REED INSTITUTE: Form 990, tax year 2017

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
REED INSTITUTE (EIN 93-0386908)
Tax period
2017-07-01 to 2018-06-30
Filed
2019-05-06
IRS object ID
201901279349300215
Schema version
2017v2.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2019-05-06T18:45:50-07:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2018-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2017-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN930386908EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1REED INSTITUTEBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlREEDBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5037777505PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13203 SE Woodstock BlvdAddressLine1Txt
CityPortlandCityNm
State AbbreviationORStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP972028199ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonRobert TustPersonNm
Person TitleAssociate Treasurer and ControllerPersonTitleTxt
Phone5037777505PhoneNum
Signature2019-05-06SignatureDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address134.10.129.125IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2017TaxYr
Build TS2020-01-14 16:20:31ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

Doing Business As Name DoingBusinessAsName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1REED COLLEGEBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerRobert TustPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13203 SE Woodstock BlvdAddressLine1Txt
CityPortlandCityNm
State AbbreviationORStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP97202ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$285,323,073GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.reed.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1908FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateORLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionProvide education in the liberal arts and sciencesActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body36VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent35VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1847TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers198TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$366,715TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$13,575,081PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$20,541,413CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$85,884,749PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$90,797,002CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$4,970,510PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$5,189,020CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue-$73,998PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue-$67,416CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$104,356,342PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$116,460,019CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$28,268,227PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$27,159,916CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$54,030,519PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$58,930,158CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$4,586,556CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$37,154,617PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$35,861,069CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$119,453,363PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$121,951,143CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$15,097,021PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$5,491,124CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$751,616,019TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$820,270,782TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$133,643,296TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$165,223,973TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$617,972,723NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$655,046,809NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionThe mission of Reed College is to provide education in the liberal arts and sciences.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$1,157,968ExpenseAmt
Grant$0GrantAmt
Revenue$1,157,968RevenueAmt
DescThe Institute had 24 research grants funded with federal funds. Departments funded were Biology, Chemistry, Financial Aid, Math, Psychology, Sociology, Economics and the Reactor.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$93,243,790ExpenseAmt
Grant$27,159,916GrantAmt
Revenue$74,729,022RevenueAmt
Desc1,472 FTE Students, 287 degrees conferred 17/18.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$17,161,037ExpenseAmt
Grant$0GrantAmt
Revenue$14,910,012RevenueAmt
DescAuxiliary services - students living in dorms, using dining facilities and bookstore.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$0TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Grant$0TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$0TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$111,562,795TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document1819IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee1847EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members36GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member35IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldORStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Own WebsiteYes (X)OwnWebsiteInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonLorraine ArvinPersonNm
Phone5037777240PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1Vice President and TreasurerAddressLine1Txt
Address Line23203 SE Woodstock BlvdAddressLine2Txt
CityPortlandCityNm
State AbbreviationORStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP972028199ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (47 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Dr Julia P Adams '80
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Konrad S Alt '81
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Stephen E Babson
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Matthew P Bergman '84
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Timothy P Boyle
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
M Jane Buchan
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
C Morris Copeland '82
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Thomas O Daniel MD
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Richard J Danzig '65
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kurt D Delbene
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Scott E Foster '77
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Nicholas Galakatos '79
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Daniel B Greenberg '62
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Edward Hall '87
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dennis Henner
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Linda G Howard '70
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jay M Hubert '66
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
George M James '77
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Deborah D Kamali '85
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Anna Hayes Levin
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Amy M Madigan
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Alex J Martinez '73
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Linda H Matthews '67
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Winthrop McCormack
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Adrienne Nelson
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Peter Norton '65
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Margaret Hill Noto '75
Trustee-Secretary10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Eduardo Ochoa '73
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Darlene D Pasieczny '01
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Roger M Perlmutter MD '73
Trustee-Chairman10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Gary Rieschel '79
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dylan Rivera '95
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
John P Sheehy '82
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Alice Larkin Steiner '74
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Peter C Stockman '77
Trustee10Yes (X)$0$0$0
Richard H Wollenberg '75
Trustee-Vice Chairman10Yes (X)$0$0$0
John R Kroger
President400.1Yes (X)$452,864$0$29,034Yes (X)
Hugh Porter
VP/College Relations400$309,530$0$41,878Yes (X)
Lorraine Arvin
VP and Treasurer400.1$307,365$0$28,998Yes (X)
Nigel J Nicholson
Dean of the Faculty400.1$225,596$0$35,365Yes (X)
Michael Brody
VP & Dean of Student Services400$214,343$0$34,584Yes (X)
Milyon Trulove
VP and Dean of Admission and Financial Aid400$184,621$0$28,358Yes (X)
Amanda Heaton
Executive Director of Communications and Public Affairs400$166,151$0$25,743Yes (X)
Myron Angell
Director of Facilities Operations400$164,807$0$22,608Yes (X)
Martin Ringle
Chief Information Officer400$163,171$0$22,336Yes (X)
Mary James
Dean for Institutional Diversity and AA Knowlton Professor of Physics400$154,678$0$21,556Yes (X)
Christine Pearson
Director of Principal Gifts400$152,259$0$21,565Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,495,385TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$312,025TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K93IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmtAddress Line2ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine2Txt
Reimers & Jolivette Inc
2344 NW 24th AvePortlandOR972102132Construction$4,862,428
Bon Appetit
Suite 100Menlo ParkCA94025Food service$3,698,3142730 Sand Hill Road
Zimmer Gunsul Frasca Architects LLP
1223 SW Washington St Ste 200PortlandOR97205Architects$2,274,450
Harrassowitz
820 University Blvd South Ste 2CMobileAL36609Library services$1,433,512
Washington Roofing Co
1700 SW Hwy 18McMinnvilleOR97128Construction$532,072
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K22CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Federated Campaigns$0FederatedCampaignsAmt
Membership Dues$0MembershipDuesAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt
Related Organizations$0RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Government Grants$1,280,240GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$19,261,173AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$5,121,518NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$20,541,413TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Tuition and fees611710$74,619,894$74,619,894$0$0
Auxiliary-dorm fees611710$6,974,190$6,974,190$0$0
Auxiliary-cafeteria fees611710$6,240,151$6,240,151$0$0
Auxiliary-bookstore fees611710$1,298,926$1,298,926$0$0
Other fees611710$1,663,841$1,663,841$0$0

