LEXINGTON RETIREMENT COMMUNITY INC: Form 990, tax year 2017

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
LEXINGTON RETIREMENT COMMUNITY INC (EIN 54-1795871)
Tax period
2017-01-01 to 2017-12-31
Filed
2018-06-01
IRS object ID
201821529349300712
Schema version
2017v2.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-06-01T10:23:21-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN410746749PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CLIFTONLARSONALLEN LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1610 W GERMANTOWN PIKE STE 400AddressLine1Txt
CityPLYMOUTH MEETINGCityNm
State AbbreviationPAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP19462ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2017-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN541795871EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1LEXINGTON RETIREMENT COMMUNITY INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlLEXIBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5404642604PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1160 KENDAL DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityLEXINGTONCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP24450ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMINA K TEPPERPersonNm
Person TitleEXECUTIVE DIRECTOR/CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone5404642604PhoneNum
Signature2018-05-31SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonJOHN A NORMAN IIPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00229258PTIN
Phone2156433900PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2017TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Doing Business As Name DoingBusinessAsName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KENDAL AT LEXINGTONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerROBERT B GLIDDENPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1160 KENDAL DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityLEXINGTONCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP24450ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$17,392,558GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.KALEX.KENDAL.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1995FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateVALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionPROVIDE SERVICES FOR OLDER PEOPLE LIVING RESIDENTIALLY, IN ASSISTED LIVING & SKILLED NURSING.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body17VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent12VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee231TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers50TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$833,549PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$1,017,840CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$14,821,046PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$15,310,828CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$776,310PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$626,391CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$327,578PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$396,865CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$16,758,483PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$17,351,924CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$13,200PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$66,308CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$6,640,469PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$6,757,155CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$6,317CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$8,195,533PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$7,402,430CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$14,849,202PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$14,225,893CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$1,909,281PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$3,126,031CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$61,177,472TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$90,735,019TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$59,120,314TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$84,473,133TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$2,057,158NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$6,261,886NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionKENDAL AT LEXINGTON, A CHARITABLE NOT-FOR-PROFIT CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITY, WAS ESTABLISHED TO SERVE A DIVERSE POPULATION OF OLDER ADULTS FROM THE LOCAL COMMUNITY AND BEYOND, BY PROVIDING SERVICES DESIGNED TO PROMOTE AND SUPPORT SUCCESSFUL AGING.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$10,535,125ExpenseAmt
Grant$66,308GrantAmt
Revenue$15,582,748RevenueAmt
DescLEXINGTON RETIREMENT COMMUNITY, INC. OWNS AND OPERATES A CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITY WHICH CURRENTLY CONSISTS OF 120 INDEPENDENT LIVING RESIDENCES IN COTTAGES AND APARTMENTS, 20 ASSISTED LIVING APARTMENTS AND A 60 BED SKILLED NURSING FACILITY.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$10,535,125TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (1)CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (1)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document54IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee231EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members17GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member12IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body0Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldVAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Own WebsiteYes (X)OwnWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonFELICIA DIPRONIO BUSHPersonNm
Phone5404642604PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1160 KENDAL DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityLEXINGTONCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP24450ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (24 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
ROBERT B GLIDDEN
BOARD CHAIR10.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
LINDA WILDER
BOARD VICE CHAIR1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
BEATRIX RUMFORD
SECRETARY1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
PAMELA LUECKE
SECRETARY-RESIGNED1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES ADAMS
TREASURER1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARYLIN ALEXANDER
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
HARLAN BECKLEY
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHARLES F BROWER IV
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PRISCILLA BAKER
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRIAN CONNOLLY
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRUCE SUMMERS
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
WILLIAM RUSSELL
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CAROL WHEELER
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SARAH WIANT
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
FRANK FRIEDMAN
BOARD MEMBER-RESIGNED1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
J HARDIN MARION
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID ELLINGTON
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN PAGE
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHRISTOPHER RUSSELL
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOAN ROBINS
BOARD MEMBER-RESIGNED1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MINA K TEPPER
EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR/CEO50.00Yes (X)$204,162$0$33,890
FELICIA DIPRONIO BUSH
CFO50.00Yes (X)$105,193$0$16,992
CHARLOTTE SIBOLD
HEALTH SERVICES ADMINISTRA50.00$107,841$0$20,971Yes (X)
DEBORAH CURRY-LEE
DIRECTOR OF NURSING50.00$102,045$0$17,944Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$519,241TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$89,797TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K4IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
SPECTRUM DESIGN PC
10 CHURCH AVE SE PLAZA SUITE 1ROANOKEVA24011ARCHITECTURAL SERVICES$1,080,836
SELECT REHABILITATION INC
PO BOX 809056CHICAGOIL60680THERAPY SERVICES$665,408
BC ZIEGLER & COMPANY
200 S WACKER DRIVE SUITE 2000CHICAGOIL60601INVESTMENT UNDERWRITER$227,747
COREBTS
4419 SOLUTIONS CENTERCHICAGOIL60677COMPUTER CONSULTING & INSTALLATION OF HA$197,484
JD'S CUSTOM CABINET SHOP LLC
7279 LEXINGTON TURNPIKEVESUVIUSVA24483CUSTOM BUILT CABINETS$188,400
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K9CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
All Other Contributions$1,017,840AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$71,336NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$1,017,840TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
RESIDENTIAL SERVICES REVENUE623000$6,301,970$6,301,970
HEALTH CENTER FEES623000$6,145,133$6,145,133
AMORTIZATION OF DEFERRED ENTRY FE623000$2,863,725$2,863,725
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$15,310,828TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$628,483TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$628,483ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$67,810RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$67,810RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$67,810TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$67,810ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$38,542OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$946SecuritiesAmt
Other$39,688OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$946SecuritiesAmt
Other-$1,146OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$2,092TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$2,092ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FOOD SERVICES623000$166,764$166,764
ANCILLARY SERVICES623000$105,156$105,156

