FURP.ORG / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

OTTAWA UNIVERSITY: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
OTTAWA UNIVERSITY (EIN 48-0543772)
Tax period
2016-07-01 to 2017-06-30
Filed
2018-03-02
IRS object ID
201840619349301039
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-03-02T17:53:08-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN430765316PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RubinBrown LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11200 Main Street Suite 1000AddressLine1Txt
CityKansas CityCityNm
State AbbreviationMOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP64105ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN480543772EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Ottawa UniversityBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlOTTABusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7852482382PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11001 S CedarAddressLine1Txt
CityOttawaCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP66067ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJ Clark RibordyPersonNm
Person TitleExecutive Vice PresidentPersonTitleTxt
Phone7852482382PhoneNum
Signature2018-02-24SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonKimberly A RyanPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00829977PTIN
Phone8164721122PhoneNum

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address67.221.229.228IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2018-02-24IPDt
IP Tm13:54:00IPTm
IP TimezoneMSIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdDA39A3EE5E6B4B0D3255BFEF95601890AFD80709AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id17BF96BABDE19316F4C6270412AAE1C5A3F50A69AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerKevin EichnerPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11001 S CedarAddressLine1Txt
CityOttawaCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP66067ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$51,022,614GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.ottawa.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1865FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateKSLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionBuilding on its foundation as a Christ-inspired community grace and open inquiry, Ottawa University prepares professional and liberal arts graduates for lifetimes of personal significance, vocational fulfillment, and service to God and humanity.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body26VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent26VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee985TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers150TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$3,035,834PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$6,078,945CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$39,525,834PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$40,128,749CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$227,803PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$792,250CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$569,264PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$622,489CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$43,358,735PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$47,622,433CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$9,578,792PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$9,957,633CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$19,797,258PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$20,749,514CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,261,900CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$15,646,246PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$17,624,282CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$45,022,296PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$48,331,429CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$1,663,561PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$708,996CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$62,499,879TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$63,575,835TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$45,609,909TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$47,243,880TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$16,889,970NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$16,331,955NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionSee Schedule OBuilding on its foundation as a Christ-inspired community grace and open inquiry, Ottawa University prepares professional and liberal arts graduates for lifetimes of personal significance, vocational fulfillment, and service to God and humanity.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$39,844,255ExpenseAmt
Grant$9,957,633GrantAmt
Revenue$40,128,749RevenueAmt
DescOTTAWA UNIVERSITY STRIVES TO PROVIDE THE HIGHEST QUALITY LIBERAL ARTS AND PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION IN A CARING, CHRIST-INSPIRED COMMUNITY OF GRACE INTEGRATING FAITH, LEARNING AND LIFE.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$39,844,255TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtYes (1)CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document4660IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee985EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members26GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member26IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldAZStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldKSStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Noelle M TestaBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone7852482382PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11001 S CedarAddressLine1Txt
CityOttawaCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP66067ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (35 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Diane Sexton
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jeanne Stuart Krug
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kristy Cannon Stallings
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
David Grummon
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Michael Hetrick
Trustee, Vice Chair1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Steve Hasty
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Pamela Woodward
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Edward Hoskins
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Lucky DeFries
Trustee, Chair1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Richard Maack
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Wayne Duderstadt
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kathleen Madden
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Danny Trent
Trustee, Secretary1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
David Greenhaw
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Wynndee Lee
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Henry Hank Scherich
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
John Williams
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Joe Greenhaw
Trustee, Treasurer1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
John Coen
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Susan Neff
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kathleen Greene
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Donna Petrocco
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robert Innes
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Michael Ruchensky
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Barry Pelton
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robert Evans
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Greg Burger
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Janet Kincaid
Trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kevin Eichner
President40.00$524,679$0$67,925Yes (X)
Terrel Haines
Executive Vice President and Provost40.00$210,712$0$53,292Yes (X)
J Clark Ribordy
Executive Vice President and CFO40.00$221,062$0$70,176Yes (X)
Paul Bean
Vice President of Advancement40.00$159,904$0$25,450Yes (X)
Nancy Wingert
Senior VP of Marketing and APGS40.00$171,185$0$18,403Yes (X)
Dennis Tyner
Vice President and Provost OUAZ40.00$154,107$0$60,066Yes (X)
Richard Johnson
COO of Arizona Campuses40.00$127,949$0$27,971Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,569,598TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$323,283TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K7IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
JTM MKE LLC
28914 Network PlaceChicagoIL60673Lease Rental$369,290
Brown Midwest Commercial Construction
PO Box 14004LenexaKS66285Contractor$145,445
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K2CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
All Other Contributions$6,078,945AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$6,078,945TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Tuition & Fees611600$35,991,213$35,991,213
Auxiliary Enterprises611600$4,137,536$4,137,536
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$40,128,749TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$201,803TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$201,803ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$8,283TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$8,283ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$3,990,628SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$3,373,444SecuritiesAmt
Other$26,737OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$617,184SecuritiesAmt
Other-$26,737OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$590,447TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$590,447ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
All other Misc Revenue900099$567,650$567,650
Transcript Fees611710$39,367$39,367
Commissions541900$7,189$7,189
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$614,206OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$47,622,433TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$40,128,749RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,414,739ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,957,633TotalAmt
Program Services$9,957,633ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,834,057TotalAmt
Program Services$582,369ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,070,579ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$181,109FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$85,670TotalAmt
