FURP.ORG / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

ST ANNES EPISCOPAL SCHOOL INC: Form 990, tax year 2020

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
ST ANNES EPISCOPAL SCHOOL INC (EIN 84-6049400)
Tax period
2020-07-01 to 2021-06-30
Filed
2021-11-08
IRS object ID
202113129349304241
Schema version
2020v4.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-11-08T17:15:22-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Kundinger Corder & Engle PCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1475 Lincoln St Ste 200AddressLine1Txt
CityDenverCityNm
State AbbreviationCOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP80203ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2020-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN846049400EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1St Anne's Episcopal School IncBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSTANBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone3037569481PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12701 S York StAddressLine1Txt
CityDenverCityNm
State AbbreviationCOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP802106098ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJudy PersingPersonNm
Person TitleChief Financial OfficerPersonTitleTxt
Phone3037569481PhoneNum
Signature2021-10-19SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstJudyPersonFirstNm
Person LastPersingPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonMaria MontoyaPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01363907PTIN
Phone3035345953PhoneNum
Preparation2021-11-04PreparationDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer3TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2020TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerLori FrankPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12701 S York StAddressLine1Txt
CityDenverCityNm
State AbbreviationCOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP802106098ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$18,119,246GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.st-annes.orgWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1967FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateCOLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionSee description for Part III, Line 1 on Schedule O.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body16VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent16VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee111TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers150TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$1,764,713PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$1,791,578CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$10,102,769PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$10,721,225CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$953,122PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$5,569,289CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$35,226PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$17,646CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$12,855,830PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$18,099,738CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$1,323,850PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$1,477,145CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$8,151,721PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$8,566,095CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$405,555CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$3,005,394PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$2,959,099CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$12,480,965PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$13,002,339CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$374,865PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$5,097,399CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$43,827,835TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$51,412,613TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$1,892,966TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$2,035,603TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$41,934,869NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$49,377,010NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionSee Schedule O.St. Anne's Episcopal School is an independent school from preschool through grade 8. The School is committed to the heritage and environment created by its founding sisters. The school strives to 1) guide each child toward the development of his or her own moral, intellectual, creative and physical capacity while fostering a shared purpose of social responsibility and involvement; 2) instill a genuine love of learning while providing a broad challenging and stimulating education, promoting self-reliance, and establishing a supportive and nurturing learning experience for students of varied talents and abilities; 3) maintain a strong, inclusive family atmosphere committed to Judeo-Christian values while honoring the socio-economic, ethnic, and religious diversity within the school community.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$10,657,253ExpenseAmt
Grant$1,477,145GrantAmt
Revenue$10,721,225RevenueAmt
DescSt. Anne's Episcopal School has grown into a premier preschool through grade 8 independent, coeducational day school with more than 400 students currently enrolled. Students are provided with well-balanced, state-of-the-art programs in academics, athletics and the arts. Additionally, an extraordinary emphasis is placed on character development and ethical decision making through the school's unique history and heritage and an array of programs and activities. These activities and relationships occur on a beautiful, garden-filled 7.5 acre Denver campus and a scenic, 15.5 acre experiential facility in the foothills outside the city.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$10,657,253TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other Liabilities0ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt0ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (1)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (1)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document23IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee111EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members16GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member16IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsYes (1)ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Ms Judy PersingBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone3037569481PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line12701 S York StAddressLine1Txt
CityDenverCityNm
State AbbreviationCOStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP802106098ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (24 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Holly Baroway
Trustee4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Molly Engles
Trustee4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Bill Howard
Trustee4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Tom Kaesemeyer
Trustee4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Scott Lichtenberger
Trustee4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Nicole Lindberg
Trustee4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Sarah Mengshol
Trustee4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Emily Strong
Trustee4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Alejandro Taboada Flores
Trustee4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Buzz Taplin
Trustee4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kristen Wiley
Trustee4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Emily Barrett
Trustee4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kimberly Neckers
Trustee4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Liz Walker
President4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Keith Oxenreider
Secretary4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Brian Wilkinson
Treasurer4.00Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
Bill Clough
Head of School until June 202150.00$373,541$0$44,997Yes (X)
Lori Frank
Admission Dir/Interim HOS March 202140.00$116,504$0$25,276Yes (X)
Judy Persing
Chief Financial Officer40.00$212,602$0$28,129Yes (X)
Katherine Huamani
Lower School Head40.00$122,365$0$19,160Yes (X)
Timothy Seitz
Director of Plant Operations40.00$117,152$0$25,342Yes (X)
Glen Worthing
Director of Technology40.00$115,601$0$23,749Yes (X)
Jennie Ruport
Development Director40.00$114,949$0$9,927Yes (X)
David Vander Meulen
Teacher40.00$110,146$0$20,847Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,282,860TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$197,427TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K11IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Sodexo America LLC
900 Auraria ParkwayDenverCO80204Catering of school lunches and events$505,845
Beaver Builders LLC
4660 S Clarkson StreetCherry Hills VillageCO80113Construction services$313,377
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K2CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$30,761FundraisingAmt
All Other Contributions$1,760,817AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$132,630NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$1,791,578TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Tuition and fees900099$10,716,107$10,716,107
Auxiliary and other900099$5,118$5,118
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$10,721,225TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$714,463TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$714,463ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$4,864,523SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$0SecuritiesAmt
Other$9,697OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$4,864,523SecuritiesAmt
Other-$9,697OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$4,854,826TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$4,854,826ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$0FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$30,761ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$0FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$27,457GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$9,811CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$17,646TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$17,646ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$18,099,738TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$10,721,225RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$5,586,935ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,477,145TotalAmt
Program Services$1,477,145ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$805,707TotalAmt
Program Services$213,831ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$591,876ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,970,960TotalAmt
Program Services$5,124,785ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$610,239ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$235,936FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$463,441TotalAmt
Program Services$401,284ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$43,668ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$18,489FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$812,877TotalAmt
Program Services$673,545ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$108,985ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$30,347FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$513,110TotalAmt
Program Services$408,644ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$86,321ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$18,145FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$32,996TotalAmt
Management And General$32,996ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$72,544TotalAmt
Management And General$72,544ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$51,461TotalAmt
Management And General$51,461ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$100,265TotalAmt
Management And General$42,161ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$58,104FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$95,442TotalAmt
Program Services$45,371ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$48,061ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,010FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$45,024TotalAmt
Program Services$35,873ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$7,562ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,589FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$729,973TotalAmt
Program Services$626,726ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$98,079ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$5,168FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$872,639TotalAmt
Program Services$749,213ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$117,248ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$6,178FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Lunch program$473,524$473,524
Classroom/education$342,040$342,040
Professional dev.$83,254$68,020$12,588$2,646
Bad debt expense$33,684$12,101$21,583

