BOISE STATE UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION INC: Form 990, tax year 2018

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
BOISE STATE UNIVERSITY FOUNDATION INC (EIN 82-6010706)
Tax period
2018-07-01 to 2019-06-30
Filed
2020-05-06
IRS object ID
202011279349301791
Schema version
2018v3.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2020-05-06T15:19:33-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2019-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN450250958PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EIDE BAILLY LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1877 W MAIN ST STE 800AddressLine1Txt
CityBOISECityNm
State AbbreviationIDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP83702ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2018-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN826010706EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Boise State University Foundation IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlBOISBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2084263822PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11173 University DriveAddressLine1Txt
CityBoiseCityNm
State AbbreviationIDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP83706ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonPaul PowellPersonNm
Person TitleExecutive DirectorPersonTitleTxt
Phone2084263822PhoneNum
Signature2020-05-04SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonKim Hunwardsen CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00484560PTIN
Phone2083447150PhoneNum
Preparation2020-05-04PreparationDt

Filing Security Information FilingSecurityInformation

IP Address IPAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
I Pv4 Address216.147.181.48IPv4AddressTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IP2020-05-04IPDt
IP Tm10:18:41IPTm
IP TimezoneMDIPTimezoneCd
Filing License TypePFilingLicenseTypeCd
At Submission Creation Device IdA9F393D044C6B02927C29CDABEE7CBE310A8D2B0AtSubmissionCreationDeviceId
At Submission Filing Device IdA9F393D044C6B02927C29CDABEE7CBE310A8D2B0AtSubmissionFilingDeviceId
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2018TaxYr
Build TS2021-01-29 14:40:06ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerPaul PowellPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11173 University DriveAddressLine1Txt
CityBoiseCityNm
State AbbreviationIDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP83706ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$178,599,042GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresshttps://giving.boisestate.edu/about/foundation/WebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1964FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateIDLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTo inspire, generate, and prudently manage private support for Boise State University.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body33VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent33VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers33TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm-$9,192NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$19,288,082PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$15,316,063CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$5,863,190PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$7,556,491CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$6,045,500PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$4,853,422CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$15,411,083PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$617,982CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$46,607,855PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$28,343,958CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$39,266,684PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$34,463,185CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$2,356,248PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$2,567,696CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,800,504CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$1,990,793PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$2,087,566CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$43,613,725PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$39,118,447CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$2,994,130PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$10,774,489CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$194,939,790TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$196,277,006TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$8,195,188TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$17,132,930TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$186,744,602NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$179,144,076NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTo raise funds and support for Boise State University's programs, prudently manage all private funds donated to the University, and act as an envoy and link between the University and its constituencies.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$5,833,572ExpenseAmt
Grant$5,833,572GrantAmt
Revenue$0RevenueAmt
DescThe Foundation administers 914 different scholarships for Boise State University. Applicants may be required to write an essay, provide transcripts, and if applying for scholarships requiring financial need applicants must include the Free Application for Federal Student Aid report (FAFSA). Other requirements may be included, depending on the scholarship. During fiscal year end June 30, 2019, the Foundation distributed 1,985 scholarship awards to 1,416 recipients.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$3,881,330ExpenseAmt
Grant$3,881,330GrantAmt
Revenue$0RevenueAmt
DescThe Foundation provides support services for both the Bronco Athletic Association and the BSU Alumni Association. This includes, but is not limited to, member lists, data entry and updates, financial support through donation receipts, reporting, and other ad hoc services as they are needed such as managing registration for events.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$25,047,268ExpenseAmt
Grant$24,748,283GrantAmt
Revenue$7,556,491RevenueAmt
DescThe Foundation provides general support for Boise State University. Some highlights for the fiscal year end June 30, 2019 include the continued support for the construction of the Fine Arts Building and Material Sciences Building, assistance for the PhD Program for Materials Science and Engineering, Computer Science, STEM, College of Health Sciences, research in public policy, education, arts and sciences, College of Innovation and design, and other various support programs at Boise State University.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$34,762,170TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingYes (1)CreditCounselingInd
Temp Or Permanent EndowmentsYes (1)TempOrPermanentEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (1)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With Officer Ent0BusinessRlnWithOfficerEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (1)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntYes (1)TransactionWithControlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
Info In Schedule O Part VYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVInd
IRP Document30IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OfYes (1)Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Form8282 Filed1Form8282FiledCnt
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members33GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member33IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Anne SorensonBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone2084262372PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11173 University DriveAddressLine1Txt
CityBoiseCityNm
State AbbreviationIDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP83706ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (36 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmt
John R Gale
Chair1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Royanne Minskoff
Past Chair1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Brandy N Stemmler
Vice Chair1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kevin M Chen
Secretary1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
George H Juetten
Treasurer1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mary C Adcox
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Candice D Allphin
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Emily R Baker
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Eileen L Barber
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Eric L Bouchard
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
James D Crawford
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ted Epperly
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
James T Girvan
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
John A Grizzaffi
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Randall L Hales
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jay L Hawkins
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robert F Heffner
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ernest A Hoidal
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rod P MacKinnon
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Bernadette M Madarieta
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jason T Manning
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Michael S Mers
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ronald S Meyers
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Neil W Nelson
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Patricia Olsson
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rodney Reider partial year
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Debra K Riedel
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Christopher W Roth
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Bonnie P Schwenkfelder
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Richelle Sugiyama
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
David J Terrell partial year
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Louis D Voulelis
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
David S Wali
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Glen Walker
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Holli H Woodings
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Paul Powell
Executive Director40.00Yes (X)$129,143$0$24,652
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$129,143TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$24,652TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K1IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 K0TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsYes (1)CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K0CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$62,800FundraisingAmt
All Other Contributions$15,253,263AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$1,443,360NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$15,316,063TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Program Income611710$7,455,100$7,455,100
Membership Dues611710$101,391$101,391
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$7,556,491TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$4,568,606TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$4,568,606ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$149,821,909SecuritiesAmt
Other$465,512OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$149,343,605SecuritiesAmt
Other$659,000OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$478,304SecuritiesAmt
Other-$193,488OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$284,816TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$284,816ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$870,461FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$62,800ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$252,479FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$617,982TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$617,982ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$28,343,958TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$7,556,491RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$5,471,404ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$28,629,613TotalAmt
Program Services$28,629,613ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,833,572TotalAmt
Program Services$5,833,572ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$166,998TotalAmt
Management And General$166,998ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,826,951TotalAmt
Management And General$635,901ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,191,050FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$70,658TotalAmt
Management And General$70,658ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$449,424TotalAmt
Management And General$78,417ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$371,007FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$53,665TotalAmt
Management And General$53,665ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$21,832TotalAmt
Program Services$3,575ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$18,257ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$37,525TotalAmt
Program Services$1,525ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$36,000ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$562,763TotalAmt
Program Services$2,484ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$560,279ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$35,184TotalAmt
Program Services$21,446ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$13,738ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,679TotalAmt
Management And General$3,679ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$30,995TotalAmt
Program Services$9,451ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$21,544ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$261,755TotalAmt
Management And General$261,755ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$9,901TotalAmt
Management And General$9,079ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$822FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,948TotalAmt
Program Services$3,948ProgramServicesAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$20,000TotalAmt
Program Services$20,000ProgramServicesAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$25,903TotalAmt
Program Services$15,152ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$10,751ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
Uncollectable Pledges$198,275$198,275
Impairment on Property$151,000$151,000
Dues & Subscriptions$30,803$30,803