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$57,135TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$57,135ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$329,055OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$17,351,924TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$15,582,748RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$751,336ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$50,000TotalAmt
Program Services$50,000ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$16,308TotalAmt
Program Services$16,308ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$360,237TotalAmt
Management And General$360,237ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,833,578TotalAmt
Program Services$4,372,674ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$456,995ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$3,909FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$256,169TotalAmt
Program Services$242,368ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$13,801ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$943,317TotalAmt
Program Services$821,541ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$121,776ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$363,854TotalAmt
Program Services$309,595ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$54,259ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,228TotalAmt
Management And General$8,228ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$127,313TotalAmt
Management And General$127,313ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,184,656TotalAmt
Program Services$977,260ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$207,396ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$89,671TotalAmt
Program Services$76,299ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$13,372ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,294,154TotalAmt
Program Services$1,100,698ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$192,906ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$550FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$162,428TotalAmt
Program Services$2,172ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$160,256ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$754,288TotalAmt
Program Services$641,806ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$112,482ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$35,156TotalAmt
Program Services$29,913ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,243ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$14,724TotalAmt
Program Services$11,773ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,063ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$888FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$885,769TotalAmt
Management And General$885,769ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$441,557TotalAmt
Management And General$441,557ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,095,330TotalAmt
Program Services$1,782,867ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$312,463ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$149,579TotalAmt
Management And General$149,579ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
PRINTING, BOOKS, & PERI$52,457$44,022$7,715$720
REPAIRS AND MAINTENANCE$42,594$36,242$6,352
BAD DEBT EXPENSE$41,256$41,256
DUES, LICENSES & FEES$14,625$12,231$2,144$250

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,645TotalAmt
Program Services$7,356ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,289ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$14,225,893TotalAmt
Program Services$10,535,125ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,684,451ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$6,317FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$886,720BOYAmt
EOY$403,840EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$494,275BOYAmt
EOY$526,823EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,306,523BOYAmt
EOY$1,484,315EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$270,132BOYAmt
EOY$751,255EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$58,436,909LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$23,967,088LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,395,490BOYAmt
EOY$34,469,821EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,286,119BOYAmt
EOY$17,026,064EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,538,213BOYAmt
EOY$36,072,901EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$61,177,472BOYAmt
EOY$90,735,019EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,133,844BOYAmt
EOY$2,133,355EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,227,487BOYAmt
EOY$30,433,242EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$29,373,992BOYAmt
EOY$49,433,695EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$359,300BOYAmt
EOY$1,438,220EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$25,691BOYAmt
EOY$1,034,621EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$59,120,314BOYAmt
EOY$84,473,133EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$111,224BOYAmt
EOY$3,688,984EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,661,580BOYAmt
EOY$2,288,548EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$284,354BOYAmt
EOY$284,354EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,057,158BOYAmt
EOY$6,261,886EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$61,177,472BOYAmt
EOY$90,735,019EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$3,126,031ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$1,076,812NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$1,885OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$60,745CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$122,234CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$163,476CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$833,549CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,017,840CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$2,197,844TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$13,747,615CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$14,859,704CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$15,003,712CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$15,047,829CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$15,582,748CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$74,241,608TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$13,808,360CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$14,981,938CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$15,167,188CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$15,881,378CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$16,600,588CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$76,439,452TotalAmt

Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$276,771CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$300,903CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$253,018CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$527,670CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$257,437CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,615,799TotalAmt

Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$276,771CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$300,903CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$253,018CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$527,670CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$257,437CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,615,799TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$74,823,653PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$434,532CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$433,208CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$439,971CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$564,910CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$696,293CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$2,568,914TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$434,532CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$433,208CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$439,971CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$564,910CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$696,293CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$2,568,914TotalAmt

Other Income509 OtherIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$60,906CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$46,796CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$32,021CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$36,439CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$57,135CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$233,297TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$14,303,798CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$15,461,942CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$15,639,180CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$16,482,727CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$17,354,016CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$79,241,663TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.94420PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.96060PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.03240InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.02950InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,193,886BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$514,362ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$158,790InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$1,867,038EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,132,991BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$5,072ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$55,823InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$1,193,886EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,119,769BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,232ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$11,990InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$1,132,991EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,063,529BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$6,028ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$50,212InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$1,119,769EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$938,066BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$15,205ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$110,258InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$1,063,529EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.76370BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.15230PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.08400TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$824,971OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$824,971BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$53,158,243OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$20,499,571DepreciationAmt
Book Value$32,658,672BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,453,695OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,467,517DepreciationAmt
Book Value$986,178BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$34,469,821TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
ASSETS LIMITED AS TO USE$32,162,733
DEFERRED MARKETING COSTS$355,507
CONSTRUCTION IN PROGRESS$3,017,411
INSURANCE DEPOSITS$537,250
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$36,072,901TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
DUE TO AFFILIATE$3,701
CURRENT PORTION OF LONG-TERM DEBT$1,010,000
ENTRY FEE REFUND PAYABLE$20,920
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,034,621TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$18,414,313TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$1,076,812NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$1,885OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$1,078,697RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$17,335,616RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$16,308OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$16,308RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$17,351,924TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$14,209,585TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$14,209,585ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$16,308OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$16,308ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$14,225,893TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART IV, LINE 2B:REPRESENTS RESERVATION DEPOSITS BY PROSPECTIVE RESIDENTS THAT ARE HELD IN ESCROW.
PART V, LINE 4:THERE ARE TWO DONOR RESTRICTED PERMANENT ENDOWMENTS TOTALING $284,354. ONE IS TO BE USED FOR THE FELLOWSHIP FUND. THE FELLOWSHIP FUND PROVIDES FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE TO RESIDENTS THAT HAVE OUTLIVED THEIR ASSETS AND NEED ASSISTANCE PAYING THEIR MONTHLY FEE OR NEED ASSISTANCE PAYING THE INITIAL ENTRY FEE INTO THE COMMUNITY. THE SECOND DONOR RESTRICTED ENDOWMENT IS FOR EMPLOYEE EDUCATION AND DEVELOPMENT. THERE ARE FIVE BOARD DESIGNATED ENDOWMENTS (QUASI-ENDOWMENT) TOTALING $1,425,931. FIRST, DOES NOT HAVE A STATED PURPOSE AT THIS TIME ($286,126); THE 2ND IS FOR THE FELLOWSHIP FUND ($198,508), THE 3RD IS FOR EMPLOYEE EDUCATION AND DEVELOPMENT ($73,734), THE 4TH IS FOR OUTDOOR LANDSCAPING IN ASSISTED LIVING (414,362), AND THE FINAL ONE IS FOR CAPITAL IMPROVEMENTS ($453,201).
PART X, LINE 2:THE CORPORATION HAS BEEN GRANTED EXEMPT STATUS RELATIVE TO FEDERAL AND STATE CORPORATE INCOME TAXES UNDER SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE AND APPLICABLE STATE CODES. THE CORPORATION FOLLOWS THE GUIDANCE IN THE INCOME TAX STANDARD REGARDING THE RECOGNITION AND MEASUREMENT OF UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS. THE GUIDANCE CLARIFIES THE ACCOUNTING FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES RECOGNIZED IN AN ENTITY'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE GUIDANCE FURTHER PRESCRIBES RECOGNITION AND MEASUREMENT OF TAX PROVISIONS TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN ON A TAX RETURN THAT ARE NOT CERTAIN TO BE REALIZED. THE APPLICATION OF THIS STANDARD HAS NO IMPACT ON THE CORPORATION'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:CHANGE IN BENEFICIAL INTEREST IN CHARITABLE REMAINDER UNITRUST RECEIVABLE 1,885.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RESIDENTIAL ASSISTANCE GRANT-CONTRA REVENUE ACCOUNT ON THE FINANCIALS 16,308.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RESIDENTIAL ASSISTANCE GRANT-CONTRA REVENUE ACCOUNT ON THE FINANCIALS 16,308.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable

Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BARCLAY FRIENDSBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1700 NORTH FRANKLIN STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityWEST CHESTERCityNm
State AbbreviationPAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP19380ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Recipient EIN232088476RecipientEIN
IRC Section501(C)(3)IRCSectionDesc
Cash Grant$50,000CashGrantAmt
Valuation Method UsedFMVValuationMethodUsedDesc
Purpose Of GrantGIFT AFTER DEVASTATING FIRE AT COMMUNITY.PurposeOfGrantTxt

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeMONTHLY FEE ASSISTANCEGrantTypeTxt
Recipient1RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$16,308CashGrantAmt
Valuation Method UsedFMVValuationMethodUsedDesc
Non Cash AssistanceREDUCTION IN FEES BY WAY OF A CREDIT ON RESIDENT'S MONTHLY STATEMENT. NO CASH IS GIVEN TO THE RESIDENTS.NonCashAssistanceDesc

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationIF A RESIDENT REQUESTS ASSISTANCE FROM THE FELLOWSHIP FUND FOR MONTHLY FEE ASSISTANCE, A FINANCIAL APPLICATION MUST BE COMPLETED. IT IS COMPARED TO THEIR INITIAL APPLICATION COMPLETED PRIOR TO APPROVAL INTO THE COMMUNITY TO MAKE SURE THERE ARE NO DISCREPANCIES. THE REQUEST IS THEN BROUGHT TO THE FELLOWSHIP COMMITTEE WHICH CONSISTS OF INDEPENDENT MEMBERS OF THE BOARD EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE FOR APPROVAL. THE RESIDENT'S IDENTITY IS KEPT STRICTLY CONFIDENTIAL. THE 2017 GIFT TO BARCLAY FRIENDS WAS AN UNUSUAL TRANSACTION. DOCUMENTATION TO SUBSTANTIATE THE GIFT IS REFLECTED IN THE BOARD EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MINUTES AND THE BOARD OF DIRECTOR MINUTES.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMINA K TEPPERPersonNm
TitleEXECUTIVE DIRECTOR/CEOTitleTxt
Base Compensation Filing Org$196,427BaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Compensation Based On Rltd Orgs$0CompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt
Bonus Filing Organization$7,735BonusFilingOrganizationAmount
Bonus Related Organizations$0BonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt
Other Compensation Filing Org$0OtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Other Compensation Rltd Orgs$0OtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt
Deferred Compensation Flng Org$22,278DeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt
Deferred Comp Rltd Orgs$0DeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt
Nontaxable Benefits Filing Org$11,612NontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt
Nontaxable Benefits Rltd Orgs$0NontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt
Total Compensation Filing Org$238,052TotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Total Compensation Rltd Orgs$0TotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt
Comp Report Prior990 Filing Org$0CompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt
Comp Report Prior990 Rltd Orgs$0CompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 7FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationIN 2017, THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, CFO, ADMINISTRATOR, AND DIRECTOR OF NURSING RECEIVED BONUSES NOT BASED ON EARNINGS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINCUSIPCUSIPNumBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY OF THE CITY OF LEXINGTON VIRGINIA
A54600139252976BBY12016-10-05$29,975,790TO REFUND THE 2007 SERIES A IDA CITY LEXINGTON, VA BONDS000
INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY OF THE CITY OF LEXINGTON VIRGINIA
B54600139252976BCC82017-12-27$34,857,102TO RENOVATE HEALTH CENTERS & CONSTRUCTION OF 30 IL COTTAGES000

