FURP.ORG / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

OTTAWA UNIVERSITY: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
OTTAWA UNIVERSITY (EIN 48-0543772)
Tax period
2019-07-01 to 2020-06-30
Filed
2021-05-11
IRS object ID
202141319349303079
Schema version
2019v5.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-05-11T15:34:02-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN430765316PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RUBINBROWN LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11200 MAIN STREET SUITE 1000AddressLine1Txt
CityKANSAS CITYCityNm
State AbbreviationMOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP64105ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN480543772EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1OTTAWA UNIVERSITYBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlOTTABusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7852482382PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11001 S CEDARAddressLine1Txt
CityOTTAWACityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP66067ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJ CLARK RIBORDYPersonNm
Person TitleEXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENTPersonTitleTxt
Phone7852482382PhoneNum
Signature2021-05-10SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonKIMBERLY A RYANPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00829977PTIN
Phone8164721122PhoneNum
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerKEVIN EICHNERPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11001 S CEDARAddressLine1Txt
CityOTTAWACityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP66067ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$88,400,312GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.OTTAWA.EDUWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1865FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateKSLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionBUILDING ON ITS FOUNDATION AS A CHRIST-INSPIRED COMMUNITY OF GRACE AND OPEN INQUIRY, OTTAWA UNIVERSITY PREPARES PROFESSIONAL AND LIBERAL ARTS GRADUATES FOR LIFETIMES OF PERSONAL SIGNIFICANCE, VOCATIONAL FULFILLMENT, AND SERVICE TO GOD AND HUMANITY.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body24VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent24VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1204TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers60TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$10,705TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$9,705NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$8,080,816PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$6,337,651CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$68,123,432PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$74,866,800CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$353,719PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$331,124CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$1,666,211PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$1,783,603CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$78,224,178PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$83,319,178CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$20,041,994PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$20,949,819CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$27,704,897PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$27,811,353CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,104,712CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$28,216,382PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$32,102,063CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$75,963,273PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$80,863,235CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$2,260,905PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,455,943CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$96,898,536TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$107,254,264TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$75,881,378TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$83,631,737TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$21,017,158NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$23,622,527NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionSEE SCHEDULE OBUILDING ON ITS FOUNDATION AS A CHRIST-INSPIRED COMMUNITY OF GRACE AND OPEN INQUIRY, OTTAWA UNIVERSITY PREPARES PROFESSIONAL AND LIBERAL ARTS GRADUATES FOR LIFETIMES OF PERSONAL SIGNIFICANCE, VOCATIONAL FULFILLMENT, AND SERVICE TO GOD AND HUMANITY.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$72,113,956ExpenseAmt
Grant$20,949,819GrantAmt
Revenue$74,866,800RevenueAmt
DescOTTAWA UNIVERSITY STRIVES TO PROVIDE THE HIGHEST QUALITY LIBERAL ARTS AND PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION IN A CARING, CHRIST-INSPIRED COMMUNITY OF GRACE INTEGRATING FAITH, LEARNING AND LIFE.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$72,113,956TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtYes (1)CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document5448IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee1204EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members24GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member24IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldAZStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldKSStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldWIStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1TOM CORLEYBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone7852482382PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11001 S CEDARAddressLine1Txt
CityOTTAWACityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP66067ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (36 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
DIANE SEXTON
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEANNE STUART KRUG
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KRISTY CANNON STALLINGS
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHAEL HETRICK
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
STEVE HASTY
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PAMELA WOODWARD
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LUCKY DEFRIES
TRUSTEE, CHAIR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
WAYNE DUDERSTADT
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DANNY TRENT
TRUSTEE, VICE CHAIR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
HENRY HANK SCHERICH
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN WILLIAMS
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOE GREENHAW
TRUSTEE, TREASURER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
JOHN COEN
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KATHLEEN GREENE
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DONNA PETROCCO
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHAEL RUCHENSKY
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JANET KINCAID
TRUSTEE, SECRETARY1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
GORDIE ECHTENKAMP
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RON GUZIAK
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ZACH PEEK
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LESTER RUIZ
