1693 PARTNERS FUND: Form 990, tax year 2020
View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗
- Organization
- 1693 PARTNERS FUND (EIN 84-3505125)
- Tax period
- 2020-07-01 to 2021-06-30
- Filed
- 2022-05-11
- IRS object ID
- 202211319349303536
- Schema version
- 2020v4.0
- Source
- Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica
Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.
Return header ReturnHeader
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return | 2022-05-11T12:30:40-05:00 | ReturnTs |
| Tax Period End | 2021-06-30 | TaxPeriodEndDt |
Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Firm EIN | 861065772 | PreparerFirmEIN |
Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | DELOITTE TAX LLP | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 7900 TYSONS ONE PLACE SUITE 800 | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | MCLEAN | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | VA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 22102 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Return Type | 990 | ReturnTypeCd |
| Tax Period Begin | 2020-07-01 | TaxPeriodBeginDt |
Filer Filer
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EIN | 843505125 | EIN |
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | 1693 Partners Fund | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Control | 1693 | BusinessNameControlTxt |
| Phone | 7572211906 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 5300 Discovery Park Blvd 3RD FLOOR | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Williamsburg | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | VA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 231882695 | ZIPCd |
Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person | WILLIAM D COPAN JR | PersonNm |
| Person Title | COO | PersonTitleTxt |
| Signature | 2022-05-11 | SignatureDt |
| Discuss With Paid Preparer | Yes (true) | DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd |
Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp
Person Full Name PersonFullName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Person First | WILLIAM D COPAN | PersonFirstNm |
| Person Last | JR | PersonLastNm |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| SSN | 999009999 | SSN |
Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Preparer Person | JOHN W SADOFF JR | PreparerPersonNm |
| PTIN | P00540589 | PTIN |
| Phone | 7032511000 | PhoneNum |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Tax | 2020 | TaxYr |
| Build TS | 2022-09-23 18:48:47Z | BuildTS |
Form 990 IRS990
Principal Ofcr Business Name PrincipalOfcrBusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | William D Copan JR | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 5300 Discovery Park Blvd 3RD FLOOR | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | Williamsburg | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | VA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 231882695 | ZIPCd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Gross Receipts | $103,678,163 | GrossReceiptsAmt |
| Group Return For Affiliates | false | GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd |
| Organization501c3 | Yes (X) | Organization501c3Ind |
| Website Address | NONE | WebsiteAddressTxt |
| Type Of Organization Corp | Yes (X) | TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd |
| Formation | 2019 | FormationYr |
| Legal Domicile State | VA | LegalDomicileStateCd |
| Activity Or Mission | INVEST ENDOWMENT ASSETS SUPPORTING THE COLLEGE OF WILLIAM & MARY AND ITS AFFILATED ORGANIZATIONS. | ActivityOrMissionDesc |
| Voting Members Governing Body | 11 | VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt |
| Voting Members Independent | 11 | VotingMembersIndependentCnt |
| Total Employee | 0 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Volunteers | 19 | TotalVolunteersCnt |
| Total Gross UBI | -$460 | TotalGrossUBIAmt |
| Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm | $0 | NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt |
| PY Contributions Grants | $0 | PYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| CY Contributions Grants | $0 | CYContributionsGrantsAmt |
| PY Program Service Revenue | $0 | PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| CY Program Service Revenue | $0 | CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
| PY Investment Income | $0 | PYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| CY Investment Income | $38,706,072 | CYInvestmentIncomeAmt |
| PY Other Revenue | $0 | PYOtherRevenueAmt |
| CY Other Revenue | $0 | CYOtherRevenueAmt |
| PY Total Revenue | $0 | PYTotalRevenueAmt |
| CY Total Revenue | $38,706,072 | CYTotalRevenueAmt |
| PY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Grants And Similar Paid | $0 | CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt |
| CY Benefits Paid To Members | $0 | CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt |
| PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $0 | PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid | $0 | CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt |
| PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns | $0 | CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt |
| CY Total Fundraising Expense | $0 | CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt |
| PY Other Expenses | $0 | PYOtherExpensesAmt |
| CY Other Expenses | $2,389,794 | CYOtherExpensesAmt |
| PY Total Expenses | $0 | PYTotalExpensesAmt |
| CY Total Expenses | $2,389,794 | CYTotalExpensesAmt |
| PY Revenues Less Expenses | $0 | PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| CY Revenues Less Expenses | $36,316,278 | CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt |
| Total Assets BOY | $0 | TotalAssetsBOYAmt |
| Total Assets EOY | $943,135,079 | TotalAssetsEOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities BOY | $0 | TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt |
| Total Liabilities EOY | $459,749 | TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY | $0 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt |
| Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY | $942,675,330 | NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt |
| Info In Schedule O Part III | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd |
| Mission | INVEST ENDOWMENT ASSETS SUPPORTING THE COLLEGE OF WILLIAM & MARY AND ITS AFFILATED ORGANIZATIONS. | MissionDesc |
| Significant New Program Srvc | Yes (true) | SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd |
| Significant Change | false | SignificantChangeInd |
| Expense | $2,389,794 | ExpenseAmt |
| Grant | $0 | GrantAmt |
| Revenue | $0 | RevenueAmt |
| Desc | INVEST ENDOWMENT ASSETS SUPPORTING THE COLLEGE OF WILLIAM & MARY AND ITS AFFILIATED ORGANIZATIONS | Desc |
| Total Program Service Expenses | $2,389,794 | TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt |
| Described In Section501c3 | Yes (true) | DescribedInSection501c3Ind |
| Schedule B Required | false | ScheduleBRequiredInd |
| Political Campaign Acty | false | PoliticalCampaignActyInd |
| Lobbying Activities | false | LobbyingActivitiesInd |
| Donor Advised Fund | false | DonorAdvisedFundInd |
| Conservation Easements | false | ConservationEasementsInd |
| Collections Of Art | false | CollectionsOfArtInd |
| Credit Counseling | false | CreditCounselingInd |
| Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments | Yes (true) | DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd |
| Report Land Building Equipment | false | ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd |
| Report Investments Other Sec | false | ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd |
| Report Program Related Invst | Yes (true) | ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd |
| Report Other Assets | false | ReportOtherAssetsInd |
| Report Other Liabilities | false | ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd |
| Include FIN48 Footnote | Yes (true) | IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd |
| Independent Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (true) | IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd |
| Consolidated Audit Fincl Stmt | Yes (true) | ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd |
| School Operating | false | SchoolOperatingInd |
| Foreign Office | false | ForeignOfficeInd |
| Foreign Activities | Yes (true) | ForeignActivitiesInd |
| More Than5000 K To Org | false | MoreThan5000KToOrgInd |
| More Than5000 K To Individuals | false | MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd |
| Professional Fundraising | false | ProfessionalFundraisingInd |
| Fundraising Activities | false | FundraisingActivitiesInd |
| Gaming Activities | false | GamingActivitiesInd |
| Operate Hospital | false | OperateHospitalInd |
| Grants To Organizations | false | GrantsToOrganizationsInd |
| Grants To Individuals | false | GrantsToIndividualsInd |
| Schedule J Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleJRequiredInd |
| Tax Exempt Bonds | false | TaxExemptBondsInd |
| Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans | false | EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd |
| PY Excess Benefit Trans | false | PYExcessBenefitTransInd |
| Loan Outstanding | false | LoanOutstandingInd |
| Grant To Related Person | false | GrantToRelatedPersonInd |
| Business Rln With Org Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd |
| Business Rln With Fam Mem | false | BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd |
| Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent | false | BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd |
| Deductible Non Cash Contri | false | DeductibleNonCashContriInd |
| Deductible Art Contribution | false | DeductibleArtContributionInd |
| Terminate Operations | false | TerminateOperationsInd |
| Partial Liquidation | false | PartialLiquidationInd |
| Disregarded Entity | false | DisregardedEntityInd |
| Related Entity | Yes (true) | RelatedEntityInd |
| Related Organization Ctrl Ent | false | RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd |
| Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org | false | TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd |
| Activities Conducted Prtshp | false | ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd |
| Schedule O Required | Yes (true) | ScheduleORequiredInd |
| IRP Document | 0 | IRPDocumentCnt |
| IRP Document W2 G | 0 | IRPDocumentW2GCnt |
| Employee | 0 | EmployeeCnt |
| Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit | false | UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd |
| Foreign Financial Account | false | ForeignFinancialAccountInd |
| Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans | false | ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd |
| Taxable Party Notification | false | TaxablePartyNotificationInd |
| Nondeductible Contributions | false | NondeductibleContributionsInd |
| Quid Pro Quo Contributions | false | QuidProQuoContributionsInd |
| Form8282 Property Disposed Of | false | Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd |
| Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | false | RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct | false | PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd |
| Indoor Tanning Services | false | IndoorTanningServicesInd |
| Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt | false | SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd |
| Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc | false | SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd |
| Info In Schedule O Part VI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd |
| Governing Body Voting Members | 11 | GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt |
| Independent Voting Member | 11 | IndependentVotingMemberCnt |
| Family Or Business Rln | false | FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd |
| Delegation Of Mgmt Duties | false | DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd |
| Change To Org Documents | Yes (true) | ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd |
| Material Diversion Or Misuse | false | MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd |
| Members Or Stockholders | false | MembersOrStockholdersInd |
| Election Of Board Members | false | ElectionOfBoardMembersInd |
| Decisions Subject To Approva | false | DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd |
| Minutes Of Governing Body | Yes (true) | MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd |
| Minutes Of Committees | Yes (true) | MinutesOfCommitteesInd |
| Officer Mailing Address | false | OfficerMailingAddressInd |
| Local Chapters | false | LocalChaptersInd |
| Form990 Provided To Gvrn Body | Yes (true) | Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd |
| Conflict Of Interest Policy | Yes (true) | ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd |
| Annual Disclosure Covered Prsn | Yes (true) | AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd |
| Regular Monitoring Enfrc | Yes (true) | RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd |
| Whistleblower Policy | Yes (true) | WhistleblowerPolicyInd |
| Document Retention Policy | Yes (true) | DocumentRetentionPolicyInd |
| Compensation Process CEO | false | CompensationProcessCEOInd |
| Compensation Process Other | false | CompensationProcessOtherInd |
| Investment In Joint Venture | false | InvestmentInJointVentureInd |
| Upon Request | Yes (X) | UponRequestInd |
Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail
Business Name BusinessName
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Business Name Line1 | KARYN TANCREDI | BusinessNameLine1Txt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Phone | 7572212744 | PhoneNum |
US Address USAddress
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Address Line1 | 5300 DISCOVERY PARK BOULEVARD | AddressLine1Txt |
| City | WILLIAMSBURG | CityNm |
| State Abbreviation | VA | StateAbbreviationCd |
| ZIP | 231882695 | ZIPCd |
Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (23 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Average Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRt | Average Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRt | Individual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorInd | OfficerOfficerInd | Reportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmt | Reportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmt | Other CompensationOtherCompensationAmt | Key EmployeeKeyEmployeeInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ANDREW W HORROCKS | ||||||||
| TREASURER/TRUSTEE | 1.0 | 1.0 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| CLIFFORD B FLEET III | ||||||||
| VICE CHAIR/TRUSTEE (TERM ENDED DECEMBER 15 2020) | 1.0 | 1.0 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| ELIZABETH CABELL JENNINGS | ||||||||
| CHAIR/TRUSTEE | 1.0 | 1.0 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| JILL MARIE LORD | ||||||||
| SECRETARY/TRUSTEE (TERM ENDED DECEMBER 15 2020) | 1.0 | 1.0 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| JODY W FORSYTH | ||||||||
| VICE CHAIR/TRUSTEE | 1.0 | 1.0 | Yes (X) | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | |
| BROOKE TRIBLE WEINMANN | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (TERM ENDED DECEMBER 15 2020) | 1.0 | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| DARPAN SUBHASH KAPADIA | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (TERM BEGAN DECEMBER 15 2020) | 1.0 | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| DAVID J JALLITS | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (TERM BEGAN DECEMBER 15 2020) | 1.0 | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| DAVID N KELLEY | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (TERM ENDED DECEMBER 15 2020) | 1.0 | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| DAVID R COVIN | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (TERM BEGAN DECEMBER 15 2020) | 1.0 | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| J SCOTT PERKINS | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (TERM BEGAN DECEMBER 15 2020) | 1.0 | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| JANET R ATWATER | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (TERM ENDED DECEMBER 15 2020) | 1.0 | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| KARIM HK AHAMED | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (TERM BEGAN DECEMBER 15 2020) | 1.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| KEVIN M O'NEILL | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (TERM BEGAN DECEMBER 15 2020) | 1.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| KEVIN M PHILLIPS | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (TERM ENDED DECEMBER 15 2020) | 1.0 | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| MICHAEL K POWELL | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE | 1.0 | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| MICHAEL P FORADAS | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (TERM ENDED DECEMBER 15 2020) | 1.0 | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| PAUL R ECKERT | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (TERM BEGAN MAY 25 2021) | 1.0 | 0.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| RAELENE C WAGONER | ||||||||
| TRUSTEE (TERM ENDED DECEMBER 15 2020) | 1.0 | 1.0 | Yes (X) | $0 | $0 | $0 | ||
| AMY S SEBRING | ||||||||
| SECRETARY/TREASURER | 1.0 | 15.5 | Yes (X) | $326,267 | $0 | $20,290 | ||
| WILLIAM D COPAN JR | ||||||||
| CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER/ASSISTANT TREASURER | 37.5 | 12.5 | Yes (X) | $184,671 | $0 | $6,572 | ||
| CATHERINE MOUNTJOY | ||||||||
| DIRECTOR OF INVESTMENTS | 40.0 | 5.0 | $375,301 | $0 | $14,019 | Yes (X) | ||
| F BRIAN HIESTAND | ||||||||
| CHIEF INVESTMENT OFFICER | 40.0 | 10.0 | $560,495 | $0 | $6,490 | Yes (X) | ||
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Reportable Comp From Org | $1,446,734 | TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt |
| Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org | $0 | TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt |
| Total Other Compensation | $47,371 | TotalOtherCompensationAmt |
| Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 4 | IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Former Ofcr Employees Listed | false | FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd |
| Total Comp Greater Than150 K | Yes (true) | TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd |
| Compensation From Other Srcs | Yes (true) | CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd |
Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (4 entries)
| Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | Address Line2ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine2Txt | CityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCd | ServicesServicesDesc | CompensationCompensationAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1693 Management Company LLC | ||||||
| 5300 Discovery Park | Boulevard | Williamsburg | VA | 231882695 | Professional Services | $1,242,684 |
| Shapiro Capital Management | ||||||
| 3060 Peachtree Road | Suite 1555 | Atlanta | GA | 30305 | Professional Services | $185,457 |
| William Blair & Company LLC | ||||||
| 150 North | Riverside Plaza | Chicago | IL | 60606 | Professional Services | $173,216 |
| Vulcan Value Partners LLC | ||||||
| Three Protective CTR 2801 HWY | 280 South Suite 300 | Birmingham | AL | 35223 | Professional Services | $116,788 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K | 4 | CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt |
| Total Contributions | $0 | TotalContributionsAmt |
Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $0 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $0 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Program Service Revenue | $0 | TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt |
Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $5,753,308 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | -$460 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $5,753,768 | ExclusionAmt |
Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Real | $0 | RealAmt |
| Personal | $0 | PersonalAmt |
Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $97,924,855 | SecuritiesAmt |
Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $64,972,091 | SecuritiesAmt |
Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Securities | $32,952,764 | SecuritiesAmt |
| Other | $0 | OtherAmt |
Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $32,952,764 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Exclusion | $32,952,764 | ExclusionAmt |
Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $0 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $0 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | $0 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $0 | ExclusionAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Other Revenue Total | $0 | OtherRevenueTotalAmt |
Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Revenue Column | $38,706,072 | TotalRevenueColumnAmt |
| Related Or Exempt Func Income | $0 | RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt |
| Unrelated Business Revenue | -$460 | UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt |
| Exclusion | $38,706,532 | ExclusionAmt |
Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $686,871 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $686,871 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $17,645 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $17,645 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $69,148 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $69,148 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $1,242,684 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $1,242,684 | ProgramServicesAmt |
Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $222,143 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $222,143 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $0 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (2 entries)
| DescDesc | TotalTotalAmt | Program ServicesProgramServicesAmt |
|---|---|---|
| Foreign Exchange Charges & Tax Expense | $76,162 | $76,162 |
| Foreign taxes witheld | $75,141 | $75,141 |
All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $0 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $0 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $0 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total | $2,389,794 | TotalAmt |
| Program Services | $2,389,794 | ProgramServicesAmt |
| Management And General | $0 | ManagementAndGeneralAmt |
| Fundraising | $0 | FundraisingAmt |
Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $113,277 | EOYAmt |
Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $31,929,978 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $2,824,802 | EOYAmt |
Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss | $0 | LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt |
| Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec | $0 | LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt |
Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $272,477,868 | EOYAmt |
Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $635,789,154 | EOYAmt |
Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $943,135,079 | EOYAmt |
Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $459,749 | EOYAmt |
Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $0 | EOYAmt |
Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $459,749 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Organization Follows FASB117 | Yes (X) | OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind |
No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| EOY | $942,675,330 | EOYAmt |
Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $942,675,330 | EOYAmt |
Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| BOY | $0 | BOYAmt |
