SHINING HOPE FOR COMMUNITIES INC: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
SHINING HOPE FOR COMMUNITIES INC (EIN 27-1493201)
Tax period
2019-01-01 to 2019-12-31
Filed
2020-08-12
IRS object ID
202042259349301409
Schema version
2019v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2020-08-12T09:42:15-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2019-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN521392008PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1GELMAN ROSENBERG & FREEDMANBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14550 MONTGOMERY AVE SUITE 800NAddressLine1Txt
CityBETHESDACityNm
State AbbreviationMDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP208142930ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN271493201EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SHINING HOPE FOR COMMUNITIES INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSHINBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone8602189854PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1175 VARICK STREET NO 6 FLAddressLine1Txt
CityNEW YORKCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP10014ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonED GACHUNAPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone8602189854PhoneNum
Signature2020-08-12SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonRICHARD J LOCASTRO CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00288314PTIN
Phone3019519090PhoneNum

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address75.103.231.202IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2020-08-12IPDt
IP Tm10:42:09IPTm
IP TimezoneEDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device Id3242370ACE0FDCD1644E50D607094B3FB533101CAtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device IdA8E65EE9E982CC9303CBA4B44375695372EB7330AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2020-09-23 17:36:50ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerKENNEDY ODEDEPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1175 VARICK STREET NO 6 FLAddressLine1Txt
CityNEW YORKCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP10014ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$8,508,514GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.SHOFCO.ORGWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation2009FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateCTLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionSEE PART III, LINE 1.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body19VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent17VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee9TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers37TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$8,895,540PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$8,261,391CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$51,738PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$67,306CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$80,897PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$165,368CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$0PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$9,028,175PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$8,494,065CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$171,911PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$156,419CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$3,580,245PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$3,578,762CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$545,331CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$3,079,859PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$2,327,403CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$6,832,015PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$6,062,584CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$2,196,160PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,431,481CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$14,287,686TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$16,816,582TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$346,316TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$420,685TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$13,941,370NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$16,395,897NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionSHINING HOPE FOR COMMUNITIES IS A GRASSROOTS MOVEMENT THAT CATALYZES LARGE-SCALE TRANSFORMATION IN URBAN SLUMS BY PROVIDING CRITICAL SERVICES FOR ALL, COMMUNITY ADVOCACY PLATFORMS, AND EDUCATION AND LEADERSHIP DEVELOPMENT FOR WOMEN AND GIRLS.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$872,530ExpenseAmt
Grant$113,628GrantAmt
Revenue$7,934RevenueAmt
DescSHINING HOPE COMMUNITY CENTERS: SHOFCO'S COMMUNITY PROGRAMS IN KIBERA INCLUDE EARLY CHILDHOOD DEVELOPMENT (ECD), ADULT LITERACY, LIBRARIES & COMMUNITY CENTERS, EMPLOYABILITY & ENTREPRENEURSHIP TRAINING, SHOFCO WOMEN'S EMPOWERMENT PROJECT (SWEP), GROUPS SAVINGS & LOANS, GENDER BASED VIOLENCE RESPONSE, YOUTH PROGRAMS, AND THE SHOFCO URBAN NETWORK. OUR KIBERA COMMUNITY PROGRAMS SERVED 79,312 BENEFICIARIES IN 2019.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$852,449ExpenseAmt
Grant$42,791GrantAmt
Revenue$0RevenueAmt
DescKIBERA SCHOOL FOR GIRLS (KSG): SHOFCO OPERATES TWO GIRLS' LEADERSHIP AND EDUCATION ACADEMIES SERVING 547 GIRLS, PROVIDING HIGH QUALITY EDUCATION TO SOME OF THE BRIGHTEST BUT AT-RISK GIRLS. THESE FREE ACADEMIES ALSO PROVIDE UNIFORMS, MEALS, SCHOOL SUPPLIES, AND PSYCHOSOCIAL SUPPORT. ALSO INCLUDED ARE AFTER-SCHOOL PROGRAMS AND EXTRACURRICULAR ACTIVITIES THAT SERVE TO PROVIDE LEADERSHIP TRAINING AND ACCESS TO POSITIVE FEMALE ROLE MODELS. THE KIBERA EDUCATION PROGRAM SERVED 377 GIRLS IN 2019.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$820,816ExpenseAmt
