FURP.ORG / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

MEDICA HEALTH PLANS: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
MEDICA HEALTH PLANS (EIN 41-1242261)
Tax period
2019-01-01 to 2019-12-31
Filed
2020-11-12
IRS object ID
202033179349303343
Schema version
2019v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2020-11-12T10:39:58-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2019-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1KPMG LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line14200 Wells Fargo Ctr 90 S 7thAddressLine1Txt
CityMinneapolisCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP55402ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN411242261EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Medica Health PlansBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% MARY QUISTInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlMEDIBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone9529922058PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1401 CARLSON PARKWAY CP 330AddressLine1Txt
CityMINNETONKACityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP55305ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMARK L BAIRDPersonNm
Person TitleCFOPersonTitleTxt
Phone9529922058PhoneNum
Signature2020-11-10SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonMonroe J GierlPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01413237PTIN
Phone6123055000PhoneNum
Preparation2020-11-09PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address199.206.0.5IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Federal Original Submission Id41438720203175000002FederalOriginalSubmissionId
Federal Original Submission Id2020-11-12FederalOriginalSubmissionIdDt
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdD62D24C6D336028470863B0825818D0C3237C4FCAtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device IdEA4B65EE71D42BE71D1FFD4325509DD549A18899AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2021-04-22 16:20:28ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJOHN NAYLORPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1401 CARLSON PARKWAY CP 330AddressLine1Txt
CityMINNETONKACityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP55305ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$3,024,954,920GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.MEDICA.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1973FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMNLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO BE THE TRUSTED HEALTH PLAN OF CHOICE FOR CUSTOMERS, MEMBERS, PARTNERS AND OUR EMPLOYEES.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body6VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent5VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1924TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$1,027,855,012PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$1,368,689,814CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$10,573,754PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$13,427,894CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$1,465,647PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,031,333CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$1,039,894,413PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$1,383,149,041CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$3,218,589PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$5,204,141CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$660,745,339PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$978,161,317CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$190,686,046PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$210,210,913CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$142,885,207PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$139,731,248CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$997,535,181PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$1,333,307,619CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$42,359,232PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$49,841,422CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$539,695,899TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$587,940,014TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$246,628,684TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$241,326,859TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$293,067,215NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$346,613,155NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionTO BE THE TRUSTED HEALTH PLAN OF CHOICE FOR CUSTOMERS, MEMBERS, PARTNERS AND OUR EMPLOYEES.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$664,832,520ExpenseAmt
Revenue$737,390,620RevenueAmt
DescSEE SCHEDULE O.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$378,672ExpenseAmt
Revenue$3,942,535RevenueAmt
DescIN 2019 MHP PROVIDED FULLY INSURED COMMERCIAL HMO HEALTH INSURANCE COVERAGE TO GROUPS AND INDIVIDUALS IN MINNESOTA. AS OF 12/31/2019 THE ENROLLMENT IN MHP FULLY INSURED MINNESOTA GROUP PLANS WAS 353 WHICH WAS APPROXIMATELY .5% OF MHP'S TOTAL 2019 ENROLLMENT.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$312,950,125ExpenseAmt
Revenue$347,858,360RevenueAmt
DescSee Schedule O.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$5,204,141ExpenseAmt
Grant$5,204,141GrantAmt
Revenue$279,498,299RevenueAmt