| EOY | $943,135,079 | EOYAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Info In Schedule O Part XI | Yes (X) | InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd |
| Reconcilation Revenue Expnss | $36,316,278 | ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt |
| Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst | $61,560,917 | NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt |
| Other Changes In Net Assets | $844,798,135 | OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt |
| Method Of Accounting Accrual | Yes (X) | MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd |
| Accountant Compile Or Review | false | AccountantCompileOrReviewInd |
| FS Audited | Yes (true) | FSAuditedInd |
FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Consol And Sep Basis Fincl Stmt | Yes (X) | ConsolAndSepBasisFinclStmtInd |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Audit Committee | Yes (true) | AuditCommitteeInd |
| Federal Grant Audit Required | false | FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd |
Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Supporting Organization509a3 | Yes (X) | SupportingOrganization509a3Ind |
| Supporting Org Type1 | Yes (X) | SupportingOrgType1Ind |
| IRS Written Determination | Yes (X) | IRSWrittenDeterminationInd |
| Supported Organizations | 4 | SupportedOrganizationsCnt |
Supported Org Information SupportedOrgInformationGrp (4 entries)
| EINEIN | Organization TypeOrganizationTypeCd | Governing Document ListedGoverningDocumentListedInd | SupportSupportAmt | Other SupportOtherSupportAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| WILLIAM & MARY FOUNDATION | ||||
| 540734117 | 5 | Yes (true) | $0 | $0 |
| MARSHALL-WYTHE SCHOOL OF LAW FOUNDATION | ||||
| 541224563 | 5 | Yes (true) | $0 | $0 |
| WILLIAM AND MARY BUSINESS SCHOOL FOUNDATION | ||||
| 237079011 | 5 | Yes (true) | $0 | $0 |
| MURRAY 1693 SCHOLARS FOUNDATION | ||||
| 464365190 | 5 | Yes (true) | $0 | $0 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Supported Organizations Total | 4 | SupportedOrganizationsTotalCnt |
| Support Sum | $0 | SupportSumAmt |
| Other Support Sum | $0 | OtherSupportSumAmt |
Form990 Sch A Supporting Org Form990SchASupportingOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Listed By Name Governing Doc | Yes (true) | ListedByNameGoverningDocInd |
| Suprt Org No IRS Determination | Yes (true) | SuprtOrgNoIRSDeterminationInd |
| Supported Org Section C456 | false | SupportedOrgSectionC456Ind |
| Supported Org Not Organized US | false | SupportedOrgNotOrganizedUSInd |
| Organization Change Suprt Org | false | OrganizationChangeSuprtOrgInd |
| Support Non Supported Org | false | SupportNonSupportedOrgInd |
| Payment Substantial Contribtr | false | PaymentSubstantialContribtrInd |
| Loan Disqualified Person | false | LoanDisqualifiedPersonInd |
| Controlled Disqualified Prsn | false | ControlledDisqualifiedPrsnInd |
| Disqualified Prsn Controll Int | false | DisqualifiedPrsnControllIntInd |
| Disqualified Prsn Ownr Int | false | DisqualifiedPrsnOwnrIntInd |
| Excess Business Holdings Rules | false | ExcessBusinessHoldingsRulesInd |
| Contribution Controller | false | ContributionControllerInd |
| Contribution Family | false | ContributionFamilyInd |
| Contribution35 Controlled | false | Contribution35ControlledInd |
Form990 Sch A Type1 Suprt Org Form990SchAType1SuprtOrgGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Power Appoint Majority Dir Trst | Yes (true) | PowerAppointMajorityDirTrstInd |
| Operate Benefit Non Suprt Org | false | OperateBenefitNonSuprtOrgInd |
Form990 Schedule A Part VI Form990ScheduleAPartVIGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Form And Line Reference | Schedule A, Part IV, Section A, Line 2 Supported Org. Without IRS Status 509(a)1 or (2) | FormAndLineReferenceDesc |
| Explanation | MURRAY 1693 SCHOLARS FOUNDATION IS A TYPE I SUPPORTING ORGANIZATION PURSUANT TO 509(A)(3) WHOSE PURPOSE IS TO SUPPORT THE WILLIAM & MARY 1693 SCHOLARS PROGRAM IN ORDER TO PROVIDE SCHOLARSHIP FUNDING FOR STUDENTS OF THE COLLEGE OF WILLIAM & MARY. BOTH SUPPORTING ORGANIZATIONS SUPPORT THE COLLEGE OF WILLIAM & MARY. | ExplanationTxt |
Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD
CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $0 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| Contributions | $844,798,135 | ContributionsAmt |
| Investment Earnings Or Losses | $100,191,848 | InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt |
| Other Expenditures | $2,314,653 | OtherExpendituresAmt |
| End Year Balance | $942,675,330 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $0 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| End Year Balance | $0 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $0 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| End Year Balance | $0 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Beginning Year Balance | $0 | BeginningYearBalanceAmt |
| End Year Balance | $0 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| End Year Balance | $0 | EndYearBalanceAmt |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Board Designated Balance EOY | 0.0 | BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct |
| Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY | 1.0 | PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Term Endowment Balance EOY | 0.0 | TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct |
| Endowments Held Unrelated Org | false | EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd |
| Endowments Held Related Org | false | EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd |
Invst Program Related Org InvstProgramRelatedOrgGrp (7 entries)
| DescDesc | Book ValueBookValueAmt | Method ValuationMethodValuationCd |
|---|---|---|
| Diversifying Strategies | $95,191,064 | F |
| Domestic Equity | $109,370,570 | F |
| Fixed Income | $35,767,890 | F |
| Foreign Equity | $118,460,161 | F |
| Private Equity | $204,109,960 | F |
| Real Assets | $72,078,212 | F |
| Transitional Trading | $811,297 | F |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Total Book Value Program Rltd | $635,789,154 | TotalBookValueProgramRltdAmt |
