FURP.ORG / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

NORTH CENTRAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC: Form 990, tax year 2017

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
NORTH CENTRAL ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC (EIN 45-0173086)
Tax period
2017-01-01 to 2017-12-31
Filed
2018-11-01
IRS object ID
201843059349301919
Schema version
2017v2.3
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-11-01T15:21:10-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN450250958PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EIDE BAILLY LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14310 17TH AVE S PO BOX 2545AddressLine1Txt
CityFARGOCityNm
State AbbreviationNDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP581082545ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2017-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN450173086EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1North Central Electric Cooperative IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlNORTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7012282202PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1538 11th St West No 1AddressLine1Txt
CityBottineauCityNm
State AbbreviationNDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP58318ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonWayne MartianPersonNm
Person TitleGeneral ManagerPersonTitleTxt
Phone7012282202PhoneNum
Signature2018-10-31SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonLISA CHAFFEE CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00193453PTIN
Phone7012398500PhoneNum
Preparation2018-10-31PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address38.134.125.46IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2018-10-31IPDt
IP Tm13:57:58IPTm
IP TimezoneCDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdCEC276730FFE6C5EBD879B4383FE91158CB23495AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id3F1B4C4A1C1F32CA3CD03C05270CE62742EA9E6EAtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2017TaxYr
Build TS2018-06-14 16:35:46ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerWayne MartianPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1538 11th St West No 1AddressLine1Txt
CityBottineauCityNm
State AbbreviationNDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP58318ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$25,501,936GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website Addresswww.nceci.comWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1941FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNDLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionThe exempt purpose of the organization is to provide electricity to members.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee39TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$9,141TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$7,058NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$24,550,777PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$25,031,904CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$42,665PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income-$878,056CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$25,869PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$19,058CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$24,619,311PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$24,172,906CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$2,201,032PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$2,265,298CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$3,830,585PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$3,923,533CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$18,586,849PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$19,719,533CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$24,618,466PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$25,908,364CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$845PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$1,735,458CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$73,138,195TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$76,575,263TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$49,848,518TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$52,709,380TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$23,289,677NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$23,865,883NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionNoneMissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescSale of electricity and electrical services to 8,519+ residential and commercial members. Service encompasses over 3,274 miles of utility line.Desc
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (1)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other Liabilities0ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan OutstandingYes (1)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document36IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee39EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$24,677,582MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$57,778OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of Committees0MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Tori KlingBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone7012282202PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1538 11th Street West Suite 1AddressLine1Txt
CityBottineauCityNm
State AbbreviationNDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP58318ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (13 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Jesse Fahnestock
President8.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$9,516$0$0
David O'Connell
Vice President6.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$15,582$0$0
Lori Kittleson
Secretary/Treasurer6.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$7,016$0$0
Kenneth Haarsager
Director (Jan-Jun)6.00Yes (X)$2,457$0$0
Kenneth Brenden
Director6.00Yes (X)$7,430$0$0
Jean Brandt
Director6.00Yes (X)$8,066$0$0
Bradley Aho
Director (Jul-Dec)6.00Yes (X)$5,008$0$0
RJ Paul
Director6.00Yes (X)$6,816$0$0
Stuart Rothe
Director6.00Yes (X)$7,241$0$0
Joel Brandvold
Director6.00Yes (X)$8,341$0$0
Wayne Martian
General Manager50.00Yes (X)$222,324$0$17,975
Tori Kling
Business Manager50.00Yes (X)$114,901$0$52,900
David Caroline
Line Superintendent40.00$118,025$0$17,265Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$532,723TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$88,140TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K3IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Central Trenching Inc
5200 7th Ave SWMinotND58701Trenching Services$448,626
Parisien's Tree Service
PO Box 777BelcourtND58316Trim/Brush Trees$241,014
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K2CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Electric Sales221000$24,040,752$24,040,752
Capital Credits221000$991,152$991,152
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$25,031,904TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$41,759TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$41,759ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$15,000RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$15,000RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$15,000TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$15,000ExclusionAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$919,815OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other-$919,815OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$919,815TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$919,815ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$413,273GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$409,215CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$4,058TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$5,083RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$9,141UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$24,172,906TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$25,026,821RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$9,141UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion-$863,056ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,265,298TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$461,246TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,769,182TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$461,162TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$231,943TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,631,620TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,161,591TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
UBI Taxes$12,361
Cost of Power$14,556,981
Distribution Expense$2,855,804
Administrative and Gene$1,198,155

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total-$2,696,979TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$25,908,364TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXInd

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$371,910BOYAmt
EOY$2,617,006EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,088,775BOYAmt
EOY$2,933,641EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,584BOYAmt
EOY$672EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$173BOYAmt
EOY$1,080EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,264,435BOYAmt
EOY$1,166,518EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$761,425BOYAmt
EOY$614,062EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$84,716,756LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$30,032,810LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$52,501,974BOYAmt
EOY$54,683,946EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$268,662BOYAmt
EOY$300,337EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,877,257BOYAmt
EOY$14,251,351EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$6,650EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$73,138,195BOYAmt
EOY$76,575,263EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,233,364BOYAmt
EOY$2,741,050EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$933,399BOYAmt
EOY$1,988,357EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$37,931,755BOYAmt
EOY$47,979,973EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,750,000BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$49,848,518BOYAmt
EOY$52,709,380EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,289,677BOYAmt
EOY$23,865,883EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,289,677BOYAmt
EOY$23,865,883EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$73,138,195BOYAmt
EOY$76,575,263EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$1,735,458ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$2,311,664OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$56,779OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$56,779BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$6,215,031OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,073,393DepreciationAmt
Book Value$5,141,638BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,989,374OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,583,277DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,406,097BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$73,455,572OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$25,376,140DepreciationAmt
Book Value$48,079,432BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$54,683,946TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (6 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
Patronage Capital$12,874,241C
Rural Econ Dev Revolving Loan Pool$933,878C
Energy Resource Conservation Loans$2,824C
Equipment Loans$338,550C
Memberships$2,277C
Federated Rural Electric Insurance Equity$99,581C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$14,251,351TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$24,160,545TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue-$12,361OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$12,361RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$24,172,906RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$24,172,906TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$23,630,705TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$23,630,705ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$2,277,659OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$2,277,659ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$25,908,364TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part X, Line 2:The Cooperative is exempt from income taxes under Section 501(c)(12) of the Internal Revenue Code. The Cooperative is annually required to file a Return of Organization Exempt from Income Tax (Form 990) with the IRS. The Cooperative files an Exempt Organization Business Income Tax Return (Form 990-T) with the IRS to report its unrelated business taxable income. The Subsidiary is a taxable corporation and provides for income taxes based on income reported in the financial statements. The Cooperative evaluates its tax positions that have been taken or are expected to be taken on income tax returns to determine if an accrual is necessary for uncertain tax positions. As of December 31, 2017 and 2016, the unrecognized tax benefit accrual was zero. The Cooperative will recognized future accrued interest and penalties related to unrecognized tax benefits in income tax expense if incurred.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Expenses included with income for financial statements -12,361.
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Expenses included with income for financial statements 12,361. Patronage Capital Credits Allocated For Current Year 2,265,298.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (2 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Wayne Martian
General Manager$218,450$0$300$0$3,574$0$8,810$0$10,207$0$241,341$0$0$0
Tori Kling
Business Manager$114,245$0$300$0$356$0$37,789$0$15,685$0$168,375$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart IIFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationIncluded in column "c" , deferred compensation, is the estimated current year increase in the actuarial value of the defined benefit plan. These amounts do not represent any current year contributions to the plan. They are estimates of the increase in the actuarial value of the plans received from the NRECA. The current year expense and the increase in actuarial value for each employee is reflected in the Schedule O statement for Form 990, Part VII, column F.ExplanationTxt

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonLori OpdahlPersonNm
Relationship With OrgFormer OfficerRelationshipWithOrgTxt
Loan PurposeEquipment LoanLoanPurposeTxt
Loan From OrganizationYes (X)LoanFromOrganizationInd
Original Principal$3,000OriginalPrincipalAmt
Balance Due$672BalanceDueAmt
Default0DefaultInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (1)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Written AgreementYes (1)WrittenAgreementInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$672TotalBalanceDueAmt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (12 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 6There is one class of members which all have the same voting rights.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7aMembers vote for all open positions in all districts that are up for election that year.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7bChanges to bylaws or articles of incorporation must be approved by members of the Cooperative.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 8bThere are no committees that have authority to act on behalf of the governing body.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bThe General Manager and Business Manager reviewed a draft of the Form 990. The Form 990 was presented at a board meeting prior to filing with the IRS.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cDirectors and management must annually complete a form to disclose any conflicts they might have. The President of the Board reviews the disclosures. For each instance disclosed, the President has discretion to take no action, assure full disclosure to the full board and management, ask the person to recuse him or herself from discussions or decisions relating to the conflict or ask the person to resign. The General Manager monitors proposed or ongoing conflicts and discloses them to the Board President.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15The Board annually uses a salary survey made available through the North Dakota Association of Rural Electric Cooperatives. The salary deliberation is documented in the minutes. The Board votes on the compensation. Compensation for the Business Manager is determined based on Business Manager salaries at other cooperatives across North Dakota, taking into account the results of the ND Association of REC's Wage and Salary Survey. In addition, the Business Manager's years of service to the Cooperative are considered. The Board approves all wages anually. For non-union employees the General Manager makes a recommendation, and the Board votes to approve. For union members, the union negotiates directly with the Board and the General Manager. When an agreement is reached the Board will formally approve the new wage scale.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements are available upon request.
Form 990, Part VII, Section A, Column (F)Included in column "f", estimated amount of other compensation, is the estimated annual increase in the actuarial value of the defined benefit plan. The estimated increase for Tori Kling for 2017 is $33,004. This amount is estimated in the increase of the value of the plan and are not current year expenses of the cooperative. The current year expense for this defined benefit plan was $7,061.
Form 990, Part IX, Statement Of Functional Expenses, Line 24eAllocated Costs: The labor, pension, and payroll taxes reported on lines 5-10 are already included in distribution expense, administrative & general expense and customer expense. Therefore, these amounts are being subtracted out as an other deduction on line 24e in the amount of $(3,923,533).
Form 990, Part X, Line 4:The Cooperative has interpreted the instructions to Part IX, Line 4, to mean patronage capital allocated for the year, rather than patronage capital retired. This is consistent with the Bylaws of the Cooperative.
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:Refunded Checks 46,366. Patronage Capital Credits Allocated For Current Year 2,265,298.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1North Central Electric Trust IncBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1538 11th Street West Suite 1AddressLine1Txt
CityBottineauCityNm
State AbbreviationNDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP58318ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN467523359EIN
Primary ActivitiesOperation RoundupPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateNDLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(c)(3)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity StatusLine 7PublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1North Central Electric Cooperative IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationYes (1)ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (1)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd