FURP.ORG / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

MILLIGAN UNIVERSITY: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
MILLIGAN UNIVERSITY (EIN 62-0535755)
Tax period
2019-06-01 to 2020-05-31
Filed
2021-04-12
IRS object ID
202121029349300852
Schema version
2019v5.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-04-12T08:35:23-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-05-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN620647474PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BLACKBURN CHILDERS & STEAGALL PLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1801B SUNSET DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityJOHNSON CITYCityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP376043033ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-06-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN620535755EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1MILLIGAN COLLEGE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlMILLBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone4234618686PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1P O BOX 750AddressLine1Txt
CityMILLIGAN COLLEGECityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP37682ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJACQUELINE R STEADMANPersonNm
Person TitleVP FOR BUSINESS AND FINANCEPersonTitleTxt
Phone4234618686PhoneNum
Signature2021-04-12SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonSARAH PRESNELLPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01269151PTIN
Phone4232824511PhoneNum
Preparation2021-04-07PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerJACQUELINE R STEADMANPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11 BLOWERS BOULEVARDAddressLine1Txt
CityMILLIGAN COLLEGECityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP37682ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$46,547,624GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.MILLIGAN.EDUWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1882FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateTNLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTHE ORGANIZATION IS A CHRISTIAN LIBERAL ARTS COLLEGE.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body24VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent20VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee839TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers1TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$6,194,870PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$5,807,942CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$35,998,969PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$38,385,465CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$2,669,285PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$2,354,217CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$0PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$0CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$44,863,124PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$46,547,624CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$14,104,813PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$15,603,072CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$15,143,256PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$15,675,495CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,157,842CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$12,174,461PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$12,701,641CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$41,422,530PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$43,980,208CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$3,440,594PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$2,567,416CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$107,758,792TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$111,462,499TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$18,090,181TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$19,338,014TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$89,668,611NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$92,124,485NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionAS A CHRISTIAN LIBERAL ARTS COLLEGE, MILLIGAN COLLEGE SEEKS TO HONOR GOD BY EDUCATING MEN AND WOMEN TO BE SERVANT-LEADERS.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$37,034,430ExpenseAmt
Grant$15,603,072GrantAmt
Revenue$38,118,115RevenueAmt
DescOPERATION OF CHRISTIAN LIBERAL ARTS COLLEGEDesc
Total Program Service Expenses$37,034,430TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtYes (1)CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsYes (1)MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemYes (1)BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntYes (1)BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document1928IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee839EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members24GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member20IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (1)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldTNStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1JACQUELINE R STEADMANBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone4234618686PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11 BLOWERS BOULEVARDAddressLine1Txt
CityMILLIGAN COLLEGECityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP37682ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (37 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
DENNY MAYES
TRUSTEE ROTATION1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHARLES ALLCOTT III
MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TOM BANKS
MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TOMMY BURLESON
MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BEN CACHIARAS
MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID CLARK
MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DALE CLAYTON
MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ERIC DEATON
MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
TAMMY W ELDRIDGE
TRUSTEE ROTATION1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JIM FRASURE
MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES EARL GREEN
TRUSTEE ROTATION1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
PATRICIA GREEN
MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
WILLIAM B GREENE JR
MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID HAMILTON
MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID O HAMLIN
TRUSTEE ROTATION1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
GREG JOHNSON
MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN MEDING MD
MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
STEPHEN MOORE
TRUSTEE ROTATION1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
LOTTIE RYANS
MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JOHN J WIGGINS
MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CALVIN L WILSON JR
MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARSHALL W HAYDEN
MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
WILLIAM R CLEM
MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRENDA GREEN
MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARK H WEBB DDS
MEMBER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RONALD F SEWELL
SECRETARY1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
SCOTT KENT
TREASURER1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
RICHARD W PHILLIPS OD
VICE CHAIR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
RONALD G DOVE JR
CHAIR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
WILLIAM B GREER
PRESIDENT40.00$227,110$0$25,373Yes (X)
R GARLAND YOUNG
VP FOR ACADEMIC AFFAIRS40.00$96,004$0$12,787Yes (X)
MARK P FOX
VP FOR STUDENT DEVELOPMENT40.00$95,975$0$9,515Yes (X)
JACQUELINE R STEADMAN
VP FOR BUSINESS & FINANCE40.00$116,498$0$11,602Yes (X)
A LEE HARRISON
VP OF MARKETING, ENROLLMEN40.00$96,287$0$15,898Yes (X)
RHAJON SMITH
VP FOR INST ADVANCEMENT40.00$70,010$0$4,901Yes (X)
ANDREW HULL
DIRECTOR-PHYSICIAN ASSISTN40.00$135,246$0$16,330Yes (X)
CHRISTY ISBELL
DIRECTOR-OCCUPATIONAL THERAPY40.00$106,088$0$7,525Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$943,218TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$103,931TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K4IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
PIONEER COLLEGE CATERERS
303 GLENROSE AVENUENASHVILLETN37210FOOD SERVICE$1,337,904
HARTFORD
PO BOX 660916DALLASTX75266RETIREMENT SERVICES$303,158
BSN SPORTS
PO BOX 660176DALLASTX75266SPORTS EQUIPMENT$230,537
BURLESON CONSTRUCTION
PO BOX 1735JOHNSON CITYTN37605CONSTRUCTION$185,959
CDW GOVERNMENT INC
75 REMITTANCE DRIVECHICAGOIL60675INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY$155,411
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K9CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
All Other Contributions$5,807,942AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$365,484NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$5,807,942TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
TUITION AND FEES611710$33,059,680$33,059,680
AUXILIARY ENTERPRISES611710$4,198,925$4,198,925
STUDENT HOUSING611710$373,466$373,466
SUMMER CAMPS611710$345,747$345,747
OTHER INCOME611710$267,350$267,350