Revenue$17,711RevenueAmt
DescJOHANNA JUSTIN-JINICH COMMUNITY CLINIC: SHOFCO OPERATES COMMUNITY CLINICS IN KIBERA AND MATHARE. SHOFCO'S COMMUNITY CLINIC IN KIBERA CONSISTS OF ONE MAIN CLINIC AND FIVE SATELLITE LOCATIONS. THESE CLINICS PROVIDE PRIMARY CARE, CHILD AND MATERNAL HEALTH CARE, CERVICAL CANCER SCREENING, CHILD IMMUNIZATIONS, NUTRITION PROGRAM, COMPREHENSIVE HIV CARE, FAMILY PLANNING, GENDER BASED VIOLENCE RESPONSE, HEALTH EDUCATION, AND DOOR TO DOOR OUTREACH. THE CLINICS ARE STAFFED WITH CLINICAL OFFICERS, NURSES, PHARMACY TECHNICIANS, LAB TECHNICIANS, AND COMMUNITY HEALTH WORKERS. THE KIBERA CLINICS SERVED A TOTAL OF 96,528 PATIENTS IN 2019.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$2,268,043ExpenseAmt
Revenue$41,661RevenueAmt
DescOTHER PROGRAMS:1) SHOFCO'S WATER & SANITATION HEALTH (WASH) PROGRAM PROVIDES CLEAN WATER AND SANITATION HYGIENE AWARENESS SERVICES TO RESIDENTS OF KIBERA. SHOFCO'S AERIAL PIPING SYSTEM DISTRIBUTES WATER FROM A NETWORK OF 24 WATER-KIOSKS, SPANNING OVER 5KM, AND SERVICED BY THREE LARGE TANKS WITH TOTAL CAPACITY OF OVER 280,000 LITRES AND IS CAPABLE OF REACHING UP TO 96,000 BENEFICIARIES. COMMUNITY LATRINES AND WASH EDUCATION AND AWARENESS COMPLEMENT THE CLEAN WATER EFFORT. IN 2019, SHOFCO'S CLEAN WATER REACHED OVER 9,510 BENEFICIARIES.2) THE MATHARE SCHOOL FOR GIRLS (MSG) IS A FREE ACADEMY THAT PROVIDES HIGH QUALITY EDUCATION TO SOME OF THE BRIGHTEST BUT AT-RISK GIRLS. THE GIRLS RECEIVE FREE UNIFORMS, MEALS, SCHOOL SUPPLIES, AND PSYCHOSOCIAL SUPPORT. ALSO INCLUDED ARE AFTER-SCHOOL PROGRAMS AND EXTRACURRICULAR ACTIVITIES THAT SERVE TO PROVIDE LEADERSHIP TRAINING AND ACCESS TO POSITIVE FEMALE ROLE MODELS. MSG HAD 212 GIRLS ENROLLED IN 2019.3) THE MATHARE CLINIC IS A LEVEL II FACILITY THAT PROVIDES PRIMARY CARE, CHILD AND MATERNAL HEALTH CARE, CERVICAL CANCER SCREENING, CHILD IMMUNIZATIONS, NUTRITION PROGRAM, COMPREHENSIVE HIV CARE, FAMILY PLANNING, GENDER BASED VIOLENCE RESPONSE, HEALTH EDUCATION, AND DOOR TO DOOR OUTREACH. THE CLINIC IS STAFFED WITH CLINICAL OFFICERS, NURSES, PHARMACY TECHNICIANS, LAB TECHNICIANS, AND COMMUNITY HEALTH WORKERS. THE MATHARE CLINIC SERVED A TOTAL OF 9,795 PATIENTS IN 2019.4) THE MATHARE COMMUNITY PROGRAMS INCLUDE A LIBRARY, CYBER CAFE, ADULT LITERACY PROGRAM, GENDER SERVICES, EARLY CHILDHOOD DEVELOPMENT (ECD), ECONOMIC EMPOWERMENT PROGRAMS, AND THE SHOFCO URBAN NETWORK. THESE PROGRAMS SERVED 52,170 BENEFICIARIES IN 2019.5) THE MOMBASA COMMUNITY PROGRAMS INCLUDE A LIBRARY, GENDER SERVICES, AND THE SHOFCO URBAN NETWORK. THESE PROGRAMS SERVED 71,913 BENEFICIARIES IN 2019.6) THE MUKURU COMMUNITY PROGRAMS INCLUDE A LIBRARY, GENDER SERVICES, EARLY CHILDHOOD DEVELOPMENT (ECD), AND THE SHOFCO URBAN NETWORK. THESE PROGRAMS SERVED 17,518 BENEFICIARIES IN 2019.7) THE KISUMU COMMUNITY PROGRAMS INCLUDE THE SHOFCO URBAN NETWORK. THIS PROGRAM SERVED 5,214 BENEFICIARIES IN 2019.8) THE KAWANGWARE COMMUNITY PROGRAMS INCLUDE THE SHOFCO URBAN NETWORK. THIS PROGRAM SERVED 11,665 BENEFICIARIES IN 2019.9) THE KOROGOCHO COMMUNITY PROGRAMS INCLUDE THE SHOFCO URBAN NETWORK. THIS PROGRAM SERVED 5,229 BENEFICIARIES IN 2019.10) SHOFCO IS COMMITTED TO RIGOROUSLY MEASURING AND EVALUATING ITS IMPACT WITHIN THE COMMUNITY AND THE EFFECTIVENESS OF OUR PROGRAMS. THE SHOFCO METRICS AND EVALUATION (M&E) SYSTEM IS NOT ONLY CENTRAL TO PROVING THE EFFECTIVENESS OF THE MODEL, BUT ALSO SERVES TO IMPROVE ACCOUNTABILITY, STRENGTHEN EXISTING SERVICES, TARGET SCALABLE PROGRAMS, AND IDENTIFY AREAS OF WEAKNESS AND IMPROVEMENT BOTH INTERNALLY AND EXTERNALLY.11) MARGARET'S SAFE PLACE (MSP), A BOARDING FACILITY THAT HOUSES THE MOST VULNERABLE STUDENTS OF KSG. MSP IS A VIBRANT, WARM HOME, PRESENTLY PROVIDING HOLISTIC CARE FOR 12-17 KSG STUDENTS. BOARDERS RECEIVE ADDITIONAL PSYCHOSOCIAL SUPPORT FROM KSG SOCIAL WORKERS, WHICH WORK TOWARDS A RESOLUTION OF THE LIVING SITUATION WITH THE STUDENT'S PARENTS OR LEGAL GUARDIAN.12) AJEY'S SAFE HOUSE IS A BOARDING FACILITY THAT HOUSES THE MOST VULNERABLE STUDENTS OF MSG. IT IS A VIBRANT, WARM HOME, PRESENTLY PROVIDING HOLISTIC CARE FOR 5-7 MSG STUDENTS. BOARDERS RECEIVE ADDITIONAL PSYCHOSOCIAL SUPPORT FROM MSG SOCIAL WORKERS, WHICH WORK TOWARDS A RESOLUTION OF THE LIVING SITUATION WITH THE STUDENT'S PARENTS OR LEGAL GUARDIAN.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$2,268,043TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Grant$0TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$41,661TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$4,813,838TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other Liabilities0ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficeYes (1)ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsYes (1)MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document21IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee9EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountYes (1)ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Foreign