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHARLYNE SUSIE SCHMEER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SCOTT THELLMAN
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
STEVE SHELTON
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
KEVIN EICHNER
CHANCELLOR40.00$530,357$0$64,458Yes (X)
J CLARK RIBORDY
EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT AND CFO40.00$279,101$0$73,536Yes (X)
TERREL HAINES
EXECUTIVE VP AND PROVOST40.00$222,855$0$60,224Yes (X)
NANCY WINGERT
EXECUTIVE VP OF ONLINE PROGRAM40.00$219,024$0$25,314Yes (X)
DENNIS TYNER
PRESIDENT OUAZ40.00$198,269$0$34,150Yes (X)
PAUL BEAN
VP OF ADVANCEMENT40.00$161,228$0$19,864Yes (X)
REGGIES WENYIKA
PRESIDENT OUKS CAMPUS40.00$204,526$0$38,072Yes (X)
BRIAN SANDUSKY
CHIEF ENROLLMENT OFFICER OUAZ40.00$164,315$0$36,214Yes (X)
RICHARD JOHNSON
COO OF ARIZONA CAMPUSES40.00$140,774$0$48,797Yes (X)
KEVIN STEELE
OUAZ DIRECTOR OF ATHLETICS40.00$119,185$0$19,404Yes (X)
RUSS MCCOLLOUGH
CHAIR OF THE ANGELL SNYDER SCHOOL OF BUSINESS40.00$127,725$0$27,423Yes (X)
LENA RODRIGUEZ
DEAN OF THE SCHOOL OF BUSINESS40.00$141,750$0$21,034Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,509,109TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$468,490TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K14IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
LOYD BUILDERS INC
2126 SOUTH ELMOTTAWAKS66067CONSTRUCTION SERVICES$3,587,463
A'VIANDS LLC
1751 COUNTY ROAD B WEST SUITE 300ROSEVILLEMN55113FOOD SERVICE MANAGEMENT$2,846,995
LANCER HOSPITALITY
767 EUSTIS STREET SUITE 145ST PAULMN55114FOOD SERVICE MANAGEMENT$1,329,869
OUAZ RESIDENCE LLC
1118 E MISSOURI AVE STE APHOENIXAZ85014STUDENT HOUSING RENTALS$920,286
THRULINE MARKETING INC
15500 W 113TH STREET SUITE 300LENEXAKS66219MARKETING$722,563
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K34CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$1,748,904GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$4,588,747AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$6,337,651TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
TUITION & FEES611600$64,598,181$64,598,181
AUXILIARY ENTERPRISES611600$10,268,619$10,268,619
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$74,866,800TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$326,433TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$326,433ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$6,500TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$6,500ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$20,586RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$9,881RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$10,705RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$10,705TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$10,705UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$5,075,944SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$5,069,921SecuritiesAmt
Other$1,332OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$6,023SecuritiesAmt
Other-$1,332OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$4,691TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$4,691ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
ALL OTHER MISC REVENUE900099$1,722,938$1,722,938
TRANSCRIPT FEES611710$41,797$41,797
COMMISSIONS541900$1,663$1,663
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$1,766,398OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$83,319,178TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$74,866,800RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$10,705UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$2,104,022ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part IXYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$20,949,819TotalAmt
Program Services$20,949,819ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,966,010TotalAmt
Program Services$571,512ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$974,611ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$419,887FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$20,385,022TotalAmt
Program Services$18,487,364ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,625,625ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$272,033FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$343,884TotalAmt
Program Services$333,936ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$9,948ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,517,705TotalAmt
Program Services$3,267,507ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$233,101ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$17,097FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,598,732TotalAmt
Program Services$1,384,408ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$185,285ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$29,039FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,240,488TotalAmt
Program Services$1,015,609ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$224,479ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$400FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$99,768TotalAmt
Program Services$1,660ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$98,108ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$95,447TotalAmt
Management And General$95,447ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$8,789,746TotalAmt
Program Services$8,066,212ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$635,430ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$88,104FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,218,270TotalAmt
Program Services$1,152,448ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$62,965ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,857FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,049,847TotalAmt
Program Services$632,816ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$382,828ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$34,203FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$534,512TotalAmt
Program Services$356,331ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$112,008ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$66,173FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,094,565TotalAmt
Program Services$5,456,776ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$637,789ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,954,627TotalAmt
Program Services$1,853,368ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$77,141ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$24,118FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$300,621TotalAmt
Program Services$259,616ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$34,128ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$6,877FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,906,155TotalAmt
Program Services$1,889,001ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,017,154ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,713,542TotalAmt
Program Services$3,160,842ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$552,700ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$466,558TotalAmt
Program Services$120,052ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$203,852ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$142,654FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
MISCELLANEOUS$1,052,964$920,964$132,000
EQUIP RENTAL & MAINTENA$1,039,778$841,834$197,944
BAD DEBT EXPENSE$579,620$579,620
DUES & SUBSCRIPTIONS$541,640$440,310$100,249$1,081

