FURP.ORG / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

UNITED HOSPITAL DISTRICT INC: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
UNITED HOSPITAL DISTRICT INC (EIN 45-4165628)
Tax period
2019-01-01 to 2019-12-31
Filed
2020-11-12
IRS object ID
202033179349304273
Schema version
2019v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2020-11-12T12:04:36-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2019-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN450250958PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Eide Bailly LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1800 Nicollet Mall Ste 1300AddressLine1Txt
CityMinneapolisCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP554027033ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN454165628EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1United Hospital District IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlUNITBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5075263273PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1515 S Moore StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityBlue EarthCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP56013ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonRichard AshPersonNm
Person TitleCEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone5075263273PhoneNum
Signature2020-11-12SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonKim Hunwardsen CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00484560PTIN
Phone6122536500PhoneNum
Preparation2020-11-12PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address63.233.88.226IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2020-11-12IPDt
IP Tm10:35:12IPTm
IP TimezoneCSIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device Id5755687E6BF8D8D10BDE3B83E6631EF3D64C584DAtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device IdF4E1B545B5A64400ED95821F5295FDCB6EE8A6F8AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerRichard AshPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1515 S Moore StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityBlue EarthCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP56013ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$39,005,216GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.uhd.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation2011FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMNLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionProvision of health care servicesActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent7VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee299TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers34TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$1,527,919PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$139,277CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$35,876,525PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$38,638,556CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$209,044PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$226,673CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$500PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$710CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$37,613,988PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$39,005,216CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$7,871PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$18,644,142PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$20,341,135CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$17,803,293PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$16,537,061CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$36,455,306PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$36,878,196CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$1,158,682PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,127,020CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$39,724,836TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$44,335,314TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$9,708,594TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$12,192,052TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$30,016,242NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$32,143,262NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionAt United Hospital District, we exist to provide and promote appropriate health care services to the communities we serve, doing so in a safe and healing environment which supports our patient-centered care philosophy.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$30,144,851ExpenseAmt
Revenue$38,638,556RevenueAmt
DescUnited Hospital District, Inc. operates a 25-bed critical access hospital in Blue Earth, Minnesota. The Hospital also operates medical clinics in Blue Earth, Wells, Winnebago and Fairmont, Minnesota as well as a 24-bed adolescent treatment center in Winnebago, Minnesota. The Hospital provides health care services to patients who meet certain criteria under its charity care policy without charge or at amounts less than established rates. The estimated cost of providing these services was $351,000 for the year ended December 31, 2019, calculated by multiplying the ratio of cost to gross charges for the Hospital by the gross uncompensated charges associated with providing charity care to its patients.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$30,144,851TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalYes (1)OperateHospitalInd
Audited Financial Stmt AttYes (1)AuditedFinancialStmtAttInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingYes (1)LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document45IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee299EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member7IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMNStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Patrick JustinBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone5075267908PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1515 S Moore StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityBlue EarthCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP56013ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (19 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerInd
Alex Wong MD
Surgeon40.00Yes (X)$539,377$0$42,113
Christopher Gran MD
Physician40.00Yes (X)$474,075$0$25,875
Bob Karp MD
Board Member40.00$419,747$0$39,833Yes (X)
Joseph Montanaro MD
Physician40.00Yes (X)$407,203$0$35,464
Aaron Johnson MD
Board Member40.00$283,136$0$24,288Yes (X)
Timothy Bachenberg MD
Physician40.00Yes (X)$263,851$0$42,257
Richard Ash
CEO40.00$247,349$0$39,010Yes (X)
Carmell McHarg
CRNA40.00Yes (X)$230,646$0$23,020
Patrick Justin
CFO40.00$143,307$0$17,534Yes (X)
Melanie Humburg
Secretary1.00$931$0$0Yes (X)Yes (X)
Larry Anderson
Chairman1.00$863$0$0Yes (X)Yes (X)
Doug Johanson
Treasurer1.00$800$0$0Yes (X)Yes (X)
Wyatt Rollenhagen
Vice Chair1.00$650$0$0Yes (X)Yes (X)
Ryan Milbrandt
Board Member (as of Jan)1.00$650$0$0Yes (X)
Chase Brandt
Board Member (as of Jan)1.00$550$0$0Yes (X)
Justin Miller
Board Member (as of Aug)1.00$250$0$0Yes (X)
Barbara Hanson
Board Member (thru Jan)1.00$50$0$0Yes (X)
Chery Keithahn
Board Member (thru Jan)1.00$50$0$0Yes (X)
Crystal Hanson
Board Member (thru May)1.00$50$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$3,013,535TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$289,394TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K30IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Kraus Anderson Construction
300 Good Samaritan DrWarrenMN56762Construction$2,616,351
Acute Care Inc
1609 N Ankeny BlvdAnkenyIA50023ED MD Coverage$1,283,158
Orthopaedic & Fracture Clinic
1431 Premier DriveMankatoMN56001Ortho MD's$371,125
Cloudwave
100 Crowley DrMarlboroughMA01752Computer host$295,186
Mankato Clinic
1230 E Main St PO Box 8674MankatoMN560028674Radiology Coverage$287,950
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K14CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$14,791GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$124,486AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$25,000NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$139,277TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Patient Service Revenue621110$37,232,694$37,232,694
340B Program Revenue621110$1,154,323$1,154,323
Supporting Revenue900099$158,435$158,435
Equity earnings in CDMI900099$93,104$93,104
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$38,638,556TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$224,132TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$224,132ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$710RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$710RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$710TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$710ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$2,541OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$0OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$2,541OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,541TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$2,541ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$39,005,216TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$38,638,556RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$227,383ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,217,447TotalAmt
Program Services$752,105ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$465,342ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$14,575,160TotalAmt
Program Services$13,198,379ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,376,781ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$793,599TotalAmt
Program Services$725,041ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$68,558ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,753,827TotalAmt
Program Services$2,455,213ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$298,614ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,001,102TotalAmt
Program Services$888,872ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$112,230ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$22,465TotalAmt
Management And General$22,465ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$66,364TotalAmt
Management And General$66,364ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,360,363TotalAmt
Program Services$3,782,616ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$577,747ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$196,711TotalAmt
Management And General$196,711ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,230,951TotalAmt
Program Services$1,582,012ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$648,939ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,437,826TotalAmt
Program Services$18,180ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,419,646ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$606,166TotalAmt
Program Services$484,276ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$121,890ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$267,239TotalAmt
Program Services$200,475ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$66,764ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$68,389TotalAmt
Program Services$45,723ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$22,666ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$339,722TotalAmt
Program Services$288,397ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$51,325ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,990,706TotalAmt
Program Services$1,689,960ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$300,746ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$174,642TotalAmt
Program Services$2,566ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$172,076ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
Medical Supplies$2,899,591$2,899,591
Equipment Rental/Repair$787,732$726,084$61,648
MN Care Tax$544,885$544,885
Licenses/Dues$140,738$42,039$98,699