CountryKEForeignCountryCd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members19GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member17IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (1)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldALStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldARStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldCAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldFLStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldGAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldHIStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldILStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldKSStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldKYStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMDStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMIStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMNStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMSStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNHStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNJStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNMStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNYStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNCStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldORStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldPAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldRIStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldSCStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldTNStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldUTStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldVAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldWVStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldWIStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EDWARD GACHUNABusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone8602189854PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1175 VARICK STREET NO 6 FLAddressLine1Txt
CityNEW YORKCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP10014ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (21 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmt
KENNEDY ODEDE
PRESIDENT & CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER60.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$200,000$0$14,497
RICHARD CUNNINGHAM
BOARD CHAIR1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBERT PATRICELLI
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MATTHEW CHANOFF
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TIMOTHY DIBBLE
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID LUUSA
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CYNTHIA RYAN
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ABIGAIL E DISNEY
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANDREW M SNYDER
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ELIZABETH CUTLER
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEREMY MINDICH
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JULIAN KYULA
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LESLIE BLUHM
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MATT SIROVICH
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MIMI STERNLICHT
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PRITI CHANDARIA
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBBY WALKER
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TODD R SNYDER
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JESSICA POSNER ODEDE
BOARD MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
EDWARD GACHUNA
CFO & TREASURER60.00Yes (X)$133,900$0$6,587
KATHERINE POTASKI
CAO & SECRETARY60.00Yes (X)$125,000$0$14,462
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$458,900TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$35,546TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K3IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K0CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$13,748GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$8,247,643AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$21,872NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$8,261,391TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescSANITATION PROJECTDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$67,306TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$67,306RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$67,306TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$174,507TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$174,507ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$5,310SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$5,077SecuritiesAmt
Other$9,372OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$233SecuritiesAmt
Other-$9,372OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$9,139TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$9,139ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$8,494,065TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$67,306RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$165,368ExclusionAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$156,419TotalAmt
Program Services$156,419ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$494,446TotalAmt
Program Services$226,698ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$90,316ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$177,432FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,589,735TotalAmt
Program Services$2,186,719ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$207,423ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$195,593FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$86,096TotalAmt
Program Services$71,664ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$8,571ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$5,861FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$335,143TotalAmt
