UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT GREENSBORO INVESTMENT FUND INC: Form 990, tax year 2021

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT GREENSBORO INVESTMENT FUND INC (EIN 58-2005976)
Tax period
2021-07-01 to 2022-06-30
Filed
2022-11-15
IRS object ID
202243199349323699
Schema version
2021v4.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-11-15T16:06:10-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2022-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN560571159PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BERNARD ROBINSON & COMPANY LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 19608AddressLine1Txt
CityGREENSBOROCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP274199608ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2021-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN582005976EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA ATBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2GREENSBORO INVESTMENT FUND INCBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlUNIVBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone3363344079PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 26170AddressLine1Txt
CityGREENSBOROCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP27402ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonROBERT J SHEA JRPersonNm
Person TitleTREASURERPersonTitleTxt
Phone3363445200PhoneNum
Signature2022-11-15SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstROBERTPersonFirstNm
Person LastSHEA JRPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonJOHN M ROBINSONPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01281319PTIN
Phone3362944494PhoneNum
Preparation2022-11-15PreparationDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer3TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2021TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerROBERT J SHEA JRPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line11201 SPRING GARDEN STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityGREENSBOROCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP27412ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$22,759,163GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressN/AWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1992FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNCLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTO ACCEPT THE TRANSFER OF ASSETS FROM THE UNCG ENDOWMENT FUND AND THE AFFILIATED FOUNDATIONS, WHICH BENEFIT THE UNIVERSITY, AND TO MANAGE THE INVESTMENT OF THOSE ASSETS.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body11VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers9TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI-$132,027TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$0PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$0CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$6,135,849PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$11,061,081CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$8,820,711PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$11,698,082CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$14,956,560PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$22,759,163CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$0PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$0CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$18,829,650PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$17,898,517CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$18,829,650PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$17,898,517CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$3,873,090PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$4,860,646CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$393,074,715TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$369,290,686TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$465,081TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$650,891TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$392,609,634NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$368,639,795NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTO ACCEPT THE TRANSFER OF ASSETS FROM THE UNCG ENDOWMENT FUND AND THE AFFILIATED FOUNDATIONS, WHICH BENEFIT THE UNIVERSITY, AND TO MANAGE THE INVESTMENT OF THOSE ASSETS.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$16,020,701ExpenseAmt
Revenue$11,698,082RevenueAmt
DescBENEFIT UNCG BY MAKING INVESTMENTS FOR RELATED ENTITY ENDOWMENTS. INVESTMENT LOSS WAS 7% FOR THE FISCAL YEAR. ENDOWMENT SPENDING IS BASED ON A THREE YEAR AVERAGE AND IS USED FOR SCHOLARSHIPS, PROFESSORSHIPS, AND DEPARTMENTAL SPENDING. DISTRIBUTIONS WERE: UNCG ENDOWMENT $9,211,755UNCG EXCELLENCE FOUNDATION 6,778,472UNCG CAMPUS MINISTRIES 30,474Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$16,020,701TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B Required0ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building Equipment0ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other Liabilities0ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 Footnote0IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (1)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document1IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members11GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEO0CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process Other0CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonROBERT J SHEA JRPersonNm
Phone3363345200PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1254 MOSSMAN BUILDINGAddressLine1Txt
CityGREENSBOROCityNm
State AbbreviationNCStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP27412ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (11 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRt
CHARLES KING
PRESIDENT1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBERT J SHEA JR
TREASURER0.10Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$276,849$60,70439.90
DR ADAM AIKEN
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SAM CONE
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
HUBERT HUMPHREY
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RANDALL KAPLAN
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BILLY NUTT
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BETSY OAKLEY
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DALE PHIPPS
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
VERNON WINTERS
DIRECTOR1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
FRANKLIN GILLIAM
DIRECTOR0.10Yes (X)$0$489,568$69,14639.90
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$0TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$766,417TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$129,850TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K0IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp

Contractor Name ContractorName

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CAMBRIDGE ASSOCIATES CAPITAL MANAGEMENTBusinessNameLine1Txt

Contractor Address ContractorAddress

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1125 HIGH STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityBOSTONCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP021102112ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ServicesINVESTMENT MANAGEMENTServicesDesc
Compensation$1,185,628CompensationAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K1CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$799,737TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue-$132,027UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$931,764ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$10,261,344SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$0SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$10,261,344SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$10,261,344TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$10,261,344ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescPARTICIPANT CONTRIBUTIONSDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$11,698,082TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$11,698,082RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$11,698,082OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$22,759,163TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$11,698,082RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue-$132,027UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$11,193,108ExclusionAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,185,628TotalAmt
Management And General$1,185,628ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (2 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
PARTICIPANT DISTRIBUTIO$16,020,701$16,020,701
MANAGEMENT EXPENSES$692,188$692,188

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$17,898,517TotalAmt
Program Services$16,020,701ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,877,816ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$465,081BOYAmt
EOY$650,890EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$392,609,634BOYAmt
EOY$368,639,796EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$393,074,715BOYAmt
EOY$369,290,686EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$465,081BOYAmt
EOY$650,891EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$465,081BOYAmt
EOY$650,891EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$392,609,634BOYAmt
EOY$368,639,795EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$392,609,634BOYAmt
EOY$368,639,795EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$393,074,715BOYAmt
EOY$369,290,686EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$4,860,646ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst-$28,830,485NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consol And Sep Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolAndSepBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Supporting Organization509a3Yes (X)SupportingOrganization509a3Ind
Supporting Org Type1Yes (X)SupportingOrgType1Ind
Supported Organizations1SupportedOrganizationsCnt

