HSS PROPERTIES CORPORATION: Form 990, tax year 2017
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- HSS PROPERTIES CORPORATION (EIN 13-3246249)
- Tax period
- 2017-01-01 to 2017-12-31
- Filed
- 2018-11-12
- IRS object ID
- 201803169349303240
- Schema version
- 2017v2.3
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2018-11-12T14:24:51-06:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2017-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | ERNST & YOUNG US LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 5 TIMES SQUARE | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | NEW YORK | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NY | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 10036 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2017-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 133246249 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | HSS Properties Corporation | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| In Care Of | % MARC GOULD | InCareOfNm |
| Business Name Control | HSSP | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 2126061000 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 535 EAST 70TH STREET | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | NEW YORK | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NY | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 10021 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | MARC GOULD | PersonNm |
| Person Title | SVP & CAO | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 2126061000 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2018-11-12 | SignatureDt |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | Laura Kielczewski | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00740769 | PTIN |
| Phone | 2127733000 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2018-11-06 | PreparationDt |
Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation
IP Address IPAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| I Pv4 Address | 75.23.198.254 | IPv4AddressTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Federal Original Submission Id | 26308520183165000026 | FederalOriginalSubmissionId |
| Federal Original Submission Id | 2018-11-12 | FederalOriginalSubmissionIdDt |
| Filing License Type | P | FilingLicenseTypeCd |
| At Submission Creation Device Id | 582F47EFACDD6166E52205D1FBFEA2601660FA18 | AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId |
| At Submission Filing Device Id | 792E0AAC5A27EF8E692221D1D01611EA294E7B56 | AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2017 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2019-02-21 02:37:17Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | LOUIS SHAPIRO | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 535 EAST 70TH STREET | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | NEW YORK | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NY | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 10021 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $66,860,478 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | false | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | N/A | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1984 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | NY | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | ACQUIRE, HOLD AND OPERATE CERTAIN REAL ESTATE TO BE USED BY ITS TAX-EXEMPT AFFILIATED ENTITY, THE HOSPITAL FOR SPECIAL SURGERY. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 45 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 41 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 8 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 48 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $0 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $861,893 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $48,652,352 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $57,978,860 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $143,388 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $257,304 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $24,161 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $22,467 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $48,819,901 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $59,120,524 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $1,115,415 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $1,181,836 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $42,111,849 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $50,467,456 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $43,227,264 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $51,649,292 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $5,592,637 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $7,471,232 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $134,348,701 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $148,539,283 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $72,282,470 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $77,369,330 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $62,066,231 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $71,169,953 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Mission | ACQUIRE, HOLD AND OPERATE CERTAIN REAL ESTATE TO BE USED BY ITS TAX-EXEMPT AFFILIATED ENTITY, THE HOSPITAL FOR SPECIAL SURGERY. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | false | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | false | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $50,899,654 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $0 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $57,985,983 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | ACQUIRE, HOLD AND OPERATE CERTAIN REAL ESTATE TO BE USED BY ITS TAX-EXEMPT AFFILIATED ENTITY, THE HOSPITAL FOR SPECIAL SURGERY. HSS PROPERTIES CORPORATION MAY PROVIDE FUNDS FROM ITS OPERATIONS TO THE HOSPITAL FOR SPECIAL SURGERY AND OTHER CHARITABLE HEALTH RELATED ORGANIZATIONS. | Desc |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $50,899,654 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (true) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | false | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | false | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | false | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | false | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | false | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | false | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | false | CreditCounselingInd |
| Temp Or Permanent Endowments | false | TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (true) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | false | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | false | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | Yes (true) | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | Yes (true) | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | false | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (true) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (true) | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | false | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | false | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | false | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | false | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | false | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | false | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | false | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | false | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | false | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | false | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | false | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | false | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | false | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | false | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | false | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | false | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With Officer Ent | false | BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | false | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | false | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | false | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | false | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | false | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | Yes (true) | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | Yes (true) | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Transaction With Control Ent | false | TransactionWithControlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | false | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | false | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 0 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Employee | 8 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (true) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | false | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | false | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | false | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | false | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | false | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | false | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | false | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | false | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | false | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | false | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 45 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 41 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | false | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | false | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | false | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | false | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | Yes (true) | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | Yes (true) | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | false | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (true) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (true) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | false | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | false | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (true) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (true) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (true) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (true) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (true) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (true) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (true) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | Yes (true) | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | false | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | NY | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | MARC GOULD | PersonNm |