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$423,915TotalAmt
Program Services$371,951ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$51,775ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$189FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$80,863,235TotalAmt
Program Services$72,113,956ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$7,644,567ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,104,712FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,001,075BOYAmt
EOY$4,143,272EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,812,602BOYAmt
EOY$905,384EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$7,094,120BOYAmt
EOY$6,670,019EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,004,878BOYAmt
EOY$2,676,018EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$376,434BOYAmt
EOY$348,794EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$631,472BOYAmt
EOY$1,186,547EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$109,255,362LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$39,500,324LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$59,118,037BOYAmt
EOY$69,755,038EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,077,996BOYAmt
EOY$18,806,639EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,028,063BOYAmt
EOY$349,608EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,697,025BOYAmt
EOY$2,346,944EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$56,834BOYAmt
EOY$66,001EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$96,898,536BOYAmt
EOY$107,254,264EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,519,147BOYAmt
EOY$4,548,047EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,756,699BOYAmt
EOY$8,753,160EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$16,225,000BOYAmt
EOY$15,975,000EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$42,484,429BOYAmt
EOY$51,843,323EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,896,103BOYAmt
EOY$2,512,207EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$75,881,378BOYAmt
EOY$83,631,737EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,168,440BOYAmt
EOY$10,143,437EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,848,718BOYAmt
EOY$13,479,090EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$21,017,158BOYAmt
EOY$23,622,527EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$96,898,536BOYAmt
EOY$107,254,264EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,455,943ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$149,426NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Art Public Exhibition Amounts ArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Assets Included$60,000AssetsIncludedAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Coll Used Loan Or Exch ProgYes (X)CollUsedLoanOrExchProgInd
Solicited Assets Sale0SolicitedAssetsSaleInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$16,909,065BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$936,786ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$357,622InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Administrative Expenses$491,054AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$17,712,419EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$16,152,504BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$332,713ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$461,355InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Administrative Expenses$37,507AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$16,909,065EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$15,313,348BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$423,920ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$444,914InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Administrative Expenses$29,678AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$16,152,504EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$14,349,512BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$268,427ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$727,653InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Administrative Expenses$32,244AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$15,313,348EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$15,214,265BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$321,043ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$54,991InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,074,955OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$55,850AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$14,349,512EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.28460BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.71540PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$523,573OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$523,573BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$73,470,685OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$20,640,302DepreciationAmt
Book Value$52,830,383BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,951,756OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,063,616DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,888,140BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$26,251,713OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$16,187,197DepreciationAmt
Book Value$10,064,516BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$6,057,635OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,609,209DepreciationAmt
Book Value$4,448,426BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$69,755,038TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
REFUNDABLE GOVT LOAN PROGRAMS$2,342,846
PRESENT VALUE ANNUITIES PAYABLE$64,783
ASSET RETIREMENT OBLIGATIONS$104,578
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$2,512,207TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$62,520,117TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$149,426NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$149,426RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$62,370,691RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$20,948,487OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$20,948,487RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$83,319,178TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$59,914,748TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$59,914,748ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$20,948,487OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$20,948,487ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$80,863,235TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART III, LINE 4:THE COLLECTION IS PRIMARILY INDIAN ARTIFACTS WHICH HELP TO EXPLAIN THE BEGINNINGS OF THE UNIVERSITY, WHICH WAS ESTABLISHED BY INDIAN MISSIONARIES.
PART V, LINE 4:THE ENDOWMENT FUNDS ASSIST IN FUNDING STUDENT EDUCATION THROUGH ENDOWED SCHOLARSHIPS. THERE ARE ALSO ENDOWED CHAIRS WHICH ASSIST IN FUNDING PROFESSORS WHO TEACH AND FURTHER THE EXEMPT PURPOSE OF THE UNIVERSITY.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:SCHOLARSHIPS 20,949,819. LOSS - OTHER ASSETS -1,332.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:SCHOLARSHIPS 20,949,819. LOSS - OTHER ASSETS -1,332.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 3THE COLLEGE CATALOG, STUDENT HANDBOOK, AND GENERAL DISTRIBUTION ADMISSION BROCHURES STATE THE UNIVERSITY'S NON-DISCRIMINATORY POLICY.
