AZURA CREDIT UNION: Form 990, tax year 2018

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
AZURA CREDIT UNION (EIN 48-0625190)
Tax period
2018-01-01 to 2018-12-31
Filed
2019-05-14
IRS object ID
201941349349302729
Schema version
2018v3.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2019-05-14T10:21:16-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2018-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN810781371PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1J TENBRINK & ASSOCIATESBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line111272 S RIDGEVIEW RDAddressLine1Txt
CityOLATHECityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP66061ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2018-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN480625190EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1AZURA CREDIT UNIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlAZURBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7852335556PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1610 SW 10TH AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityTOPEKACityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP666121673ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonGREG WINKLERPersonNm
Person TitlePRESIDENT/CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone7852335556PhoneNum
Signature2019-05-14SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonJERRY TENBRINKPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00638199PTIN
Phone9138946214PhoneNum

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address97.87.82.114IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2019-05-14IPDt
IP Tm10:21:03IPTm
IP TimezoneCDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdDF81630E7C01E54DA6D3CC5C7C1702BCCB5963A3AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device IdDF81630E7C01E54DA6D3CC5C7C1702BCCB5963A3AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2018TaxYr
Build TS2019-02-21 02:37:17ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerGREG WINKLERPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1610 SW 10TH AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityTOPEKACityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP666121673ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$32,067,308GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.AZURACU.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1974FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateKSLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionAZURA IS ENHANCING LIVES BY DELIVERING INNOVATIVE FINANCIAL SERVICE, EDUCATION, AND VALUE.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee204TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers14TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$155,289TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$20,658,554PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$23,499,480CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$2,662,133PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$2,443,867CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$24,066PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$32,283CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$23,344,753PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$25,975,630CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$11,426CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$8,546,653PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$9,161,735CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$11,988,115PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$12,970,594CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$20,534,768PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$22,143,755CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$2,809,985PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$3,831,875CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$477,439,542TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$481,919,271TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$426,450,429TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$427,332,391TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$50,989,113NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$54,586,880NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionAZURA IS ENHANCING LIVES BY DELIVERING INNOVATIVE FINANCIAL SERVICE, EDUCATION, AND VALUE THROUGH PERSONAL AND COMMUNITY ENGAGEMENT.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