Program Services$270,706ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$30,138ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$34,299FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$73,342TotalAmt
Program Services$57,658ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$7,039ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$8,645FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$14,793TotalAmt
Program Services$13,793ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,000ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$49,589TotalAmt
Program Services$123ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$49,466ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$329,023TotalAmt
Program Services$132,007ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$158,301ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$38,715FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$18,267TotalAmt
Program Services$1,969ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$446ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$15,852FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$74,097TotalAmt
Program Services$68,615ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,400ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$82FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$18,661TotalAmt
Program Services$5,321ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,980ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$9,360FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$238,620TotalAmt
Program Services$196,373ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$42,070ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$177FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$191,430TotalAmt
Program Services$132,695ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$40,246ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$18,489FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$74,368TotalAmt
Program Services$53,641ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$12,880ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$7,847FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$298,557TotalAmt
Program Services$296,338ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,598ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$621FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$26,820TotalAmt
Program Services$6,624ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$20,196ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
PROGRAM SUPPLIES$291,703$279,099$5,163$7,441
MEDICAL SUPPLIES$219,318$219,318$0
PROGRAM FOOD$168,137$167,067$682$388
SERVICE FEES$148,670$128,535$17,795$2,340

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$165,350TotalAmt
Program Services$142,456ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$705ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$22,189FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,062,584TotalAmt
Program Services$4,813,838ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$703,415ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$545,331FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,758,866BOYAmt
EOY$1,760,662EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,044,217BOYAmt
EOY$2,554,872EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,065,493BOYAmt
EOY$691,244EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$79,483EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$9,296EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$22,070BOYAmt
EOY$196,108EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$4,691,495LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$968,936LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,599,961BOYAmt
EOY$3,722,559EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,664,301BOYAmt
EOY$7,350,095EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,931BOYAmt
EOY$16,931EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$115,847BOYAmt
EOY$435,332EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,287,686BOYAmt
EOY$16,816,582EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$346,316BOYAmt
EOY$420,685EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$346,316BOYAmt
EOY$420,685EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,064,145BOYAmt
EOY$12,942,953EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,877,225BOYAmt
EOY$3,452,944EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,941,370BOYAmt
EOY$16,395,897EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,287,686BOYAmt
EOY$16,816,582EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,431,481ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$23,046NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$6,264,180CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$5,800,772CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$7,414,028CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$8,895,540CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$8,261,391CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$36,635,911TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$6,264,180CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$5,800,772CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$7,414,028CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$8,895,540CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$8,261,391CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$36,635,911TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$9,766,827SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$26,869,084PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$504CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