OLIVET NAZARENE UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION: Form 990, tax year 2018

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
OLIVET NAZARENE UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION (EIN 23-7063419)
Tax period
2018-07-01 to 2019-06-30
Filed
2019-11-14
IRS object ID
201913189349307776
Schema version
2018v3.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2019-11-14T11:53:19-08:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2019-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2018-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN237063419EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Olivet Nazarene University FoundationBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlOLIVBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8159395080PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1387 S Main StAddressLine1Txt
CityBourbonnaisCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60914ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDr David PickeringPersonNm
Person TitleVice PresidentPersonTitleTxt
Signature2019-11-14SignatureDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2018TaxYr
Build TS2020-03-31 21:24:44ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1387 S Main StAddressLine1Txt
CityBourbonnaisCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60914ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$22,557,281GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
All Affiliates IncludedfalseAllAffiliatesIncludedInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressN/AWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1969FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateILLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionReceive, administer, and expend funds for religious, educational, charitable, and scientific purposes in connection with promoting and assisting the educational services of Olivet Nazarene University.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body24VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent19VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers35TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$3,947,709PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$3,931,796CYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$0CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$6,006,952PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$4,503,315CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$9,698PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$391,513CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$9,964,359PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$8,826,624CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$1,445,948PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$1,463,433CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$15,216PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$8,929CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$3,497,430PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$3,691,264CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$4,958,594PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$5,163,626CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$5,005,765PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$3,662,998CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$176,055,977TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$179,659,257TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$138,528,083TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$137,302,918TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$37,527,894NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$42,356,339NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionReceive, administer, and expend funds for religious, educational, charitable, and scientific purposes in connection with promoting and assisting the educational services of Olivet Nazarene University.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$1,463,433ExpenseAmt
Grant$1,463,433GrantAmt
DescProvide scholarships to 878 students from endowment earnings to Olivet Nazarene Univ.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$83,604ExpenseAmt
DescFunds provided for educational programs, internships, and center for student success from endowment earnings.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$1,547,037TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (true)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentfalseReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (true)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt BondsfalseInvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (true)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document48IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledfalseEmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledfalseForm990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Form8282 Filed0Form8282FiledCnt
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Form8899 FiledindfalseForm8899Filedind
Form1098 C FiledfalseForm1098CFiledInd
DAF Excess Business HoldingsfalseDAFExcessBusinessHoldingsInd
Taxable DistributionsfalseTaxableDistributionsInd
Distribution To DonorfalseDistributionToDonorInd
Org Filed In Lieu Of Form1041falseOrgFiledInLieuOfForm1041Ind
Licensed More Than One StatefalseLicensedMoreThanOneStateInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members24GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member19IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (true)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressYes (true)OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyfalseForm990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOfalseCompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherfalseCompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMatthew FoorPersonNm
Phone8159395079PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1One University AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityBourbonnaisCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60914ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (33 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Mr Mel Sayes
Chairman1.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Harvey Gifford
Director1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Samuel Mayhugh
Director1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Richard Dykhouse
Director1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Jeriel A Beard
Director1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mrs Phyllis McSwaim
Director1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr David L Miller
Director1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mrs Joyce E Burggraf
Director1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr John Mongerson
Director10.0035.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$96,013$24,884
Dr John Bowling
President5.0040.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$291,218$70,292
Mr Barry Huebner
Director1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Christopher Shride
Director1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr R Mark Phillips
Director1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rev David McCool
Director1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Richard McHie
Director1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Kevin Sims
Director1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Donald Dreisbach
Director1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr William Slattery
Director1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Douglas Perry
Treasurer5.0040.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$176,913$40,292
Dr Brian Allen
Vice President5.0040.00Yes (X)$0$164,540$22,046
George Kalemkarian
Director1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Julian Jarvis
Director1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mr Dan Rexroth
Vice Chairman1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Carol Summers
Vice President0.0040.00Yes (X)$0$167,728$29,488
Dr David Pickering
Vice President5.0040.00Yes (X)$0$159,586$34,179
Mr Woody Webb
Vice President0.0040.00Yes (X)$0$159,947$15,792
Dr Ryan Spittal
Vice President0.0040.00Yes (X)$0$162,351$21,162
Dr Ron Hyson
Executive Dir.5.0040.00Yes (X)$0$109,584$15,792
Dr Jay Martinson
Chair Communicatio0.0050.00$0$134,579$26,714Yes (X)
Dr Houston Thompson
Dean, Engineering0.0050.00$0$167,696$31,664Yes (X)
Karen Dowling
Dir of Grad Educ0.0050.00$0$117,946$20,424Yes (X)
Dr David VanHeemst
Chair, His & Pol0.0050.00$0$135,491$23,841Yes (X)
Dennis Seymour
Chief Inf Officer0.0050.00$0$121,751$22,704Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$2,165,343TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$399,274TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K0IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Morgan Stanley Smith Barney
395 Wm Latham DriveBourbonnaisIL60914Investment Managemen$90,500
CommonFund
15 Old Danbury RoadWiltonCT06897Investment Managemen$49,410
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K0CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
All Other Contributions$3,931,796AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$841,119NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$3,931,796TotalContributionsAmt
Total Program Service Revenue$0TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$4,013,378TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$4,013,378ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$14,220,594SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$13,730,657SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$489,937SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$489,937TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$489,937ExclusionAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (2 entries)

DescDescTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Change in value of CRT$84,726$84,726
Transfers from ONU$306,787$306,787
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$391,513OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$8,826,624TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$4,894,828ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,463,433TotalAmt
Program Services$1,463,433ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,929TotalAmt
Program Services$8,929ProgramServicesAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,400TotalAmt
Management And General$9,400ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$139,910TotalAmt
Management And General$139,910ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,503TotalAmt
Program Services$13,503ProgramServicesAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,190TotalAmt
Program Services$1,190ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,000ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,055TotalAmt
Program Services$5,318ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,737ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$480TotalAmt
Program Services$480ProgramServicesAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4TotalAmt
Program Services$4ProgramServicesAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$19,416TotalAmt
Program Services$4,130ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$15,286ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,139,642TotalAmt
Management And General$3,139,642ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$167,479TotalAmt
Program Services$46,432ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$121,047ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmt
Present Value Adj to Annuities$183,529$183,529
Meals$7,813$4,195$3,618
Fees$843$843

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,163,626TotalAmt
Program Services$1,547,037ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,616,589ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,088,408BOYAmt
EOY$1,170,407EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$881,078EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,470,000BOYAmt
EOY$1,470,000EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$42,797,061BOYAmt
EOY$46,884,069EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$453,642BOYAmt
EOY$461,802EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$130,246,866BOYAmt
EOY$128,791,901EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$176,055,977BOYAmt
EOY$179,659,257EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$288,905BOYAmt
EOY$55,313EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$124,638,383BOYAmt
EOY$124,112,174EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,600,795BOYAmt
EOY$13,135,431EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$138,528,083BOYAmt
EOY$137,302,918EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$683,823BOYAmt
EOY$751,017EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,270,183BOYAmt
EOY$12,562,487EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,573,888BOYAmt
EOY$29,042,835EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$37,527,894BOYAmt
EOY$42,356,339EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$176,055,977BOYAmt
EOY$179,659,257EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$3,662,998ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$1,165,447NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consol And Sep Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolAndSepBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Supporting Organization509a3Yes (X)SupportingOrganization509a3Ind
Supporting Org Type1Yes (X)SupportingOrgType1Ind
Supported Organizations1SupportedOrganizationsCnt

Supported Org Information SupportedOrgInformationGrp

Supported Organization Name SupportedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Olivet Nazarene UniversityBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN362191252EIN
Organization Type2OrganizationTypeCd
Governing Document ListedfalseGoverningDocumentListedInd
Support$0SupportAmt
Other Support$0OtherSupportAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Supported Organizations Total1SupportedOrganizationsTotalCnt
Other Support Sum$0OtherSupportSumAmt

Form990 Sch A Supporting Org Form990SchASupportingOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Listed By Name Governing DocYes (true)ListedByNameGoverningDocInd
Suprt Org No IRS DeterminationfalseSuprtOrgNoIRSDeterminationInd
Supported Org Section C456falseSupportedOrgSectionC456Ind
Supported Org Not Organized USfalseSupportedOrgNotOrganizedUSInd
Organization Change Suprt OrgfalseOrganizationChangeSuprtOrgInd
Support Non Supported OrgfalseSupportNonSupportedOrgInd
Payment Substantial ContribtrfalsePaymentSubstantialContribtrInd
Loan Disqualified PersonfalseLoanDisqualifiedPersonInd
Controlled Disqualified PrsnfalseControlledDisqualifiedPrsnInd
Disqualified Prsn Controll IntfalseDisqualifiedPrsnControllIntInd
Disqualified Prsn Ownr IntfalseDisqualifiedPrsnOwnrIntInd
Excess Business Holdings RulesfalseExcessBusinessHoldingsRulesInd
Contribution ControllerfalseContributionControllerInd
Contribution FamilyfalseContributionFamilyInd
Contribution35 ControlledfalseContribution35ControlledInd

Form990 Sch A Type1 Suprt Org Form990SchAType1SuprtOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Power Appoint Majority Dir TrstfalsePowerAppointMajorityDirTrstInd
Operate Benefit Non Suprt OrgYes (true)OperateBenefitNonSuprtOrgInd

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part IV, Section B, Line 1: Explanation Of How Supported Orgs. Managed ActvitiesBoard of Directors approved by Board of Trustees of ONU
Part IV, Section B, Line 2: Providing Benefit Carried Out the Purposes of Supported Orgs.Funds support student scholarships and programs of ONU.