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$140,297TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$140,297RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$38,385,465TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,354,217TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$2,354,217ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$46,547,624TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$38,118,115RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$2,621,567ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$25,823TotalAmt
Program Services$25,823ProgramServicesAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,538,249TotalAmt
Program Services$15,538,249ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$39,000TotalAmt
Program Services$39,000ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$830,230TotalAmt
Program Services$173,661ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$489,063ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$167,506FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$12,435,664TotalAmt
Program Services$9,949,714ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,079,621ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$406,329FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$638,475TotalAmt
Program Services$536,120ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$78,259ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$24,096FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$883,978TotalAmt
Program Services$698,771ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$150,355ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$34,852FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$887,148TotalAmt
Program Services$683,375ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$166,118ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$37,655FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,675TotalAmt
Management And General$7,675ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$80,750TotalAmt
Management And General$80,750ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$118,654TotalAmt
Management And General$118,654ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,452,833TotalAmt
Program Services$1,262,653ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$184,880ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$5,300FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$210,865TotalAmt
Program Services$106,802ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$104,063ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$996,759TotalAmt
Program Services$561,874ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$356,243ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$78,642FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$747,894TotalAmt
Program Services$301,740ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$405,355ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$40,799FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,097,046TotalAmt
Program Services$1,030,846ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$61,260ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$4,940FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$850,513TotalAmt
Program Services$737,514ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$54,564ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$58,435FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$19,314TotalAmt
Program Services$15,978ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,336ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$544,582TotalAmt
Program Services$544,582ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,452,623TotalAmt
Program Services$2,288,297ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$152,063ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$12,263FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$360,238TotalAmt
Program Services$23,973ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$336,265ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
ALL OTHER EXPENSES$2,870,246$1,722,147$861,074$287,025
COVID REFUNDS$742,753$742,753
DUES AND SUBSCRIPTIONS$148,896$50,558$98,338

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$43,980,208TotalAmt
Program Services$37,034,430ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,787,936ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,157,842FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,963,832BOYAmt
EOY$9,185,650EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,801,823BOYAmt
EOY$4,745,703EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,313,316BOYAmt
EOY$4,253,822EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$755,971BOYAmt
EOY$2,058,844EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$884,481BOYAmt
EOY$713,656EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$306,468BOYAmt
EOY$277,827EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$82,895BOYAmt
EOY$113,233EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$81,190,676LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$39,842,725LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$42,949,691BOYAmt
EOY$41,347,951EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$44,987,868BOYAmt
EOY$47,043,499EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,712,447BOYAmt
EOY$1,722,314EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$107,758,792BOYAmt
EOY$111,462,499EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,544,039BOYAmt
EOY$1,935,826EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,519,301BOYAmt
EOY$1,300,087EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$8,336,824BOYAmt
EOY$7,702,714EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,908,327BOYAmt
EOY$7,236,236EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,781,690BOYAmt
EOY$1,163,151EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$18,090,181BOYAmt
EOY$19,338,014EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$35,692,670BOYAmt
EOY$35,233,507EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$53,975,941BOYAmt
EOY$56,890,978EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$89,668,611BOYAmt
EOY$92,124,485EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$107,758,792BOYAmt
EOY$111,462,499EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$2,567,416ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$74,447NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$37,095OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Organization170Yes (X)PublicOrganization170Ind