| Total Liability | $0 | TotalLiabilityAmt |
| Footnote Text | Yes (X) | FootnoteTextInd |
| Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $100,191,848 | TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Net Unrealized Gains Invst | $61,560,917 | NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt |
| Other Revenue | -$75,141 | OtherRevenueAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported | $61,485,776 | RevenueNotReportedAmt |
| Revenue Subtotal | $38,706,072 | RevenueSubtotalAmt |
| Other Revenues Not Included | $0 | OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt |
| Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt | $0 | RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Revenue Per Form990 | $38,706,072 | TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt |
| Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt | $2,314,653 | TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt |
| Other Expenses Included | $0 | OtherExpensesIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Reported | $0 | ExpensesNotReportedAmt |
| Expenses Subtotal | $2,314,653 | ExpensesSubtotalAmt |
| Other Expenses Not Included | $75,141 | OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt |
| Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt | $75,141 | ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt |
| Total Expenses Per Form990 | $2,389,794 | TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Schedule D, Part V, Line 4 Intended uses of endowment funds | THE 1693 PARTNERS FUND IS A POOLED VEHICLE TO INVEST THE ENDOWMENT ASSETS SUPPORTING THE COLLEGE OF WILLIAM & MARY AND ITS AFFILIATED ORGANIZATIONS. |
| Schedule D, Part X, Line 2 FIN 48 (ASC 740) footnote | ON APRIL 20, 2020, THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE DETERMINED THAT THE FUND WAS EXEMPT FROM FEDERAL INCOME TAX ON INCOME DERIVED FROM ACTIVITIES RELATED TO ITS EXEMPT PURPOSE UNDER INTERNAL REVENUE CODE ("IRC") SECTION 501(C)(3). ADDITIONALLY, THE FUND IS CLASSIFIED AS A PUBLIC CHARITY UNDER IRC SECTION 509(A)(3). HOWEVER, THE FUND MAY INCUR FEDERAL AND STATE INCOME TAXES ON UNRELATED BUSINESS INCOME. NO PROVISION FOR INCOME TAXES WAS REQUIRED FOR THE FISCAL YEAR ENDED JUNE 30, 2021. THE FUND FOLLOWS THE PROVISIONS OF FASB ASC TOPIC 740, INCOME TAXES ("ASC 740"), RELATED TO ACCOUNTING FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES. ASC 740 PRESCRIBES THE MINIMUM RECOGNITION THRESHOLD A TAX POSITION MUST MEET IN CONNECTION WITH ACCOUNTING FOR UNCERTAINTIES IN INCOME TAX POSITIONS TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN BY AN ENTITY BEFORE BEING MEASURED AND RECOGNIZED IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. ASC 740 REQUIRES THE EVALUATION OF TAX POSITIONS THAT ARE "MORE-LIKELY-THAN-NOT" OF BEING SUSTAINED BY THE APPLICABLE TAX AUTHORITY. TAX POSITIONS NOT DEEMED TO MEET THE MORE-LIKELY-THAN-NOT THRESHOLD WOULD BE RECORDED AS A TAX EXPENSE IN THE CURRENT YEAR. MANAGEMENT HAS ANALYZED THE TAX POSITIONS TAKEN BY THE FUND AND HAS CONCLUDED THAT, AS OF JUNE 30, 2021, THERE ARE NO UNCERTAIN TAX POSITIONS TAKEN OR EXPECTED TO BE TAKEN THAT WOULD REQUIRE RECOGNITION OR DISCLOSURE IN THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS. THE FUND IS SUBJECT TO ROUTINE AUDITS BY TAXING JURISDICTIONS. THE FISCAL YEAR ENDED JUNE 30, 2021 IS SUBJECT TO EXAMINATION. THE FILING DEADLINE FOR THE JUNE 30, 2021 RETURN IS MAY 15, 2022. |
| Schedule D, Part XI, Line 2(d) Other revenues in audited financial statements not in form 990 | Foreign Taxes Withheld - -75141 |
| Schedule D, Part XII, Line 4(b) Other expenses in form 990 not in audited financial statements | Foreign Taxes Withheld - 75141 |
Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF
Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp (6 entries)
| RegionRegionTxt | OfficesOfficesCnt | EmployeeEmployeeCnt | Type Of Activities ConductedTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt | Region Total ExpendituresRegionTotalExpendituresAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Central America and the Caribbean | 0 | 0 | Investments | $55,529,819 |
| East Asia and the Pacific | 0 | 0 | Investments | $13,388,942 |
| Europe (Including Iceland and Greenland) | 0 | 0 | Investments | $32,747,849 |
| Middle East and North Africa | 0 | 0 | Investments | $121,663 |
| South Asia | 0 | 0 | Investments | $1,397,252 |
| North America (Canada & Mexico only) | 0 | 0 | Investments | $1,738,197 |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Subtotal Offices | 0 | SubtotalOfficesCnt |
| Subtotal Employees | 0 | SubtotalEmployeesCnt |
| Continuation Total Office | 0 | ContinuationTotalOfficeCnt |
| Continuation Total Employee | 0 | ContinuationTotalEmployeeCnt |
| Total Office | 0 | TotalOfficeCnt |
| Total Employee | 0 | TotalEmployeeCnt |
| Subtotal Spent | $104,923,722 | SubtotalSpentAmt |
| Continuation Spent | $0 | ContinuationSpentAmt |
| Total Spent | $104,923,722 | TotalSpentAmt |
| Transfer To Foreign Corp | Yes (true) | TransferToForeignCorpInd |
| Interest In Foreign Trust | false | InterestInForeignTrustInd |
| Foreign Corp Ownership | Yes (true) | ForeignCorpOwnershipInd |
| Passive Foreign Investmest Co | Yes (true) | PassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd |
| Foreign Partnership | Yes (true) | ForeignPartnershipInd |
| Boycott Countries | false | BoycottCountriesInd |
Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Severance Payment | false | SeverancePaymentInd |
| Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan | false | SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd |
| Equity Based Comp Arrngm | false | EquityBasedCompArrngmInd |
| Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org | false | CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs | false | CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org | false | CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd |
| Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs | false | CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd |
| Any Non Fixed Payments | Yes (true) | AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd |
| Initial Contract Exception | false | InitialContractExceptionInd |
Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (4 entries)
| TitleTitleTxt | Base Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Compensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmt | Bonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmount | Bonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmt | Other Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Other Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Deferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmt | Deferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmt | Nontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmt | Total Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt | Total Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmt | Comp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AMY S SEBRING | ||||||||||||||
| SECRETARY/TREASURER | $326,267 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $19,307 | $0 | $983 | $0 | $346,557 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| WILLIAM D COPAN JR | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER/ASSISTANT TREASURER | $184,671 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $4,006 | $0 | $2,566 | $0 | $191,243 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| F BRIAN HIESTAND | ||||||||||||||
| CHIEF INVESTMENT OFFICER | $301,388 | $0 | $259,107 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $4,967 | $0 | $1,523 | $0 | $566,985 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
| CATHERINE MOUNTJOY | ||||||||||||||
| DIRECTOR OF INVESTMENTS | $211,392 | $0 | $163,909 | $0 | $0 | $0 | $13,553 | $0 | $466 | $0 | $389,320 | $0 | $0 | $0 |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Schedule J, Part I, Line 7 Non-fixed payments | Brian Hiestand and Catherine Mountjoy received bonuses approved by the management company board. Bonuses are based on return of the Fund and other factors. |
| Schedule J, Part II | THE INDIVIDUALS LISTED IN PART II ARE EMPLOYEES OF THE COLLEGE OF WILLIAM & MARY (THE UNIVERSITY). THE 1693 PARTNERS FUND AND THE UNIVERSITY ARE NOT RELATED ENTITIES. THE EMPLOYEE COMPENSATION IN PART II IS 100% PAID BY THE UNIVERSITY. ADDITIONAL INFORMATION REGARDING COMPENSATION IS REPORTED IN SCHEDULE O. |
Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (10 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Form 990, Part III, Line 2 New program services | THE FUND COMMENCED INVESTMENT ACTIVITIES EFFECTIVE JANUARY 1, 2021. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 4 Significant changes to organizational documents | THE BYLAWS WERE AMENDED BY DELETING AND REPLACING IN ITS ENTIRETY SECTION 2.2(B) WHICH DISCUSSES ELIGIBILITY TO BE AND REMAIN A MEMBER OF THE FUND. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 11b Review of form 990 by governing body | THE FUND PROVIDED A COPY OF FORM 990 TO THE GOVERNING BODY BEFORE IT WAS FILED. PRIOR TO FILING FORM 990, THE CONTROLLER AND CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER REVIEW A DRAFT OF THE FORM. THE CONTROLLER AND CHIEF OPERATING OFFICER REVIEW THE FINAL VERSION PRIOR TO SIGNING. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 12c Conflict of interest policy | ANNUAL DISCLOSURES ARE REVIEWED FOR POSSIBLE CONFLICTS, WHICH ARE ADDRESSED IN THE MANNER OUTLINED IN THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY. MATTERS RAISED EITHER PRIOR TO OR DURING A MEETING OF THE BOARD OR ANY COMMITTEE ARE ADDRESSED AT THAT TIME. THE POLICY COVERS BOARD MEMBERS AND KEY STAFF MEMBERS. VOTING BOARD MEMBERS ARE RESTRICTED FROM VOTING ON MATTERS IN WHICH THEY MAY HAVE A CONFLICT, AND ARE EXCUSED FROM MEETINGS WHEN A VOTE IS TAKEN. DETERMINATION OF WHETHER A CONFLICT EXISTS IS MADE AT THE COMMITTEE OR BOARD LEVEL, BASED ON AUTHORITY TO TAKE ACTION. |
| Form 990, Part VI, Line 19 Required documents available to the public | THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS OF THE FUND ARE MADE AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST. THE CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY AND GOVERNING DOCUMENTS ARE GENERALLY NOT AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC. |
| Form 990, Part VII, Section A, Line 2 | THE RESPONSE TO QUESTION 2 REPORTS THE NUMBER OF STAFF IDENTIFIED WHO HAVE REPORTABLE COMPENSATION AND PERFORM SERVICES FOR THE FUND. NONE OF THE STAFF ARE EMPLOYEES OF THE FUND. THEY ARE EMPLOYEES OF THE COLLEGE OF WILLIAM & MARY. THE UNIVERSITY IS REIMBURSED FOR THE COMPENSATION OF UNIVERSITY EMPLOYEES WHO PERFORM SERVICES EXCLUSIVELY FOR THE FUND. THEIR COMPENSATION IS REPORTED IN COLUMN E (RELATED ORGANIZATIONS) RECOGNIZING THEIR EMPLOYER IS NOT THE FUND. |
| Form 990, Part XI, Line 9 Other changes in net assets or fund balances | TRANSFER FROM THE WILLIAM AND MARY INVESTMENT TRUST - XXX-XX-XXXX; MEMBER CONTRIBUTIONS - 8360206; MEMBER WITHDRAWALS - -17031565; |
| PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15 AND PART V, LINE 1B | THE ORGANIZATION DOES NOT HAVE ANY EMPLOYEES OF RECORD. ALL WORK IS PERFORMED BY EMPLOYEES OF THE COLLEGE OF WILLIAM & MARY. THE UNIVERSITY IS REIMBURSED FOR ALL OR PART OF SALARY AND BENEFIT COSTS. THE SALARIES IN LINE 7 OF PART IX REFLECT COSTS FOR STAFF WHO PERFORM DUTIES RELATING TO FUND ADMINISTRATION. COMPENSATION IS GENERALLY ESTABLISHED WITHIN THE GUIDELINES OF THE UNIVERSITY, INCLUDING COMPARABLE MARKET DATA AS APPROPRIATE. COMPENSATION LISTED FOR THE CHIEF INVESTMENT OFFICER AND DIRECTOR OF INVESTMENTS REPRESENTS PAY AS A KEY EMPLOYEE. COMPENSATION FOR THE CHIEF INVESTMENT OFFICER IS DETERMINED IN PART BY THE BOARD OF MANAGERS OF THE 1693 MANAGEMENT CO, LLC, THE INVESTMENT MANAGER OF THE FUND, WHICH CONSIDERED A SURVEY OF COMPENSATION OF INDIVIDUALS IN SIMILAR POSITIONS AT SIMILAR ORGANIZATIONS. |
