FURP.ORG / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

JOHNSON UNIVERSITY: Form 990, tax year 2016

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
JOHNSON UNIVERSITY (EIN 62-6001104)
Tax period
2016-07-01 to 2017-06-30
Filed
2018-05-15
IRS object ID
201801359349303010
Schema version
2016v3.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2018-05-15T09:28:04-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2017-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN620647474PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BLACKBURN CHILDERS & STEAGALL PLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1801B SUNSET DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityJOHNSON CITYCityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP376043033ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2016-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN626001104EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1JOHNSON UNIVERSITYBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlJOHNBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8655734517PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line17900 JOHNSON DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityKNOXVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP37998ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonCYNTHIA T BARNARDPersonNm
Person TitleVP FOR BUSINESS AND FINANCEPersonTitleTxt
Phone8652513484PhoneNum
Signature2018-05-14SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonTHOMAS S GREERPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00067526PTIN
Phone4232824511PhoneNum
Preparation2018-05-11PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2016TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerCYNTHIA T BARNARDPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line17900 JOHNSON DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityKNOXVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP37998ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$21,850,858GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.JOHNSONU.EDUWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1893FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateTNLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionJOHNSON UNIVERSITY IS A PRIVATE, COEDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION OF HIGHER LEARNING OFFERING ASSOCIATE, BACHELOR'S, MASTER'S AND DOCTORAL DEGREES.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body14VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent14VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1044TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers49TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$95,353TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$94,353NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$5,809,485PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$3,196,634CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$20,690,557PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$17,306,935CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$1,206,402PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,217,945CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$44,821PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$121,115CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$27,751,265PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$21,842,629CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$2,703,724PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$2,199,345CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$14,570,426PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$12,356,519CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,198,335CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$11,221,217PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$9,417,561CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$28,495,367PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$23,973,425CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$744,102PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$2,130,796CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$175,443,595TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$197,966,496TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$32,723,351TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$48,128,478TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$142,720,244NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$149,838,018NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionJOHNSON UNIVERSITY IS A PRIVATE, COEDUCATIONAL INSTITUTION OF HIGHER LEARNING OFFERING ASSOCIATE, BACHELOR'S, MASTER'S AND DOCTORAL DEGREES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$18,504,244ExpenseAmt
Grant$2,199,345GrantAmt
Revenue$17,306,935RevenueAmt
DescOPERATION OF UNIVERSITYDesc
Total Program Service Expenses$18,504,244TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingYes (1)ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document1830IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee1044EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members14GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member14IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldTNStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonCYNTHIA T BARNARDPersonNm
Phone8652513484PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line17900 JOHNSON DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityKNOXVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP37998ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (22 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmt
L D CAMPBELL
CHAIRMAN1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEFF WHITLOCK SR
SECRETARY1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARTHA R ALLIGOOD
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
W PERRY BAILEY
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES C BOOK
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEFFREY CASE
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CAROL CLIFFORD
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KENNETH R FUNK
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
GREGORY J GRANT
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DREW MENTZER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SAM WIDENER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RICHARD E WOODS
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PAUL T COLEMAN
ATTORNEY/EX-OFFICIO1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
GARY E WEEDMAN
PRESIDENT; EX-OFFICIO60.00Yes (X)$180,991$0$19,817
CYNTHIA T BARNARD
VP FOR BUSINESS AND FINANCE50.00Yes (X)$80,829$0$16,643
MICHAEL L CHAMBERS
CHANCELLOR/VICE PROVOST, JU FLORIDA50.00Yes (X)$0$95,256$11,248
RICHARD CLARK
VP FOR EXTERNAL RELATIONS/CHIEF ADV OFFICER50.00Yes (X)$91,917$0$19,354
PHILIP A EUBANKS
ASSOC VP FOR STEWARDSHIP/PLANNED GIVING50.00Yes (X)$82,567$0$23,593
DAVID A LEGG
VP FOR STUDENT SERVICES50.00Yes (X)$87,701$0$16,663
CLIFF MCCARTNEY
VP FOR ADMINISTRATION50.00Yes (X)$82,258$0$12,528
L THOMAS SMITH JR
VP FOR ACADEMIC AFFAIRS/PROVOST50.00Yes (X)$90,978$0$19,690
BILL WOLF
DEAN OF THE CHAPEL50.00Yes (X)$47,750$0$20,139
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$744,991TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$95,256TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$159,675TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K1IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
PIONEER COLLEGE CATERERS INC
P O BOX 175KNOXVILLETN37998CAFETERIA SERVICE$1,270,756
HICKORY CONSTRUCTION
124 KENT PLACEALCOATN37701CAMPUS CONSTRUCTION PROJECT$412,484
LEADERSHIP INSTITUTE LLC
7007 WEST HAPPY VALLEY ROADPEORIAAZ85383CCV MINISTRY PROGRAM$385,000
TIAA-CREF
P O BOX 1259CHARLOTTENC28201ADMINISTRATOR-403(B) RETIREMENT$352,661
JERUSALEM CENTER FOR BIBLICAL STUDIES
P O BOX 6067LAKELANDFL338076067FACULTY/STAFF TRIP TO ISRAEL$176,252
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K15CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$103,483GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$3,093,151AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$3,196,634TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
TUITION AND FEES611710$13,005,064$13,005,064
AUXILIARY ENTERPRISES611710$4,160,740$4,160,740
OTHER INCOME611710$141,131$141,131
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$17,306,935TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,217,945TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,217,945ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$25,762RealAmt
Personal$103,582PersonalAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$8,229PersonalAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$25,762RealAmt
Personal$95,353PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$121,115TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$95,353UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$25,762ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$21,842,629TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$17,306,935RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$95,353UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,243,707ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,199,345TotalAmt
Program Services$2,199,345ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$982,557TotalAmt
Program Services$328,403ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$496,526ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$157,628FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,323,778TotalAmt
Program Services$7,211,193ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,597,437ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$515,148FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$315,411TotalAmt
Program Services$307,265ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$8,146ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,069,709TotalAmt
Program Services$855,767ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$171,154ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$42,788FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$665,064TotalAmt
Program Services$532,051ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$106,410ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$26,603FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,180TotalAmt
Management And General$3,180ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$93,878TotalAmt
Program Services$10,473ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$83,405ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$344,207TotalAmt
Program Services$162,604ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$70,046ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$111,557FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$114,184TotalAmt
Program Services$26,171ProgramServicesAmt
Fundraising$88,013FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$607,632TotalAmt
Program Services$396,966ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$125,172ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$85,494FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$118,866TotalAmt
Program Services$71,320ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$47,546ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,177,125TotalAmt
Program Services$941,700ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$188,340ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$47,085FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$402,006TotalAmt
Program Services$308,902ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$70,190ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$22,914FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$46,292TotalAmt
Program Services$38,209ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$139ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$7,944FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$465,226TotalAmt
Program Services$372,181ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$74,436ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$18,609FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,863,807TotalAmt
Program Services$1,491,046ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$298,209ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$74,552FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$294,407TotalAmt
Program Services$41,246ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$253,161ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmt
TAXES-UBIT$20,364$20,364
DINING HALL EXPENSES$1,061,990$1,061,990
EQUIPMENT-ITEMS WITH IN$438,071$131,421$306,650
REPAIRS AND MAINTENANCE$414,466$82,893$331,573

