CHRISTIAN BROTHERS UNIVERSITY: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
CHRISTIAN BROTHERS UNIVERSITY (EIN 62-0476666)
Tax period
2016-06-01 to 2017-05-31
Filed
2018-01-30
IRS object ID
201830309349300513
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-01-30T08:38:09-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-05-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN560747981PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DIXON HUGHES GOODMAN LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1999 S SHADY GROVE RD STE 400AddressLine1Txt
CityMEMPHISCityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP38120ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-06-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN620476666EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Christian Brothers UniversityBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlCHRIBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone9013213380PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1650 East Parkway SouthAddressLine1Txt
CityMemphisCityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP38104ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonCarolyn HeadPersonNm
Person Titlevp-administration & financePersonTitleTxt
Phone9013213380PhoneNum
Signature2018-01-25SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonJohn A May JrPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00210965PTIN
Phone9017613000PhoneNum
Preparation2018-01-22PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address4.16.119.113IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2018-01-25IPDt
IP Tm08:47:38IPTm
IP TimezoneCSIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdA631B8E80E7FE09C3E438AA7F2B0FD573669BF31AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id9A0AF704EC2940BF9E580B31D68EBB5FA66BF7BBAtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal Officerronald l brandonPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1650 EAST PARKWAY SOUTHAddressLine1Txt
CityMEMPHISCityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP38104ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$59,311,910GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.cbu.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1871FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateTNLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionOPERATION OF PRIVATE CATHOLIC UNIVERSITY WHOSE PRINCIPAL ACTIVITY IS TO PROVIDE ADVANCED STUDY TO STUDENTS IN AN INTER-FAITH EDUCATIONAL COMMUNITY.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body35VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent35VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee899TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers35TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI-$11,831TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm-$11,831NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$7,054,584PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$5,383,047CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$45,730,588PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$46,643,736CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$271,763PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$394,002CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$6,311,209PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$6,792,171CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$59,368,144PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$59,212,956CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$19,309,968PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$21,590,154CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$19,904,934PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$21,221,459CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$242,521PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$193,000CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,588,842CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$15,952,447PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$15,467,175CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$55,409,870PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$58,471,788CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$3,958,274PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$741,168CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$91,397,757TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$94,914,899TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$22,083,376TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$21,250,136TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$69,314,381NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$73,664,763NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionChristian Brothers University is a private, Catholic comprehensive university committed to preparing students of all faiths and backgrounds to excel in their professional and public lives by providing challenging educational opportunities in the arts, business, engineering, the sciences, and teacher education.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$48,089,244ExpenseAmt
Grant$21,590,154GrantAmt
Revenue$49,006,339RevenueAmt
Descprivate catholic university offering undergraduate and graduate degrees in the tradition of the christian brothers. the principle activity of cbu is to provide advanced study to students in an inter-faith educational community.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$48,089,244TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtYes (1)CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingYes (1)ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (1)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionYes (1)DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document71IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee899EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsYes (1)NondeductibleContributionsInd
Nondeductible Contri DisclYes (1)NondeductibleContriDisclInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members35GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member35IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldTNStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1TOM COCHRANronald brandonBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone9013213381PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1650 east parkway southAddressLine1Txt
CityMEMPHISCityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP38104ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (42 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Mr James Isaacs
trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev Keith Norman
trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Stephen T Dunavant
Vice chairman2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Br Chris Englert FSC
trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr John Mitchell Graves
chairman2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr William W Graves
trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mrs Emily Sawyer Greer
SEcretary2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Douglas J Marchant
trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Br Michael F Quirk FSC
trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr James L Reber
TREASURER2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Br Larry Schatz FSC
trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Joshua Shipley
trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Stephen Waechter
trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mrs Laurel C Williams JD
trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR LOUIS F BO ALLEN JR
TRUSTEE2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR DAVID ARCHER
TRUSTee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR ROBERT H BUCKMAN
TRUSTee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR RICHARD A CARGILE
TRUSTee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MS LESLIE L DANIEL
TRUSTee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR TYREE DANIELS
TRUSTee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR RUSSELL J HENSLEY
TRUSTee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR CHRISTOPHER KOCH JR
TRUSTee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MS MARIA LENSING
TRUSTee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
FR ROBERT W MARSHALL JR
TRUSTee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR HAROLD G MCNEIL
TRUSTee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MR PAUL POSEY JR
TRUSTee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MS BEMETRA SIMMONS
TRUSTee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Br Francis Carr FSC
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Judge J Robert Carter
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr James C Collins Jr
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr David L Cunningham Jr
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Richard L Erickson Jr
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Margaret Hodges MD
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ms Lynnfer Perry
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Christopher E Singer
Trustee2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr John Smarrelli Jr
president of the universit40.00$250,000$0$31,916Yes (X)
MS CAROLYN HEAD
CFO, VP ADMIN & FINANCE40.00$162,587$0$20,100Yes (X)
Mr Stephen R Crisman
SR. VP OF ADVANCEMENT40.00$144,408$0$18,919Yes (X)
MR PASCAL BEDROSSIAN
PROFESSOR40.00$485,674$0$31,729Yes (X)
Dr Cathy Grilli
PROFESSOR40.00$135,438$0$15,778Yes (X)
Dr Anne H Kenworthy
VP of Enrollment Mgmt40.00$128,620$0$24,026Yes (X)
Dr Bevalee B Vitali
PROFESSOR40.00$129,461$0$16,196Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,436,188TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$158,664TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K12IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
GRINDER TABER AND GRINDER INC
1919 LYNNFIELD RD BMEMPHISTN38119CONSTRUCTION SERVICES$3,421,342
ARAMARK CORPORATION-FOOD SERVICES
650 EAST PARKWAY SOUTHMEMPHISTN38104CAFETERIA SERVICES$1,903,108
ARAMARK CORPORATION-FACILITY SERVICES
650 EAST PARKWAY SOUTHMEMPHISTN38104grounds/landscaping services$1,017,440
Memphis Business Interiors
4539 Distriplex Dr WMemphisTN38118Interior Design and Materials$581,632
Archimania
356 S Main StMEMPHISTN38103ARCHITECT SERVICES$266,716
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K24CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$336,043GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$5,047,004AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$5,383,047TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescTuition and FeesDesc
Business611310BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$46,643,736TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$46,643,736RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$46,643,736TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$394,002TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$394,002ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$4,218,061RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$4,218,061RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$4,218,061TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$4,218,061ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$163,734FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$98,954FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$64,780TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$64,780ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtExclusionExclusionAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Other Income611310$2,362,603$2,362,603
Dorm Support Services611310$158,558$158,558
pass-through531390-$11,831-$11,831
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$2,509,330OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$59,212,956TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$49,006,339RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue-$11,831UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$4,835,401ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$21,590,154TotalAmt
Program Services$21,590,154ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$465,071TotalAmt
Program Services$89,555ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$232,023ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$143,493FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$17,482,728TotalAmt
Program Services$12,184,344ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,765,884ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$532,500FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,070,359TotalAmt
Program Services$2,070,359ProgramServicesAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,203,301TotalAmt
Program Services$1,203,301ProgramServicesAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$167,678TotalAmt
Program Services$167,678ProgramServicesAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$89,693TotalAmt
Management And General$89,693ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$193,000TotalAmt
Fundraising$193,000FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,979,498TotalAmt
Program Services$2,171,621ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,745,748ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$62,129FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$884,441TotalAmt
Program Services$496,862ProgramServicesAmt
Fundraising$387,579FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$778,356TotalAmt
Program Services$664,289ProgramServicesAmt
Fundraising$114,067FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$841,086TotalAmt
Program Services$794,139ProgramServicesAmt
Fundraising$46,947FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,103,938TotalAmt
Program Services$1,157,204ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$946,734ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$576,874TotalAmt
Program Services$551,654ProgramServicesAmt
Fundraising$25,220FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$113,052TotalAmt
Program Services$113,052ProgramServicesAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$680,538TotalAmt
Program Services$670,337ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$10,201ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,962,073TotalAmt
Program Services$1,962,073ProgramServicesAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$428,989TotalAmt
Program Services$428,989ProgramServicesAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
Institutional/Student E$1,070,043$1,062,414$7,629
Minor Equipment$298,307$296,469$1,838
Other Expenses$294,811$216,952$74,440$3,419
Bad Debt Expense$197,798$197,798

