,337 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $1,419,550,651 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $13,765,206 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $29,490,284 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $339,854,114 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $310,489,675 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $265,804,035 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $206,949,312 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $74,050,079 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $103,540,363 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Mission | MDwise is a not-for-profit health maintenance organization contracting with healthcare providers to provide healthcare services to its Indiana members for four state programs: Hoosier Healthwise, Healthy Indiana Plan and Hoosier Care Connect (HCC). MDwise accomplished its core values through a five-fold mission: 1. Delivering consistent, high quality care. 2. Focusing on families and community in a culturally competent way. 3. Shaping health policy and promoting innovation in medicaid managed care. 4. Ensuring financial viability through efficient and cost effective operations. 5. Involving providers in key decision making and nurturing local governance of the MDwise product. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | false | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | false | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $1,411,966,325 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $117,949 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $1,447,771,316 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | Beginning January 1, 2011, MDwise was granted a four-year contract with the State of Indiana (the "State"), through the Family and Social Service Administration ("FSSA") and Office of Medicaid Policy and Planning ("OMPP"), to arrange for and administer two risk-based managed care programs ("Hoosier Healthwise" and "Healthy Indiana Plan") for certain Indiana Medicaid enrollees. MDwise contracts with various delivery networks including the affiliated MDwise Medicaid Network ("Excel"). Excel and the other delivery networks accept the medical service risk for enrollees who choose a primary care provider after selecting the MDwise network. There were approximately 233,000 and 238,000 members enrolled in the Hoosier Healthwise product at December 31, 2016 and 2015, respectively. There were approximately 151,000 and 99,000 members enrolled in the Healthy Indiana product at December 31, 2016 and 2015, respectively. The increase in members is related to the expansion of the program by the State. On January 1, 2017, the contract with the State of Indiana was renewed and is now scheduled to expire on December 31, 2022. Beginning October 1, 2007, MDwise was granted a four-year contract with the State, through OMPP, to conduct certain care management and prior authorization functions, including care coordination, disease management, utilization management, and disposition of prior authorization requests, for the Indiana Care Select Program ("Care Select"). In September 2013, the contract was amended to carve out prior authorization functions from the program, effective October 30, 2013 and extended the expiration date of all other services to January 31, 2014. MDwise was granted a new four-year contract in January 2014 to participate in Care Select beginning February 1, 2014 and was to expire January 31, 2018. During 2014, the State released a request for proposal to replace the newly granted four-year contract with Risk-Based Managed Care Services in the form of a new program called Hoosier Care Connect ("HCC"). MDwise was selected to begin contract negotiations on the replacement program on November 26, 2014. As a part of this transition the HCC program began April 1, 2015 while the Care Select contract was phased out during 2015. The new HCC agreement will be effective for a 4 year period ending March 30, 2019. At the discretion of the State, there may be two one year renewals. In no event shall the term exceed a total of six years. Subsequent to 2016, the Company's contract with the State was terminated on March 31, 2017. The Company collaborated with the State to transition those members to alternate managed health plans. The Company was responsible for approximately 39,000 and 42,000 members at December 31, 2016 and 2015, respectively. | Desc |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $1,411,966,325 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | false | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | false | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | false | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | false | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | false | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | false | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | false | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | false | CreditCounselingInd |
| Temp Or Permanent Endowments | false | TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (true) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | false | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | false | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | false | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | false | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (true) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (true) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | false | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | false | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | false | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | false | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | false | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | false | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | false | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | false | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | false | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | false | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | Yes (true) | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | false | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | false | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | false | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | false | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | false | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | false | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With Officer Ent | false | BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | false | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | false | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | false | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | false | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | false | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | false | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | false | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | false | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 487 