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$7,057,563CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$4,350,508CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$5,080,628CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$6,194,870CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$5,807,942CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$28,491,511TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$7,057,563CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$4,350,508CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$5,080,628CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$6,194,870CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$5,807,942CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$28,491,511TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Substantial Contributors Tot$689,515SubstantialContributorsTotAmt
Public Support Total170$27,801,996PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,518,173CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$1,472,742CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$1,938,462CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,669,285CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,235,566CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$9,834,228TotalAmt

Unrelated Business Net Incm170 UnrelatedBusinessNetIncm170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$64,419CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$70,006CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$64,071CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Total$198,496TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$38,524,235TotalSupportAmt
Gross Receipts Rltd Activities$172,906,950GrossReceiptsRltdActivitiesAmt
Public Support CY1700.72170PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.69060PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE A, PART I, LINES 2 AND 7FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationMILLIGAN COLLEGE RECEIVED AN IRS DETERMINATION LETTER APRIL 3, 1947 STATING THAT THE ORGANIZATION WAS RECOGNIZED AS AN ORGANIZATION EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAX UNDER SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE. ADDITIONALLY, THE ORGANIZATION WAS ALSO DETERMINED NOT TO BE A PRIVATE FOUNDATION AS DEFINED IN SECTION 509(A) OF THE CODE BECAUSE IT WAS AN ORGANIZATION DESCRIBED IN SECTION 509(A)(1) AND SECTION 170(B)(1)(A)(II), WHICH IS IDENTIFIED IN SCHEDULE A, PART I, LINE 2, AS A SCHOOL. IT IS AN EDUCATIONAL ORGANIZATION WHICH NORMALLY MAINTAINS A REGULAR FACULTY AND CURRICULUM AND NORMALLY HAS A REGULARLY ENROLLED BODY OF PUPILS OR STUDENTS IN ATTENDANCE AT THE PLACE WHERE ITS EDUCATIONAL ACTIVITIES ARE REGULARLY CARRIED ON. PER THE 2013 INSTRUCTIONS FOR SCHEDULE B, SCHEDULE OF CONTRIBUTORS, THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE HAS CLARIFIED THAT IN ORDER FOR THE COLLEGE TO REPORT ITS CONTRIBUTIONS UNDER THE SPECIAL RULE, THE ORGANIZATION MUST NOW CHECK BOX 7 OF SCHEDULE A, PART I, AND COMPLETE SCHEDULE A, PART II, SUPPORT SCHEDULE FOR ORGANIZATIONS DESCRIBED IN SECTIONS 170(B)(1)(A)(IV) AND 170(B)(1)(A)(VI).ExplanationTxt

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART II-B, LINE 1:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationPAYMENT TO THE TENNESSEE INDEPENDENT COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES ASSOCIATION FOR ANNUAL DUES INCLUDED A $110 PORTION FOR LOBBYING EXPENSES.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

