GEORGIA LIONS LIGHTHOUSE FOUNDATION INC: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
GEORGIA LIONS LIGHTHOUSE FOUNDATION INC (EIN 58-0548732)
Tax period
2016-07-01 to 2017-06-30
Filed
2017-11-10
IRS object ID
201733149349300318
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2017-11-10T09:02:38-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN811336355PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Michelle L McGlaun CPABusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12385 Emerald DriveAddressLine1Txt
CityJonesboroCityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP30236ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN580548732EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Georgia Lions Lighthouse Foundation IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlGEORBusinessNameControlTxt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line15582 Peachtree RoadAddressLine1Txt
CityChambleeCityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP30341ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMark RicePersonNm
Person TitleChairPersonTitleTxt
Phone4043253630PhoneNum
Signature2017-11-10SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerfalseDiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonMichelle L McGlaunPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01273842PTIN
Phone7708658067PhoneNum
Preparation2017-11-10PreparationDt
Self EmployedYes (X)SelfEmployedInd

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address207.207.30.141IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2017-11-10IPDt
IP Tm09:03:46IPTm
Federal Original Submission Id5820282017314q2vhf4kFederalOriginalSubmissionId
Federal Original Submission Id2017-11-10FederalOriginalSubmissionIdDt
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdEF54249DA924441C0D4981A4F90F3C9ED1E328D4AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device IdEF54249DA924441C0D4981A4F90F3C9ED1E328D4AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2017-02-10 21:41:12ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$8,296,305GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.lionslighthouse.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1961FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateGALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionThe Georgia Lions Lighthouse Foundation provides vision and hearing services through education, detection, prevention and treatment. Through collaborative partnerships we enable greater independence and increased quality of life for Georgians in financial need.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body14VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent14VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee36TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers330TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$1,532,915PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$1,829,583CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$450,623PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$1,213,708CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$831,175PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$979,793CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue-$4,961PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$2,809,752PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$4,023,084CYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,425,873PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$1,478,593CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$374,092CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$2,162,968PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$1,766,101CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$3,588,841PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$3,244,694CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$779,089PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$778,390CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$20,594,729TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$22,079,888TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$313,542TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$359,791TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$20,281,187NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$21,720,097NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionThe Georgia Lions Lighthouse Foundation provides vision and hearing services through education, detection, prevention and treatment. Through collaborative partnerships we enable greater independence and increased quality of life for Georgians in financial need.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$1,159,202ExpenseAmt
DescLighthouse Vision Clinics served 5,190 patients, providing 1,992 eye exams and 6,769 eyeglasses in 2017. Our mobile Vision Clinics provided services at 34 partner, non-profit health clinics throughout Georgia. Our model for delivering care is efficient and comprehensive: Volunteer optometrists and ophthalmologists provide eye exams, and populations at risk for eye disease are educated in the prevention and treatment of these conditions. After receiving eye services, patients are provided prescription eyewear fabricated at our headquarters in the Chamblee, Georgia Optical Lab. If a progressive condition is diagnosed, the client is then referred to our Surgery Program.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$1,081,503ExpenseAmt
DescIn 2017, the Lighthouse provided 1,610 hearing aids to 864 Georgians in need. Through partnerships with the Pubic Service Commission, over 170 audiologists, hearing aid manufacturers, and collaborative efforts with other deaf and hard of hearing (DHH) interested parties, we were able to serve patients in 153 of the 159 Georgia Counties. Our hearing progam offers high quality, affordable access to Georgia families who are uninsured, underinsured and fall between the gaps in Medicaid, PeachCare and the federal limit for families receiving subsidies or tax credits. In 2014, we expanded the program to reach DHH children. Our pediatric program has grown to serve 52 patients in 39 counties last year. We are looking to continue to expand our reach for the DHH children throughout Georgia. The program expenses are approximately 23% percent of the retail costs of providing the same quality of service.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$223,999ExpenseAmt
DescIn 2017, the Lighthouses Vision Surgery Program provided 685 surgical procedures for uninsured Georgians. Our Vision Surgery Program facilitates corneal transplants, cataract and retinal surgeries, and surgeries to prepare eye sockets for prosthetic eyes. We also provide surgery for diabetes-related vision loss and keratoconus. Partnerships with over 200 ophthalmologists, hospitals, and other medical providers enable us to provide eye surgeries for one-forth the typical cost, with the value of in-kind professional services exceeding $734,000 in 2017.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$2,464,704TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (true)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesfalseReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredfalseScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (true)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (true)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntfalseTransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document131IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee36EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Form8899 FiledindfalseForm8899Filedind
Form1098 C FiledfalseForm1098CFiledInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members14GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member14IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherfalseCompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldGAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMichelle Davidson CPAPersonNm
Phone4043253630PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line15582 Peachtree RoadAddressLine1Txt
CityChambleeCityNm
State AbbreviationGAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP30341ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
No Listed Persons CompensatedYes (X)NoListedPersonsCompensatedInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (17 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeInd
Mark Rice
Chair1.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JC Coefield
District Director1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Grace Clower
Immediate Past Chair1.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kembra Smith
District Director1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Donna Townsend
Secretary1.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Hannah Flynn
Treasurer1.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Cheryl C Lee
District Director1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Willie Alexander
Member at Large1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Sonia Saylor
Member at Large1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Bonnie Kelly
Member at Large1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Cathy Threatt
District Director1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
David Proulx
Member at Large1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Bob Norton
Council Representative1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Vicki Hubbard
Vice Chair1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Charlene Fang
Member at Large1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Michelle Davidson
CFO40.000.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Donna Looper
Chief Advocacy Officer40.000.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$0TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$0TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K0IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KfalseTotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd
All Other Contributions$1,829,583AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$497,760NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$1,829,583TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Hearing Revenue621300$1,075,062$1,075,062
Sight Services Revenue621300$127,221$127,221
Recycling621300$11,425$11,425
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$1,213,708TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$463,103TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$463,103ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$4,789,911SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$4,273,221SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$516,690SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$516,690TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$516,690RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$4,023,084TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,730,398RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$463,103ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$70,192TotalAmt
Program Services$35,096ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$28,077ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$7,019FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,140,082TotalAmt
Program Services$876,414ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$108,531ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$155,137FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$173,306TotalAmt
Program Services$116,122ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$23,189ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$33,995FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$95,013TotalAmt
Program Services$71,559ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$10,724ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$12,730FundraisingAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$132,390TotalAmt
Management And General$132,390ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$492,044TotalAmt
Program Services$396,929ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$18,718ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$76,397FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$17,169TotalAmt
Management And General$505ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$16,664FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$16,436TotalAmt
Program Services$12,327ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,644ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,465FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$43,847TotalAmt
Program Services$32,885ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,385ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$6,577FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$28,350TotalAmt
Program Services$18,900ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,725ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$4,725FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$25,378TotalAmt
Program Services$20,524ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,284ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$3,570FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,878TotalAmt
Program Services$2,029ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,101ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,748FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$144,701TotalAmt
Program Services$96,468ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$24,117ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$24,116FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$34,832TotalAmt
Program Services$20,684ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$11,171ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,977FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Repairs and maintenance$82,588$57,642$12,473$12,473
Optical costs$73,227$73,227
Hearing aids and molds$572,545$572,545
Postage and printing$38,923$27,376$2,175$9,372