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$402,571TotalAmt
Program Services$363,322ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$39,249ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$36,878,196TotalAmt
Program Services$30,144,851ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,733,345ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,177,185BOYAmt
EOY$6,741,217EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,237,505BOYAmt
EOY$7,249,617EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$118,269BOYAmt
EOY$93,269EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$492,937BOYAmt
EOY$420,648EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,010,453BOYAmt
EOY$787,509EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$493,021BOYAmt
EOY$27,727EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$51,996,080LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$28,910,940LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$18,976,000BOYAmt
EOY$23,085,140EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,895,062BOYAmt
EOY$5,066,005EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$324,404BOYAmt
EOY$333,107EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$531,075EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$39,724,836BOYAmt
EOY$44,335,314EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,958,260BOYAmt
EOY$3,040,393EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,093,893BOYAmt
EOY$8,710,015EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$141,585BOYAmt
EOY$100,683EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$514,856BOYAmt
EOY$340,961EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,708,594BOYAmt
EOY$12,192,052EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,016,242BOYAmt
EOY$32,143,262EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,016,242BOYAmt
EOY$32,143,262EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$39,724,836BOYAmt
EOY$44,335,314EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,127,020ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
HospitalYes (X)HospitalInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$632,000OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$632,000BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$29,968,208OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$16,917,621DepreciationAmt
Book Value$13,050,587BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$934,868OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$585,724DepreciationAmt
Book Value$349,144BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$14,487,989OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$11,407,595DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,080,394BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$5,973,015OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$5,973,015BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$23,085,140TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescEstimated 3rd Party Payor SettlementsDesc
Amt$340,961Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$340,961TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$39,005,216TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$39,005,216RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$39,005,216TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$36,878,196TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$36,878,196ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$36,878,196TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart X, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe Hospital believes that it has appropriate support for any tax positions taken affecting its annual filing requirements, and as such, does not have any uncertain tax positions that are material to the financial statements. The Hospital would recognize future accrued interest and penalties related to unrecognized tax benefits and liabilities in income tax expense if such interest and penalties are incurred.ExplanationTxt