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$26,253TotalAmt
Program Services$17,252ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,641ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$5,360FundraisingAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$13,002,339TotalAmt
Program Services$10,657,253ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,939,531ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$405,555FundraisingAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,774,283BOYAmt
EOY$3,054,421EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,004,519BOYAmt
EOY$543,559EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$43,585BOYAmt
EOY$74,549EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$188,215BOYAmt
EOY$170,519EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$22,958,375LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$11,206,600LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$12,225,687BOYAmt
EOY$11,751,775EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,135,157BOYAmt
EOY$33,553,191EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$456,389BOYAmt
EOY$2,264,599EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$43,827,835BOYAmt
EOY$51,412,613EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$863,948BOYAmt
EOY$920,945EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,029,018BOYAmt
EOY$1,114,658EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,892,966BOYAmt
EOY$2,035,603EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$38,257,323BOYAmt
EOY$45,023,868EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,677,546BOYAmt
EOY$4,353,142EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$41,934,869BOYAmt
EOY$49,377,010EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$43,827,835BOYAmt
EOY$51,412,613EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$5,097,399ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$2,344,742NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$27,432,604BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,142,498ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$7,730,866InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,352,301OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$35,953,667EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$26,045,992BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,203,510ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$506,893InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,323,791OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$27,432,604EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$23,792,263BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,844,971ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,614,373InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,205,615OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$26,045,992EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$20,588,875BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$3,141,156ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,203,862InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,141,630OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$23,792,263EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$18,596,615BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,419,793ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,979,944InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$1,407,477OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$20,588,875EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.89300BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.08000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.02700TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated Org0EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$170,750OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$170,750BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$20,791,705OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$9,751,637DepreciationAmt
Book Value$11,040,068BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,995,920OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,454,963DepreciationAmt
Book Value$540,957BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$11,751,775TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$18,894,791TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$2,344,742NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue-$1,477,145OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$867,597RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$18,027,194RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$72,544InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$72,544RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$18,099,738TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$11,452,650TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$11,452,650ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$72,544InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$1,477,145OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$1,549,689ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$13,002,339TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (3 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part V, Line 4:The Investment Committee of the School has established a spending policy for an annual distribution from the endowment fund to the operating fund of the School. These funds are designated for financial aid to students, professional development for faculty and staff, and the general operations of the School. Donor restricted endowment funds are used to provide scholarships to selected students.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Scholarships awarded
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Scholarships awarded

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid Rcvd0GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule E, Part I, Line 3FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationPublicized in newspapers and included in both written and verbal communication to applicants.ExplanationTxt

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
RegionCentral America and the Caribbean - Antigua & Barbuda, Aruba, Bahamas,RegionTxt
Offices0OfficesCnt
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Type Of Activities ConductedInvestingTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt
Region Total Expenditures$2,229,195RegionTotalExpendituresAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices0SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees0SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Continuation Total Office0ContinuationTotalOfficeCnt
Continuation Total Employee0ContinuationTotalEmployeeCnt
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$2,229,195SubtotalSpentAmt
Continuation Spent$0ContinuationSpentAmt
Total Spent$2,229,195TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpYes (1)TransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign Trust0InterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp Ownership0ForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CoYes (1)PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign Partnership0ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott Countries0BoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart III Accounting Method:FormAndLineReferenceDesc

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event18th Grade FundraisersEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$25,974GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$25,974CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Event2Poker NightEvent2Nm
Gross Receipts Event2$2,100GrossReceiptsEvent2Amt
Charitable Contri Event2$2,100CharitableContriEvent2Amt
Other Events Total2OtherEventsTotalCnt
Gross Receipts Other Events$2,687GrossReceiptsOtherEventsAmt
Charitable Contri Other Events$2,687CharitableContriOtherEventsAmt
Gross Receipts Total$30,761GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$30,761CharitableContributionsTotAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeScholarshipsGrantTypeTxt
Recipient100RecipientCnt
Cash Grant$1,477,145CashGrantAmt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationScholarships are awarded based on need and monitored over the course of the year.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentYes (1)SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (2 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Bill Clough
Head of School until June 2021$373,541$0$0$0$0$0$25,704$0$19,293$0$418,538$0$0$0
Judy Persing
Chief Financial Officer$212,602$0$0$0$0$0$17,259$0$10,870$0$240,731$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 4aFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationBill Clough, HOS until June 2021, received his regular compensation, less legally mandated payroll deductions and withholdings and his current benefits through August 31, 2021.ExplanationTxt

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution16ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$132,630NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesSales PriceMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form8283 Received0Form8283ReceivedCnt
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 4The bylaws were revised to reflect the change in the assignment of CEO of the corporation from Board President to the Head of School. Also, the Compensation Committee was deleted as a standing Board committee and its responsibilities were added to the Finance Committee. The Audit Committee was added as a new standing Board Committee.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bThe 990 is reviewed by the ad hoc compensation committee composed of the Board President and Chair of the Finance Committee before it is finalized. This information is then reported to the Board of Trustees.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cTrustees, faculty and staff review the appropriate Conflict of Interest Policy annually and complete a Conflict of Interest Disclosure Statement. Potential conflicts are required to be reported to an officer of the Board as they occur. Matters requiring discussion are brought to the full board for resolution.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15Salary for the Head of School is determined by an ad hoc compensation committee composed of the Board President and Chair of the Finance Committee. This committee reviews data gathered by the Business Manager comparing Head of School salaries within ACIS and NAIS. They set the salary and the Head of School is given a contract that is revised every three to four years. This committee also prepares an annual evaluation of the Head of School. When a member of senior management is hired, the salary is set by the Chief Financial Officer and the Head of School based on salary data from ACIS and NAIS. These salaries are reviewed tri-annually. If the position being hired is the business manager, the Chair of the Finance Committee and the Board President play a role in the hiring process.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The governing documents, conflict of interest policy and financial statements are made available to the public upon request.
Form 990, Part XII, Line 2cThe Board of Trustees assumes responsibility for the oversight of the audit. The independent auditors are recommended to the Board of Trustees by the School's finance committee. The independent auditors meet with both the Board and the finance committee at least once annually to review the audit process and results. There has been no change to these procedures since the prior year.