,397CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$58,542CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$130,822CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$174,507CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$366,772TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$37,002,683TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$183,129GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.72610PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.72460PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$359,510OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$359,510BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,173,328OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$228,654DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,944,674BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$707,118OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$365,896DepreciationAmt
Book Value$341,222BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,451,539OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$374,386DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,077,153BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$3,722,559TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$8,591,034TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$23,046NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$64,551DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Other Revenue$9,372OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$96,969RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$8,494,065RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$8,494,065TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$6,136,507TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$64,551DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Other Expenses Included$9,372OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$73,923ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$6,062,584ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$6,062,584TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART X, LINE 2:FOR THE YEARS ENDED DECEMBER 31, 2019 AND 2018, SHOFCO HAS DOCUMENTED ITS CONSIDERATION OF FASB ASC 740-10, INCOME TAXES, THAT PROVIDES GUIDANCE FOR REPORTING UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES AND HAS DETERMINED THAT NO MATERIAL UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS QUALIFY FOR EITHER RECOGNITION OR DISCLOSURE IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:LOSS ON DISPOSAL EXPENSE REPORTED AS EXPENSE ON THE 9,372. FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND NETTED AGAINST REVENUE ON FORM 990, PART VIII, LINE 7C.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:LOSS ON DISPOSAL EXPENSE REPORTED AS EXPENSE ON THE 9,372. FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND NETTED AGAINST REVENUE ON FORM 990, PART VIII, LINE 7C.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (2 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA - ANGOLA, BENIN, BOTSWANA, BURKINA FASO,7496PROGRAM SERVICESHEALTH, EDUCATION, ECONOMIC EMPOWERMENT, WATER & SANITATION$4,602,076
SUB-SAHARAN AFRICA - ANGOLA, BENIN, BOTSWANA, BURKINA FASO,00GRANTS TO RECIPIENTS LOCATED IN REGION$156,419
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices7SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees496SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continuation Total Office0ContinuationTotalOfficeCnt
Continuation Total Employee0ContinuationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office7TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee496TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$4,758,495SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$0ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$4,758,495TotalSpentAmt

Foreign Individuals Grants ForeignIndividualsGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Type Of AssistanceSCHOLARSHIPSTypeOfAssistanceTxt
RegionSUB-SAHARAN AFRICA - ANGOLA, BENIN, BOTSWANA, BURKINA FASO,RegionTxt
Recipient283RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$156,419CashGrantAmt
Manner Of Cash DisbursementWIREMannerOfCashDisbursementTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transfer To Foreign Corp0TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp Ownership0ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest Co0PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign Partnership0ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 2:SHOFCO PAYS UP TO A MAXIMUM OF $500 (USD) PER YEAR DIRECTLY TO THE SCHOOL ACCOUNT. THIS IS PAID IN 2 INSTALLMENTS (JAN AND MAY) AND ALL THE RECEIPTS AND REPORT FORMS ARE BROUGHT TO THE SHOFCO URBAN NETWORK (SUN) OFFICE BEFORE ANY PAYMENT IS MADE. SUN AND FINANCE KEEPS COPIES OF RECEIPTS. CRITERIA FOR INTAKE IS: A. ONE OF THE PARENTS/GUARDIAN HAS TO BE A SUN MEMBER. B. STUDENT MUST HAVE SCORED AT LEAST 300 MARKS IN KENYA NATIONAL EXAMS C. STUDENT MUST BE BRIGHT AND MUST BE IN NEED OF ASSISTANCE. SHOFCO HAS A HOLIDAY MENTORSHIP PROGRAM FOR THE STUDENTS TO ENSURE HOLISTIC GROWTH AND WE ALSO INTERLINK THEM WITH OTHER DEPARTMENTS SUCH AS GENDER AND YOUTH PEER PROVIDERS (YPP) SO THAT THEY LEARN OTHER ASPECTS OF LIFE. ALL THE STUDENTS HAVE THEIR FILES, BY WHICH WE MONITOR THEIR PAYMENTS, PERFORMANCE AND OTHER SCHOOL RECORDS. SCHOLARSHIP IS TERMINATED WHEN A STUDENT GETS A GRADE BELOW C FOR 3 CONSECUTIVE TERMS. STUDENTS ARE NOT ALLOWED TO REPEAT ANY GRADE. SHOFCO ALSO HOLDS HOLIDAY PROGRAMS TO MAKE SURE THAT ALL THE SCHOLARS ARE DOING WELL IN SCHOOL.
PART III ACCOUNTING METHOD:

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonKENNEDY ODEDEPersonNm
TitlePRESIDENT & CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICERTitleTxt
Base Compensation Filing Org$200,000BaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Compensation Based On Rltd Orgs$0CompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt
Bonus Filing Organization$0BonusFilingOrganizationAmount
Bonus Related Organizations$0BonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt
Other Compensation Filing Org$0OtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Other Compensation Rltd Orgs$0OtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt
Deferred Compensation Flng Org$4,853DeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt
Deferred Comp Rltd Orgs$0DeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt
Nontaxable Benefits Filing Org$9,644NontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt
Nontaxable Benefits Rltd Orgs$0NontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt
Total Compensation Filing Org$214,497TotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Total Compensation Rltd Orgs$0TotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt
Comp Report Prior990 Filing Org$0CompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt
Comp Report Prior990 Rltd Orgs$0CompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 2THE CO-FOUNDERS OF SHOFCO, JESSICA POSNER ODEDE AND KENNEDY ODEDE, BOARD MEMBER AND CEO OF THE ORGANIZATION, RESPECTIVELY, HAVE A FAMILY RELATIONSHIP.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE RETURN WAS PREPARED BY THE OUTSIDE ACCOUNTANTS AND REVIEWED BY SENIOR MANAGEMENT. A FINAL COPY OF THE RETURN WAS PROVIDED TO THE BOARD BEFORE IT WAS FILED WITH THE IRS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12COFFICERS, DIRECTORS AND TRUSTEES ARE REQUIRED TO REPORT ANY NEW CONFLICTS OF INTEREST TO THE BOARD CHAIRPERSON IN A TIMELY FASHION. AFTER DISCLOSURE OF THE FINANCIAL INTEREST AND ALL MATERIAL FACTS AND AFTER ANY DISCUSSION WITH THE INTERESTED PERSON, HE/SHE LEAVES THE GOVERNING BOARD OR COMMITTEE MEETING WHILE THE DETERMINATION OF A CONFLICT OF INTEREST IS DISCUSSED AND VOTED UPON. THE REMAINING BOARD OR COMMITTEE MEMBERS DECIDE IF A CONFLICT OF INTEREST EXISTS. IF THE GOVERNING BOARD OR COMMITTEE HAS REASONABLE CAUSE TO BELIEVE A MEMBER HAS FAILED TO DISCLOSE ACTUAL OR POSSIBLE CONFLICTS OF INTEREST, IT INFORMS THE MEMBER OF THE BASIS FOR SUCH BELIEF AND AFFORDS THE MEMBER AN OPPORTUNITY TO EXPLAIN THE ALLEGED FAILURE TO DISCLOSE. IF, AFTER HEARING THE MEMBER'S RESPONSE AND AFTER MAKING FURTHER INVESTIGATION AS WARRANTED BY THE CIRCUMSTANCES, THE GOVERNING BOARD OR COMMITTEE DETERMINES THE MEMBER HAS FAILED TO DISCLOSE AN ACTUAL OR POSSIBLE CONFLICT OF INTEREST, IT TAKES APPROPRIATE DISCIPLINARY AND CORRECTIVE ACTION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15AMEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS COMPLETE A COMPARABILITY DATA SURVEY AND EVALUATE PERFORMANCE OF TOP MANAGEMENT. SALARIES ARE SET BY THE BOARD AND SUBJECT TO REVIEW BY THE FINANCE COMMITTEE, REQUIRING A VOTE OF THE FULL BOARD AND BASED ON COMPARABLE DATA. THE LAST COMPENSATION REVIEW TOOK PLACE ON DECEMBER 30TH, 2018.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE ORGANIZATION MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.