Schedule H IRS990ScheduleH

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Financial Assistance PolicyYes (1)FinancialAssistancePolicyInd
Written PolicyYes (1)WrittenPolicyInd
All Hospitals PolicyYes (X)AllHospitalsPolicyInd
FPG Reference Free CareYes (1)FPGReferenceFreeCareInd

Free Care Oth Percentage FreeCareOthPercentageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
OtherYes (X)OtherInd
Free Care Other225.000000000000FreeCareOtherPct
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
FPG Reference Discounted CareYes (1)FPGReferenceDiscountedCareInd

Discounted Care Oth Percentage DiscountedCareOthPercentageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
OtherYes (X)OtherInd
Discounted Care Other275.000000000000DiscountedCareOtherPct
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Free Care Medically Indigent0FreeCareMedicallyIndigentInd
Financial Assistance BudgetYes (1)FinancialAssistanceBudgetInd
Expenses Exceed BudgetYes (1)ExpensesExceedBudgetInd
Unable To Provide Care0UnableToProvideCareInd
Annual Community Bnft Report0AnnualCommunityBnftReportInd

Financial Assistance At Cost Typ FinancialAssistanceAtCostTyp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$351,000TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$351,000NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.00950TotalExpensePct

Unreimbursed Medicaid UnreimbursedMedicaidGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$9,418,609TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$5,826,998DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$3,591,611NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.09740TotalExpensePct

Total Financial Assistance Typ TotalFinancialAssistanceTyp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$9,769,609TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$5,826,998DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$3,942,611NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.10690TotalExpensePct

Subsidized Health Services SubsidizedHealthServicesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$3,832,415TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$2,687,268DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$1,145,147NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.03110TotalExpensePct

Total Other Benefits TotalOtherBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$3,832,415TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$2,687,268DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$1,145,147NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.03110TotalExpensePct

Total Community Benefits TotalCommunityBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Community Benefit Expns$13,602,024TotalCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Direct Offsetting Revenue$8,514,266DirectOffsettingRevenueAmt
Net Community Benefit Expns$5,087,758NetCommunityBenefitExpnsAmt
Total Expense0.13800TotalExpensePct
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bad Debt Expense ReportedYes (1)BadDebtExpenseReportedInd
Bad Debt Expense$2,198,479BadDebtExpenseAmt
Bad Debt Expense Attributable$549,620BadDebtExpenseAttributableAmt
Reimbursed By Medicare$7,129,513ReimbursedByMedicareAmt
Cost Of Care Reimbursed By Medcr$7,165,241CostOfCareReimbursedByMedcrAmt
Medicare Surplus Or Shortfall-$35,728MedicareSurplusOrShortfallAmt

Costing Methodology Used CostingMethodologyUsedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
OtherYes (X)OtherInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Written Debt Collection PolicyYes (1)WrittenDebtCollectionPolicyInd
Financial Assistance PrvsnYes (1)FinancialAssistancePrvsnInd
Hospital Facilities1HospitalFacilitiesCnt