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,951,860TotalAmt
Program Services$1,509,189ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$442,671ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$23,973,425TotalAmt
Program Services$18,504,244ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$4,270,846ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,198,335FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$271,942BOYAmt
EOY$342,221EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,583,808BOYAmt
EOY$18,785,264EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,068,000BOYAmt
EOY$1,195,000EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$849,996BOYAmt
EOY$968,663EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$49,418BOYAmt
EOY$94,112EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$268,257BOYAmt
EOY$274,656EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$75,723,071LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$32,020,181LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$44,938,006BOYAmt
EOY$43,702,890EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$121,414,168BOYAmt
EOY$132,603,690EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$175,443,595BOYAmt
EOY$197,966,496EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$352,054BOYAmt
EOY$464,628EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,574,266BOYAmt
EOY$40,770,000EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,797,031BOYAmt
EOY$6,893,850EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$32,723,351BOYAmt
EOY$48,128,478EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$68,973,836BOYAmt
EOY$74,131,366EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,930,391BOYAmt
EOY$4,912,435EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$70,816,017BOYAmt
EOY$70,794,217EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$142,720,244BOYAmt
EOY$149,838,018EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$175,443,595BOYAmt
EOY$197,966,496EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$2,130,796ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$12,177,400NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Prior Period Adjustments-$3,232,317PriorPeriodAdjustmentsAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$303,487OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$4,461,026CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$4,322,770CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$6,246,175CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$5,809,485CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$3,196,634CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$24,036,090TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$4,461,026CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$4,322,770CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$6,246,175CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$5,809,485CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$3,196,634CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$24,036,090TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$62,281SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$23,973,809PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,266,257CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,475,928CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,256,326CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,231,414CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$1,217,945CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$6,447,870TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$16,269CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$15,399CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$17,438CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$19,809CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$95,353CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$164,268TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$30,648,228TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$88,679,919GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.78220PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.77090PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE A, PART I, LINES 2 AND 7FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationJOHNSON BIBLE COLLEGE RECEIVED AN IRS DETERMINATION LETTER IN DECEMBER, 1942 STATING THAT THE ORGANIZATION WAS RECOGNIZED AS AN ORGANIZATION EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAX UNDER SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. ADDITIONALLY, THE ORGANIZATION WAS ALSO DETERMINED NOT TO BE A PRIVATE FOUNDATION AS DEFINED IN SECTION 509(A) OF THE CODE BECAUSE IT WAS AN ORGANIZATION DESCRIBED IN SECTION 509(A)(1) AND SECTION 170(B)(1)(A)(II), WHICH IS IDENTIFIED IN SCHEDULE A, PART I, LINE 2 AS A SCHOOL. IT IS AN EDUCATIONAL ORGANIZATION WHICH NORMALLY MAINTAINS A REGULAR FACULTY AND CURRICULUM AND NORMALLY HAS A REGULARLY ENROLLED BODY OF PUPILS OR STUDENTS IN ATTENDANCE AT THE PLACE WHERE ITS EDUCATIONAL ACTIVITIES ARE REGULARLY CARRIED ON. ON JULY 1, 2011, JOHNSON BIBLE COLLEGE CHANGED ITS NAME TO JOHNSON UNIVERSITY. PER THE 2013 INSTRUCTIONS FOR SCHEDULE B, SCHEDULE OF CONTRIBUTORS, THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE HAS CLARIFIED THAT IN ORDER FOR THE UNIVERSITY TO REPORT ITS CONTRIBUTIONS UNDER THE SPECIAL RULE, THE ORGANIZATION MUST NOW CHECK BOX 7 OF SCHEDULE A, PART I, AND COMPLETE SCHEDULE A, PART II, SUPPORT SCHEDULE FOR ORGANIZATIONS DESCRIBED IN SECTIONS 170(B)(1)(A)(IV) AND 170(B)(1)(A)(VI).ExplanationTxt

