PORTER-LEATH: Form 990, tax year 2023
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- PORTER-LEATH (EIN 58-1409385)
- Tax period
- 2023-07-01 to 2024-06-30
- Filed
- 2025-02-07
- IRS object ID
- 202530389349301203
- Schema version
- 2023v6.0
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
- Return header
- Form 990
- Schedule A
- Schedule B
- Schedule D
- Schedule G
- Schedule I
- Schedule J
- Schedule M
- Schedule O
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2025-02-07T09:49:48+00:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2024-06-30 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 440160260 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Forvis Mazars LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 500 Ridgefield Court | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Asheville | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NC | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 28806 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2023-07-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 581409385 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Porter-Leath | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | PORT | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 9015772500 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 3400 Prescott Rd | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Memphis | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | TN | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 38118 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | SEAN LEE | PersonNm |
| Person Title | PRESIDENT | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 9015772500 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2025-02-07 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (true) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr | Yes (true) | IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | Amy Bibby | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00445891 | PTIN |
| Phone | 8282542254 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2025-02-07 | PreparationDt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2023 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2025-03-06 01:10:19Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
Principal Ofcr Business Name PrincipalOfcrBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Sean Lee | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 3400 Prescott Rd | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Memphis | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | TN | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 38118 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $32,022,990 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | false | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | WWW.PORTERLEATH.ORG | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1860 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | TN | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | Empowering children and families to achieve a healthy, optimal and independent lifestyle. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 20 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 20 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 440 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 600 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $19,115,992 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $21,375,859 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $10,556,427 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $10,230,503 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $259,584 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | -$162,798 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $291,868 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | -$96,853 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $30,223,871 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $31,346,711 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $1,827,465 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $1,702,334 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $20,683,883 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $19,978,707 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $1,049,836 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $8,888,793 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $8,416,280 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $31,400,141 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $30,097,321 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | -$1,176,270 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $1,249,390 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $47,757,994 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $49,415,614 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $2,196,628 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $2,227,735 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $45,561,366 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $47,187,879 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | Empowering children and families to achieve a healthy, optimal and independent lifestyle. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | false | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | false | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $8,309,326 | ExpenseAmt |
| Desc | Porter-Leath Preschool - Provides quality preschool education and supportive wraparound services for eligible four-year old children. Porter-Leath's five preschools averaged 98.4 out of 100 on the State of Tennessee's Quality Rating Improvement System (QRIS) Report Card. The QRIS is mandatory for all licensed providers and measures a preschool's quality of child care in two major areas: health and safety, and teacher-child interactions. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $7,758,171 | ExpenseAmt |
| Desc | Early Head Start - Provides quality preschool education and supportive wraparound services for eligible children ages six-weeks to three. Also provides in-home parental services for pregnant mothers and families. The National Head Start Association (NHSA) named the Porter-Leath Early Head Start a Program ofExcellence. NHSA's Program ofExcellenceAccreditation recognizes and supports the outstanding performance of Head Start and Early Head Start grant recipients across the country. This designation is earned by up to 25 programs each year that consistently demonstrateexcellencein program management and service performance and continually support the achievement of robust outcomes for children birth to five years old, pregnant women, families and the communities where they live. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $1,017,609 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $1,702,334 | GrantAmt |
| Desc | Next Memphis - A shared service program model that helps independent child care providers reduce costs and improve outcomes, so that they can direct more of their attention and resources into the classroom and to families. | Desc |
Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Expense | $8,800,143 | ExpenseAmt |