DescIntercompany Admin AgreementDesc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$5,204,141TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Grant$5,204,141TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$279,498,299TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$983,365,458TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3falseDescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredfalseScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsfalseDonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesfalseReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (true)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgYes (true)TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document1181IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee1924EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members6GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member5IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsYes (true)ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersYes (true)LocalChaptersInd
Policies Reference ChaptersYes (true)PoliciesReferenceChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldMNStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMARY QUISTPersonNm
Phone9529922058PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1401 CARLSON PARKWAY CP330AddressLine1Txt
CityMINNETONKACityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP55305ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (26 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeInd
John Naylor
PRESIDENT & CEO40.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$1,977,413$0$42,410
Mark L Baird
SVP & CFO, Treasurer40.00.0Yes (X)$1,036,756$0$52,987
Nichole L White
SVP Health Services40.00.0$698,028$0$95,280Yes (X)
James P Jacobson
SVP & Gen Counsel, Secretary40.00.0Yes (X)$716,604$0$54,361
Timothy D Thull
SVP & CIO40.00.0$703,507$0$52,436Yes (X)
Thomas H Lindquist
SVP & GM Govt Programs40.00.0$653,320$0$91,683Yes (X)
Robert Longendyke
SVP & Chief Mktg Officer40.00.0$652,642$0$33,333Yes (X)
Paul R Crowley
SVP & GM CMD40.00.0$574,961$0$79,363Yes (X)
Geoffrey J Bartsh
SVP & GM IFB40.00.0$577,735$0$71,578Yes (X)
Robert W Geyer
SVP & Chief Operations Officer40.00.0$562,485$0$65,269Yes (X)
Scott R Reid
VP Growth Initiatives40.00.0$567,784$0$53,163Yes (X)
Lori L Nelson
SVP Prov Strat & Net Mgt40.00.0$569,845$0$45,465Yes (X)
Mary P Quist
VP Fin & Corp Controller40.00.0$563,050$0$51,918Yes (X)
Lynn Altmann
VP Human Resources40.00.0$544,885$0$54,930Yes (X)
Kimberly A Branson
VP Business Transformation40.00.0$548,207$0$45,960Yes (X)
Stephen T Custis
VP Chief Actuary40.00.0$493,844$0$69,110Yes (X)
John R Mach Jr
Chief Med Officer & SVP40.00.0$469,200$0$68,492Yes (X)
Jay C McLaren
VP Pub Policy & Govt Rel40.00.0$383,845$0$58,653Yes (X)
Jana L Johnson
Former SVP HLTH & Provider SRV0.00.0$240,478$0$0Yes (X)
Glenn E Andis
Former SVP & CMO0.00.0$156,595$0$0Yes (X)
Kelly J Lindberg
SVP & Chief Mktg & Experience40.00.0$126,051$0$7,416Yes (X)
John Buck
Director, Chair15.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$126,500$0$0
John Stanoch
Director, Vice Chair10.00.0Yes (X)Yes (X)$97,250$0$0
Mary Twinem
Director10.00.0Yes (X)$81,625$0$0
Peter Kelly
Director10.00.0Yes (X)$75,652$0$0
Esther Tomljanovich
Director6.00.0Yes (X)$75,250$0$0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$13,198,262TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$1,093,807TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K436IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (true)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
United Health Care Services Inc
9900 Bren Dr E MN008-T380MinnetonkaMN55343Claims Processing$57,002,256
Doherty Consulting Inc
418 County Road D ESt PaulMN55117Temp Services$17,339,753
Change HealthCare Solutions LLC
3055 Lebanon Pike Ste 1000NashvilleTN37214Issues claim pymnts$3,547,886
OptumInsight Inc
11000 Optum CircleEden PrairieMN55544Consulting Services$2,070,600
Aon Hewitt Health Market Ins Solut
200 East Randolph StreetCHICAGOIL60601Consulting Services$1,980,561
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K6CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Total Contributions$0TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (4 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Medicaid Revenue524114$737,390,620$737,390,620
Group & Individual Premiums524114$3,942,535$3,942,535
Medicare Revenue524114$347,858,360$347,858,360
Intercompany Admin Fees561110$279,498,299$279,498,299
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$1,368,689,814TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$9,684,137TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$9,684,137ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$5,148,466RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$4,117,133RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$1,031,333RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,031,333TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,031,333ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,641,432,503SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,637,688,746SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$3,743,757SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$3,743,757TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$3,743,757ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$0FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$0FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gaming Gross Income$0GamingGrossIncomeAmt
Gaming Direct Expenses$0GamingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$0GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$0CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$0OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,383,149,041TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$1,368,689,814RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$14,459,227ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,204,141TotalAmt
Program Services$5,204,141ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$978,161,317TotalAmt
Program Services$978,161,317ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$773,000TotalAmt
Management And General$773,000ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$166,635,431TotalAmt
Management And General$166,635,431ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,585,003TotalAmt
Management And General$15,585,003ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$16,852,627TotalAmt
Management And General$16,852,627ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,364,852TotalAmt
Management And General$10,364,852ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,480,746TotalAmt
Management And General$2,480,746ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$581,173TotalAmt
Management And General$581,173ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$511,377TotalAmt
Management And General$511,377ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$268,236TotalAmt
Management And General$268,236ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$37,448,876TotalAmt
Management And General$37,448,876ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,164,043TotalAmt
Management And General$10,164,043ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,719,085TotalAmt
Management And General$4,719,085ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$17,699,478TotalAmt
Management And General$17,699,478ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,706,492TotalAmt
Management And General$5,706,492ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$888,950TotalAmt
Management And General$888,950ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$447,157TotalAmt
Management And General$447,157ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$148,309TotalAmt
Management And General$148,309ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$23,382,779TotalAmt
Management And General$23,382,779ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,659,718TotalAmt
Management And General$1,659,718ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
Premium Taxes$10,865,043$10,865,043
Printing & Publication$9,604,331$9,604,331
Other$13,143,337$13,143,337
MEDICA TAX PTSHP - WRITE-OFF$12,118$12,118

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,333,307,619TotalAmt
Program Services$983,365,458ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$349,942,161ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,045,722BOYAmt
EOY$33,860,190EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$121,463,698BOYAmt
EOY$38,097,064EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$33,968,280BOYAmt
EOY$57,258,266EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$122,934,824LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$43,913,553LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$81,723,991BOYAmt
EOY$79,021,271EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$254,027,635BOYAmt
EOY$352,174,196EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,466,573BOYAmt
EOY$27,529,027EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$539,695,899BOYAmt
EOY$587,940,014EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$206,815,184BOYAmt
EOY$239,302,390EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$39,813,500BOYAmt
EOY$2,024,469EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$246,628,684BOYAmt
EOY$241,326,859EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$293,067,215BOYAmt
EOY$346,613,155EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$293,067,215BOYAmt
EOY$346,613,155EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$539,695,899BOYAmt
EOY$587,940,014EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$49,841,422ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$11,761,646NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$8,057,128OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consol And Sep Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolAndSepBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Art Public Exhibition AmountsArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt FundCYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt FundCYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$18,775,799OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$18,775,799BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$67,824,201OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$12,202,628DepreciationAmt
Book Value$55,621,573BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$19,361,792OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$15,594,369DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,767,423BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$16,973,032OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$16,116,556DepreciationAmt
Book Value$856,476BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Land BuildingsOtherLandBuildingsGrp
Total Book Value Land Buildings$79,021,271TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt
Total Liability$0TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$1,105,846,080TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue$5,210,139OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$5,210,139RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$1,100,635,941RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$268,236InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$282,244,864OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$282,513,100RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$1,383,149,041TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$1,050,990,637TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$196,118OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$196,118ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$1,050,794,519ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$268,236InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$282,244,864OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$282,513,100ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$1,333,307,619TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Sch D Part X Line 2THE COMPANY IS GENERALLY EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAXES UNDER SECTION 501(C)(4) OF THE IRC, WITH THE EXCEPTION OF TAXES ON UNRELATED BUSINESS ACTIVITIES. THE FEDERAL UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME TAX BENEFIT IS INCLUDED IN FEDERAL INCOME TAX BENEFIT IN THE STATUTORY STATEMENTS OF REVENUE AND EXPENSES.
Sch D Part XI Line 2dOTHER ADJUSTMENTS: STATUTORY GROSS UP FOR RENTAL INCOME $5,210,139 -------------------------------------------------------------- TOTAL TO SCHEDULE D, PART XI, LINE 2D $5,210,139
Sch D Part XI Line 4bOTHER ADJUSTMENTS: INTERCOMPANY ADMIN FEES RECLASSED FROM EXPENSE $279,498,299 INTEREST EXPENSE RECLASSED AS EXPENSE $148,309 DEPRECIATION ON REAL ESTATE RECLASSED AS EXPENSE $2,598,256 -------------------------------------------------------------- TOTAL TO SCHEDULE D, PART XI, LINE 4B $282,244,864
Sch D Part XII Line 2dOTHER ADJUSTMENTS: STATUTORY GROSS UP FOR DEPRECIATION EXPENSE $(5,014,021) STATUTORY GROSS UP FOR RENTAL INCOME $5,210,139 --------------------------------------------------------------- TOTAL TO SCHEDULE D, PART XII, LINE 2D $196,118
Sch D Part XII Line 4bOTHER ADJUSTMENTS: INTEREST EXPENSE RECLASSED AS REVENUE $148,309 DEPRECIATION ON REAL ESTATE RECLASSED AS EXPENSE $2,598,256 INTERCOMPANY ADMIN FEES RECLASSED AS REVENUE $279,498,299 --------------------------------------------------------------- TOTAL TO SCHEDULE D, PART XII, LINE 4B $282,244,864

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtAddress Line2USAddress/AddressLine2TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
INSTITUTE FOR CLINICAL SYSTEMS IMPROVEMENT
8009 34TH AVE SSUITE 1200BLOOMINGTONMN55425411782168501(C)(3)$204,141SUPPORT BEST PRACTICES IN MEDICAL WORLD
MEDICA FOUNDATION
401 CARLSON PARKWAYMINNETONKAMN55305411812461501(C)(3)$5,000,000PROGRAM SUPPORT PROGRAM SUPPORT
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org2Total501c3OrgCnt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSch I Part I Line 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationMEDICA HEALTH PLANS (MHP) DONATES TO 501(C)(3) ORGANIZATIONS. MHP HAS MEETINGS TO MONITOR THE WORK BEING DONE TO SUPPORT THE MISSION OF THE GRANT RECIPIENTS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Independent ConsultantYes (X)IndependentConsultantInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgYes (true)CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsYes (true)CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (21 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Jana L Johnson
Former SVP HLTH & Provider SRV$0$0$75,296$0$165,182$0$0$0$0$0$240,478$0$51,379$0
Mark L Baird
SVP & CFO, Treasurer$441,413$0$487,061$0$108,282$0$25,900$0$29,036$0$1,091,692$0$80,481$0
James P Jacobson
SVP & Gen Counsel, Secretary$355,261$0$282,829$0$78,514$0$25,900$0$30,219$0$772,723$0$50,257$0
Lynn Altmann
VP Human Resources$303,318$0$185,653$0$55,914$0$25,900$0$30,656$0$601,441$0$33,245$0
Geoffrey J Bartsh
SVP & GM IFB$305,607$0$241,044$0$31,084$0$46,218$0$26,998$0$650,951$0$8,406$0
Kimberly A Branson
VP Business Transformation$296,488$0$191,516$0$60,203$0$24,500$0$23,063$0$595,770$0$36,754$0
Paul R Crowley
SVP & GM CMD$318,696$0$230,678$0$25,587$0$55,193$0$25,820$0$655,974$0$3,419$0
Robert W Geyer
SVP & Chief Operations Officer$370,502$0$50,000$0$141,983$0$42,746$0$24,164$0$629,395$0$0$0
Kelly J Lindberg
SVP & Chief Mktg & Experience$54,030$0$60,000$0$12,021$0$5,142$0$2,528$0$133,721$0$0$0
Thomas H Lindquist
SVP & GM Govt Programs$332,600$0$295,753$0$24,967$0$65,623$0$27,761$0$746,704$0$0$0
Robert Longendyke
SVP & Chief Mktg Officer$283,005$0$312,140$0$57,497$0$11,200$0$23,218$0$687,060$0$30,630$0
John R Mach Jr
Chief Med Officer & SVP$234,383$0$210,783$0$24,034$0$46,704$0$22,897$0$538,801$0$0$0
Lori L Nelson
SVP Prov Strat & Net Mgt$312,340$0$197,335$0$60,170$0$17,346$0$29,763$0$616,954$0$34,360$0
Scott R Reid
VP Growth Initiatives$280,683$0$229,360$0$57,741$0$25,900$0$28,833$0$622,517$0$34,412$0
Timothy D Thull
SVP & CIO$340,751$0$285,418$0$77,338$0$25,900$0$28,044$0$757,451$0$54,234$0
Nichole L White
SVP Health Services$320,209$0$349,223$0$28,596$0$67,496$0$29,445$0$794,969$0$0$0
Stephen T Custis
VP Chief Actuary$268,096$0$196,799$0$28,949$0$40,097$0$30,558$0$564,499$0$6,470$0
Jay C McLaren
VP Pub Policy & Govt Rel$227,540$0$130,109$0$26,196$0$31,963$0$28,141$0$443,949$0$4,344$0
Mary P Quist
VP Fin & Corp Controller$289,908$0$210,993$0$62,149$0$25,900$0$27,623$0$616,573$0$36,699$0
Glenn E Andis
Former SVP & CMO$156,595$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$156,595$0$46,103$0
John Naylor
PRESIDENT & CEO$873,526$0$911,378$0$192,509$0$20,627$0$23,767$0$2,021,807$0$164,475$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Sch J Part I Line 4bTHE FOLLOWING RECEIVED PAYMENTS FROM A NON-QUALIFIED RETIREMENT PLAN: MARK L. BAIRD - $80,481 GEOFFREY J. BARTSH - $8,406 Stephen Custis - $6,470 JAMES P. JACOBSON - $50,257 ROBERT LONGENDYKE - $30,630 JOHN W. NAYLOR - $164,475 MARY P. QUIST - $36,699 SCOTT R. REID - $34,412 TIMOTHY D. THULL - $54,234 PAUL R. CROWLEY - $3,419 LORI L. NELSON - $34,360 JAY C. MCLAREN - $4,344 Lynn Altmann - $33,245 Kimberly A. Branson - $36,754 Jana L Johnson - $51,379 Glenn E. Andis - $46,103
Sch J Part I Line 6a & 6bMANAGEMENT INCENTIVE COMPENSATION INCLUDES COMPONENTS RELATED TO THE ORGANIZATIONS OPERATING EARNINGS.