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$55,793TotalAmt
Program Services$33,977ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$17,689ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$4,127FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,244,694TotalAmt
Program Services$2,464,704ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$405,898ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$374,092FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$29,990BOYAmt
EOY$109,014EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$419,757BOYAmt
EOY$267,042EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$61,446BOYAmt
EOY$133,124EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$157,382BOYAmt
EOY$649,303EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,767BOYAmt
EOY$16,675EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$3,086,418LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$1,084,829LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,136,577BOYAmt
EOY$2,001,589EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,244,435BOYAmt
EOY$9,937,724EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,539,000BOYAmt
EOY$8,958,886EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$375BOYAmt
EOY$6,531EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,594,729BOYAmt
EOY$22,079,888EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$264,042BOYAmt
EOY$310,291EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$49,500BOYAmt
EOY$49,500EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$313,542BOYAmt
EOY$359,791EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,844,398BOYAmt
EOY$9,603,741EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$73,856BOYAmt
EOY$16,617EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,362,933BOYAmt
EOY$12,099,739EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,281,187BOYAmt
EOY$21,720,097EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$20,594,729BOYAmt
EOY$22,079,888EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$778,390ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$678,582NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Investment Expense-$18,062InvestmentExpenseAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,860,356CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,584,289CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,485,823CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,532,915CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,220,789CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$8,684,172TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$251,901CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$367,192CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$373,674CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$450,623CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,213,708CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$2,657,098TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,112,257CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,951,481CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,859,497CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,983,538CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$3,434,497CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$11,341,270TotalAmt

Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$4,994CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,000CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Total$6,994TotalAmt

Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$4,994CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,000CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Total$6,994TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$11,334,276PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$361,123CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$257,989CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,088,330CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$831,175CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$979,597CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$3,518,214TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$361,123CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$257,989CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,088,330CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$831,175CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$979,597CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$3,518,214TotalAmt