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 6THE UNIVERSITY RECEIVES AID VIA THE STUDENT FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE CLUSTER. IN FISCAL YEAR-ENDED 6-30-20, THE UNIVERSITY RECEIVED FINANCIAL AID FROM THE HIGHER EDUCATION EMERGENCY RELIEF FUND.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeSCHOLARSHIPS/GRANTSGrantTypeTxt
Recipient1952RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$20,949,819CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE I, PART I, LINE 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationOTTAWA UNIVERSITY OFFERS ACADEMIC SCHOLARSHIPS AND AWARDS. ALL FUNDS ARE AWARDED ON THE BASIS OF ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT, SERVICE TO COMMUNITY, LEADERSHIP AND INVOLVEMENT IN SCHOOL ACTIVITIES. ALL SCHOLARSHIPS AND AWARDS ARE OFFERED FOR FOUR YEARS OF STUDY FOR FRESHMEN AND UNTIL THE COMPLETION OF DEGREE REQUIREMENTS FOR TRANSFER STUDENTS. ALL STUDENTS MUST MEET THE STATED CRITERIA TO MAINTAIN ELIGIBILITY. GRANTS EARNED BY THE STUDENT FROM EXTERNAL FUNDING SOURCES ARE FULLY CREDITED TO THE STUDENT'S ACCOUNT WITHOUT REDUCING ACADEMIC SCHOLARSHIPS AND AWARDS OFFERED BY OTTAWA UNIVERSITY. ACTIVITY AWARDS ARE OFFERED TO STUDENTS PARTICIPATING IN SPECIFIC ACTIVITIES BASED ON A COMPETITIVE REVIEW BY THE GRANTING DEPARTMENT. ACTIVITY AWARDS ARE AVAILABLE IN MUSIC, ART, THEATRE, FORENSICS, AND DEBATE. ATHLETIC AWARDS ARE OFFERED ON THE BASIS OF AN EVALUATION BY THE COACH OF EACH SPORT. OTTAWA UNIVERSITY OFFERS NEED BASED GRANTS TO STUDENTS WHO DEMONSTRATE AN EXCEPTIONAL LEVEL OF NEED AND THE POTENTIAL TO SUCCEED. OTTAWA UNIVERSITY IS COMMITTED TO BEING A RESIDENTIAL CAMPUS. FINANCIAL AID AWARDS ARE OFFERED TO ENCOURAGE STUDENTS TO LIVE ON-CAMPUS. OTTAWA UNIVERSITY IS ABLE TO HELP STUDENTS MEET A SIGNIFICANT PORTION OF THE DIRECT COST OF EDUCATION THROUGH A COMBINATION OF RESOURCES. STUDENTS ARE HIGHLY ENCOURAGED TO SUBMIT THE FREE APPLICATION FOR FEDERAL STUDENT AID (FAFSA) TO DETERMINE ELIGIBILITY FOR ADDITIONAL GRANTS, WORK-STUDY PROGRAMS AND LOW-INTEREST LOANS. THE ADMINISTRATIVE SOFTWARE MONITORS FINANCIAL AID ON AN ONGOING BASIS FOR GRANTS, SCHOLARSHIPS AND OTHER AID THAT MAY BE PENDING, AWARDED, ETC. THIS INFORMATION IS THEN POSTED TO THE GENERAL LEDGER AS WELL FOR BALANCING/REPORTING PURPOSES.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentYes (1)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (11 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
KEVIN EICHNER
CHANCELLOR$468,357$0$50,000$0$12,000$0$0$0$64,458$0$594,815$0$0$0
J CLARK RIBORDY
EXECUTIVE VICE PRESIDENT AND CFO$239,501$0$30,000$0$9,600$0$0$0$73,536$0$352,637$0$0$0
TERREL HAINES
EXECUTIVE VP AND PROVOST$213,855$0$0$0$9,000$0$0$0$60,224$0$283,079$0$0$0
NANCY WINGERT
EXECUTIVE VP OF ONLINE PROGRAM$206,824$0$5,000$0$7,200$0$0$0$25,314$0$244,338$0$0$0
DENNIS TYNER
PRESIDENT OUAZ$177,849$0$12,500$0$7,920$0$0$0$34,150$0$232,419$0$0$0
