COAL COUNTRY COMMUNITY HEALTH CENTER: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
COAL COUNTRY COMMUNITY HEALTH CENTER (EIN 11-3686120)
Tax period
2019-05-01 to 2020-04-30
Filed
2020-12-09
IRS object ID
202033449349300618
Schema version
2019v5.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2020-12-09T10:48:05-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-04-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN450250958PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Eide Bailly LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11730 Burnt Boat Loop Ste 100AddressLine1Txt
CityBismarckCityNm
State AbbreviationNDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP585030886ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-05-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN113686120EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Coal Country Community Health CenterBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlCOALBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7018737788PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11312 Highway 49 NAddressLine1Txt
CityBeulahCityNm
State AbbreviationNDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP585236038ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDarrold BertschPersonNm
Person TitleCEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone7018737788PhoneNum
Signature2020-11-03SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonLisa Chaffee CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00193453PTIN
Phone7012551091PhoneNum
Preparation2020-11-03PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerDarrold BertschPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11312 Highway 49 NAddressLine1Txt
CityBeulahCityNm
State AbbreviationNDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP585236038ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$12,958,583GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.coalcountryhealth.comWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation2003FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNDLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionCCCHC provides and promotes quality health care to the medically underserved population in the North Dakota counties of Mercer, Dunn, and Oliver.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body10VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent10VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee134TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers10TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$2,524,057PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$2,925,137CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$10,333,133PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$9,966,586CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$0PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income-$3,316CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$30,248PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$66,860CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$12,887,438PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$12,955,267CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$7,143,408PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$7,529,300CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$5,268,148PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$5,293,225CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$12,411,556PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$12,822,525CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$475,882PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$132,742CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$13,591,246TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$15,797,286TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$4,011,012TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$6,084,310TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$9,580,234NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$9,712,976NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionWorking together as partners to enhance the lives of area residents by providing a neighborhood of patient centered healthcare services that promote wellness, prevention and care coordination.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcYes (1)SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$10,538,178ExpenseAmt
Revenue$9,966,586RevenueAmt
DescCoal Country Community Health Center is part of a family of over 1,400 health centers nationally that provide care to more than 28 million people in the United States. Community health centers are local, non-profit health care providers serving low income and medically underserved communities. Also known as Federally-Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs), they are located in areas where care is needed, and improve access to care for millions of Americans. Their costs of care rank among the lowest, and their focus on prevention reduces the need for more expensive in-patient and specialty care, saving billions of dollars for taxpayers. (Continued on Schedule O)The focus of the care we provide can be summed up in one word - community. Coal Country is governed by a board of members from the communities we serve, and every decision they make has the best interest of the community in mind. Our medical staff and support staff are also your neighbors, helping us truly understand you and the health care issues that are important to you.The team of providers delivers primary care for the entire community. Funded by a federal grant, our sliding fee scale allows patients to pay according to their individual ability. This and other efforts ensure that no one in the community goes without proper health care services. That's what we're all about.Coal Country Community Health Center, with clinics in Beulah, Center, Hazen, and Killdeer, is a member of the PrimeCare Health Group. Furthermore, Coal Country remains a member of the other health care networks in the region.At Coal Country Community Health Center, our top priority is to provide complete health care services for the entire community.With a background in every area of medicine, our primary care physicians provide continuing and comprehensive care, from preventative care to diagnosis and treatment of health conditions.For more focused care, we bring in specialists to our clinic in Beulah,all the while continuing to oversee your total care.Our ongoing medical care of all levels includes the areas of::: Acute and chronic disease:: Adult care medicine:: Emergency medicine:: Geriatrics:: Mental health:: Medicated Assisted Therapy:: Obstetrics:: Occupational medicine:: Pediatrics:: Prenatal care:: Sports medicine:: Women's healthSpecialists from Bismarck regularly visit our clinics to provide treatment in the areas of::: Audiology:: Ear, nose and throat:: General surgery:: Mental health:: Obstetrics and Gynecology:: OrthopedicsDesc
Total Program Service Expenses$10,538,178TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document26IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee134EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members10GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member10IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Dovie BorthBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone7018737788PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11312 Hwy 49 NAddressLine1Txt
CityBeulahCityNm
State AbbreviationNDStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP585236038ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (17 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Dr DJ Erickson
Chair1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Keith Johnson
Vice Chair1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Arlene Helling
Secretary/Treasurer1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Fred Stern
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Sienna Sailer
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jody Doe
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Anna Mae Batke
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kathy Kelsch
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Travis Jordan
Director1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Heidi Moore
Director (Began Feb 2020)1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Darrold Bertsch
CEO40.00Yes (X)$272,232$0$36,268
Dovie Borth
CFO40.00Yes (X)$100,326$0$5,919
Aaron Garman MD
Physician40.00$335,996$0$34,920Yes (X)
Jacinta-Jon Klindworth MD
Physician40.00$269,567$0$37,636Yes (X)
Michelle Placke
Physician40.00$254,010$0$41,523Yes (X)
Orlan Jackson DO
Physician40.00$184,191$0$30,373Yes (X)
Rodney Zimmerman
Physician40.00$183,842$0$32,654Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,600,164TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$219,293TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K15IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Corval Management Services Inc
1633 Eustis StSt PaulMN55108Construction for Beulah Clinic Expansion$1,873,179
Beulah Drug
147 W MainBeulahND58523Contract Pharmacy Dispensing Fees$907,887
Altru Health System
PO Box 6002Grand ForksND58206Software Subscription & Support$427,959
Sakakawea Medical Center
510 8th Avenue NEHazenND58545Shared Staff & Rent$357,812
High Point Networks
728 East Beaton Dr Suite 200West FargoND58078Maintenance Agreements & Equipment Purch$328,726
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K6CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$2,925,137GovernmentGrantsAmt
Total Contributions$2,925,137TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Patient Service Revenue621110$6,124,993$6,124,993
Pharmacy Revenue621110$3,406,392$3,406,392
Other Program Revenue621110$435,201$435,201
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$9,966,586TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$66,860RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$66,860RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$66,860TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$66,860ExclusionAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$3,316OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other-$3,316OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$3,316TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$3,316ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$12,955,267TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$9,966,586RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$63,544ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$265,613TotalAmt
Management And General$265,613ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,841,909TotalAmt
Program Services$5,466,516ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$375,393ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$219,714TotalAmt
Program Services$170,258ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$49,456ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$789,181TotalAmt
Program Services$640,517ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$148,664ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$412,883TotalAmt
Program Services$299,233ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$113,650ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,690TotalAmt
Management And General$7,690ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$97,836TotalAmt
Management And General$97,836ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,807,444TotalAmt
Program Services$1,502,897ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$304,547ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$67,546TotalAmt
Management And General$67,546ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$581,155TotalAmt
Program Services$403,975ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$177,180ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$70,228TotalAmt
Management And General$70,228ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$547,607TotalAmt
Program Services$410,632ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$136,975ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$92,282TotalAmt
Program Services$59,659ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$32,623ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$27,918TotalAmt
Program Services$16,017ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$11,901ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,380TotalAmt
Program Services$1,380ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$779,294TotalAmt
Program Services$640,710ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$138,584ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$45,502TotalAmt
Program Services$5,334ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$40,168ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
Medical Supplies$847,144$847,144
Dues and Subscriptions$45,215$9,361$35,854
Licenses$44,021$42,267$1,754

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$230,963TotalAmt
Program Services$22,278ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$208,685ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$12,822,525TotalAmt
Program Services$10,538,178ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,284,347ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,169,143BOYAmt
EOY$5,971,602EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,082,772BOYAmt
EOY$1,194,446EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$53,258BOYAmt
