FURP.ORG / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

CHAPIN SCHOOL LTD: Form 990, tax year 2020

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
CHAPIN SCHOOL LTD (EIN 13-1635257)
Tax period
2020-07-01 to 2021-06-30
Filed
2022-04-13
IRS object ID
202211039349300346
Schema version
2020v4.1
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-04-13T14:07:13-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1EISNER ADVISORY GROUP LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1733 THIRD AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityNEW YORKCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP100172703ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2020-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN131635257EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1The Chapin School LtdBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
In Care Of% JENNIE LEUNG C/O CHAPIN SCHLInCareOfNm
Business Name ControlCHAPBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone2127442335PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1100 EAST END AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityNEW YORKCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP10028ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonSUZANNE FOGARTYPersonNm
Person TitleHEAD OF SCHOOLPersonTitleTxt
Phone2125702335PhoneNum
Signature2022-04-13SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstSUZANNEPersonFirstNm
Person LastFOGARTYPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonWILLIAM EPSTEINPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01307171PTIN
Phone2129498700PhoneNum

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2020TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerSUZANNE FOGARTYPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1100 EAST END AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityNEW YORKCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP10028ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$98,064,668GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.CHAPIN.EDUWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1929FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateNYLegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTHE CHAPIN SCHOOL IS AN INDEPENDENT DAY School for young women in Grades K-12. Chapin's committed to preparing YOUNG WOMEN TO THRIVE/LEAD THROUGH THE PURSUIT Of Academic EXCELLENCE.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body26VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent25VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee281TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers400TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$11,621,526PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$10,380,640CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$42,004,557PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$44,175,804CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$584,884PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$3,637,576CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$207,571PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$214,495CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$54,418,538PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$58,408,515CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$6,233,642PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$7,155,986CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$26,038,287PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$30,060,699CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$2,666,845CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$16,873,192PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$16,702,174CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$49,145,121PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$53,918,859CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$5,273,417PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$4,489,656CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$363,091,064TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$372,266,225TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$110,860,552TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$109,702,258TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$252,230,512NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$262,563,967NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
MissionTHE CHAPIN SCHOOL IS AN INDEPENDENT DAY SCHOOL FOR YOUNG WOMEN IN GRADES K THROUGH 12. CHAPIN IS COMMITTED TO PREPARING YOUNG WOMEN TO THRIVE AND LEAD THROUGH THE PURSUIT OF ACADEMIC EXCELLENCE, PERSONAL INTEGRITY AND COMMUNITY RESPONSIBILITY.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$42,040,987ExpenseAmt
Grant$7,155,986GrantAmt
Revenue$44,175,804RevenueAmt
DescTHE SCHOOL MEETS THE EDUCATIONAL NEEDS OF 800 STUDENTS FROM KINDERGARTEN THROUGH 12TH GRADE, WITH AN INSTRUCTIONAL STAFF OF 131 AND THE ADDITIONAL SUPPORT OF 52 EMPLOYEES. GRANTS ARE GIVEN BY THE SCHOOL IN THE FORM OF FINANCIAL AID TO ELIGIBLE STUDENTS. DURING THE SCHOOL YEAR ENDED JUNE 30 2021, 168 ELIGIBLE STUDENTS WERE AWARDED SUCH SCHOLARSHIPS.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$42,040,987TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesfalseLobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (true)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (true)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsfalseReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (true)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficefalseForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (true)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesfalseFundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (true)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt BondsfalseInvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (true)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document103IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee281EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members26GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member25IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNYStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonJENNIE LEUNG CO CHAPIN SCHLPersonNm
Phone2125702335PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1100 EAST END AVENUEAddressLine1Txt
CityNEW YORKCityNm
State AbbreviationNYStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP10028ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (33 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtAverage Hours Per Week Rltd OrgAverageHoursPerWeekRltdOrgRtFormer Ofcr Director TrusteeFormerOfcrDirectorTrusteeIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Patricia Hayot
Former Head of School0.00.0Yes (X)$772,258$0$23,494
Suzanne Fogarty
Head of School40.00.0$313,084$0$93,831Yes (X)Yes (X)
Marc Bogursky
Chief Financial Officer40.00.0$345,437$0$42,924Yes (X)
Natasha Brown
Director of Advancement40.00.0$300,029$0$40,316Yes (X)
MaryJo Quigley
Associate Head of School40.00.0$259,483$0$39,880Yes (X)
Mary Rafferty
Head of Middle School40.00.0$258,488$0$37,591Yes (X)
Ilana Pergam
Director of Academic Programs40.00.0$220,107$0$36,238Yes (X)
Thomas Palermo
Director of Facilities40.00.0$215,987$0$38,539Yes (X)
LeeAnn Black
Chair10.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)Yes (X)
Burwell Espy Schorr
VICE CHAIR5.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)Yes (X)
Robert Baynard
Vice Chair, Finance5.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)Yes (X)
Clarence Mitchell
Secretary5.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)Yes (X)
Alexa Bator Chae
Assistant Secretary5.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)Yes (X)
Denise Bailey-Castro
Trustee2.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Dr Samantha Boardman
Trustee2.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Melinda Cheng
Trustee2.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
James H Clark
Trustee2.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Stephanie Coleman
Trustee2.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Bettina Goldstein Decker
Trustee2.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Cisco J del Valle
Trustee2.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Christina S Diggs
Trustee2.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Claudio Garcia
Trustee2.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Brian J Higgins
Trustee2.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Natalie Hutchinson
Trustee2.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Mona Aboelnaga Kanaan
Trustee2.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Farida Khan
Trustee2.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Beth Kojima
Trustee2.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Kim Karetsky Krinsky
Trustee2.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
William S Macklowe
Trustee2.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Laurence Neubauer
Trustee2.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Linda Gosden Robinson
Trustee2.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Carolyn Rowan
Trustee2.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
Bara Tisch
Trustee2.00.0$0$0$0Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,684,873TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$352,813TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K61IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedYes (true)FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
JRM CONSTRUCTION MANAGEMENT LLC
242 WEST 32ND STREETNEW YORKNY10018CONSTRUCTION$25,773,737
ABM INDUSTRIES INC
PO BOX 1534NEW YORKNY10008ARCHITECTS$1,530,141
ARAMARK CORPORATION
PO BOX 7790-4230PHILADELPHIAPA19182FOOD SERVICE$1,237,449
LINEAR TECHNOLOGIES INC
259 WEST 30TH STREETNEW YORKNY10001DIGITAL TECHNOLOGIES$1,118,858
ACISCO INC
309 VISTA DRIVEJERICHONY11753CONSTRUCTION$943,389
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K24CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$613,786GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$9,766,854AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$838,051NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$10,380,640TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
TUITION INCOME611710$43,672,395$43,672,395
TECHNOLOGY FEES611710$283,165$283,165
OTHER STUDENT FEES611710$220,244$220,244
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$44,175,804TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$754,688TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$754,688ExclusionAmt

Incm From Invest Bond Proceeds IncmFromInvestBondProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Royalties Revenue RoyaltiesRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$42,539,041SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$39,656,153SecuritiesAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$2,882,888SecuritiesAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,882,888TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$2,882,888ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Fundraising Gross Income$0FundraisingGrossIncomeAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$0FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gaming Gross Income$0GamingGrossIncomeAmt
Gaming Direct Expenses$0GamingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Income From Gaming NetIncomeFromGamingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$0GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt
Cost Of Goods Sold$0CostOfGoodsSoldAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$0TotalRevenueColumnAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescOTHER INCOMEDesc
Business900099BusinessCd
Total Revenue Column$214,495TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$214,495RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$214,495OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$58,408,515TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$44,390,299RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$3,637,576ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Orgs GrantsToDomesticOrgsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$7,155,986TotalAmt
Program Services$7,155,986ProgramServicesAmt

Foreign Grants ForeignGrantsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Benefits To Members BenefitsToMembersGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,999,625TotalAmt
Program Services$713,143ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$843,478ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$443,004FundraisingAmt

Comp Disqual Persons CompDisqualPersonsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$22,172,455TotalAmt
Program Services$17,392,493ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,876,296ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$903,666FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,742,096TotalAmt
Program Services$1,304,724ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$339,378ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$97,994FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,480,465TotalAmt
Program Services$1,857,899ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$484,102ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$138,464FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,666,058TotalAmt
Program Services$1,247,917ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$325,251ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$92,890FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Management FeesForServicesManagementGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$165,260TotalAmt
Management And General$165,260ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$58,000TotalAmt
Management And General$58,000ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Services Prof Fundraising FeesForServicesProfFundraising

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$99,221TotalAmt
Management And General$99,221ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$598,097TotalAmt
Management And General$436,897ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$161,200FundraisingAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,492,649TotalAmt
Program Services$161,952ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$821,094ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$509,603FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Royalties RoyaltiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$755,265TotalAmt
Program Services$616,467ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$131,778ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$7,020FundraisingAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,267TotalAmt
Program Services$1,647ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$301ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$319FundraisingAmt

Pymt Travel Entrtnmnt Pub Ofcl PymtTravelEntrtnmntPubOfclGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$119,295TotalAmt
Program Services$2,023ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$108,817ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$8,455FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$202,098TotalAmt
Program Services$165,720ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$30,315ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$6,063FundraisingAmt

Payments To Affiliates PaymentsToAffiliatesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,744,042TotalAmt
Program Services$4,710,115ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$861,606ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$172,321FundraisingAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$495,175TotalAmt
Program Services$406,044ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$74,276ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$14,855FundraisingAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
OTHER INSTRUCTIONAL EXPENSE$1,413,475$1,413,475
LUNCH ROOM EXPENSE$1,660,752$1,660,752
BUILDING AND MAINTENANCE$3,699,712$3,033,764$554,957$110,991
STUDENT ACTIVITIES$98,522$98,522

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$98,344TotalAmt
Program Services$98,344ProgramServicesAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$53,918,859TotalAmt
Program Services$42,040,987ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$9,211,027ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$2,666,845FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,448,242BOYAmt
EOY$5,904,936EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$41,445,084BOYAmt
EOY$43,138,034EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$9,100,601BOYAmt
EOY$4,675,271EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$705,399BOYAmt
EOY$364,707EOYAmt

Receivables From Officers Etc ReceivablesFromOfficersEtcGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$500,000BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Rcvbl From Disqualified Prsn RcvblFromDisqualifiedPrsnGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$54,057BOYAmt
EOY$80,904EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$335,292,165LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$71,961,950LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$240,339,077BOYAmt
EOY$263,330,215EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$50,405,755BOYAmt
EOY$34,532,796EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,290,904BOYAmt
EOY$18,855,389EOYAmt

Investments Program Related InvestmentsProgramRelatedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Intangible Assets IntangibleAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,801,945BOYAmt
EOY$1,383,973EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$363,091,064BOYAmt
EOY$372,266,225EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$11,938,766BOYAmt
EOY$11,657,094EOYAmt

Grants Payable GrantsPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$6,978,196BOYAmt
EOY$7,518,916EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$89,774,539BOYAmt
EOY$88,343,075EOYAmt

Escrow Account Liability EscrowAccountLiabilityGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Loans From Officers Directors LoansFromOfficersDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Mortg Notes Pybl Scrd Invst Prop MortgNotesPyblScrdInvstPropGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$0EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,169,051BOYAmt
EOY$2,183,173EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$110,860,552BOYAmt
EOY$109,702,258EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$225,441,509BOYAmt
EOY$239,548,620EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$26,789,003BOYAmt
EOY$23,015,347EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$252,230,512BOYAmt
EOY$262,563,967EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$363,091,064BOYAmt
EOY$372,266,225EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$4,489,656ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$6,364,073NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets-$520,274OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Separate Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)SeparateBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredfalseFederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Art Public Exhibition AmountsArtPublicExhibitionAmountsGrp
Held Works ArtHeldWorksArtGrp