DescPROVIDES FINANCIAL AND FINANCIALLY RELATED SERVICES TO 50,467 MEMBERS.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPROVIDES A SOURCE OF CREDIT TO MEMBERS AT A FAIR AND REASONABLE RATE OF INTEREST. AS OF DECEMBER 31, 2018, THERE WERE 28,113 LOANS OUTSTANDING TOTALING $354,549,725.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPAID DIVIDENDS ON MEMBER DEPOSITS TOTALING $2,457,785 FOR THE YEAR.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Described In Section501c30DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent Endowments0TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Loan OutstandingYes (1)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document14767IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee204EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (1)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (1)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (1)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (1)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body0Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn0AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VentureYes (1)InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Written Policy Or ProcedureYes (1)WrittenPolicyOrProcedureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1DAVID LINDERMANBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone7852335556PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1610 SW 10TH AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityTOPEKACityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP666121673ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (15 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
JIM FROWNFELTER
CHAIRMAN2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BOBB COLLIE
VICE CHAIRMAN2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SHIRLEY MARTIN
TREASURER2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DONALD FRICK
SECRETARY2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBERT BALSTERS
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARCIA DECHAND
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRAD DEITER
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RANDY PACHOSA
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRYAN VARGAS
DIRECTOR2.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
GREG WINKLER
PRESIDENT/CEO40.00$273,621$0$55,477Yes (X)
RONALD BARON
SVP-FINANCE & ACCTNG/CFO (THRU 6/15/18)40.00$80,007$0$12,109Yes (X)
LISA BROWN
SVP-ADMINISTRATION/CAO40.00$150,641$0$23,005Yes (X)
BRENTT MOON
SVP-OPERATIONS & INFO SYSTEMS/CIO40.00$148,003$0$27,069Yes (X)
EVAN BOUNOUS
SENIOR NETWORK ENGINEER40.00$131,632$0$37,036Yes (X)
JANICE DAVIS
VP - LENDING40.00$106,936$0$33,391Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$890,840TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$188,087TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K5IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K0CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
INTEREST ON LOANS522100$15,416,132$15,416,132
FEES & OTHER INCOME522100$7,928,059$7,928,059
NON-MEMBER REVENUE522100$116,196$116,196
WARRANTY SALES & OTHER INSURANCE524298$31,328$31,328
OTHER900099$7,765$7,765
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$23,499,480TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,466,641TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$2,466,641RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$32,283TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$32,283RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$5,756,003SecuritiesAmt
Other$312,901OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$5,750,304SecuritiesAmt
Other$341,374OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$5,699SecuritiesAmt
Other-$28,473OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$22,774TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$22,774RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$25,975,630TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$25,820,341RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$155,289UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,426TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$769,932TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,797,298TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$341,331TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$755,862TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$497,312TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,105TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$157,598TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,180TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$193,021TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$667,040TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,807,098TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$750,341TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$781,408TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$19,350TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$180,924TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$91,170TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,403,566TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$122,914TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
MEMBER DIVIDENDS$2,457,785
PROVISION FOR LOAN LOSS$2,268,251
LOAN SERVICING$938,203
ASSOCIATION DUES$64,509

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$47,131TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$22,143,755TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,142,970BOYAmt
EOY$3,674,434EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$18,729,527BOYAmt
EOY$10,838,113EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$191,689BOYAmt
EOY$152,604EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$4,050,000EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$316,777,657BOYAmt
EOY$352,506,443EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$608,283BOYAmt