| Revenue | $10,360,960 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | Porter-Leath continued to thrive in its 174th year of service to Memphis and Shelby County, Tennessee, with services reaching over 40,500 families in the last year. - Connections - Utilizes a trauma-informed universal approach addressing trauma, traumatic stress and related issues by promoting resilience to children throughout its foster care and residential programs. - Cornerstone - Gives newborns and preschool children the best start in life by helping pregnant mothers and parenting families in their homes, thereby reducing infant mortality and improving literacy and language skills. The National Parents as Teachers organization named Porter-Leath's Cornerstone early childhood home visitation program an exemplary Blue Ribbon Affiliate, delivering high-quality services to children and families. Cornerstone provides pregnant mothers as well as families of children from birth to age 5 with all of the proper tools necessary for positive child development. - Books From Birth - Promotes kindergarten readiness and strengthens family bonds in Shelby County by providing age-appropriate books for all children from birth to age five. Independent research affirmed Porter-Leath's earliest intervention strategy by concluding that students who receive 25-54 books from ages 0-5 from Porter-Leath's Books from Birth program had higher standardized test results, higher letter grades, and fewer behavior cases in the first through fifth grades than those who received fewer or no books. Books from Birth, the largest affiliate of The Dolly Parton Imagination Library in the United States, distributes 35,000 books per month to children ages 0-5 in Shelby County, Tennessee. - Early Success Coalition - Improving the lives of children by working to strengthen the network of caregivers and providers that serve these children. - Generations - To provide older Americans an opportunity to make a difference in the lives of disadvantaged children and young adults. - Teacher Excellence Program - Uses intentionally designed and data-informed professional development to prepare teachers to engage in high-quality, effective practices, thereby strengthening the knowledge and skill sets of early childhood educators, resulting in improved educational outcomes for children. Additional program and operating achievements include: - Porter-Leath was reaccredited by the Council on Accreditation, an independent, objective, and reliable verification that organizations and programs qualify for the confidence and support of their stakeholders. It involves a detailed review and analysis of an organization's or program's administrative functions and service delivery practices. All are measured against international standards of best practice. - Porter-Leathwas recognized with an MPACT Award from Slingshot Memphisfor being one of the top five most effective poverty-fighting organizations in Memphis. Slingshot partners with nonprofits to evaluate, improve best practices and financially support organizations working with families in Memphis. Over the last six years, Porter-Leath has consistently received high marks across their four evaluation domains: Cost/Benefit, Systems Change, Use of Best Practices and Measurement Infrastructure. | Desc |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Other Prog Srvc Expense | $8,800,143 | TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt |
| Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue | $10,360,960 | TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $25,885,249 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (true) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | false | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | false | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | false | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | false | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | false | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | false | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | false | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (true) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | false | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | false | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | false | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | false | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | false | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (true) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | false | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | false | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | false | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | false | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | false | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | false | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | false | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | Yes (true) | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | false | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | false | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | false | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | Yes (true) | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | false | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | false | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | false | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | false | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | false | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | false | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | Yes (true) | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | false | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | false | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | false | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | false | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | false | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | false | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | false | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 58 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (true) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 440 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (true) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | false | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | false | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | false | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | false | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | false | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | false | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | false | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | false | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | false | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | false | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | false | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | false | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 20 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 20 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | false | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | false | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | false | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | false | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | false | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | false | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | false | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (true) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (true) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | false | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | false | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (true) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (true) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (true) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (true) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (true) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (true) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (true) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | false | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | false | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | MS | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | TN | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | Paul Makris | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 9015772500 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 3400 Prescott Road | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Memphis | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | TN | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 38118 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (27 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Mark O'Malley | |||||||