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$118,975,289BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,191,627ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$12,387,075InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships-$2,703,826GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Administrative Expenses-$4,798,404AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$125,051,761EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$118,695,650BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$5,644,266ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$2,885,819InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships-$2,478,808GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$118,975,289EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$118,611,897BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$3,261,786ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,001,344InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships-$2,132,163GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Administrative Expenses-$3,047,214AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$118,695,650EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$108,570,383BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,862,568ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$13,605,161InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships-$1,894,041GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Administrative Expenses-$3,532,174AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$118,611,897EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$106,290,708BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,564,714ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$6,317,926InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships-$1,801,052GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Administrative Expenses-$3,801,913AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$108,570,383EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.43210BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.56790PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.00000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,461,313OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$3,461,313BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$58,217,154OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$23,535,603DepreciationAmt
Book Value$34,681,551BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,796,040OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$4,497,634DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,298,406BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$8,248,564OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,986,944DepreciationAmt
Book Value$4,261,620BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$43,702,890TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (10 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
MONEY MARKET FUNDS$2,361,069F
EQUITY MUTUAL FUNDS$77,584,469F
FIXED INCOME MUTUAL FUNDS$14,326,528F
REAL ASSETS$13,106,023F
DIRECTIONAL AND RELATIVE VALUE$17,244,509F
REAL ESTATE$1,113,029F
CASH AND MONEY MARKET FUNDS$123,760F
FIXED INCOME SECURITIES$1,965,516F
MARKETABLE EQUITABLE SECURITIES$4,631,606F
CASH SURRENDER VALUE OF INSURANCE$147,181F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$132,603,690TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (6 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
DEPOSITS$402,846
OBLIGATIONS UNDER ANNUITY AGREEMENTS$2,008,665
RETIREMENT OBLIGATIONS PAYABLE$159,342
FUNDS HELD IN CUSTODY FOR OTHERS$1,258,701
FUNDS HELD - THE JOHNSON FOUNDATION$2,455,806
DUE TO GROUP SUBORDINATE ORGANIZATION$608,490
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$6,893,850TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$36,068,264TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$12,543,068NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$3,873,683OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$16,416,751RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$19,651,513RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$2,191,116OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$2,191,116RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$21,842,629TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$26,263,997TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$4,489,917OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$4,489,917ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$21,774,080ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$2,199,345OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$2,199,345ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$23,973,425TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART V, LINE 4:THE INTENDED USE OF THE UNIVERSITY'S ENDOWMENT FUNDS IS FOR UNRESTRICTED PURPOSES, SCHOLARSHIPS, FACULTY/STAFF SALARIES, OTHER SPECIFIC PROGRAM EXPENSES, AND GENERAL USE.
PART X, LINE 2:NOTE 13 - UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES THE UNIVERSITY FOLLOWS THE FASB ASC, WHICH PROVIDES GUIDANCE ON ACCOUNTING FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES RECOGNIZED IN AN ORGANIZATION'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. AS OF JUNE 30, 2016 AND 2015, THE UNIVERSITY HAD NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS THAT QUALIFY FOR EITHER RECOGNITION OR DISCLOSURE IN THE UNIVERSITY'S CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE UNIVERSITY'S POLICY IS TO RECOGNIZE INTEREST AND PENALTIES ON UNRECOGNIZED TAX BENEFITS IN INCOME TAX EXPENSE IN THE CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. HOWEVER, NO INTEREST OR PENALTIES WERE RECORDED DURING THE YEARS ENDED JUNE 30, 2016 AND 2015. FEDERALLY FUNDED FINANCIAL AID PROGRAMS ARE SUBJECT TO SPECIAL AUDIT. SUCH AUDITS COULD RESULT IN CLAIMS AGAINST THE RESOURCES OF THE UNIVERSITY. NO PROVISION HAS BEEN MAKE FOR ANY LIABILITIES THAT MAY ARISE FROM SUCH AUDITS SINCE THE AMOUNTS, IF ANY, CANNOT BE DETERMINED AT THIS DATE.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:REVENUES OF THE JOHNSON FOUNDATION 26,504. REVENUES OF JOHNSON UNIVERSITY FLORIDA 3,543,691. ACTUARIAL GAIN (LOSS) ON ANNUTIY CONTRACTS 222,295. GAIN (LOSS) ON INTEREST SWAP AGREEMENT 81,193.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:INSTITUTIONAL SCHOLARSHIPS OFFSETTING STUDENT TUITION AND FEES 2,199,345. UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME - RENTAL EXPENSES NETTED AGAINST INCOME -8,229.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:EXPENSES OF THE JOHNSON FOUNDATION 69,925. EXPENSES OF JOHNSON UNIVERSITY FLORIDA 4,411,763. UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME - RENTAL EXPENSES NETTED AGAINST INCOME 8,229.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:INSTITUTIONAL SCHOLARSHIPS OFFSETTING TUITION AND FEES 2,199,345.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 3THE UNIVERSITY PUBLISHES ITS RACIALLY NONDISCRIMINATORY POLICY IN ITS MAGAZINE, "THE JOHNSON MAGAZINE", IN THE NEWSPAPER, AND IN A GRAPHIC OVERLAY TO VIDEOS USED IN TELEVISION ADS.
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 6THE UNIVERSITY RECEIVES FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE FOR STUDENT FINANCIAL AID PROGRAMS SUCH AS THE FEDERAL PELL GRANT PROGRAM, AS WELL AS OTHERS FROM THE UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION. THE UNIVERSITY ALSO RECEIVES STUDENT FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE FROM THE STATE OF TENNESSEE IN THE FORM OF TENNESSEE LOTTERY SCHOLARSHIPS.

