CMS ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC: Form 990, tax year 2021

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
CMS ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INC (EIN 48-0500268)
Tax period
2021-01-01 to 2021-12-31
Filed
2022-11-11
IRS object ID
202243159349306569
Schema version
2021v4.2
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-11-11T15:39:27-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-12-31TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1FORVIS LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 3667AddressLine1Txt
CityLITTLE ROCKCityNm
State AbbreviationARStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP722033667ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2021-01-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN480500268EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1CMS ELECTRIC COOPERATIVE INCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% KIRK A THOMPSONInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlCMSEBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone6208732184PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 790AddressLine1Txt
CityMEADECityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP67864ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonKIRK THOMPSONPersonNm
Person TitleGENERAL MANAGERPersonTitleTxt
Phone6208732184PhoneNum
Signature2022-11-07SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstKIRKPersonFirstNm
Person LastTHOMPSONPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN000000000SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonAMBER SHERRILLPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00748683PTIN
Phone5013721040PhoneNum

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2021TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerKIRK A THOMPSONPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1PO BOX 790AddressLine1Txt
CityMEADECityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP67864ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$24,780,424GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501cYes (X)Organization501cInd
Website AddressWWW.CMSELECTRIC.COMWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1945FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateKSLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionDISTRIBUTION OF ELECTRICITYActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body9VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent9VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee40TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers0TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$97,658TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$0PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$0CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$21,771,529PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$24,616,130CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$111,972PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$131,193CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$18,292PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$7,070CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$21,901,793PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$24,754,393CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$2,156,983PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$2,152,024CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$20,672,041PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$23,295,820CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$22,829,024PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$25,447,844CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$927,231PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$693,451CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$74,194,461TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$75,254,250TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$58,743,633TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$60,867,588TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$15,450,828NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$14,386,662NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionDISTRIBUTION OF ELECTRICITYMissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
DescDISTRIBUTION OF ELECTRICITYDesc
Described In Section501c3falseDescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredfalseScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsfalseDonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstYes (true)ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnotefalseIncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtfalseIndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingfalseSchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesfalseForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsfalseGrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsfalseTaxExemptBondsInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityYes (true)RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntYes (true)RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Transaction With Control EntfalseTransactionWithControlEntInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document16IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee40EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (true)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (true)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Members And Shr Gross Income$24,309,837MembersAndShrGrossIncomeAmt
Other Sources Gross Income$470,582OtherSourcesGrossIncomeAmt
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members9GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member9IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersYes (true)MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (true)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovaYes (true)DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyfalseWhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherfalseCompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldKSStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldOKStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonKIRK A THOMPSONPersonNm
Phone6208732184PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1509 E CARTHAGEAddressLine1Txt
CityMEADECityNm
State AbbreviationKSStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP678640082ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part VIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIIInd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (15 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeIndIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd
KIRK A THOMPSON
GENERAL MANAGER-CEO50.00.0Yes (X)$728,134$0$140,555
RUSSELL E BLEHM
OPERATIONS MANAGER45.00.0$271,186$0$95,096Yes (X)
CHARLES A MARTIN
OFFICE MANAGER45.00.0$159,216$0$71,571Yes (X)
KENT E DAVIS
DISTRICT MANAGER-MEADE40.00.0$155,522$0$69,675Yes (X)
MICHAEL G BUSHNELL
DISTRIC MANAGER-COLDWATER40.00.0$137,359$0$65,815Yes (X)
KEVIN WIENS
CREW CHIEF40.00.0$121,143$0$55,975Yes (X)
LINDA TOMLINSON
SECRETARY-TREASURER8.00.0Yes (X)$8,800$0$0Yes (X)
DONALD NIGHSWONGER
TRUSTEE5.00.0$4,600$0$0Yes (X)
GARY WARDEN
TRUSTEE5.00.0$4,450$0$0Yes (X)
KEITH RANDALL
TRUSTEE5.00.0$4,300$0$0Yes (X)
RONALD OLIVER
PRESIDENT8.00.0Yes (X)$3,700$0$0Yes (X)
JAMES W MCKINNEY
TRUSTEE5.00.0$3,700$0$0Yes (X)
MICHAEL JOHNSON
VICE PRESIDENT5.00.0Yes (X)$3,400$0$0Yes (X)
JOE MURPHY
TRUSTEE5.00.0$2,500$0$0Yes (X)
ROCK ORMISTON
TRUSTEE5.00.0$2,200$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,610,210TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$498,687TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K10IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
MAIN ELECTRIC LTD
1115 N ERIE AVEPUEBLOCO81001LINE CONTRACTOR$1,639,798
J AND J POWERLINE CONTRACTORS
PO BOX 861DODGE CITYKS67801LINE CONTRACTOR$1,254,029
SOLIDA TREE SERVICE
PO BOX 421PHILLIPSBURGKS67661RIGHT OF WAY$126,751
ELECTRICOMM INC
PO BOX 8324TOPEKAKS66608ENGINEERING$1,205,848
KEPCO SERVICES INC
PO BOX 4877TOPEKAKS66608ENGINEERING$169,367
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K6CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Total Contributions$0TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
ELECTRIC SALES221000$24,309,838$24,309,838
CAPITAL CREDITS221000$306,292$306,292
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$24,616,130TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$106,893TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$97,658UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$9,235ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$50,331OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$26,031OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other$24,300OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$24,300TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$24,300ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$0FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$0FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gaming Gross Income$0GamingGrossIncomeAmt
Gaming Direct Expenses$0GamingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$0GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$0CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescAll Other Misc RevenueDesc
Business990009BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$7,070TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$7,070ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$7,070OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$24,754,393TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$24,616,130RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$97,658UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$40,605ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$902,339TotalAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,249,685TotalAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$26,854TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$82,381TotalAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,138,169TotalAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,426,340TotalAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$25,907TotalAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmt
PURCHASED POWER$13,990,484
OPERATIONS EXPENSE$2,160,509
MAINTENANCE EXPENSE$1,377,889
ADMINISTRATIVE AND GENERAL$655,797

