ST VINCENTS FOUNDATION OF ALABAMA INC: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
ST VINCENTS FOUNDATION OF ALABAMA INC (EIN 63-0868066)
Tax period
2016-07-01 to 2017-06-30
Filed
2018-05-09
IRS object ID
201821299349302602
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-05-09T14:13:29-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN630868066EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1St Vincent's Foundation of Alabama IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSTVIBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone3147338000PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11 Medical Park East DriveAddressLine1Txt
CityBirminghamCityNm
State AbbreviationALStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP35235ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonTonya MershonPersonNm
Person TitleTax OfficerPersonTitleTxt
Signature2017-09-22SignatureDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Principal Ofcr Business Name PrincipalOfcrBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1JASON ALEXANDERBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1810 ST VINCENTS DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityBirminghamCityNm
State AbbreviationALStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP35205ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$16,343,334GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Group Exemption0928GroupExemptionNum
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.stvhs.comWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1984FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateALLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTo administer charitable contributions for St. Vincent's Health System.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body20VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent17VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee12TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers34TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$3,831,411PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$12,167,686CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$210,795PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$215,012CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$111,706PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$536,559CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$196,619PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$237,131CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$4,350,531PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$13,156,388CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$1,313,731PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$13,778,164CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$932,787PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$853,712CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$74,717CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$471,096PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$686,512CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$2,717,614PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$15,318,388CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$1,632,917PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$2,162,000CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$23,009,852TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$22,044,273TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$3,697,989TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$4,060,858TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$19,311,863NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$17,983,415NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionThe Foundation's mission is to support the charitable works for the Daughters of Charity in Alabama through St. Vincent's Health System and related subsidiaries. The Foundation is independently charged with acquiring philanthropic resources to support programs benefiting patients and families served by St. Vincent's Health System and related subsidiaries, The Foundation is responsible for encouraging gifts from individuals, foundations, organizations and the business community. The Foundation is related (through St. Vincent's Health System) to Ascension Health's other sponsored organizations through common control. Substantially all expenses of Ascension Health are related to providing healthcare services.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$15,094,236ExpenseAmt
Grant$13,778,164GrantAmt
DescSt. Vincent's Foundation of Alabama, Inc. supports various programs, education, equipment and technology purchases, capital expansion, and addresses the special needs of the associates and patients of St. Vincent's Health System and its affiliates.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$15,094,236TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (true)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (true)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (true)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (true)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (true)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (true)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document28IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee12EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (true)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (true)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members20GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member17IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyfalseForm990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOfalseCompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherfalseCompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1TINA LEWIS VP OF FINANCEBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone2058383216PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line150 MEDICAL PARK EAST DRIVE STE 310AddressLine1Txt
CityBirminghamCityNm
State AbbreviationALStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP35235ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (26 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
NEEYSA C BIDDLE
SVP ASCENSION HEALTH/BIRMINGHAM MARKET EXECUTIVE/PRESIDENT CEO - STVHS1.049.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$1,359,832$26,949
GILBERT F DOUGLAS DO
ALLOCATION & OUTREACH CHAIR1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
TODD JACKSON
ADMINISTRATION & FINANCE CHAIR1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JENNIFER L KINGRY
BOARD MEMBER/CFO1.049.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$336,489$39,301
DOROTHY PAK
PAST CHAIRMAN/JUNIOR LIASON1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
SUSAN SELLERS
PRESIDENT/FOUNDATION50.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$208,955$0$13,935
BETH CHAPMAN
CHAIRMAN1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
SONYA KING
VICE CHAIRMAN1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
S ALLEN BAKER JR
SECRETARY1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
KEITH ALLEN
BOARD MEMBER (START 7/2016)1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
THOMAS M ALLISON MD
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KAREN CLENNEY
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
FRANK D'AMICO III
BOARD MEMBER (START 7/2016)1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KATHRYN H ECKERT
BOARD MEMBER (START 7/2016)1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARCO GONZALEZ
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN HARDIN
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
WILLIAM H JOHNSTON JR MD
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CLAUDE M MONCUS
BOARD MEMBER (START 7/2016)1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BEN TAMBURELLO
BOARD MEMBER (START 7/2016)1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES D WADSWORTH
BOARD MEMBER (START 7/2016)1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JASON ALEXANDER
SVP ASCENSION HEALTH/BIRMINGHAM MARKET EXECUTIVE/PRESIDENT CEO - STVHS (START 3/2017)2.048.0Yes (X)$0$0$0
WAYNE CARMELLO-HARPER
CHIEF MISSION INTEGRATION OFFICER5.040.0Yes (X)$0$445,674$34,235
STEPHANIE J DUGGAN MD
CCO-Mnstry Mkt Brmnghm (START 7/2016)2.048.0Yes (X)$0$562,052$38,679
Rhonda Buzbee
Dir-Mission & Philanthropy Srv40.00$113,287$0$17,683Yes (X)
Jennifer Philpot
Major Gifts Officer40.00$100,110$0$19,677Yes (X)
JOHN D O'NEIL
FORMER OFFICER (END 9/2014)0.00.0$0$989,122$9,790Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$422,352TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$3,693,169TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$200,249TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K3IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (true)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp

Contractor Name ContractorName

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1TELEGRAPH BRANDING LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Contractor Address ContractorAddress

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line130 25th STREET NAddressLine1Txt
CityBIRMINGHAMCityNm
State AbbreviationALStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP352033881ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ServicesMARKETING SERVICESServicesDesc
Compensation$197,500CompensationAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K1CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Info In Schedule O Part VIIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIIInd
Fundraising$113,500FundraisingAmt
All Other Contributions$12,054,186AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$12,167,686TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescRent from AffiliatesDesc
Business531120BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$215,012TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$215,012ExclusionAmt

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$215,012TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$267,815TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$267,815ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$79,652RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$15,009RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$64,643RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$64,643TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$64,643ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$3,383,537SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$3,114,793SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$268,744SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$268,744TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$268,744ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$32,130FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$113,500ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$32,362FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$232TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$232ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$41,688GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$24,782CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$16,906TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$16,906ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Vending Income900099$70,198$70,198
Volunteer Council Sales900099$51,339$51,339
Miscellaneous Income900099$34,277$34,277

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$155,814OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$13,156,388TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$988,702ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,701,847TotalAmt
Program Services$13,701,847ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$76,317TotalAmt
Program Services$76,317ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$222,891TotalAmt
Program Services$189,457ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$22,289ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$11,145FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$464,323TotalAmt
Program Services$394,678ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$46,431ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$23,214FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$31,906TotalAmt
Program Services$27,120ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,191ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,595FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$85,841TotalAmt
Program Services$72,965ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$8,584ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$4,292FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$48,751TotalAmt
Program Services$41,438ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,875ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,438FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$500TotalAmt
Program Services$425ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$50ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$25FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$500TotalAmt
Program Services$425ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$50ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$25FundraisingAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$101,847TotalAmt
Program Services$86,570ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$10,185ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$5,092FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,351TotalAmt
Program Services$4,548ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$535ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$268FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$218,179TotalAmt
Program Services$185,452ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$21,818ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$10,909FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$56,087TotalAmt
Program Services$47,674ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,609ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,804FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$597TotalAmt
Program Services$507ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$60ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$30FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$23,691TotalAmt
Program Services$20,137ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,369ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,185FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,546TotalAmt
Program Services$3,864ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$455ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$227FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$109,689TotalAmt
Program Services$93,236ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$10,969ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$5,484FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$371TotalAmt
Program Services$315ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$37ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$19FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Purchased Services$83,254$70,766$8,325$4,163
Charitable Expenses$45,877$45,877
Donor Gifts$6,511$5,534$651$326
Other Non Medical Supplies$5,799$4,929$580$290