Hospital Facilities HospitalFacilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Facility1FacilityNum

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1United Hospital DistrictBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1515 S Moore StreetAddressLine1Txt
CityBlue EarthCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP56013ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Website Addresswww.uhd.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
State License375736StateLicenseNum
Licensed HospitalYes (X)LicensedHospitalInd
General Medical And SurgicalYes (X)GeneralMedicalAndSurgicalInd
Critical Access HospitalYes (X)CriticalAccessHospitalInd
Emergency Room24 HrsYes (X)EmergencyRoom24HrsInd
Other3 Provider based clinics, 1 Fee for service clinicOtherDesc

Hospital Fclty Policies Prctc HospitalFcltyPoliciesPrctcGrp

Hospital Facility Name HospitalFacilityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1United Hospital DistrictBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Facility1FacilityNum
First Licensed CY Or PY0FirstLicensedCYOrPYInd
Tax Exempt Hospital CY Or PY0TaxExemptHospitalCYOrPYInd
CHNA ConductedYes (1)CHNAConductedInd
Community DefinitionYes (X)CommunityDefinitionInd
Community DemographicsYes (X)CommunityDemographicsInd
Existing ResourcesYes (X)ExistingResourcesInd
How Data ObtainedYes (X)HowDataObtainedInd
Community Health NeedsYes (X)CommunityHealthNeedsInd
Other Health IssuesYes (X)OtherHealthIssuesInd
Community Hlth Needs Id ProcessYes (X)CommunityHlthNeedsIdProcessInd
Consulting ProcessYes (X)ConsultingProcessInd
Prior CHNA ImpactYes (X)PriorCHNAImpactInd
CHNA Conducted17CHNAConductedYr
Take Into Account Others InputYes (1)TakeIntoAccountOthersInputInd
CHNA Conducted With Other Fclts0CHNAConductedWithOtherFcltsInd
CHNA Conducted With Non Fclts0CHNAConductedWithNonFcltsInd
CHNA Report Widely AvailableYes (1)CHNAReportWidelyAvailableInd
Rpt Available On Own WebsiteYes (X)RptAvailableOnOwnWebsiteInd
Own Website URLSee Schedule H, Part V, Line 10aOwnWebsiteURLTxt
Paper Copy Public InspectionYes (X)PaperCopyPublicInspectionInd
Implementation Strategy AdoptYes (1)ImplementationStrategyAdoptInd
Implementation Strategy Adpt17ImplementationStrategyAdptYr
Strategy Posted WebsiteYes (1)StrategyPostedWebsiteInd
Strategy Website URLhttps://www.uhd.org/community-needs-assessmemt/StrategyWebsiteURLTxt
Organization Incur Excise Tax0OrganizationIncurExciseTaxInd
Elig Criteria ExplainedYes (1)EligCriteriaExplainedInd
FPG Family Incm Lmt Free DscntYes (X)FPGFamilyIncmLmtFreeDscntInd
FPG Family Incm Lmt Free Care225.000000000000FPGFamilyIncmLmtFreeCarePct
FPG Family Incm Lmt Dscnt Care275.000000000000FPGFamilyIncmLmtDscntCarePct
Other CriteriaYes (X)OtherCriteriaInd
Explained BasisYes (1)ExplainedBasisInd
App Financial Asst ExplnYes (1)AppFinancialAsstExplnInd
Described InfoYes (X)DescribedInfoInd
Described Suprt DocYes (X)DescribedSuprtDocInd
Provided Hospital ContactYes (X)ProvidedHospitalContactInd
Provided Nonprofit ContactYes (X)ProvidedNonprofitContactInd
Other MethodYes (X)OtherMethodInd
Includes Publicity MeasuresYes (1)IncludesPublicityMeasuresInd
FAP Available On WebsiteYes (X)FAPAvailableOnWebsiteInd
FAP Available On Website URLwww.uhd.org/financial-assistance-and-hospital-clinic-charges/FAPAvailableOnWebsiteURLTxt
FAP App Available On WebsiteYes (X)FAPAppAvailableOnWebsiteInd
FAP App Available On Website URLwww.uhd.org/financial-assistance-and-hospital-clinic-charges/FAPAppAvailableOnWebsiteURLTxt
FAP Summary On WebsiteYes (X)FAPSummaryOnWebsiteInd
FAP Summary On Website URLwww.uhd.org/financial-assistance-and-hospital-clinic-charges/FAPSummaryOnWebsiteURLTxt
FAP Avlbl On Request No ChargeYes (X)FAPAvlblOnRequestNoChargeInd
FAP App Avlbl On Request No ChrgYes (X)FAPAppAvlblOnRequestNoChrgInd
FAP Sum Avlbl On Request No ChrgYes (X)FAPSumAvlblOnRequestNoChrgInd
Notified FAP Copy Bill DisplayYes (X)NotifiedFAPCopyBillDisplayInd
Communtity Notified FAPYes (X)CommuntityNotifiedFAPInd
FAP Actions On NonpaymentYes (1)FAPActionsOnNonpaymentInd
Permit No ActionsYes (X)PermitNoActionsInd
Collection Activities0CollectionActivitiesInd
Provided Written NoticeYes (X)ProvidedWrittenNoticeInd
Made Effort Orally NotifyYes (X)MadeEffortOrallyNotifyInd
Processed FAP ApplicationYes (X)ProcessedFAPApplicationInd
Made Presumptive Elig DetermYes (X)MadePresumptiveEligDetermInd
Nondis Emergency Care PolicyYes (1)NondisEmergencyCarePolicyInd
Look Back MedicareYes (X)LookBackMedicareInd
Amounts Generally Billed0AmountsGenerallyBilledInd
Gross Charges0GrossChargesInd

Supplemental Information SupplementalInformationGrp (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
United Hospital DistrictPart V, Section B, Line 5: An external consulting firm was subcontracted to perform the assessment, data collection and analysis. Two focus groups were held. The first was on 3-23-17 in Wells, Minnesota and the second group on 3-31-17 in Blue Earth, Minnesota. The 68 group members were recruited by phone to invite their participation with an email follow-up reminder. Due to weather constraints, the final sessions had 12 participants in the 2 groups. The stakeholders consisted of representation from area school districts, city government and numerous businesses.
United Hospital DistrictPart V, Section B, Line 11: The CHNA conducted in 2017 was our first one after becoming a tax exempt 501(c)(3) organization as of January 1, 2015. The CHNA was completed in September 2017 and approved by the Hospital Board on October 3rd, 2017. The needs identified in the report of findings, while partly highlighting specific service gaps, largely centered on issues related to healthy living and lifestyles. As a result, three key goals were identified as well as action items to address those goals. The goals identified in our action plan are as follows:**Goal 1: Raise awareness of healthcare and healthcare-related services currently provided by UHD*Action Item A: Review and update existing print and online materials, both available to the public and distributed internally to UHD staff and partners***A communications position was created and filled in August of 2018. Responsibilities of the position include updating existing informational material and creating/distributing improved healthcare services information internally and more intensively externally to the communities we serve. The UHD website rebuild was started in early 2018 and it went live in early 2019. The site was redesigned to provide improved access to healthcare services information and availability.*Action Item B: Assess and expand public education and public information activities specifically related to:a) smoking cessation, specifically including smoking cessation options for pregnant womenb) weight loss/weight controlc) healthy dietsd) exercise/activitye) moderation in alcohol consumption***During 2019 action Item B was addressed in the following ways:-On the first Friday of each month at our local AM radio station, one of UHD's providers discussed one relevant health topic related to smoking cessation, weight loss/weight control, healthy diets or other areas of public health concern.*Action Item C: Build a system for regular periodic review and assessment of the activities executed under this goal to determine success and make changes as necessary. This activity should begin with determining both outcome/impact and process indicators of success.***The organization has begun a process of review and assessment of progress as part of the initial preparations for our next CHNA of which has begun in 2019. The CHNA will be a part of the strategic planning process as well.**Goal 2: Service collaboration and coordination with external community partners*Action Item A: Develop outreach activities based on the CHNA report of findings and other available resources to solicit interest in, and partners for, a more formalized system of multiorganizational community support for community residents. As the hospital's identified single point of contact for community relations and collaborations, the CEO should lead this effort.*Action Item B: Based on (A) above, UHD should actively participate in the implementation of a coordinated community support information and referral service. This includes participation in service coordination activities led by other agencies serving UHD's service area.***To help address Action Items A and B, UHD is part of the core leadership group of a newly formed Faribault and Martin Counties Community Health Collaborative. The representatives of the collaborative are from Mayo Clinic Hospital, Fairmont, United Hospital District, Blue Earth, Martin and Faribault county public health and human services, Blue Earth and Fairmont schools and several community-based organizations and service clubs. Three action planning teams have been created to address the following: Access to Care, Chronic Disease and Community Resiliency.**Goal 3: Operational feasibility planning to address potential service additions*Action Item A: Based on the information contained in the CHNA report of findings and other available information, develop an inventory of service gaps and personnel needs.*Action Item B: Develop potential financial and operational plans to address the identified service gaps and personnel needs.
United Hospital DistrictPart V, Section B, Line 13h: Documents that may be reviewed include completed application, recent tax statements, bank denial and MA denial. The Organization also follows the state agreement.
United Hospital DistrictPart V, Section B, Line 15e: We have certified staff who assist with the MN State Exchange and MA. They also provide guidance with every patient's insurance carrier where needed.
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Facility2FacilityNum

