FURP.ORG / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

CREDIT UNIONS CHARTERED IN THE STATE OF MICHIGAN: Form 990, tax year 2017

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
CREDIT UNIONS CHARTERED IN THE STATE OF MICHIGAN (EIN 38-0893210)
Tax period
2017-01-01 to 2017-12-31
Filed
2018-10-03
IRS object ID
201822769349301122
Schema version
2017v2.3
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-10-03T14:14:59-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN382492570PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DOEREN MAYHEWBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1305 WEST BIG BEAVER ROADAddressLine1Txt
CityTROYCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48084ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2017-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN380893210EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1LAFCUBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlLAFCBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5176226600PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1106 N MARKETPLACE BOULEVARDAddressLine1Txt
CityLANSINGCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48917ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonPATRICK SPYKEPersonNm
Person TitleCEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone5176226600PhoneNum
Signature2018-10-02SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonROBERT PARKS CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00740435PTIN
Phone2482443000PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2017TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerPATRICK SPYKEPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1106 N MARKETPLACE BOULEVARDAddressLine1Txt
CityLANSINGCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48917ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$34,269,343GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.LAFCU.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1936FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMILegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionCOOPERATIVE FINANCIAL INSTITUTION - CREDIT UNION PROVIDING LOANS AND SAVINGS PRODUCTS AND SERVICES TO MEMBERS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body7VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent7VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee175TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers18TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$93,550TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm-$1,285NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$28,875,087PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$29,458,032CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$2,455,059PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$3,317,142CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$1,518,757PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$989,329CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$32,848,903PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$33,764,503CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$20,000CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$13,616,041PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$14,131,245CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$16,643,391PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$16,613,682CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$30,259,432PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$30,764,927CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$2,589,471PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,999,576CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$631,710,317TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$644,654,560TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$560,085,303TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$570,875,044TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$71,625,014NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$73,779,516NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionWHILE PROMOTING THE CREDIT UNION PHILOSOPHY, WE ARE COMMITTED TO PROVIDING FINANCIAL SERVICES FOR THE CHANGING NEEDS OF OUR MEMBERS AND HELPING THEM OBTAIN PERSONAL FINANCIAL SECURITY.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescSAVINGS PRODUCTS - PRIMARY MEMBER SERVICE STAFF/50% BRANCH OPERATIONS/CONTACT CENTER.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescLENDING PRODUCTS - LOAN STAFFING AND SUPPORT SERVICES, COLLECTION STAFFING.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescCASH OPERATIONS - 50% BRANCH OPERATIONS, SUPPORT SERVICES - ACCOUNTING.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document12791IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee175EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members7GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member7IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body0Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1TOM MARTINSONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone5176226600PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1106 N MARKETPLACE BOULEVARDAddressLine1Txt
CityLANSINGCityNm
State AbbreviationMIStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP48917ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (14 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
HAROLD FOSTER
BOARD PRESIDENT3.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MELVIN PLACE
BOARD VICE-PRESIDENT3.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JERE AUVENSHINE