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$90,797,002TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$367,731TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$366,715UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,016ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$4,848,748TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion-$4,848,748ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$284,080RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$351,496RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real-$67,416RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$67,416TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion-$67,416ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$178,181,595SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$168,511,558SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$9,670,037SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$9,670,037TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$9,670,037ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$0FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$0ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$0FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gaming Gross Income$0GamingGrossIncomeAmt
Gaming Direct Expenses$0GamingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$0GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$0CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$0OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$116,460,019TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$90,797,002RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$366,715UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$4,754,889ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$27,159,916TotalAmt
Program Services$27,159,916ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,968,388TotalAmt
Program Services$769,374ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$834,155ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$364,859FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$40,383,251TotalAmt
Program Services$35,877,594ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,062,358ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,443,299FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,480,144TotalAmt
Program Services$3,080,957ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$188,735ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$210,452FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,155,830TotalAmt
Program Services$8,816,699ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$684,861ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$654,270FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,942,545TotalAmt
Program Services$2,551,363ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$198,146ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$193,036FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$500,263TotalAmt
Program Services$303,508ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$186,584ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$10,171FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$204,536TotalAmt
Program Services$118,789ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$81,315ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$4,432FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$11,757,611TotalAmt
Program Services$11,246,276ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$370,859ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$140,476FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,330,984TotalAmt
Program Services$6,982,540ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$200,840ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$147,604FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,512,889TotalAmt
Program Services$1,490,127ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$8,679ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$14,083FundraisingAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,955,070TotalAmt
Program Services$1,840,112ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$97,558ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$17,400FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,398,918TotalAmt
Program Services$2,001,251ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$109,347ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$288,320FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,146,030TotalAmt
Program Services$2,019,843ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$107,087ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$19,100FundraisingAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,683,549TotalAmt
Program Services$5,349,356ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$283,609ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$50,584FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$886,364TotalAmt
Program Services$594,555ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$276,725ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$15,084FundraisingAmt