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIn Reserve FundInReserveFundAmtRefunding EscrowRefundingEscrowAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrCurrent RefundingCurrentRefundingIndAdvance RefundingAdvanceRefundingIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintIndCapitalized InterestCapitalizedInterestAmt
A$20,000$29,383,822$2,038,825$29,383,822$591,9672016Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)
B$34,857,102$1,009,755$191,9972019000Yes (1)$264,231

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
A000000Yes (1)
B000000Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
A0Yes (1)000000Yes (1)
B0Yes (1)00Yes (1)000Yes (1)

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (1)
BYes (1)

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution12ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$71,336NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFAIR MARKET VALUEMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, COLUMN (B):FormAndLineReferenceDesc
Explanation12 SECURITIES WERE DONATED FROM 8 DIFFERENT CONTRIBUTORS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 1THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE CONSISTS OF THE ELECTED OFFICERS OF THE CORPORATION, THE CHAIR OF THE BOARD DEVELOPMENT COMMITTEE, THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER/EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR, THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER, AND, UPON REQUEST OF THE CHAIR OF THE BOARD, AND IF WILLING TO SERVE, THE IMMEDIATE PAST CHAIR OF THE BOARD FOR A PERIOD NOT TO EXCEED ONE YEAR. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SHALL PREPARE BOARD MEETING AGENDAS, PLAN THE WORK OF THE BOARD, AND HELP THE BOARD ACCOMPLISH ITS WORK. IT SHALL MAKE DECISIONS ON BEHALF OF THE BOARD WHEN CIRCUMSTANCES REQUIRE A DECISION BETWEEN REGULAR MEETINGS OF THE BOARD, AND SHALL MAKE DECISIONS ON BEHALF OF THE BOARD WHEN THE BOARD DELEGATES TO THE COMMITTEE THE AUTHORITY TO DO SO. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE SHALL HAVE SUCH OTHER RESPONSIBILITIES AS ARE SPELLED OUT IN THE COMMITTEE DESCRIPTION APPROVED BY THE BOARD. THE BOARD WILL ENDEAVOR TO MAKE DECISIONS BY CONSENSUS, RATHER THAN BY VOTING, IN THE MANNER TRADITIONALLY USED FOR THE CONDUCT OF BUSINESS BY MEMBERS OF THE RELIGIOUS SOCIETY OF FRIENDS. EACH DIRECTOR SHALL BE ENTITLED TO ONE VOTE IN PERSON. VOTING BY PROXY SHALL NOT BE PERMITTED.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE BOARD OF DIRECTORS SHALL HAVE ALL POWERS AND AUTHORITY NECESSARY FOR THE MANAGEMENT OF THE BUSINESS OF THE CORPORATION, PROVIDED THAT THE CORPORATION SHALL SEEK AND MUST OBTAIN THE APPROVAL OF THE KENDAL CORPORATION BEFORE UNDERTAKING ANY OF THE FOLLOWING ACTIONS: (1) ANY CHANGE IN CORPORATE PURPOSES; (2) INCURRING INDEBTEDNESS WITH A PRINCIPAL AMOUNT HIGHER THAN THAT SPECIFIED IN THE AFFILIATION AGREEMENT; (3) THE MANNER IN WHICH THE CORPORATION USES THE NAME "KENDAL; (4) ANY MATERIAL CHANGE IN THE CONTRACT WHICH KENDAL AT LEXINGTON EXECUTES WITH ITS RESIDENTS; (5) THE PURCHASE, SALE, LEASE, ENCUMBRANCE, OR OTHER DISPOSITION OF ANY REAL ESTATE, OR IMPROVEMENTS THEREON, WITH A VALUE GREATER THAN THAT SPECIFIED IN THE AFFILIATION AGREEMENT; (6) DISSOLUTION, ACQUISITION BY ANOTHER ENTITY (WHETHER BY MERGER, ASSET SALE, CHANGE OF CONTROL, OR OTHERWISE), DIVISION, OR ACQUISITION OF ANOTHER ENTITY (WHETHER BY MERGER, ASSET SALE, CHANGE OF CONTROL, OR OTHERWISE); (7) THE SELECTION OF ANY NEW MEMBER OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF THE CORPORATION; AND (8) AMENDMENTS TO THE ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION OR THE VARIOUS SECTIONS OF THE BYLAWS OF THE CORPORATION