Supported Org Information SupportedOrgInformationGrp

Supported Organization Name SupportedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1UNCGBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN566001468EIN
Organization Type6OrganizationTypeCd
Governing Document ListedYes (1)GoverningDocumentListedInd
Support$4,222,617SupportAmt
Other Support$0OtherSupportAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Supported Organizations Total1SupportedOrganizationsTotalCnt
Support Sum$4,222,617SupportSumAmt
Other Support Sum$0OtherSupportSumAmt

Form990 Sch A Supporting Org Form990SchASupportingOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Listed By Name Governing DocYes (1)ListedByNameGoverningDocInd
Suprt Org No IRS Determination0SuprtOrgNoIRSDeterminationInd
Supported Org Section C4560SupportedOrgSectionC456Ind
Supported Org Not Organized US0SupportedOrgNotOrganizedUSInd
Organization Change Suprt Org0OrganizationChangeSuprtOrgInd
Support Non Supported Org0SupportNonSupportedOrgInd
Payment Substantial Contribtr0PaymentSubstantialContribtrInd
Loan Disqualified Person0LoanDisqualifiedPersonInd
Controlled Disqualified Prsn0ControlledDisqualifiedPrsnInd
Disqualified Prsn Controll Int0DisqualifiedPrsnControllIntInd
Disqualified Prsn Ownr Int0DisqualifiedPrsnOwnrIntInd
Excess Business Holdings Rules0ExcessBusinessHoldingsRulesInd
Contribution Controller0ContributionControllerInd
Contribution Family0ContributionFamilyInd
Contribution35 Controlled0Contribution35ControlledInd

Form990 Sch A Type1 Suprt Org Form990SchAType1SuprtOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Power Appoint Majority Dir TrstYes (1)PowerAppointMajorityDirTrstInd
Operate Benefit Non Suprt Org0OperateBenefitNonSuprtOrgInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$0TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescINVESTMENTS IN PARTNERSHIPSDesc
Book Value$368,639,796BookValueAmt
Method ValuationFMethodValuationCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$368,639,796TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt-$6,071,322TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst-$28,830,485NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$28,830,485RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$22,759,163RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$22,759,163TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$17,898,517TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$17,898,517ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$17,898,517TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (2 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
FRANKLIN GILLIAM
DIRECTOR$0$478,768$0$10,800$0$0$0$62,872$0$6,274$0$558,714$0$0
ROBERT J SHEA JR
TREASURER$0$276,369$0$480$0$0$0$60,704$0$0$0$337,553$0$0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (5 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE BOARD WAS PROVIDED AN ELECTRONIC COPY OF THE FORM 990. THEIR QUESTIONS AND FEEDBACK WERE SOLICITED PRIOR TO IT BEING FILED.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CCONFLICT OF INTEREST DISCLOSURES ARE REQUESTED ON AN ANNUAL BASIS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE FUND HAS NO EMPLOYEES AND, AS SUCH, DOES NOT HAVE COMPENSATION POLICIES. UNCG, A RELATED PARTY, PAYS THE COMPENSATION SHOWN ON PART VII AND DOES HAVE COMPENSATION REVIEW POLICIES IN PLACE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE ORGANIZATION MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990 PART XII 2COVERSIGHT AND/OR SELECTION PROCESS HAS NOT CHANGED FROM PRIOR YEAR.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (4 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdExempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxtPublic Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
UNCG EXCELLENCE FOUNDATION
1201 SPRING GARDEN STREETGREENSBORONC27412566086393FUNDRAISINGNC501(C)(3)LINE 12B, IITHE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT GREENSBORO0
THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT GREENSBORO
1201 SPRING GARDEN STREETGREENSBORONC27412566001468EDUCATIONNCGOVERNMENTAL0
THE UNIV OF NC AT GREENSBORO WEATHERSPOON ARTS FOUNDATION INC
1201 SPRING GARDEN STREETGREENSBORONC27412581852178FUNDRAISINGNC501(C)(3)LINE 5THE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT GREENSBORO0
CAPITAL FACILITIES FOUNDATION INC
1201 SPRING GARDEN STREETGREENSBORONC27412202483538BUILDING SUPPORTNC501(C)(3)LINE 12B, IITHE UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT GREENSBORO0

Id Related Org Txbl Partnership IdRelatedOrgTxblPartnershipGrp

Related Organization Name RelatedOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1UNCG ENDOWMENT PARTNERS LPBusinessNameLine1Txt

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1C/O CAMBRIDGE ASSOCIATES 125 HIGH SAddressLine1Txt
CityBOSTONCityNm
State AbbreviationMAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP021102112ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN463173363EIN
Primary ActivitiesINVESTMENTPrimaryActivitiesTxt
Legal Domicile StateMALegalDomicileStateCd
Direct Controlling NAN/ADirectControllingNACd
Predominant Income TypeINVESTMENTPredominantIncomeTypeTxt
Share Of Total Income$36,366,085ShareOfTotalIncomeAmt
Share Of EOY Assets$330,773,805ShareOfEOYAssetsAmt
Disproportionate Allocations0DisproportionateAllocationsInd
UBI Code V-$132,027UBICodeVAmt
General Or Managing Partner0GeneralOrManagingPartnerInd
Ownership0.99990OwnershipPct
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts0ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org0GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgYes (1)GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org0LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org0LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related Organization0DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other Org0AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other Org0AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset Exchange0AssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org0RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org0RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth Org0PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other Org0PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesYes (1)SharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingYes (1)PaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgYes (1)ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other Org0ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgYes (1)TransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgYes (1)TransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp (3 entries)

Transaction TypeTransactionTypeTxtInvolvedInvolvedAmtMethod Of Amount DeterminationMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt
UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT GREENSBORO
R$9,211,755CASH PAID
UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT GREENSBORO
S$4,989,138CASH PAID
UNIVERSITY OF NORTH CAROLINA AT GREENSBORO
P$28,800CASH PAID

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.