PAUL BEAN
VP OF ADVANCEMENT$141,028$0$12,500$0$7,700$0$0$0$19,864$0$181,092$0$0$0
REGGIES WENYIKA
PRESIDENT OUKS CAMPUS$94,685$0$12,500$0$97,341$0$0$0$38,072$0$242,598$0$0$0
BRIAN SANDUSKY
CHIEF ENROLLMENT OFFICER OUAZ$148,315$0$10,000$0$6,000$0$0$0$36,214$0$200,529$0$0$0
RICHARD JOHNSON
COO OF ARIZONA CAMPUSES$132,974$0$0$0$7,800$0$0$0$48,797$0$189,571$0$0$0
RUSS MCCOLLOUGH
CHAIR OF THE ANGELL SNYDER SCHOOL OF$127,725$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$27,423$0$155,148$0$0$0
LENA RODRIGUEZ
DEAN OF THE SCHOOL OF BUSINESS$136,750$0$5,000$0$0$0$0$0$21,034$0$162,784$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 1AOTTAWA UNIVERSITY PROVIDED KEVIN EICHNER, THE CHANCELLOR OF THE ORGANIZATION, HOUSING. THE FAIR MARKET VALUE OF THE HOUSING WAS NOT INCLUDED IN HIS W-2 AS TAXABLE COMPENSATION BECAUSE IT QUALIFIED AS A NON TAXABLE BENEFIT. OTTAWA UNIVERSITY PROVIDED KEVIN EICHNER, THE CHANCELLOR OF THE ORGANIZATION, MEMBERSHIP TO THE COUNTRY CLUB. THE COUNTRY CLUB DUES BENEFIT WAS INCLUDED IN HIS W-2 AS TAXABLE COMPENSATION.
PART I, LINE 4AOTTAWA UNIVERSITY MADE SERVERANCE PAYMENTS TO THE FOLLOWING INDIVIDUALS: TOM TALDO - $33,362.56 WENDELL SMITH - $8,230.80 JEINA STOUMBAUGH - $2,153.85 RHONDA CHAMBERLAIN - $3,304.00

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINCUSIPCUSIPNumBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
KANSAS INDEPENDENT COLLEGE FINANCE AUTHORITY
A48123391148526HYA82015-06-29$16,650,000SEE PART VI000
THE INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT AUTHORITY OF THE COUNTY OF MARICOPA ARIZONA
B8604452632018-10-19$19,500,000SEE PART VI000

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrRefunding Tax Exempt BondsRefundingTaxExemptBondsIndRefunding Taxable BondsRefundingTaxableBondsIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintIndIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
A$675,000$16,657,031$6,684,782$9,972,2492017Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)
B$5,105,616$19,500,000$16,452,046$2,940,4472019Yes (1)0Yes (1)Yes (1)$107,507

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndEngage Bond Counsel ContractsEngageBondCounselContractsIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndPrivate Bus Use By OthersPrivateBusUseByOthersPctPrivate Bus Concerning UBIPrivateBusConcerningUBIPctTotal Private Business UseTotalPrivateBusinessUsePctBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
A0Yes (1)Yes (1)Yes (1)00.000000.000000.0000000Yes (1)
B00000.000000.006200.0062000Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
A000Yes (1)0000Yes (1)
B0Yes (1)00Yes (1)000Yes (1)

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (1)
BYes (1)

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE K, PART I, LINE A, COLUMN (F)ACQUIRE, CONSTRUCT, FURNISH AND EQUIP EDUCATIONAL FACILITIES AND REFUND THE INSTITUTION'S SERIES 2008A BONDS. THE SERIES 2008A BONDS WERE ISSUED ON 3/18/2008.