| Phone | 2126061323 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 535 EAST 70TH STREET | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | New York | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NY | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 10021 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (52 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Average Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | OfficerOfficerInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Steven Haas | |||||||
| Member/Attending Physician | 0.2 | 14.27 | Yes (X) | $0 | $123,088 | $42,549 | |
| Bryan Kelly - Left 2017 | |||||||
| Member/Attending Physician | 0.2 | 29.93 | Yes (X) | $0 | $127,230 | $43,059 | |
| Joel Press - Start 2017 | |||||||
| Member/Physiatrist-in-Chief | 0.2 | 14.92 | Yes (X) | $0 | $817,379 | $62,536 | |
| Thomas Sculco | |||||||
| Member/ Attending Physician | 0.2 | 17.66 | Yes (X) | $0 | $71,166 | $42,008 | |
| James M Benson | |||||||
| Member | 0.02 | 0.41 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Daniel C Benton | |||||||
| Member | 0.03 | 0.48 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Herbert Black | |||||||
| Member | 0.02 | 0.41 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Michael Brooks | |||||||
| Member | 0.09 | 1.8 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Kathryn Chenault | |||||||
| Member | 0.04 | 0.72 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Charles Coleman III | |||||||
| Member | 0.06 | 1.07 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Leslie Cornfeld | |||||||
| Member | 0.05 | 0.96 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Cynthia Foster Curry | |||||||
| Member | 0.14 | 2.62 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Barrie M Damson | |||||||
| Member | 0.12 | 2.26 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| James G Dinan | |||||||
| Member | 0.12 | 2.27 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Anne Ehrenkranz | |||||||
| Member | 0.16 | 3.05 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Michael Esposito | |||||||
| Vice Chair | 0.32 | 6.04 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) |
| Marina Kellen French | |||||||
| Member | 0.04 | 0.66 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Craig Ivey | |||||||
| Member | 0.07 | 1.31 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Winfield P Jones | |||||||
| Member | 0.04 | 0.7 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Warren Kanders | |||||||
| Member | 0.03 | 0.52 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Scott Kapnick | |||||||
| Member - Start 2017 | 0.01 | 0.16 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Monica Keany | |||||||
| Member | 0.23 | 4.3 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Thomas J Kelly | |||||||
| Member | 0.14 | 2.56 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| David H Koch | |||||||
| Member | 0.13 | 2.5 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Sacha Lainovic | |||||||
| Member - Start 2017 | 0.01 | 0.25 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Laurie Hodges Lapeyre | |||||||
| Member | 0.11 | 2.1 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Pablo Legorreta | |||||||
| Member | 0.05 | 0.96 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Lara Lerner | |||||||
| Member | 0.02 | 0.41 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Kathy Leventhal | |||||||
| Member | 0.11 | 2.06 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Marylin B Levitt | |||||||
| Member | 0.18 | 3.43 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Thomas Lister | |||||||
| Vice Chair | 0.28 | 5.27 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) |
| Alan S MacDonald | |||||||
| Member | 0.11 | 2.11 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| David McCormick | |||||||
| Member - Start 2017 | 0.02 | 0.33 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Richard L Menschel | |||||||
| Chairman, Emeritus -Left 2017 | 0.04 | 0.8 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) |
| Mary Kathryn Navab | |||||||
| Member | 0.02 | 0.41 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Dean R O'Hare | |||||||
| Chairman, Emeritus -Left 2017 | 0.28 | 5.25 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) |
| Terrence O'Toole | |||||||
| Member | 0.03 | 0.63 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Aldo Papone | |||||||
| Chairman, Emeritus -Left 2017 | 0.04 | 0.8 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) |
| Gordon Pattee | |||||||
| Member | 0.04 | 0.7 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Steven Rattner | |||||||
| Member | 0.03 | 0.63 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Susan W Rose | |||||||
| Member | 0.04 | 0.7 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Jonathan Sobel | |||||||
| Member | 0.23 | 4.44 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Deirdre Stanley | |||||||
| Vice Chair | 0.34 | 6.36 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) |
| Robert K Steel | |||||||
| Member | 0.17 | 3.13 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Patricia Warner | |||||||
| Member | 0.32 | 6.15 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Sanford I Weill | |||||||
| Member | 0.02 | 0.41 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Kendrick R Wilson III | |||||||
| Chair | 0.88 | 16.62 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | Yes (X) |
| Ellen M Wright | |||||||
| Member | 0.19 | 3.57 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Louis A Shapiro | |||||||
| President & CEO | 3.0 | 57.0 | Yes (X) | $146,787 | $2,788,971 | $75,336 | Yes (X) |
| Lisa Goldstein | |||||||
| Executive VP & COO | 6.0 | 54.0 | $146,348 | $1,317,134 | $57,470 | Yes (X) | |
| Stacey Malakoff | |||||||
| Executive VP & CFO | 7.2 | 52.8 | $215,522 | $1,580,491 | $60,707 | Yes (X) | |
| Irene Koch | |||||||
| Exec VP & Chief Legal Officer | 6.0 | 54.0 | $79,349 | $714,140 | $56,550 | Yes (X) | |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $588,006 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $7,539,599 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $440,215 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 3 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | false | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (true) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | false | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MICHAEL ANTHONY CONTRACTING | |||||
| 161 RAILROAD AVENUE | GARDEN CITY PARK | NY | 11040 | CONSTRUCTION | $2,071,268 |
| PINNACLE ENVIRONMENTAL CORPORATION | |||||
| 200 BROAD STREET | CARLSTADT | NJ | 07072 | ENVIRONMENTAL SRVS | $624,000 |
| SKYLINE RESTORATION INC | |||||
| 11-20 37TH AVENUE | LONG ISLAND CITY | NY | 11101 | CONSTRUCTION | $398,654 |
| GARLANDDBS INC | |||||
| 3800 E 91ST | CLEVELAND | OH | 44105 | WATERPROOFING SRVS | $228,274 |
| CROTHALL HEALTHCARE INC | |||||
| 13028 COLLECTION CENTER DRIVE | CHICAGO | IL | 60693 | HOUSEKEEPING | $199,711 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 10 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Related Organizations | $861,893 | RelatedOrganizationsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $861,893 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| OFFICE/STAFF APT RENTAL | 531110 | $52,768,138 | $52,768,138 |
| OFFICE/STAFF APT PARKING | 812930 | $4,161,316 | $4,161,316 |
| HOTEL RENTAL | 531110 | $1,049,406 | $1,049,406 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $57,978,860 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $179,378 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $179,378 | ExclusionAmt |
Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $883,560 | RealAmt |
Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $868,216 | RealAmt |
Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $15,344 | RealAmt |
| Personal | $0 | PersonalAmt |
Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $15,344 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $15,344 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $6,949,664 | SecuritiesAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $6,871,738 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $77,926 | SecuritiesAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $77,926 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $77,926 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Fundraising Gross Income | $0 | FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt |
| Fundraising Direct Expenses | $0 | FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt |
Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gaming Gross Income | $0 | GamingGrossIncomeAmt |
| Gaming Direct Expenses | $0 | GamingDirectExpensesAmt |
Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Sales Of Inventory | $0 | GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt |
| Cost Of Goods Sold | $0 | CostOfGoodsSoldAmt |
Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | LAUNDRY INCOME | Desc |
| Business | 812300 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $7,123 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $7,123 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $7,123 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $59,120,524 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $57,985,983 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Exclusion | $272,648 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $610,460 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $610,460 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $394,922 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $394,922 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $99,342 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $99,342 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $77,112 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $30,982 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $46,130 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $40,690 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $40,690 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $47,943 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $47,943 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,559,476 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,559,476 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $40,035 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $40,035 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Royalties RoyaltiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $40,574,315 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $40,574,315 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $421,371 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $421,371 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,641,940 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $2,641,940 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt | Management And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| INTERCOMP PURCHASED SERVICES | $2,631,129 | $2,631,129 | |