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (true) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 604 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (true) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | false | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | false | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | false | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | false | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | false | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | false | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 9 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 9 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | Yes (true) | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | false | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | false | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | false | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | Yes (true) | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (true) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | Yes (true) | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (true) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (true) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | false | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | false | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | false | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (true) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (true) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (true) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (true) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (true) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (true) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (true) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | false | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | IN | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | MARK IVORY | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 3178227467 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1200 MADISON AVENUE SUITE 400 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | INDIANAPOLIS | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | IN | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 46225 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (27 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Key EmployeeKeyEmployeeInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| James T Parker | ||||||||
| Chairman of the Board | 1.0 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Daniel Edward Sellers | ||||||||
| Director | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Christopher Scott Weaver MD | ||||||||
| Director | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| John Francis Fitzgerald MD | ||||||||
| Director | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Ryan Christopher Kitchell | ||||||||
| Director | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Tavonna Shenise Harris Askew | ||||||||
| Director | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Joan Victoria Castor | ||||||||
| Director | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Jennifer Marie Alvey | ||||||||
| Director | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Mike Edwards | ||||||||
| Director (partial year) | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Dr LIsa Harris | ||||||||
| Director | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Cesar David Martinez | ||||||||
| President & CEO | 40.0 | Yes (X) | $554,822 | $0 | $30,564 | |||
| Patricia Ann Hebenstreit | ||||||||
| Secretary (Sr VP General Counsel) | 40.0 | Yes (X) | $378,581 | $0 | $22,842 | |||
| Michael Victor Cutroni | ||||||||
| Treasurer (Chief Financial Officer) | 40.0 | Yes (X) | $248,744 | $0 | $6,141 | |||
| Jeremy Tyson Sullivan MD | ||||||||
| Sr VP Chief Medical Officer | 40.0 | Yes (X) | $317,567 | $0 | $14,886 | |||
| Terry Cole | ||||||||
| Treasurer (partial year) | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $94,654 | $0 | $0 | |||
| Gary Phillips | ||||||||
| Vice President of Information Services | 40.0 | $243,888 | $0 | $28,488 | Yes (X) | |||
| Lindsey Lux | ||||||||
| Vice President of Operations | 40.0 | $394,428 | $0 | $25,761 | Yes (X) | |||
| Barbara Wilder | ||||||||
| VP Quality Improvement | 40.0 | $189,449 | $0 | $15,012 | Yes (X) | |||
| Brian Arrowood | ||||||||
| Sr VP Chief Information OFC | 40.0 | $224,711 | $0 | $17,720 | Yes (X) | |||
| Robert Armbruster | ||||||||
| VP of Buiness Intelligence | 40.0 | $175,519 | $0 | $8,326 | Yes (X) | |||
| Christopher Callahan | ||||||||
| VP of Pharmacy and Med Econ | 40.0 | $177,636 | $0 | $29,222 | Yes (X) | |||
| Eric Essley | ||||||||
| VP Assistant General Counsel, Legal | 40.0 | $159,968 | $0 | $16,248 | Yes (X) | |||
| Janet Edwards | ||||||||
| Director of Care Management | 40.0 | $128,516 | $0 | $8,414 | Yes (X) | |||
| Marcia Shively | ||||||||
| Sr Director of Business Services | 40.0 | $134,466 | $0 | $14,023 | Yes (X) | |||
| Wendi Powell | ||||||||
| Director Clinical Pharmacy | 40.0 | $144,866 | $0 | $14,902 | Yes (X) | |||
| Marc Baker | ||||||||
| VP of Provider Relations | 40.0 | $145,712 | $0 | $9,362 | Yes (X) | |||
| Roanne Osborne-Gaskin | ||||||||
| Sr Medical Director | 40.0 | $204,107 | $0 | $19,419 | Yes (X) | |||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $3,917,634 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $281,330 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 27 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | false | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (true) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | false | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Medimpact | |||||
| 10181 Scripps Gateway Court | San Diego | CA | 92131 | Pharmacy Services | $885,957,323 |
| DST | |||||
| 13804 Collection Center Drive | Chicago | IL | 60693 | Technology Services | $70,790,702 |
| Bucher and Christian Consulting | |||||
| PO Box 71495 | Chicago | IL | 606941495 | Consulting | $46,788,551 |
| Ride Right | |||||
| 16 Hawk Ridge Drive | Lake St Louis | MO | 63367 | Transportation | $26,370,759 |
| Healthedge | |||||
| PO Box 347589 | Pittsburgh | PA | 152514816 | Technology Services | $17,485,123 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 89 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Federated Campaigns | $0 | FederatedCampaignsAmt |
| Membership Dues | $0 | MembershipDuesAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
| Related Organizations | $0 | RelatedOrganizationsAmt |
| Government Grants | $0 | GovernmentGrantsAmt |
| All Other Contributions | $0 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Noncash Contributions | $0 | NoncashContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $0 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Captitation Premiums | 900000 | $1,004,030,014 | $1,004,030,014 |
| Care Select | 900000 | $9 | $9 |
| Hoosier Care Connect Capitation | 900000 | $431,574,306 | $431,574,306 |
Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $0 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $0 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $1,435,604,329 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $1,290,272 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $1,290,272 | ExclusionAmt |
Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $0 | RealAmt |
| Personal | $0 | PersonalAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $23,755,000 | SecuritiesAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $23,775,653 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | -$20,653 | SecuritiesAmt |
| Other | $0 | OtherAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | -$20,653 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | -$20,653 | ExclusionAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | Net, Transportation | Desc |
| Business | 900000 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $12,166,987 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $12,166,987 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $0 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $0 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $12,166,987 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $1,449,040,935 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $1,447,771,316 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $1,269,619 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $117,949 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $117,949 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $0 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $0 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $0 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,779,254 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $3,212,366 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $566,888 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $0 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $9,751,832 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $8,289,057 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,462,775 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $924,697 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $785,992 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $138,705 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $4,201,063 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $3,570,904 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $630,159 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,941,406 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,650,195 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $291,211 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $0 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $0 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $90,560 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $76,976 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $13,584 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $292,135 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $248,315 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $43,820 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $103,359 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $87,855 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $15,504 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $142,389 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $121,031 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $21,358 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $3,981,638 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $3,384,392 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $597,246 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $5,550,788 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $4,718,170 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $832,618 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,526,280 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,297,338 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $228,942 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $5,239,917 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $4,453,929 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $785,988 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Royalties RoyaltiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $0 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,584,575 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,346,889 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $237,686 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $310,028 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $263,524 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $46,504 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $0 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $106,335 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $90,385 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $15,950 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $0 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $0 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,196,689 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,867,186 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $329,503 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $360,154 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $306,131 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $54,023 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt | Management And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Delivery System Payments | $1,346,251,511 | $1,346,251,511 | |
| Reinsurance | $10,452,044 | $10,452,044 | |
| Transportation | $12,166,987 | $12,166,987 | |
| Claims Processing Administration | $6,026,878 | $5,122,846 | $904,032 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,452,183 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $2,084,353 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $367,830 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,419,550,651 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,411,966,325 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $7,584,326 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $65,894,553 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $114,028,588 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $201,549,287 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $128,459,446 | EOYAmt |
Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $28,720 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $23,270 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,244,394 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,762,102 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $14,868,451 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $7,416,138 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $8,972,651 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $7,452,313 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $58,496,770 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $55,347,841 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,667,739 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,416,115 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $339,854,114 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $310,489,675 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $242,175,765 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $206,949,312 | EOYAmt |
Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,250,000 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $18,378,270 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $265,804,035 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $206,949,312 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows SFAS117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind |
Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $74,050,079 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $103,540,363 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $74,050,079 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $103,540,363 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $339,854,114 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $310,489,675 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $29,490,284 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $0 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | false | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (true) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Consol And Sep Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | ConsolAndSepBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (true) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | false | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,427,059 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $728,966 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $698,093 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $13,441,392 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $6,687,172 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $6,754,220 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $7,452,313 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | Due to Affiliate | Desc |
| Amt | $0 | Amt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $0 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $1,433,206,092 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Revenue | $0 | OtherRevenueAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $0 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $1,433,206,092 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | $15,834,843 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $15,834,843 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $1,449,040,935 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $1,403,715,808 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $0 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $0 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $1,403,715,808 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Other Expenses Not Included | $15,834,843 | OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $15,834,843 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $1,419,550,651 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Schedule D, Part X, Line 2 FIN 48 (ASC 740) footnote | The Plan is tax exempt under Section 501(c)(4) of the Internal Revenue Code. Accordingly, the financial statements include no provision or liability for federal or state income taxes. A tax position is recognized as a benefit only if it is "more likely than not" that the tax position would be sustained in a tax examination, with a tax examination being presumed to occur. The amount recognized is the largest amount of tax benefit that is greater than 50% likely of being realized on examination. For tax positions not meeting the "more likely than not" test, no tax benefit is recorded. The Company does not expect the total amount of unrecognized tax benefits to significantly change in the next 12 months. The Company recognizes interest and/or penalties related to income tax matters in general administrative expenses. The Company did not have any amounts accrued for interest or penalties at December 31, 2016 and 2015. |
| Schedule D, Part XI, Line 4(b) Other revenues in form 990 not in audited financial statements | RECLASS REV SHOWN EXP OFFSET -TRANSPORTAION - 12166987 RECLASS REV SHOWN EXP OFFSET-UTILZ, CASE MGT & TPL - 3667856 |
| Schedule D, Part XII, Line 4(b) Other expenses in form 990 not in audited financial statements | RECLASS REV SHOWN EXP OFFSET -TRANSPORTATION - 12166987 RECLASS REV SHOWN EXP OFFSET-UTILZ, CASE MGT & TPL - 3667856 |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (true) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Recipient Table RecipientTable (5 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | Recipient EINRecipientEIN | IRC SectionIRCSectionDesc | Cash GrantCashGrantAmt | Non Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmt | Purpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Health and Hospital Corporation of Marion County | ||||||||
| 3838 N Rural St | Indianapolis | IN | 46205 | 356005697 | Government | $10,000 | $0 | General Support |
| Eskenazi Health Foundation | ||||||||
| 720 Eskenazi Ave | Indianapolis | IN | 46202 | 356005697 | 501(c)(3) | $6,000 | $0 | General Support |
| Indiana State Department of Health | ||||||||
| 2 North Meridian St | Indianapolis | IN | 46204 | 356000158 | Government | $7,000 | $0 | General Support |
| Indiana Perinatal Network | ||||||||
| 1991 East 56th St | Indianapolis | IN | 46220 | 351771516 | 501(c)(3) | $11,500 | $0 | General Support |
| Methodist Health Foundation | ||||||||
| PO Box 7168 | Indianapolis | IN | 46207 | 356043086 | 501(c)(3) | $8,000 | $0 | General Support |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total501c3 Org | 5 | Total501c3OrgCnt |
| Total Other Org | 0 | TotalOtherOrgCnt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Schedule I, Part I, Line 2 Procedures for monitoring use of grant funds. | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | MDWise has a corporate giving committee that requests certain information from each grantee organization in order to evaluate and measure impact to see how members of MDWise benefit from the grantee organization. MDWise does not have a formal procedure to follow-up with the grantee organizations after funds are awarded but uses informal communications to understand how contributions are used. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | false | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | false | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | false | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | false | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | false | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | false | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | false | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | Yes (true) | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | false | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (14 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cesar David Martinez | ||||||||||||||
| President & CEO | $504,234 | $0 | $50,088 | $0 | $500 | $0 | $19,409 | $0 | $11,155 | $0 | $585,386 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Patricia Ann Hebenstreit | ||||||||||||||