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,484,855TotalAmt
Program Services$1,360,535ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$110,934ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$13,386FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$121,951,143TotalAmt
Program Services$111,562,795ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,801,792ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$4,586,556FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$54,533BOYAmt
EOY$38,381EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,540,251BOYAmt
EOY$6,305,180EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,021,910BOYAmt
EOY$8,235,032EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$621,537BOYAmt
EOY$732,569EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,955,667BOYAmt
EOY$4,578,098EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$444,906BOYAmt
EOY$594,631EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$240,047,485LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$99,517,242LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$134,133,200BOYAmt
EOY$140,530,243EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$101,230,121BOYAmt
EOY$138,170,063EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$474,792,218BOYAmt
EOY$493,699,906EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,821,676BOYAmt
EOY$27,386,679EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$751,616,019BOYAmt
EOY$820,270,782EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,464,420BOYAmt
EOY$8,407,632EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,143,600BOYAmt
EOY$1,207,121EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$77,424,012BOYAmt
EOY$110,226,899EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$59,502BOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$47,551,762BOYAmt
EOY$45,382,321EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$133,643,296BOYAmt
EOY$165,223,973EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$340,737,944BOYAmt
EOY$360,852,405EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$105,400,313BOYAmt
EOY$115,378,177EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$171,834,466BOYAmt
EOY$178,816,227EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$617,972,723BOYAmt
EOY$655,046,809EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$751,616,019BOYAmt
EOY$820,270,782EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$5,491,124ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$42,565,210NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Investment Expense$0InvestmentExpenseAmt
Prior Period Adjustments$0PriorPeriodAdjustmentsAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$516,219,094BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$13,379,574ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$53,942,948InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$8,519,878GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$18,859,390OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$578,880AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$555,583,468EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$473,219,824BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$6,691,816ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$64,132,469InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$8,584,946GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$18,674,692OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$565,377AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$516,219,094EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$523,955,818BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$8,081,620ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$32,241,862InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$8,226,779GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$17,788,676OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$560,297AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$473,219,824EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$524,449,466BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,111,505ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$22,193,246InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$7,655,882GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$16,603,559OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$538,958AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$523,955,818EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$469,540,315BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$5,272,650ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$73,116,008InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$7,227,447GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$15,728,428OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$523,632AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$524,449,466EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.53BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.31PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.16TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$8,983,895OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$8,983,895BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$215,466,563OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$85,149,249DepreciationAmt
Book Value$130,317,314BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$0OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$0DepreciationAmt
Book Value$0BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$15,597,027OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$14,367,993DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,229,034BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$0OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$0DepreciationAmt
Book Value$0BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$140,530,243TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescAlternative investmentsDesc
Book Value$493,699,906BookValueAmt
Method ValuationFMethodValuationCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$493,699,906TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (6 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Postretirement benefits payable$26,432,053
Liability for split-interest agreements$11,783,120
Refundable loan programs$1,820,048
Asset retirement obligation$3,073,572
Swap derivative$824,712
Other$1,448,816
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$45,382,321TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$133,018,668TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$42,565,210NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Recoveries Prior Year Grants$0RecoveriesPriorYearGrantsAmt
Other Revenue$0OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$42,565,210RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$90,453,458RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$0InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$26,006,561OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$26,006,561RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$116,460,019TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$96,063,813TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Prior Year Adjustments$0PriorYearAdjustmentsAmt
Losses Reported$0LossesReportedAmt
Other Expenses Included$0OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$96,063,813ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$0InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$25,887,330OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$25,887,330ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$121,951,143TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule D, Part V, Line 4The college's endowment funds are used for scholarships, chairs, academic support, library support, student services, and general operating support.
Schedule D, Part XI, Line 4bScholarships 26,359,478; Rental expenses -351,496; Other -1,421
Schedule D, Part XII, Line 4bScholarships 26,359,478; Odyssey -87,344; Grayco -33,308; Rental expenses -351,496