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$99,195,178BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$855,433ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$9,767,812InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$43,041,086OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$66,777,337EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$113,136,873BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$921,322ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$3,710,589InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$18,573,606OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$99,195,178EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$113,041,056BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,144,103ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$7,122,809InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$9,171,095OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$113,136,873EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$110,382,934BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$6,347,131ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,548,991InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$6,238,000OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$113,041,056EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$106,680,506BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$6,635,661ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$3,474,767InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Other Expenditures$6,408,000OtherExpendituresAmt
End Year Balance$110,382,934EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.76000BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.18000PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.06000TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$1,264,097OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$1,264,097BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$133,863,778OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$56,528,219DepreciationAmt
Book Value$77,335,559BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Leasehold ImprovementsLeaseholdImprovementsGrp

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$16,956,175OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$15,433,731DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,522,444BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$183,208,115OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$183,208,115BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$263,330,215TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt
Financial DerivativesFinancialDerivativesGrp
Closely Held Equity InterestsCloselyHeldEquityInterestsGrp

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp (2 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmtMethod ValuationMethodValuationCd
OFFSHORE HEDGE FUNDS$7,448,046F
OFFSHORE PORTFOLIO FUNDS$11,407,343F
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$18,855,389TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt
Federal Income Tax Liability$0FederalIncomeTaxLiabilityAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (2 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
AND ANNUITY INCOME GIFTS$168,376
ACCRUED BOND INTEREST$2,014,797
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$2,183,173TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$57,517,381TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$6,364,073NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$6,364,073RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$51,153,308RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$99,221InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$7,155,986OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$7,255,207RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$58,408,515TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$47,183,926TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$520,274OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$520,274ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$46,663,652ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$99,221InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$7,155,986OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$7,255,207ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$53,918,859TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (4 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE D, PART V, LINE 4USE OF ENDOWMENT FUNDS: The School's Endowment Funds provide a predictable stream of funding to programs supported by its endowment, while seeking to maintain the purchasing power of the endowment.
SCHEDULE D, PART X, LINE 2Income Tax Uncertainties: The School is subject to the provisions of the Financial Accounting Standards Board's Accounting Standards Codification ("ASC") Topic 740, Income Taxes, as it relates to accounting and reporting for uncertainty in income taxes. Because of the School's general tax-exempt status, management believes ASC Topic 740 has not had, and is not anticipated to have, a material impact on the School's financial statements.
SCHEDULE D, PARTS XI AND XII, LINES 4BAMOUNTS INCLUDED IN FORM 990 NOT INCLUDED IN FINANCIAL STATEMENTS: SCHOLARSHIP EXPENSE $7,155,986
SCHEDULE D, PART XII, LINE 2DOTHER EXPENSE INCLUDED IN FINANCIAL STATEMENTS NOT INCLUDED IN FORM 990: BAD DEBT EXPENSE OF $520,274

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (true)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (true)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (true)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (true)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (true)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (true)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (true)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts RghtsfalseDiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm FcultyfalseDiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race SchsfalseDiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of FcltsfalseDiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt ProgfalseDiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other ActyfalseDiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (true)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid RvkdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (true)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 3PUBLICATION OF NONDISCRIMINATORY POLICY: THE SCHOOL MAKES ALL INTERESTED PARTIES AWARE OF ITS NONDISCRIMINATION POLICY THROUGH NEWSPAPER ADVERTISEMENT, BROCHURES AND OTHER MEDIA.
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 6AASSISTANCE FROM GOVERNMENT: THE SCHOOL RECEIVED FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE FROM THE NEW YORK STATE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION FOR MANDATED SERVICES. THE FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE AMOUNTED TO $613,786.