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE FORM 990 IS REVIEWED BY THE BOARD CHAIR AND BOARD EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE BEFORE IT IS DISTRIBUTED TO ALL BOARD MEMBERS. A COPY OF THE FORM 990 IS GIVEN TO EACH BOARD MEMBER PRIOR TO THE BOARD MEETING WHEN IT WILL BE APPROVED. THE COPY REVIEWED BY THE BOARD DOES NOT CONTAIN SCHEDULE B DUE TO THE DESIRED ANONYMITY OF DONORS. BOARD MEMBERS ARE ENCOURAGED TO REVIEW THE RETURN AND ASK QUESTIONS. AFTER APPROVAL BY THE BOARD, THE RETURN IS FILED WITH THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CANNUALLY ALL BOARD MEMBERS ARE GIVEN A COPY OF KENDAL AT LEXINGTON'S "POLICY REGARDING CONFLICTS OF INTEREST AND DISCLOSURE OF RELATED ACTIVITIES" TO REVIEW. THE POLICY OUTLINES THE GUIDING PRINCIPLES OF THE POLICY AND DISCLOSURE REQUIREMENTS. IN ADDITION, BOARD MEMBERS ARE REQUIRED TO COMPLETE THE ANNUAL CONFLICTS OF INTEREST AND DISCLOSURE OF RELATED ACTIVITIES STATEMENT. THE STATEMENT ASKS SPECIFIC QUESTIONS REGARDING CONFLICTS OF INTEREST. IF A CONFLICT EXISTS, BOARD MEMBERS ARE ASKED TO EXPLAIN THE SITUATION. THE STATEMENTS ARE REVIEWED AND ACTED UPON IF DEEMED APPROPRIATE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S COMPENSATION WAS DETERMINED AFTER AN ANNUAL EVALUATION WAS COMPLETED BY THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REVIEW COMMITTEE. THE COMMITTEE CONSISTED OF THE BOARD CHAIR AND TWO INDEPENDENT BOARD MEMBERS. INPUT FOR THE EVALUATION WAS OBTAINED FROM VARIOUS SOURCES, INCLUDING BUT NOT LIMITED TO, KENDAL AT LEXINGTON STAFF, KENDAL CORPORATION STAFF, BOARD MEMBERS AND RESIDENTS. EARNINGS FOR COMPARABLE POSITIONS IN THE MARKET AREA WERE OBTAINED AND USED TO SET COMPENSATION. 2017 WAS THE MOST RECENT YEAR IN WHICH THE PROCESS INCLUDED REVIEW AND APPROVAL BY INDEPENDENT PERSONS, COMPARABILITY DATA, AND CONTEMPORANEOUS SUBSTANTIATION OF THE DELIBERATION AND DECISION. COMPENSATION FOR OTHER OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES WAS DETERMINED BY THE EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR WITH INPUT FROM THE DIRECTOR OF HUMAN RESOURCES AND CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER. ANNUAL EVALUATIONS AND EARNINGS DATA FOR COMPARABLE POSITIONS IN THE MARKET AREA WERE USED TO SET COMPENSATION. THE THREE WAGE SURVEYS USED WERE: ERI - ECONOMIC RESEARCH INSTITUTE, VIRGINIA WORKFORCE CENTRAL VIRGINIA REGION, AND LEADING AGE. 2017 WAS THE MOST RECENT YEAR IN WHICH THE PROCESS INCLUDED REVIEW AND APPROVAL BY INDEPENDENT PERSONS, COMPARABILITY DATA, AND CONTEMPORANEOUS SUBSTANTIATION OF THE DELIBERATION AND DECISION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 18THE 2016 FORM 990 IS AVAILABLE ON KENDAL AT LEXINGTON WEBSITE. THE ORGANIZATION'S 990 IS ALSO AVAILABLE FOR PUBLIC INSPECTION UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE ORGANIZATION MAKES ITS FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST AND THEY CAN ALSO BE FOUND ON THE KENDAL AT LEXINGTON WEBSITE.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:CHANGE IN BENEFICIAL INTEREST IN CHARITABLE REMAINDER UNITRUST RECEIVABLES 1,885.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C:THE BOARD AUDIT AND OVERSIGHT COMMITTEE HAS RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE OVERSIGHT OF THE AUDIT PROCESS AND REVIEW OF THE AUDITED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (17 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtDirect Controlling NADirectControllingNACdControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationIndBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt
KENDAL AT OBERLIN
600 KENDAL DRIVEOBERLINOH44074341567246OPERATE CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITYOH501(C)(3)LINE 10N/A0
KENDAL AT ITHACA
2230 NORTH TRIPHAMMER ROADITHACANY14850521787487OPERATE CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITYNY501(C)(3)LINE 10N/A0
KENDAL AT HANOVER
80 LYME ROADHANOVERNH03755020519490OPERATE CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITYNH501(C)(3)LINE 10N/A0
BARCLAY FRIENDS
700 N FRANKLIN STREETWEST CHESTERPA19380232088476OPERATE SKILLED AND ASSISTED LIVING NURSING HOMEPA501(C)(3)LINE 10N/A0
THE KENDAL CORPORATION
1107 EAST BALTIMORE PIKEKENNETT SQUAREPA19348232688382DEVELOP AND PROVIDE ADMINISTRATION FOR CCRC'SPA501(C)(3)LINE 12C, III-FIN/A0
KENDAL CHARITABLE FUNDS
1107 EAST BALTIMORE PIKEKENNETT SQUAREPA19038232626425MANAGE CHARITABLE CONTRIBUTIONS TO PRIMARILY BENEFIT AFFILIATESPA501(C)(3)LINE 70THE KENDAL CORPORATION
KENDAL CROSSLANDS COMMUNITIES
PO BOX 100KENNETT SQUAREPA19038231906212OPERATE CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITYPA501(C)(3)LINE 10N/A0
KENDAL ON HUDSON
1010 KENDAL WAYSLEEPY HOLLOWNY10591133971396OPERATE CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITYNY501(C)(3)LINE 10N/A0
KENDAL AT GRANVILLE
2158 COLUMBUS ROADGRANVILLEOH43023311657346OPERATE CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITYOH501(C)(3)LINE 10N/A0
THE LATHROP COMMUNITIES
100 BASSETT BROOK DRIVEEASTHAMPTONMA01027042996627OPERATE OVER 55 COMMUNITYMA501(C)(3)LINE 10N/A0
KENDAL NEW YORK
1010 KENDAL WAYSLEEPY HOLLOWNY10591061656576PROVIDE SUPPORT SERVICES IN OPERATION OF KENDAL ON HUDSON & KENDAL AT ITHACANY501(C)(3)LINE 12A, I0THE KENDAL CORPORATION
KENDAL AT HOME
27519 DETROIT ROADWESTLAKEOH44145200548053OPERATE CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT PROGRAMOH501(C)(3)LINE 10N/A0
COLLINGTON EPISCOPAL LIFECARE COMMUNITY INC
10450 LOTTSFORD ROADMITCHELLVILLEMD20721521281156OPERATE CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITYMD501(C)(3)LINE 10N/A0
THE ADMIRAL AT THE LAKE
929 WEST FOSTER AVECHICAGOIL60640362171730OPERATE CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITYIL501(C)(3)LINE 10N/A0
CHANDLER HALL HEALTH SERVICES INC
99 BARCLAY STREETNEWTOWNPA18940232365124OPERATE CONTINUING CARE RETIREMENT COMMUNITYPA501(C)(3)LINE 10N/A0
KENDAL NORTHERN OHIO
600 KENDAL DRIVEOBERLINOH44074200548053PROVIDE SUPPORT SERVICES TO KENDAL CCRCS IN OHOH501(C)(3)LINE 12C, III-FIN/A0
KENDAL AGING
300 PAGE STREETSAN FRANCISCOCA94102823361136PROVIDE SUPPORT SERVICES IN THE OPERATION OF KENDAL AT SONOMACA501(C)(3)LINE 12C, III-FI0THE KENDAL CORPORATION
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgYes (1)PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.