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule E, Part I, Line 3Newspaper announcement is done once per year and statement on Admission website-http://www.reed.edu/diversity/index.html
Schedule E, Part I, Line 6Financial assistance is from Perkins and Title 4 financial aid.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (3 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
Central America and the Caribbean00Investments$24,963,241
East Asia and the Pacific00Investments$11,548,121
Europe (including Iceland and Greenland)00Investments$1,177,841
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Spent$37,689,203TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpYes (1)TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp Ownership0ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CoYes (1)PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipYes (1)ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (3 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmtNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmt
Reed Grants759$26,354,851$0
Oregon State Grants27$55,856$0
Other Awards107$749,209$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule I, Part I, Line 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe financial aid office awards grants to students based on the students financial aid application. Once classes begin, grants are disbursed to the student's account where they offset tuition charges.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Personal ServicesYes (X)PersonalServicesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (11 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
John R Kroger
President$452,864$0$0$0$0$0$27,500$0$1,534$0$481,898$0$0$0
Hugh Porter
VP/College Relations$309,530$0$0$0$0$0$27,500$0$14,378$0$351,408$0$0$0
Lorraine Arvin
VP and Treasurer$307,365$0$0$0$0$0$27,500$0$1,498$0$336,363$0$0$0
Nigel J Nicholson
Dean of the Faculty$225,596$0$0$0$0$0$20,992$0$14,373$0$260,961$0$0$0
Michael Brody
VP & Dean of Student Services$214,343$0$0$0$0$0$20,229$0$14,355$0$248,927$0$0$0
Milyon Trulove
VP and Dean of Admission and Financial Aid$184,621$0$0$0$0$0$17,164$0$11,194$0$212,979$0$0$0
Amanda Heaton
Executive Director of Communications and Public Affairs$166,151$0$0$0$0$0$15,254$0$10,489$0$191,894$0$0$0
Myron Angell
Director of Facilities Operations$164,807$0$0$0$0$0$14,859$0$7,749$0$187,415$0$0$0
Martin Ringle
Chief Information Officer$163,171$0$0$0$0$0$14,594$0$7,742$0$185,507$0$0$0
Mary James
Dean for Institutional Diversity and AA Knowlton Professor of Physics$154,678$0$0$0$0$0$16,004$0$5,552$0$176,234$0$0$0
Christine Pearson
Director of Principal Gifts$152,259$0$0$0$0$0$13,847$0$7,718$0$173,824$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule J, Part I, Line 1aFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationHousing is required as a condition of employment for the President. Residence cleaning is also provided for the President.ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINCUSIPCUSIPNumBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
Oregon Facilities Authority
A93600178768608JJE22008-04-23$47,060,000See Part VI000
Oregon Facilities Authority
B93600178768608JNAS2011-03-22$40,195,822See part VIYes (1)00
Oregon Facilities Authority
C93600178768608JXC02017-12-05$74,641,830See Part VI000

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtBond DefeasedBondDefeasedAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIn Reserve FundInReserveFundAmtCapitalized InterestCapitalizedInterestAmtRefunding EscrowRefundingEscrowAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtCredit EnhancementCreditEnhancementAmtWorking Capital ExpendituresWorkingCapitalExpendituresAmtCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtUnspentUnspentAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrCurrent RefundingCurrentRefundingIndAdvance RefundingAdvanceRefundingIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd
A$7,925,000$0$47,060,000$0$977,670$0$451,579$0$0$0$45,622,338$02008Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)
B$0$40,220,000$40,195,822$0$0$0$615,747$0$0$20,004,876$19,575,199$02013Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)
C$0$0$74,641,830$0$0$44,218,163$730,479$0$0$3,709,367$0$25,983,8210Yes (1)0Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndPrivate Bus Use By OthersPrivateBusUseByOthersPctPrivate Bus Concerning UBIPrivateBusConcerningUBIPctTotal Private Business UseTotalPrivateBusinessUsePctBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
A000000000Yes (1)
B000000000Yes (1)
C000000000Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndTerm Of HedgeTermOfHedgePctSuperintegrated HedgeSuperintegratedHedgeIndHedge TerminatedHedgeTerminatedIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
UBS
A0Yes (1)00Yes (1)Yes (1)13Yes (1)000Yes (1)
(no name)
B0Yes (1)000000Yes (1)
(no name)
C0Yes (1)000000Yes (1)