EOY$613,861EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$15,212,652LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$5,177,554LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,742,359BOYAmt
EOY$10,035,098EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$118,086,484BOYAmt
EOY$86,588,737EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,160,573BOYAmt
EOY$13,459,981EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$477,439,542BOYAmt
EOY$481,919,271EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,514,475BOYAmt
EOY$5,277,246EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$10,000,000EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$418,935,954BOYAmt
EOY$412,055,145EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$426,450,429BOYAmt
EOY$427,332,391EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow SFAS117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowSFAS117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$50,989,113BOYAmt
EOY$54,586,880EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$50,989,113BOYAmt
EOY$54,586,880EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$477,439,542BOYAmt
EOY$481,919,271EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$3,831,875ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$234,108NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,153,879OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$2,153,879BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$8,951,512OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,322,539DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,628,973BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$524,030OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$511,119DepreciationAmt
Book Value$12,911BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$3,583,231OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,343,896DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,239,335BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$10,035,098TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (11 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
HTM-FED AGENCY SEC$14,000,000C
AFS-MORTGAGE BACKED/CMO$53,397,024F
AFS-FED AGENCY SEC$1,992,250F
HTM-MORTGAGE BACKED/CMO$13,603,945C
HTM-MUNICIPAL BONDS$1,000,000C
FHLB CLASS A STOCK$477,300C
AFS-BANK NOTES$1,981,620F
MEMBERS MORT SVCS, LLC$106,362C
CROCO CUSO, LLC$1,005C
FHLB CLASS B STOCK$9,500C
CULEDGER HEARTLAND, LLC$19,731C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$86,588,737TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescMEMBER SHARE DEPOSITSDesc
Amt$412,055,145Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$412,055,145TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$25,975,630TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$25,975,630RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$25,975,630TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$22,143,755TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$22,143,755ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$22,143,755TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART X, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE CREDIT UNION IS EXEMPT BY STATUTE FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAXES UNDER THE PROVISIONS OF SECTION 501 OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE (IRC) OF 1954; HOWEVER, THE CREDIT UNION'S UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME AND SUBSIDIARIES ARE SUBJECT TO FEDERAL INCOME TAXES. THERE WERE NO SIGNIFICANT INCOME TAXES FOR THE YEAR ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2018. ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES PRESCRIBE A RECOGNITION THRESHOLD AND MEASUREMENT ATTRIBUTE FOR THE FINANCIAL STATEMENT RECOGNITION AND MEASUREMENT OF A TAX POSITION TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN IN A TAX RETURN. THE CREDIT UNION HAD NO UNRECOGNIZED TAX POSITIONS AT DECEMBER 31, 2018. IT IS THE CREDIT UNION'S POLICY TO RECORD ANY PENALTIES OR INTEREST ARISING FROM FEDERAL OR STATE TAXES AS A COMPONENT OF NONINTEREST EXPENSE.ExplanationTxt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (2 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmt
SCHOLARSHIPS2$2,000
TEACHER MINI GRANTS43$9,426

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE CREDIT UNION AWARDS THE "DIANE WRIGHT MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP AND THE "ABOVE AND BEYOND" SCHOLARSHIP" TO STUDENTS WHO WILL BE ATTENDING AN ACCREDITED HIGHER EDUCATION INSTITUTE WITHIN THE STATE OF KANSAS, OR WITHIN 25 MILES OF AN AZURA CREDIT UNION. APPLICATIONS ARE REVIEWED BY A SELECTION COMMITTEE AND WINNERS ARE AWARDED $1,000 WITH PROCEEDS PAID DIRECTLY TO THE COLLEGE/UNIVERSITY OR TECHNICAL SCHOOL. IN ADDITION, TEACHERS MAY APPLY FOR MINI-GRANTS TO HELP COVER THE COST OF VARIOUS CLASSROOM PROJECTS. APPLICATIONS ARE REVIEWED BY AZURA'S BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT STAFF AND FUNDS ARE PAID TO THE VENDOR SUPPLIER OR TO THE SCHOOL.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (4 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
GREG WINKLER
PRESIDENT/CEO$267,614$0$5,755$0$252$0$27,500$0$27,977$0$329,098$0$0$0
LISA BROWN
