HUSSON UNIVERSITY: Form 990, tax year 2019

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
HUSSON UNIVERSITY (EIN 01-0271210)
Tax period
2019-07-01 to 2020-06-30
Filed
2021-05-05
IRS object ID
202111259349300541
Schema version
2019v5.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2021-05-05T10:36:40-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2020-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN010523282PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Berry Dunn McNeil & Parker LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 1100AddressLine1Txt
CityPortlandCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP041011100ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2019-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN010271210EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Husson UniversityBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlHUSSBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2079417000PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1One College CircleAddressLine1Txt
CityBangorCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP04401ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonCraig HadleyPersonNm
Person TitleVP Finance & Admin, TreasurerPersonTitleTxt
Phone2079417000PhoneNum
Signature2021-04-30SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonJoseph R ByrnePreparerPersonNm
PTINP01289281PTIN
Phone2077752387PhoneNum
Preparation2021-04-30PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2019TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerRobert ClarkPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1One College CircleAddressLine1Txt
CityBangorCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP04401ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$83,227,984GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.husson.eduWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1898FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateMELegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionEducational InstitutionActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body30VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent27VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee1484TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers28TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$229,856TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$3,030,639PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$10,520,158CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$68,932,939PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$69,497,882CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$802,401PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$1,155,176CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$798,508PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$640,552CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$73,564,487PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$81,813,768CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$16,637,078PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$18,725,139CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$33,988,178PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$35,444,986CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,292,828CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$21,043,840PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$18,452,276CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$71,669,096PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$72,622,401CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$1,895,391PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$9,191,367CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$128,036,499TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$142,213,765TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$43,689,527TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$50,883,064TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$84,346,972NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$91,330,701NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionHusson University inspires and prepares students for professional careers in current and emerging fields within the context of an education informed by the sciences and humanities.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$56,021,421ExpenseAmt
Grant$18,725,139GrantAmt
Revenue$59,284,183RevenueAmt
DescHigher Education / Educational Services For more than 120 years, Husson University has prepared future leaders to address the challenges of tomorrow through innovative undergraduate and graduate degrees.With a commitment to delivering affordable classroom, online and experiential learning opportunities, Husson University has come to represent superior value in higher education. Husson University offers advanced knowledge in business, health, pharmacy, science and Continued on Schedule Ohumanities, as well as communication. In addition, Husson University has a robust online learning program.According to a recent analysis of tuition and fees by U.S. News & World Report, Husson University is one of the most affordable private colleges in New England. Education at Husson University produces results. According to the most recent survey data, 96 percent of Husson University graduates are employed or enrolled in graduate school within one year of completing their degrees.Husson University is regionally accredited by the New England Council of Higher Education (NECHE). Regional accreditation applies to all programs. The University is also accredited by the International Accreditation Council for Business Education (IACBE), the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (CCNE), the Accreditation Council for Occupational Therapy (ACOTE), the Commission on Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE), the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), and the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Program (CACREP), with approval by the Maine Department of Education and National Board for Certified Counselors for its Teacher Education and School Counseling programs respectively.According to 2019 IPEDS Data, approximately 2,870 undergraduate and 870 graduate students currently are enrolled at Husson University. Husson offers 39 degree programs at the undergraduate and graduate level. Approximately 74% of the Husson student body comes from Maine, 47% of all students are Pell eligible, and 32% of undergraduate students are the first generation in their family to attend college. Husson University has the largest College of Business in Maine, with over 1,400 students and graduates more MBAs than any other institution in the state. The University's nursing program, with an enrollment of over 475 students, is among the institutions of higher education responding to the call to graduate an additional 400 license-eligible Nursing students each year in the State of Maine. A third major part of the University's academic portfolio is Health Sciences. Our BS in Health Sciences degree is specifically designed to prepare students for our Pharm.D. program, as well as other graduate school opportunities.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$9,118,904ExpenseAmt
Revenue$10,213,699RevenueAmt
DescAuxiliary Services The Auxiliary Services department provides a variety of support services designed to enhance the Husson educational and student experience for the University. Serving a diverse set of stakeholders, Auxiliary services works to ensuring the continued success of the University in a fiscally responsible manner while reducing risk for the institution.Services provided by this department include dining, maintenance, Continued on Schedule Ocustodial, environmental health, safety, security, grounds keeping, the bookstore, and capital facility project management.Dining services seeks to provide a variety of wholesome, nutritious foods that meet the diverse needs of the Husson University community.Husson offers a variety of housing options for over 1,000 students which includes Hart Hall, Carlisle Hall, Bell Hall, the Darling Learning Center, and the Townhouses. The Living Learning Center can house up to 240 students. Each suite in the Darling Learning Center features suite-style living for four students. The ground floor contains state-of-the-art experiential classroom space and the Ronan Center for Financial Technology. Three townhouse buildings have room for 72 students. Each townhouse has six two-story fully furnished apartments. The campus also includes the Dyke Center for Family Business, Gracie Theatre, Newman Gymnasium, Swan Center, Wellness Learning Center, the Webber Pool, as well as numerous athletic fields.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Expenses$65,140,325TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (1)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntYes (1)BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document223IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee1484EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members30GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member27IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Craig HadleyBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone2079417000PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1One College CircleAddressLine1Txt
CityBangorCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP04401ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (38 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
John M Rohman
Chair1.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Daniel R Hutchins
Vice Chair1.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Earl C Black
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
John P Boucher
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Brock R Bradford
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Susan A Carlisle
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Daniel B Coffey
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Joseph H Cyr
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Edward O Darling
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kris A Doody
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jaclyn Fish
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Arthur D Fuller
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Ross Y Furman
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Emma Gordan
Student Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Philip E Harriman
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kenneth A Hews
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kelli L Theriault Hutchins
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Deborah Carey Johnson
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Bradley Libby
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Ruth B Purtilo
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Robert J Ronan
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
W Tom Sawyer Jr
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Irving Schneider
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Thomas E Stone Jr
Faculty Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$61,546$0$36,114
Richard C Trott Jr
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Randal L Wadleigh
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Betsy M Webb
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Tracey Whitten
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Michael E Williamson
Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Cameron Clark
Past Student Trustee1.000.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dr Robert A Clark
President40.000.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$327,004$0$120,447
Craig Hadley
VP Finance & Admin/Treasurer40.000.00Yes (X)$172,624$0$29,181
Lynne Coy-Ogan
Provost40.000.00$178,872$0$13,277Yes (X)
Rhonda Waskiewicz
Dean, College of Health and Pharmacy40.000.00$196,998$0$12,738Yes (X)
Marie Hankinson
Dean, College of Business and NESCom40.000.00$166,689$0$22,556Yes (X)
Sarah Robinson
Vice President of Advancement40.000.00$152,045$0$39,327Yes (X)
William Lindblad
Professor of Pharmacology40.000.00$148,069$0$22,151Yes (X)
Conrad Dhing
Assistant Dean School of Pharmacy40.000.00$133,329$0$19,491Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,537,176TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$315,282TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K27IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Nickerson & O'Day Inc
PO Box 911BangorME04401Construction Services$2,798,619
Wiley Edu LLC
1415 West 22nd St Suite 8Oak BrookIL60523On-Line Learning$538,765
Decibel Media LLC
10 City SquareBostonMA02129Advertising$455,025
Maine Earth
283 Western AvenueHampdenME04444Construction Services$400,594
Harriman Associates
46 Harriman DrAuburnME04274Architecture, Engineering and Planning$296,438
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K14CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$15,454FundraisingAmt
Government Grants$2,958,746GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$7,545,958AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$32,702NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$10,520,158TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Tuition and Fees611710$59,284,183$59,284,183
Auxiliary Services611710$9,978,533$9,958,354$20,179
Summer and Sports Camps721000$235,166$90,982$144,184
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$69,497,882TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$627,380TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$627,380ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$320,265RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$211,154RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$109,111RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$109,111TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$65,493UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$43,618ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,718,732SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,190,936SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$527,796SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$527,796TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$527,796ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$12,126FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$15,454ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$12,126FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtExclusionExclusionAmt
Misc Student Revenue900099$175,107$175,107
Bookstore Commission611710$141,950$141,950
Other Revenue900099$140,358$140,358

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$74,026TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$74,026ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$531,441OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$81,813,768TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$69,333,519RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$229,856UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$1,730,235ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$18,725,139TotalAmt
Program Services$18,725,139ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$949,297TotalAmt
Program Services$97,763ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$851,534ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$27,283,589TotalAmt
Program Services$24,642,617ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,848,431ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$792,541FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,111,786TotalAmt
Program Services$934,396ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$141,633ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$35,757FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,100,916TotalAmt
Program Services$3,770,277ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$235,438ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$95,201FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,999,398TotalAmt
Program Services$1,730,801ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$218,215ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$50,382FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$64,609TotalAmt
Management And General$64,609ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$39,353TotalAmt
Management And General$39,353ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$74,871TotalAmt
Management And General$74,871ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,428,203TotalAmt
Program Services$2,872,559ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,473,762ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$81,882FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,302,673TotalAmt
Program Services$1,092,333ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$98,124ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$112,216FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,769,786TotalAmt
Program Services$1,648,211ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$114,583ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$6,992FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,175,823TotalAmt
Program Services$1,072,482ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$43,684ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$59,657FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$114,309TotalAmt
Program Services$107,965ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,749ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,595FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$742,074TotalAmt
Program Services$727,601ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$13,541ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$932FundraisingAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,696,080TotalAmt
Program Services$5,348,296ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$309,837ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$37,947FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$168,576TotalAmt
Management And General$168,576ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (3 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
Materials & Supplies$2,564,235$2,349,009$198,500$16,726
Miscellaneous Expense$230,202$20,876$209,326
Licenses and Membership$81,482$81,482

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$72,622,401TotalAmt
Program Services$65,140,325ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$6,189,248ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,292,828FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,046,858BOYAmt
EOY$514,031EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,304,779BOYAmt
EOY$26,070,300EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,828,033BOYAmt
EOY$6,037,701EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,504,385BOYAmt
EOY$1,162,404EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$49,823BOYAmt
EOY$46,767EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$53,567BOYAmt
EOY$37,823EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$724,708BOYAmt
EOY$669,047EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$132,793,551LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$55,451,194LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$77,501,037BOYAmt
EOY$77,342,357EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$29,023,309BOYAmt
EOY$30,333,335EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$128,036,499BOYAmt
EOY$142,213,765EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,425,710BOYAmt
EOY$4,605,420EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,496,676BOYAmt
EOY$2,409,553EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,918,084BOYAmt
EOY$21,345,904EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,409,570BOYAmt
EOY$12,397,993EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,439,487BOYAmt
EOY$10,124,194EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$43,689,527BOYAmt
EOY$50,883,064EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$56,520,160BOYAmt
EOY$56,420,444EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,826,812BOYAmt
EOY$34,910,257EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$84,346,972BOYAmt
EOY$91,330,701EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$128,036,499BOYAmt
EOY$142,213,765EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$9,191,367ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$47,361NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$2,160,277OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$20,037,947BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$464,610ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$412,680InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$666,620GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$20,248,617EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$18,551,272BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$535,196ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,510,243InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$558,764GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$20,037,947EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$17,259,547BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$328,752ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$1,472,017InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$509,044GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$18,551,272EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$15,454,960BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$264,056ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,008,406InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$467,875GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$17,259,547EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$15,704,223BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$375,426ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$114,535InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$510,154GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$15,454,960EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.00000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.65000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.35000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgYes (1)EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,006,166OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$2,006,166BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$92,947,800OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$32,762,803DepreciationAmt
Book Value$60,184,997BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$19,798,321OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$13,351,602DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,446,719BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$18,041,264OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$9,336,789DepreciationAmt
Book Value$8,704,475BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$77,342,357TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Asset Retirement Obligation$238,608
Capital Lease Obligation$793,471
Charitable Gift Annuities Payable$217,291
Fair Value of Interest Rate Swaps$2,909,824
CARES Act Funding$5,965,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$10,124,194TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$61,029,400TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$47,361NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue-$1,936,997OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$1,984,358RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$63,013,758RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$74,871InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$18,725,139OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$18,800,010RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$81,813,768TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$54,045,671TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$223,280OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$223,280ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$53,822,391ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$74,871InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$18,725,139OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$18,800,010ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$72,622,401TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part V, Line 4:Endowment funds are held in perpetuity and the income is to be spent based on the donors intent which primarily are for scholarships.
Part X, Line 2:Husson is a tax exempt organization under the provisions of tax code Section 501(c)(3). Certain activities of the University are unrelated business income and, therefore, subject to federal and state income tax. Management evaluated the University's tax positions and concluded that the University had taken no uncertain tax positions that required adjustment to the consolidated financial statements. The University is subject to U.S. federal and state examinations by tax authorities for years ended June 30, 2017 to June 30, 2020.
Part XI, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Rental Expenses 211,154. Special Events Expenses 12,126. Change in Value of Split Interest Agreements 14,800. Change in Value of Interest Rate Swap -2,175,077.
Part XI, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Scholarships/Aid 18,725,139.
Part XII, Line 2d - Other Adjustments:Rental Expenses 211,154. Special Events Expenses 12,126.
Part XII, Line 4b - Other Adjustments:Scholarships/Aid 18,725,139.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (1)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Schedule E, Part I, Line 31 - Resolution of Governing Board. 2 - All publications and announcements include policy statements. 3 - Part of all announcements of courses being offered.
Schedule E, Part I, Line 6Husson University recieves various government grants among them are: SEOG Grants College Work Study Grants

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1Golf EventsEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$27,580GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$15,454CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Gross Revenue Event1$12,126GrossRevenueEvent1Amt
Rent Facility Costs Event1$9,120RentFacilityCostsEvent1Amt
Food And Beverage Event1$280FoodAndBeverageEvent1Amt
Other Direct Expenses Event1$2,726OtherDirectExpensesEvent1Amt
Gross Receipts Total$27,580GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$15,454CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Gross Revenue Total Events$12,126GrossRevenueTotalEventsAmt
Rent Fclty Costs Total Events$9,120RentFcltyCostsTotalEventsAmt
Food And Beverage Total Events$280FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt
Oth Direct Expnss Total Events$2,726OthDirectExpnssTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$12,126DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary$0NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeFinancial AidGrantTypeTxt
Recipient3214RecipientCnt
Non Cash Assistance$18,725,139NonCashAssistanceAmt
Valuation Method UsedFMV of TuitionValuationMethodUsedDesc
Non Cash AssistanceScholarship AidNonCashAssistanceDesc

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe university grants scholarships to eligible students and maintains records as to their eligibility and qualifications.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Written Policy Ref T And E Expnss0WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Form990 Of Other OrganizationsYes (X)Form990OfOtherOrganizationsInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (1)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Dr Robert A Clark
President$319,793$0$0$0$7,211$0$66,500$0$53,947$0$447,451$0$0$0
Craig Hadley
VP Finance & Admin/Treasurer$169,906$0$0$0$2,718$0$10,522$0$18,659$0$201,805$0$0$0
Lynne Coy-Ogan
Provost$178,012$0$0$0$860$0$10,627$0$2,650$0$192,149$0$0$0
Rhonda Waskiewicz
Dean, College of Health and Pharmacy$193,891$0$0$0$3,107$0$11,696$0$1,042$0$209,736$0$0$0
Marie Hankinson
Dean, College of Business and NESCom$166,338$0$0$0$351$0$10,262$0$12,294$0$189,245$0$0$0
Sarah Robinson
Vice President of Advancement$150,619$0$0$0$1,426$0$9,778$0$29,549$0$191,372$0$0$0
William Lindblad
Professor of Pharmacology$144,683$0$0$0$3,386$0$8,753$0$13,398$0$170,220$0$0$0
Conrad Dhing
Assistant Dean School of Pharmacy$132,716$0$0$0$613$0$8,154$0$11,337$0$152,820$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Part I, Line 1bThe Board of Trustees assesed and determined the appropriate level of benefit after reviewing its potential value and market data on compensation and benefits.
Part I, Line 4bRobert Clark participates in a non-qualified retirement plan. The 2019 contribution was $50,000.

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingIndBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEIN
City of Westbrook
A2013-09-30$3,280,000Purchasing Campus Building000
Finance Authority of Maine
B2016-06-27$4,200,000Dormitory Renovations/Turf Field Replacement: 1 College Circle, Bangor, ME000010392006
Finance Authority of Maine
C2017-02-14$10,300,000Townhouse Building and Dormitory Renovations000010392006
Finance Authority of Maine
D2019-05-15$4,000,000Wellness Learning Center000010392006

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtRefunding Tax Exempt BondsRefundingTaxExemptBondsIndRefunding Taxable BondsRefundingTaxableBondsIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintIndIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
A$1,220,616$3,280,000$3,280,00000Yes (1)Yes (1)
B$583,864$4,200,000$4,174,55200Yes (1)Yes (1)$25,448
C$485,062$10,300,000$10,211,75800Yes (1)Yes (1)$88,242
D$58,781$4,000,000$3,922,21900Yes (1)Yes (1)$77,781

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
A000000Yes (1)
B000000Yes (1)
C000000Yes (1)
D000000Yes (1)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
A000000000
B000000000
C000000000
D000000000

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (1)
BYes (1)
CYes (1)
DYes (1)

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule K Supplental InformationFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationSchedule K, Part II - The amount on the schedule K Part I represents the entire 2020B Bond series that is pooled funding and therefore includes funds dedicated to other institutions. The issue price on Form 8038 Part III, Line 21 (B) - includes proceeds for other institutions as well.ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Maine Health & Higher Education FacilitiesBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN010314384BondIssuerEIN
Bond Issued2020-06-30BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$1,914,227IssuePriceAmt
PurposeREFI MHHEFA Series 2010BPurposeDesc
Defeased0DefeasedInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool FinancingYes (1)PoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Retired$825,493RetiredAmt
Total Proceeds$2,319,715TotalProceedsAmt
In Reserve Fund$213,950InReserveFundAmt
Issuance Costs From Proceeds$33,172IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
Refunding Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)RefundingTaxExemptBondsInd
Refunding Taxable BondsYes (1)RefundingTaxableBondsInd
Final Allocation MadeYes (1)FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (1)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed Property0OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease Arrangements0AnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd Prop0MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Any Research Agreements0AnyResearchAgreementsInd
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt Test0BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed Prop0ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdYes (1)ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T Filed0Form8038TFiledInd
Rebate Not Due Yet0RebateNotDueYetInd
Exception To Rebate0ExceptionToRebateInd
No Rebate Due0NoRebateDueInd
Variable Rate Issue0VariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And Rec0HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC0GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds InvestedYes (1)GrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor ReqsYes (1)WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective ActionYes (1)ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Schedule L IRS990ScheduleL

Bus Tr Involve Interested Prsn BusTrInvolveInterestedPrsnGrp

Name Of Interested NameOfInterested

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Cyr Bus LinesBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Relationship DescriptionEntity more than 35% controlled by Joseph Cyr, Board TrusteeRelationshipDescriptionTxt
Transaction$200,283TransactionAmt
TransactionIndependent Contractor ArrangementTransactionDesc
Sharing Of Revenues0SharingOfRevenuesInd

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution3ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$32,702NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesStock Market ValueMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form8283 Received0Form8283ReceivedCnt
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (1)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties Used0ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bThe Form 990 is reviewed by the Finance Committee prior to filing, and the returns are made available to the full Board of Trustees for review.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cAnnual Board of Trustees disclosures are required and are scrutinized for potential conflicts.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15aCompensation undergoes an annual review by the Board of Trustees and a salary recommendation is made.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19Form 990 is available upon request. The governing documents, policies and financial statements are not disclosed to the general public.
Form 990, Part XI, line 9:Change in Value of Split Interest Agreements 14,800. Change in Value of Interest Rate Swap -2,175,077.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp

Disregarded Entity Name DisregardedEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Husson University Condominiums LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11 College Center CircleAddressLine1Txt
CityBangorCityNm
State AbbreviationMEStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP04401ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Primary ActivitiesReal Estate HoldingPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateMELegalDomicileStateCd
Total Income$109,111TotalIncomeAmt
End Of Year Assets$4,698,575EndOfYearAssetsAmt

Direct Controlling Entity Name DirectControllingEntityName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Husson UniversityBusinessNameLine1Txt

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.