FURP.ORG / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

NORTH PARK UNIVERSITY: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
NORTH PARK UNIVERSITY (EIN 36-1557840)
Tax period
2019-07-01 to 2020-06-30
Filed
2021-05-12
IRS object ID
202131339349300608
Schema version
2019v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-05-12T23:58:42-07:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN361557840EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1NORTH PARK UNIVERSITYBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlNORTBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7732445597PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13225 W Foster AveAddressLine1Txt
CityChicagoCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60625ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDebra WilburnPersonNm
Person TitleDirector of FinancePersonTitleTxt
Phone7732445597PhoneNum
Signature2021-04-15SignatureDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerMary SurridgePrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13225 W Foster AveAddressLine1Txt
CityChicagoCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60625ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$135,078,963GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.northpark.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1891FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateILLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionNorth Park University is an accredited institution of higher education. The University offers over 65 undergraduate majors and concentrations of study, pre-professional programs, and certificates. The University also has a variety of graduate degree programs offered through the School of Business and Non-Profit Management, School of Nursing, School of Education, and School of Music. The University's School of Professional Studies offers an undergraduate degree completion program as well as a graduate degree in Counseling.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body31VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent28VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1488TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers100TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$54,750TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$14,968,758PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$16,648,452CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$71,606,384PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$73,011,062CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$4,808,586PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$2,692,098CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$281,322PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$182,737CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$91,665,050PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$92,534,349CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$31,358,805PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$33,454,829CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$35,766,668PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$35,344,392CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$981,531CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$28,282,892PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$28,813,267CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$95,408,365PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$97,612,488CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$3,743,315PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$5,078,139CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$312,655,255TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$307,400,947TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$94,116,986TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$93,879,233TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$218,538,269NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$213,521,714NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionThe mission of North Park University, as an intentionally Christian University of the Evangelical Covenant Church, is to prepare students for lives of significance and service through education in the liberal arts, professional studies, and theology.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$85,237,410ExpenseAmt
Grant$33,454,829GrantAmt
Revenue$92,534,349RevenueAmt
DescNorth Park University provided undergraduate and graduate degree programs to approximately 2,922 students during the year. Of this total, approximately 1,759 students were undergraduates and 1,163 were graduate and adult students. The university offered 45 undergraduate degree majors plus 25 concentrations and pre-professional programs. The university also offered graduate degree programs in business administration, nursing, education, clinical mental health counseling, music, and theology. In addition, the university also provided residential living for approximately 705 students.Desc
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$0TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Grant$0TotalOtherProgSrvcGrantAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$0TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$85,237,410TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgYes (1)TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document3772IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee1488EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Form8899 Filedind1Form8899Filedind
Form1098 C FiledYes (1)Form1098CFiledInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncYes (1)SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members31GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member28IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Other WebsiteYes (X)OtherWebsiteInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDebra WilburnPersonNm
Phone7732445597PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13225 W Foster AveAddressLine1Txt
CityChicagoCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60625ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (38 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtInstitutional TrusteeInstitutionalTrusteeInd
Mary Surridge
NPU President, Ex-Officio400Yes (X)Yes (X)Yes (X)Yes (X)$292,574$0$45,475
Anthony Scola
VP Enrollment Mgmt./Marketing400Yes (X)$155,447$0$177,746
David Kersten
Dean of Seminary400Yes (X)$143,500$0$170,763
Craig Johnson
Provost400Yes (X)$109,966$0$121,492
John Wenrich
ECC President, Ex-Officio540$0$127,242$96,137Yes (X)
Scott Stenmark
Exec. VP and CFO400Yes (X)Yes (X)$185,423$0$34,406
Ann Hicks
Dean SBNM / Prof. Accounting400Yes (X)$124,791$0$25,264
John Born
AVP Athletics & Sport Mgmt.400Yes (X)$109,966$0$23,732
Anne McCullah
Director of Finance400Yes (X)$82,343$0$8,506
Virgil Applequist
Trustee50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Peggy Bley
Trustee50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jon Bonkoski
Ex-Officio55Yes (X)$0$0$0
Howard Burgoyne
Conf. of Superintendents Liaison55Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jay Carstenbrock
Vice Chair50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Gregory Crawford
Member-at-large50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Marvin Curtis
Trustee50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Gail Dahlstrom
Trustee50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Andrea Dennis
Trustee50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Gregory Dolezal
Trustee50Yes (X)$0$0$0
David Dwight
Trustee50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kathryn Edin
Trustee50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Rebekah Eklund
Trustee50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Arriel Gray Jr
Trustee50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Keith Hamilton
Trustee50Yes (X)$0$0$0
David Helwig
Trustee50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dawn Helwig
Trustee50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Marcia Jimenez
Trustee50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Mary C Miller
Secretary50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jodi DeYoung Moore
Trustee50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Peter Nelson
Trustee50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Erin Oleniczak
ECC Exec. Board Liaison50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Aaron Olson
Trustee50Yes (X)$0$0$0
David Otfinoski
Chair50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Thomas Trautman
Trustee50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kristian Werling
Trustee50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Gregory Wittrock
Trustee50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dennis Wolff
Trustee50Yes (X)$0$0$0
David Youngberg
Treasurer50Yes (X)$0$0$0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,204,010TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$127,242TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$703,521TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K15IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmtBusiness Name Line2ContractorName/BusinessName/BusinessNameLine2Txt
ARAMARK Corp
1101 Market StPhiladelphiaPA19107Food Service Provider$1,848,788
WB Olson Inc
3325 Arnold LnNorthbrookIL60062General Building Contractor$1,678,604
Imperial Service Systems
PO Box 2938Glen EllynIL60138Facility Maint/Cleaning Svc$736,245
Rockwood Company
20 N Wacker Dr Suite 960ChicagoIL60606Consulting Service$724,561Change Management Consulting
General Mechanical Services
18 Congress Circle WestRoselleIL60172Mechnical Contractor$699,922
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K33CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Federated Campaigns$0FederatedCampaignsAmt
Membership Dues$0MembershipDuesAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt
Related Organizations$1,000,000RelatedOrganizationsAmt
Government Grants$0GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$15,648,452AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$117,463NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$16,648,452TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescTuition fee, AuxiliaryDesc
Business611710BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$72,854,686TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$72,854,686RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$156,376TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$74,246RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$54,750UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$27,380ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$73,011,062TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$4,168,469TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$4,168,469RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$272,616RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$89,879RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$182,737RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$182,737TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$182,737RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$40,978,364SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$42,454,735SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$1,476,371SecuritiesAmt
Other$0OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$1,476,371TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$1,476,371RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$0FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$0ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$0FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gaming Gross Income$0GamingGrossIncomeAmt
Gaming Direct Expenses$0GamingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$0GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$0CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$0RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$0ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$0OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$92,534,349TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$75,803,767RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$54,750UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$27,380ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$33,454,829TotalAmt
Program Services$33,454,829ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$659,382TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$659,382ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$27,952,944TotalAmt
Program Services$23,339,841ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,940,860ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$672,243FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,658,977TotalAmt
Program Services$1,463,840ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$160,252ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$34,885FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,240,455TotalAmt
Program Services$2,965,446ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$237,198ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$37,811FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,832,634TotalAmt
Program Services$1,656,409ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$132,295ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$43,930FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,674,719TotalAmt
Program Services$1,674,719ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$187,859TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$187,859ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$123,915TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$123,915ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$501,016TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$501,016ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,814,079TotalAmt
Program Services$1,767,434ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$46,645FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$470,232TotalAmt
Program Services$421,060ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$38,072ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$11,100FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,819,027TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,819,027ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,486,268TotalAmt
Program Services$3,486,268ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$586,564TotalAmt
Program Services$527,233ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$31,839ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$27,492FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,680,616TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,680,616ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$254,919TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$254,919ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,891,861TotalAmt
Program Services$6,891,861ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$0ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,057,523TotalAmt
Program Services$0ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,057,523ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Post Retirement Benefit Obligation$269,000$0$269,000$0
Library Resources$467,451$467,451$0$0
Equipment: Repair and Maintenance$584,798$584,798$0$0