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$694,003TotalAmt
Program Services$23,129ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$433,249ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$237,625FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$39,118,447TotalAmt
Program Services$34,762,170ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,555,773ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,800,504FundraisingAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,013,780BOYAmt
EOY$3,844,541EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,010,949BOYAmt
EOY$1,746,426EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$25,000BOYAmt
EOY$54,719EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$99,916BOYAmt
EOY$131,678EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$149,000LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$659,000BOYAmt
EOY$149,000EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$134,710,877BOYAmt
EOY$139,415,642EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$44,610,336BOYAmt
EOY$47,138,745EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,809,932BOYAmt
EOY$3,796,255EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$194,939,790BOYAmt
EOY$196,277,006EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,929,870BOYAmt
EOY$10,468,462EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$232,976BOYAmt
EOY$157,601EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,018,923BOYAmt
EOY$1,297,955EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,003,419BOYAmt
EOY$3,198,912EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,000,000BOYAmt
EOY$2,000,000EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,000BOYAmt
EOY$10,000EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,195,188BOYAmt
EOY$17,132,930EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows SFAS117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsSFAS117Ind

Unrestricted Net Assets UnrestrictedNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,403,566BOYAmt
EOY$16,928,923EOYAmt

Temporarily Rstr Net Assets TemporarilyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$77,665,698BOYAmt
EOY$61,064,817EOYAmt