Sch J Part IISCHEDULE J, PART II, COLUMN (F), COMPENSATION IN COLUMN (B) REPORTED AS DEFERRED IN PRIOR FORM 990: COLUMN (F) INCLUDES AMOUNTS VESTED IN THE CURRENT YEAR, WHICH WERE PREVIOUSLY REPORTED IN COLUMN (C) OF PRIOR YEARS' 990'S, AS RETIREMENT AND DEFERRED COMPENSATION.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (12 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990 Part III Line 4aMEDICA HEALTH PLANS (MHP) IN 2019 PROVIDED HMO COVERAGE TO ENROLLEES IN THE STATE OF MINNESOTA'S SENIORS CARE PLUS (MSC+) AND SPECIAL NEEDS BASIC CARE PROGRAMS (SNBC). MSC+ PROVIDES MANAGED CARE FOR LOW INCOME PEOPLE IN MINNESOTA WHO ARE AGES 65 OR OLDER ON MEDICAL ASSISTANCE. SNBC PROVIDES MANAGED CARE FOR INDIVIDUALS AGES 18-64 ON MEDICAL ASSISTANCE AND ARE CERTIFIED WITH PHYSICAL, DEVELOPMENTAL OR MENTAL DISABILITIES. A TOTAL OF 15,978 MEDICA MEMBERS - 23.0% OF MHP'S TOTAL ENROLLMENT - WERE IN MINNESOTA STATE PROGRAMS AS OF 12/31/2019. THERE WERE 4,186 MINNESOTA SENIOR CARE PLUS MEMBERS AND 11,792 SPECIAL NEEDS BASIC CARE MEMBERS. MINNESOTA REQUIRES A HEALTH PLAN THAT CONTRACTS WITH THE MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES (DHS) TO PROVIDE MANAGED CARE BE LICENSED BY THE MINNESOTA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH (MDH) AS AN HMO. MINNESOTA HEALTH CARE PROGRAMS COVER PEOPLE WHO CANNOT GET OR AFFORD HEALTH INSURANCE ELSE WHERE AND HELPS THEM PAY SOME OR ALL-MEDICAL BILLS. DHS MANAGES THE ENROLLMENT OF ENROLLEES AND ENFORCES ELIGIBILITY RULES THAT PERTAIN TO INCOME, ASSETS AND OTHER FACTORS. MEDICA'S MANAGED CARE PRODUCTS SERVE ADULTS WITH DISABILITIES, SOME CHILDREN WITH DISABILITIES, AND LOW-INCOME PEOPLE 65 OR OLDER. MANAGED CARE IS AVAILABLE FOR LOW-INCOME PEOPLE 65 OR OLDER WHO ARE ASSESSED TO REQUIRE AN INSTITUTIONAL LEVEL OF CARE. MINNESOTA DHS DETERMINES CAPITATED RATES AS A COMPONENT OF THE ANNUAL CONTRACT NEGOTIATION PROGRESS WITH MHP AND PAYS MHP A FIXED RATE PER ENROLLEE PER MONTH. MHP BEARS THE RISK FOR THE TOTAL COST OF CARE FOR THESE ENROLLEES. -IN 2019 MEDICA HEALTH PLANS MEDICAL LOSS RATIO FOR STATE OF MINNESOTA HEALTH PROGRAMS WAS 90.2%. -THE ADMINISTRATIVE COST RATIO WAS APPROXIMATELY 4.9% INCLUDING PREMIUM TAXES.
Form 990 Part III Line 4cIN 2019, MHP PARTICIPATED IN MINNESOTA SENIOR HEALTH OPTIONS (MSHO), A MEDICARE-RELATED PRODUCT, IN MINNESOTA. ENROLLMENT IN THAT PRODUCT WAS 10,743 OR 15.5% OF MHP'S TOTAL ENROLLMENT. MSHO IS A PRODUCT FOR PEOPLE AGE 65 AND OLDER AND ELIGIBLE FOR BOTH MEDICARE AND MEDICAID. IN 2019, MEDICA OFFERED MEDICARE ADVANTAGE AND MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT PLANS. MEDICARE ADVANTAGE HAD ENROLLMENT OF 25,481 MEMBERS OR 36.8% OF MHP'S TOTAL ENROLLMENT. MEDICARE ADVANTAGE IS A HEALTH PLAN THAT PROVIDES ALL ENROLLEES PART A AND PART B BENEFITS. MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT HAD ENROLLMENT OF 16,780 MEMBERS OR 24.2% OF MHP'S TOTAL ENROLLMENT. MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT IS A PLAN THAT HELPS PAY SOME HEALTH CARE COSTS THAT MEDICARE DOES NOT COVER, SUCH AS COPAYMENTS, COINSURANCE, AND DEDUCTIBLES.
Form 990 Part III Line 4dMEDICA HEALTH PLANS INTERCOMPANY ADMINISTRATIVE AGREEMENTS MHP HAS MANAGEMENT AGREEMENTS WITH RELATED ENTITIES TO PROVIDE ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES. MHP IS REIMBURSED FOR THESE SERVICES MONTHLY. IN 2019, MHP WAS REIMBURSED FOR $279,498,299 IN INTERCOMPANY ADMINISTRATIVE EXPENSES, REPORTED AS REVENUE ON THE 990. CONTRIBUTIONS BY MEDICA ON BEHALF OF MEMBERS BEYOND CONTRACTED SERVICES IN 2019 MHP SPENT APPROXIMATELY $4.4 MILLION TO PROVIDE ADDITIONAL, NON-STATE PLAN SERVICES ON BEHALF OF THE FOLLOWING CATEGORIES OF MINNESOTA HEALTH CARE PROGRAMS: MSC+; MSHO; AND SNBC. NON-STATE PLAN SERVICES INCLUDED: VALUE OF WAIVED FAMILY DEDUCTIBLES; MSC+/MSHO ELDERLY WAIVER FOR NON-ELIGIBLE MEMBERS; NON-MEDICARE PART D PHARMACY COPAYMENTS; DRUGS NOT ELIGIBLE FOR REBATES; AND NON-MEDICARE VALUE OF COST-SHARING WAIVED COPAYS. OTHER COMMUNITY BENEFITS MHP PROVIDED OTHER COMMUNITY BENEFITS WITH A WIDE RANGE OF PROGRAMS AND INITIATIVES TO PROMOTE PUBLIC AND INDIVIDUAL HEALTH, REDUCE DISPARITIES IN ACCESS TO CARE, IMPROVE HEALTH CARE SYSTEM PERFORMANCE, AND HELP PROVIDE FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE TO ACCESS CARE. COLLABORATIVE EFFORTS MHP DONATES FUNDING, EMPLOYEE TIME AND OTHER RESOURCES IN SUPPORT OF MORE THAN TWO DOZEN COLLABORATIVE EFFORTS WITH LOCAL, STATE, REGIONAL AND NATIONAL ORGANIZATIONS. EXAMPLES INCLUDE: MINNESOTA COMMUNITY MEASUREMENT, WHICH PROMOTES COMMUNITY-BASED, EVIDENCE-BASED CARE, AND QUALITY COMPARISONS OF PROVIDER GROUPS AND CLINICS; INSTITUTE FOR CLINICAL SYSTEMS IMPROVEMENT, WHICH PROVIDES EVIDENCE-GRADED GUIDELINES AND ASSESSMENTS. HEALTH AND WELLNESS PROGRAMS PROVIDING COMMUNITY BENEFIT MEDICA UNDERTAKES A VARIETY OF INITIATIVES TO MAKE HEALTH CARE MORE AFFORDABLE, AVAILABLE AND EFFECTIVE. EXAMPLES INCLUDE: -IMPROVEMENTS IN RATES OF ANNUAL SCREENINGS AMONG MEMBERS FOR DISEASES SUCH AS CANCERS, HEART DISEASE AND DIABETES, PRE AND POST-BIRTH MATERNITY CARE, IMMUNIZATIONS, AND ANNUAL DENTAL VISITS. -REDUCTIONS IN MEDICALLY UNNECESSARY ER VISITS AND IN-PATIENT HOSPITAL ADMISSIONS -TYING PROVIDER REIMBURSEMENT TO IMPROVEMENTS IN CARE OUTCOMES, QUALITY AND EFFICIENCY -INCREASED PARTICIPATION IN EXERCISE. MY HEALTH REWARDS FROM MEDICA INCLUDES AN ARRAY OF ONLINE TOOLS AND RESOURCES THAT MAKE IT EASY FOR MEDICA MEMBERS TO ASSESS THEIR HEALTH STATUS, AND TO CUSTOMIZE AND FOLLOW PERSONALIZED PROGRAMS FOR A HEALTHIER LIFESTYLE AND DIET. IN 2019, THE CORE MY HEALTH REWARDS FROM MEDICA PROGRAM WAS PROVIDED AT NO ADDITIONAL CHARGE TO FULLY INSURED GROUPS. FIT CHOICES BY MEDICA PROVIDED MEDICA MEMBERS WITH (A) A $20 MONTHLY MEMBERSHIP CREDIT FOR EXERCISING AT A PARTICIPATING HEALTH CLUB TWELVE OR MORE DAYS PER MONTH AND (B) THE OPPORTUNITY FOR PERSONAL COACHING AND A PERSONALIZED NUTRITION AND FITNESS PLAN. IN 2019, FIT CHOICES BY MEDICA WAS AVAILABLE AT NO COST TO MHP'S FULLY INSURED MEMBERS. TOBACCO CESSATION COACHING MEDICA'S TOBACCO CESSATION COACHING PROGRAM IS A SELF-DIRECTED PROGRAM OFFERING A WIDE VARIETY OF TOOLS AND RESOURCES TO HELP MEMBERS QUIT TOBACCO USE. COACHING SUPPORT INCLUDES PRIVATE, CONFIDENTIAL ACCESS TO TRAINED HEALTH COACHES. THERE WAS NO COST TO MEDICA MEMBERS TO PARTICIPATE IN THE TOBACCO CESSATION COACHING PROGRAM. MEDICAL AND MENTAL HEALTH DISEASE MANAGEMENT AND PATIENT SUPPORT MEDICA IN 2019 OFFERED A PORTFOLIO OF DISEASE MANAGEMENT PROGRAMS FOR PHYSICAL AND MENTAL HEALTH, TOBACCO CESSATION, HEALTHY PREGNANCY, COMMON CHRONIC MEDICAL DISEASES, AND RARE AND COMPLEX DISEASES. THESE PROGRAMS PROVIDE EDUCATION AND RESOURCES THAT HELP SUPPORT THE MEMBERS' ABILITY TO MANAGE CHRONIC CONDITIONS. THE GOALS ARE TO IMPROVE HEALTH AND QUALITY OF LIFE, REDUCE COMPLICATIONS THROUGH EARLY INTERVENTION AND MONITORING, PROMOTE MEDICAL CARE AND COMPLIANCE WITH THE PATIENT'S PHYSICIAN-RECOMMENDED MEDICAL TREATMENT REGIMEN, AND TO IMPROVE SATISFACTION WITH HEALTH CARE SERVICES. MEDICA'S DISEASE MANAGEMENT PROGRAMS WERE PROVIDED AT NO ADDITIONAL CHARGE TO FULLY INSURED GROUPS, AND TO MINNESOTA STATE HEALTH CARE PROGRAM ENROLLEES SERVED BY MEDICA. THERE IS NO COST TO ELIGIBLE MEDICA MEMBERS.
Form 990 Part VI Line 4The Bylaw changes decouple "officers" from "vice presidents" by removing references to vice presidents and senior vice presidents in the Bylaws and by eliminating the requirement that the Board must approve the CEO's appointment of senior vice presidents and above. Under the Bylaws as revised, the Board will only approve the appointment of "officers" of the company - defined as the President and CEO, the Treasurer and CFO, the Secretary, and any other officers the Board "deems necessary for the operation and management" of the company. Under the revised Bylaws, vice presidents and senior vice presidents will no longer be presumed to be "officers" of the company (other than those noted above), unless specifically appointed by the CEO and approved by the Board.
Form 990 Part VI Line 6MEMBERS EXIST WITHIN MEDICA HEALTH PLANS AS MEMBERS COVERED UNDER REGULATED INSURANCE PLANS.
Form 990 Part VI Line 7aTHE MEMBERSHIP OF MEDICA HEALTH PLANS ELECTS THE CONSUMER BOARD MEMBERS.
Form 990 Part VI Line 11bMEDICA'S TAX ADVISORS COMPLETE THE RETURN, MEDICA'S CONTROLLER AND FINANCE DIRECTOR REVIEW THE RETURN BEFORE IT IS SIGNED BY THE CFO. A COPY WILL BE PROVIDED TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS PRIOR TO FILING WITH THE IRS.
Form 990 Part VI Line 12cANNUALLY ALL EMPLOYEES OF MEDICA HEALTH PLANS AND DIRECTORS OF ALL MEDICA ENTITIES COMPLETE A CONFLICT OF INTEREST DISCLOSURE AND ARE REQUIRED TO REVIEW THE CONFLICT POLICY. ALL POTENTIAL CONFLICTS ARE REVIEWED BY LEGAL/COMPLIANCE.