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Special Fundraising EventsYes (X)SpecialFundraisingEventsInd
Agrmt Prof Fundraising Acty0AgrmtProfFundraisingActyInd
Licensed StatesTNLicensedStatesCd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE G, PART I, LINE 2B, COLUMN (V)FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationFINANCIAL PLANNING MINISTRY (FPM) PROVIDES A SERVICE THAT MIGHT EVENTUALLY RESULT IN A CHARITABLE BEQUEST FROM AN ESTATE. FPM CHARGES A $3,125 PER MONTH FLAT RATE FOR TWO MONTHS, THEN $2,812.50 PER MONTH FOR TEN MONTHS ($34,375 TOTAL) FOR JOHNSON UNIVERSITY TO BE A PARTNER ORGANIZATION. FPM CONDUCTS ESTATE PLANNING SEMINARS WHERE PARTICIPANTS ARE OFFERED THE OPPORTUNITY TO INCLUDE A CHARITABLE BEQUEST FOR ONE OF THE PARTNER CHARITIES. THE ONLY IMMEDIATE BENEFIT TO JOHNSON UNIVERSITY IS THE POTENTIAL OF AN ESTATE PLANNING EXPECTANCY THAT MOST LIKELY WILL NOT BE REALIZED FOR YEARS TO COME.ExplanationTxt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeCASH SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS ATTENDING JOHNSON UNIVERSITY IN KNOX COUNTY, TENNESSEE.GrantTypeTxt
Recipient781RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$2,199,345CashGrantAmt
Non Cash Assistance$0NonCashAssistanceAmt
Valuation Method UsedN/AValuationMethodUsedDesc
Non Cash AssistanceN/ANonCashAssistanceDesc

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE UNIVERSITY DOES NOT GIVE ANY NON-CASH SCHOLARSHIPS. SCHOLARSHIPS ARE DISBURSED TO STUDENTS THROUGH CREDITING THEIR STUDENT ACCOUNTS. IF THE STUDENT HAS EXCESS SCHOLARSHIP FUNDS AS THE RESULT OF TITLE IV AID, THEN THESE FUNDS ARE AUTOMATICALLY DISBURSED TO THE STUDENT WITHIN 14 DAYS. IF THE EXCESS FUNDS ARE THE RESULT OF SOMETHING OTHER THAN TITLE IV AID, THE STUDENT MUST REQUEST A REFUND AND THESE FUNDS ARE DISBURSED TO THE STUDENT BY CHECK. THE UNIVERSITY'S PROCEDURES FOR MONITORING GRANT FUNDS IN THE U.S. ARE AS FOLLOWS: THE UNIVERSITY HAS APPOINTED DIRECTORS, WHO REPORT TO THE APPROPRIATE VICE PRESIDENTS OVER ALL FEDERAL GRANT PROGRAMS. THESE DIRECTORS ARE CHARGED WITH PERFORMING ALL GRANT-RELATED ACTIVITIES INCLUDING APPLICATION, MONITORING OF EXPENDITURES AND REPORTING, WITH THE EXCEPTION OF DRAW-DOWNS OF FEDERAL FUNDS. DRAW-DOWNS ARE PERFORMED BY THE UNIVERSITY'S CONTROLLER AFTER REQUESTS ARE MADE BY THE DIRECTOR TO THE CONTROLLER. THE CONTROLLER REVIEWS THE REQUESTS FOR DRAW-DOWNS, WHICH INCLUDE DOCUMENTATION OF ALL DIRECT AND INDIRECT PROGRAM EXPENSES, BEFORE MAKING THE DRAW-DOWNS. A SINGLE AUDIT IS PERFORMED ANNUALLY BY THE UNIVERSITY'S INDEPENDENT AUDITORS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonGARY E WEEDMANPersonNm
TitlePRESIDENT; EX-OFFICIOTitleTxt
Base Compensation Filing Org$180,991BaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Compensation Based On Rltd Orgs$0CompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt
Bonus Filing Organization$0BonusFilingOrganizationAmount
Bonus Related Organizations$0BonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt
Other Compensation Filing Org$0OtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Other Compensation Rltd Orgs$0OtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt
Deferred Compensation Flng Org$0DeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt
Deferred Comp Rltd Orgs$0DeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt
Nontaxable Benefits Filing Org$19,817NontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt
Nontaxable Benefits Rltd Orgs$0NontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt
Total Compensation Filing Org$200,808TotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Total Compensation Rltd Orgs$0TotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt
Comp Report Prior990 Filing Org$0CompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt
Comp Report Prior990 Rltd Orgs$0CompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 1AHOUSING ALLOWANCES OF $6,700 PER INDIVIDUAL WERE PROVIDED FOR THE FOLLOWING OFFICERS: GARY E. WEEDMAN; RICHARD CLARK; PHILIP A. EUBANKS; DAVID A. LEGG; L. THOMAS SMITH, JR.; AND BILL WOLF
PART I, LINE 5N/A
PART I, LINE 6N/A
PART I, LINE 7N/A
PART I, LINE 8N/A

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINCUSIPCUSIPNumBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
THE HEALTH EDUCATION & HOUSING FACLTY BD OF THE CO OF KNOX SERIES 2006
A621220275499503AA82009-11-02$6,670,000TO FINANCE BUILDINGS AND EQUIPMENT OF THE UNIVERSITY000
THE HEALTH EDUCTNAL & HOUSNG FACILITY BD OF THE CO OF KNOX SERIES 2015
B621220275NONEAVAIL2015-06-23$35,000,000REFNDNG OF PREVSLY ISSUED NOTES PAY FOR CAMPUS RENOVATIONS; CAPITAL IMPRVMNT000

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrCurrent RefundingCurrentRefundingIndAdvance RefundingAdvanceRefundingIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintIndRefunding EscrowRefundingEscrowAmtCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtUnspentUnspentAmt
A$900,000$6,670,000$6,670,000200700Yes (1)Yes (1)
B$35,000,000$128,218Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)$18,455,519$2,020,529$14,395,734

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndPrivate Bus Use By OthersPrivateBusUseByOthersPctPrivate Bus Concerning UBIPrivateBusConcerningUBIPctTotal Private Business UseTotalPrivateBusinessUsePctBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
A00000.000000.000000.00000000
B00000.000000.000000.00000000

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndBusiness Name Line2HedgeProviderName/BusinessNameLine2TxtTerm Of HedgeTermOfHedgePctSuperintegrated HedgeSuperintegratedHedgeIndHedge TerminatedHedgeTerminatedIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndRegulatory Safe Harbor StsfdRegulatorySafeHarborStsfdIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
REGIONS EQUIPMMENT
A0000Yes (1)Yes (1)FINANCE CORPORATION10.00000000000000000
NA
B000000000

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (1)
BYes (1)

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonSAM WIDENERPersonNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionTRUSTEERelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$798TransactionAmt
TransactionSAM WIDENER, TRUSTEE, IS THE 100% OWNER OF WINCO, INC. FOR THE YEAR ENDED 06/30/17, THE UNIVERSITY PURCHASED FLOORING PRODUCTS TOTALING $798.TransactionDesc
Sharing Of Revenues0SharingOfRevenuesInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE UNIVERSITY'S TAX PREPARER WILL PROVIDE THE VICE PRESIDENT FOR BUSINESS AND FINANCE A SCANNED COPY OF THE FINAL VERSION OF THE FORM 990 TAX RETURN. THE RETURN WILL BE MAILED AND/OR EMAILED TO THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE AND THE PRESIDENT. THESE INDIVIDUALS WILL HAVE THREE TO FIVE BUSINESS DAYS TO ASK ANY QUESTIONS PRIOR TO THE FILING OF THE FORM 990 TAX RETURN. THE VICE PRESIDENT FOR BUSINESS AND FINANCE WILL ANSWER QUESTIONS OR PROVIDE INFORMATION AS REQUESTED.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE BOARD OF TRUSTEES WILL REVIEW ANNUALLY THE UNIVERSITY'S CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY. EACH BOARD MEMBER WILL READ AND SIGN THIS POLICY AT THE FEBRUARY BOARD MEETING. THESE SIGNED STATEMENTS WILL BE RETAINED IN THE UNIVERSITY'S BUSINESS OFFICE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES WILL REVIEW THE CABINET LEVEL SALARIES AND BENEFITS ANNUALLY. THIS REVIEW WILL BE CONDUCTED AT THE STANDING MAY EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING. THE VICE PRESIDENT FOR BUSINESS AND FINANCE WILL PROVIDE THE SALARY AND BENEFITS INFORMATION. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE WILL ALSO RECEIVE INDUSTRY SALARY COMPARISONS EVERY THREE TO FIVE YEARS. THE PRESIDENT OF THE UNIVERSITY DOES HAVE A WRITTEN EMPLOYMENT CONTRACT. OTHER OFFICERS DO NOT HAVE A WRITTEN EMPLOYMENT CONTRACT.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE UNIVERSITY MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:GAIN (LOSS) ON INTEREST RATE SWAP AGREEMENT 81,193. ACTUARIAL GAIN (LOSS) ON ANNUITY CONTRACTS 222,295. ROUNDING -1.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2CTHE FINANCE AND INVESTMENT COMMITTEE ASSUMES RESPONSIBILITY FOR OVERSIGHT OF THE AUDIT AND FOR THE SELECTION OF AN INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTANT, AND THIS POLICY HAS NOT CHANGED FROM THAT OF THE PRIOR YEAR.
FORM 990, LINE C, PAGE 1ON APRIL 21, 2016, JOHNSON UNIVERSITY RECEIVED A LETTER FROM THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE (IRS) STATING THEY HAD CONSIDERED THE UNIVERSITY'S APPLICATION FOR A GROUP EXEMPTION LETTER RECOGNIZING ITS SUBORDINATES AS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAX UNDER SECTION 501(A) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE AS ORGANIZATIONS OF THE TYPE DESCRIBED IN SECTION 501(C)(3). ADDITIONALLY, THE IRS CLASSIFIED THE ORGANIZATIONS THAT JOHNSON UNIVERSITY OPERATES, SUPERVISES, OR CONTROLS, AND THAT ARE COVERED BY THE UNIVERSITY'S NOTIFICATION TO THE IRS, AS ORGANIZATIONS THAT ARE NOT PRIVATE FOUNDATIONS BECAUSE THEY ARE ORGANIZATIONS OF THE TYPE DESCRIBED IN SECTIONS 509(A)(1) AND 170(B)(1)(A)(II) OF THE CODE. ON JULY 1, 2016, JOHNSON UNIVERSITY FLORIDA, INC., BEGAN OPERATIONS. AS OF JUNE 30, 2017, IT IS THE SOLE GROUP SUBORDINATE OF JOHNSON UNIVERSITY. JOHNSON UNIVERSITY FLORIDA, INC. IS FILING ITS INITIAL FORM 990 FOR THE YEAR ENDED JUNE 30, 2017.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1THE JOHNSON FOUNDATION INCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line17900 JOHNSON DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityKNOXVILLECityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP37998ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN581767548EIN
Primary ActivitiesPROVIDES CHARITABLE GRANTS TO JOHNSON UNIVERSITYPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateTNLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(C)(3)ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity StatusOTHER TAXABLE PFPublicCharityStatusTxt
Direct Controlling NAN/ADirectControllingNACd
Controlled Organization0ControlledOrganizationInd

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DEERFIELD DEVELOPMENT INCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11011 BILL BECK BOULEVARDAddressLine1Txt
CityKISSIMMEECityNm
State AbbreviationFLStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP34744ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN591109202EIN
Primary ActivitiesREAL ESTATEPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateFLLegalDomicileStateCd
Direct Controlling NAN/ADirectControllingNACd
Entity TypeCEntityTypeTxt
Share Of Total Income$6,048ShareOfTotalIncomeAmt
Share Of EOY Assets$17,122ShareOfEOYAssetsAmt
Ownership1.00000OwnershipPct
Controlled Organization0ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (1)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (14 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmt
THE JOHNSON FOUNDATION INC IS OPERATED ON THE
NCASH PAID
CAMPUS OF JOHNSON UNIVERSITY THERE ARE NO
SEPARATE FACILITIES IN ADDITION THERE ARE THREE
ADVANCEMENT EMPLOYEES WHO SPEND ON AVERAGE 8 HOURS
PER MONTH WORKING ON FOUNDATION-RELATED MATTERS
THE BUSINESS OFFICE CONTROLLER SPENDS AN ESTIMATED
20 HOURS PER YEAR PERFORMING ACCOUNTING WORK FOR
THE FOUNDATION JOHNSON UNIVERSITY HAS NEVER
SOUGHT REMEDIATION FOR THESE EXPENSES INCURRED BY
THE UNIVERSITY BECAUSE GENERALLY THEY HAVE NOT BEEN
MATERIAL IN NATURE THE ESTIMATED COST FOR THESE
SERVICES WOULD NOT EXCEED 4000 FOR THE CURRENT
YEAR
JOHNSON UNIVERSITY FLORIDA INC
QCASH RECEIVED$73,795