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$411,490TotalAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$25,447,844TotalAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,167,533BOYAmt
EOY$1,100,260EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,711,221BOYAmt
EOY$4,644,121EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,398,196BOYAmt
EOY$1,585,289EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$119,161BOYAmt
EOY$72,685EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$84,339,141LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$27,741,153LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$54,960,621BOYAmt
EOY$56,597,988EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,764,750BOYAmt
EOY$10,693,020EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,072,979BOYAmt
EOY$560,887EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$74,194,461BOYAmt
EOY$75,254,250EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,297,922BOYAmt
EOY$4,382,434EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$52,417,721BOYAmt
EOY$55,017,642EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$27,990BOYAmt
EOY$1,467,512EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$58,743,633BOYAmt
EOY$60,867,588EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Org Does Not Follow FASB117Yes (X)OrgDoesNotFollowFASB117Ind

Cap Stk Tr Prin Current Funds CapStkTrPrinCurrentFundsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Pd In Cap Srpls Land Bldg Eqp Fund PdInCapSrplsLandBldgEqpFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rtn Earn Endowment Incm Oth Fnds RtnEarnEndowmentIncmOthFndsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,450,828BOYAmt
EOY$14,386,662EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,450,828BOYAmt
EOY$14,386,662EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$74,194,461BOYAmt
EOY$75,254,250EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$693,451ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$370,715OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Art Public Exhibition AmountsArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt FundCYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt FundCYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$469,862OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$469,862BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$6,146,202OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,377,660DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,768,542BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$0OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$0InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$52,204,583OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$21,660,945DepreciationAmt
Book Value$30,543,638BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$25,518,494OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$3,702,548DepreciationAmt
Book Value$21,815,946BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$56,597,988TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescINVESTMENT IN ASSOCIATESDesc
Book Value$6,125,217BookValueAmt
Method ValuationCMethodValuationCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Program Rltd$10,693,020TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
DEFERRED CREDITS$27,990
POWER COST ADJUSTMENT$1,439,522
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$1,467,512TotalLiabilityAmt
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$24,523,416TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue-$136,251OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported-$136,251RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$24,659,667RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$94,726OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$94,726RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$24,754,393TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$25,353,118TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Subtotal$25,353,118ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$94,726OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$94,726ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$25,447,844TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, SCHEDULE D, PART X, LINE 2MANAGEMENT HAS EVALUATED THEIR INCOME TAX POSITIONS UNDER THE GUIDANCE INCLUDED IN ASC 740. BASED ON THEIR REVIEW, MANAGEMENT HAS NO IDENTIFIED ANY MATERIAL TAX POSITIONS TO BE DISCLOSED OR REPORTED IN THEIR FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.
FORM 990, SCHEDULE D, PART XI, LINE 2DLOSS FROM OPERATIONS OF AFFILIATES FILING SEPARATE CORPORATE RETURNS ($136,251)
FORM 990, SCHEDULE D, PART XI, LINE 4BG & T CAPITAL CREDITS 94,726
FORM 990, SCHEDULE D, PART XII, LINE 4BG & T CAPITAL CREDITS 94,726

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (6 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
KIRK A THOMPSON
GENERAL MANAGER-CEO$727,661$0$0$0$473$0$105,206$0$35,349$0$868,689$0$0$0
CHARLES A MARTIN
OFFICE MANAGER$159,216$0$0$0$0$0$39,029$0$32,542$0$230,787$0$0$0
RUSSELL E BLEHM
OPERATIONS MANAGER$269,665$0$0$0$1,521$0$63,954$0$31,142$0$366,282$0$0$0
KENT E DAVIS
DISTRICT MANAGER-MEADE$155,299$0$0$0$223$0$37,149$0$32,526$0$225,197$0$0$0
MICHAEL G BUSHNELL
DISTRIC MANAGER-COLDWATER$137,359$0$0$0$0$0$33,655$0$32,160$0$203,174$0$0$0
KEVIN WIENS
CREW CHIEF$120,649$0$0$0$494$0$24,418$0$31,557$0$177,118$0$0$0

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 6THE ORGANIZATION'S MEMBERS PURCHASE ELECTRIC ENERGY FROM THE COOPERATIVE. EACH MEMBER IS ENTITLED TO ONE VOTE. CHANGES TO THE ARTICLES OF INCORPORATION AND BYLAWS REQUIRE A MAJORITY VOTE BY THE MEMBERS. IN ADDITION, THE MEMBERS ANNUALLY HOLD A MEETING TO ELECT TRUSTEES, TO PASS REPORTS FOR THE PREVIOUS FISCAL YEAR, AND TO TRANSACT OTHER BUSINESS THAT MAY COME BEFORE THE MEETING. UPON DISSOLUTION OF THE COOPERATIVE, AFTER ALL DEBTS AND LIABILITIES HAVE BEEN PAID AND ALL CAPITAL FURNISHED THROUGH PATRONAGE HAS BEEN RETIRED, THE REMAINING PROPERTY AND ASSETS OF THE COOPERATIVE SHALL BE DISTRIBUTED AMONG THE MEMBERS AND FORMER MEMBERS IN PROPORTION TO THEIR PATRONAGE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7AALL MEMBERS OF THE COOPERATIVE ELECT THE NINE BOARD MEMBERS AT THE ANNUAL MEETING HELD IN THE SECOND QUARTER OF EACH YEAR. THREE BOARD MEMBERS ARE ELECTED OR RE-ELECTED EACH YEAR.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 7BTHE ELECTION OF THE GOVERNING BODY EACH YEAR
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BTHE 990 IS PREPARED BY AN OUTSIDE ACCOUNTING FIRM AND IS THEN REVIEWED INTERNALLY BY MANAGEMENT PRIOR TO FILING WITH THE IRS.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12COFFICERS, DIRECTORS, AND KEY EMPLOYEES ARE REQUIRED TO DISCLOSE ANNUALLY INTERESTS THAT COULD GIVE RISE TO CONFLICTS. IF THE ORGANIZATION'S BUSINESS DIRECTLY AFFECTS PERSONAL INTEREST OF A BOARD MEMBER, THEN THE MEMBER IS ASKED TO STEP OUT OF THE PORTION OF THE MEETING DURING WHICH THE BUSINESS IS CONDUCTED.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15ATHE EXECUTIVE'S COMPENSATION IS REVIEWED IN MAY OF EACH YEAR BY THE BOARD. THE REVIEW IS DOCUMENTED IN THE BOARD MINUTES. THE ORGANIZATION USES THE NRECA COMPENSATION GUIDE TO COMPARE THE EXECUTIVE'S COMPENSATION TO OTHER COMPARABLE COOPERATIVES OF SIMILAR SIZE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19THE ORGANIZATION MAKES ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS, CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST AND AT THE ANNUAL BOARD MEETING.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9Credit Refunds ($234,449) Decrease in Membership Fees ($15) LOSS IN OPERATIONS OF AFFILIATES ($136,251) ------------------------------------------------ Total ($370,715)

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Related Org Txbl Corp Tr IdRelatedOrgTxblCorpTrGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1TxtEntity TypeEntityTypeTxtShare Of Total IncomeShareOfTotalIncomeAmtShare Of EOY AssetsShareOfEOYAssetsAmtOwnershipOwnershipPctControlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd
CMS SERVICES INC
PO BOX 740MEADEKS67864481221386SERVICESKSCMS ELEC COOPC-CORP$83,291$530,4561.00000Yes (true)
HIGH PLAINS ENERGY LLC
PO BOX 1113GARDEN CITYKS67846481219133PROPANEKSCMS ELEC COOPC-CORP$131,118$629,5141.00000Yes (true)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts RyltsYes (true)ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd
Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd
Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth OrgfalseGiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees To Other OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd
Loans Or Guarantees From Oth OrgfalseLoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd
Div Related OrganizationYes (true)DivRelatedOrganizationInd
Asset Sale To Other OrgfalseAssetSaleToOtherOrgInd
Asset Purchase From Other OrgfalseAssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd
Asset ExchangefalseAssetExchangeInd
Rental Of Facilities To Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd
Rental Of Fclts From Oth OrgfalseRentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services For Oth OrgfalsePerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd
Perform Of Services By Other OrgfalsePerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd
Sharing Of FacilitiesfalseSharingOfFacilitiesInd
Paid Employees SharingfalsePaidEmployeesSharingInd
Reimbursement Paid To Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd
Reimbursement Paid By Other OrgfalseReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd
Transfer To Other OrgfalseTransferToOtherOrgInd
Transfer From Other OrgfalseTransferFromOtherOrgInd

Transactions Related Org TransactionsRelatedOrgGrp

Other Organization Name OtherOrganizationName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1HIGH PLAINS ENERGY LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Transaction TypeATransactionTypeTxt
Involved$97,658InvolvedAmt
Method Of Amount DeterminationFMVMethodOfAmountDeterminationTxt

Comments

Anonymous: no account or email. Up to 2,000 characters, at most one link. Comments are checked automatically; some wait for review.