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$23,713TotalAmt
Program Services$20,155ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,372ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,186FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,318,388TotalAmt
Program Services$15,094,236ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$149,435ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$74,717FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,668,034BOYAmt
EOY$30,390EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$2,806,258EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,363,470BOYAmt
EOY$483,857EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$5,192,754LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$693,069LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,609,374BOYAmt
EOY$4,499,685EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,757,620BOYAmt
EOY$11,920,164EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,611,354BOYAmt
EOY$2,303,919EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,009,852BOYAmt
EOY$22,044,273EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$103,491BOYAmt
EOY$53,910EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,594,498BOYAmt
EOY$4,006,948EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,697,989BOYAmt
EOY$4,060,858EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,324,564BOYAmt
EOY$6,956,363EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,335,441BOYAmt
EOY$9,034,773EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,651,858BOYAmt
EOY$1,992,279EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,311,863BOYAmt
EOY$17,983,415EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$23,009,852BOYAmt
EOY$22,044,273EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$2,162,000ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$833,552NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consol And Sep Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolAndSepBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$4,453,876CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,721,647CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$2,062,157CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$3,831,411CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$12,167,686CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$24,236,777TotalAmt

Tax Rev Levied Orgnztnl Bnft170 TaxRevLeviedOrgnztnlBnft170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Govt Furn Srvc Fclts Vl170 GovtFurnSrvcFcltsVl170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$4,453,876CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,721,647CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$2,062,157CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$3,831,411CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$12,167,686CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$24,236,777TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$648,613SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$23,588,164PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$448,600CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$387,837CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$434,045CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$264,855CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$562,479CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$2,097,816TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$81,218CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$272,012CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$252,804CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$364,407CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$229,632CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$1,200,073TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$27,534,666TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$0GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.8567PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.7260PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule A, Part II, Line 10 Other IncomeFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationDESCRIPTION - OTHER, COLUMN A - 81218.0, COLUMN B - 16425.0, COLUMN C - 682.0, COLUMN D - 167725.0, COLUMN E - 34277.0, COLUMN F - 300327.0; DESCRIPTION - VENDING INCOME, COLUMN A - , COLUMN B - 59309.0, COLUMN C - 57483.0, COLUMN D - 73510.0, COLUMN E - 70198.0, COLUMN F - 260500.0; DESCRIPTION - VOLUNTEER COUNCIL SALES, COLUMN A - , COLUMN B - 55543.0, COLUMN C - 83593.0, COLUMN D - 57397.0, COLUMN E - 51339.0, COLUMN F - 247872.0; DESCRIPTION - CAFETERIA SALES, COLUMN A - , COLUMN B - 47712.0, COLUMN C - 44256.0, COLUMN D - 38405.0, COLUMN E - 41688.0, COLUMN F - 172061.0; DESCRIPTION - EVENTS, COLUMN A - , COLUMN B - 93023.0, COLUMN C - 66790.0, COLUMN D - 27370.0, COLUMN E - 32130.0, COLUMN F - 219313.0;ExplanationTxt

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,651,858BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$426,130ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$64,291InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$150,000OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$1,992,279EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,504,141BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$147,717ContributionsAmt
End Year Balance$1,651,858EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,487,244BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,836ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$14,061InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$0GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$0OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$0AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$1,504,141EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,433,328BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,377ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$52,539InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$0GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$0OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$0AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$1,487,244EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,374,638BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$20,101ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$38,589InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$0GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$0OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$0AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$1,433,328EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.0BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY1.0PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.0TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$568,272OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$568,272BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,340,303OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$410,862DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,929,441BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$284,179OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$282,207DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,972BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$4,499,685TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
U.S. government obligations$912,036F
Corporate obligations$267,982F
Equity securities$8,895,335F
Alternative investments$1,844,811F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$11,920,164TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
Cash Surrender Value of Life Insurance$178,863
Charitable remainder trust$2,101,606
Other current assets$23,450
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$2,303,919TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Intercompany payables$3,573,268
Annuities payables$433,680
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$4,006,948TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$13,960,244TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$833,550NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$72,153OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$905,703RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$13,054,541RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$101,847InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$0OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$101,847RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$13,156,388TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$15,288,694TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$72,153OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$72,153ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$15,216,541ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$101,847InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$0OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$101,847ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$15,318,388TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule D, Part V, Line 4 Intended uses of endowment fundsThe investment earnings on endowment funds are used for awards and scholarships, as well as support for several programs for St. Vincent's Health System. The temporary restricted portion of the endowment funds on the audited financial statements is the investment income earned on the permanent endowments utilized for expenditures based on the donor documents.
Schedule D, Part X, Line 2 FIN 48 (ASC 740) footnoteTHE SYSTEM ACCOUNTS FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAX POSITIONS BY APPLYING A RECOGNITION THRESHOLD AND MEASUREMENT ATTRIBUTE FOR FINANCIAL STATEMENT RECOGNITION AND MEASUREMENT OF A TAX POSITION TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN IN A TAX RETURN. THE SYSTEM HAS DETERMINED THAT NO MATERIAL UNRECOGNIZED TAX BENEFITS OR LIABILITIES EXIST AS OF JUNE 30, 2017.
Schedule D, Part XI, Line 2(d) Other revenues in audited financial statements not in form 990Rental Expenses - 15009 Cost of Goods Sold - 24782 Event Expenses - 32362
Schedule D, Part XII, Line 2(d) Other expenses in audited financial statements not in form 990Rental Expenses - 15009 Cost of Goods Sold - 24782 Event Expenses - 32362