Permanently Rstr Net Assets PermanentlyRstrNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$93,675,338BOYAmt
EOY$101,150,336EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$186,744,602BOYAmt
EOY$179,144,076EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$194,939,790BOYAmt
EOY$196,277,006EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$10,774,489ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$3,173,963NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$20,887,346CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$41,071,044CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$20,389,109CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$19,288,082CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$15,316,063CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$116,951,644TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$20,887,346CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$41,071,044CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$20,389,109CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$19,288,082CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$15,316,063CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$116,951,644TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$11,688,579SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$105,263,065PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$3,106,581CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$3,055,968CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$3,261,791CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$3,913,259CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$4,568,606CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$17,906,205TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$40,415CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$40,415CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$10,133CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Total$90,963TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$134,948,812TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$24,964,114GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.78000PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.76390PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule A, Part II, Line 10, Explanation of Other Income:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationAmortization of deferred revenue - 2015 Amount: $ 40,415. 2016 Amount: $ 40,415. 2017 Amount: $ 10,133. 2018 Amount: $ 0.ExplanationTxt

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd
Incl Escrow Custodial Acct LiabYes (1)InclEscrowCustodialAcctLiabInd
Explanation ProvidedYes (X)ExplanationProvidedInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$114,751,605BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$6,631,676ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$5,722,001InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$3,494,254GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Administrative Expenses$1,510,861AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$122,100,167EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$105,443,617BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$7,099,568ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$6,836,494InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$3,117,213GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Administrative Expenses$1,510,861AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$114,751,605EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$96,708,402BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,329,531ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$12,578,341InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$3,823,836GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Administrative Expenses$1,348,821AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$105,443,617EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$98,020,722BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$4,131,556ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$958,716InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$3,344,435GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Administrative Expenses$1,140,725AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$96,708,402EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$95,665,945BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$5,967,765ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,408,562InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$3,223,133GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$267,381OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$1,531,036AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$98,020,722EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.03130BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.14870PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.82000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$149,000InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$149,000BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$149,000TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
International Equity Funds$37,523,031F
Private Equity Investments$1,613,073F
Real and Specialty Assets$7,478,593F
Hedge Funds$96,328F
Insurance Annuities$427,720F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$47,138,745TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescInterest PayableDesc
Amt$10,000Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$10,000TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$31,674,359TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$3,173,963NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$111,447DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Other Revenue$445,967OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$3,731,377RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$27,942,982RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$400,976InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$400,976RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$28,343,958TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$39,274,885TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$111,447DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Other Expenses Included$445,967OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$557,414ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$38,717,471ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$400,976InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$400,976ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$39,118,447TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part IV, Line 2b:The Foundation acts as trustee for various revocable and irrevocable trusts. These trusts are governed by the respective trust agreements, which generally provide for either an income stream or a future distribution of cash or other assets to the Foundation, in whole or in part, for a specified period or upon the occurrence of a specific event, respectively. If a trust is revocable, or if the maker of the trust reserves the right to replace the Foundation as the beneficiary of the trust, the Foundation records the assets placed in trust at fair value, with an equal and offsetting liability until such time the Foundation receives distributions from the trust in accordance with its terms. If the trust is irrevocable, the trust assets are recorded at fair value, and a related liability for future payments to be made to the specified beneficiaries is recorded at fair value using present value techniques and risk-adjusted discount rates. The excess of contributed assets over the trust liability is recorded as a temporarily or permanently restricted contribution until such amount is received via trust distribution and/or is expended in satisfaction of the restricted purpose stipulated by the trust agreement, if any, at which time temporarily restricted net assets are released to unrestricted net assets and permanently restricted net assets are transferred to the endowment. In subsequent years, the liability for future trust payments to the donor is reduced by payments made to the donor and is adjusted to reflect changes in the fair value of the liability at the end of the year. Upon termination of the trust, the remaining liability is removed and recognized as income. In addition, the Boise State Public Radio (BSPR), an operating division of the University, transferred assets to the Foundation for investment and management, which are included in amounts held in custody for others.
Part V, Line 4:The intent of the endowment fund is to permanently maintain funds that are limited by donor-imposed restrictions that neither expire by the passage of time nor can be fulfilled or otherwise removed by action of the Foundation. The restrictions stipulate that resources be maintained permanently, but permit the Foundation to expend the investment revenues and gains generated through the invested funds with the purpose of providing distributions that will be used to provide scholarship and operating funds for the University and the Foundation.
Part X, Line 2:The Foundation is organized as an Idaho nonprofit corporation and has been recognized by the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) as exempt from federal income taxes under Section 501(a) of the Internal Revenue Code as an organization described in Section 501(c)(3), qualifies for the charitable contribution deduction under Section 170(b)(1)(A)(vi) and has been determined not to be a private foundation under Section 509(a)(1). The Foundation is annually required to file a Return of Organization Exempt from Income Tax (Form 990) with the IRS. In addition, the Foundation is subject to income tax on net income that is derived from business activities that are unrelated to their exempt purposes. Currently, the Foundation has determined it is subject to unrelated business income tax and has filed an Exempt Organization Business Income Tax Return (Form 990-T) with the IRS. The Foundation believes that it has appropriate support for tax positions taken affecting its annual filing requirements, and as such, does not have any uncertain tax positions that are material to the financial statements. The Foundation would recognize future accrued interest and penalties related to unrecognized tax benefits and liabilities in income tax expense if such interest and penalties are incurred.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Special event and gaming expense reported with revenue for tax purposes. 252,479. Loss on sale of real property reported with revenue for tax purposes. 193,488.
Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Special event and gaming expense reported with revenue for tax purposes. 252,479. Loss on sale of real property reported with revenue for tax purposes. 193,488.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (2 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
Central America and the Caribbean - Antigua & Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas,00Investment$1,100,000
Central America and the Caribbean - Antigua & Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas,00Expenditures$34,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices0SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees0SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continuation Total Office0ContinuationTotalOfficeCnt
Continuation Total Employee0ContinuationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$1,134,000SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$0ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$1,134,000TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpYes (1)TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipYes (1)ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CoYes (1)PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign Partnership0ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceForm 990, Schedule FFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationInformation provided on Schedule F relates to the Foundation's direct and indirect investments during the tax period. The Foundation has evaluated potential foreign filing requirements, and has filed respective forms. None of the Foundation's ownership interests in foreign corporations requires a Form 5471 to be filed for the tax period. In addition, the investment partnerships have properly filed Form 8621, or the underlying investments did not generate any unrelated business income triggering the filing of the form. Transfers of capital were all under the $100,000 threshold so Form 926 is not required.ExplanationTxt

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1BAA/Alumni AuctionEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$716,100GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$716,100GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event1$3,188RentFacilityCostsEvent1Amt
Food And Beverage Event1$20,742FoodAndBeverageEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$150,456OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Event2COBE Golf Bro72Event2Nm
Gross Receipts Event2$83,200GrossReceiptsEvent2Amt
Charitable Contri Event2$47,400CharitableContriEvent2Amt
Gross Revenue Event2$35,800GrossRevenueEvent2Amt
Food And Beverage Event2$1,761FoodAndBeverageEvent2Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event2$38,533OtherDirectExpensesEvent2Amt
Other Events Total2OtherEventsTotalCnt
Gross Receipts Other Events$133,961GrossReceiptsOtherEventsAmt
Charitable Contri Other Events$15,400CharitableContriOtherEventsAmt
Gross Revenue Other Events$118,561GrossRevenueOtherEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Other Events$10,443RentFcltyCostsOtherEventsAmt
Food And Beverage Other Events$20,157FoodAndBeverageOtherEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Other Events$7,199OthDirectExpnssOtherEventsAmt
Gross Receipts Total$933,261GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$62,800CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$870,461GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Total Events$13,631RentFcltyCostsTotalEventsAmt
Food And Beverage Total Events$42,660FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$196,188OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$252,479DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary$617,982NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable (3 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdRecipient EINRecipientEINIRC SectionIRCSectionDescCash GrantCashGrantAmtPurpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt
Bronco Athletic Association Inc
1910 University DriveBoiseID83725826026578501(c)(3)$3,495,753Support of athletic programs and student athletes
Boise State University Alumni Association Inc
1910 University DriveBoiseID83725820289531501(c)(3)$385,577Support of development and advancement of Boise State University
Boise State University
1910 University DriveBoiseID83725820290701State of Idaho$24,748,283Support of academic, athletic, and administrative departments.
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total501c3 Org3Total501c3OrgCnt
Total Other Org0TotalOtherOrgCnt