EOY$45,420EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$125,083BOYAmt
EOY$100,319EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$10,653,534LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$2,275,835LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,081,821BOYAmt
EOY$8,377,699EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$79,169BOYAmt
EOY$107,800EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,591,246BOYAmt
EOY$15,797,286EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,216,762BOYAmt
EOY$1,212,930EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,794,250BOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$3,489,197EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EOY$1,185,600EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$196,583EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,011,012BOYAmt
EOY$6,084,310EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,580,234BOYAmt
EOY$9,712,976EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,580,234BOYAmt
EOY$9,712,976EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,591,246BOYAmt
EOY$15,797,286EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$132,742ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,089,318CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,696,142CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$2,606,233CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,524,057CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,925,137CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$12,840,887TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$2,089,318CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,696,142CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$2,606,233CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,524,057CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,925,137CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$12,840,887TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total170$12,840,887PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$30,248CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$66,860CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$97,108TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$12,937,995TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$47,421,429GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.99250PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.99740PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$8,764,461OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,306,066DepreciationAmt
Book Value$7,458,395BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$33,173OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$14,565DepreciationAmt
Book Value$18,608BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,704,212OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$873,371DepreciationAmt
Book Value$830,841BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$151,688OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$81,833DepreciationAmt
Book Value$69,855BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$8,377,699TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Refundable advance$126,465
Construction accounts payable$70,118
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$196,583TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$12,958,583TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Revenue Not Reported$0RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$12,958,583RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included-$3,316OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt-$3,316RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$12,955,267TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$12,825,841TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$3,316OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$3,316ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$12,822,525ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$12,822,525TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part X, Line 2:The Health Center believes that it has appropriate support for any tax positions taken affecting its annual filing requirements, and as such, does not have any uncertain tax positions that are material to the financial statements. The Health Center would recognize future accrued interest and penalties related to unrecognized tax benefits and liabilities in income tax expense if such interest and penalties are incurred.
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Loss on Assets in Expenses on Audit -3,316.
Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Loss on Assets in Expenses on Audit 3,316.

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgYes (1)CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (6 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Darrold Bertsch
CEO$268,000$0$0$0$4,232$0$10,800$0$23,323$0$306,355$0$0$0
Aaron Garman MD
Physician$278,600$0$56,586$0$810$0$11,000$0$24,529$0$371,525$0$0$0
Jacinta-Jon Klindworth MD
Physician$213,790$0$54,967$0$810$0$10,906$0$27,339$0$307,812$0$0$0
Michelle Placke
Physician$204,473$0$42,385$0$7,152$0$10,162$0$32,348$0$296,520$0$0$0
Orlan Jackson DO
Physician$176,248$0$4,379$0$3,564$0$7,225$0$20,988$0$212,404$0$0$0
Rodney Zimmerman
Physician$166,680$0$13,129$0$4,033$0$7,186$0$22,559$0$213,587$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 6An annual management team incentive program was started in FY2014 with the first annual payment occurring in August 2014 for fiscal year ending 04/30/2014. This program was continued for FY2020. The incentive payment is based on a combination of ten clinical and financial performance measures relating to the patient population and the health center. The ten measures are: 1. Diabetes Control > National Average 2. Blood Pressure Control > National Average 3. Cholesterol Treatment > National Average 4. Adult Weight Screening & Follow-up > National Average 5. Childhood Immunizations > National Average 6. Days in AR < 55 7. Days Cash on Hand > 90 8. Net Profit Margin > 5% 9. Long Term Debt to Equity < .50 10. Medical Cost Per Medical Patient < National Average Of the 10 measures, only net profit margin could potentially be considered as compensation contingent on net earnings. Only the measures met for the current fiscal year are included in the calculation of the incentive payment. Each measure met receives a rating of 1%. A maximum incentive of 10% is allowed. The incentive payment calculation is based on the individual team member's base salary/wages as of the end of the current fiscal year. In September 2019, Dovie Borth received a management team incentive payment of $6,149.50. The other four participants in the program do not meet the criteria for Part VII and are not listed in Part VII.