Other Income509 OtherIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$25,874CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$6,597CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Total$32,471TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,499,254CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,216,067CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$2,947,827CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,814,713CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$4,414,094CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$14,891,955TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.76110PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.78350PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.24000InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.21000InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$11,075,079BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,147,713InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$409,268OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$72,488AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$11,741,036EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$11,858,689BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$267,712InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$444,517OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$71,381AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$11,075,079EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$12,047,638BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$394,299InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$506,768OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$76,480AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$11,858,689EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$287,854BeginningYearBalanceAmt
End Year Balance$287,854EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$287,554BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$300ContributionsAmt
End Year Balance$287,854EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY1.00000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgYes (true)EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$401,870OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$401,870BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,767,066OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$359,786DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,407,280BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$792,109OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$635,657DepreciationAmt
Book Value$156,452BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$125,373OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$89,386DepreciationAmt
Book Value$35,987BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$2,001,589TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
Acreage held in endowment$1,715,000F
Corporate and Municipal Bonds$6,763,850F
US Government Securities$350,214F
Mutual FundsCEFUIT$129,822F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$8,958,886TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
Utility Deposits$375
Accrued interest receivable$6,156
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$6,531TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$9,792,291TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$678,582NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$5,181,175DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Revenue Not Reported$5,859,757RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$3,932,534RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$90,550InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$90,550RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$4,023,084TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$8,353,381TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$5,181,175DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Expenses Not Reported$5,181,175ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$3,172,206ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$72,488InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$72,488ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$3,244,694TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Endowment funds intended uses (Part V, line 4)Endowment funds are intended to be used for the overall mission of the Organization.
Other revenues not included on Form 990 (Part XI, line 2d)Special Event expenses reported on Form 990 page 1, Line 8b
Other revenues included on Form 990 (Part XI, line 4b)Beneficial interest in a remainder trust received in Dec 2015.
Other expenses not included on Form 990 (Part XII, line 2d)Special Event expenses reported on Form 990 page 1, Line 8b
Other expenses included on Form 990 (Part XII, line 4b)Other misc rounding differences.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonSarah KjellinPersonNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionLegal RepresentationRelationshipDescriptionTxt
TransactionAttorney for Firm Representing LighthouseTransactionDesc
Sharing Of RevenuesfalseSharingOfRevenuesInd

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
DescEyeglass FramesDesc
Contribution19ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$387,860NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining Revenuescost for purchasingMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be HeldfalseAnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (true)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedfalseThirdPartiesUsedInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Asset material diversion Part VI line 5The Lighthouse became aware of a diversion of assets that was not material as stipulated in the Form 990 instructions. To provide the readers of our financial information with full transparency, we have reported the amounts identified in Part IX line 24e and in Schedule O. These amounts, labeled as theft losses, were either not supported by original receipts or were not authorized by our Board of Directors.
Form 990 governing body review Part VI line 11The Form 990 is presented to the Board of Directors for review, discussion and vote for approval.
Conflict of interest policy compliance Part VI line 12cEmployees and Board members have an obligation to conduct business within guidelines that prohibit actual or potential conflicts of interest. This policy establishes only the framework within which the Lighthouse Foundation wishes its business to operate. The purpose of these guidelines is to provide general direction so that employees can seek further clarification on issues related to the subject of acceptable standards of operation.The conflict of interest policy is provided to the employee and Board members who sign acknowledgement of receipt of the policy.
CEO executive director top management comp Part VI line 15aThe compensation of the Executive Director is compared to a regional compensation study and reviewed by the Board of Directors with recommendations from the Finance Chair and Vice Chair.
Form 990 availability to public Part VI line 18The 990 is available upon request and is published on guidestar.com
Governing documents etc available to public Part VI line 19All documents are available upon request.
List of other fees for services expenses Part IX line 11gProgram Services - Other Fees:Hearing providers - 240,784Sight surgery providers - 153,050Payroll services - 3,098Management and General - Other Fees:Payroll services - 413Legal, accounting and other professionals - 18,305Fundraising - Other fees:Payroll services - 620Financial development/marketing - 75,777
List of other expenses Part IX line 24eProgram - Other Expenses:Auto expenses - 7,198Telephone - 6,816Bank charges - 8,901Volunteer appreciation - 4,320Staff recruitment and development - 3,100Dues and subscriptions - 3,533Recycling costs - 109Management and general - Other Expenses:Auto expenses - 800Telephone - 909Bank charges - 1,231Volunteer appreciation - 318Staff recruitment and development - 808Dues and subscriptions - 3,389Theft losses - 10,234 Fundraising - Other Expenses:Telephone - 1,363 Bank charges - 174Volunteer appreciation - 94Staff recruitment and development - 956Theft losses - 1,040Dues and subscriptions - 500

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.