| LICENSES AND TAXES | $1,717,250 | $1,715,700 | $1,550 |
| REPAIR AND MAINTENANCE | $716,897 | $716,897 | |
| MISCELLANEOUS EXPENSES | $76,410 | $73,545 | $2,865 |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $51,649,292 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $50,899,654 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $749,638 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,549,988 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,432,844 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $5,708,081 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,605,548 | EOYAmt |
Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,174,604 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $5,031,301 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $142,345,631 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $62,214,082 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $79,558,603 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $80,131,549 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $11,902,722 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $14,892,289 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,343,217 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $4,735,656 | EOYAmt |
Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $27,111,486 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $40,710,096 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $134,348,701 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $148,539,283 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $20,098,065 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $30,222,854 | EOYAmt |
Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $23,141,779 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $17,555,955 | EOYAmt |
Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $29,042,626 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $29,590,521 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $72,282,470 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $77,369,330 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows SFAS117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind |
Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $62,066,231 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $71,169,953 | EOYAmt |
Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $62,066,231 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $71,169,953 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $134,348,701 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $148,539,283 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $7,471,232 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $1,632,490 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | false | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (true) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Consol And Sep Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | ConsolAndSepBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (true) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | false | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Supporting Organization509a3 | Yes (X) | SupportingOrganization509a3Ind |
| Supporting Org Type2 | Yes (X) | SupportingOrgType2Ind |
| Supported Organizations | 1 | SupportedOrganizationsCnt |
Supported Org Information SupportedOrgInformationGrp
Supported Organization Name SupportedOrganizationName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | HOSPITAL FOR SPECIAL SURGERY | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 131624135 | EIN |
| Organization Type | 3 | OrganizationTypeCd |
| Governing Document Listed | Yes (true) | GoverningDocumentListedInd |
| Support | $0 | SupportAmt |
| Other Support | $0 | OtherSupportAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Supported Organizations Total | 1 | SupportedOrganizationsTotalCnt |
| Support Sum | $0 | SupportSumAmt |
| Other Support Sum | $0 | OtherSupportSumAmt |
Form990 Sch A Supporting Org Form990SchASupportingOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Listed By Name Governing Doc | Yes (true) | ListedByNameGoverningDocInd |
| Suprt Org No IRS Determination | false | SuprtOrgNoIRSDeterminationInd |
| Supported Org Section C456 | false | SupportedOrgSectionC456Ind |
| Supported Org Not Organized US | false | SupportedOrgNotOrganizedUSInd |
| Organization Change Suprt Org | false | OrganizationChangeSuprtOrgInd |
| Support Non Supported Org | false | SupportNonSupportedOrgInd |
| Payment Substantial Contribtr | false | PaymentSubstantialContribtrInd |
| Loan Disqualified Person | false | LoanDisqualifiedPersonInd |
| Controlled Disqualified Prsn | false | ControlledDisqualifiedPrsnInd |
| Disqualified Prsn Controll Int | false | DisqualifiedPrsnControllIntInd |
| Disqualified Prsn Ownr Int | false | DisqualifiedPrsnOwnrIntInd |
| Excess Business Holdings Rules | false | ExcessBusinessHoldingsRulesInd |
| Contribution Controller | false | ContributionControllerInd |
| Contribution Family | false | ContributionFamilyInd |
| Contribution35 Controlled | false | Contribution35ControlledInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Majority Dir Trst Supported Org | Yes (true) | MajorityDirTrstSupportedOrgInd |
Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Part I, Line 11g (A), column v, vi | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | HSS Properties Corporation (Properties), a controlled subsidiary of The Hospital for Special Surgery Fund, Inc, is a not-for-profit corporation organized under the Not-for-Profit Corporation Law of the State of New York for the purpose of managing and operating real estate for the New York Society for the Relief of the Ruptured and Crippled, Maintaining the Hospital for Special Surgery (the Hospital). | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Art Public Exhibition Amounts | ArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp | |
| Held Works Art | HeldWorksArtGrp | |
| CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund | CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp | |
| CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund | CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp |
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $46,449,391 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $46,449,391 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $92,505,785 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $59,824,575 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $32,681,210 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Leasehold Improvements | LeaseholdImprovementsGrp |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $2,625,969 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $2,389,507 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $236,462 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $764,486 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $764,486 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $80,131,549 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (5 entries)
| DescDesc | Book ValueBookValueAmt |
|---|---|
| TENANT SECURITY DEPOSITS | $329,643 |
| TENANT IMPROVEMENT RECEIVABLE | $10,130,943 |
| LEASEHOLD INCENTIVE RECEIVABLE | $13,382,530 |
| INVESTMENT IN JOINT VENTURE | $3,025,000 |
| DEFERRED RENT RECEIVABLE | $13,841,980 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Other Assets | $40,710,096 | TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt |
| Federal Income Tax Liability | $0 | FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt |
Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | AmtAmt |
|---|---|
| TENANT SECURITY DEPOSITS | $329,643 |
| DUE TO AFFILIATES - NET | $586,016 |
| LEASEHOLD INCENTIVE - LONG TERM | $18,663,839 |
| TENANT IMPROVEMENT PAYABLE | $10,011,023 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Liability | $29,590,521 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $59,988,740 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $59,988,740 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | -$868,216 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | -$868,216 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $59,120,524 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $52,517,508 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $868,216 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $868,216 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $51,649,292 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $51,649,292 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART XI, LINE 4B & PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER "REV/EXP RECONCILIATION" | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | RENTAL EXPENSES - $868,216 | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Independent Consultant | Yes (X) | IndependentConsultantInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | false | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | false | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | false | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | false | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | Yes (true) | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | false | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | Yes (true) | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | false | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | false | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Steven Haas | ||||||||||||||
| Member/Attending Physician | $0 | $122,669 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $419 | $0 | $11,700 | $0 | $30,849 | $0 | $165,637 | $0 | $0 |
| Bryan Kelly - Left 2017 | ||||||||||||||
| Member/Attending Physician | $0 | $122,159 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $5,071 | $0 | $11,700 | $0 | $31,359 | $0 | $170,289 | $0 | $0 |
| Joel Press - Start 2017 | ||||||||||||||
| Member/Physiatrist-in-Chief | $0 | $610,196 | $0 | $20,834 | $0 | $186,349 | $0 | $20,250 | $0 | $42,286 | $0 | $879,915 | $0 | $0 |
| Louis A Shapiro | ||||||||||||||
| President & CEO | $64,109 | $1,218,071 | $80,793 | $1,535,067 | $1,885 | $35,833 | $1,215 | $23,085 | $2,552 | $48,484 | $150,554 | $2,860,540 | $0 | $0 |
| Lisa Goldstein | ||||||||||||||
| Executive VP & COO | $88,100 | $792,899 | $54,970 | $494,728 | $3,278 | $29,507 | $2,430 | $21,870 | $3,317 | $29,853 | $152,095 | $1,368,857 | $0 | $0 |
| Stacey Malakoff | ||||||||||||||
| Executive VP & CFO | $129,902 | $952,616 | $81,649 | $598,763 | $3,971 | $29,112 | $2,916 | $21,384 | $4,369 | $32,038 | $222,807 | $1,633,913 | $0 | $0 |