BOARD MEMBER3.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TOM MARTINSON
BOARD TREASURER3.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TOM CULPEPPER
BOARD SECRETARY3.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RANDY FREEMAN
BOARD MEMBER3.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PAULETTE WARREN
BOARD MEMBER3.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PATRICK SPYKE
CEO40.00$324,804$0$61,666Yes (X)
TAMELA MCPHERSON
CFO40.00$153,018$0$21,793Yes (X)
BRIAN WIXSON
CIO40.00$138,180$0$40,083Yes (X)
DONALD KILLIAN
CONTROLLER40.00$126,895$0$38,871Yes (X)
SHARON GILLISON
SVP-HUMAN RESOURCES40.00$130,772$0$25,025Yes (X)
KELLI ETCHISON
SVP-MARKETING40.00$111,198$0$32,460Yes (X)
MICHAEL SHUPE
CLO40.00$138,927$0$22,009Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,123,794TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$241,907TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K10IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
CU COOPERATIVE SYSTEMS INC
9692 HAVEN AVERANCHO CUCAMONGACA91730ATM & CARD PROCESSING$1,094,947
SMITH AND JOHNSON ATTORNEY
PO BOX 705TRAVERSE CITYMI49685LEGAL SERVICES$627,133
INFORMA BUSINESS SYSTEMS
5170 HARTSHORN DRIVEFLUSHINGMI48433ITM & ATM SALES AND SERVICE$533,619
INTELLIGENT DOCUMENT SOLUTIONS
747 E WHITCOMB AVEMADISON HEIGHTSMI48071STATEMENT SERVICES$230,531
DIEBOLD
PO BOX 643543PITTSBURGPA15264ATM SERVICES$165,469
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K13CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
LOAN INCOME522100$18,903,666$18,903,666
FEE INCOME522100$10,554,366$10,554,366
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$29,458,032TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,339,460TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$3,339,460ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$482,522OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$504,840OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other-$22,318OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$22,318TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$22,318RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
EQUITY IN EARNINGS OF CUSO'S522100$895,779$895,779
NON-MEMBER ATM FEE INCOME525990$93,550$93,550
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$989,329OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$33,764,503TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$30,331,493RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$93,550UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$3,339,460ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,000TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,000TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$561,281TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,396,713TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,038,266TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,354,519TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$780,466TotalAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$31,958TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$225,569TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$204,436TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$107,100TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$923,610TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,338,700TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,260,263TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$673,793TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$215,973TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$17,992TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,333,213TotalAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$58,084TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,260,542TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$131,184TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PROVISION FOR LOAN LOSS$2,600,000
DEBIT AND CREDIT CARD E$2,084,265
MAINTENANCE$1,260,648
LOAN SERVICING EXPENSE$1,003,836

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$882,516TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$30,764,927TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,074,755BOYAmt
EOY$10,746,213EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$34,335,419BOYAmt
EOY$23,593,481EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$370,121BOYAmt
EOY-$455,041EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$374,899,151BOYAmt
EOY$408,592,510EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,233,282BOYAmt
EOY$1,075,298EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$32,871,213LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$12,228,022LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,410,792BOYAmt
EOY$20,643,191EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$152,465,125BOYAmt
EOY$124,773,261EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,312,500BOYAmt
EOY$30,647,936EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$24,609,172BOYAmt
EOY$25,037,711EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$631,710,317BOYAmt
EOY$644,654,560EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,121,327BOYAmt
EOY$10,583,922EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$550,963,976BOYAmt
EOY$560,291,122EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$560,085,303BOYAmt
EOY$570,875,044EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$71,625,014BOYAmt
EOY$73,779,516EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$71,625,014BOYAmt