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1Golf tournamentEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$65,455GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$48,935CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$16,520GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event1$23,370RentFacilityCostsEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$412OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Event2Bingo BashEvent2Nm
Gross Receipts Event2$57,636GrossReceiptsEvent2Amt
Charitable Contri Event2$43,241CharitableContriEvent2Amt
Gross Revenue Event2$14,395GrossRevenueEvent2Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event2$7,064OtherDirectExpensesEvent2Amt
Other Events Total2OtherEventsTotalCnt
Gross Receipts Other Events$22,539GrossReceiptsOtherEventsAmt
Charitable Contri Other Events$21,324CharitableContriOtherEventsAmt
Gross Revenue Other Events$1,215GrossRevenueOtherEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Other Events$1,516OthDirectExpnssOtherEventsAmt
Gross Receipts Total$145,630GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$113,500CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$32,130GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Total Events$23,370RentFcltyCostsTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$8,992OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$32,362DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary-$232NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (6 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmtValuation Method UsedValuationMethodUsedDescNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceDescPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
St Vincent's Health System
810 St Vincents DriveBirminghamAL35205630931008501(C)(3)$11,672,915$51,600FMVSCULPTURECAPITAL/OPERATING SUPPORT
St Vincent's East
50 Medical Park Drive EastBirminghamAL35235630578923501(C)(3)$1,138,718$234,161COSTEQUIPMENTCAPITAL/OPERATING SUPPORT
St Vincent's Birmingham
810 St Vincents DriveBirminghamAL35205630288864501(C)(3)$421,698CAPITAL/OPERATING SUPPORT
Seton Property Corporation of North Alabama
810 St Vincents DriveBirminghamAL35205327326976501(C)(2)$114,319CAPITAL/OPERATING SUPPORT
St Vincent's Blount
150 Gilbreath DriveOneontaAL35121630909073501(C)(3)$9,288$11,648COSTEQUIPMENTCAPITAL/OPERATING SUPPORT
Medical Foundation of Jefferson County
901 18TH STREET SOUTHBIRMINGHAMAL35205813680210$47,500OPERATING SUPPORT
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org5Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org1TotalOtherOrgCnt

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (2 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmt
Scholarships and awards18$24,038
Financial Assistance118$52,279