Program Services$85,670ProgramServicesAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$14,804,131TotalAmt
Program Services$13,191,120ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,307,440ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$305,571FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$261,173TotalAmt
Program Services$204,067ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$47,291ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$9,815FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,568,255TotalAmt
Program Services$1,498,258ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,025,088ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$44,909FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,196,228TotalAmt
Program Services$1,020,962ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$142,735ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$32,531FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,100,469TotalAmt
Program Services$847,151ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$253,318ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$118,821TotalAmt
Program Services$47,112ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$71,709ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$81,605TotalAmt
Management And General$81,605ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$18,804TotalAmt
Management And General$18,804ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,499,004TotalAmt
Program Services$1,886,177ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$331,945ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$280,882FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,117,565TotalAmt
Program Services$1,075,543ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$42,022ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,140,901TotalAmt
Program Services$666,463ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$269,995ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$204,443FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$426,617TotalAmt
Program Services$274,785ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$102,671ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$49,161FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,459,343TotalAmt
Program Services$2,020,215ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$439,128ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,414,470TotalAmt
Program Services$1,194,508ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$161,817ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$58,145FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$187,413TotalAmt
Program Services$126,797ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$36,534ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$24,082FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,155,156TotalAmt
Program Services$1,465,506ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$689,650ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,584,435TotalAmt
Program Services$2,179,329ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$405,106ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$381,615TotalAmt
Program Services$127,878ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$184,439ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$69,298FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Equip Rental & Maintena$640,367$494,589$145,778
Miscellaneous$622,397$449,062$173,335
Dues & Subscriptions$382,247$226,967$153,326$1,954
All other Expenses$190,699$151,210$39,489

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$102,354TotalAmt
Program Services$70,884ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$31,470ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$48,331,429TotalAmt
Program Services$39,844,255ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$7,225,274ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,261,900FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY-$478,268BOYAmt
EOY-$81,728EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,659,861BOYAmt
EOY$287,379EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,360,324BOYAmt
EOY$4,412,842EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$582,601BOYAmt
EOY$820,542EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$328,507BOYAmt
EOY$364,391EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$663,016BOYAmt
EOY$771,739EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$68,703,035LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$32,340,954LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,425,226BOYAmt
EOY$36,362,081EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$18,586,095BOYAmt
EOY$17,627,329EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$70,000BOYAmt
EOY$55,000EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,809,431BOYAmt
EOY$2,910,215EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$493,086BOYAmt
EOY$46,045EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$62,499,879BOYAmt
EOY$63,575,835EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,279,045BOYAmt
EOY$2,890,409EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$939,181BOYAmt
EOY$1,215,573EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,650,000BOYAmt
EOY$16,650,000EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,961,905BOYAmt
EOY$23,680,732EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,779,778BOYAmt
EOY$2,807,166EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$45,609,909BOYAmt
EOY$47,243,880EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,556,936BOYAmt
EOY$2,949,960EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$465,674BOYAmt
EOY$263,548EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,867,360BOYAmt
EOY$13,118,447EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,889,970BOYAmt
EOY$16,331,955EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$62,499,879BOYAmt
EOY$63,575,835EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$708,996ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$150,981NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Art Public Exhibition Amounts ArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Assets Included$60,000AssetsIncludedAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Coll Used Loan Or Exch ProgYes (X)CollUsedLoanOrExchProgInd
Solicited Assets Sale0SolicitedAssetsSaleInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$14,349,512BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$268,427ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$727,653InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Administrative Expenses$32,244AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$15,313,348EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$15,214,265BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$321,043ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$54,991InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,074,955OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$55,850AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$14,349,512EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$18,056,647BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$244,673ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$481,788InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$3,506,896OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$61,947AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$15,214,265EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$18,812,470BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$213,227ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,375,447InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$2,256,973OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$87,524AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$18,056,647EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$17,448,455BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$182,782ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,936,911InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$734,389OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$21,289AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$18,812,470EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.26410BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.73590PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$523,573OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$523,573BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$46,134,663OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$16,354,626DepreciationAmt
Book Value$29,780,037BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$665,707OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$520,731DepreciationAmt
Book Value$144,976BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$18,366,345OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$14,184,168DepreciationAmt
Book Value$4,182,177BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,012,747OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,281,429DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,731,318BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$36,362,081TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Refundable Govt Loan Programs$2,641,477
Present Value Annuities Payable$78,228
Asset Retirement Obligations$87,461
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$2,807,166TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$37,823,714TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$150,981NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$150,981RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$37,672,733RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$18,804InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$9,930,896OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$9,949,700RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$47,622,433TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$38,381,729TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$38,381,729ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$18,804InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$9,930,896OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$9,949,700ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$48,331,429TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part III, Line 4:THE COLLECTION IS PRIMARILY INDIAN ARTIFACTS WHICH HELP TO EXPLAIN THE BEGINNINGS OF THE UNIVERSITY, WHICH WAS ESTABLISHED BY INDIAN MISSIONARIES.