EOY$73,779,516EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$631,710,317BOYAmt
EOY$644,654,560EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,999,576ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$322,827NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$522,247OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,709,806OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$3,709,806BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$19,476,941OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$5,082,753DepreciationAmt
Book Value$14,394,188BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$9,684,466OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$7,145,269DepreciationAmt
Book Value$2,539,197BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$20,643,191TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescMEMBERS' SHARESDesc
Amt$560,291,122Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$560,291,122TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$33,764,503TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$33,764,503RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$33,764,503TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$30,764,927TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$30,764,927ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$30,764,927TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART X, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT, BY STATUTE, FROM FEDERAL AND STATE INCOME TAXES. THE CREDIT UNION IS A STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNION DESCRIBED IN INTERNAL REVENUE CODE (IRC) SECTION 501(C)(14). AS SUCH, THE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL TAXATION OF INCOME DERIVED FROM THE PERFORMANCE OF ACTIVITIES THAT ARE IN FURTHERANCE OF ITS EXEMPT PURPOSES. HOWEVER, IRC SECTION 511 IMPOSES A TAX ON THE UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME (AS DEFINED IN SECTION 512) DERIVED BY STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS. MANY STATES HAVE SIMILAR LAWS. THE SPECIFIC APPLICATION OF SECTION 512 TO THE VARIOUS ACTIVITIES CONDUCTED BY STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS HAS BEEN AN ISSUE FOR MANY YEARS. IN 2007, THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE (IRS) ISSUED A SERIES OF TECHNICAL ADVICE MEMORANDA (TAM) TO A NUMBER OF STATE-CHARTERED CREDIT UNIONS LOCATED THROUGHOUT THE COUNTRY. IN THESE TAMS, THE IRS RULED CERTAIN PRODUCTS AND SERVICES TO BE SUBJECT TO TAXATION AS UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME. IN LIGHT OF THE TAMS, THE CREDIT UNION HAS ASSESSED ITS ACTIVITIES AND ANY POTENTIAL FEDERAL OR STATE INCOME TAX LIABILITY. IN THE OPINION OF MANAGEMENT, ANY LIABILITY ARISING FROM FEDERAL OR STATE TAXATION OF ACTIVITIES DEEMED TO BE UNRELATED TO ITS EXEMPT PURPOSE IS NOT EXPECTED TO HAVE A MATERIAL EFFECT ON THE CREDIT UNION'S FINANCIAL CONDITION OR RESULTS OF OPERATIONS. THE CREDIT UNION REMAINS SUBJECT TO EXAMINATION FOR INCOME TAX RETURNS FOR YEARS ENDED AFTER DECEMBER 31, 2014.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (6 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
PATRICK SPYKE
CEO$310,634$0$14,170$0$0$0$44,959$0$16,707$0$386,470$0$0$0
TAMELA MCPHERSON
CFO$145,758$0$7,260$0$0$0$21,793$0$0$0$174,811$0$0$0
BRIAN WIXSON
CIO$131,332$0$6,848$0$0$0$19,443$0$20,640$0$178,263$0$0$0
DONALD KILLIAN
CONTROLLER$120,580$0$6,315$0$0$0$18,231$0$20,640$0$165,766$0$0$0
SHARON GILLISON
SVP-HUMAN RESOURCES$124,214$0$6,558$0$0$0$17,879$0$7,146$0$155,797$0$0$0
MICHAEL SHUPE
CLO$138,927$0$0$0$0$0$2,603$0$19,406$0$160,936$0$0$0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6ALL ACCOUNT HOLDERS ARE REFERRED TO AS MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE CREDIT UNION MEMBERSHIP ELECTS THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS WHICH GOVERN THE OPERATIONS OF THE CREDIT UNION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BMEMBERS OF THE CREDIT UNION HAVE THE RIGHT TO APPROVE THE GOVERNING BODY'S ELECTION AND REMOVAL OF MEMBERS OF THE GOVERNING BODY, AS WELL AS OTHER MATTERS THAT ARE SUBJECT TO THE APPROVAL OF MEMBERS OF THE CREDIT UNION AS THEY OCCUR.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE CEO AND CFO WILL REVIEW THE 990 PRIOR TO FILING.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CANNUAL DISCLOSURE STATEMENTS ARE COMPLETED.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15AN INDEPENDENT COMPENSATION DATABASE IS USED COMPRISED OF SALARY COMPARISONS THROUGHOUT THE REGION OF SIMILARLY ASSET SIZED FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS. PRO RATIO MEASURES ARE COMPARED TO MARKET TO DETERMINE WHERE CURRENT SALARIES ALIGN. RECOMMENDATIONS FOR SALARY ADJUSTMENTS ARE MADE BY HR TO THE APPROPRIATE DECISION MAKERS, BASED ON WHERE THE SALARY ALIGNS AND PERFORMANCE EVALUATION OF THE INDIVIDUAL FROM THE SUPERVISOR.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. THE GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AND CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY ARE NOT MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:NET UNREALIZED LOSSES ON POSTRETIREMENT BENEFITS -370,162. RECLASSIFICATION ADJUST. FOR PENSION AMORT. CREDIT INCLUDED IN NET EARNINGS -152,085.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C:THE ORGANIZATION HAS A COMMITTEE THAT ASSUMES RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE OVERSIGHT OF THE AUDIT OF ITS FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND THE SELECTION OF AN INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTANT. THIS PROCESS HAS NOT CHANGED FROM PREVIOUS YEARS.