SCHEDULE K, PART I, LINE B, COLUMN (F)CONSTRUCT AND EQUIP SURPRISE, ARIZONA CAMPUS ATHLETIC COMPLEX AND RETIRE LOANS USED TO IMPROVE THE ATHLETIC FIELD AND TO ACQUIRE AN EDUCATIONAL FACILITIES BUILDING IN PHOENIX, ARIZONA. THE 2018 BONDS WERE ISSUED TO PROVIDE FUNDS TO CURRENT REFUND PRIOR DEBT CONSISTING OF THE MARCH 24, 2014 ENTERPRISE BANK & TRUST LOAN THAT FINANCED ACQUIRING, RENOVATING, IMPROVING AND EQUIPPING THE PHOENIX BUILDING AND THE AUGUST 1, 2017 ENTERPRISE BANK & TRUST LOAN USED TO CONSTRUCT AND IMPROVE THE ATHLETIC FIELD ON THE SURPRISE CAMPUS, AND TO PAY COSTS OF CONSTRUCTING, IMPROVING AND EQUIPPING THE SURPRISE, AZ CAMPUS ATHLETIC COMPLEX.
SCHEDULE K, PART II, COLUMN A, LINE 3AMOUNT IS NOT EQUAL TO ISSUE PRICE DUE TO INVESTMENT EARNINGS EARNED DURING THE PROJECT PERIOD.
SCHEDULE K, PART II, COLUMN A, LINE 11THIS AMOUNT CONSISTS OF $9,971,953.65 OF BOND PROCEEDS USED TO REDEEM THE 2008A BONDS AND $294.77 OF BOND PROCEEDS REMAINING IN THE PROJECT FUND AFTER COMPLETION OF THE PROJECT AND ALLOCATED TO INTEREST ON THE BONDS.
SCHEDULE K, PART II, COLUMN B, LINE 11THE AMOUNT OF THE 2018 BONDS USED TO RETIRE PRIOR DEBT WAS $2,290,446.86, CONSISTING OF THE MARCH 24, 2014 ENTERPRISE BANK & TRUST LOAN TO ACQUIRE, CONSTRUCT, RENOVATE, IMPROVE AND EQUIP THE PHOENIX BUILDING ($2,132,493.34) AND THE AUGUST 1, 2017 ENTERPRISE BANK & TRUST LOAN USED TO CONSTRUCT AND IMPROVE THE ATHLETIC FIELD ON THE SURPRISE CAMPUS ($807,953.52).
SCHEDULE K, PART II, COLUMN B, LINES 10 AND 12THE AMOUNT OF THE 2018 BONDS TO BE USED TO PAY COSTS OF THE SURPRISE CAMPUS ATHLETIC COMPLEX IS $16,452,046.48 AND, AS OF JUNE 30, 2020, THE FULL AMOUNT HAS BEEN EXPENDED.
SCHEDULE K, PART III, COLUMN ATHE BONDS WERE ISSUED TO (1) FINANCE NEW CAPITAL PROJECTS FOR THE UNIVERSITY, AND (2) REFUND THE UNIVERSITY'S SERIES 2008 BONDS, WHICH BONDS REFINANCED IN PART PROJECTS ORIGINALLY FINANCED PRIOR TO JANUARY 1, 2003. PART III HAS BEEN COMPLETED FOR THE UNIVERSITY'S CAPITAL PROJECTS ORIGINALLY FINANCED AFTER JANUARY 1, 2003.