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$58,471,788TotalAmt
Program Services$48,089,244ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$8,793,702ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,588,842FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,585,138BOYAmt
EOY$2,976,799EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,952,413BOYAmt
EOY$4,101,783EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,110,573BOYAmt
EOY$4,298,059EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$936,222BOYAmt
EOY$613,589EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,396,352BOYAmt
EOY$1,396,675EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$130,683BOYAmt
EOY$88,403EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$93,274,312LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$47,120,840LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$40,997,890BOYAmt
EOY$46,153,472EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,938,185BOYAmt
EOY$30,920,482EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,889,970BOYAmt
EOY$1,889,970EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,460,331BOYAmt
EOY$2,475,667EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$91,397,757BOYAmt
EOY$94,914,899EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,777,309BOYAmt
EOY$2,505,579EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,510,037BOYAmt
EOY$12,906,016EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,235,479BOYAmt
EOY$1,031,074EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,560,551BOYAmt
EOY$4,807,467EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,083,376BOYAmt
EOY$21,250,136EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$36,111,646BOYAmt
EOY$43,947,351EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,736,964BOYAmt
EOY$3,080,768EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,465,771BOYAmt
EOY$26,636,644EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$69,314,381BOYAmt
EOY$73,664,763EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$91,397,757BOYAmt
EOY$94,914,899EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$741,168ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$3,609,214NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Art Public Exhibition Amounts ArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Assets Included$1,460,504AssetsIncludedAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Collection Used Pub ExhibitionYes (X)CollectionUsedPubExhibitionInd
Collection Used PreservationYes (X)CollectionUsedPreservationInd
Solicited Assets Sale0SolicitedAssetsSaleInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$33,687,067BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,823,206ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$3,569,659InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,489,585OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$38,590,347EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$33,303,938BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$3,187,285ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$1,518,618InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,285,538OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$33,687,067EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$31,704,414BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,466,748ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,346,043InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,213,267OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$33,303,938EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$29,399,672BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$215,270ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$3,307,402InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,217,930OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$31,704,414EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$26,877,561BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$140,392ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$3,582,596InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,200,877OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$29,399,672EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.29150BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.69020PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.01830TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,105,818OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,105,818BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$60,511,189OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$20,492,858DepreciationAmt
Book Value$40,018,331BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,595,551OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,412,432DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,183,119BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$25,121,488OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$22,644,676DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,476,812BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,940,266OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,570,874DepreciationAmt
Book Value$369,392BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$46,153,472TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Student Deposits$474,425
Unearned Tuition and Fees$1,890,351
Amounts Held in Custody for Others$600,862
Refundable Government Loan Funds$661,244
Derivative Instruments$1,180,585
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$4,807,467TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$41,330,970TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$3,609,214NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$98,954OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$3,708,168RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$37,622,802RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$21,590,154OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$21,590,154RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$59,212,956TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$36,980,588TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$98,954OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$98,954ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$36,881,634ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$21,590,154OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$21,590,154ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$58,471,788TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part V, Line 4:The University's endowment consists of approximately 115 individual funds established for a variety of purposes. Its endowment includes both donor-restricted endowment funds and funds designated by the Board of Trustees to function as endowments. As required by GAAP, net assets associated with endowment funds, including funds designated by the Board of Trustees to function as endowments, are classified and reported based on the existence or absence of donor-imposed restrictions.
Part X, Line 2:The University is qualified under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code and accordingly is exempt from federal income taxes. The University has determined that it does not have any material unrecognized tax benefits or obligations as of May 31, 2017, and there are no interests and penalties related to income tax assessments.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:fundraising expenses 98,954.
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:STUDENT FINANCIAL AID Netted with Tuition Revenue on audited financials 21,590,154.
Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:fundraising expenses 98,954.
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:STUDENT FINANCIAL AID Netted with Tuition Revenue on audited financials 21,590,154.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule E, Part I, Line 3Equal opportunity statement and nondiscrimination policy is included in all official literature and promotional material including the student course catalog, the employee handbook, and employee advertisements
Schedule E, Part I, Line 6THE UNIVERSITY HAS BEEN ASSISTED BY LOANS IN THE CONSTRUCTION OF TWO STUDENT DORMITORIES, A STUDENT CENTER, A LIBRARY AND A SCIENCE BUILDING. FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE RECEIVED FROM FEDERAL AGENCIES: PELL GRANT PROGRAM $2,604,400; SUPPLEMENTAL EDUCATIONAL OPPORTUNITY GRANT $102,479; FEDERAL WORK-STUDY $94,896; PERKINS LOAN PROGRAM $117,075; federal direct LOAN PROGRAM $10,272,981; MINORITY INTERNATIONAL RESEARCH TRAINING GRANT $295,000. TOTAL EXPENDITURES OF FEDERAL AWARDS: $13,486,831.

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Mail SolicitationsYes (X)MailSolicitationsInd
Email SolicitationsYes (X)EmailSolicitationsInd
Phone SolicitationsYes (X)PhoneSolicitationsInd
Agrmt Prof Fundraising ActyYes (1)AgrmtProfFundraisingActyInd

Fundraiser Activity Info FundraiserActivityInfoGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdActivityActivityTxtFundraiser Control Of FundsFundraiserControlOfFundsIndGross ReceiptsGrossReceiptsAmtRetained By ContractorRetainedByContractorAmtNet To OrganizationNetToOrganizationAmt
REED CONSULTING
11933 Southridge DriveLittle RockAR72212PAYMENTS FOR CONSULTING SERVICES0$0$66,000-$66,000
WILSON-BENNETT TECHNOLOGY
140 PROFESSIONAL DR 2CABOTAR72023PAYMENTS FOR FUNDRAISING SERVICES0$0$105,000-$105,000
Arnoult & Associates
1662 Autumn Avenue Suite 100MemphisTN38112PAYMENTS FOR CONSULTING SERVICES0$0$22,000-$22,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Retained By Contractors$193,000TotalRetainedByContractorsAmt
Total Net To Organization-$193,000TotalNetToOrganizationAmt
Licensed StatesTNLicensedStatesCd

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1BELL TOWER GALAEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$133,850GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$133,850GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event1$0RentFacilityCostsEvent1Amt
Food And Beverage Event1$58,316FoodAndBeverageEvent1Amt
Entertainment Event1$3,500EntertainmentEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$25,177OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Event2TWILIGHT CROSS COUNTRY CLASSICEvent2Nm
Gross Receipts Event2$29,884GrossReceiptsEvent2Amt
Gross Revenue Event2$29,884GrossRevenueEvent2Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event2$4,200RentFacilityCostsEvent2Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event2$7,761OtherDirectExpensesEvent2Amt
Gross Receipts Total$163,734GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$163,734GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Total Events$4,200RentFcltyCostsTotalEventsAmt
Food And Beverage Total Events$58,316FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt
Entertainment Total Events$3,500EntertainmentTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$32,938OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$98,954DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary$64,780NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule G, Part I, Line 2b, Column (v)FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationPayments for CONSULTING AND PROFESSIONAL FUNDRAISING SERVICES.ExplanationTxt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (3 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmt
INSTITUTIONAL SCHOLARSHIPS and grants1164$20,527,715
TUITION REMISSIONS63$892,485
tuition discounts124$169,954

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationAll institutional money, grants, etc. follow the Financial Aid matrix that was designed and approved by the President's Cabinet, or if money was donated for specific purposes, by the wishes of the individual donor.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation Required0SubstantiationRequiredInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (6 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Dr John Smarrelli Jr
president of the universit$250,000$0$0$0$0$0$16,250$0$15,666$0$281,916$0$0$0
MS CAROLYN HEAD
CFO, VP ADMIN & FINANCE$162,587$0$0$0$0$0$10,568$0$9,532$0$182,687$0$0$0
Mr Stephen R Crisman
SR. VP OF ADVANCEMENT$144,408$0$0$0$0$0$9,387$0$9,532$0$163,327$0$0$0
MR PASCAL BEDROSSIAN
PROFESSOR$57,610$0$0$0$428,064$0$16,356$0$15,373$0$517,403$0$0$0
Dr Cathy Grilli
PROFESSOR$63,209$0$0$0$72,229$0$8,803$0$6,975$0$151,216$0$0$0
Dr Anne H Kenworthy
VP of Enrollment Mgmt$122,470$0$0$0$6,150$0$8,360$0$15,666$0$152,646$0$0$0

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
SHELBY COUNTY HEALTH EDUCATIONAL AND HOUSING FACILITY BOARD
A5212834142010-08-06$7,836,558construction000
SHELBY COUNTY HEALTH EDUCATIONAL AND HOUSING FACILITY BOARD
B5212834142010-08-29$4,766,624debt retirement000
SHELBY COUNTY HEALTH EDUCATIONAL AND HOUSING FACILITY BOARD
C5212834142010-12-29$3,396,818dormitory acquisition000

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtCurrent RefundingCurrentRefundingIndAdvance RefundingAdvanceRefundingIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintIndOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYr
A$1,515,387$7,836,558$55,118$7,781,44000Yes (1)Yes (1)
B$921,741$4,766,624Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)$4,766,6242011
C$656,856$3,396,8180Yes (1)Yes (1)Yes (1)$3,396,8182011

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
A0000000
B0000000
C0000000

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndTerm Of HedgeTermOfHedgePctSuperintegrated HedgeSuperintegratedHedgeIndHedge TerminatedHedgeTerminatedIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
Regions Bank
A0000Yes (1)Yes (1)16.00000000000000000
Regions Bank
B0000Yes (1)Yes (1)16.00000000000000000
regions Bank
C0000Yes (1)Yes (1)16.00000000000000000

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
A0
B0
C0

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Works Of Art WorksOfArtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution8ContributionCnt
Method Of Determining RevenuescostMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Books And Publications BooksAndPublicationsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Method Of Determining RevenuescostMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Collectibles CollectiblesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution1ContributionCnt
Method Of Determining RevenuescostMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
DescmiscellaneousDesc
Contribution4ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$0NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesCOSTMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC Gifts0ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 32b:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationSchedule M, Part I, column (b): The organization is reporting the number of contributions.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bthe audit and finance committees review the 990, and An electronic copy is sent to the full board who will vote on acceptance and submission of the 990.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cPRIOR TO BECOMING BOARD MEMBERS, THEY ARE MADE AWARE OF THE POLICY. each year, THEY ARE ASKED TO FILL OUT A QUESTIONNAIRE DISCLOSING any CONFLICTS.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15aThe President's salary is determined by the Board of Trustees along with Annual CUPA surveys
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19THE ENTITY'S GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST.
Form 990, Part XII, Line 2cThe process for oversight of the audit and selection of an independent accountant has not changed.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.