Part V, Line 4:THE ENDOWMENT FUNDS ASSIST IN FUNDING STUDENT EDUCATION THROUGH ENDOWED SCHOLARSHIPS. THERE ARE ALSO ENDOWED CHAIRS WHICH ASSIST IN FUNDING PROFESSORS WHO TEACH AND FURTHER THE EXEMPT PURPOSE OF THE UNIVERSITY.
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Scholarships 9,957,633. Loss on disposition of other assets -26,737.
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Scholarships 9,957,633. Loss on disposition of other assets -26,737.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule E, Part I, Line 3THE COLLEGE CATALOG, STUDENT HANDBOOK, AND GENERAL DISTRIBUTION ADMISSION BROCHURES STATE THE UNIVERSITY'S NON-DISCRIMINATORY POLICY.
Schedule E, Part I, Line 6THE UNIVERSITY RECEIVES AID VIA THE STUDENT FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE CLUSTER.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeScholarships/GrantsGrantTypeTxt
Recipient756RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$9,957,633CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule I, Part I, Line 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationOTTAWA UNIVERSITY OFFERS ACADEMIC SCHOLARSHIPS AND AWARDS. ALL FUNDS ARE AWARDED ON THE BASIS OF ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT, SERVICE TO COMMUNITY, LEADERSHIP AND INVOLVEMENT IN SCHOOL ACTIVITIES. ALL SCHOLARSHIPS AND AWARDS ARE OFFERED FOR FOUR YEARS OF STUDY FOR FRESHMEN AND UNTIL THE COMPLETION OF DEGREE REQUIREMENTS FOR TRANSFER STUDENTS. ALL STUDENTS MUST MEET THE STATED CRITERIA TO MAINTAIN ELIGIBILITY. GRANTS EARNED BY THE STUDENT FROM EXTERNAL FUNDING SOURCES ARE FULLY CREDITED TO THE STUDENT'S ACCOUNT WITHOUT REDUCING ACADEMIC SCHOLARSHIPS AND AWARDS OFFERED BY OTTAWA UNIVERSITY. ACTIVITY AWARDS ARE OFFERED TO STUDENTS PARTICIPATING IN SPECIFIC ACTIVITIES BASED ON A COMPETITIVE REVIEW BY THE GRANTING DEPARTMENT. ACTIVITY AWARDS ARE AVAILABLE IN MUSIC, ART, THEATRE, FORENSICS, AND DEBATE. ATHLETIC AWARDS ARE OFFERED ON THE BASIS OF AN EVALUATION BY THE COACH OF EACH SPORT. OTTAWA UNIVERSITY OFFERS NEED BASED GRANTS TO STUDENTS WHO DEMONSTRATE AN EXCEPTIONAL LEVEL OF NEED AND THE POTENTIAL TO SUCCEED. OTTAWA UNIVERSITY IS COMMITTED TO BEING A RESIDENTIAL CAMPUS. FINANCIAL AID AWARDS ARE OFFERED TO ENCOURAGE STUDENTS TO LIVE ON-CAMPUS. OTTAWA UNIVERSITY IS ABLE TO HELP STUDENTS MEET A SIGNIFICANT PORTION OF THE DIRECT COST OF EDUCATION THROUGH A COMBINATION OF RESOURCES. STUDENTS ARE HIGHLY ENCOURAGED TO SUBMIT THE FREE APPLICATION FOR FEDERAL STUDENT AID (FAFSA) TO DETERMINE ELIGIBILITY FOR ADDITIONAL GRANTS, WORK-STUDY PROGRAMS AND LOW-INTEREST LOANS. THE ADMINISTRATIVE SOFTWARE MONITORS FINANCIAL AID ON AN ONGOING BASIS FOR GRANTS, SCHOLARSHIPS AND OTHER AID THAT MAY BE PENDING, AWARDED, ETC. THIS INFORMATION IS THEN POSTED TO THE GENERAL LEDGER AS WELL FOR BALANCING/REPORTING PURPOSES.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Kevin Eichner
President$430,679$0$82,000$0$12,000$0$24,524$0$43,401$0$592,604$0$0$0
Terrel Haines
Executive Vice President and Provost$201,712$0$0$0$9,000$0$0$0$53,292$0$264,004$0$0$0
J Clark Ribordy
Executive Vice President and CFO$211,462$0$0$0$9,600$0$0$0$70,176$0$291,238$0$0$0
Paul Bean
Vice President of Advancement$150,804$0$0$0$9,100$0$0$0$25,450$0$185,354$0$0$0
Nancy Wingert
Senior VP of Marketing and APGS$163,985$0$0$0$7,200$0$0$0$18,403$0$189,588$0$0$0
Dennis Tyner
Vice President and Provost OUAZ$146,187$0$0$0$7,920$0$524$0$59,542$0$214,173$0$0$0
Richard Johnson