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (1)
BYes (1)
CYes (1)

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule K, Part I-04/23/2008 47,060,000 Oregon Facilities AuthorityThe 2008 bonds were issued to redeem and retire bonds which were issued on June 7, 2006 and August 1, 2007.
Schedule K, Part I-03/22/2011 40,195,822 Oregon Facilities AuthorityThe 2011 bonds were issued for the refunding of the 2000 Bond issue and the planning and building of a performing arts center for the music, dance, and theater departments. The 2000 bond was issued on May 11, 2000.
Schedule K, Part I-12/05/2017 74,641,830 Oregon Facilities AuthorityThe 2017 bonds were issued for the refunding of the 2011 Bond issue and the planning and construction of a residence hall. The 2011 Bond was issued on 3/22/2011.

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution80ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$4,951,518NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining Revenuesmarket valueMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Real Estate Residential RealEstateResidentialGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution1ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$170,000NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesappraisalMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form8283 Received0Form8283ReceivedCnt
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule M, Part I, Line 9FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe number reported in Part I, column (b) represents the number of contributions.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 11bAn electronic draft of the form 990 is provided to the Audit Committee of the Board of Trustees. The committee reviews, discusses, and provides input to management. After the Audit Committee accepts the form 990, it is made available to all Trustees for review. After any further trustee questions are resolved and a final copy of the return has been provided to the entire board, the form 990 is filed.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 12cReed requires all officers and institutional trustees to complete a conflict of interest form annually. The form includes the college's conflict of interest policy and asks each individual about the existence of conflicts of interest. If a conflict of interest exists the officer or trustee is asked to describe the situation in their response. These forms are reviewed by the Vice-President and Treasurer and the Chair of the Audit Committee of the Board. Persons with a conflict are prohibited from participating in the Board and officer deliberations and decisions in those transactions.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 15The Executive Committee, which is comprised of independent Trustees and which functions as the College's compensation committee, annually reviews presidential and officer compensation data from comparable colleges along with other data provided by the Human Resources Office. They also conduct an annual performance evaluation of the President. Any changes in the President's compensation are approved by the Executive Committee, and communicated by the Chair of the Board of Trustees in writing to the President. The Executive Committee review and decisions on executive compensation are documented in the minutes of the Executive Committee meetings. These reviews are completed in June of each year.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 19Governing documents are available upon request. Conflict of interest policy and financial statements are available on the College's Office of the Treasurer website.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Odyssey Property Holdings IncBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13203 SE Woodstock BlvdAddressLine1Txt
CityPortlandCityNm
State AbbreviationORStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP97202ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN200779531EIN
Primary Activitiesacquire, develop, and hold title to propertyPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateORLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501(c)(2)ExemptCodeSectionTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1The Reed InstituteBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationYes (1)ControlledOrganizationInd

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtEntity TypeEntityTypeTxtShare Of Total IncomeShareOfTotalIncomeAmtShare Of EOY AssetsShareOfEOYAssetsAmtOwnershipOwnershipPctControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
Grayco Resources Inc
3203 SE Woodstock BlvdPortlandOR97202930603357Rental ActivityORThe Reed InstituteC$70,000$1,224,3651Yes (1)
Charitable remainder trust (27)
3203 SE Woodstock BlvdPortlandOR97202TrustORThe Reed InstituteT0
Pooled Income Fund (1)
3203 SE Woodstock BlvdPortlandOR97202Pooled Income FundORThe Reed InstituteT0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgYes (1)RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (2 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
Grayco Resources Inc
k$70,000Lease agreement
Grayco Resources Inc
s$60,000Loan payments

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.