| Vice Chair | 1.0 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Neva Reaves | |||||||
| Secretary | 1.0 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Sophie Duffel | |||||||
| Chair | 1.0 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| Abigail Urtz | |||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Alison Henneberger | |||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Broderick Wamble | |||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Carol Seamons | |||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Charles Lampkin | |||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Clark Price | |||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Emily Shortridge | |||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Jack Stimac | |||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| John Lewis | |||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Laura Deakins | |||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Lindsay Krosnes | |||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Mary Seratt | |||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Michael Wilson | |||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Monica Everett | |||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Patrice Thompson | |||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Rachel Levine | |||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Verlinda Henning | |||||||
| Board Member | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| Paul Makris | |||||||
| Chief Financial Officer | 37.5 | Yes (X) | $149,885 | $0 | $25,003 | ||
| Sean Lee | |||||||
| President | 37.5 | Yes (X) | $244,864 | $0 | $72,676 | ||
| Dennis Fleming | |||||||
| Vice President | 37.5 | $106,269 | $0 | $13,008 | Yes (X) | ||
| Dr Kelley Corbin | |||||||
| Vice President | 37.5 | $117,103 | $0 | $12,243 | Yes (X) | ||
| Karen Harrell | |||||||
| Senior Vice President | 37.5 | $148,605 | $0 | $29,788 | Yes (X) | ||
| Rob Hughes | |||||||
| Vice President | 37.5 | $103,080 | $0 | $42,803 | Yes (X) | ||
| Towanda Peete-Smith | |||||||
| Director | 37.5 | $103,148 | $0 | $18,514 | Yes (X) | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $972,954 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $214,035 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 7 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | false | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (true) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | false | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (3 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Consilience Group | |||||
| 2157 Madison Ave | Memphis | TN | 38104 | Consulting and program assessment services | $489,466 |
| Urban Institute | |||||
| 500 LEnfant Plaza SW | Washington | DC | 20024 | Consulting and program assessment services | $259,400 |
| Richard K Thomas PhD | |||||
| 3238 Players Club Circle | Memphis | TN | 38125 | Consulting and program assessment services | $134,747 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 3 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Fundraising | $378,554 | FundraisingAmt |
| Government Grants | $15,499,677 | GovernmentGrantsAmt |
| All Other Contributions | $5,497,628 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Noncash Contributions | $3,286,890 | NoncashContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $21,375,859 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Desc | Program Fees | Desc |
| Business | 624410 | BusinessCd |
| Total Revenue Column | $10,230,503 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $10,230,503 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $0 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $0 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $10,230,503 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $286,171 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $286,171 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $15,930 | RealAmt |
Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $15,930 | RealAmt |
| Personal | $0 | PersonalAmt |
Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $15,930 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $15,930 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $448,969 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | -$448,969 | SecuritiesAmt |
| Other | $0 | OtherAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | -$448,969 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | -$448,969 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Fundraising Gross Income | $0 | FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt |
| Contri Rpt Fundraising Event | $378,554 | ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt |
| Fundraising Direct Expenses | $227,310 | FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt |
Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | -$227,310 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | -$227,310 | ExclusionAmt |
Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| Miscellaneous Revenue | 900099 | $95,493 | $95,493 |
| Insurance Claims Received | 524298 | $19,034 | $19,034 |
Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $0 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $0 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $114,527 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $31,346,711 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $10,360,960 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | -$390,108 | ExclusionAmt |
Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,702,334 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,702,334 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $972,954 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $972,954 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $15,829,509 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $14,024,819 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,160,848 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $643,842 | FundraisingAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $211,018 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $173,604 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $29,444 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $7,970 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,750,255 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,439,934 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $244,217 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $66,104 | FundraisingAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,214,971 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $999,555 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $169,529 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $45,887 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,131,052 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,007,090 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $123,962 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $127,162 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $36,260 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,726 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $89,176 | FundraisingAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $257,586 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $171,232 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $49,291 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $37,063 | FundraisingAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,572,969 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,255,628 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $317,341 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $94,446 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $86,840 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $6,069 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $1,537 | FundraisingAmt |
Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $236,159 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $219,864 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $16,142 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $153 | FundraisingAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,264,213 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,210,726 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $49,495 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $3,992 | FundraisingAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $360,327 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $289,994 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $67,485 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $2,848 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt | Management And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt | FundraisingFundraisingAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Partner Agreements | $1,267,047 | $1,267,047 | ||
| Supplies | $1,001,482 | $940,030 | $51,193 | $10,259 |
| Client Services | $589,397 | $483,242 | $106,155 | |
| Food | $506,661 | $506,661 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $7,779 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $70,389 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | -$97,460 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $34,850 | FundraisingAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $30,097,321 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $25,885,249 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $3,162,236 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $1,049,836 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,888,874 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,337,826 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $4,093,746 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $3,335,810 | EOYAmt |
Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $12,968 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,298 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $44,922,525 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $7,041,581 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $36,181,136 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $37,880,944 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $3,562,159 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $4,712,693 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $19,111 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $147,043 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $47,757,994 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $49,415,614 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,196,628 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,227,735 | EOYAmt |
Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $2,196,628 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,227,735 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind |
No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $38,974,650 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $42,870,190 | EOYAmt |
Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $6,586,716 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $4,317,689 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $45,561,366 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $47,187,879 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $47,757,994 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $49,415,614 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $1,249,390 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $377,123 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $0 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | false | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (true) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (true) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | Yes (true) | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Performed | Yes (true) | FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Public Organization170 | Yes (X) | PublicOrganization170Ind |
Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $44,040,628 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $58,170,830 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $28,357,037 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $19,115,992 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $21,375,859 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $171,060,346 | TotalAmt |
Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft170 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl170 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $44,040,628 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $58,170,830 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $28,357,037 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $19,115,992 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $21,375,859 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $171,060,346 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Substantial Contributors Tot | $0 | SubstantialContributorsTotAmt |
| Public Support Total170 | $171,060,346 | PublicSupportTotal170Amt |
Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $29,997 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $26,970 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $37,601 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $248,515 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $286,171 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $629,254 | TotalAmt |
Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Current Tax Year Minus4 Years | $0 | CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus3 Years | $0 | CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus2 Years | $0 | CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt |
| Current Tax Year Minus1 Year | $0 | CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt |
| Current Tax Year | $0 | CurrentTaxYearAmt |
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Support | $171,689,600 | TotalSupportAmt |
| Gross Receipts Rltd Activities | $29,992,117 | GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt |
| Public Support CY170 | 0.9963 | PublicSupportCY170Pct |
| Public Support PY170 | 0.998 | PublicSupportPY170Pct |
| Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170 | Yes (X) | ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,680,457 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $1,680,457 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $40,434,437 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $6,584,384 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $33,850,053 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,932,899 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $314,755 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $1,618,144 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $874,732 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $142,442 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $732,290 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $37,880,944 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $32,083,997 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | $377,123 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Donated Services And Use Fclts | $132,853 | DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt |
| Other Revenue | $227,310 | OtherRevenueAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $737,286 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $31,346,711 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | $0 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $0 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $31,346,711 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $30,457,484 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Donated Services Use Fclts | $132,853 | DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $227,310 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $360,163 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $30,097,321 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Other Expenses Not Included | $0 | OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $0 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $30,097,321 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Schedule D, Part XI, Line 2(d) Other revenues in audited financial statements not in form 990 | Special Events Expenses - 227310 |
| Schedule D, Part XII, Line 2(d) Other expenses in audited financial statements not in form 990 | Special Events Expenses - 227310 |
Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG
Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Event1 | Rajun Cajun Crawfish Festival/Golf Tournament | Event1Nm |
| Gross Receipts Event1 | $209,476 | GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt |
| Charitable Contri Event1 | $209,476 | CharitableContriEvent1Amt |
| Gross Revenue Event1 | $0 | GrossRevenueEvent1Amt |
| Cash Prizes Event1 | $1,000 | CashPrizesEvent1Amt |
| Rent Facility Costs Event1 | $22,186 | RentFacilityCostsEvent1Amt |
| Food And Beverage Event1 | $74,150 | FoodAndBeverageEvent1Amt |
| Entertainment Event1 | $8,000 | EntertainmentEvent1Amt |
| Other Direct Expenses Event1 | $59,220 | OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt |
| Event2 | Reindeer Rockout | Event2Nm |
| Gross Receipts Event2 | $94,079 | GrossReceiptsEvent2Amt |
| Charitable Contri Event2 | $94,079 | CharitableContriEvent2Amt |
| Gross Revenue Event2 | $0 | GrossRevenueEvent2Amt |
| Rent Facility Costs Event2 | $23,625 | RentFacilityCostsEvent2Amt |
| Food And Beverage Event2 | $2,231 | FoodAndBeverageEvent2Amt |
| Entertainment Event2 | $3,750 | EntertainmentEvent2Amt |
| Other Direct Expenses Event2 | $107 | OtherDirectExpensesEvent2Amt |
| Other Events Total | 2 | OtherEventsTotalCnt |
| Gross Receipts Other Events | $74,999 | GrossReceiptsOtherEventsAmt |
| Charitable Contri Other Events | $74,999 | CharitableContriOtherEventsAmt |
| Gross Revenue Other Events | $0 | GrossRevenueOtherEventsAmt |
| Non Cash Prizes Other Events | $1,540 | NonCashPrizesOtherEventsAmt |
| Rent Fclty Costs Other Events | $10,000 | RentFcltyCostsOtherEventsAmt |
| Food And Beverage Other Events | $19,698 | FoodAndBeverageOtherEventsAmt |
| Oth Direct Expnss Other Events | $1,803 | OthDirectExpnssOtherEventsAmt |
| Gross Receipts Total | $378,554 | GrossReceiptsTotalAmt |
| Charitable Contributions Tot | $378,554 | CharitableContributionsTotAmt |
| Gross Revenue Total Events | $0 | GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt |
| Cash Prizes Total Events | $1,000 | CashPrizesTotalEventsAmt |
| Non Cash Prizes Total Events | $1,540 | NonCashPrizesTotalEventsAmt |
| Rent Fclty Costs Total Events | $55,811 | RentFcltyCostsTotalEventsAmt |
| Food And Beverage Total Events | $96,079 | FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt |
| Entertainment Total Events | $11,750 | EntertainmentTotalEventsAmt |
| Oth Direct Expnss Total Events | $61,130 | OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt |
| Direct Expense Summary Events | $227,310 | DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt |
| Net Income Summary | -$227,310 | NetIncomeSummaryAmt |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (true) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (6 entries)
| Grant TypeGrantTypeTxt | RecipientRecipientCnt | Cash GrantCashGrantAmt |
|---|---|---|
| Stipends paid to foster parents | 25 | $649,484 |
| Stipends paid to foster grandparents | 112 | $415,494 |
| Stipends paid to AmeriCorps volunteers | 53 | $370,997 |
| Stipends paid to AmeriCorps Workforce Development | 28 | $174,169 |
| Assistance to needy individuals | 132 | $71,310 |
| Cornerstone Program | 191 | $20,880 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Schedule I, Part III, Column (b) Estimated Number Of Recipients | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | Cornerstone Program : Assistance to pregnant mothers and parenting families. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Independent Consultant | Yes (X) | IndependentConsultantInd |
| Form990 Of Other Organizations | Yes (X) | Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | false | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | false | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | false | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | false | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | false | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | false | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | false | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | false | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | false | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (3 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sean Lee | ||||||||||||||
| President | $239,864 | $0 | $5,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $47,673 | $0 | $25,003 | $0 | $317,540 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Paul Makris | ||||||||||||||
| Chief Financial Officer | $146,885 | $0 | $3,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $25,003 | $0 | $174,888 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| Karen Harrell | ||||||||||||||
| Senior Vice President | $144,605 | $0 | $4,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $4,785 | $0 | $25,003 | $0 | $178,393 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM
Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Non Cash Checkbox | Yes (X) | NonCashCheckboxInd |
| Contribution | 52 | ContributionCnt |
| Noncash Contributions Rpt F990 | $5,932 | NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt |
| Method Of Determining Revenues | Market value | MethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt |
Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp (2 entries)
| Non Cash CheckboxNonCashCheckboxInd | DescDesc | ContributionContributionCnt | Noncash Contributions Rpt F990NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt | Method Of Determining RevenuesMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Yes (X) | Goods, Facilities and Equipment | 1 | $3,080,958 | Market value |
| Yes (X) | Toys from toy drive | 1 | $200,000 | Cost |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form8283 Received | 0 | Form8283ReceivedCnt |
| Any Property That Must Be Held | false | AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd |
| Review Process Unusual NC Gifts | false | ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd |
| Third Parties Used | false | ThirdPartiesUsedInd |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Schedule M, Part I Explanations of reporting method for number of contributions | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | Securities - Publicly traded - 52 shares Novo Nordisk A/S Other - Toys from toy drive The organization received various donations of toys from their annual toy drive. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Form 990, Part III, Line 4d Description of other program services | (Expenses $ 8,800,143 including grants of $)(Revenue $ 10,360,960) Porter-Leath continued to thrive in its 174th year of service to Memphis and Shelby County, Tennessee, with services reaching over 40,500 families in the last year. - Connections - Utilizes a trauma-informed universal approach addressing trauma, traumatic stress and related issues by promoting resilience to children throughout its foster care and residential programs. - Cornerstone - Gives newborns and preschool children the best start in life by helping pregnant mothers and parenting families in their homes, thereby reducing infant mortality and improving literacy and language skills. The National Parents as Teachers organization named Porter-Leath's Cornerstone early childhood home visitation program an exemplary Blue Ribbon Affiliate, delivering high-quality services to children and families. Cornerstone provides pregnant mothers as well as families of children from birth to age 5 with all of the proper tools necessary for positive child development. - Books From Birth - Promotes kindergarten readiness and strengthens family bonds in Shelby County by providing age-appropriate books for all children from birth to age five. Independent research affirmed Porter-Leath's earliest intervention strategy by concluding that students who receive 25-54 books from ages 0-5 from Porter-Leath's Books from Birth program had higher standardized test results, higher letter grades, and fewer behavior cases in the first through fifth grades than those who received fewer or no books. Books from Birth, the largest affiliate of The Dolly Parton Imagination Library in the United States, distributes 35,000 books per month to children ages 0-5 in Shelby County, Tennessee. - Early Success Coalition - Improving the lives of children by working to strengthen the network of caregivers and providers that serve these children. - Generations - To provide older Americans an opportunity to make a difference in the lives of disadvantaged children and young adults. - Teacher Excellence Program - Uses intentionally designed and data-informed professional development to prepare teachers to engage in high-quality, effective practices, thereby strengthening the knowledge and skill sets of early childhood educators, resulting in improved educational outcomes for children. Additional program and operating achievements include: - Porter-Leath was reaccredited by the Council on Accreditation, an independent, objective, and reliable verification that organizations and programs qualify for the confidence and support of their stakeholders. It involves a detailed review and analysis of an organization's or program's administrative functions and service delivery practices. All are measured against international standards of best practice. - Porter-Leathwas recognized with an MPACT Award from Slingshot Memphisfor being one of the top five most effective poverty-fighting organizations in Memphis. Slingshot partners with nonprofits to evaluate, improve best practices and financially support organizations working with families in Memphis. Over the last six years, Porter-Leath has consistently received high marks across their four evaluation domains: Cost/Benefit, Systems Change, Use of Best Practices and Measurement Infrastructure. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b Review of form 990 by governing body | A) Working with the agency's auditors, the president and CFO will submit the draft form 990 for review by the audit committee as soon as possible after the end of the fiscal year, but in any event prior to filing with the internal revenue service (IRS). Along with the draft form 990, the CFO and president will work with the audit committee to review the executive review guidelines for the IRS form 990, and to complete the form 990 executive review checklist, both of which are helpful in assisting to review the 990 for accuracy and completeness. B) After review by the audit committee, the president will distribute a copy of the form 990 to the full board prior to filing with the IRS. C) The president will cause Porter-Leath to file an annual form 990 that is accurate, complete, timely, and in compliance with regulatory requirements by the statutory filing date, without extension to the extent possible. D) The president will cause Porter-Leath to disclose to the general public, through its website, the form 990 and the agency's audited financial statements as soon as reasonably practicable after the reports are completed and the audited financial statements are available. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c Conflict of interest policy | ANNUALLY, THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IS REVIEWED AND READOPTED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS. A DISCLOSURE FORM IS COMPLETED BY THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEMBERS AND KEY STAFF ANNUALLY FOLLOWING THIS BOARD REVIEW. FORMS ARE REVIEWED BY THE BOARD CHAIR AND PRESIDENT FOR CONFLICTS SO MEMBERS AND KEY STAFF MAINTAIN THE PLEDGE MADE IN THEIR DISCLOSURE FORM. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 15a Process to establish compensation of top management official | The Board of Directors has delegated the responsibility of setting the President's salary to a Committee that includes the Immediate Past Chair, the Current Chair and the Vice Chair of the Board ("Committee"). Each year, the Committee evaluates the President on his/her performance, and asks for his/her input on matters of performance and compensation. Board Approval. The Committee will obtain research and information and approve compensation (salary and benefits) of the President based on a review of comparability data. For example, the Committee will secure data that documents compensation levels and benefits for similarly qualified individuals in comparable positions at similar agencies. This data may include the following: 1) Salary and benefit compensation studies by independent sources; 2) Written job offers for positions at similar agencies; 3) Documented telephone calls about similar positions at both nonprofit and for-profit agencies; 4) Information obtained from the IRS Form 990 filings of similar agencies. Concurrent Documentation. To approve the compensation for the President, the Committee must document how it reached its decisions, including the data on which it relied, in minutes of the meeting during which the compensation was approved. Documentation will include: 1) A description of the compensation and benefits and the date it was approved; 2) The members of the Committee who were present during the discussion about compensation and benefits, and the results of the vote; 3) A description of the comparability data relied upon and how the data was obtained; and 4) Any actions taken (such as abstaining from discussion and vote) with respect to consideration of the compensation by anyone who is otherwise a member of the board but who had a conflict of interest with respect to the decision on the compensation and benefits. Independence in Setting Compensation. The Chair of the Board of Directors, who is a volunteer and not compensated by the Nonprofit, will operate independently without undue influence from the President. No member of the Committee will be a staff member, the relative of a staff member, or have any relationship with staff that could present a conflict of interest. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 19 Required documents available to the public | The organization makes its governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements available to the public upon request. |