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$6,943,420TotalAmt
Program Services$6,536,221ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$299,774ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$107,425FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$97,612,488TotalAmt
Program Services$85,237,410ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$11,393,547ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$981,531FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$14,393,018BOYAmt
EOY$15,059,515EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,133,420BOYAmt
EOY$5,884,679EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,555,049BOYAmt
EOY$2,481,719EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,061,313BOYAmt
EOY$1,681,641EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$197,589,327LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$78,698,729LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$122,151,497BOYAmt
EOY$118,890,598EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$134,844,412BOYAmt
EOY$131,715,986EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$30,982,844BOYAmt
EOY$30,131,840EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,533,702BOYAmt
EOY$1,554,969EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$312,655,255BOYAmt
EOY$307,400,947EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,944,225BOYAmt
EOY$6,047,940EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,488,245BOYAmt
EOY$1,272,731EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$82,375,000BOYAmt
EOY$81,925,000EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$346,262BOYAmt
EOY$258,292EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,963,254BOYAmt
EOY$4,375,270EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$94,116,986BOYAmt
EOY$93,879,233EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$144,394,388BOYAmt
EOY$141,133,054EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$74,143,881BOYAmt
EOY$72,388,660EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$218,538,269BOYAmt
EOY$213,521,714EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$312,655,255BOYAmt
EOY$307,400,947EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$5,078,139ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$61,584NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Investment Expense$0InvestmentExpenseAmt
Prior Period Adjustments$0PriorPeriodAdjustmentsAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$79,526,774BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,594,771ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$905,986InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$2,851,839GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$893,851OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$143,351AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$76,326,518EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$76,873,615BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,431,669ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$5,050,507InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$2,813,312GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$898,907OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$116,798AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$79,526,774EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$74,875,698BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$764,899ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$5,050,844InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$2,925,980GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$807,020OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$84,825AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$76,873,616EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$72,046,412BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,040,166ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$5,416,733InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$2,813,630GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$788,690OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$25,293AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$74,875,698EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$74,216,558BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$3,739,052ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$2,404,940InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$2,577,255GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$900,745OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$26,258AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$72,046,412EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.16BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.79PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.05TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$10,216,296OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$10,216,296BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$154,779,857OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$61,465,099DepreciationAmt
Book Value$93,314,758BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$0OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$0DepreciationAmt
Book Value$0BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$14,785,942OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$8,730,865DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,055,077BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$17,807,232OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$8,502,765DepreciationAmt
Book Value$9,304,467BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$118,890,598TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Financial Derivatives FinancialDerivativesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Book Value$0BookValueAmt
Method ValuationFMethodValuationCd