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeScholarshipsGrantTypeTxt
Recipient1416RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$5,833,572CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 2:The vast majority of our scholarships and payments go to Boise State University. These distributions are made from the Foundation or through distributions from Bronco Athletic Association and Boise State University Alumni Association. We rely on the University's record keeping to make sure the scholarships and payments conform to their requirements. The Foundation awards certain scholarships directly, but remits the payment to BSU for those scholarships. The students self report and submit a FASFA to show that they qualify for the scholarships.
Form 990, Schedule I, Part IIIScholarship recipients are tracked via a database. The athletic scholarships are provided by the compliance team.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonPaul PowellPersonNm
TitleExecutive DirectorTitleTxt
Base Compensation Filing Org$129,143BaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Compensation Based On Rltd Orgs$0CompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt
Bonus Filing Organization$0BonusFilingOrganizationAmount
Bonus Related Organizations$0BonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt
Other Compensation Filing Org$0OtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Other Compensation Rltd Orgs$0OtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt
Deferred Compensation Flng Org$11,972DeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt
Deferred Comp Rltd Orgs$0DeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt
Nontaxable Benefits Filing Org$12,681NontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt
Nontaxable Benefits Rltd Orgs$0NontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt
Total Compensation Filing Org$153,796TotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
Total Compensation Rltd Orgs$0TotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt
Comp Report Prior990 Filing Org$0CompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt
Comp Report Prior990 Rltd Orgs$0CompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceForm 990, Schedule J, Part II:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe Executive Director is an employees of Boise State University, an unrelated organization. The Executive Director received compensation from Boise State University for the services provided to the Foundation. The calendar year 2018 compensation is reported in Part II.ExplanationTxt

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution42ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$1,143,360NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesAvg High/LowMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Real Estate Residential RealEstateResidentialGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution1ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$300,000NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesFMVMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form8283 Received1Form8283ReceivedCnt
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Column (b):FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationNumber of contributions is used.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part V, Lines 2a/2b & Part IX, Lines 5-10:All Foundation employees are employed by Boise State University. The Foundation reports zero Form W-2s filed because the University handles all related payroll filings. The Foundation reports salary, benefits and payroll tax expense in functional expenses because the Foundation reimburses the University for these expenses.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 1The governing body of the organization delegates authority to act on its behalf to the Executive Committee. The Executive Committee consists of the Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, Treasurer, Immediate Past Chair, and the Chairs of the following Board committees: Audit; Governance; Real Estate; Investment; Scholarship. All members of the Executive Committee are voting Directors. The Executive Committee shall exercise all powers of the Board between the meetings of said Board, except the Executive Committee may not take any of the following actions: (i) authorize distributions, (ii) approve dissolution, merger or the sale, pledge or transfer of all or substantially all of the Foundation's assets, (iii) elect, appoint, or remove Directors or fill vacancies on the Board of Directors on any of its committees, or (iv) adopt, amend, or repeal the Articles of the Bylaws.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bThe Form 990 is reviewed by the Foundation staff prior to being provided to the Audit Committee. The Audit Committee reviews and recommends approval to the Executive Committee who gives final approval. The Board is informed of the Executive Committee's approval and a copy of the Form 990 is made available to the Board.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cThe Conflict of Interest policy covers Directors, Officers, all employees, and others who can influence the actions of the Foundation. Determinations are made by the Board or a committee of the Board, if appropriate. The Board or Executive Committee will determine whether a conflict exists, and, in the case of an existing conflict, whether the contemplated transaction may be authorized as just, fair, and reasonable to the Foundation. The decision of the Board or Executive Committee on these matters will rest in their sole discretion, and their concern must be the welfare of the Foundation and advancement of its purpose. If a conflict of interest were to arise involving a member of the Board or Executive Committee, the individual is required to recuse themselves from voting on the issue.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15aThe Executive Director is an employee of Boise State University who is loaned to the Foundation and is responsible for Foundation operations. The University performs compensation studies and coordinates compensation in conjunction with state legislature appropriations.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The Foundation's governing documents are not available for public review. The Form 990 is available upon request.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
The Edmund E & Alice R Palmatier Charitable Trust
c/o Wells Fargo Bank One West FourtWinstonSalemNC27101943233102Distribution of scholarship awardsID501(c)(3)PFBoise State University FoundationYes (1)
The Frances J Woods Charitable Trust
c/o Wells Fargo Bank One West FourtWinstonSalemNC27101311564469Distribution of scholarship awardsID501(c)(3)PFBoise State University FoundationYes (1)

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Charitable Remainder Trusts (8)BusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Primary ActivitiesDistributions for Scholarship AwardsPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateIDLegalDomicileStateCd
Direct Controlling NAN/ADirectControllingNACd
Controlled Organization0ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgYes (1)TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp

Other Organization Name OtherOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1The Edmund E and Alice R Palmatier Charitable TrustBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transaction TypeSTransactionTypeTxt
Involved$86,761InvolvedAmt
Method Of Amount DeterminationFMVMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.