SVP-ADMINISTRATION/CAO$146,715$0$3,674$0$252$0$12,692$0$10,313$0$173,646$0$0$0
BRENTT MOON
SVP-OPERATIONS & INFO SYSTEMS/CIO$144,203$0$3,548$0$252$0$12,166$0$14,903$0$175,072$0$0$0
EVAN BOUNOUS
SENIOR NETWORK ENGINEER$127,567$0$3,813$0$252$0$14,327$0$22,709$0$168,668$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 3THE PRESIDENT/CEO'S COMPENSATION IS SET BY THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS, APPROVED BY THE FULL BOARD AND IS PURSUANT TO A WRITTEN EMPLOYMENT CONTRACT.
PART I, LINE 4BIN 2018, THE CREDIT UNION ENTERED INTO COLLATERAL ASSIGNMENT SPLIT DOLLAR LIFE INSURANCE ARRANGEMENTS WITH THE FOLLOWING OFFICERS: - GREG WINKLER, PRESIDENT/CEO - LISA BROWN, SVP-ADMINISTRATION/CAO - BRENTT MOON, SVP-OPERATIONS & INFORMATION SYSTEMS/CIO SEE SCHEDULE L FOR FURTHER DETAILS,INCLUDING THE RELATED LOANS OUTSTANDING AT DECEMBER 31, 2018.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp (3 entries)

Relationship With OrgRelationshipWithOrgTxtLoan PurposeLoanPurposeTxtLoan From OrganizationLoanFromOrganizationIndOriginal PrincipalOriginalPrincipalAmtBalance DueBalanceDueAmtDefaultDefaultIndBoard Or Committee ApprovalBoardOrCommitteeApprovalIndWritten AgreementWrittenAgreementInd
GREG WINKLER
PRESIDENT/CEOPURCHASE OF CASH VALUE LIFE INSURANCE - NONRECOURSE SPLIT DOLLAR LOANYes (X)$2,600,000$2,600,0000Yes (1)Yes (1)
LISA BROWN
SVP-ADMINISTRATION/CAOPURCHASE OF CASH VALUE LIFE INSURANCE - NONRECOURSE SPLIT DOLLAR LOANYes (X)$800,000$800,0000Yes (1)Yes (1)
BRENTT MOON
SVP-OPERATIONS & INFORMATION SYSTEMS/CIOPURCHASE OF CASH VALUE LIFE INSURANCE - NONRECOURSE SPLIT DOLLAR LOANYes (X)$650,000$650,0000Yes (1)Yes (1)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$4,050,000TotalBalanceDueAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE L, PART II, LOANS TO AND FROM INTERESTED PERSONS:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE CREDIT UNION PROVIDES SUPPLEMENTAL RETIREMENT BENEFITS THROUGH AN ARRANGEMENT THE IRS REFERS TO AS "COLLATERAL ASSIGNMENT SPLIT DOLLAR" (CASD). WHILE THE IRS REQUIRES REPORTING IN PART II, ABOVE, FOR LOANS TO INTERESTED PERSONS, CASD IS IS NOT AN ACTUAL LOAN. THERE IS NEITHER A TRANSFER OF FUNDS TO THE EXECUTIVE NOR AN OBLIGATION FOR THE EXECUTIVE TO PAY THOSE FUNDS BACK. INSTEAD, THE CREDIT UNION RECOVERS ITS OUTLAYS PLUS INTEREST FROM THE UNDERLYING INSURANCE POLICY.IN CASD, THE CREDIT UNION DEPOSITS DOLLARS DIRECTLY INTO A LIFE INSURANCE POLICY OWNED BY THE EXECUTIVE AND HOLDS A LIEN ON THE POLICY TO ENSURE REPAYMENT. AT SPECIFIED TIMES AND SUBJECT TO VESTING REQUIREMENTS, THE EXECUTIVE MAY BORROW FROM THE CASH VALUE OF THE POLICY TO SUPPLEMENT RETIREMENT INCOME (PROVIDED THERE ARE SUFFICIENT POLICY VALUES). BORROWING IS CAREFULLY MONITORED AND LIMITED TO ASSURE THE POLICY WILL REMAIN IN EFFECT UNTIL THE EXECUTIVE'S DEATH AND WILL PAY A DEATH BENEFIT AT LEAST SUFFICIENT TO REPAY THE CREDIT UNION'S OUTLAYS PLUS INTEREST.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE CREDIT UNION IS MUTUALLY OWNED BY MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7ATHE BOARD OF DIRECTORS ARE ELECTED BY THE CREDIT UNION MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BCERTAIN SIGNIFICANT CHANGES ARE SUBJECT TO APPROVAL BY THE CREDIT UNION MEMBERS; HOWEVER, NO SUCH CHANGES WERE MADE DURING THE YEAR.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE VP-FINANCE & ACCOUNTING PROVIDES DETAILS NEEDED TO COMPLETE THE FORM 990 AND REVIEWS THE RETURN WITH THE PRESIDENT/CEO PRIOR TO BOARD APPROVAL.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CAN INTERNAL AUDIT AND COMPLIANCE STAFF MEMBER MONITORS CONFLICTS OF INTEREST FOR AREAS OF CONCERN. IN ADDITION, THERE IS A 1-800 HOTLINE WHERE CONCERNS CAN BE REPORTED ANONYMOUSLY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE PRESIDENT/CEO'S COMPENSATION IS SET BY THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS, APPROVED BY THE FULL BOARD AND IS PURSUANT TO A WRITTEN EMPLOYMENT CONTRACT. COMPENSATION FOR ALL OTHER EMPLOYEES IS BASED ON PERFORMANCE EVALUATIONS AND STANDING WITHIN THE APPLICABLE PAY SCALES. COMPEASE SOFTWARE IS USED IN THIS PROCESS. THIS PROVIDER PERFORMS ANNUAL MARKET RESEARCH TO ASSIST IN GRADING POSITIONS AND ENSURING COMPENSATION LEVELS ARE COMPETITIVE AND REASONABLE, WHILE ALSO HAVING INTERNAL EQUITY AS WELL AS OBJECTIVE AND CONSISTENT PAY PRACTICES.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19FINANCIAL STATEMENTS ARE PRESENTED AT THE ANNUAL MEETING AND ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. IN ADDITION, THE NCUA WEBSITE POSTS FINANCIAL INFORMATION AS PART OF THE QUARTERLY CALL REPORTS. OTHER DOCUMENTS, POLICIES AND PROCEDURES ARE AVAILABLE UPON WRITTEN REQUEST.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CROCO CUSO LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1610 SW 10TH AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityTOPEKACityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP66612ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN920192646EIN
Primary ActivitiesCREDIT UNION SERVICE ORGANIZATION (DORMANT)PrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateKSLegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$0TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$1,005EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.