| SCHEDULE J, PART II | F. BRIAN HIESTAND, CATHERINE MOUNTJOY, AND WILLIAM D. COPAN, JR. ARE LEGAL EMPLOYEES OF THE COLLEGE OF WILLIAM & MARY. THE UNIVERSITY IS NOT RELATED TO THE 1693 PARTNERS FUND AS IT MEETS NONE OF THE DEFINITIONS OF RELATIONSHIPS OUTLINED IN THE INSTRUCTIONS TO THE 2020 FORM 990. THE 1693 MANAGEMENT COMPANY LLC REIMBURES THE UNIVERSITY FOR ALL COMPENSATION COSTS, THEN IS ITSELF REIMBURSED BY THE 1693 PARTNERS FUND FOR ALL OR A PORTION OF THE COMPENSATION FOR THESE THREE INDIVIDUALS. |
| General SECTION 351 | The William and Mary Investment Trust ("the Trust"), a group grantor trust under Virginia law, was established July 1, 2004 and provided a platform for tax-exempt organizations affiliated with the University (each a "Grantor" and collectively the "Grantors") to invest their endowment assets prior to the organization of the 1693 Partners Fund ("the Fund"). Each Grantor to the Trust owned an interest proportional to the value of the assets transferred to the Trust, which was increased or decreased with subsequent contributions or distributions. Effective December 31, 2020, William & Mary Foundation, trustee of the Trust, adopted the Plan of Dissolution, Grantor Account Termination and Complete Liquidation (the "Plan"). The Plan undertook the request of the Grantors to terminate their grantor accounts by contributing the net assets of the Trust to the Fund. Pursuant to the terms of the Agreements and the Assignment and Contribution Agreement between the Fund and the Trust, the Members agreed to deposit, without limitation, their interests in the assets of the Trust to the Fund. |
Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR
Id Related Tax Exempt Org IdRelatedTaxExemptOrgGrp (4 entries)
| Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1Txt | CityUSAddress/CityNm | State AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCd | ZIPUSAddress/ZIPCd | EINEIN | Primary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxt | Legal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCd | Exempt Code SectionExemptCodeSectionTxt | Public Charity StatusPublicCharityStatusTxt | Direct Controlling NADirectControllingNACd | Controlled OrganizationControlledOrganizationInd |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| WILLIAM & MARY FOUNDATION | ||||||||||
| 5300 DISCOVERY PARK BLVD 3RD FLOOR | WILLIAMSBURG | VA | 23188 | 540734117 | ORGANIZATION OPERATED FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE COLLEGE OF WILLIAM & MARY | VA | 501(c)(3) | 5 | N/A | false |
| MARSHALL-WYTHE SCHOOL OF LAW FOUNDATION | ||||||||||
| 613 SOUTH HENRY STREET | WILLIAMSBURG | VA | 23185 | 541224563 | ORGANIZATION OPERATED FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE COLLEGE OF WILLIAM & MARY | VA | 501(c)(3) | 5 | N/A | false |
| WILLIAM & MARY BUSINESS SCHOOL FOUNDATION | ||||||||||
| 101 UKROP WAY | WILLIAMSBURG | VA | 23185 | 237079011 | ORGANIZATION OPERATED FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE COLLEGE OF WILLIAM & MARY | VA | 501(c)(3) | 5 | N/A | false |
| MURRAY 1693 SCHOLARS FOUNDATION | ||||||||||
| PO BOX 8795 | WILLIAMSBURG | VA | 231878795 | 464365190 | ORGANIZATION OPERATED FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE COLLEGE OF WILLIAM & MARY | VA | 501(c)(3) | 5 | N/A | false |
| Field | Value | IRS element (for citing) |
|---|---|---|
| Receipt Of Int Annts Rnts Rylts | false | ReceiptOfIntAnntsRntsRyltsInd |
| Gift Grnt Or Cap Contri To Oth Org | false | GiftGrntOrCapContriToOthOrgInd |
| Gift Grnt Cap Contri From Oth Org | false | GiftGrntCapContriFromOthOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees To Other Org | false | LoansOrGuaranteesToOtherOrgInd |
| Loans Or Guarantees From Oth Org | false | LoansOrGuaranteesFromOthOrgInd |
| Div Related Organization | false | DivRelatedOrganizationInd |
| Asset Sale To Other Org | false | AssetSaleToOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Purchase From Other Org | false | AssetPurchaseFromOtherOrgInd |
| Asset Exchange | false | AssetExchangeInd |
| Rental Of Facilities To Oth Org | false | RentalOfFacilitiesToOthOrgInd |
| Rental Of Fclts From Oth Org | false | RentalOfFcltsFromOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services For Oth Org | false | PerformOfServicesForOthOrgInd |
| Perform Of Services By Other Org | false | PerformOfServicesByOtherOrgInd |
| Sharing Of Facilities | Yes (true) | SharingOfFacilitiesInd |
| Paid Employees Sharing | false | PaidEmployeesSharingInd |
| Reimbursement Paid To Other Org | Yes (true) | ReimbursementPaidToOtherOrgInd |
| Reimbursement Paid By Other Org | false | ReimbursementPaidByOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer To Other Org | Yes (true) | TransferToOtherOrgInd |
| Transfer From Other Org | Yes (true) | TransferFromOtherOrgInd |
Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)
| Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDesc | ExplanationExplanationTxt |
|---|---|
| Schedule R, Part V, Line 1n SHARING OF FACILITIES | THE 1693 PARTNERS FUND SHARES OFFICE SPACE WITH THE 1693 MANAGEMENT COMPANY, LLC, THE INVESTMENT MANAGER, WHICH IS A SINGLE-MEMBER LLC OF WILLIAM & MARY FOUNDATION. |
| Schedule R, Part V, Line 1p REIMBURSEMENT PAID TO RELATED ORGANIZATION FOR EXPENSES | THE 1693 PARTNERS FUND REIMBURSES THE EXPENSES OF THE 1693 MANAGEMENT COMPANY, LLC, THE INVESTMENT MANAGER, A SINGLE-MEMBER LLC OF WILLIAM & MARY FOUNDATION, IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT AGREEMENT BETWEEN THE FUND AND MANAGEMENT COMPANY. |
| Schedule R, Part V, Line 1r OTHER TRANSFER OF CASH TO RELATED ORGANIZATIONS | IN ACCORDANCE WITH MEMBER DEPOSIT AGREEMENTS, THE FUND MADE QUARTERLY DISTRIBUTIONS FOR ANNUAL BUDGETED CASH REQUIREMENTS TO THE MEMBER FOUNDATIONS PURSUANT TO AN ANNUAL NOTIFICATION DELIVERED TO THE FUND WITHIN TWENTY BUSINESS DAYS PRIOR TO THE BEGINNING OF THE FISCAL YEAR. |
| Schedule R, Part V, Line 1s OTHER TRANSFER OF CASH FROM RELATED ORGANIZATIONS | IN ACCORDANCE WITH MEMBER DEPOSIT AGREEMENTS, MEMBER FOUNDATIONS MADE PERIODIC CONTRIBUTIONS TO THE FUND FOR INVESTMENT PURPOSES DURING THE FISCAL YEAR. |