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
RegionCentral America and the CaribbeanRegionTxt
Offices0OfficesCnt
Employee0EmployeeCnt
Type Of Activities ConductedInvestmentsTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt
Specific Services ProvidedNONESpecificServicesProvidedTxt
Region Total Expenditures$18,855,389RegionTotalExpendituresAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices0SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees0SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Total Office0TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee0TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$18,855,389SubtotalSpentAmt
Total Spent$18,855,389TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpfalseTransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign TrustfalseInterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipfalseForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CofalsePassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipYes (true)ForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott CountriesfalseBoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule F, PART IV, LINE 5FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationForeign Investments: The School maintains investments in foreign partnerships. All related filings for these investments are completed appropriately and filed on a timely basis, when required. The foreign investments noted on Schedule F, PART I, Line 3 are reported based at their fair value using the accrual method in accordance with U.S. GAAP.ExplanationTxt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant TypeSTUDENT SCHOLARSHIPSGrantTypeTxt
Recipient168RecipientCnt
Non Cash Assistance$7,155,986NonCashAssistanceAmt
Valuation Method UsedFMVValuationMethodUsedDesc
Non Cash AssistanceTuition reductionNonCashAssistanceDesc

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE I, PART I, LINE 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE CHAPIN SCHOOL SUPPORTS ECONOMIC DIVERSITY THROUGH A FINANCIAL AID PROGRAM, AVAILABLE TO STUDENTS AT ALL GRADE LEVELS. THE PROGRAM, BASED SOLELY ON NEED, IS AVAILABLE TO ACADEMICALLY QUALIFIED STUDENTS. THE CHAPIN SCHOOL BELIEVES THAT THE PRIMARY FINANCIAL RESPONSIBILITY FOR A CHILD'S EDUCATION RESTS WITH THE PARENTS, TO THE FULL EXTENT THAT THEY ARE ABLE. THE GOAL OF THE FINANCIAL AID PROGRAM IS TO OFFSET THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN THE COST OF ATTENDANCE AND A FAMILY'S AVAILABLE FINANCIAL RESOURCES. ADMISSIONS DECISIONS ARE MADE WITHOUT REGARD TO FINANCIAL NEED. LIKE MOST INDEPENDENT SCHOOLS, CHAPIN USES THE STANDARDIZED CALCULATION DERIVED BY THE SCHOOL AND STUDENT SERVICE ("SSS") FOR FINANCIAL AID, A DIVISION OF the NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF INDEPENDENT SCHOOLS, TO CALCULATE A FAMILY'S CONTRIBUTION TO THE COST OF A CHAPIN EDUCATION. THIS SYSTEM CONSIDERS GROSS TAXABLE AND NON-TAXABLE INCOME, ASSETS, LIABILITIES, FAMILY SIZE AND THE NUMBER OF STUDENTS IN TUITION-CHARGING SCHOOLS OR COLLEGES. AFTER AN ALLOWANCE FOR BASIC NECESSITIES AND REQUIRED TAXES, THE REMAINING FUNDS ARE CONSIDERED AVAILABLE FOR EDUCATION ON A SLIDING SCALE. EVERY FAMILY APPLYING FOR FINANCIAL AID BEGINS BY COMPLETING THE PARENTS' FINANCIAL STATEMENT (PFS). THE DATA IN THIS APPLICATION IS ANALYZED BY SSS AND A RECOMMENDATION OF FAMILY CONTRIBUTION IS REPORTED TO CHAPIN AND TO THE FAMILY. THE CHAPIN SCHOOL WILL REVIEW, RE-ANALYZE AND, IF NECESSARY, RE-COMPUTE THIS RECOMMENDATION IN ACCORDANCE WITH SCHOOL POLICIES, GEOGRAPHICAL LOCATION, COST-OF-LIVING DIFFERENCES, AND OTHER FACTORS TO DETERMINE THE AWARDS.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Club Dues Or FeesYes (X)ClubDuesOrFeesInd
Personal ServicesYes (X)PersonalServicesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (true)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (true)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Written Employment ContractYes (X)WrittenEmploymentContractInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanYes (true)SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Suzanne Fogarty
Head of School$313,084$0$0$0$0$0$82,650$0$11,181$0$406,915$0$0$0
Marc Bogursky
Chief Financial Officer$345,437$0$0$0$0$0$29,713$0$13,211$0$388,361$0$0$0
Natasha Brown
Director of Advancement$300,029$0$0$0$0$0$27,270$0$13,046$0$340,345$0$0$0
Mary Rafferty
Head of Middle School$258,488$0$0$0$0$0$26,410$0$11,181$0$296,079$0$0$0
MaryJo Quigley
Associate Head of School$259,483$0$0$0$0$0$28,699$0$11,181$0$299,363$0$0$0
Thomas Palermo
Director of Facilities$215,987$0$0$0$0$0$24,422$0$14,117$0$254,526$0$0$0
Ilana Pergam
Director of Academic Programs$220,107$0$0$0$0$0$23,173$0$13,065$0$256,345$0$0$0
Patricia Hayot
Former Head of School$772,258$0$0$0$0$0$17,904$0$5,590$0$795,752$0$321,808$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 1AFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationCOMPENSATION: THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE OF THE TRUSTEES DETERMINES THE ANNUAL INCREASE FOR THE HEAD OF THE SCHOOL. THE HEAD OF THE SCHOOL DETERMINES SALARIES FOR OTHER EMPLOYEES. SALARIES ARE DETERMINED BASED ON PUBLISHED COMPARABLE SALARY INFORMATION FOR SIMILAR SCHOOLS IN THE AREA. HOUSING: CHAPIN REQUIRES ITS HEAD OF SCHOOL TO USE A SCHOOL OWNED RESIDENCE TO CONDUCT SCHOOL RELATED BUSINESS AND TO HOST FREQUENT SCHOOL RELATED ACTIVITIES FOR THE CONVENIENCE OF THE SCHOOL. SCHEDULE J, PART I, LINE 4B THE SCHOOL MAINTAINS A DEFERRED COMPENSATION PLAN FOR ITS HEAD OF SCHOOL. DURING CALENDAR YEAR 2020, THE SCHOOL CONTRIBUTED $50,000 TO THIS PLAN.ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINCUSIPCUSIPNumBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
NEW YORK CITY INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT AGENCY
A13290604012008ELX22016-08-24$25,000,000CIVIC FACILITY REVENUE BONDS SERIEfalsefalsefalse
NEW YORK CITY INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT AGENCY
B13290604012008ELY02016-08-24$25,000,000CIVIC FACILITY REVENUE BONDS SERIEfalsefalsefalse
NEW YORK CITY INDUSTRIAL DEVELOPMENT AGENCY
C13290604012008ENM42017-12-20$25,000,000CIVIC FACILITY REVENUE BONDS SERIEfalsefalsefalse

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtBond DefeasedBondDefeasedAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIn Reserve FundInReserveFundAmtCapitalized InterestCapitalizedInterestAmtRefunding EscrowRefundingEscrowAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtCredit EnhancementCreditEnhancementAmtWorking Capital ExpendituresWorkingCapitalExpendituresAmtCapital ExpendituresCapitalExpendituresAmtOther Spent ProceedsOtherSpentProceedsAmtUnspentUnspentAmtSubstantial CompletionSubstantialCompletionYrRefunding Tax Exempt BondsRefundingTaxExemptBondsIndRefunding Taxable BondsRefundingTaxableBondsIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd
A$0$0$25,000,000$0$2,250,698$0$196,838$0$0$22,552,464$0$02017Yes (true)falseYes (true)Yes (true)
B$0$0$25,000,000$0$2,250,698$0$196,838$0$0$22,552,464$0$02017Yes (true)falseYes (true)Yes (true)
C$0$0$25,000,000$0$2,250,698$0$601,868$0$0$22,147,434$0$02018Yes (true)falseYes (true)Yes (true)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndPrivate Bus Use By OthersPrivateBusUseByOthersPctBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndRemedial Action TakenRemedialActionTakenIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
Afalsefalsefalsefalse0falsefalsefalseYes (true)
Bfalsefalsefalsefalse0falsefalsefalseYes (true)
Cfalsefalsefalsefalse0falsefalsefalseYes (true)

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndBusiness Name Line1GICProviderName/BusinessNameLine1TxtGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
0
Afalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalse0falseYes (true)
0
Bfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalse0falseYes (true)
0
Cfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalse0falseYes (true)

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (3 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
AYes (true)
BYes (true)
CYes (true)

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Works Of ArtWorksOfArtGrp
Art Historical TreasuresArtHistoricalTreasuresGrp
Art Fractional InterestArtFractionalInterestGrp
Books And PublicationsBooksAndPublicationsGrp
Clothing And Household GoodsClothingAndHouseholdGoodsGrp
Cars And Other VehiclesCarsAndOtherVehiclesGrp
Boats And PlanesBoatsAndPlanesGrp
Intellectual PropertyIntellectualPropertyGrp

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution66ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$838,051NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesCOMPARABLE SALESMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities Closely Held StockSecuritiesCloselyHeldStockGrp
Secur Prtnrshp Trust IntrstsSecurPrtnrshpTrustIntrstsGrp
Securities MiscellaneousSecuritiesMiscellaneousGrp
Qualified Contrib Hist StructQualifiedContribHistStructGrp
Qualified Contrib OtherQualifiedContribOtherGrp
Real Estate ResidentialRealEstateResidentialGrp
Real Estate CommercialRealEstateCommercialGrp
Real Estate OtherRealEstateOtherGrp
CollectiblesCollectiblesGrp
Food InventoryFoodInventoryGrp
Drugs And Medical SuppliesDrugsAndMedicalSuppliesGrp
TaxidermyTaxidermyGrp
Historical ArtifactsHistoricalArtifactsGrp
Scientific SpecimensScientificSpecimensGrp
Archaeological ArtifactsArchaeologicalArtifactsGrp
Any Property That Must Be HeldfalseAnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC GiftsYes (true)ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedYes (true)ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE M, PART I, LINE 9THE AMOUNT DISCLOSED IN COLUMN B REPRESENTS THE NUMBER OF CONTRIBUTIONS.
SCHEDULE M, PART I, LINE 32THE SCHOOL USES CHARLES SCHWAB TO SELL DONATED SECURITIES.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceFORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11AFormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationREVIEW OF FORM 990: The audit committee of the board confers with the CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER to review the form 990 and its required attachments and schedules. A thorough review of all financial and narrative information is undertaken to make sure all reports and schedules reflect the actual operating results of the school for the most recently completed fiscal year. A final draft copy of the form 990 is provided to the full board prior to its filing. After review, the CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER files the completed return with the internal revenue service. FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12C CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY: TRUSTEES AND PROFESSIONAL STAFF ARE REQUIRED TO ATTEST ANNUALLY TO THEIR FAMILIARITY WITH THE SCHOOL'S POLICIES AND PROVIDE INFORMATION CONCERNING ANY POSSIBLE CONFLICT OF INTEREST. FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15A AND 15B COMPENSATION: THE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE OF THE TRUSTEES DETERMINES THE ANNUAL INCREASE FOR THE HEAD OF THE SCHOOL. THE HEAD OF THE SCHOOL DETERMINES SALARIES FOR OTHER EMPLOYEES. SALARIES ARE DETERMINED BASED ON PUBLISHED COMPARABLE SALARY INFORMATION FOR SIMILAR SCHOOLS IN THE AREA. FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 18 AND 19 PUBLIC INSPECTION: THE SCHOOL MAKES ITS FORM 990, CHAR500, AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE UPON REQUEST, OR THOSE SAME FORMS MAY BE OBTAINED THROUGH WWW.CHARITIESNYS.COM AND WWW.GUIDESTAR.ORG. THE GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AND CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY ARE DISTRIBUTED INTERNALLY AND ARE NOT MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC. FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9 OTHER CHANGES IN NET ASSETS CONSISTS OF BAD DEBT EXPENSE OF $520,274.ExplanationTxt