Held Works Art HeldWorksArtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Assets Included$1,506,161AssetsIncludedAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Collection Used Pub ExhibitionYes (X)CollectionUsedPubExhibitionInd
Coll Used Scholarly RsrchYes (X)CollUsedScholarlyRsrchInd
Solicited Assets Sale0SolicitedAssetsSaleInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$45,269,781BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,057,254ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,963,244InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$568,959GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$47,721,320EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$46,039,821BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$893,610ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$216,835InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,880,485GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$45,269,781EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$42,946,290BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,263,858ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$3,488,059InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,527,231GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$131,155OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$46,039,821EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$38,922,910BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$719,020ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$4,901,403InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,414,661GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$182,382OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$42,946,290EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$29,296,058BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$11,443,852ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$352,732InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$1,154,133GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$310,135OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$38,922,910EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.75550PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.24450TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,991,093OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$2,991,093BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$69,080,473OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$32,262,994DepreciationAmt
Book Value$36,817,479BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$7,468,145OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$6,083,134DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,385,011BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,650,965OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,496,597DepreciationAmt
Book Value$154,368BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$41,347,951TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
MUTUAL FUNDS$34,404,831F
EXCHANGE-TRADED AND CLOSED-END FUNDS$8,265,891F
CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS HELD FOR LONG-TERM INVESTMENTS$4,372,777F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$47,043,499TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
ADVANCES FROM FEDERAL GOVERNMENT FOR STUDENT LOANS$646,878
ANNUITY PAYMENT LIABILITIES$506,807
REMAINDER TRUST LIABILITY$9,466
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,163,151TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$30,740,184TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$74,447NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue-$37,095OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$111,542RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$30,851,726RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$118,651InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$15,577,247OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$15,695,898RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$46,547,624TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$28,284,310TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$28,284,310ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$118,651InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$15,577,247OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$15,695,898ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$43,980,208TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART III, LINE 4:COLLLECTION - CHRISTIAN EDUCATION LIBRARY: THIS COLLECTION WAS ACQUIRED THRU THE MERGER OF EMMANUEL CHRISTIAN SEMINARY AND MILLIGAN COLLEGE ON JULY 1, 2015. THE VALUE OF THIS COLLECTION WAS $1,506,161 AS OF MAY 31, 2020. THE COLLEGE'S COLLECTION CONSISTS OF ARTIFACTS OF HISTORICAL SIGNIFICANCE, INCLUDING CHRISTIAN EDUCATION LITERATURE AND VARIOUS OTHER DOCUMENTS AND ITEMS. THE COLLECTION HAS BEEN CAPITALIZED USING COST OF ITEMS ACQUIRED OR ESTIMATED COST IF APPLICABLE. EACH OF THE ITEMS IS CATALOGUED FOR EDUCATION, RESEARCH, AND CURATORIAL PURPOSES, AND ACTIVITIES VERIFYING THEIR EXISTENCE AND ASSESSING THEIR CONDITION ARE PERFORMED CONTINUOUSLY.
PART V, LINE 4:THE INTENDED USE OF THE ORGANIZATION'S ENDOWMENT FUNDS IS FOR GENERAL USE; SCHOLARSHIPS; TECHNOLOGY, CHAIRS AND OTHER.
PART X, LINE 2:NOTE 1(M) - UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS THE COLLEGE IS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAXES UNDER SECTION 501(C)(3) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE; ACCORDINGLY, NO PROVISION FOR INCOME TAXES HAS BEEN MADE IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE COLLEGE FOLLOWS THE FINANCIAL ACCOUNTING STANDARDS BOARD ACCOUNTING STANDARDS CODIFICATION (FASB ASC), WHICH PROVIDES GUIDANCE ON ACCOUNTING FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES RECOGNIZED IN AN ORGANIZATION'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. AS OF MAY 31, 2018 AND 2017, THE COLLEGE HAD NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS THAT QUALIFY FOR EITHER RECOGNITION OR DISCLOSURE IN THE COLLEGE'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE COLLEGE'S POLICY IS TO RECOGNIZE INTEREST AND PENALTIES ON UNRECOGNIZED TAX BENEFITS IN INCOME TAX EXPENSE IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. NO INTEREST OR PENALTIES WERE RECORDED DURING THE YEARS ENDED MAY 31, 2018 AND 2017.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:NET ADJUSTMENT OF ANNUITY PAYMENT LIABILITY -37,095.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:SCHOLARSHIPS NETTED AGAINST STUDENT TUITION AND FEES 15,577,247.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:SCHOLARSHIPS NETTED AGAINST STUDENT TUITION AND FEES 15,577,247.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 3THE COLLEGE'S RACIALLY NONDISCRIMINATORY POLICY IS PUBLICIZED THROUGH RADIO ADVERTISEMENTS, PRINT PUBLICATIONS SUCH AS THE COLLEGE CATALOG, AND FINANCIAL AID AND RELATED MATERIALS, AND ADS FOR EMPLOYMENT.
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 6THE COLLEGE RECEIVES FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE FOR STUDENT FINANCIAL AID PROGRAMS SUCH AS THE FEDERAL PELL GRANT PROGRAM, AND MANY OTHERS FROM THE UNITED STATES DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION. THE COLLEGE ALSO RECEIVES STUDENT FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE FROM THE STATE OF TENNESSEE IN THE FORM OF VARIOUS GRANTS AND LOTTERY SCHOLARSHIPS.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records Maintained0GrantRecordsMaintainedInd
Subtotal Offices0SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees0SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continuation Total Office0ContinuationTotalOfficeCnt
Continuation Total Employee0ContinuationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$0SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$0ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$0TotalSpentAmt