Form 990 Part VI Line 15aTHE BOARD'S PERSONNEL AND COMPENSATION COMMITTEE REVIEWS AND OBTAINS THE BOARD'S APPROVAL OF THE TOTAL COMPENSATION FOR THE PRESIDENT/CEO AND REVIEWS AND APPROVES THE TOTAL COMPENSATION RECOMMENDATIONS MADE BY THE CFO FOR THE EXECUTIVE AND SENIOR VICE PRESIDENTS; REVIEWS ALL OFFICER COMPENSATION AND PERFORMANCE GOALS APPROVED BY THE CEO ANNUALLY. THE PERSONNEL AND COMPENSATION COMMITTEE ALSO REVIEWS AND RECOMMENDS TO THE BOARD, OFFICER AND NON-OFFICER COMPENSATION GUIDELINES FOR THE COMPANY AND ITS SUBSIDIARIES PERIODICALLY REVIEWING MARKET DATA TO ASSESS THE COMPANY'S COMPETITIVE POSITION. PROCESS OUTSIDE THE CHARTER: THE PERSONNEL AND COMPENSATION COMMITTEE WORKS WITH AN OUTSIDE CONSULTANT IN REVIEWING MARKET COMPETITIVE DATA THAT AIDS IN SETTING THE COMPENSATION FOR THE OFFICERS AND KEY EMPLOYEES.
Form 990 Part VI Line 19MEDICA DOES NOT CONSIDER ITS CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY TO BE A CONFIDENTIAL OR PROPRIETARY DOCUMENT. THEREFORE, MEDICA WOULD MAKE THIS POLICY AVAILABLE TO ANYONE WHO REQUESTS IT. CERTAIN MEDICA ENTITIES ARE REQUIRED TO FILE ANNUAL FINANCIAL STATEMENTS WITH THE REGULATORS. MEDICA CONSIDERS FINANCIAL STATEMENTS THAT ARE FILED WITH THE REGULATORS TO BE PUBLIC DOCUMENTS. ARTICLES AND BYLAWS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FORM 990S ARE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST.
Form 990 Part VII Line Section B Line 1CERTAIN INDIVIDUALS REPORTED ON FORM 990, PART VII SPLIT THEIR TIME BETWEEN SEVERAL OF THE MEDICA ENTITIES (MEDICA HEALTH PLANS, MEDICA COMMUNITY HEALTH PLAN, MEDICA HOLDING COMPANY, MEDICA FOUNDATION, MEDICA RESEARCH INSTITUTE, MEDICA INSURANCE COMPANY, MEDICA SELF-INSURED, MEDICA AFFILIATED SERVICES, MEDICA HEALTH MANAGEMENT, AND MMSI, INC). THE AVERAGE HOURS PER WEEK REPORTED IN PART VII ARE THE TOTAL HOURS PER WEEK FOR ALL MEDICA ORGANIZATIONS.
Form 990 Part XI Line 9CHANGES IN NET ASSETS: CHANGE IN VALUE OF NONADMITTED ASSETS $(13,071,149) STAT GROSS UP FOR DEPRECIATION $5,014,021 --------------------------------------------------- TOTAL TO FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9 $(8,057,128)

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
MEDICA FOUNDATION
401 CARLSON PARKWAYMINNETONKAMN55305411812461FOUNDATIONMN501(C)(3)Line 12BMH COMPANYfalse
MEDICA COMMUNITY HEALTH PLAN
401 CARLSON PARKWAYMINNETONKAMN55305411843804HEALTH CVRGEMN501(C)(4)N/AMH COMPANYfalse
MEDICA HOLDING COMPANY
401 CARLSON PARKWAYMINNETONKAMN55305010571840HOLDING COMN501(C)(4)N/ANAfalse

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtEntity TypeEntityTypeTxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
MEDICA INSURANCE COMPANY
401 CARLSON PARKWAYMINNETONKAMN55305411490988HEALTH INSURANCEMNMEDICA AFFC Corpfalse
MEDICA SELF-INSURED
401 CARLSON PARKWAYMINNETONKAMN55305411479417THIRD PARTY ADMINMNMEDICA AFFC Corpfalse
MEDICA AFFILIATED SERVICES
401 CARLSON PARKWAYMINNETONKAMN55305411716415HOLDING COMPANYMNMH COMPANYC Corpfalse
MEDICA HEALTH MANAGEMENT
401 CARLSON PARKWAYMINNETONKAMN55305208005519HEALTH MGMTMNMEDICA AFFC Corpfalse
MMSI INC
401 CARLSON PARKWAYMINNETONKAMN55305411547003THIRD PARTY ADMINMNMEDICA AFFC Corpfalse
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsfalseReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (true)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationfalseDivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgfalsePerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgfalsePerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (true)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (true)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgYes (true)ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (true)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp

Other Organization Name OtherOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MEDICA FOUNDATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transaction TypebTransactionTypeTxt
Involved$5,000,000InvolvedAmt
Method Of Amount DeterminationBOOKMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt