SANTA FE INSTITUTE: Form 990, tax year 2020
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- SANTA FE INSTITUTE (EIN 85-0325494)
- Tax period
- 2020-01-01 to 2020-12-31
- Filed
- 2021-11-05
- IRS object ID
- 202113099349302471
- Schema version
- 2020v4.1
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
- Return header
- Form 990
- Schedule A
- Schedule B
- Schedule D
- Schedule E
- Schedule I
- Schedule J
- Schedule L
- Schedule M
- Schedule O
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2021-11-05T11:03:09-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2020-12-31 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 410746749 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | CLIFTONLARSONALLEN LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 6501 AMERICAS PARKWAY NE SUITE 500 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | ALBUQUERQUE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NM | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 87110 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2020-01-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 850325494 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | SANTA FE INSTITUTE | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | SANT | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 5059848800 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1399 HYDE PARK ROAD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | SANTA FE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NM | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 87501 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | DAVID KRAKAUER | PersonNm |
| Person Title | PRESIDENT | PersonTitleTxt |
| Phone | 5059848800 | PhoneNum |
| Signature | 2021-11-04 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (1) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp
Person Full Name PersonFullName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person First | DAVID | PersonFirstNm |
| Person Last | KRAKAUER | PersonLastNm |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| SSN | 999009999 | SSN |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | STEPHEN LIVINGSTON | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00317845 | PTIN |
| Phone | 5058428290 | PhoneNum |
| Preparation | 2021-11-04 | PreparationDt |
Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation
Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Trusted Customer | 2 | TrustedCustomerCd |
| Authentication Assurance Level | AAL1 | AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd |
| Identity Assurance Level | IAL1 | IdentityAssuranceLevelCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2020 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2022-09-23 18:48:47Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Principal Officer | DAVID KRAKAUER | PrincipalOfficerNm |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1399 HYDE PARK ROAD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | SANTA FE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NM | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 87501 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $25,118,650 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | 0 | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | HTTP://WWW.SANTAFE.EDU | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 1984 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | NM | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | INDEPENDENT NOT-FOR-PROFIT RESEARCH AND EDUCATION. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 26 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 26 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 76 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 26 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | $0 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $7,269,723 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $9,842,240 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $1,791,124 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $1,283,410 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $1,260,138 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $1,203,923 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $0 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $0 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $10,320,985 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $12,329,573 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $187,218 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $87,796 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| PY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $7,092,899 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $7,421,970 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $226,200 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $5,231,521 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $3,003,940 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $12,511,638 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $10,513,706 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | -$2,190,653 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $1,815,867 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $49,920,847 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $51,200,417 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $1,061,911 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $4,183,575 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $48,858,936 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $47,016,842 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | THE SANTA FE INSTITUTE IS A TRANSDISCIPLINARY RESEARCH COMMUNITY THAT EXPANDS THE BOUNDARIES OF SCIENTIFIC UNDERSTANDING. ITS AIM IS TO DISCOVER, COMPREHEND, AND COMMUNICATE THE COMMON FUNDAMENTAL PRINCIPLES IN COMPLEX PHYSICAL, COMPUTATIONAL, BIOLOGICAL, AND SOCIAL SYSTEMS THAT UNDERLIE MANY OF THE MOST PROFOUND PROBLEMS FACING SCIENCE AND SOCIETY TODAY. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | 0 | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | Yes (1) | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $6,008,180 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $87,796 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $1,283,410 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | SEE SCHEDULE O | Desc |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $6,008,180 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (1) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | 0 | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | 0 | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Subject To Proxy Tax | 0 | SubjectToProxyTaxInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | 0 | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | Yes (1) | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | Yes (1) | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | 0 | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | Yes (1) | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | Yes (1) | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | 0 | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | 0 | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | 0 | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | 0 | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (1) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (1) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | 0 | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | Yes (1) | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | 0 | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | 0 | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | 0 | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | 0 | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | 0 | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | 0 | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | 0 | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | 0 | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | Yes (1) | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | 0 | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | 0 | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | 0 | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | Yes (1) | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | 0 | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | 0 | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | 0 | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | Yes (1) | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | 0 | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | 0 | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | 0 | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | 0 | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | 0 | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | 0 | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | 0 | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | 0 | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (1) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 90 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Backup Wthld Compliance | Yes (1) | BackupWthldComplianceInd |
| Employee | 76 | EmployeeCnt |
| Employment Tax Returns Filed | Yes (1) | EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | 0 | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | 0 | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | 0 | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | 0 | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | 0 | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | 0 | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | 0 | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | 0 | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | 0 | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | 0 | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | 0 | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 26 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 26 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | 0 | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | 0 | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | 0 | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | 0 | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | 0 | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | 0 | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | 0 | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (1) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (1) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | 0 | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | 0 | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (1) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (1) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (1) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (1) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (1) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (1) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | Yes (1) | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | 0 | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | 0 | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| States Where Copy Of Return Is Fld | NM | StatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd |
| Own Website | Yes (X) | OwnWebsiteInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | MATTHEW J BECHTEL | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 5059462790 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 1399 HYDE PARK ROAD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | SANTA FE | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | NM | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 87501 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (37 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Key EmployeeKeyEmployeeInd | Highest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| MICHAEL MAUBOSSIN | ||||||||
| CHAIR OF THE BOARD | 2.50 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| KATHERINE COLLINS | ||||||||
| TREASURER AND VICE CHAIR | 1.00 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| GARY BENGIER | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 0.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| ROSS BUHRDORF | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 0.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JOHN CHISHOLM | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 0.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| DARLA MOORE | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 0.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| ELIZABETH DAVIS | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 0.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| FRED DOTZLER | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 0.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| BILL GURLEY | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 0.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JOHN HAGEL III | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 0.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| MARI KOOI | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 0.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| ROBERT MAXFIELD | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 0.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| CORMAC MCCARTHY | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 0.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| IAN MCKINNON | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 0.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JOHN H MILLER | ||||||||
| EX OFFICIO | 10.00 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JERRY MURDOCK | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 0.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| GERRY OHRSTROM | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 0.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| PIERRE OMIDYAR | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 0.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JAMES PALOTTA | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 0.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| SAM PETERS | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 0.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| TOBY SHANNAN | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 0.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JIM RUTT | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 0.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| WILLIAM SICK | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 0.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| GRAHAM SPENCER | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 0.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| EUGENE STARK | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 0.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| VIJAY ULLAL | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 0.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| JOSH WOLFE | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 0.50 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |||
| DAVID KRAKAUER | ||||||||
| PRESIDENT | 37.50 | Yes (X) | $398,815 | $0 | $43,038 | |||
| JANET GUNN | ||||||||
| SECRETARY/VP - ADMIN | 37.50 | Yes (X) | $130,621 | $0 | $41,984 | |||
| MATTHEW BECHTEL | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR FINANCE & ACCOUNTING | 37.50 | Yes (X) | $114,704 | $0 | $19,354 | |||
| JENNIFER DUNNE | ||||||||
| VP - SCIENCE | 37.50 | $220,101 | $0 | $40,023 | Yes (X) | |||
| WILLIAM M TRACY | ||||||||
| VP - STRATEGIC PARTNERSHIPS | 37.50 | $172,215 | $0 | $11,963 | Yes (X) | |||
| MIRTA GALESIC | ||||||||
| PROFESSOR | 37.50 | $171,125 | $0 | $24,488 | Yes (X) | |||
| GEOFFREY WEST | ||||||||
| DISTINGUISHED PROFESSOR | 37.50 | $266,272 | $0 | $34,545 | Yes (X) | |||
| SIDNEY REDNER | ||||||||
| PROFESSOR | 37.50 | $200,970 | $0 | $28,459 | Yes (X) | |||
| DAVID WOLPERT | ||||||||
| PROFESSOR | 37.50 | $167,539 | $0 | $32,204 | Yes (X) | |||
| MELANIE MITCHELL | ||||||||
| PROFESSOR | 37.50 | $177,845 | $0 | $43,605 | Yes (X) | |||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $2,020,207 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $319,663 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 16 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | 0 | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (1) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | 0 | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (4 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| JOSEPH C NERO | |||||
| 4 STORM VIEW LN | SANTA FE | NM | 87506 | CONSTRUCTION | $263,396 |
| JM EVANS CONSTRUCTION | |||||
| PO BOX 1686 | SANTA FE | NM | 87504 | CONSTRUCTION | $227,139 |
| ACTION ASPHALT | |||||
| 2003 SOUTHERN BLVD NE STE 102-331 | RIO RANCHO | NM | 87124 | CONSTRUCTION | $143,630 |
| MOSS ADAMS LLP | |||||
| PO BOX 101822 | PASADENA | CA | 91189 | ACCOUNTING PROFESSIONAL SERVICES | $100,837 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 4 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Government Grants | $2,632,824 | GovernmentGrantsAmt |
| All Other Contributions | $7,209,416 | AllOtherContributionsAmt |
| Noncash Contributions | $124,597 | NoncashContributionsAmt |
| Total Contributions | $9,842,240 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | BusinessBusinessCd | Total Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmt | Related Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
|---|---|---|---|
| ACTION (FORMERLY ENET) | 541700 | $1,259,130 | $1,259,130 |
| TUITION | 541700 | $24,280 | $24,280 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $1,283,410 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $713,791 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $713,791 | ExclusionAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $13,279,209 | SecuritiesAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $12,789,077 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $490,132 | SecuritiesAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $490,132 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $490,132 | ExclusionAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $12,329,573 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $1,283,410 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $1,203,923 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part IX | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIXInd |
Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $87,796 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $87,796 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,192,819 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $242,385 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $746,022 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $204,412 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $5,230,758 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $3,698,333 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,530,947 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $1,478 | FundraisingAmt |
Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $98,245 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $84,682 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $13,563 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $528,740 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $334,044 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $186,895 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $7,801 | FundraisingAmt |
Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $371,408 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $212,497 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $147,898 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $11,013 | FundraisingAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $189,138 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $189,138 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $840,662 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $359,459 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $481,203 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Advertising AdvertisingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $13,760 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $13,760 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $246,940 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $70,466 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $176,450 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $24 | FundraisingAmt |
Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $250,723 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $86,467 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $164,256 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Occupancy OccupancyGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $67,964 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $50,753 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $17,211 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Travel TravelGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $159,373 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $157,411 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $1,636 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $326 | FundraisingAmt |
Interest InterestGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $48,563 | TotalAmt |
| Management And General | $48,563 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $357,430 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $266,915 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $90,515 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Insurance InsuranceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $147,852 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $810 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $147,042 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt | Management And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt | FundraisingFundraisingAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| SUPPLIES | $134,124 | $52,810 | $81,314 | |
| STIPENDS | $129,346 | $129,346 | ||
| MISCELLANEOUS EXPENSES | $105,141 | $27,616 | $77,525 | |
| LODGING | $84,306 | $77,969 | $5,956 | $381 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $228,618 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $68,421 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $159,432 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $765 | FundraisingAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $10,513,706 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $6,008,180 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $4,279,326 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $226,200 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,474,486 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,567,286 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $534,102 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $387,415 | EOYAmt |
Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,026,809 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,325,472 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $623,700 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $1,596,058 | EOYAmt |
Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $324,198 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $219,958 | EOYAmt |
Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $11,627 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,689 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $19,417,794 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $6,981,934 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $11,971,304 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $12,435,860 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $33,408,765 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $31,119,425 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $545,856 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $546,254 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $49,920,847 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $51,200,417 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $930,744 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $939,810 | EOYAmt |
Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $131,167 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $215,707 | EOYAmt |
Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $3,028,058 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $1,061,911 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $4,183,575 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind |
No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $9,781,799 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $9,716,036 | EOYAmt |
Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $39,077,137 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $37,300,806 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $48,858,936 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $47,016,842 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $49,920,847 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $51,200,417 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $1,815,867 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | -$3,657,962 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $1 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part XII | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | 0 | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (1) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Separate Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (1) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | Yes (1) | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Performed | Yes (1) | FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| School | Yes (X) | SchoolInd |
Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB
Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Contributor | RESTRICTED | ContributorNum |
Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | RESTRICTED | BusinessNameLine1 |
Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine1 |
| Address Line2 | RESTRICTED | AddressLine2 |
| City | RESTRICTED | City |
| State | RESTRICTED | State |
| ZIP Code | RESTRICTED | ZIPCode |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Contributions | RESTRICTED | TotalContributionsAmt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Protection Natural Habitat | Yes (X) | ProtectionNaturalHabitatInd |
| Total Easements | 4 | TotalEasementsCnt |
| Total Acreage | 33.00 | TotalAcreageCnt |
| Historic Structure Easements | 0 | HistoricStructureEasementsCnt |
| Modified Easements | 0 | ModifiedEasementsCnt |
| States Easements Held | 1 | StatesEasementsHeldCnt |
| Written Policy Monitoring | Yes (1) | WrittenPolicyMonitoringInd |
| Staff Hours Spent Enforcement | 40.00 | StaffHoursSpentEnforcementCnt |
| Expenses Incurred Enforcement | $1,000 | ExpensesIncurredEnforcementAmt |
Art Public Exhibition Amounts ArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Revenues Included | $0 | RevenuesIncludedAmt |
| Assets Included | $546,254 | AssetsIncludedAmt |
Held Works Art HeldWorksArtGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Revenues Included | $0 | RevenuesIncludedAmt |
| Assets Included | $0 | AssetsIncludedAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Collection Used Pub Exhibition | Yes (X) | CollectionUsedPubExhibitionInd |
| Solicited Assets Sale | 0 | SolicitedAssetsSaleInd |
CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $14,444,017 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | -$1,381,602 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $571,952 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $12,490,463 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $11,673,110 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $3,297,919 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $527,012 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $14,444,017 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $14,710,997 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | -$2,516,807 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $521,080 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $11,673,110 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $9,200,178 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $3,000,000 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $2,965,734 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $454,915 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $14,710,997 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $7,575,361 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $1,254,887 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $824,845 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $454,915 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $9,200,178 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Board Designated Balance EOY | 0.00000 | BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct |
| Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY | 0.96860 | PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Term Endowment Balance EOY | 0.03140 | TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Endowments Held Unrelated Org | 0 | EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd |
| Endowments Held Related Org | 0 | EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd |
Land LandGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $4,774,192 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Book Value | $4,774,192 | BookValueAmt |
Buildings BuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $12,155,853 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $5,371,941 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $6,783,912 | BookValueAmt |
Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $238,997 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $152,172 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $86,825 | BookValueAmt |
Equipment EquipmentGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $1,732,062 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $1,451,687 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $280,375 | BookValueAmt |
Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Cost Or Other Basis | $516,690 | OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt |
| Depreciation | $6,134 | DepreciationAmt |
| Book Value | $510,556 | BookValueAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Land Buildings | $12,435,860 | TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $8,482,473 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | -$3,657,962 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | -$3,657,962 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $12,140,435 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld | $189,138 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $189,138 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $12,329,573 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $10,324,568 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $0 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $10,324,568 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Investment Expenses Not Incld2 | $189,138 | InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $189,138 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $10,513,706 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART II, LINE 5: | AT LEAST ANNUALLY, THE INDIVIDUAL RESPONSIBLE FOR SFI FACILITIES WILL MONITOR AND INSPECT ANY AND ALL CONSERVATION EASEMENTS. SFI, ITS STAFF, AND ITS CONTRACTORS WILL COOPERATE WITH THE SANTA FE CONSERVATION TRUST (SFCT) TO PROVIDE ACCESS FOR SFCT INSPECTIONS AND TO SEEK THEIR GUIDANCE TO ENSURE COMPLIANCE. ANY AND ALL VIOLATIONS OF THE EASEMENT WILL BE BROUGHT TO THE ATTENTION OF SENIOR MANAGEMENT. SFI WILL TAKE APPROPRIATE ACTIONS TO CORRECT ANY VIOLATIONS, INCLUDING COMPELLING OTHERS TO MAINTAIN COMPLIANCE WITH THE EASEMENT OR RESTRICTING THEIR ACCESS IF THEY FAIL TO COMPLY. |
| PART II, LINE 9: | THE CONSERVATION EASEMENTS REFERENCED IN PART II OF SCHEDULE D CONTAIN RESTRICTIONS PLACED ON THE USE OF PROPERTY THAT WAS DONATED TO THE INSTITUTE. THESE RESTRICTIONS WERE CONSIDERED BY APPRAISERS IN DETERMINING THE VALUE OF THE DONATED PROPERTY. THE FOOTNOTES TO THE INSTITUTE'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS THAT ADDRESS THE ACCOUNTING FOR DONATED PROPERTY ARE AS FOLLOWS: REVENUE RECOGNITION - THE INSTITUTE REPORTS GIFTS OF LAND, BUILDINGS, AND EQUIPMENT AS SUPPORT WITHOUT DONOR RESTRICTIONS UNLESS RESTRICTIONS ARE PLACED ON THE ASSET BY THE DONOR. GIFTS OF LONG-LIVED ASSETS WITH EXPLICIT RESTRICTIONS THAT SPECIFY HOW THE ASSETS ARE TO BE USED AND GIFTS OF CASH OR OTHER ASSETS THAT MUST BE USED TO ACQUIRE LONG-LIVED ASSETS ARE REPORTED AS SUPPORT WITH DONOR RESTRICTIONS. ABSENT EXPLICIT DONOR STIPULATIONS ABOUT HOW LONG THOSE LONG-LIVED ASSETS MUST BE MAINTAINED, THE INSTITUTE REPORTS EXPIRATIONS OF DONOR RESTRICTIONS WHEN THE DONATED OR ACQUIRED LONG-LIVED ASSETS ARE PLACED IN SERVICE. PROPERTY AND EQUIPMENT - PROPERTY AND EQUIPMENT ARE STATED AT COST OR FAIR MARKET VALUE WHEN RECEIVED, IF DONATED. PROVISION FOR DEPRECIATION IS COMPUTED USING THE STRAIGHT-LINE METHOD OVER THE ESTIMATED USEFUL LIFE OF THE PROPERTY. |
| PART III, LINE 4: | ART COLLECTION MAY OR MAY NOT BE ON PUBLIC DISPLAY THROUGHOUT THE INSTITUTE. ART IS PURELY FOR DECORATION PURPOSES TO ENHANCE THE BEAUTY OF THE INSTITUTE. |
| PART V, LINE 4: | THE INSTITUTE'S ENDOWMENT CONSISTS OF A SINGLE POOLED FUND. ALL ENDOWMENTS ARE CLASSIFIED AS NET ASSETS WITH DONOR RESTRICTIONS AS PER THE ENDOWMENT AGREEMENTS. INCOME IS AVAILABLE AND USED FOR PURPOSES DEEMED APPROPRIATE BY THE INSTITUTE SUBJECT TO USE RESTRICTIONS IMPOSED BY DONOR GIFT AGREEMENTS INFORMED BY INTERNAL POLICIES. AS REQUIRED BY GENERALLY ACCEPTED ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES (GAAP), NET ASSETS ASSOCIATED WITH ENDOWMENT FUNDS, INCLUDING FUNDS DESIGNATED BY THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES TO FUNCTION AS ENDOWMENTS, ARE CLASSIFIED AND REPORTED BASED ON THE EXISTENCE OR ABSENCE OF DONOR-IMPOSED RESTRICTIONS. APPROPRIATION OF FUNDS IS DETERMINED, IN PART, BASED ON DONOR STIPULATIONS AND APPROVED BY THE INSTITUTE'S FINANCE COMMITTEE. |
| PART X, LINE 2: | THE INSTITUTE FILES AN EXEMPT ORGANIZATION RETURN IN THE U.S. FEDERAL JURISDICTION. THE INSTITUTE HAS NO UNRECOGNIZED TAX BENEFIT WHICH WOULD REQUIRE AN ADJUSTMENT TO THE JANUARY 1, 2020 BEGINNING BALANCE OF NET ASSETS AND HAD NO UNRECOGNIZED TAX BENEFITS AT DECEMBER 31, 2020. |
Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Nondiscriminatory Policy Stmt | Yes (1) | NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd |
| Policy Stmt In Brochures Etc | Yes (1) | PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd |
| Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast Media | Yes (1) | PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd |
| Maintain Racial Comp Recs | Yes (1) | MaintainRacialCompRecsInd |
| Maintain Scholarships Recs | Yes (1) | MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd |
| Maintain Cpy Of Brochures Etc | Yes (1) | MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd |
| Maintain Cpy Of All Sol | Yes (1) | MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd |
| Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts | 0 | DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd |
| Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy | 0 | DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd |
| Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty | 0 | DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd |
| Discriminate Race Schs | 0 | DiscriminateRaceSchsInd |
| Discriminate Race Educ Plcy | 0 | DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd |
| Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts | 0 | DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd |
| Discriminate Race Athlt Prog | 0 | DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd |
| Discriminate Race Other Acty | 0 | DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd |
| Government Financial Aid Rcvd | Yes (1) | GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd |
| Government Financial Aid Rvkd | 0 | GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd |
| Compliance With Rev Proc7550 | Yes (1) | ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 3 | ALL RECRUITMENT, ADVERTISING, OR OTHER SOLICITATIONS INCLUDE SFI'S NONDISCRIMINATORY POLICY, NO LESS THAN ANNUALLY. |
| LINE 6 - EXPLANATION OF GOVERNMENT FINANCIAL AID: | THE ORGANIZATION RECEIVES GOVERNMENT GRANTS TO SUPPORT RESEARCH ON VARIOUS SCIENTIFIC TOPICS THAT THE ORGANIZATION SUPPORTS. |
Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Grant Records Maintained | Yes (1) | GrantRecordsMaintainedInd |
Recipient Table RecipientTable (3 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | Recipient EINRecipientEIN | IRC SectionIRCSectionDesc | Cash GrantCashGrantAmt | Purpose Of GrantPurposeOfGrantTxt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| WASHINGTON STATE UNIVERSITYSTATE OF WASHINGTON | |||||||
| PO BOX 641025 | PULLMAN | WA | 991641025 | 916001108 | WA GOVERNMENTAL | $34,869 | INFORMATION NETWORKS |
| UNIVERSITY OF MARYLAND COLLEGE PARK | |||||||
| COLLEGE PARK | COLLEGE PARK | MD | 207423135 | 526002033 | MD GOVERNMENTAL | $939 | COMPUTATIONAL PHYSICS |
| UNIVERSITY OF SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA | |||||||
| 3500 FIGUEROA ST SUITE 102 | LOS ANGELES | CA | 90089 | 951642394 | 501(C)(3) | $51,988 | PREDICTION/SURVEY RESEARCH |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total501c3 Org | 3 | Total501c3OrgCnt |
| Total Other Org | 0 | TotalOtherOrgCnt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I, LINE 2: | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | BASED ON COLLABORATIVE PROPOSALS SUBMITTED WITH SUBAWARDEES, FINANCIAL MANAGEMENT SYSTEMS QUESTIONNAIRES, POLICIES AND PROCEDURES ON SUBRECIPIENT MONITORING, STATEMENTS OF THE SCOPE OF WORK, AND BUDGET PROPOSALS, THE ORGANIZATIONS SET UP SUB-AWARD AGREEMENTS WITH EACH SUBAWARDEE. EACH SUBWARDEE SIGNS AND CERTIFIES COMPLIANCE WITH THE AGREEMENT, WHICH IS MAINTAINED THROUGHOUT THE PERIOD OF PERFORMANCE. SANTA FE INSTITUTE REVIEWS ON, AT LEAST, AN ANNUAL BASIS THE SUBAWARDEE'S DATA COLLECTION FORMS FOR REPORTING ON AUDITS OF STATES, LOCAL GOVERNMENTS, AND NON-PROFIT ORGANIZATIONS, FINANCIAL STATEMENTS, AND OTHER ACCOUNTING DOCUMENTS TO DETERMINE HOW GRANTS WERE SPENT, BUDGET COMPLIANCE, AND IF ANY AUDIT FINDINGS RELATING TO THE EXPENDITURE OF THE SUB-AWARD WERE NOTED IN THE TAX RETURN AND/OR FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Compensation Committee | Yes (X) | CompensationCommitteeInd |
| Form990 Of Other Organizations | Yes (X) | Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd |
| Compensation Survey | Yes (X) | CompensationSurveyInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (X) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Severance Payment | 0 | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | 0 | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | 0 | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | 0 | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | 0 | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | 0 | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | Yes (1) | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | 0 | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (9 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DAVID KRAKAUER | ||||||||||||||
| PRESIDENT | $289,638 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $109,177 | $0 | $26,000 | $0 | $17,038 | $0 | $441,853 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| GEOFFREY WEST | ||||||||||||||
| DISTINGUISHED PROFESSOR | $265,272 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $1,000 | $0 | $25,424 | $0 | $9,121 | $0 | $300,817 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| JENNIFER DUNNE | ||||||||||||||
| VP - SCIENCE | $164,101 | $0 | $56,000 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $26,000 | $0 | $14,023 | $0 | $260,124 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| SIDNEY REDNER | ||||||||||||||
| PROFESSOR | $199,970 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $1,000 | $0 | $13,734 | $0 | $14,725 | $0 | $229,429 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| MELANIE MITCHELL | ||||||||||||||
| PROFESSOR | $176,845 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $1,000 | $0 | $26,000 | $0 | $17,605 | $0 | $221,450 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| DAVID WOLPERT | ||||||||||||||
| PROFESSOR | $167,539 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $26,000 | $0 | $6,204 | $0 | $199,743 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| MIRTA GALESIC | ||||||||||||||
| PROFESSOR | $144,479 | $0 | $26,646 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $7,023 | $0 | $17,465 | $0 | $195,613 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| WILLIAM M TRACY | ||||||||||||||
| VP - STRATEGIC PARTNERSHIPS | $139,615 | $0 | $32,600 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $6,665 | $0 | $5,298 | $0 | $184,178 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| JANET GUNN | ||||||||||||||
| SECRETARY/VP - ADMIN | $130,621 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $25,902 | $0 | $16,082 | $0 | $172,605 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| PART I, LINE 3 | THE PRESIDENT'S COMPENSATION IS DETERMINED BY A LETTER AGREEMENT NEGOTIATED BY THE TRUSTEES. IN NEGOTIATING THE AGREEMENT, THE TRUSTEES USE COMPARABILITY DATA FROM VARIOUS ACADEMIC INSTITUTIONS AND OTHER RELEVANT PERIODICALS AND STUDIES. ANNUALLY, THE TRUSTEES EVALUATE THE PRESIDENT'S PERFORMANCE IN THE COMPENSATION REVIEW. THESE ACTIONS ARE DOCUMENTED IN THE MINUTES OF THE MEETINGS. THE PROCESS OF EVALUATING COMPARABLE DATA WAS LAST DONE IN 2017. THE COMPENSATION PROCESS FOR OTHER OFFICERS, INCLUDING: VICE PRESIDENTS AND BOARD SECRETARY, IS DETERMINED BY THE PRESIDENT USING COMPARABILITY DATA FROM SIMILAR ACADEMIC INSTITUTIONS AND OTHER RELEVANT PERIODICALS AND STUDIES, AS APPROPRIATE. |
| PART I, LINE 7 | SOME BONUSES WERE PAID TO EMPLOYEES WHO ENGAGED IN ACTIVITIES THAT WERE ABOVE AND BEYOND THE NORMAL SCOPE OF BUSINESS, ESPECIALLY AS A RESULT OF COVID-19 RESTRICTIONS. |
Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL
Loans Btwn Org Interested Prsn LoansBtwnOrgInterestedPrsnGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | DAVID KRAKAUER PRESIDENT | PersonNm |
| Relationship With Org | PRESIDENT | RelationshipWithOrgTxt |
| Loan Purpose | 3 NOTES - SEE SCHEDULE O. | LoanPurposeTxt |
| Loan From Organization | Yes (X) | LoanFromOrganizationInd |
| Original Principal | $500,000 | OriginalPrincipalAmt |
| Balance Due | $219,958 | BalanceDueAmt |
| Default | 0 | DefaultInd |
| Board Or Committee Approval | Yes (1) | BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd |
| Written Agreement | Yes (1) | WrittenAgreementInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Balance Due | $219,958 | TotalBalanceDueAmt |
Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM
Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Non Cash Checkbox | Yes (X) | NonCashCheckboxInd |
| Contribution | 2 | ContributionCnt |
| Noncash Contributions Rpt F990 | $124,597 | NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt |
| Method Of Determining Revenues | FAIR MARKET VALUE | MethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form8283 Received | 2 | Form8283ReceivedCnt |
| Any Property That Must Be Held | 0 | AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd |
| Review Process Unusual NC Gifts | Yes (1) | ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd |
| Third Parties Used | 0 | ThirdPartiesUsedInd |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | PART I, COLUMN (B): | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | NUMBER OF DONORS LISTED | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (10 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| FORM 990, PART III, LINE 3 | NEW 'FLASH WORKSHOPS', PODCASTS, AND ONLINE SERVICE DELIVERIES WERE INTEGRATED IN 2020 AS A RESULT OF THE COVID-19 PANDEMIC. |
| FORM 990, PART III, LINE 4A, DESCRIPTION OF PROGRAM SERVICE: | SCIENTIFIC RESEARCH, WORKSHOPS AND EDUCATIONAL ENDEAVORS ON VARIOUS RESEARCH TOPICS. RESEARCH IS UNDERTAKEN FOR THE PUBLIC INTEREST AND IS NOT INTENDED FOR THE PRIMARY BENEFIT OF A PRIVATE PERSON OR ORGANIZATION. PEOPLE ARE SFI'S FOUNDATION: SFI MAINTAINED 12 RESIDENT FACULTY, 15 POST-DOCTORAL RESEARCHERS, AND ADDED ANOTHER 13 NEW EXTERNAL FACULTY DURING THE PANDEMIC DESPITE RESTRICTIONS IN PLACE ON IN PERSON MEETINGS AND WORKSHOPS/WORKING GROUPS. DESPITE THE PANDEMIC, SFI HAS MANAGED TO HOST 213 IN PERSON VISITORS, ALONG WITH 39 MEETINGS, 78 SEMINARS, 24 POST-DOCTORAL VIRTUAL SESSIONS, AND 100'S OF UNIQUE VIRTUAL PARTICIPANTS ACROSS MULTIPLE EVENTS. SFI RECEIVED AN ADDITIONAL 13 FEDERAL, FOUNDATION, AND INTERNATIONAL GRANTS IN 2020. 36 PODCASTS LED BY DAVID KRAKAUER, THE TRANSMISSION SERIES, WERE CONDUCTED IN 2020, ALONG WITH A NEW CATEGORY OF 'FLASH WORKSHOPS' RELATED TO COVID-19, CONDUCTED BY VARIOUS SFI FACULTY AND RESEARCHERS. 2020 ALSO WITNESSED THE OPENING OF THE NEW MILLER CAMPUS IN TESUQUE, NM, AS WELL AS THE OPENING OF A NEW 'POD' HOUSING FACULTY AT THE EXISTING COWAN CAMPUS. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11B | THE FORM 990 IS REVIEWED BY SENIOR MANAGEMENT AND SUBMITTED TO THE AUDIT COMITTEE FOR REVIEW AND APPROVAL. THE COMPLETED FORM 990 IS PRESENTED TO ALL MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES PRIOR TO FILING. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C | EMPLOYEES, MANAGEMENT, AND BOARD MEMBERS ARE SUBJECT TO THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY. EMPLOYEES AND MANAGEMENT ATTEST TO THEIR INDEPENDENCE WHEN HIRED AND ARE REQUIRED TO INFORM THE ORGANIZATION SHOULD THEIR SITUATION CHANGE. BOARD MEMBERS RECEIVE THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY UPON APPOINTMENT AND ARE REQUIRED TO ATTEST TO THEIR INDEPENDENCE ANNUALLY. CONFLICT DETERMINATIONS ARE MADE AND REVIEWED BY MANAGEMENT OR THE CHAIR OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES, AS APPROPRIATE. A CONFLICTED INDIVIDUAL IS PROHIBITED FROM PARTICIPATING IN DELIBERATIONS AND DECISIONS CONCERNING THE SUBJECT TRANSACTION. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15A | THE PRESIDENT'S COMPENSATION IS DETERMINED BY A LETTER AGREEMENT NEGOTIATED BY THE TRUSTEES. IN NEGOTIATING THE AGREEMENT, THE TRUSTEES USE COMPARABILITY DATA FROM VARIOUS ACADEMIC INSTITUTIONS AND OTHER RELEVANT PERIODICALS AND STUDIES. ANNUALLY, THE TRUSTEES EVALUATE THE PRESIDENT'S PERFORMANCE IN THE COMPENSATION REVIEW. THESE ACTIONS ARE DOCUMENTED IN THE MINUTES OF THE MEETINGS. THE PROCESS OF EVALUATING COMPARABLE DATA WAS LAST DONE IN 2020. THE COMPENSATION PROCESS FOR OTHER OFFICERS, INCLUDING: VICE PRESIDENTS AND BOARD SECRETARY, IS DETERMINED BY THE PRESIDENT USING COMPARABILITY DATA FROM SIMILAR ACADEMIC INSTITUTIONS AND OTHER RELEVANT PERIODICALS AND STUDIES, AS APPROPRIATE. THIS PROCESS WAS LAST COMPLETED IN 2020. |
| FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19 | THE ORGANIZATION MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC BASED UPON SPECIFIC REQUESTS BY INDIVIDUALS OR ORGANIZATIONS. |
| FORM 990, PART IX, LINE 24E | REPAIRS AND MAINTENANCE: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 1,001. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 80,007. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 81,008. FOOD AND BEVERAGE: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 48,505. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 28,087. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 80. TOTAL EXPENSES 76,672. DUES AND SUBSCRIPTIONS: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 18,915. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 47,055. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 0. TOTAL EXPENSES 65,970. TAXES & LICENSES: PROGRAM SERVICE EXPENSES 0. MANAGEMENT AND GENERAL EXPENSES 4,283. FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 685. TOTAL EXPENSES 4,968. |
| FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9: | ROUNDING 1. |
| FORM 990, PART XIII, LINE 2C | THE ORGANIZATION DID NOT CHANGE ITS OVERSIGHT PROCESS OR SELECTION PROCESS DURING THE TAX YEAR. |
| SCHEDULE L, PART II: | EFFECTIVE AUGUST 1, 2015, THE INSTITUTE PROVIDED THE PRESIDENT WITH THREE LOANS, EACH OF WHICH IS DOCUMENTED BY A PROMISSORY NOTE PRESCRIBING INTEREST COMPOUNDED ANNUALLY (AT THE THEN APPLICABLE FEDERAL RATE OF 1.77%), REPAYMENT SCHEDULE, AND CONSEQUENCES OF DEFAULT, AMONG OTHER TERMS. PRINCIPAL AND INTEREST UNDER THESE NOTES IS DUE FIVE YEARS FROM THE EFFECTIVE DATE. THE INSTITUTE AMENDED THE TERMS OF THIS AGREEMENT ON JUNE 24, 2019 TO EXTEND THE TERM BEYOND AUGUST 1, 2020. FURTHERMORE, A FINAL AMENDMENT TO THE PROMISSORY NOTE WAS EXECUTED DECEMBER 19, 2020, WHEREIN THE INSTITUTE MODIFIED THE ORIGINAL MATURITY OF THESE LOANS AS FOLLOWS: THE FIRST OF THESE LOANS, IN THE AMOUNT OF $100,000, WAS FULLY FORGIVEN JULY 31, 2020. THE SECOND OF THESE LOANS, IN THE AMOUNT OF $100,000, WILL BE FORGIVEN IN THE EVENT THE INSTITUTE'S PERPETUAL ENDOWMENT INVESTMENT POOL INCREASES BY AT LEAST TWENTY MILLION DOLLARS. PER THE FINAL AMENDMENT, THIS TERM HAS BEEN MET BASED ON THE DETERMINATION OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES, AND WILL BE FORGIVEN EFFECTIVE AUGUST 1, 2021. THE THIRD LOAN , IN THE AMOUNT OF $100,000, IS TO BE FORGIVEN AS OF AUGUST 1, 2022. THE AMOUNT OF PRINCIPAL AND INTEREST FORGIVEN WAS $109,168 DURING 2020 AND IS FULLY REPORTED IN PART VII OF FORM 990 AND IN PART II OF SCHEDULE J. |
Comments