Schedule J, Part II:As of 6/1/2013, Darrold became an employee of Coal Country Community Health Center (CCCHC) and still provides services to both Sakakawea Medical Center (SMC) and CCCHC. The compensation reported in Part VII, and Part II of Schedule J, reflects total compensation Darrold received from CCCHC for his services to both SMC and CCCHC. Compensation received just for services to CCCHC, includes $156,503 of wages and benefits.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part III, line 2Mental health services continue to expand as the health center implemented its IMPACT (Integrating Mental Health, Physical Health, and Continuity of Care Together) program in the Killdeer school district during the 2019 2020 school year. In the prior year, the program was implemented in the Beulah and Hazen school districts. The health center utilizes a comprehensive mental health screening tool at each school district as an approach for early identification of conditions that increase risk for substance or opioid use in adolescent patients. In addition, addiction counseling for Minor in Possession (MIP) and Minor in Consumption (MIC) is available for patients. An intensive outpatient program (IOP) was added to the health center's substance use rehabilitation program through CCCHC's Licensed Addictions Counselors. National certification was achieved for four Tobacco Treatment Specialists (TTS) which provided the opportunity to expand the TTS counseling services to Medicaid patients without a face to face visit. Coal Country Community Health Center implemented telehealth with the addition of a Psychiatrist in the fall of 2019. Telehealth was expanded to all provider services in the spring of 2020 due to the Coronavirus pandemic.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 1The Executive Committee shall consist of at least five (5) voting members, including the Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, Treasurer, and one (1) at-large member. The Executive Director of the Corporation shall serve without voting powers. The Executive Committee shall have the power to transact all business of the Corporation during the interim between meetings of the Board of Directors, provided that any action so taken shall not conflict with the policies and express wishes of the Board of Directors, and that it shall refer all matters of major importance to the full Board of Directors, including any amendments to the Articles and Bylaws.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bThe full copy of the Form 990 is provided to the board via email. The Form 990 is reviewed and approved by the board and signed by the CEO after approval.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cThe conflict of interest and compensation disclosure statements are completed annually. All board members and officers of CCCHC are covered by the policy. The annual conflict of interest and compensation disclosure statements obtained from board members and officers of CCCHC are reviewed by the CEO and Administration staff of CCCHC. It is at this review that the determination is made as to whether a conflict exists. Actual conflicts of interest identified are brought before the Board Executive Committee or the entire Board, depending on the situation and circumstances. Board members and officers of CCCHC are required to recuse themselves from voting on issues where it has been determined that a conflict of interest does exist. If the conflict of interest is pervasive, the Board Executive Committee or the entire Board will determine if further actions are needed. In all situations, the Board will document the restrictions imposed or acted upon.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15aTo determine compensation, the organization uses the following salary surveys for both the CEO and CFO as well as other positions within the organization: National Community Health Center Association (NACHC), Community Healthcare Association of the Mountain Plain States (CHAMPS), Medical Group Management Association (MGMA), and state of ND. The board of directors determines the salary of the CEO. CEO Salary adjustments are documented on a payroll notification form, signed by the board chair and forwarded to the accounting department for entry into the accounting/payroll system. Compensation for the CFO is reviewed and approved by the CEO. The board of directors approves an annual budget to provide guidance for expenditures which includes personnel salaries. In addition, annual salary adjustments are presented to the board for approval. Personnel salary adjustments are documented on a payroll notification form signed by the CEO or Human Resources and forwarded to the accounting department for entry into the accounting/payroll system. The process for determining compensation is undertaken annually before the new fiscal year in May begins.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The organization makes its governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements available to the public upon request.
Form 990, Part IX, line 11gOther Medical Service Fees: Program service expenses 1,502,897. Management and general expenses 304,547. Fundraising expenses 0. Total expenses 1,807,444.

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.