COO of Arizona Campuses$122,009$0$0$0$5,940$0$0$0$27,971$0$155,920$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 1aFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationOTTAWA UNIVERSITY PROVIDED KEVIN EICHNER, THE PRESIDENT OF THE ORGANIZATION, HOUSING. THE FAIR MARKET VALUE OF THE HOUSING WAS NOT INCLUDED IN HIS W-2 AS TAXABLE COMPENSATION BECAUSE IT QUALIFIED AS A NON TAXABLE BENEFIT. OTTAWA UNIVERSITY PROVIDED KEVIN EICHNER, THE PRESIDENT OF THE ORGANIZATION, AND DENNIS TYNER, DEAN OF APPLIED SCIENCES, MEMBERSHIP TO THE COUNTRY CLUB. THE COUNTRY CLUB DUES BENEFIT WAS INCLUDED IN THEIR W-2 AS TAXABLE COMPENSATION.ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Kansas Independent College Finance AuthorityBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN481233911BondIssuerEIN
CUSIP48526HYA8CUSIPNum
Bond Issued2015-06-29BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$16,650,000IssuePriceAmt
PurposeSee Part VIPurposeDesc
Defeased0DefeasedInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool Financing0PoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Total Proceeds$16,657,031TotalProceedsAmt
Capital Expenditures$6,684,782CapitalExpendituresAmt
Other Spent Proceeds$9,972,249OtherSpentProceedsAmt
Substantial Completion2017SubstantialCompletionYr
Current RefundingYes (1)CurrentRefundingInd
Advance Refunding0AdvanceRefundingInd
Final Allocation Made0FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (1)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed Property0OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease ArrangementsYes (1)AnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropYes (1)MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Engage Bond Counsel ContractsYes (1)EngageBondCounselContractsInd
Any Research Agreements0AnyResearchAgreementsInd
Private Bus Use By Others0.00000PrivateBusUseByOthersPct
Private Bus Concerning UBI0.00330PrivateBusConcerningUBIPct
Total Private Business Use0.00330TotalPrivateBusinessUsePct
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt Test0BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed Prop0ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdYes (1)ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T Filed0Form8038TFiledInd
Rebate Not Due YetYes (1)RebateNotDueYetInd
Exception To Rebate0ExceptionToRebateInd
No Rebate Due0NoRebateDueInd
Variable Rate Issue0VariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And Rec0HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC0GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds Invested0GrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor ReqsYes (1)WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective ActionYes (1)ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule K, Part I, Line A, Column (F)ACQUIRE, CONSTRUCT, FURNISH AND EQUIP EDUCATIONAL FACILITIES AND REFUND THE INSTITUTION'S SERIES 2008A BONDS. THE SERIES 2008A BONDS WERE ISSUED ON 3/18/2008.
SCHEDULE K, PART II, COLUMN A, LINE 3Amount is not equal to issue price due to investment earnings earned during the project period.
SCHEDULE K, PART II, COLUMN A, LINE 11This amount consists of $9,971,953.65 of Bond proceeds used to redeem the 2008A Bonds and $294.77 of Bond proceeds remaining in the project fund after completion of the project and allocated to interest on the Bonds.
SCHEDULE K, PART II, COLUMN A, LINE 16The project financed by the Bonds was completed in 2017, and the University is currently in the process of completing the final allocation.
SCHEDULE K, PART III, COLUMN AThe bonds were issued to (1) finance new capital projects for the University, and (2) refund the University's Series 2008 Bonds, which bonds refinanced in part projects originally financed prior to January 1, 2003. Part III has been completed for the University's capital projects originally financed after January 1, 2003.
Part III, Column A, Line 5This amount represents the max amount of potential private business use that may have resulted from unrelated trade or business activity and does not take into account any equity in the project.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (4 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionAmtTransactionTransactionDescSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd
Karen Adams
The Sister of Kevin Eichner, An Officer of Ottawa University$26,938Employee Compensation0
David Tyner
The Son of Dennis Tyner, An employee of Ottawa University$57,419Employee Compensation0
Mary Haines
THE Wife OF Terry Haines, A TRUSTEE OF Ottawa University$1,313Employee Compensation0
Barry Pelton
A Trustee of Ottawa University$100,000Ottawa University has an operating lease with Barry Pelton to lease apartments which he plans to donate to the University after the lease ends. The University also hires Pelton Painting for maintenance work on campus.0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bAN INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTING FIRM PREPARES AND REVIEWS THE 990. OTTAWA UNIVERSITY'S AUDIT COMMITTEE, OFFICERS, AND DIRECTOR OF FINANCE/CONTROLLER REVIEW THE 990. A COMPLETE COPY OF THE 990 IS THEN DISTRIBUTED TO ALL VOTING MEMBERS OF THE BOARD BEFORE IT IS FILED.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cTHE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IS MONITORED ON AN ANNUAL BASIS. ALL OFFICERS, DIRECTORS, TRUSTEES, AND KEY EMPLOYEES MUST REVIEW THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND SIGN IT ANNUALLY. CURRENTLY, THE HUMAN RESOURCES DEPARTMENT MANAGES THE POLICY AND ANY CONFLICTS THAT MAY ARISE. IT IS THE DUTY OF THE AUDIT COMMITTEE TO DETERMINE IF THERE IS A CONFLICT OF INTEREST. IF THE COMMITTEE DETERMINES A CONFLICT EXISTS, THE BOARD MEMBERS INVOLVED IN THE CONFLICT WILL DISMISS THEMSELVES FROM MEETINGS AND/OR ABSTAIN FROM VOTING DURING DISCUSSIONS OF ISSUES THAT RELATE TO THESE SPECIFIC MEMBERS.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15aTHE MANAGEMENT REVIEW COMMITTEE OF OTTAWA UNIVERSITY, WHICH INCLUDES THE CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD, PERFORMS A REVIEW OF THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER'S COMPENSATION ANNUALLY UTILIZING RESOURCES DEEMED NECESSARY BUT NOT LIMITED TO: 1) COMPARABLE MARKET RESEARCH DATA, 2) CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER INPUT AND, 3) LEGAL COUNSEL ASSISTANCE. THE COMPENSATION REVIEW AND APPROVAL PROCESS IS DOCUMENTED IN THE COMMITTEE MINUTES. THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNIVERSITY AND THE HUMAN RESOURCES DIRECTOR USE COMPARABLE DATA TO REVIEW COMPENSATION FOR ALL OTHER OFFICERS OF THE ORGANIZATION AS WELL AS KEY EMPLOYEES WHEN THE INDIVIDUALS ARE HIRED AND ON AN ANNUAL BASIS.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19THE ORGANIZATION DOES NOT MAKE ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, OR FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC.
Form 990, Part XII, Line 2c:Process has not changed from prior year.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Ottawa Investment Management ServicesBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11001 S Cedar 20AddressLine1Txt
CityOttawaCityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP66067ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN480543772EIN
Primary ActivitiesInvestmentPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateKSLegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$0TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$0EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Ottawa UnivBusinessNameLine1Txt

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp (4 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtEntity TypeEntityTypeTxtShare Of EOY AssetsShareOfEOYAssetsAmtOwnershipOwnershipPctControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationIndEINEIN
Stout TW M&T Investment Group
PO Box 1377BuffaloNY14240TrustNYOttawa UT$1,020,1890.800000
Henderson & Sarah Martin Trust US Bank
900 Massachusetts StreetLawrenceKS66044TrustKSOttawa UT$410,0561.000000486235096
Belvin Schol Baptist FDN OF OK
3800 N May AveOklahoma CityOK73112TrustOKOttawa UT$25,6851.000000730623038
Charitable Remainder Annuity Trust (1)
PO Box 851Valley ForgePA19482CratPAOttawa UT$348,5331.000000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd