FURP.ORG / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

MILTON ACADEMY: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
MILTON ACADEMY (EIN 04-2103603)
Tax period
2016-07-01 to 2017-06-30
Filed
2018-05-14
IRS object ID
201821349349306047
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-05-14T14:13:07-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN263753134PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CBIZ MHM LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1500 Boylston StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityBostonCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02116ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN042103603EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MILTON ACADEMYBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlMILTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6178981798PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1170 CENTRE STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityMILTONCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02186ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonHEIDI VANDERBILT-BROWNPersonNm
Person Titlecfo & cooPersonTitleTxt
Phone6178982200PhoneNum
Signature2018-05-11SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonCraig KleinPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00734640PTIN
Phone6177610600PhoneNum
Preparation2018-05-11PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address207.172.72.163IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2018-05-11IPDt
IP Tm13:52:12IPTm
IP TimezoneEDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdDA39A3EE5E6B4B0D3255BFEF95601890AFD80709AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id2E51BBD8A5DAF730193DED9248F5B69ECC4FA6A4AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerHeidi Vanderbilt-BrownPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1170 CENTRE STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityMILTONCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP02186ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$141,067,981GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.milton.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1798FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionMILTON ACADEMY IS AN INDEPENDENT COLLEGE PREPARATORY K-12 SCHOOL, BOARDING AND DAY IN GRADES 9-12.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body30VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent30VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee608TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers500TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$606,218TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$16,751,180PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$17,969,387CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$49,819,056PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$52,363,099CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$9,949,228PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$23,264,278CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$0PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$76,519,464PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$93,596,764CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$11,476,854PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$12,320,264CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$32,186,135PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$33,164,070CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$73,999PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$12,000CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$3,688,377CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$26,403,013PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$28,352,719CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$70,140,001PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$73,849,053CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$6,379,463PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$19,747,711CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$341,822,360TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$377,680,820TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$57,891,712TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$59,715,390TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$283,930,648NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$317,965,430NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionMILTON ACADEMY CULTIVATES IN ITS STUDENTS A PASSION FOR LEARNING AND A RESPECT FOR OTHERS. EMBRACING DIVERSITY AND THE PURSUIT OF EXCELLENCE, WE CREATE A COMMUNITY IN WHICH INDIVIDUALS DEVELOP COMPETENCE, CONFIDENCE AND CHARACTER. SEE SCHEDULE O FOR FULL DESCRIPTION.MILTON ACADEMY CULTIVATES IN ITS STUDENTS A PASSION FOR LEARNING AND A RESPECT FOR OTHERS. EMBRACING DIVERSITY AND THE PURSUIT OF EXCELLENCE, WE CREATE A COMMUNITY IN WHICH INDIVIDUALS DEVELOP COMPETENCE, CONFIDENCE AND CHARACTER. OUR ACTIVE LEARNING ENVIRONMENT, IN AND OUT OF THE CLASSROOM, DEVELOPS CREATIVE AND CRITICAL THINKERS, UNAFRAID TO EXPRESS THEIR IDEAS, PREPARED TO SEEK MEANINGFUL LIFETIME SUCCESS AND TO LIVE BY OUR MOTTO, "DARE TO BE TRUE."MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$44,814,430ExpenseAmt
Grant$11,663,190GrantAmt
Revenue$47,098,186RevenueAmt
DescMilton Academy promotes an environment of lifelong learning to 1014 students in grades K-12. Students are encouraged to participate in community service and volunteer opportunities during the year in an effort to instill a passion for giving back to others for many years. Full and partial scholarships are awarded to students based on financial need. in 2017, milton academy awarded financial aid to 26% of our students.see schedule o for full description.Milton Academy promotes an environment of lifelong learning to 1014 students in grades K-12. Students are encouraged to participate in community service and volunteer opportunities during the year in an effort to instill a passion for giving back to others for many years. Full and partial scholarships are awarded to students based on financial need. in 2017, milton academy awarded financial aid to 26% of our students.The Community Service Program seeks to instill and support a passion for service in Milton Academy's students, faculty and staff. Through providing a multitude of opportunities from tutoring in local schools, to donating blood, to assisting the elderly, the program strives to provide the Milton community with interesting and meaningful service opportunities. On average, about 200 students perform weekly service at over 30 different organizations in the Greater Boston area. Another 200 students participate in multi-annual events such as the Greater Boston Foodbank, Special Olympics tournaments, the Blood Drive and holiday giving events. The entire Milton community participates in the annual Oxfam Hunger Banquet and the bi-annual Community Service Day. Each year, the program also supports individual and group initiatives for particular causes, such as overseas orphanages, and hurricane relief.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$3,488,748ExpenseAmt
Grant$657,074GrantAmt
Revenue$3,661,898RevenueAmt
DescThe Mountain School of Milton Academy is an independent semester program that provides high school juniors the opportunity to live and work on an organic farm in rural Vermont. Each semester the Mountain School draws 45 high-achieving students from all over the country. Courses provide a demanding, integrated learning experience that takes full advantage of the school's small size and mountain campus. Students come from different backgrounds and schools around the country, and are challenged to work together and learn from each other, as they explore the intersection of the school's farm, academic program, and residential life. The goal is for students to return to their schools and communities, more clear about themselves and better prepared to become effective citizens.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$1,811,741ExpenseAmt
DescThrough interscholastic and intramural sports, as well as physical education courses, all Milton Academy students are involved in physically active and challenging pursuits that help form an exceptional educational experience. Athletic activity is certainly an expression of one form of intelligence, an intelligence that needs to be developed and nurtured as does any other.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp (2 entries)

ExpenseExpenseAmtRevenueRevenueAmtDescDesc
$1,275,740$1,491,419Milton Academy provides a Saturday course to gifted students, rental of facilities, adult workshops, an outdoor program, after school activities, and yearbook program.
$524,900College Counseling:The college counseling office at Milton builds its program around individualism. We believe that the college counseling process begins and ends with the student. We know that each student has a different story, our guiding principle is much like that of a good teacher: Start where the student is.
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$1,800,640TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$1,491,419TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$51,915,559TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document184IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee608EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members30GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member30IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (1)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (1)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body0Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonEDWARD DONAHUEPersonNm
Phone6178982280PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1170 CENTRE STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityMILTONCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP021863397ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (40 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Robert Azeke
trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Charles Cheever
trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Douglas Crocker
trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
John McEvoy
trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mark Denneen
trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Randall Dunn
trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Eleanor Haller-Jordan
trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Claire Hughes Johnson
trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
peter r kagan
trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
William Knowlton
trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Stephen Lebovitz
trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
yunli lou
trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Chris McKown
trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Liping Qiu
trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
cathy p sakellaris
trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kimberly Steimle vaughan
trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dune Thorne
trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Erick Tseng
trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Luis Viceira
trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
dorothy altman weber
trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
edward e wendell
trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Sylvia Westphal
trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ronnell wilson
trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kevin Yip
trustee1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Bradley Bloom
trustee emeritus1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Franklin W Hobbs IV
trustee emeritus1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Elisabeth Donohue
trustee - president4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Wendy Nicholson
trustee - vice president3.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
John Fitzgibbons
trustee - treasurer3.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Stuart Mathews
trustee - VP & secretary3.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Theodorick Bland
head of school60.00$608,440$0$92,335Yes (X)
Alden Smith
dir. Of the mOUNtAIn school50.00$152,423$0$34,833Yes (X)
Heidi Vanderbilt-Brown
chief financial & operating officer50.00$231,077$0$42,597Yes (X)
Lisa Winick
chief advancement officer50.00$279,491$0$86,572Yes (X)
David Ball
principal, upper school50.00$164,033$0$43,044Yes (X)
Paul Rebuck
dean of admission50.00$161,971$0$109,260Yes (X)
Ed Donahue
controller50.00$160,068$0$19,571Yes (X)
Deborah O'Toole
CHIEF HUMAN RESOURCE OFFICER50.00$146,000$0$35,102Yes (X)
Catherine Connolly
Director of Development50.00$170,206$0$23,925Yes (X)
Alfred Nicholas Parnell
Director of Facilities Services50.00$137,181$0$12,261Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,210,890TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$499,500TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K49IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Flik
2 international driverye brookNY10573food service$2,933,170
Suburban Contract Cleaning
65 Baystate Road Suite 4BraintreeMA02184Cleaning Company$1,099,463
partners capital investment group
50 rowes wharfbostonMA02110investment consultant$765,729
cm cleaning
32 washington streetstoughtonMA02072cleaning Company$473,660
First Student Inc
4155 w chicago avechicagoIL60673bus service$352,961
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K24CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
All Other Contributions$17,969,387AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$3,323,995NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$17,969,387TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
TUITION900099$50,356,010$50,356,010
auxiliary and other income900099$2,007,089$1,895,493$111,596
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$52,363,099TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$5,007,300TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$494,622UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$4,512,678ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$65,728,195SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$47,131,518SecuritiesAmt
Other$339,699OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$18,596,677SecuritiesAmt
Other-$339,699OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$18,256,978TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$18,256,978ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$93,596,764TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$52,251,503RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$606,218UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$22,769,656ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$12,320,264TotalAmt
Program Services$12,320,264ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,638,227TotalAmt
Program Services$185,751ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,122,293ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$330,183FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$24,824,023TotalAmt
Program Services$19,584,248ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,482,072ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,757,703FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,757,518TotalAmt
Program Services$968,568ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$680,335ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$108,615FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,104,385TotalAmt
Program Services$1,710,827ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,201,707ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$191,851FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,839,917TotalAmt
Program Services$1,013,978ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$712,232ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$113,707FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$643,079TotalAmt
Management And General$643,079ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$117,180TotalAmt
Management And General$117,180ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$12,000TotalAmt
Fundraising$12,000FundraisingAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,995,871TotalAmt
Management And General$2,995,871ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,058,018TotalAmt
Program Services$907,388ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,826,542ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$324,088FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$170,304TotalAmt
Program Services$5,363ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$138,959ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$25,982FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,598,367TotalAmt
Program Services$2,816,537ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,400,687ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$381,143FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$969,584TotalAmt
Program Services$75ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$969,509ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,506,819TotalAmt
Program Services$1,265,728ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$226,023ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$15,068FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$889,701TotalAmt
Program Services$558,448ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$196,339ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$134,914FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$33,604TotalAmt
Program Services$17,971ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$15,591ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$42FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,985,482TotalAmt
Program Services$1,667,805ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$297,822ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$19,855FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,026,539TotalAmt
Program Services$4,222,293ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$753,981ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$50,265FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$626,035TotalAmt
Management And General$626,035ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
dining services$3,407,820$3,057,247$158,155$192,418
academic prog. & events$1,472,295$1,020,134$427,567$24,594
facilities$714,658$592,934$115,775$5,949
taxes - real estate$109,256$109,256

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$28,107TotalAmt
Management And General$28,107ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$73,849,053TotalAmt
Program Services$51,915,559ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$18,245,117ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$3,688,377FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$719,758BOYAmt
EOY$2,453,959EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,632,770BOYAmt
EOY$14,615,892EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$247,629BOYAmt
EOY$221,477EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$145,197,018LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$96,982,692LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$49,678,339BOYAmt
EOY$48,214,326EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$52,400,781BOYAmt
EOY$67,085,513EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$217,014,826BOYAmt
EOY$239,696,398EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,128,257BOYAmt
EOY$5,393,255EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$341,822,360BOYAmt
EOY$377,680,820EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,690,969BOYAmt
EOY$6,171,144EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,521,488BOYAmt
EOY$2,308,807EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$48,805,429BOYAmt
EOY$48,793,563EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,873,826BOYAmt
EOY$2,441,876EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$57,891,712BOYAmt
EOY$59,715,390EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$45,132,341BOYAmt
EOY$49,194,417EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$119,843,393BOYAmt
EOY$141,980,178EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$118,954,914BOYAmt
EOY$126,790,835EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$283,930,648BOYAmt
EOY$317,965,430EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$341,822,360BOYAmt
EOY$377,680,820EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$19,747,711ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$14,205,024NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$82,047OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$9,493,881CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$19,348,399CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$20,988,293CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$16,751,180CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$17,969,387CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$84,551,140TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$9,493,881CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$19,348,399CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$20,988,293CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$16,751,180CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$17,969,387CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$84,551,140TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$10,036,689SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$74,514,451PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,767,989CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$4,017,469CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$4,088,252CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,926,366CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$4,512,678CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$18,312,754TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$244,097CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$369,346CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$461,019CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$463,531CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,537,993TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$104,401,887TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$239,812,805GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.71370PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.73910PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line Referenceform 990, schedule a, Part I, line 7:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE BASIS OF MILTON ACADEMY'S PUBLIC CHARITY STATUS HAS BEEN AND CONTINUES TO BE ITS QUALIFICATION AS A SCHOOL DESCRIBED IN SECTION 170(B)(1)(A)(II). THE ORGANZIATION HAS CHECKED BOX 7 ON SCHEDULE A, PART I AND COMPLETED SCHEDULE A, PART II IN ORDER TO DEMONSTRATE ITS QUALIFICATION TO FOLLOW THE SPECIAL RULE FOR ABBREVIATED REPORTING OF CONTRIBUTIONS ON FORM 990, SCHEDULE B.ExplanationTxt

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$253,328,811BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$10,010,792ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$34,817,602InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$10,789,000OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$803,377AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$286,564,828EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$264,145,716BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$8,664,157ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$8,706,969InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$10,013,000OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$761,093AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$253,328,811EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$254,160,490BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$7,798,856ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$12,694,368InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$9,191,416OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$1,316,582AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$264,145,716EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$214,171,011BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$10,878,336ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$37,984,726InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$8,588,667OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$284,916AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$254,160,490EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$188,587,517BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$4,308,597ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$29,429,890InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$8,018,628OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$136,365AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$214,171,011EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.13950BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.39680PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.46370TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgYes (1)EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$367,817OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$367,817BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$128,705,241OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$85,523,923DepreciationAmt
Book Value$43,181,318BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$9,040,209OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$6,291,545DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,748,664BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$7,083,751OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$5,167,224DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,916,527BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$48,214,326TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (7 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
international equity securities$88,680,648F
REAL ESTATE PARTNERSHIPS$19,804,086F
relative value$73,147,115F
trust investments$2,309,725F
illiquid credit$21,033,442F
private equity & venture capital$32,685,899F
pooled income$2,035,483F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$239,696,398TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
PAYABLE TO ANNUITANTS$1,893,501
ASSET RETIREMENT OBLIGATION$211,710
obligations under interest rate swap contracts$336,665
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$2,441,876TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$95,091,556TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$14,205,024NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue-$10,868,576OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$3,336,448RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$91,755,108RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$2,181,355InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included-$339,699OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$1,841,656RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$93,596,764TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$61,056,774TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$39,436OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$39,436ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$61,017,338ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$2,181,355InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$10,650,360OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$12,831,715ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$73,849,053TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part V, Line 4:the endowment is used to invest funds for the school. a spending rate of 4.55 percent of a rolling 12 quarter average fair value of the investments is used to fund programs and provide scholarships.
Part X, Line 2:The Academy accounts for the effect of any uncertain tax positions based on a "more likely than not" threshold to the recognition of the tax positions being sustained based on the technical merits of the position under scrutiny by the applicable taxing authority. If a tax position or positions are deemed to result in uncertainties of those positions, the unrecognized tax benefit is estimated based on a "cumulative probability assessment" that aggregates the estimated tax liability for all uncertain tax positions. The Academy has identified its tax status as a tax exempt entity as well as its decision to classify income as related or unrelated as its only significant positions; however, the Academy has determined that such tax positions do not result in an uncertainty requiring recognition. The Academy is not currently under examination by any taxing jurisdiction. The Academy's Federal and state tax returns are generally open for examination for three years following the date filed.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:CHANGE IN SPLIT INTEREST AGREEMENTS -218,216. STUDENT FINANCIAL AID -10,650,360.
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:loss ON RETIREMENT OF PP&E -299,199. written off construction in progress -40,500.
Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:gain on interest rate swap contract -300,263. LOSS ON RETIREMENT OF PP&E 299,199. written off construction in progress 40,500.
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:STUDENT FINANCIAL AID 10,650,360.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid Rcvd0GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule E, Part I, Line 3FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationMILTON ACADEMY'S NONDISCRIMINATORY POLICY IS PUBLISHED IN THE SCHOOL'S BROCHURES AND APPLICATIONS. IT IS ALSO INCLUDED IN ADVERTISEMENTS IN THE BOSTON GLOBE.ExplanationTxt

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (4 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
East Asia and the Pacific00INVESTMENTS$12,630,260
Sub-Saharan Africa00INVESTMENTS$930,950
Europe (Including Iceland & Greenland)00investments$18,461,033
South Asia00investments$1,542,432
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices0SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees0SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continutation Total Office0ContinutationTotalOfficeCnt
Continutation Total Employee0ContinutationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$33,564,675SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$0ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$33,564,675TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpYes (1)TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipYes (1)ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CoYes (1)PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipYes (1)ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (4 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmtValuation Method UsedValuationMethodUsedDescNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceDesc
scholarships272$10,009,286fair market valuefinancial aid assistance
scholarships - mountain school32$657,074fair market valuefinancial aid assistance
supplemental financial aid106$235,600fair market valuefinancial aid assistance
scholarships - abatement37$1,418,304fair market valuefinancial aid assistance

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 2:MOST GRANT EXPENSE CONSISTS OF SCHOLARSHIP AWARDS WHICH ARE CREDITED DIRECTLY TO STUDENT ACCOUNTS AT THE ACADEMY.
PART III, COLUMN (B):the 106 students that received supplemental financial aid are part of the same group as the scholarships with the 272 recipients.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Personal ServicesYes (X)PersonalServicesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (9 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Theodorick Bland
head of school$477,010$0$0$0$131,430$0$34,754$0$57,581$0$700,775$0$0$0
Alden Smith
dir. Of the mOUNtAIn school$152,423$0$0$0$0$0$7,621$0$27,212$0$187,256$0$0$0
Heidi Vanderbilt-Brown
chief financial & operating officer$230,077$0$1,000$0$0$0$35,000$0$7,597$0$273,674$0$0$0
Lisa Winick
chief advancement officer$213,778$0$0$0$65,713$0$35,000$0$51,572$0$366,063$0$0$0
David Ball
principal, upper school$162,633$0$1,400$0$0$0$12,878$0$30,166$0$207,077$0$0$0
Paul Rebuck
dean of admission$160,971$0$1,000$0$0$0$12,878$0$96,382$0$271,231$0$0$0
Ed Donahue
controller$150,068$0$10,000$0$0$0$12,005$0$7,566$0$179,639$0$0$0
Deborah O'Toole
CHIEF HUMAN RESOURCE OFFICER$145,000$0$1,000$0$0$0$11,600$0$23,502$0$181,102$0$0$0
Catherine Connolly
Director of Development$170,206$0$0$0$0$0$13,617$0$10,308$0$194,131$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 1aTravel for companions is limited to the Head of School and is done so with discretion on a case by case basis when deemed appropRiate. The travel for companions benefit is treated as nontaxable compensation. Housing benefits are normative for Head of School and certain other key employees, officers, and highly compensated employees to be available to students 24 hours a day to fullfill duties. Housing benefits are treated as a nontaxable working condition fringe benefit. personal services are provided in the form of house cleaning and is treated as nontaxable compensation.
Part I, Line 7Bonuses were determined by the Head of School Bonuses: Ed Donahue $10,000, Deborah O'Toole $1,000, Heidi Vanderbilt-Brown $1,000, David Ball $1,000, Paul Rebuck $1,000 Workload coverage: David Ball $400

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINCUSIPCUSIPNumBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
MA DEV 2009 Series A
A043431814seebelowx2009-12-22$25,555,000To fund construction000
MA DEV 2009 Series b
B04343181457583rr642009-12-22$17,265,000To fund construction000
ma DEV 2009 Series C
C043431814seebelowx2009-12-22$9,610,000To fund construction000

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIn Reserve FundInReserveFundAmtRefunding EscrowRefundingEscrowAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrCurrent RefundingCurrentRefundingIndAdvance RefundingAdvanceRefundingIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd
A$27,348,094$2,560,396$12,919,895$230,083$8,499,062$3,138,65820120Yes (1)Yes (1)Yes (1)
B$17,188,298$12,846$17,025,315$150,13720090Yes (1)Yes (1)Yes (1)
C$10,487,270$961,081$9,469,000$57,189200900Yes (1)Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndPrivate Bus Use By OthersPrivateBusUseByOthersPctPrivate Bus Concerning UBIPrivateBusConcerningUBIPctTotal Private Business UseTotalPrivateBusinessUsePctBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
A00000.000000.000000.0000000Yes (1)
B00000.000000.000000.0000000Yes (1)
C000000Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndSuperintegrated HedgeSuperintegratedHedgeIndHedge TerminatedHedgeTerminatedIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndBusiness Name Line1GICProviderName/BusinessNameLine1TxtRegulatory Safe Harbor StsfdRegulatorySafeHarborStsfdIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsIndBusiness Name Line2HedgeProviderName/BusinessNameLine2Txt
na
A000Yes (1)00000na00Yes (1)
MA DEV finance
B000Yes (1)Yes (1)Yes (1)000na00Yes (1)agency
na
C000Yes (1)00000na00Yes (1)

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (1)
BYes (1)
CYes (1)

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Date Rebate Computation PerformedIssuer Name: MA DEV 2009 Series A Date the Rebate Computation was Performed: 02/14/2017 Issuer Name: MA DEV 2009 Series b Date the Rebate Computation was Performed: 02/14/2017 Issuer Name: ma DEV 2009 Series C Date the Rebate Computation was Performed: 02/14/2017
Schedule K, Part I and ii:For bond a, the difference between part ii, line 3 and part i, column (e) is the result of cumulative investment earnings. For bond b, the difference between part ii, line 3 and part i, column (e) is the result of cumulative investment earnings. For bond c, the difference between part ii, line 3 and part i, column (e) is the result of cumulative investment earnings.
Form 990, schedule k, part i, line a, column c:Cusip numbers for the MA Dev 2009 Series A Bonds are: 57583RQ40, 57583RR72, 57583RR57, 57583RR80, 57583RQ65, 57583RQ73
Form 990, schedule k, part i, line c, column c:CUSIP NUMBERS FOR THE MA DEV 2009 SERIES C BONDS ARE: 57583RQ81, 57583RQ99, 57583RR23, 57583RR64.

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution161ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$3,320,495NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFAIR MARKET VALUEMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
DescPianoDesc
Contribution1ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$3,500NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining Revenuesfair market valueMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form8283 Received0Form8283ReceivedCnt
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Column (b):FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe number listed in Part I, column (b) represents the number of items contributed.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bThe information requested on the 990 is gathered by the business office staff. The 990 form is prepared by our independent accounting firm, CBIZ MHM. The draft form is reviewed by the controller, CFO, and HEAD OF SCHOOL, prior to being reviewed and approved in its entirety (including the schedule b - schedule of contributors) by the audit committee. the entire form (excluding the schedule b - schedule of contributors) is made available on the trustee website, before filing, and all trustees are notified by email that the form 990 is available for review on the trustee website.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cthe controller's office reviews transactions with Interested Persons (trustees, trustee committee members, ad council members, department heads, officers, or any other person in a position to exercise substantial influence at the organization) to ensure that conflicts are disclosed. All Interested Persons must complete a Conflict of Interest Policy Memorandum of Disclosure annually and shall update the Disclosure at any time during the year whenever a potential or apparent conflict may arise. The Audit Committee, the Head of School, or the Board of Trustees, as appropriate, shall address conflicts of interest involving Interested Persons in accordance with the standards set forth in this Policy. Procedures for Addressing Conflicts of Interest with Interested Persons: 1) Prohibition. No Interested Person may enter into a transaction or arrangement with the organization unless the facts of such transaction or arrangement, including the Interested Person's interest therein, have been fully disclosed and the transaction or arrangement has been expressly authorized by the disinterested members of the Audit Committee or the Board of Trustees, as applicable. 2) Duty to Disclose. In connection with any transaction or arrangement under consideration by the organization, an Interested Person must disclose the existence of such Interested Person's or any other Interested Person's interest to the organization's Audit Committee. 3) Process: a. An Interested Person must be given the opportunity to disclose all facts to the Audit Committee or Board of Trustees at a meeting called for the purpose of considering the transaction or arrangement and the Interested Person's interest. After the Interested Person's presentation, the Interested Person shall leave the meeting during the discussion of, and the vote on, such transaction or arrangement. b. The chair of the Audit Committee or the President of the Board of Trustees shall, if appropriate, appoint a disinterested person or committee to investigate alternatives to the proposed transaction or arrangement. c. After exercising due diligence, including a review of surveys of comparable data where appropriate, the Audit Committee or Board of Trustees shall determine whether the organization can obtain with reasonable efforts a more advantageous transaction or arrangement from a person or entity that would not give rise to a conflict of interest. d. If a more advantageous transaction or arrangement is not reasonably possible under circumstances not producing a conflict of interest, the Audit Committee or Board of Trustees shall determine by a vote of the disinterested trustees of the Audit Committee or the Board of Trustees, as applicable, whether the transaction or arrangement is in the organization's best interest, for its own benefit, and whether it is fair and reasonable, and therefore whether to enter into such transaction or arrangement.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15In setting, reviewing and approving the compensation of the Head of School and reviewing and approving the compensation of the Administrative Council, the Compensation Committee of Milton Academy utilizes a three-part process. The process includes: Impartial Decision Makers, Comparability Data, and Concurrent Documentation. The procedures are in place so that payments under the organization's executive compensation arrangements are presumed to be reasonable, under Treas. Reg. section 53.4958-6. 1. Impartial Decision Makers. The compensation arrangement must be approved in advance (before any payment is made) by the Compensation Committee of Milton Academy composed entirely of individuals who do not have a conflict of interest with respect to the compensation arrangement. 2. Comparability Data. When the Compensation Committee is considering compensation to Covered Individuals, it must rely on comparability data that demonstrate the fair market value of the compensation in question. For example, when crafting compensation packages, the Compensation Committee must secure data that documents compensation levels for similarly qualified individuals in like positions at like organizations. Possible sources include, but are not necessarily limited to: a) expert compensation studies by independent firms; b) survey data from the Association of Business Officers at Preparatory Schools, National Association of Independent Schools, Association of Independent Schools of New England, or other educational associations c) written job offers for positions at similar organizations. 3. Concurrent Documentation. The Compensation Committee must document how it reached its decisions, including the data on which it relied. Records must be prepared before the later of the next meeting of the authorized body or 60 days after the final action or actions of the authorized body are taken. Records must be reviewed and approved by the Compensation Committee as reasonable, accurate and complete within a reasonable time period thereafter. To qualify as concurrent documentation, written or electronic records of the Compensation Committee (such as meeting minutes) must note: a) the terms of the compensation and the date it was approved; b) the members of the Compensation Committee who were present during the discussion of the compensation that was approved and those who voted on it; c) the comparability data obtained and relied upon and how the data was obtained; d) if the Compensation Committee determines that reasonable compensation for a specific arrangement is higher or lower than the range of comparability data obtained, the Compensation Committee must record the basis for its determination, and e) any actions taken with respect to consideration of the compensation by anyone who is otherwise a member of the Compensation Committee but who had a conflict of interest with respect to the decision on the compensation.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19MILTON ACADEMY MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC VIA ITS WEBSITE: WWW.MILTON.EDU. the form 990 is available upon request.
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:gain on interest rate swap contract 300,263. change in split interest agreements -218,216.