| Irene Koch | ||||||||||||||
| Exec VP & Chief Legal Officer | $50,257 | $452,313 | $28,969 | $260,719 | $123 | $1,108 | $2,025 | $18,225 | $3,630 | $32,670 | $85,004 | $765,035 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| SCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 5B | Certain Employed Physicians listed on Part VII, Section A, Line 1A receive compensation in part, based on professional service generated from services they personally performed in their individual practices. In 2017, no Physician was paid compensation contingent upon the organization's overall revenue or net earnings. |
| SCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 6B | Performance based incentive awards are paid to officers and key employees based on a number of important quality, satisfaction, efficiency, and financial measures, of which achieving budget is a factor. |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A - LINE 6 & 7A - "MEMBERSHIP" | HSS PROPERTIES CORPORATION IS A MEMBERSHIP CORPORATION WITH THE HOSPITAL FOR SPECIAL SURGERY FUND, INC, AS ITS SOLE MEMBER. THE HOSPITAL FOR SPECIAL SURGERY FUND, INC., AS THE MEMBER OF HSS PROPERTIES CORPORATION, ELECTS THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF HSS PROPERTIES CORPORATION. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B - LINE 11B, "REVIEW PROCESS" | PRIOR TO SUBMITTING THE FORM 990 TO THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE (IRS), THERE IS AN ESTABLISHED PROCESS FOR REVIEW OF THE DOCUMENT IN ITS ENTIRETY BY THE GOVERNING BODY WHOSE EVALUATIONS ARE MADE IN THE BEST INTEREST OF HSS PROPERTIES CORPORATION. THE FORM 990 IS FIRST REVIEWED WITH THE EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES. THE REVIEWED FORM 990 IS THEN SUBMITTED TO THE FULL BOARD OF TRUSTEES. THE TRUSTEES ARE PROVIDED A COPY OF THE FORM 990 VIA COMPACT DISC PRIOR TO SUBMISSION OF THE FORM. IN ADDITION, SIGNIFICANT AREAS OF FORM 990 ARE DISCUSSED AT A BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B - LINE 12C, "CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY" | ON AN ANNUAL BASIS, FINANCIAL INTEREST DISCLOSURE STATEMENTS ARE SENT TO ALL BOARD MEMBERS, OFFICERS, AND MANAGEMENT. OUR CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY ALSO REQUIRES THAT ANY CHANGES BE COMMUNICATED TO THE OFFICE OF CORPORATE COMPLIANCE WITHIN 30 DAYS. THE INFORMATION RECEIVED IS ENTERED INTO A DATABASE AND REVIEWED FOR POTENTIAL CONFLICTS OF INTEREST. THE DATABASE INFORMATION IS ALSO REVIEWED BY THE EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT FOR LEGAL AFFAIRS, THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER, AND THE AUDIT AND CORPORATE COMPLIANCE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES. IN ADDITION TO SENDING DISCLOSURE STATEMENTS DIRECTLY TO THE GROUP NOTED ABOVE, INDUSTRY WEBSITES ARE MONITORED FOR DISCLOSURES RELATED TO EMPLOYEES OF HSS PROPERTIES. THIS INFORMATION IS ENTERED INTO THE DATABASE, AS WELL. HSS PROPERTIES HAS A CONFLICT OF INTEREST TASK FORCE THAT MEETS THREE TIMES A YEAR, OR AS NECESSARY, TO REVIEW AND UPDATE THE CONFLICTS OF INTEREST POLICIES AND PROCEDURES. HSS' POLICY ON CONFLICT OF INTEREST IN DAY-TO-DAY OPERATIONS STATES THAT IF HSS IS CONTEMPLATING A TRANSACTION WHICH MIGHT POSSIBLY BENEFIT (OR APPEAR TO BENEFIT) A COVERED PERSON OR ANY MEMBER OF HIS/HER IMMEDIATE FAMILY, THEN THE POTENTIAL BENEFIT OR CONFLICT MUST BE DISCLOSED TO, AND APPROVED BY, A DISINTERESTED OFFICER OF HSS BEFORE THE TRANSACTION MAY PROCEED. ACCORDINGLY, A COVERED PERSON MAY NOT PLACE BUSINESS WITH ANY THIRD PARTY (E.G., A VENDOR, COMPETITOR, OR OTHER ORGANIZATION) IN WHICH THAT PERSON OR ANY MEMBER OF HIS/HER IMMEDIATE FAMILY HAS AN INTEREST, UNLESS THAT INTEREST IS DISCLOSED TO, AND THE TRANSACTION IS APPROVED BY, THE VICE PRESIDENT FOR CORPORATE COMPLIANCE AND INTERNAL AUDIT ("CORPORATE COMPLIANCE OFFICER"). |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECT B - LINE 15A & 15B, "PROCESS FOR DETERMINING COMP" | HSS PROPERTIES CORPORATION IS COMMITTED TO ENSURING THAT ITS EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION PROGRAM ADHERES TO THE HIGHEST STANDARDS OF REGULATORY COMPLIANCE AND BEST CORPORATE GOVERNANCE. THE HSS PROPERTIES CORPORATION BOARD HAS CHARGED THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE (WHICH IS COMPOSED OF INDEPENDENT BOARD MEMBERS WITH NO CONFLICTS OF INTEREST IN REGARD TO EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION) WITH MAKING ALL DECISIONS RELATED TO COMPENSATION FOR OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES. THE COMMITTEE RETAINS AN INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION CONSULTANT TO ASSIST IT IN THIS PROCESS. COMPENSATION LEVELS ARE ESTABLISHED CONSIDERING DATA FOR FUNCTIONALLY COMPARABLE ROLES IN COMPARABLE ORGANIZATIONS, AN ASSESSMENT OF PERFORMANCE, AND OTHER BUSINESS JUDGMENT FACTORS, CONSISTENT WITH HSS PROPERTIES CORPORATION'S EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION PHILOSOPHY. THE COMMITTEE'S DECISIONS ARE MADE IN THE BEST INTERESTS OF HSS PROPERTIES CORPORATION, AND ARE INTENDED TO ENSURE THE RECRUITMENT AND RETENTION OF KEY EXECUTIVE TALENT, CONSISTENT WITH THE MARKET PRACTICES OF OTHER NOT-FOR-PROFIT HEALTH CARE ORGANIZATIONS OF COMPARABLE MISSION AND COMPLEXITY, CONSIDERING BOTH LOCAL AND NATIONAL MARKET CHALLENGES IN SUCH REGARD. ON AN ANNUAL BASIS (INCLUDING 2017), THE COMMITTEE PROVIDES THE FULL BOARD WITH AN OVERVIEW OF ITS DETERMINATIONS AND PROCESS. HSS PROPERTIES CORPORATION ESTABLISHED THIS PROCESS IN AN EFFORT TO COMPLY WITH THE INTERMEDIATE SANCTIONS GUIDELINES FOR QUALIFYING FOR THE REBUTTABLE PRESUMPTION OF REASONABLENESS, AS WELL AS BEST CORPORATE GOVERNANCE PRACTICES IN ENSURING THE TRANSPARENCY OF THE EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION DECISION-MAKING PROCESS WITH THE BOARD. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B - LINE 19, "DISCLOSURE GOVERNING DOCUMENTS" | HSS PROPERTIES CORPORATION MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE GENERAL PUBLIC UPON REQUEST FROM THE OFFICE OF LEGAL AFFAIRS. |
Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR
Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (4 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | EINEIN | Primary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxt | Legal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCd | Exempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxt | Public Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxt | Business Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt | Controlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NY SOC REL RUPT CRIPLD MAINTAING HSS | ||||||||||
| 535 EAST 70TH STREET | NEW YORK | NY | 10021 | 131624135 | HEALTH CARE | NY | 501 (C)(3) | 3 | NA | false |
| HOSPITAL FOR SPECIAL SURGERY FUND inc | ||||||||||
| 535 EAST 70TH STREET | NEW YORK | NY | 10021 | 136714749 | FUNDRAISING | NY | 501 (C)(3) | 7 | NA | false |
| HSS HORIZONS INC | ||||||||||
| 535 EAST 70TH STREET | NEW YORK | NY | 10021 | 134152131 | RESEARCH SUPP | NY | 501 (C)(3) | 12 TYPE I | HSS FUND INC | Yes (true) |
| TJA ORTHOPEDIC SURGERY PC | ||||||||||
| 535 EAST 70TH STREET | NEW YORK | NY | 10021 | 815178969 | HEALTH CARE | NY | 501 (C)(3) | 10 | HSS | false |
Id Related Org Txbl Partnership IdRelatedOrgTxblPartnershipGrp (2 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | EINEIN | Primary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxt | Legal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCd | Business Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt | Predominant Income TypePredominantIncomeTypeTxt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| HSS ASC OF MANHATTAN LLC | ||||||||
| 1233 2ND AVE | NEW YORK | NY | 10065 | 471353602 | HEALTH CARE | NY | NA | N/A |
| HSS WESTSIDE ASC LLC | ||||||||
| 600 WEST 58TH STREET | NEW YORK | NY | 10019 | 814351390 | HEALTH CARE | NY | NA | N/A |
Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp (2 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | EINEIN | Primary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxt | Legal Domicile Foreign CountryLegalDomicileForeignCountryCd | Business Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt | Entity TypeEntityTypeTxt | Share Of Total IncomeShareOfTotalIncomeAmt | Share Of EOY AssetsShareOfEOYAssetsAmt | Controlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd | Legal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MEDICAL INDEMNITY ASSURANCE COMPANY LTD | ||||||||||||
| 535 EAST 70TH STREET | NEW YORK | NY | 10021 | 981050215 | SELF-INDEMNITY | CJ | NA | C CORP | $0 | $0 | Yes (true) | |
| HSS VENTURES | ||||||||||||
| 535 EAST 70TH STREET | NEW YORK | NY | 10021 | 061624300 | HLTH CARE SERVICE | NA | C CORP | $0 | $0 | Yes (true) | NY | |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts | false | ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd |
| Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org | false | GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd |
| Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org | Yes (true) | GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org | false | LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org | false | LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd |
| Asset Sale To Other Org | false | AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Purchase From Other Org | false | AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Exchange | false | AssetExchangeInd |
| Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org | Yes (true) | RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd |
| Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org | false | RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services For Oth Org | false | PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services By Other Org | false | PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd |
| Sharing Of Facilities | false | SharingOfFacilitiesInd |
| Paid Employees Sharing | false | PaidEmployeesSharingInd |
| Reimbursement Paid To Other Org | Yes (true) | ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd |
| Reimbursement Paid By Other Org | Yes (true) | ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer To Other Org | false | TransferToOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer From Other Org | false | TransferFromOtherOrgInd |
Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (5 entries)
| Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxt | InvolvedInvolvedAmt | Method Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt |
|---|---|---|
| HOSPITAL FOR SPECIAL SURGERY | ||
| J | $46,471,018 | FMV |
| HOSPITAL FOR SPECIAL SURGERY | ||
| P | $42,196,753 | FMV |
| HSS ASC OF MANHATTAN LLC | ||
| J | $786,223 | FMV |
| HSS ASC OF MANHATTAN LLC | ||
| Q | $684,451 | FMV |
| HOSPITAL FOR SPECIAL SURGERY FUND INC | ||
| C | $861,893 | FMV |