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule I, Part I, Line 2 Procedures for monitoring use of grant funds.FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe Allocations Committee is comprised of members of the St. Vincent's Foundation Board of Directors. The Committee meets quarterly to review and fund grant submissions within the Health Ministry and external agencies. External agencies requesting support must demonstrate a relationship and cooperative arrangement for the funded project to be considered. The fiscal year budget determines the availability of funding for various programs and projects. The program or agency is notified if the request is approved, tabled, or declined.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Severance PaymentYes (true)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (6 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
NEEYSA C BIDDLE
SVP ASCENSION HEALTH/BIRMINGHAM MARKET EXECUTIVE/PRESIDENT CEO - STVHS$0$593,188$0$503,787$0$262,857$0$15,900$0$11,049$0$1,386,781$0$0
JENNIFER L KINGRY
BOARD MEMBER/CFO$0$256,682$0$42,821$0$36,986$0$17,225$0$22,076$0$375,790$0$0
SUSAN SELLERS
PRESIDENT/FOUNDATION$172,500$0$14,463$0$21,992$0$9,473$0$4,462$0$222,890$0$0$0
JOHN D O'NEIL
FORMER OFFICER (END 9/2014)$0$0$0$0$0$989,122$0$0$0$9,790$0$998,912$0$539,012
WAYNE CARMELLO-HARPER
CHIEF MISSION INTEGRATION OFFICER$0$272,997$0$90,521$0$82,156$0$14,575$0$19,660$0$479,909$0$0
STEPHANIE J DUGGAN MD
CCO-Mnstry Mkt Brmnghm (START 7/2016)$0$421,849$0$81,654$0$58,549$0$14,576$0$24,103$0$600,731$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule J, Part I, Line 3 Arrangement used to establish the top management official's compensationAscension Health, a related organization of St. Vincent's Foundation of Alabama, Inc., uses the following to establish the compensation of the organization's CEO: -Compensation Committee -Independent Compensation Consultant -Compensation Survey or Study -Approval by the Board or Compensation Committee
Schedule J, Part I, Line 4a Severance or change-of-control paymentThe following individual(s) received severance payments from the organization or a related organization: John O'Neil - $450,110
Schedule J, Part I, Line 4b Supplemental nonqualified retirement planEligible executives participate in a program that provides for supplemental retirement benefits. The payment of benefits under the program, if any, is entirely dependent upon the facts and circumstances under which the executive terminates employment with the organization. Benefits under the program are unfunded and non-vested. Due to the substantial risk of forfeiture provision, there is no guarantee that these executives will ever receive any benefit under the program. Any amount ultimately paid under the program to the executive is reported as compensation on Form 990, Schedule J, Part II, Column B in the year paid. The following individuals received payment from the supplemental nonqualified retirement plan in the amount as noted: John D. O'Neil - $539,012

