MORRISTOWN-BEARD SCHOOL: Form 990, tax year 2018

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
MORRISTOWN-BEARD SCHOOL (EIN 22-1487252)
Tax period
2018-07-01 to 2019-06-30
Filed
2019-11-07
IRS object ID
201913119349300016
Schema version
2018v3.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2019-11-07T06:38:52-08:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2019-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Suplee Clooney & CompanyBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1308 East Broad StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityWestfieldCityNm
State AbbreviationNJStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP070902122ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2018-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN221487252EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Morristown-Beard SchoolBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlMORRBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone9735393032PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line170 Whippany RoadAddressLine1Txt
CityMorristownCityNm
State AbbreviationNJStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP07960ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonPhilicia G LevinsonPersonNm
Person TitleChief Financial OfficerPersonTitleTxt
Phone9735393032PhoneNum
Signature2019-11-06SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonROBERT J BUTVILLAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00837745PTIN
Phone9087899300PhoneNum
Preparation2019-11-07PreparationDt
Self EmployedYes (X)SelfEmployedInd

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address71.172.81.134IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2019-11-07IPDt
IP Tm06:38:41IPTm
IP TimezonePSIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device Id6F0EED5B0B042B20E0D40751E1F987C8277558F7AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device Id6F0EED5B0B042B20E0D40751E1F987C8277558F7AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2018TaxYr
Build TS2020-03-31 21:24:44ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerPhilicia LevinsonPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line170 Whippany RoadAddressLine1Txt
CityMorristownCityNm
State AbbreviationNJStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP07960ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$32,124,204GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.mbs.netWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1939FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNJLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionMorristown-Beard School is an educational college preparatory school in Grades 6 to 12 located in Morristown, New Jersey.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body21VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent21VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee346TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers150TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$3,402,509PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$4,840,086CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$24,189,073PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$26,297,659CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$283,830PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$434,093CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$527,602PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$462,088CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$28,403,014PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$32,033,926CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$3,386,805PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$3,856,445CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$16,322,716PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$17,244,341CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,076,700CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$7,827,728PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$8,446,183CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$27,537,249PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$29,546,969CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$865,765PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,486,957CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$68,327,621TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$72,886,502TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$10,185,701TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$11,965,163TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$58,141,920NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$60,921,339NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionMorristown-Beard School is an educational college preparatory school in Grades 6 to 12 located in Morristown, New Jersey.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$21,066,983ExpenseAmt
Grant$3,856,445GrantAmt
Revenue$26,759,747RevenueAmt
DescInstructional and School Related Activities.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$21,066,983TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (true)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesfalseReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (true)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (true)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (true)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt BondsYes (true)InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer EntfalseBusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (true)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document43IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee346EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (true)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (true)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
DAF Excess Business HoldingsfalseDAFExcessBusinessHoldingsInd
Taxable DistributionsfalseTaxableDistributionsInd
Distribution To DonorfalseDistributionToDonorInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members21GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member21IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherfalseCompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Philicia LevinsonBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone9735393032PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line170 Whippany RoadAddressLine1Txt
CityMorristownCityNm
State AbbreviationNJStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP07960ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (28 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd
Peter Caldwell
Headmaster55.00Yes (X)$422,625$0$51,864
John Mascaro
Dean of Faculty55.00$210,330$0$27,426Yes (X)
Darren Burns
Upper School Head55.00$183,534$0$37,529Yes (X)
Bruce Adams
Business Manager55.00Yes (X)$193,280$0$25,776
Boni Luna
Middle School Head55.00$159,149$0$31,039Yes (X)
Elizabeth Patterson
Director of Advancement55.00$196,574$0$33,917Yes (X)
Robert Mitchell
Director of Admissions55.00$130,982$0$32,229Yes (X)
John Fay
President10.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Gail Kurz
Vice President10.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Abbie Giordano
Vice President10.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Paul Hawkins
Treasurer10.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Gerry Scully
Secretary10.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Dena Baptiste
Trustee10.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Christopher Blake
Trustee10.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Ravi Chopra
Trustee10.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Pam Nelson-Davidson
Trustee10.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Ronald DePoalo
Trustee10.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
David Ferry
Trustee10.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Shanae Green
Trustee10.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Jeffrey Gronning
Trustee10.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Paul Lombardi
Trustee10.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Michael Mariano
Trustee10.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Ajay Nagpal
Trustee10.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Lee Kellogg Sadrian
Trustee10.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Carisa Strauss
Trustee10.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Scott Tannen
Trustee10.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Cartwright Wallace
Trustee10.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
Elizabeth Warner
Trustee10.00$0$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,496,474TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$239,780TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K7IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
DSG Services
PO Box 2064MorristownNJ07962Technology Services$339,680
Flik Independent Schools
3 International Dr 2nd FlRye BrookNY10573Dining Service$653,754
World Class Staffing
359 Von Nostrand AveJersey CityNJ07305Dining Staffing$373,611
SR General Contractor
117 Washington StBloomfieldNJ07003Contractor$367,300
Global Sheet Metal
681 Main StreetBellevilleNJ07109Contractor$480,792
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K5CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$66,493FundraisingAmt
All Other Contributions$4,773,593AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$4,840,086TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Tuition611710$24,888,219$0$0
Student and Other Fees611710$128,143$0$0
Auxiliary Services611710$1,281,297$0$0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$26,297,659TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$434,093TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$434,093ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$90,278FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$66,493ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$90,278FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOther ActivitiesDesc
Business611710BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$462,088TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$462,088RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$462,088OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$32,033,926TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$26,759,747RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$434,093ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,856,445TotalAmt
Program Services$3,856,445ProgramServicesAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,234,446TotalAmt
Program Services$8,687,885ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,758,961ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$787,600FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$963,718TotalAmt
Program Services$608,045ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$305,698ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$49,975FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,048,428TotalAmt
Program Services$1,369,482ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$525,985ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$152,961FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$997,749TotalAmt
Program Services$705,019ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$238,571ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$54,159FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$33,829TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$33,829ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$34,760TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$34,760ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$12,000TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$12,000ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$372,675TotalAmt
Program Services$30,003ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$310,667ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$32,005FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$927,869TotalAmt
Program Services$674,002ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$253,867ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$217,432TotalAmt
Program Services$111,726ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$105,706ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,665,168TotalAmt
Program Services$1,162,038ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$503,130ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$35,065TotalAmt
Program Services$11,661ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$23,404ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$55,482TotalAmt
Program Services$29,015ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$26,467ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$138,306TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$138,306ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,090,818TotalAmt
Program Services$1,568,113ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$522,705ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$364,505TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$364,505ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Transportation$193,634$172,958$20,676$0
Food and Dining$1,064,564$1,064,564$0$0
School Events and Activities$1,162,518$968,139$194,379$0

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$77,558TotalAmt
Program Services$47,888ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$29,670ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$29,546,969TotalAmt
Program Services$21,066,983ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$7,403,286ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,076,700FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,612,960BOYAmt
EOY$410,580EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$50,293BOYAmt
EOY$7,893,858EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,206,185BOYAmt
EOY$1,967,321EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$218,346BOYAmt
EOY$325,677EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,828BOYAmt
EOY$42,080EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$70,438,433LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$23,856,191LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$46,678,572BOYAmt
EOY$46,582,242EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,027,520BOYAmt
EOY$15,141,781EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$497,917BOYAmt
EOY$522,963EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$68,327,621BOYAmt
EOY$72,886,502EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,747,680BOYAmt
EOY$2,034,763EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,994,766BOYAmt
EOY$6,388,160EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,443,255BOYAmt
EOY$3,542,240EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,185,701BOYAmt
EOY$11,965,163EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$41,695,837BOYAmt
EOY$44,448,226EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,735,138BOYAmt
EOY$9,731,664EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,710,945BOYAmt
EOY$6,741,449EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$58,141,920BOYAmt
EOY$60,921,339EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$68,327,621BOYAmt
EOY$72,886,502EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,486,957ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$449,234NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd
Other Support Sum$0OtherSupportSumAmt
Public Support CY1700PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support Total509$0PublicSupportTotal509Amt
Public Support CY5090PublicSupportCY509Pct
Investment Income CY0InvestmentIncomeCYPct

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$13,793,559BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,133,733ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$782,476InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$250,000GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$62,991OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$15,396,777EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$14,021,113BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$8,625ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,005,236InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,200,000GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$41,415OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$13,793,559EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$12,497,458BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$8,577ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,852,948InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$300,000GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$37,870OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$14,021,113EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$13,262,061BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions-$127,277ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$305,643InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$300,000GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$31,683OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$12,497,458EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$13,023,971BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$37,130ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$548,024InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$319,069GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$27,995OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$13,262,061EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.00000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.44000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.56000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$0BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$66,881,485OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$23,302,686DepreciationAmt
Book Value$43,578,799BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,723,012OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$553,505DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,169,507BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,833,936OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,833,936BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$46,582,242TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$28,560,222TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$449,234NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue$122,284OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$571,518RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$27,988,704RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$3,856,445OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$3,856,445RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$31,845,149TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$25,780,803TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$122,284OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$122,284ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$25,658,519ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$3,856,445OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$3,856,445ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$29,514,964TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Pt XI, Line 2dFundraising Expenses
Pt XI, Line 4bScholarships
Pt XII, Line 2dFundraising Expenses
Pt XII, Line 4bScholarships
Pt V, Line 4Scholarships

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (true)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (true)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (true)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (true)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (true)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (true)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (true)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts RghtsfalseDiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm FcultyfalseDiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race SchsfalseDiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of FcltsfalseDiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt ProgfalseDiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other ActyfalseDiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid RvkdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (true)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceLine 3FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationA statement of non-discrimination is included in the School's advertising materials. The School participates in the NJAIS non-discrimination policy advertisement. A statement of non-discrimination is included in the School's advertising materials. The School participates in the NJAIS non-discrimination policy advertisement.ExplanationTxt

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1FALL EVENTEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$29,790GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$3,656CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$26,134GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$26,134OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Event2SPRING EVENTEvent2Nm
Gross Receipts Event2$126,981GrossReceiptsEvent2Amt
Charitable Contri Event2$62,837CharitableContriEvent2Amt
Gross Revenue Event2$64,144GrossRevenueEvent2Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event2$64,144OtherDirectExpensesEvent2Amt
Gross Receipts Total$156,771GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$66,493CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$90,278GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$90,278OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$90,278DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary$0NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeAidGrantTypeTxt
Recipient105RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$3,386,805CashGrantAmt
Non Cash Assistance$0NonCashAssistanceAmt
Valuation Method UsedBookValuationMethodUsedDesc
Non Cash AssistanceN/ANonCashAssistanceDesc

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (7 entries)

Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Peter Caldwell
$427,625$0$0$0$1,584$0$32,625$0$19,239$0$481,073$0$0$0
John Mascaro
$200,302$0$6,980$0$3,048$0$20,410$0$7,016$0$237,756$0$0$0
Darren Burns
$176,002$0$6,980$0$552$0$18,290$0$19,239$0$221,063$0$0$0
Bruce Adams
$182,133$0$6,203$0$4,944$0$18,670$0$7,106$0$219,056$0$0$0
Boni Luna
$151,383$0$6,734$0$1,032$0$11,800$0$19,239$0$190,188$0$0$0
Elizabeth Patterson
$188,609$0$6,933$0$1,032$0$14,678$0$19,239$0$230,491$0$0$0
Robert Mitchell
$123,809$0$6,933$0$240$0$12,990$0$19,239$0$163,211$0$0$0

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Public Finance AuthorityBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN273866124BondIssuerEIN
CUSIP111111111CUSIPNum
Bond Issued2015-10-06BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$9,000,000IssuePriceAmt
Purposeref prior issue; new constrPurposeDesc
DefeasedfalseDefeasedInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool FinancingfalsePoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Total Proceeds$9,000,000TotalProceedsAmt
Capital Expenditures$3,443,465CapitalExpendituresAmt
Other Spent Proceeds$2,000,000OtherSpentProceedsAmt
Unspent$3,556,535UnspentAmt
Refunding Tax Exempt BondsfalseRefundingTaxExemptBondsInd
Refunding Taxable BondsfalseRefundingTaxableBondsInd
Final Allocation MadefalseFinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (true)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution8ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$604,489NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be HeldfalseAnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (true)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedYes (true)ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePt I Line 32bFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationA broker is utilized to sell donations of stock.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Pt VI, Line 11bThe 990 is reviewed by the Headmaster, the Business Manager, and the full Board of Trustees. The information in the 990 is largely drawn from the audited financial statements which are reviewed by the Board.
Pt VI, Line 12cConflicts of Interest are reviewed by the Executive Committee of the Board.
Pt VI, Line 15aThe Compensation Committee of the Board uses compensation surveys to determine the salary for the Headmaster.
Pt XIAudit Committee oversees the annual audit and audited financial statments.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.