| Secretary (Sr VP General Counsel) | $277,887 | $0 | $99,770 | $0 | $924 | $0 | $15,362 | $0 | $7,480 | $0 | $401,423 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Michael Victor Cutroni | ||||||||||||||
| Treasurer (Chief Financial Officer) | $247,244 | $0 | $1,000 | $0 | $500 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $6,141 | $0 | $254,885 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Jeremy Tyson Sullivan MD | ||||||||||||||
| Sr VP Chief Medical Officer | $306,067 | $0 | $11,000 | $0 | $500 | $0 | $9,414 | $0 | $5,472 | $0 | $332,453 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Gary Phillips | ||||||||||||||
| Vice President of Information Services | $221,372 | $0 | $22,300 | $0 | $216 | $0 | $17,176 | $0 | $11,312 | $0 | $272,376 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Lindsey Lux | ||||||||||||||
| Vice President of Operations | $296,824 | $0 | $96,950 | $0 | $654 | $0 | $23,120 | $0 | $2,641 | $0 | $420,189 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Barbara Wilder | ||||||||||||||
| VP Quality Improvement | $171,806 | $0 | $16,000 | $0 | $1,643 | $0 | $12,426 | $0 | $2,586 | $0 | $204,461 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Brian Arrowood | ||||||||||||||
| Sr VP Chief Information OFC | $223,211 | $0 | $1,000 | $0 | $500 | $0 | $7,661 | $0 | $10,059 | $0 | $242,431 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Robert Armbruster | ||||||||||||||
| VP of Buiness Intelligence | $174,019 | $0 | $1,000 | $0 | $500 | $0 | $5,805 | $0 | $2,521 | $0 | $183,845 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Christopher Callahan | ||||||||||||||
| VP of Pharmacy and Med Econ | $164,703 | $0 | $12,433 | $0 | $500 | $0 | $12,323 | $0 | $16,899 | $0 | $206,858 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Eric Essley | ||||||||||||||
| VP Assistant General Counsel, Legal | $153,468 | $0 | $6,000 | $0 | $500 | $0 | $10,679 | $0 | $5,569 | $0 | $176,216 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Wendi Powell | ||||||||||||||
| Director Clinical Pharmacy | $142,366 | $0 | $2,500 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $9,943 | $0 | $4,959 | $0 | $159,768 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Marc Baker | ||||||||||||||
| VP of Provider Relations | $138,462 | $0 | $6,750 | $0 | $500 | $0 | $9,362 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $155,074 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Roanne Osborne-Gaskin | ||||||||||||||
| Sr Medical Director | $204,107 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $6,750 | $0 | $12,669 | $0 | $223,526 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Schedule J, Part I, Line 7 Non-fixed payments | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | Interested persons receive discretionary bonuses based on overall performance of the individuals. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (10 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 1a Delegate broad authority to a committee | The Articles of Incorporation allows for the creation of the Executive Committee composed of one or more members of the Board of Directors which, to the extent provided in the bylaws or such resolution and consistent with applicable law, shall have and exercise all of the authority of the Board of Directors in the management of the Corporation's affairs during intervals between the meetings of the Board of Directors. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 2 Family/business relationships amongst interested persons | DAN SELLERS - Business relationship, JOHN FITZGERALD - Business relationship |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 6 Classes of members or stockholders | The members of MDWise, Inc. are IU Health and Health and Hospital Corporation of Marion County. Each Member has the right to elect 5 individuals to the governing body. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 7a Members or stockholders electing members of governing body | The Members each have the right to appoint 5 individuals to the governing body. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 7b Decisions requiring approval by members or stockholders | The following corporate actions require approval by the members: A. To amend, alter, change or repeal the articles of incorporation B. To amend, alter, change or repeal the bylaws C. To merge or consolidate the corporation with another entity or entities D. To sell, lease, or exchange more than 50% of the property or assets of the corporation ,whether or not such sale, lease, or exchange occurs in the regular course of business E. To appoint and elect the directors of the corporation and the chairman of the corporation's board of directors F. To elect each officer of the corporation, to change the title, duties, salary or other compensation of any such officer, and (with consideration of any recommendation of the board of directors) to remove any such officer G. Upon the consideration of any recommendation of the board of directors, to approve or amend the corporation's annual budget and the making and timing of grants on behalf of the corporation H. To incur any corporate indebtedness in excess of $100,000, or to enter into any business transaction or financial commitment in excess of $100,000 I. To approve any conflict-of-interest business transaction J. To dissolve the corporation |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b Review of form 990 by governing body | The CFO reviewed a final draft of the Form 990 prior to filing with the IRS. A final copy of the form 990 was sent to every member of the governing body after it was filed with the IRS. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c Conflict of interest policy | MDwise requires that all board members, officers, and key employees sign a conflict of interest disclosure statement annually. The compliance officer of the organization reviews each completed statement and is present at board meetings to enforce compliance with the conflict of interest policy. If an issue with a potential conflict is brought to the table at a board meeting, the person with the potential conflict abstains from voting on the issues. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 15a Process to establish compensation of top management official | The executive committee of the board meets in June of each year to conduct a performance review of the CEO and to review compensation. The executive committee uses compensation surveys to determine appropriate compensation for the CEO. The compensation setting process and the determination is documented in the committee minutes. This process was last undertaken in 2016. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 15b Process to establish compensation of other employees | THE HUMAN RESOURCES DEPARTMENT DETERMINES THE COMPENSATION OF THE OTHER OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES OF THE ORGANIZATION. THE DEPARTMENT USES COMPENSATION SURVEYS IN ITS REVIEW PROCESS. THE DECISIONS ARE DOCUMENTED IN EACH INDVIVIDUALS' EMPLOYMENT FILES. THIS PROCESS WAS LAST UNDERTAKEN IN 2016. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 19 Required documents available to the public | These documents are made available upon request. |
Comments