Closely Held Equity Interests CloselyHeldEquityInterestsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Book Value$0BookValueAmt
Method ValuationFMethodValuationCd

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
National Coventant Property Bonds$4,002,615F
FEG Alternative Funds$26,045,749F
Faculty Mortgages (secured)$83,476C
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$30,131,840TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$4,375,270FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt
Total Liability$4,375,270TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$58,457,352TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$61,584NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Donated Services And Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesAndUseFcltsAmt
Recoveries Prior Year Grants$0RecoveriesPriorYearGrantsAmt
Other Revenue$0OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$61,584RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$58,395,768RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$501,016InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$33,637,565OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$34,138,581RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$92,534,349TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$63,473,907TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Donated Services Use Fclts$0DonatedServicesUseFcltsAmt
Prior Year Adjustments$0PriorYearAdjustmentsAmt
Losses Reported$0LossesReportedAmt
Other Expenses Included$0OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$63,473,907ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$501,016InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$33,637,565OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$34,138,581ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$97,612,488TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule D, Part V, Line 4The endowment fund consists of approximately 645 individual funds established by donors for a variety of purposes. There are endowment funds for student scholarship support, faculty chairs, lectureships, and other operating support of the university
Schedule D, Part X, Line 1Part X includes a contra-liability - amortized bond costs. Due to GAAP standards, amortized bond costs are now required to be recorded as a contra-liability rather than an asset.
Schedule D, Part X, Line 2As of June 30, 2020, the university had no uncertain tax positions that qualify for recognition or disclosure in the financial statements.
Schedule D, Part XI, Line 4bInstitutional financial aid is netted from revenue per GAAP ($25,191,606). Non-institutional pass-thru student financial aid from federal & state sources is not reported in GAAP ($9,127,308). All other reclassifications (-681,349).
Schedule D, Part XII, Line 4bInstitutional financial aid is netted from revenue per GAAP ($25,191,606). Non-institutional pass-thru student financial aid from federal & state sources is not reported in GAAP ($9,127,308). All other reclassifications (-681,349).

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule E, Part I, Line 3On our website.
Schedule E, Part I, Line 6The university receives federal financial aid which is awarded to students. Such aid includes: federal loans, Pell grants, SEOG grants, Federal Work Study, Perkins, and Student Nursing loans. The university is entitled to an administrative cost allowance for management for Federal Title IV student assistance program.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (5 entries)

RegionRegionTxtOfficesOfficesCntEmployeeEmployeeCntType Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxtSpecific Services ProvidedSpecificServicesProvidedTxtRegion Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt
East Asia and the Pacific00Program ServicesStudent Recruitment$5,691
Europe (including Iceland and Greenland)00Program ServicesStudy Abroad$7,499
Europe (including Iceland and Greenland)00Program ServicesStudent Recruitment$51,648
North America (including Canada and Mexico, but not the United States)00Program ServicesStudent Recruitment$65,288
South America00Program ServicesStudy Abroad$38,235
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Spent$168,361TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign Corp0TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp Ownership0ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest Co0PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign Partnership0ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (5 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmtNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceAmtValuation Method UsedValuationMethodUsedDescNon Cash AssistanceNonCashAssistanceDesc
Univ. funded financial aid awarded to trad. UGs1744$20,969,813$0Applied to students' accts.N/A
Univ. funded financial aid awarded to grad/adults660$1,948,383$0Applied to students' accts.N/A
Univ. funded financial aid awarded to Seminarians368$1,409,324$0Applied to students' accts.N/A
Fed. financial aid passed through to students955$5,207,614$0Applied to students' accts.N/A
State grants passed through to students870$3,919,695$0Applied to students' accts.N/A

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule I, Part I, Line 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationGrants represent financial aid awarded to students from both institutional funds as well as amounts passed through from Federal and State aid programs. Students applying for financial aid must complete the Federal FAFSA form. Institutional aid is awarded according to institutional policy and is based on both academic ability and financial need. Federal and State aid is awarded consistent with applicable Federal and State rules and regulations.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (9 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Mary Surridge
NPU President, Ex-Officio$292,574$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$45,475$0$338,049$0$0$0
Anne McCullah
Director of Finance$82,343$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$8,506$0$90,849$0$0$0
Scott Stenmark
Exec. VP and CFO$185,423$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$34,406$0$219,829$0$0$0
John Born
AVP Athletics & Sport Mgmt.$109,966$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$23,732$0$133,698$0$0$0
Ann Hicks
Dean SBNM / Prof. Accounting$124,791$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$25,264$0$150,055$0$0$0
Craig Johnson
Provost$109,966$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$121,492$0$231,458$0$0$0
David Kersten
Dean of Seminary$143,500$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$170,763$0$314,263$0$0$0
Anthony Scola
VP Enrollment Mgmt./Marketing$155,447$0$0$0$0$0$0$0$177,746$0$333,193$0$0$0
John Wenrich
ECC President, Ex-Officio$0$127,242$0$0$0$0$0$25,437$0$70,700$0$223,379$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule J, Part I, Line 1aUniversity President resides in university owned housing. President is provided membership to local health club.
Schedule J, Part I, Line 3Compensation for the university president is set by the board of trustees based on a recommendation from the compensation committee of the board. The compensation committee consists of five members of the executive committee of the board. The committee gathers input from independent sources, including comparative university data. The president's compensation is then approved by the full board of trustees as well as by the sponsoring church denomination via executive committee. The university chairperson (on behalf of the board) signs the president's annual statement of salary and benefits.

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINCUSIPCUSIPNumBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
Illinois Finance Authority
A86109196745200BMY12005-04-19$33,000,000Capital Improvements and Debt Refinancing000
Illinois Finance Authority
B8610919672012-10-17$30,000,000Capital Improvements and Debt Refinancing000

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtBond DefeasedBondDefeasedAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIn Reserve FundInReserveFundAmtCapitalized InterestCapitalizedInterestAmtRefunding EscrowRefundingEscrowAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtCredit EnhancementCreditEnhancementAmtWorking Capital ExpendituresWorkingCapitalExpendituresAmtCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtUnspentUnspentAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrRefunding Tax Exempt BondsRefundingTaxExemptBondsIndRefunding Taxable BondsRefundingTaxableBondsIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd
A$0$0$33,000,000$0$0$0$449,298$0$0$32,550,702$0$0200600Yes (1)Yes (1)
B$250,000$0$30,000,000$0$0$0$302,454$0$0$29,697,546$0$0201400Yes (1)Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndPrivate Bus Use By OthersPrivateBusUseByOthersPctPrivate Bus Concerning UBIPrivateBusConcerningUBIPctTotal Private Business UseTotalPrivateBusinessUsePctBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
A00000.0000300.00003Yes (1)0Yes (1)
B00000.004200.0042Yes (1)0Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
A00Yes (1)Yes (1)Yes (1)000Yes (1)
B00Yes (1)Yes (1)0000Yes (1)

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
A0
B0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule K, Part IV, Line 2c-04/19/2005 33,000,000 Illinois Finance AuthorityProceeds were spent within the allowable period.
Schedule K, Part IV, Line 2c-10/17/2012 30,000,000 Illinois Finance AuthorityProceeds were spent within the allowable period.

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJack SurridgePersonNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionSpouse of key employeeRelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$72,629TransactionAmt
TransactionCompensation as Athletic DirectorTransactionDesc
Sharing Of Revenues0SharingOfRevenuesInd

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution12ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$117,463NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesPublished PricesMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form8283 Received0Form8283ReceivedCnt
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 11bIRS form 990 is reviewed by the audit committee of the Board. After that review, the form 990 is made available to all trustees prior to its being filed with the IRS.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 12cUpon election or appointment to the board, each trustee and/or officer is required to make disclosure to the board of trustees of any related party transactions with the university. Thereafter, disclosures are updated annually. The university uses a standard disclosure form. The terms of any related party transactions are reviewed by a committee of the board comprised of independent trustees. Independent trustees are those trustees who have no related party transactions. Approval of any allowable related party transactions requires a majority vote of the committee. The committee then reports its recommendations to the full board.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, Line 15Compensation for the university president is set by the board of trustees based on a recommendation from the compensation committee of the board. The committee gathers input from independent sources, including comparative university data. The president's compensation is then approved by the university trustees as well as by the sponsoring church denomination. The university chairperson, on behalf of the full board, then signs the president's annual statement of salary and benefits. Compensation for officers and other senior employees is based on a number of factors including seniority, comparable data for similar positions at other universities, etc.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, Line 19Audited financial statements, federal A133 audits, IRS form 990 and 990T, and conflict of interest policy statements are available upon request by calling the University Controller's office at 773-244-5597.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Evangelical Covenant ChurchBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line18303 W Higgins RdAddressLine1Txt
CityChicagoCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60631ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN362167730EIN
Primary ActivitiesChurch DenominationPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateILLegalDomicileStateCd
Exempt Code Section501c3ExemptCodeSectionTxt
Public Charity Status170(b)(1)(A)(i)PublicCharityStatusTxt
Direct Controlling NAN/ADirectControllingNACd
Controlled Organization0ControlledOrganizationInd

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Covenant Trust CompanyBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line18303 W Higgins RdAddressLine1Txt
CityChicagoCityNm
State AbbreviationILStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP60631ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN363583163EIN
Primary ActivitiesTrust ServicesPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateILLegalDomicileStateCd
Direct Controlling NAN/ADirectControllingNACd
Entity TypeCEntityTypeTxt
Ownership0.3OwnershipPct
Controlled Organization0ControlledOrganizationInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of Facilities0SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees Sharing0PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other Org0TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other Org0TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (3 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
Evangelical Covenant Church
p$254,919
Evangelical Covenant Church
c$1,000,000
Covenant Trust Company
b$33,333Additional paid-in-capital