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (9 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15a PROCESS TO ESTABLISH COMPENSATION OF TOP MANAGEMENT OFFICIALIn determining the compensation of the Organization's CEO, the process performed by Ascension Health, a related organization of St. Vincent's Foundation of Alabama, Inc., included a review and approval by independent persons, comparability data, and contemporaneous substantiation of the deliberation and decision. The Compensation Committee reviewed and approved the compensation. In the review of the compensation, the CEO was compared to individuals at other organizations in the area who hold the same title. During the review and approval of the compensation, documentation of the decision was recorded in the Committee minutes. The individual was not present when his compensation was decided.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 15b PROCESS TO ESTABLISH COMPENSATION OF OTHER OFFICERS OR KEY EMPLOYEESIN DETERMINING COMPENSATION OF THE ORGANIZATION'S OFFICERS, THE PROCESS PERFORMED BY ST. VINCENT'S HEALTH SYSTEM, A RELATED ORGANIZATION OF ST. VINCENT'S FOUNDATION OF ALABAMA, INC., INCLUDED A REVIEW AND APPROVAL BY INDEPENDENT PERSONS, COMPARABILITY DATA, AND CONTEMPORANEOUS SUBSTANTIATION OF THE DELIBERATION AND DECISION. THE ST. VINCENT'S HEALTH SYTEM EXECUTIVE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE REVIEWED AND APPROVED THE COMPENSATION. IN THE REVIEW OF THE COMPENSATION, THE OFFICERS' SALARIES WERE COMPARED TO INDIVIDUALS AT OTHER ORGANIZATIONS IN THE AREA WHO HOLD THE SAME TITLE. DURING THE REVIEW AND APPROVAL OF THE COMPENSATION, DOCUMENTATION OF THE DECISION WAS RECORDED IN THE MINUTES. INDIVIDUALS WERE NOT PRESENT WHEN THEIR COMPENSATION WAS DECIDED.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 6 Classes of members or stockholdersSt. Vincent's Foundation of Alabama, Inc. has a single corporate member, St. Vincent's Health System.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 7a Members or stockholders electing members of governing bodySt. Vincent's Foundation of Alabama, Inc. has a single corporate member, St. Vincent's Health System, who has the ability to elect members of the governing body of St. Vincent's Foundation of Alabama, Inc.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 7b Decisions requiring approval by members or stockholdersAll decisions that have a material impact to St. Vincent's Foundation of Alabama, Inc.'s financial information or corporation as a whole are subject to approval by its sole corporate member, St. Vincent's Health System.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b Review of form 990 by governing bodyDURING THE RETURN PREPARATION PROCESS, THE TAX DEPARTMENT WORKS WITH OTHER FUNCTIONAL AREAS INCLUDING FINANCE, ACCOUNTING, TREASURY, LEGAL, HUMAN RESOURCES, AND CORPORATE COMPLIANCE FOR ADVICE, INFORMATION AND ASSISTANCE IN ORDER TO PREPARE A COMPLETE AND ACCURATE RETURN. UPON COMPLETION, THE FORM 990 IS REVIEWED BY THE ORGANIZATION'S INTERNAL TAX DEPARTMENT WHICH CONSISTS OF ATTORNEYS AND CPAS. A COMPLETE FINAL COPY OF THE RETURN IS PROVIDED TO THE ORGANIZATION'S PRESIDENT, FINANCIAL OFFICER, AND/OR OTHER KEY OFFICERS IN LIEU OF THE FULL BOARD.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c Conflict of interest policyThe organization regularly and consistently monitors and enforces compliance with the conflict of interest policy in that any director, principal officer, or member of a committee with governing board delegated powers, who has a direct or indirect financial interest, must disclose the existence of the financial interest and be given the opportunity to disclose all material facts to the directors and members of the committees with governing board delegated powers considering the proposed transaction or arrangement. The remaining individuals on the governing board or committee will decide if conflicts of interest exist. Each director, principal officer and member of a committee with governing board delegated powers annually signs a statement which affirms such person has received a copy of the conflicts of interest policy, has read and understands the policy, has agreed to comply with the policy, and understands that the organization is charitable and in order to maintain its federal tax exemption it must engage primarily in activities which accomplish its tax-exempt purpose.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 19 Required documents available to the publicThe Organization will provide any documents open to public inspection upon written request.
Form 990, Part VIII, Line 2f Other Program Service RevenueIntercompany - Total Revenue: 0, Related or Exempt Function Revenue: 0, Unrelated Business Revenue: 0, Revenue Excluded from Tax Under Sections 512, 513, or 514: 0;

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdTotal IncomeTotalIncomeAmtEnd Of Year AssetsEndOfYearAssetsAmtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt
MCS LLC
810 ST VINCENTS DRIVEBIRMINGHAMAL35235260649586RENTAL PROPERTYAL$79,652$4,497,713ST VINCENT'S FOUNDATION OF ALABAMA INC
ST VINCENT'S VOLUNTEER COUNCIL LLC
810 ST VINCENTS DRIVEBIRMINGHAMAL35235461494622VOLUNTEER SERVICESAL$93,027$30,390St Vincent's Foundation of Alabama

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (9 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
ASCENSION HEALTH ALLIANCE
PO BOX 45998ST LOUISMO63145453358926NATIONAL HEALTH SYSTEMMO501(c)(3)Type INAfalse
ASCENSION HEALTH
PO BOX 45998ST LOUISMO63145311662309NATIONAL HEALTH SYSTEMMO501(c)(3)Type IASCENSION HEALTH ALLIANCEfalse
ST VINCENT'S HEALTH SYSTEM
810 ST VINCENTS DRIVEBIRMINGHAMAL35205630931008HEALTH SYSTEMAL501(c)(3)Type III-FIASCENSION HEALTHfalse
ST VINCENT'S BIRMINGHAM
810 ST VINCENTS DRIVEBIRMINGHAMAL35205630288864HOSPITALAL501(c)(3)3ST VINCENT'S HEALTH SYSTEMYes (true)
ST VINCENT'S BLOUNT
150 GILBREATH DRIVEONEONTAAL35121630909073HOSPITALAL501(c)(3)3ST VINCENT'S HEALTH SYSTEMYes (true)
ST VINCENT'S EAST
50 MEDICAL PARK EAST DRIVEBIRMINGHAMAL35235630578923HOSPITALAL501(c)(3)3ST VINCENT'S HEALTH SYSTEMYes (true)
AMERICAN SPORTS MEDICINE INSTITUTE
2660 10TH AVENNUE SOUTH NO 505BIRMINGHAMAL35205630952490SPORTS MEDICINEAL501(c)(3)7ST VINCENT'S BIRMINGHAMYes (true)
UNIVERSAL HEALTH SERVICES
810 ST VINCENTS DRIVEBIRMINGHAMAL35205630932323PHYSICIAN GROUPAL501(c)(3)Type IIST VINCENT'S HEALTH SYSTEMYes (true)
SETON PROPERTY CORPORATION OF NORTH ALABAMA
810 ST VINCENTS DRIVEBIRMINGHAMAL35205237326976REAL ESTATEAL501(c)(2)ST VINCENT'S HEALTH SYSTEMYes (true)

Id Related Org Txbl Partnership IdRelatedOrgTxblPartnershipGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtPredominant Income TypePredominantIncomeTypeTxt
ST VINCENT'S OUTPATIENT SURGERY SERVICES LLC
810 ST VINCENTS DRIVEBIRMINGHAMAL35205200708162OUTPATIENT SURGERYALNAN/A
ST VINCENT'S SLEEP DISORDER CENTER
810 ST VINCENTS DRIVEBIRMINGHAMAL35205631282288SLEEP DISORDER CENTERALNAN/A

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtEntity TypeEntityTypeTxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
VINCENTIAN VENTURES OF NORTH ALABAMA INC
810 ST VINCENTS DRIVEBIRMINGHAMAL35205630965456MISC HEALTHCARE SERVICESALNAC CorporationYes (true)
ASCENSION VENTURES CORPORATION
810 ST VINCENTS DRIVEBIRMINGHAMAL35205631217059MISC HEALTHCARE SERVICESALNAC CorporationYes (true)
BAYLEY CONDOMINIUM ASSOCIATION
2121 HIGHLAND AVENUE SOUTH DRIVEBIRMINGHAMAL35205631209915CONDOMINIUM ASSOCIATIONALNAC CorporationYes (true)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesfalseSharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (true)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgfalseTransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (13 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
SETON PROPERTY CORPORATION OF NORTH ALABAMA
P$311,596FAIR MARKET VALUE
ST VINCENT'S BLOUNT
P$358,117FAIR MARKET VALUE
ST VINCENT'S EAST
O$234,161FAIR MARKET VALUE
ST VINCENT'S EAST
P$3,029,899FAIR MARKET VALUE
ST VINCENT'S BIRMINGHAM
L$80,956FAIR MARKET VALUE
ST VINCENT'S BIRMINGHAM
M$215,012FAIR MARKET VALUE
ST VINCENT'S BIRMINGHAM
P$7,434,736FAIR MARKET VALUE
UNIVERSAL HEALTH SERVICES
P$71,107FAIR MARKET VALUE
VINCENTIAN PHYSICIAN SERVCES
P$151,494FAIR MARKET VALUE
ST VINCENT'S HEALTH SYSTEM
B$11,724,515FAIR MARKET VALUE
ST VINCENT'S EAST
B$1,372,879FAIR MARKET VALUE
ST VINCENT'S BIRMINGHAM
B$421,698FAIR MARKET VALUE
SETON PROPERTY CORPORATION OF NORTH ALABAMA
B$114,319FAIR MARKET VALUE

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.