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$26,152,839BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,883,194ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$6,802InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$29,042,835EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$22,481,892BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$3,664,802ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$6,145InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$26,152,839EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$20,790,024BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,681,304ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$10,564InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$22,481,892EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$18,212,457BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,579,132ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$1,565InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$20,790,024EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$17,382,566BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$828,730ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,161InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$18,212,457EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgYes (true)EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd
Related Org List Sch RfalseRelatedOrgListSchRInd

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
Accrued interest income$59,787
Assets held under charitable trusts$5,700,537
Cash surrender value of life insurance$20,183
Property held for investment$33,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$128,791,901TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Annuities payable$1,711,334
Trust fund liabilities$11,424,097
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$13,135,431TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$9,852,161TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$1,165,447NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$1,165,447RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$8,686,714RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$139,910InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$139,910RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$8,826,624TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$5,023,716TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Subtotal$5,023,716ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$139,910InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$139,910ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$5,163,626TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part IV, Line 1b: Why is organization an agent, trustee, custodian or other intermediary for contribOrganization serves as Trustee of Charitable Remainder Trusts. All assets are on the balance sheet. Earnings are excluded from the income statements.
Part V, Line 4: Intended uses of the endowment fund.For scholarships or other educational programs administered by ONU.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd
Total501c3 Org0Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeScholarships to individualsGrantTypeTxt
Recipient878RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$1,463,433CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceGrantmaker's Description of How Grants are UsedFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationScholarship records awarded and maintained through joint efforts of Development, Registrar, and Financial Aid Offices.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Idemnification Gross Up PmtsYes (X)IdemnificationGrossUpPmtsInd
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (true)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd
Rebuttable Presumption ProcfalseRebuttablePresumptionProcInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (10 entries)

TitleTitleTxtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt
Dr Brian Allen
Vice President$148,824$9,239$6,477$14,882$7,164$186,586
Dr Carol Summers
Vice President$148,824$9,239$9,665$22,324$7,164$197,216
Dr David Pickering
Vice President$153,785$9,239-$3,438$18,387$15,792$193,765
Dr David VanHeemst
Chair, His & Pol$80,488$670$54,333$8,049$15,792$159,332
Dr Douglas Perry
Treasurer$157,071$8,247$11,595$24,500$15,792$217,205
Dr Houston Thompson
Dean, Engineering$111,003$670$56,023$24,500$7,164$199,360
Dr Jay Martinson
Chair Communicatio$78,013$670$55,896$10,922$15,792$161,293
Dr John Bowling
President$253,575$11,066$26,577$24,500$45,792$361,510
Dr Ryan Spittal
Vice President$153,289$9,239-$177$5,370$15,792$183,513
Mr Woody Webb
Vice President$143,693$9,117$7,137$15,792$175,739

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 1a: Relevant information in regards to selections on 1a.Travel for companions is covered under written policy. IF there is no business purpose, the amount is taxed to the employee.Various taxable benefits are grossed up to employees.Housing allowance is available for ministers in accordance with IRS regulations.President is required to live in University housing.The University pays for the President's house (owned by the University) to be cleaned.Country club dues are paid for the University President. Any business use is paid and documented. Personal use is reimbursed by employee.
Part I, Line 7: Non-Fixed payments not listed aboveOccasional compensation may be merited for additional work. This is never based on results of operations or income of the University.

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution10ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$698,033NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Real Estate Residential RealEstateResidentialGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution1ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$128,829NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp (2 entries)

Non Cash CheckboxNonCashCheckboxIndDescDescContributionContributionCntNoncash Contributions Rpt F990NoncashContributionsRptF990AmtMethod Of Determining RevenuesMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
Yes (X)Grain1$3,848FMV
Yes (X)Corn1$10,409FMV
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be HeldfalseAnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsfalseReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedfalseThirdPartiesUsedInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Line 9: Officer, Director, Trustee, Key Employee Mailing AddressAll directors addresses are listed on tax return. Only ex officio employees of ONU can be reached at organization address.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b: Form 990 Review ProcessPrepared internally and reviewed by external auditors prior to filing.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c: Explanation of Monitoring and Enforcement of ConflictsQuestionnaire completed by members.
Form 990, Part VI, Line 19: Other Organization Documents Publicly AvailableCopy kept in University Library. Also, available upon request.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Olivet Nazarene UniversityBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1One University AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityBourbonnaisCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60914ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN362191252EIN
Primary ActivitiesEducationPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateILLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501 (c) 3ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity Status2 Type IPublicCharityStatusTxt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NABusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Controlled OrganizationfalseControlledOrganizationInd

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Charitable Remainder Trusts 16BusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1387 S Main StAddressLine1Txt
CityBourbonnaisCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60914ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Legal Domicile StateILLegalDomicileStateCd
Direct Controlling NAN/ADirectControllingNACd
Controlled OrganizationfalseControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsYes (true)ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgYes (true)LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgYes (true)RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgfalsePerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgYes (true)PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesfalseSharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingfalsePaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgfalseTransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (4 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
Olivet Nazarene University
a$1See J below
Olivet Nazarene University
d$122,978,394FMV
Olivet Nazarene University
j$3,139,276Int sale/leaseb
Olivet Nazarene University
m$121,047% of assets

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.