Foreign Individuals Grants ForeignIndividualsGrantsGrp (2 entries)

Type Of AssistanceTypeOfAssistanceTxtRegionRegionTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmtManner Of Cash DisbursementMannerOfCashDisbursementTxtDescription Of Non Cash AsstDescriptionOfNonCashAsstTxtValuation Method UsedValuationMethodUsedDesc
CASH SCHOLARSHIPS FOR U.S. STUDENTS AT MILLIGAN COLLEGE WHO ARE STUDYING ABROADMIDDLE EAST AND NORTH AFRICA1$15,000SCHOLARSHIPS ARE CREDITED DIRECTLY TO THE STUDENT'S ACCOUNTN/AN/A
CASH SCHOLARSHIPS FOR U.S. STUDENTS AT MILLIGAN COLLEGE WHO ARE STUDYING ABROADEUROPE2$24,000SCHOLARSHIPS ARE CREDITED DIRECTLY TO THE STUDENT'S ACCOUNTN/A
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transfer To Foreign Corp0TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp Ownership0ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest Co0PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign Partnership0ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 2:THE COLLEGE DOES NOT GIVE ANY NON-CASH SCHOLARSHIPS. SCHOLARSHIPS TO U.S. STUDENTS STUDYING ABROAD ARE CREDITED DIRECTLY TO THE STUDENT'S ACCOUNT. THE COLLEGE'S PROCEDURES FOR MONITORING GRANT FUNDS FOR U. S. STUDENTS STUDYING ABROAD ARE AS FOLLOWS: THE COLLEGE HAS APPOINTED DIRECTORS, WHO REPORT TO THE APPROPRIATE VICE-PRESIDENTS, OVER ALL FOREIGN SCHOLARSHIPS. THESE DIRECTORS ARE CHARGED WITH PERFORMING ALL GRANT-RELATED ACTIVITIES INCLUDING APPLICATIONS, MONITORING OF EXPENDITURES AND REPORTING. DOCUMENTATION IS MADE OF ALL DIRECT AND INDIRECT PROGRAM EXPENSES. A SINGLE AUDIT IS PERFORMED ANNUALLY BY THE COLLEGE'S INDEPENDENT AUDITORS.
PART III ACCOUNTING METHOD:

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Recipient Table RecipientTable

Recipient Business Name RecipientBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EAST TENNESSEE STATE UNIVERSITYBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11276 GILBREATH DRIVEAddressLine1Txt
CityJOHNSON CITYCityNm
State AbbreviationTNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP37614ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Recipient EIN626021046RecipientEIN
Cash Grant$20,000CashGrantAmt
Purpose Of GrantGRANT TO ETSUPurposeOfGrantTxt

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeCASH SCHOLARSHIPS FOR STUDENTS ATTENDING THE MILLIGAN COLLEGE CAMPUS IN CARTER COUNTY, TENNESSEE, U.S.GrantTypeTxt
Recipient937RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$15,538,249CashGrantAmt
Valuation Method UsedN/AValuationMethodUsedDesc
Non Cash AssistanceN/ANonCashAssistanceDesc

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE COLLEGE DOES NOT GIVE ANY NON-CASH SCHOLARSHIPS. SCHOLARSHIPS ARE DISBURSED TO STUDENTS THROUGH CREDITING THEIR STUDENT ACCOUNTS. IF THE STUDENT HAS ANY EXCESS SCHOLARSHIP FUNDS OVER THEIR CHARGES, THESE FUNDS ARE DISBURSED TO THE STUDENT BY CHECK. THE COLLEGE'S PROCEDURES FOR MONITORING GRANT FUNDS IN THE U.S. ARE AS FOLLOWS: THE COLLEGE HAS APPOINTED DIRECTORS, WHO REPORT TO THE APPROPRIATE VICE PRESIDENTS, OVER ALL FEDERAL GRANT PROGRAMS. THESE DIRECTORS ARE CHARGED WITH PERFORMING ALL GRANT-RELATED ACTIVITIES INCLUDING APPLICATION, MONITORING OF EXPENDITURES AND REPORTING, WITH THE EXCEPTION OF DRAW-DOWNS OF FEDERAL FUNDS. DRAW-DOWNS ARE PERFORMED BY THE COLLEGE'S ACCOUNTING MANAGER AFTER REQUESTS ARE MADE BY THE DIRECTOR TO THE ACCOUNTING MANAGER. THE ACCOUNTING MANAGER REVIEWS THE REQUESTS FOR DRAW-DOWNS, WHICH INCLUDE DOCUMENTATION OF ALL DIRECT AND INDIRECT PROGRAM EXPENSES, BEFORE MAKING THE DRAW-DOWNS. A SINGLE AUDIT IS PERFORMED ANNUALLY BY THE COLLEGE'S INDEPENDENT AUDITORS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Travel For CompanionsYes (X)TravelForCompanionsInd
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Personal ServicesYes (X)PersonalServicesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E Expnss0WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (2 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
WILLIAM B GREER
PRESIDENT$227,110$0$0$0$0$0$16,188$0$9,185$0$252,483$0$0$0
ANDREW HULL
DIRECTOR-PHYSICIAN ASSISTN$135,246$0$0$0$0$0$9,832$0$6,498$0$151,576$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART I, LINE 1AFOR THE YEAR ENDED 05/31/20, THE COLLEGE PAID FOR SOME MEALS AND AIRFARE FOR THE PRESIDENT'S WIFE WHEN SHE TRAVELED WITH HIM ON COLLEGE BUSINESS. A HOME WAS DONATED TO THE COLLEGE IN DECEMBER, 2013 TO BE USED AS THE PRESIDENT'S HOME. THE PRESIDENT AND HIS WIFE MOVED INTO THE HOME IN JANUARY, 2014. LANDSCAPING SERVICES ARE PROVIDED BY THE COLLEGE AT THE HOME. ONE TIME PER MONTH, THE COLLEGE PROVIDES HOUSEKEEPING SERVICES FOR THE HOME.
PART I, LINE 1BAPPROVAL FOR COMPANION TRAVEL EXPENSES WAS GIVEN BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES. MINUTES ARE AVAILABLE. APPROVAL FOR THE PRESIDENT TO LIVE IN THE HOME WAS GIVEN BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES. MINUTES ARE AVAILABLE.
PART I, LINE 3COMPENSATION SURVEYS FOR COLLEGE PRESIDENTS ARE OBTAINED FROM THIRD PARTY SOURCES. THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES REVIEWS THE COMPENSATION SURVEYS INFORMATION AND PRESENTS SALARY RECOMMENDATIONS TO THE ENTIRE BOARD OF TRUSTEES FOR APPROVAL. THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES CONSIDERS THE DATA FROM THE COMPARATIVE COMPENSATION SURVEYS AS WELL AS RESULTS OF PERFORMANCE EVALUATIONS IN MAKING THEIR RECOMMENDATIONS FOR SALARY INCREASES.
PART I, LINE 4THE COLLEGE ESTABLISHED A NON-QUALIFIED DEFERRED COMPENSATION PLAN IN 2011. THE FIRST CONTRIBUTION WAS MADE IN MARCH, 2012 ON BEHALF OF WILLIAM B. GREER, PRESIDENT. THE CONTRIBUTION MADE FOR THE YEAR ENDED MAY 31, 2020 WAS $0.
PART I, LINE 5NOT APPLICABLE
PART I, LINE 6NOT APPLICABLE
PART I, LINE 7NOT APPLICABLE
PART I, LINE 8NOT APPLICABLE

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
THE HEALTH & EDUCATIONAL FACILITIES BD OF THE CITY OF ELIZABETHTON TN
A6260002832005-12-05$5,500,000CONSTRUCTION AND EQUIPPING OF EDUCATIONAL FACILITIES000
THE INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT BOARD OF CARTER COUNTY TN
B4613222102012-12-07$7,500,000ACQUISITION, CONSTRUCTION AND EQUIPPING OF STUDENT RESIDENCE FACILITIES000

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrRefunding Tax Exempt BondsRefundingTaxExemptBondsIndRefunding Taxable BondsRefundingTaxableBondsIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd
A$2,877,336$5,500,000$38,851$5,461,149200700Yes (1)Yes (1)
B$2,419,951$7,500,000$47,840$7,452,160201300Yes (1)Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
A0000000
B0000000

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
A00000000Yes (1)
B00000000Yes (1)

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (2 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (1)
BYes (1)

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp (6 entries)

Relationship DescriptionRelationshipDescriptionTxtTransactionTransactionDescSharing Of RevenuesSharingOfRevenuesIndTransactionTransactionAmt
DR WILLIAM B GREER
PRESIDENT OF MILLIGAN COLLEGEIN MAY 2014, DR. WILLIAM B. GREER, THE PRESIDENT OF MILLIGAN COLLEGE, WAS APPOINTED TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS OF CARTER COUNTY BANK, WHICH HOLDS A LINE OF CREDIT, TWO TAX-EXEMPT BONDS, AND TWO NOTES PAYABLE ($12,333,848) OF THE COLLEGE, AND MOST OF THE CHECKING ACCOUNTS OF THE COLLEGE ($13,651,636).0
CARTER COUNTY BANK
CARTER COUNTY BANK, OWNED BY DR. WILLIAM B. GREENE, JR., TRUSTEE OF COLLEGEMILLIGAN COLLEGE HAS MOST OF ITS CHECKING ACCOUNTS WITH CARTER COUNTY BANK, A DIVISION OF THE BANK OF TENNESSEE, WHOSE BALANCES AT MAY 31, 2020 TOTALED APPROXIMATELY $13,651,636.0
CARTER COUNTY BANK
CARTER COUNTY BANK, OWNED BY DR. WILLIAM B. GREENE, JR., TRUSTEE OF COLLEGEON DECEMBER 5, 2005, MILLIGAN COLLEGE OBTAINED A $5,500,000 TAX-EXEMPT BOND FROM CARTER COUNTY BANK, A DIVISION OF THE BANK OF TENNESSEE, FOR THE CONSTRUCTION OF THE ELIZABETH LEITNER GREGORY CENTER FOR THE LIBERAL ARTS. FOR THE YEAR ENDED MAY 31, 2020, THE BALANCE PAYABLE ON THE BOND WAS $2,622,664. FOR THE YEAR ENDED MAY 31, 2020, THE COLLEGE PAID A TOTAL OF $410,832 TO THE BANK - PRINCIPAL OF $287,708 AND INTEREST EXPENSE OF $123,134. ON DECEMBER 7, 2012, MILLIGAN COLLEGE OBTAINED A $7,500,000 TAX-EXEMPT BOND FROM CARTER COUNTY BANK, A DIVISION OF THE BANK OF TENNESSEE, FOR THE CONSTRUCTION OF THE VILLAGE STUDENT RESIDENT HALLS. FOR THE YEAR ENDED MAY 31, 2020, THE BALANCE PAYABLE ON THE BOND WAS $5,080,050. FOR THE YEAR ENDED MAY 31, 2020, THE COLLEGE PAID A TOTAL OF $470,060 TO THE BANK - PRINCIPAL OF $346,400 AND INTEREST EXPENSE OF $123,660.0
CARTER COUNTY BANK
CARTER COUNTY BANK, OWNED BY DR. WILLIAM B. GREENE, JR., TRUSTEE OF COLLEGEON JULY 1, 2015, AS PART OF THE ACQUISITION OF EMMANUEL CHRISTIAN SEMINARY, THE COLLEGE ASSUMED A NOTE PAYABLE FROM CARTER COUNTY BANK, A DIVISION OF THE BANK OF TENNESSEE, WITH AN OUTSTANDING BALANCE OF 2,313,737, WHICH IS SECURED BY REAL ESTATE. FOR THE YEAR ENDED MAY 31, 2020, THE BALANCE PAYABLE ON THE NOTE PAYABLE WAS $1,795,770. FOR THE YEAR ENDED MAY 31, 2020, THE COLLEGE PAID A TOTAL OF $153,904 TO THE BANK - PRINCIPAL OF $72,099 AND INTEREST EXPENSE OF $81,805.ON JUNE 15, 2016, MILLIGAN COLLEGE OBTAINED A $3,600,000 NOTE PAYABLE FROM CARTER COUNTY BANK, A DIVISION OF THE BANK OF TENNESSEE, FOR THE ENERGY EFFICIENCY PROJECT, WHICH IS SECURED BY REAL ESTATE. FOR THE YEAR ENDED MAY 31, 2020, THE BALANCE PAYABLE ON THE NOTE PAYABLE WAS $2,835,364. FOR THE YEAR ENDED MAY 31, 2020, THE COLLEGE PAID A TOTAL OF $309,910 TO THE BANK - PRINCIPAL OF $205,094 AND INTEREST EXPENSE OF $104,816.0
MR RONALD G DOVE JR
MEMBER OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEESMR. RONALD G. DOVE, JR. IS MEMBER OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES. HIS SISTER IS EMPLOYED BY THE COLLEGE. HER GROSS SALARY FOR THE 2019 CALENDAR YEAR WAS $44,542.0
MR TOMMY BURLESON
MEMBER OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEESCONTRACTOR HIRED BY MILLIGAN COLLEGE.0$185,959

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution22ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$365,484NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesCLOSING STOCK PRICESMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedYes (1)ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 32B:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE INSTITUTION HIRES A WEALTH MANAGEMENT FIRM TO RECEIVE TRANSFERS OF STOCK FROM DONORS AND TO SELL SAID SECURITIES UPON RECEIPT. THE INVESTMENT ADVIS0R WITH THE THIRD PARTY FIRM VERIFIES SALES OF SECURITIES WITH THE VP FOR BUSINESS AND FINANCE EACH TIME A GIFT OF STOCK IS RECEIVED.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 2BRENDA GREEN, A MEMBER OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES, IS A SISTER-IN-LAW OF JAMES EARL GREEN, A MEMBER OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES. WILLIAM B. GREER, PRESIDENT OF MILLIGAN COLLEGE, IS A DIRECTOR ON THE BANK OF TENNESSEE'S BOARD OF DIRECTORS. WILLIAM B. GREENE, JR., A TRUSTEE OF MILLIGAN COLLEGE, IS THE OWNER OF THE BANK OF TENNESSEE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BA COMPLETE COPY OF THE COLLEGE'S FINAL FORM 990 (INCLUDING ALL REQUIRED SCHEDULES), AS ULTIMATELY FILED WITH THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE, WAS PROVIDED TO EACH PERSON WHO WAS A VOTING MEMBER OF THE GOVERNING BODY AT THE TIME THE FORM 990 WAS PROVIDED, WHETHER IN PAPER OR ELECTRONIC FORM, BEFORE ITS FILING WITH THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CANNUALLY, EACH MEMBER OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES IS REQUESTED TO SUBMIT A SIGNED CONFLICT OF INTEREST AGREEMENT. AT THIS TIME, ANY KNOWN CONFLICTS OR POTENTIAL CONFLICTS OF INTEREST ARE DISCLOSED TO THE GOVERNING BODY. SHOULD THE POTENTIAL OF A CONFLICT OF INTEREST ARISE, THE SUBJECT WILL BE DISCLOSED AND THE GOVERNING BOARD MEMBER WILL EXCUSE THEMSELVES FROM VOTING ON THE MATTER IN QUESTION.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15PRESIDENT: THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES APPROVED THE SALARY OF THE PRESIDENT OF THE COLLEGE AT HIRE DATE BASED ON REVIEW OF HISTORICAL DATA AND PEER INSTITUTIONS. AT LEAST EVERY THREE YEARS, THE BOARD CONDUCTS AN EVALUATION OF THE PRESIDENT; DURING THIS PROCESS, COMPARATIVE SALARY DATA WITH PEER INSTITUTIONS IS REVIEWED. SALARY INCREASES CAN BE APPROVED AT THIS TIME. THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES ALSO PASSED A RESOLUTION THAT THE PRESIDENT WOULD RECEIVE THE SAME PERCENTAGE INCREASE AS OTHER STAFF OF THE COLLEGE ON AN ANNUAL BASIS. THE SALARY OF THE PRESIDENT IS APPROVED AS PART OF THE BUDGETING PROCESS BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES ANNUALLY.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE ORGANIZATION MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9:NET ADJUSTMENT OF ANNUITY PAYMENT LIABILITY -37,095.
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 2CTHE FINANCE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES ASSUMES RESPONSIBILITY FOR THE OVERSIGHT OF THE AUDIT OF ITS FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND THE SELECTION OF AN INDEPENDENT CERTIFIED PUBLIC ACCOUNTANT. THIS PROCESS HAS NOT CHANGED FROM THAT OF THE PRIOR YEAR.