Oth Hlth Care Fclts Not Hospital OthHlthCareFcltsNotHospitalGrp

Oth Hlth Care Fclts OthHlthCareFcltsGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdFacilityFacilityTxt
1 - UHD Home Health and Hospice
125 South Main StreetBlue EarthMN56013Comprehensive Home Care & Hospice Program
2 - Adolescent Treatment Center
620 1st Avenue SWWinnebagoMN56098Children's Residential, Supervised Living, Chemical Dependency Treatment

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (11 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 3c:In addition to the Federal Poverty Guidelines, documents that may be reviewed include completed application, recent tax statements, bank denial and MA denial. The Organization also follows the state agreement.
Part I, Line 7:Charity care expense was converted to cost on line 7a based on an overall cost-to-charge ratio addressing all patient segments. Unreimbursed Medicaid on line 7b and subsidized health services on line 7g were determined using the costing methods to prepare the cost reports.
Part III, Line 2:The amount reported on line 2 represents implicit price concessions. The Hospital determines its estimate of implicit price concessions based on its historical collection experience with this class of patients.
Part III, Line 3:The Organization estimates that 25% of its implicit price concessions are attributable to patients eligible for financial assistance under the financial assistance policy. We estimate that 25% of those who should have completed financial assistance forms and applications could have qualified for financial assistance had they applied.
Part III, Line 4:The footnote to the organization's financial statements addressing implicit price concessions may be found on pages 15 and 16 of the attached audited financial statements.
Part III, Line 8:United Hospital District is a critical access hospital. There was a shortfall for 2019 due to sequestration. Even though Medicare was at a loss, the Hospital provides services to these patients because access to healthcare and individual's health is important to the Hospital. Therefore, the Medicare shortfall is considered a community benefit.Medicare allowable costs were obtained from the 2019 Medicare cost report.The Medicare Cost Report is completed based on the rules and regulationsset forth by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services.
Part III, Line 9b:Within 7 days after an insurance payment, the patient will start receiving monthly billings. Statements are sent on a monthly cycle basis. If no payment is received 30 days after the statement went out, the patient is contacted by phone. If no payment is received for 90 days, the patient is contacted by letter to advise him or her of further collection actions to be taken. When agreed upon amounts are not paid off, arrangements can be made for a series of payments to fulfill a patient's obligation. Each account is reviewed by a business office staff member before placing with a collection agency. A financial assistance application submitted by a patient will be processed for at least 240 days following their first day of care. If an individual submits a financial assistance application after collection actions have started, collection actions will be suspended until financial assistance eligibility is determined. If an individual is determined to be eligible for financial assistance, no further collection actions will be taken. If an individual is determined to be eligible for financial assistance after collection actions have started, the collection actions will be reversed.
Part VI, Line 2:UHD has standing advisory committees with representation from our communities for Home Health/Hospice and ATCW. Input from the members helps set the strategies and initiatives for improvement. We've also had Focus Groups to address Obstetrical services and another for Orthopedic services. Our patient satisfaction survey incorporates a comments section which gives our patients a voice to make suggestions.
Part VI, Line 3:Whether in person or on our web-site, UHD provides the following information for financial assistance: (1) posts its charity care policy, or a summary thereof, and financial assistance contact information in admissions areas, emergency rooms, and other areas of the organization's facilities in which eligible patients are likely to be present; (2) provides a copy of the policy, or a summary thereof, and financial assistance contact information to patients as part of the intake process; (3) provides a copy of the policy, or a summary thereof, and financial assistance contact information to patients with discharge materials; (4) includes the policy, or a summary thereof, along with financial assistance contact information, in patient bills; and/or (5) discusses with the patient the availability of various government benefits, such as Medicaid or state programs, and assists the patient with qualification for such programs, where applicable. In addition, the Business Office has several certified individuals to assist with applications for both State and Federal insurance plans.
Part VI, Line 4:UHD is located in Blue Earth, Minnesota, a community of approximately 3,400 situated in the west central end of Faribault County. The county borders Martin County to the west, Freeborn County to the east, Blue Earth County to the north, and two Iowa counties, Kossuth and Winnebago, to the south.UHD is the only hospital serving Faribault County and the northern Iowa adjacent counties. Faribault County comprises 82% of UHD outpatient admissions while the remaining adjacent counties comprises 95% of all outpatient encounters. The population within a 10-mile radius of Blue Earth is about 9,000 and within a 20-mile radius is about 30,000.The closet full-service hospitals are in:Fairmont, MN - Mayo Clinic Health Systems - 22 miles westAlbert Lea, MN - Mayo Clinic Health Systems - 42 miles east (Albert Lea Hospital closed its inpatient services effective 10/30/19.)Mankato, MN - Mayo Clinic Health Systems - 45 miles northEmmetsburg, IA - Palo Alto County Hospital - 66 miles southwest
Part VI, Line 5:United Hospital District's current board members reside in the service area. Medical staff privileges for physicians are provided to all qualified care providers who also primarily reside in the service area. The Hospital also has relationships for certain specialists who provide their medical care in our clinics and hospital. All surplus funds are reinvested in the program areas for the hospital and clinics.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (9 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Alex Wong MD
Surgeon$531,829$0$102$0$7,446$0$14,000$0$30,319$0$583,696$0$0$0
Christopher Gran MD
Physician$442,764$0$102$0$31,209$0$14,000$0$13,829$0$501,904$0$0$0
Bob Karp MD
Board Member$327,193$0$61,936$0$30,618$0$14,000$0$28,068$0$461,815$0$0$0
Joseph Montanaro MD
Physician$375,719$0$2,984$0$28,500$0$14,000$0$23,639$0$444,842$0$0$0
Aaron Johnson MD
Board Member$283,136$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$26,017$0$309,153$0$0$0
Timothy Bachenberg MD
Physician$237,277$0$102$0$26,472$0$13,044$0$30,882$0$307,777$0$0$0
Richard Ash
CEO$247,247$0$102$0$0$0$12,740$0$27,405$0$287,494$0$0$0
Carmell McHarg
CRNA$230,544$0$102$0$0$0$10,652$0$13,909$0$255,207$0$0$0
Patrick Justin
CFO$140,361$0$2,946$0$0$0$7,145$0$11,120$0$161,572$0$0$0

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1City of Frost MinnesotaBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN416005176BondIssuerEIN
Bond Issued2018-10-18BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$9,428,450IssuePriceAmt
PurposeRefinance District's debt and remodel ER, lobby and other spacesPurposeDesc
Defeased0DefeasedInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool Financing0PoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Retired$480,844RetiredAmt
Total Proceeds$9,428,450TotalProceedsAmt
Issuance Costs From Proceeds$188,569IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
Working Capital Expenditures$3,053,221WorkingCapitalExpendituresAmt
Substantial Completion2019SubstantialCompletionYr
Refunding Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)RefundingTaxExemptBondsInd
Refunding Taxable Bonds0RefundingTaxableBondsInd
Final Allocation MadeYes (1)FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (1)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed Property0OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease Arrangements0AnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd Prop0MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Any Research Agreements0AnyResearchAgreementsInd
Private Bus Use By Others0.00000PrivateBusUseByOthersPct
Private Bus Concerning UBI0.00000PrivateBusConcerningUBIPct
Total Private Business Use0.00000TotalPrivateBusinessUsePct
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt Test0BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed Prop0ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdYes (1)ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T Filed0Form8038TFiledInd
Rebate Not Due Yet0RebateNotDueYetInd
Exception To Rebate0ExceptionToRebateInd
No Rebate Due0NoRebateDueInd
Variable Rate Issue0VariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And Rec0HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC0GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds Invested0GrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor ReqsYes (1)WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective ActionYes (1)ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonBob Karp MDPersonNm
Relationship With OrgMedical ProviderRelationshipWithOrgTxt
Loan PurposeSigning IncentiveLoanPurposeTxt
Loan From OrganizationYes (X)LoanFromOrganizationInd
Original Principal$125,000OriginalPrincipalAmt
Balance Due$93,269BalanceDueAmt
Default0DefaultInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (1)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Written AgreementYes (1)WrittenAgreementInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Balance Due$93,269TotalBalanceDueAmt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 1The Organization has an Executive Committee consisting of the Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary and Treasurer. In addition, the CEO is an ex-officio, non-voting member of the Executive Committee. The Chair of the Board of Directors is the Chair of the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee has the authority of the Board of Directors in the management of the business of the Organization in intervals between meetings of the Board of Directors.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7aThe Board of Directors consists of no fewer than seven and no more than fifteen members. Three "District Directors" are appointed by the United Hospital District Board of Directors. There can be up to two "At-Large Directors" who are elected by the Board of Directors but need not be residents of the Geographic Service Area. There is one Ex Officio director, who is the physician serving as the Chief of Medical Staff of the hospital. The remaining members of the Board of Directors are "Area Directors" who are elected by the Board of Directors of this corporation and must be residents of the Geographic Service Area. The Geographic Service Area means all of the cities and townships comprising the District, plus any additional area contained within the lowest number of contiguous zip codes from which the hospital drew at least 75 percent of its inpatients during the previous fiscal year.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bThe CFO reviews the Form 990 and a copy is provided to the board members prior to filing with the IRS.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cThe organization has a conflict of interest policy in place which covers the officers and board members of the organization. Potential conflicts are reviewed and determined by the CEO and board chair. If an individual has a conflict of interest, they are asked to abstain from voting on the conflicting issue.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15aCEO: The Executive Committee of the Board reviews salary surveys from the Minnesota Hospital Association in determining the salary for the CEO. Other officers: Similarly to the CEO, the results of the salary survey from the Minnesota Hospital Association is used in determining the salary for the remaining officers. The CEO approves these increases in compensation. The Senior Executive Suite, including the CEO, CFO, CNO and CMO approve the salaries for all other key employees and managers on a yearly basis.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The governing documents, conflict of interest policy and financial statements are not made available to the public
Form 990, Part IX, line 11gOutside Consultants/Purchased Srvcs: Program service expenses 3,516,692. Management and general expenses 318,144. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 3,834,836. Other Fees: Program service expenses 265,924. Management and general expenses 259,603. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 525,527.