SCHEDULE K, PART IV, COLUMN A, LINE 2CARBITRAGE COMPUTATION DATED AS OF JUNE 30, 2017.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (3 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionAmtTransactionTransactionDescSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesInd
DAVID TYNER
THE SON OF DENNIS TYNER, AN EMPLOYEE OF OTTAWA UNIVERSITY$53,949EMPLOYEE COMPENSATION0
PATTY TYNER
THE WIFE OF DENNIS TYNER, AN EMPLOYEE OF OTTAWA UNIVERSITY$23,874EMPLOYEE COMPENSATION0
KANDI TYNER
THE DAUGHTER OF DENNIS TYNER, AN EMPLOYEE OF OTTAWA UNIVERSITY$7,000EMPLOYEE COMPENSATION0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BAN INDEPENDENT ACCOUNTING FIRM PREPARES AND REVIEWS THE 990. OTTAWA UNIVERSITY'S AUDIT COMMITTEE, OFFICERS, AND DIRECTOR OF FISCAL OPERATIONS/CONTROLLER REVIEW THE 990. A COMPLETE COPY OF THE 990 IS THEN DISTRIBUTED TO ALL VOTING MEMBERS OF THE BOARD BEFORE IT IS FILED.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CTHE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY IS MONITORED ON AN ANNUAL BASIS. ALL OFFICERS, DIRECTORS, TRUSTEES, AND KEY EMPLOYEES MUST REVIEW THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND SIGN IT ANNUALLY. CURRENTLY, THE HUMAN RESOURCES DEPARTMENT MANAGES THE POLICY AND ANY CONFLICTS THAT MAY ARISE. IT IS THE DUTY OF THE AUDIT COMMITTEE TO DETERMINE IF THERE IS A CONFLICT OF INTEREST. IF THE COMMITTEE DETERMINES A CONFLICT EXISTS, THE BOARD MEMBERS INVOLVED IN THE CONFLICT WILL DISMISS THEMSELVES FROM MEETINGS AND/OR ABSTAIN FROM VOTING DURING DISCUSSIONS OF ISSUES THAT RELATE TO THESE SPECIFIC MEMBERS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15ATHE MANAGEMENT REVIEW COMMITTEE OF OTTAWA UNIVERSITY, WHICH INCLUDES THE CHAIRMAN OF THE BOARD, PERFORMS A REVIEW OF THE CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER'S (CHANCELLOR) COMPENSATION ANNUALLY UTILIZING RESOURCES DEEMED NECESSARY INCLUDING COMPARABLE MARKET RESEARCH DATA AND PERFORMANCE METRICS. THE COMPENSATION REVIEW AND APPROVAL PROCESS IS DOCUMENTED IN THE COMMITTEE MINUTES. THE CHANCELLOR OF THE UNIVERSITY AND THE HUMAN RESOURCES DIRECTOR USE COMPARABLE DATA TO REVIEW COMPENSATION FOR ALL OTHER OFFICERS OF THE ORGANIZATION AS WELL AS KEY EMPLOYEES WHEN THE INDIVIDUALS ARE HIRED AND ON AN ANNUAL BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE ORGANIZATION DOES NOT MAKE ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, OR FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC.
FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 11GOTHER FEES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 4,746,366. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 12,338. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 72,533. TOTAL EXPENSES 4,831,237. BOARD CHARGE: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 2,999,140. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 0. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 2,999,140. BANK SERVICE CHARGES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 8,421. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 354,298. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 2,993. TOTAL EXPENSES 365,712. PAYROLL PROCESSING FEES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 21,200. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 142,250. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 163,450. ENTRY FEES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 132,440. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 588. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 133,028. FOOD SERVICE: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 95,996. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 24,273. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 12,578. TOTAL EXPENSES 132,847. SECURITY SERVICES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 31,123. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 60,863. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 91,986. CUSTODIAL SERVICES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 2,572. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 32,853. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 35,425. CONTRACT LABOR SERVICES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 20,271. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 7,434. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 27,705. INSTRUCTOR/COORDINATOR: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 8,683. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 0. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 8,683. BANQUETS: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 0. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 533. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 533.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2C:PROCESS HAS NOT CHANGED FROM PRIOR YEAR.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1OTTAWA INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT SERVICESBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11001 S CEDAR 20AddressLine1Txt
CityOTTAWACityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP66067ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN480543772EIN
Primary ActivitiesINVESTMENTPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateKSLegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$0TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$0EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1OTTAWA UNIVBusinessNameLine1Txt

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp (4 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtEntity TypeEntityTypeTxtShare Of EOY AssetsShareOfEOYAssetsAmtOwnershipOwnershipPctControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationIndEINEIN
STOUT TW M&T INVESTMENT GROUP
PO BOX 1377BUFFALONY14240TRUSTNYOTTAWA UT$1,023,7580.800000
HENDERSON & SARAH MARTIN TRUST US BANK
900 MASSACHUSETTS STREETLAWRENCEKS66044TRUSTKSOTTAWA UT$388,9761.000000486235096
BELVIN SCHOL BAPTIST FDN OF OK
3800 N MAY AVEOKLAHOMA CITYOK73112TRUSTOKOTTAWA UT$26,4211.000000730623038
CHARITABLE REMAINDER ANNUITY TRUST (1)
PO BOX 851VALLEY FORGEPA19482CRATPAOTTAWA UT$84,0991.000000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org0GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other Org0ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd