FURP.ORG / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

THE HARRISBURG UNIVERSITY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY: Form 990, tax year 2020

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
THE HARRISBURG UNIVERSITY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY (EIN 25-1900793)
Tax period
2020-07-01 to 2021-06-30
Filed
2022-02-17
IRS object ID
202200489349301330
Schema version
2020v4.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2022-02-17T15:33:50-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2021-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN520783935PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1SMITH ELLIOTT KEARNS & COMPANY LLCBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1804 WAYNE AVEAddressLine1Txt
CityCHAMBERSBURGCityNm
State AbbreviationPAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP172013810ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2020-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN251900793EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1HARRISBURG UNIVERSITY OFBusinessNameLine1Txt
Business Name Line2SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGYBusinessNameLine2Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlHARRBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone7179015120PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1326 MARKET STREET 4TH FLOORAddressLine1Txt
CityHARRISBURGCityNm
State AbbreviationPAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP17101ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDUANE MAUNPersonNm
Person TitleCFO & COOPersonTitleTxt
Phone7179015100PhoneNum
Signature2022-02-17SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (true)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstDUANEPersonFirstNm
Person LastMAUNPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonCRAIG E WITMER CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP01343509PTIN
Phone7172633910PhoneNum
Preparation2022-02-17PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2020TaxYr
Build TS2022-09-23 18:48:47ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerERIC DARR PRESIDENTPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1326 MARKET STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityHARRISBURGCityNm
State AbbreviationPAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP17101ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$75,084,761GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For AffiliatesfalseGroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.HARRISBURGU.EDUWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation2001FormationYr
Legal Domicile StatePALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionTHE HARRISBURG UNIVERSITY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY OFFERS INNOVATIVE ACADEMIC AND RESEARCH PROGRAMS IN SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY THAT RESPOND TO LOCAL AND GLOBAL NEEDS. THE INSTITUTION FOSTERS A DIVERSE COMMUNITY OF LEARNERS, PROVIDES ACCESS AND SUPPORT TO STUDENTS WHO WANT TO PURSUE A CAREER IN SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY, AND SUPPORTS BUSINESS CREATION AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT.ActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body16VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent16VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee671TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers24TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
PY Contributions Grants$4,844,413PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$8,251,104CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$73,952,752PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$66,761,961CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$394,528PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$69,936CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue-$12,691PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue-$4,256CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$79,179,002PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$75,078,745CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$10,993,506PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$10,799,077CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$34,121,815PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$33,947,392CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$484,328CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$31,856,465PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$27,124,304CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$76,971,786PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$71,870,773CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$2,207,216PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$3,207,972CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$110,439,388TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$218,545,488TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$65,910,366TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$170,808,494TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$44,529,022NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$47,736,994NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionTHE HARRISBURG UNIVERSITY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY OFFERS INNOVATIVE ACADEMIC AND RESEARCH PROGRAMS IN SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY THAT RESPOND TO LOCAL AND GLOBAL NEEDS. THE INSTITUTION FOSTERS A DIVERSE COMMUNITY OF LEARNERS, PROVIDES ACCESS AND SUPPORT TO STUDENTS WHO WANT TO PURSUE A CAREER IN SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY, AND SUPPORTS BUSINESS CREATION AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT.MissionDesc
Significant New Program SrvcfalseSignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant ChangefalseSignificantChangeInd
Expense$59,881,931ExpenseAmt
Grant$10,799,077GrantAmt
Revenue$66,763,721RevenueAmt
DescHARRISBURG UNIVERSITY OFFERS UNDERGRADUATE, GRADUATE AND CERTIFICATE PROGRAMS IN APPLIED SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY FIELDS FOR A DIVERSITY OF STUDENT LEARNERS. BY INTEGRATING EXPERIENTIAL LEARNING WITH BUSINESS MENTORS AND INTERNSHIPS, HARRISBURG UNIVERSITY EDUCATE CAREER-MINDED INDIVIDUALS IN NATIONALLY CRITICAL SCIENCE, TECHNOLOGY, ENGINEERING AND MATH (STEM) CAREERS, GIVING THEM THE TOOLS TO SUCCEED IN A 21ST CENTURY KNOWLEDGE-BASED ECONOMY.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$59,881,931TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (true)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (true)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign ActyfalsePoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (true)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy TaxfalseSubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised FundfalseDonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation EasementsfalseConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtfalseCollectionsOfArtInd
Credit CounselingfalseCreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (true)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (true)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecfalseReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related InvstfalseReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other AssetsYes (true)ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (true)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (true)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (true)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtfalseConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (true)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign OfficeYes (true)ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign ActivitiesYes (true)ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To OrgfalseMoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To IndividualsfalseMoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional FundraisingfalseProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising ActivitiesYes (true)FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming ActivitiesfalseGamingActivitiesInd
Operate HospitalfalseOperateHospitalInd
Grants To OrganizationsfalseGrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (true)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (true)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (true)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt BondsfalseInvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow AccountfalseEscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of IssuerfalseOnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit TransfalseEngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit TransfalsePYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan OutstandingfalseLoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related PersonfalseGrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org MemfalseBusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam MemfalseBusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl EntfalseBusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContrifalseDeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art ContributionfalseDeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate OperationsfalseTerminateOperationsInd
Partial LiquidationfalsePartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityfalseDisregardedEntityInd
Related EntityfalseRelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl EntfalseRelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd OrgfalseTrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted PrtshpfalseActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (true)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document68IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (true)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee671EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (true)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitfalseUnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial AccountfalseForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter TransfalseProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party NotificationfalseTaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible ContributionsfalseNondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsfalseQuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed OffalseForm8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalseRcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft CntrctfalsePayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Form8899 FiledindfalseForm8899Filedind
Form1098 C FiledfalseForm1098CFiledInd
Indoor Tanning ServicesfalseIndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht PymtfalseSubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst IncfalseSubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members16GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member16IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnfalseFamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt DutiesfalseDelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org DocumentsfalseChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or MisusefalseMaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or StockholdersfalseMembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersfalseElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To ApprovafalseDecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (true)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (true)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing AddressfalseOfficerMailingAddressInd
Local ChaptersfalseLocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (true)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (true)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (true)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (true)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (true)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (true)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (true)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (true)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint VenturefalseInvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldPAStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonDUANE MAUNPersonNm
Phone7179015120PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1326 MARKET STREET 14TH FLOORAddressLine1Txt
CityHARRISBURGCityNm
State AbbreviationPAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP17101ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (25 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
MARK S SINGEL
CHAIRMAN1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBERT S TAYLOR ESQ
VICE CHAIRMA1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
BARBARA Y GROCE
TREASURER1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBERT A ORTENZIO
VICE CHAIR/S1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
REV DR LORINA MARSHALL-BLAKE
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
BENNETT CHOTINER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHAEL FIASCHETTI
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CARMEN FINESTRA
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
J RANDALL GRESPIN
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
BRADLEY R JONES
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
DOLLY LALVANI
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
THOMAS G PAESE ESQ
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
MAYUR PATEL
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
JEANNINE PETERSON MPA
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
SHERI LANE
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
CYNTHIA TREAGER
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
RICHARD SEITZ
TRUSTEE1.00Yes (X)$0$0$0
ERIC DARR
PRESIDENT40.00Yes (X)$487,973$0$26,709
DUANE MAUN
CFO & COO40.00Yes (X)$342,465$0$40,230
BILITA MATTES
PROVOST40.00$258,376$0$37,325Yes (X)
JAY JAYAMOHAN
ED OF NEW VE40.00$239,680$0$9,970Yes (X)
ERIK NIELSEN
ED OF MENA R40.00$300,000$0$52Yes (X)
FRANCIS SCHOFIELD
DIR OF LIVE40.00$211,790$0$9,225Yes (X)
BEVERLY ANN MAGDA
ASSOC PROVOS40.00$205,059$0$8,044Yes (X)
KELLY POWELL LOGAN
VP STRAT WOR40.00$211,240$0$9,799Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,256,583TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$141,354TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K106IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees ListedfalseFormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (true)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other SrcsfalseCompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
WHITING-TURNER CONTRACTING COMPANY
300 EAST JOPPA ROADBALTIMOREMD21286CONSTRUCTION$13,849,036
HOWELL MANAGEMENT SERVICES
1107 EAST 340 SOUTHSMITHFIELDUT84335RECRUITING SERV$8,415,690
STANTEC ARCHITECTURE
13980 COLLECTIONS CENTER DRIVECHICAGOIL60693ARCHITECTURE$2,114,082
RUFFALO NOEL LEVITZ
PO BOX 718DES MOINESIA50303CONSULTING$721,563
PROPERTY MANAGEMENT INC
PO BOX 622LEMOYNEPA17043PROPERTY MGMT$531,962
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K20CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Fundraising$55,000FundraisingAmt
Government Grants$6,253,954GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$1,942,150AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$8,251,104TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
TUITION AND FEES611310$66,368,534$66,368,534
HOUSING611310$315,438$315,438
MISCELLANEOUS900099$77,989$77,989
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$66,761,961TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$69,936TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$69,936ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$1,500RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$1,500RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$1,500TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$1,500ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Contri Rpt Fundraising Event$55,000ContriRptFundraisingEventAmt
Fundraising Direct Expenses$6,016FundraisingDirectExpensesAmt

Net Incm From Fundraising Evt NetIncmFromFundraisingEvtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$6,016TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$6,016ExclusionAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Sales Of Inventory$260GrossSalesOfInventoryAmt

Net Income Or Loss NetIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$260TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$260ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$75,078,745TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$66,761,961RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$65,680ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$10,799,077TotalAmt
Program Services$10,799,077ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$974,375TotalAmt
Program Services$453,085ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$464,655ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$56,635FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$26,998,977TotalAmt
Program Services$22,731,818ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$3,964,198ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$302,961FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$3,888,443TotalAmt
Program Services$3,101,893ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$753,085ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$33,465FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,085,597TotalAmt
Program Services$1,766,950ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$295,323ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$23,324FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$77,679TotalAmt
Management And General$77,679ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$83,813TotalAmt
Management And General$83,813ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Lobbying FeesForServicesLobbyingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$90,301TotalAmt
Management And General$90,301ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,052,951TotalAmt
Program Services$609,383ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$376,200ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$67,368FundraisingAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$184,304TotalAmt
Program Services$160,566ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$23,738ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,844,707TotalAmt
Program Services$1,591,639ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,253,068ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$226,503TotalAmt
Program Services$197,379ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$28,549ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$575FundraisingAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,345,248TotalAmt
Program Services$1,337,086ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$8,162ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,202,480TotalAmt
Program Services$4,316,219ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$886,261ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,885,381TotalAmt
Program Services$2,393,846ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$491,535ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$342,959TotalAmt
Management And General$342,959ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
PROF FEES - CONSULTING$9,541,854$8,680,579$861,275
TECHNOLOGY - PROJ MGMT$1,696,041$898,933$797,108
CARES ACT-PAY TO STUDENTS$749,000$749,000
OTHER$735,827$57,756$678,071

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$65,256TotalAmt
Program Services$36,722ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$28,534ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$71,870,773TotalAmt
Program Services$59,881,931ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$11,504,514ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$484,328FundraisingAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$24,505,787BOYAmt
EOY$31,632,808EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$208,914BOYAmt
EOY$4,268,640EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,644,418BOYAmt
EOY$2,305,784EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,494,928BOYAmt
EOY$1,218,281EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$120,993,849LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$26,299,811LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$77,138,652BOYAmt
EOY$94,694,038EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,446,689BOYAmt
EOY$84,425,937EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$110,439,388BOYAmt
EOY$218,545,488EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,991,600BOYAmt
EOY$7,132,864EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,419,818BOYAmt
EOY$4,364,739EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$53,209,388BOYAmt
EOY$150,428,779EOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$200,000BOYAmt
EOY$3,565,645EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,089,560BOYAmt
EOY$5,316,467EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$65,910,366BOYAmt
EOY$170,808,494EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$43,485,560BOYAmt
EOY$46,519,540EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,043,462BOYAmt
EOY$1,217,454EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$44,529,022BOYAmt
EOY$47,736,994EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$110,439,388BOYAmt
EOY$218,545,488EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Info In Schedule O Part XIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIInd
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$3,207,972ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or ReviewfalseAccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (true)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (true)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (true)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (true)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
VolunteersfalseVolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or ManagementfalsePaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media AdvertisementsfalseMediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings MembersfalseMailingsMembersInd
Publications Or BroadcastfalsePublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other OrganizationsfalseGrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Direct Contact LegislatorsfalseDirectContactLegislatorsInd
Rallies DemonstrationsfalseRalliesDemonstrationsInd
Other ActivitiesYes (true)OtherActivitiesInd
Other Activities$90,301OtherActivitiesAmt
Total Lobbying Expenditures$90,301TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c3falseNotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE C, PART I-A, LINE 1FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE UNIVERSITY PAYS A LOBBYING FIRM TO HANDLE LOBBYING EFFORTS. LOBBYING EFFORTS ARE LIMITED TO ACTIVITIES RELATING TO THE PROCUREMENT OF COMPETITIVE GRANTS ON BOTH THE STATE AND FEDERAL LEVEL.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,016,461BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$200,000ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$993InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$1,217,454EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,010,544BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$5,917InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$1,016,461EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,003,371BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$7,173InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$1,010,544EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,002,281BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$4,040InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$2,950GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
End Year Balance$1,003,371EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$1,000,000BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$2,281InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
End Year Balance$1,002,281EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.98570PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.01430TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related OrgfalseEndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$7,290,030OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$7,290,030BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$70,837,006OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$20,817,724DepreciationAmt
Book Value$50,019,282BookValueAmt

Leasehold Improvements LeaseholdImprovementsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$7,289,772OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$1,144,590DepreciationAmt
Book Value$6,145,182BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$7,881,924OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$4,059,530DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,822,394BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$27,695,117OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$277,967DepreciationAmt
Book Value$27,417,150BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$94,694,038TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Assets Org OtherAssetsOrgGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBook ValueBookValueAmt
BOND DEPOSIT RESERVE$84,172,440
SECURITY DEPOSITS$224,697
OTHER INVESTMENTS$28,800
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Other Assets$84,425,937TotalBookValueOtherAssetsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescTUITION DEPOSITSDesc
Amt$5,316,467Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$5,316,467TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$64,285,684TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Revenue$6,016OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$6,016RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$64,279,668RevenueSubtotalAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$10,799,077OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$10,799,077RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$75,078,745TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$61,077,712TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$6,016OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$6,016ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$61,071,696ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Other Expenses Not Included$10,799,077OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$10,799,077ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$71,870,773TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 2, PART V, LINE 4THE INCOME FROM THE ENDOWMENT SHALL BE USED TO FUND SCHOLARSHIPS TO UNIVERSITY STUDENTS. THE PRINCIPAL SHALL REMAIN INTACT EXCEPT DUE TO MARKET FLUCTUATIONS IN UNDERLYING INVESTMENTS.
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 3, PART XTHE UNIVERSITY FOLLOWS GENERALLY ACCEPTED ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES, WHICH PROVIDES GUIDANCE ON ACCOUNTING FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES RECOGNIZED IN THE UNIVERSITY'S CONSOLIDATED FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XI, LINE 2DDIRECT FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 6,016
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XI, LINE 4BSTUDENT AID - OFFSET TO REVENUE ON FINANCIAL STATEMENT 10,799,077
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 2DDIRECT FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 6,016
SCHEDULE D, PAGE 4, PART XII, LINE 4BSTUDENT AID - EXPENSE ON FORM 990 10,799,077

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (true)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (true)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast MediaYes (true)PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (true)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (true)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (true)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (true)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts RghtsfalseDiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm FcultyfalseDiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race SchsfalseDiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ PlcyfalseDiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of FcltsfalseDiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt ProgfalseDiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other ActyfalseDiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (true)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid RvkdfalseGovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (true)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE E, LINE 3NONDISCRIMINATION STATEMENTS ARE INCLUDED IN ALL PUBLIC PUBLICATIONS.
SCHEDULE E, LINE 6U.S. DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION FEDERAL WORK STUDY GRANT 28,750 CARES ACT FUNDING 5,465,628 PHEAA - INSTITUTIONAL ASSISTANCE GRANT 194,902 COMMONWEALTH OF PA 2,000,000 COMMONWEALTH OF PA - MAPPING 216,543 GEERS GRANT 67,045 DAUPHIN COUNTY CDBG 300,000 DAUPHIN COUNTY DCED 75,000 SPCA WORKS (TANF) 471,048 TOTAL GOVERNMENTAL AGENCY ASSISTANCE 8,818,886

Schedule F IRS990ScheduleF

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedfalseGrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Account Activities Outside US AccountActivitiesOutsideUSGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
RegionMIDDLE EAST AND NORTH AFRICARegionTxt
Offices1OfficesCnt
Employee1EmployeeCnt
Type Of Activities ConductedESTABLISH RELATIONSTypeOfActivitiesConductedTxt
Region Total Expenditures$174,180RegionTotalExpendituresAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Subtotal Offices1SubtotalOfficesCnt
Subtotal Employees1SubtotalEmployeesCnt
Total Office1TotalOfficeCnt
Total Employee1TotalEmployeeCnt
Subtotal Spent$174,180SubtotalSpentAmt
Total Spent$174,180TotalSpentAmt
Transfer To Foreign CorpfalseTransferToForeignCorpInd
Interest In Foreign TrustfalseInterestInForeignTrustInd
Foreign Corp OwnershipfalseForeignCorpOwnershipInd
Passive Foreign Investmest CofalsePassiveForeignInvestmestCoInd
Foreign PartnershipfalseForeignPartnershipInd
Boycott CountriesfalseBoycottCountriesInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE F, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 3FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationMIDDLE EAST AND NORTH AFRICA 174,180 0ExplanationTxt

Schedule G IRS990ScheduleG

Fundraising Event Information FundraisingEventInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Event1FOUNDER'S DAYEvent1Nm
Gross Receipts Event1$55,000GrossReceiptsEvent1Amt
Charitable Contri Event1$55,000CharitableContriEvent1Amt
Food And Beverage Event1$6,016FoodAndBeverageEvent1Amt
Gross Receipts Total$55,000GrossReceiptsTotalAmt
Charitable Contributions Tot$55,000CharitableContributionsTotAmt
Food And Beverage Total Events$6,016FoodAndBeverageTotalEventsAmt
Direct Expense Summary Events$6,016DirectExpenseSummaryEventsAmt
Net Income Summary-$6,016NetIncomeSummaryAmt

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (true)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (2 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmtValuation Method UsedValuationMethodUsedDesc
INSTITUTIONAL AID1038$10,739,294FMV OF TUI
SCHOLARSHIPS - VARIOUS OU25$59,783FMV OF TUI

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSCHEDULE I, PAGE 1, PART I, LINE 2FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE PROCESS OF AWARDING STUDENT FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE WITHOUT EXCEEDING THE STUDENT'S FINANCIAL NEED IS TRADITIONALLY CALLED FINANCIAL AID PACKAGING. "NEED" IS DEFINED AS THE COST OF ATTENDANCE COA (TUITION, FEES, BOOKS, ROOM & BOARD, TRANSPORTATION, AND PERSONAL EXPENSES) MINUS THE EXPECTED FAMILY CONTRIBUTION EFC AS DETERMINED BY THE U.S. DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION NEED ANALYSIS FORMULA. THE COORDINATION OF INSTITUTIONAL GRANT AID OCCURS SUBSEQUENT TO THE FEDERAL REGULATIONS REQUIREMENT THAT FEDERAL AND STATE GRANT AID AWARDS BE DETERMINED FIRST. A DETERMINATION OF AN INSTITUTIONAL "SCHOLARSHIP" AWARD IS BASED ON ACADEMIC MERIT (CUMULATIVE GRADE POINT AVERAGE) ACHIEVED IN HIGH SCHOOL OR A PREVIOUS COLLEGE. A DETERMINATION OF AN INSTITUTIONAL "GRANT" AWARD IS BASED ON "REMAINING NEED." A STUDENT MAY RECEIVE BOTH A MERIT AND NEED AWARD. ONE-HALF OF EACH AWARD IS PAID IN EACH OF TWO SEMESTERS, WHICH IS CALLED AN "ACADEMIC YEAR." ANNUAL AGGREGATE BUDGET MAXIMUMS ARE ESTABLISHED FOR EACH INSTITUTIONAL AID AWARD TITLE. ACTUAL AWARDS TO STUDENTS ARE MADE BY THE DIRECTOR OF FINANCIAL AID. THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER MONITORS THE NUMBER OF, AND AMOUNTS OF, INSTITUTIONAL AID AWARDED TO ENROLLED STUDENTS ON A MONTHLY BASIS THROUGHOUT THE ACADEMIC YEAR. QUARTERLY STUDENT FILE REVIEWS ARE CONDUCTED TO ENSURE THAT ALL FEDERAL, STATE AND INSTITUTIONAL AID AWARDS DO NOT EXCEED THE STUDENT'S INITIAL "NEED." ANY AWARD DETERMINED TO EXCEED NEED IS ADJUSTED IN THE SUBSEQUENT SEMESTER AS A CORRECTIVE ACTION. AT THE END OF THE ACADEMIC YEAR, A SUMMARY OF THE AWARDS AND EXPENDITURES MADE IS REVIEWED WITH THE CHIEF FINANCIAL OFFICER SO THAT MERIT OR NEED AID BUDGET ADJUSTMENTS, IF ANY, ARE IN PLACE FOR THE SUBSEQUENT ACADEMIC YEAR.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance PaymentfalseSeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr PlanfalseSupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp ArrngmfalseEquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng OrgfalseCompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related OrgsfalseCompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng OrgfalseCompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd OrgsfalseCompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsfalseAnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract ExceptionfalseInitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (8 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmt
ERIC DARR
PRESIDENT$375,567$81,206$31,200$16,846$9,863$514,682
DUANE MAUN
CFO & COO$270,875$47,590$24,000$12,833$27,397$382,695
BILITA MATTES
PROVOST$216,700$30,396$11,280$9,923$27,402$295,701
JAY JAYAMOHAN
ED OF NEW VENTURES$197,000$35,000$7,680$9,959$11$249,650
ERIK NIELSEN
ED OF MENA REGION$300,000$52$300,052
FRANCIS SCHOFIELD
DIR OF LIVE ENTER$202,910$8,880$9,219$6$221,015
BEVERLY ANN MAGDA
ASSOC PROVOST$193,779$11,280$7,538$506$213,103
KELLY POWELL LOGAN
VP STRAT WORKFORCE$200,200$11,040$9,288$511$221,039

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINCUSIPCUSIPNumBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
BNY MELLON - 23825JAA1
A23233694923825JAA12017-07-12$7,240,000SEE PART VIfalsefalsefalse
BNY MELLON - 23825JAB9
B23233694923825JAB92017-07-12$3,000,000SEE PART VIfalsefalsefalse
BNY MELLON - 23825JAC7
C23233694923825JAC72017-07-12$23,270,000SEE PART VIfalsefalsefalse
BNY MELLON - 23825JAD5
D23233694923825JAD52017-07-12$24,505,000SEE PART VIfalsefalsefalse

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIn Reserve FundInReserveFundAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtUnspentUnspentAmtRefunding Tax Exempt BondsRefundingTaxExemptBondsIndRefunding Taxable BondsRefundingTaxableBondsIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd
A$765,319$7,410,283$520,194$125,212$327Yes (true)falseYes (true)Yes (true)
B$317,121$3,070,559$215,550$51,884$135Yes (true)falseYes (true)Yes (true)
C$2,459,802$23,817,305$1,671,951$402,444$1,050Yes (true)falseYes (true)Yes (true)
D$2,590,350$25,081,352$1,760,686$423,802$1,106Yes (true)falseYes (true)Yes (true)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
Afalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalse
Bfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalse
Cfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalse
Dfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalse

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
Afalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalse
Bfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalse
Cfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalse
Dfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalse

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
Afalse
Bfalse
Cfalse
Dfalse

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PURPOSE OF ISSUE DESCRIPTIONBNY MELLON - 23825JAA1 SEE PART VI
PURPOSE OF ISSUE DESCRIPTIONBNY MELLON - 23825JAB9 SEE PART VI
PURPOSE OF ISSUE DESCRIPTIONBNY MELLON - 23825JAC7 SEE PART VI
PURPOSE OF ISSUE DESCRIPTIONBNY MELLON - 23825JAD5 SEE PART VI
ADDITIONAL INFORMATIONBNY MELLON - 23825JAA1 TO CURRENTLY REFUND THE 2007B BONDS AND PAY COSTS AND EXPENSES OF ISSUING THE BONDS.
ADDITIONAL INFORMATIONBNY MELLON - 23825JAB9 TO CURRENTLY REFUND THE 2007B BONDS AND PAY COSTS AND EXPENSES OF ISSUING THE BONDS.
ADDITIONAL INFORMATIONBNY MELLON - 23825JAC7 TO CURRENTLY REFUND THE 2007B BONDS AND PAYS COSTS AND EXPENSES OF ISSUING THE BONDS.
ADDITIONAL INFORMATIONBNY MELLON - 23825JAD5 TO CURRENTLY REFUND THE 2007B BONDS AND PAY COSTS AND EXPENSES OF ISSUING THE BONDS.

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdBond Issuer EINBondIssuerEINCUSIPCUSIPNumBond IssuedBondIssuedDtIssue PriceIssuePriceAmtPurposePurposeDescDefeasedDefeasedIndOn Behalf Of IssuerOnBehalfOfIssuerIndPool FinancingPoolFinancingInd
BNY MELLON - 23825JAE3
A23233694923825JAE32020-12-30$4,255,000SEE PART VIfalsefalsefalse
BNY MELLON - 23825JAF0
B23233694923825JAF02020-12-30$6,640,000SEE PART VIfalsefalsefalse
BNY MELLON - 23825JAG8
C23233694923825JAG82020-12-30$74,105,000SEE PART VIfalsefalsefalse
BNY MELLON - 23825JAH6
D23233694923825JAH62020-12-30$15,000,000SEE PART VIfalsefalsefalse

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdRetiredRetiredAmtTotal ProceedsTotalProceedsAmtIn Reserve FundInReserveFundAmtIssuance Costs From ProceedsIssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmtUnspentUnspentAmtRefunding Tax Exempt BondsRefundingTaxExemptBondsIndRefunding Taxable BondsRefundingTaxableBondsIndFinal Allocation MadeFinalAllocationMadeIndAdequate Books And Rec MaintAdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd
A$61,852$3,558,187$313,030$27,081$331,172falsefalseYes (true)Yes (true)
B$96,521$5,552,612$488,488$42,260$516,800falsefalseYes (true)Yes (true)
C$1,077,212$61,969,322$5,451,720$471,639$5,767,689falsefalseYes (true)Yes (true)
D$218,044$12,543,551$1,103,513$95,467$1,167,470falsefalseYes (true)Yes (true)

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdOwning Bond Financed PropertyOwningBondFinancedPropertyIndAny Lease ArrangementsAnyLeaseArrangementsIndMgmt Contract Bond Fincd PropMgmtContractBondFincdPropIndAny Research AgreementsAnyResearchAgreementsIndBond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt TestBondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestIndChange In Use Bond Financed PropChangeInUseBondFinancedPropIndProcs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd
Afalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalse
Bfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalse
Cfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalse
Dfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalse

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdForm8038 T FiledForm8038TFiledIndRebate Not Due YetRebateNotDueYetIndException To RebateExceptionToRebateIndNo Rebate DueNoRebateDueIndVariable Rate IssueVariableRateIssueIndHedge Identified In Bks And RecHedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecIndGross Proceeds Invested In GICGrossProceedsInvestedInGICIndGross Proceeds InvestedGrossProceedsInvestedIndWritten Proc To Monitor ReqsWrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd
Afalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalse
Bfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalse
Cfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalse
Dfalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalsefalse

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp (4 entries)

Bond ReferenceBondReferenceCdProcedures Corrective ActionProceduresCorrectiveActionInd
Afalse
Bfalse
Cfalse
Dfalse

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (8 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PURPOSE OF ISSUE DESCRIPTIONBNY MELLON - 23825JAE3 SEE PART VI
PURPOSE OF ISSUE DESCRIPTIONBNY MELLON - 23825JAF0 SEE PART VI
PURPOSE OF ISSUE DESCRIPTIONBNY MELLON - 23825JAG8 SEE PART VI
PURPOSE OF ISSUE DESCRIPTIONBNY MELLON - 23825JAH6 SEE PART VI
ADDITIONAL INFORMATIONBNY MELLON - 23825JAE3 CONSTRUCTION AND DEVELOPMENT OF LAND FOR HEALTH SCIENCES EDUCATIONAL PROJECT, PROVISION FOR CAPITALIZED INTEREST, AND PAYMENT OF COSTS OF ISSUANCE.
ADDITIONAL INFORMATIONBNY MELLON - 23825JAF0 CONSTRUCTION AND DEVELOPMENT OF LAND FOR HEALTH SCIENCES EDUCATIONAL PROJECT, PROVISION FOR CAPITALIZED INTEREST, AND PAYMENT OF COSTS OF ISSUANCE.
ADDITIONAL INFORMATIONBNY MELLON - 23825JAG8 CONSTRUCTION AND DEVELOPMENT OF LAND FOR HEALTH SCIENCES EDUCATIONAL PROJECT, PROVISION FOR CAPITALIZED INTEREST, AND PAYMENT OF COSTS OF ISSUANCE.
ADDITIONAL INFORMATIONBNY MELLON - 23825JAH6 CONSTRUCTION AND DEVELOPMENT OF LAND FOR HEALTH SCIENCES EDUCATIONAL PROJECT, PROVISION FOR CAPITALIZED INTEREST, AND PAYMENT OF COSTS OF ISSUANCE.

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (7 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990 - ORGANIZATION'S MISSIONTHE HARRISBURG UNIVERSITY OF SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY OFFERS INNOVATIVE ACADEMIC AND RESEARCH PROGRAMS IN SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY THAT RESPOND TO LOCAL AND GLOBAL NEEDS. THE INSTITUTION FOSTERS A DIVERSE COMMUNITY OF LEARNERS, PROVIDES ACCESS AND SUPPORT TO STUDENTS WHO WANT TO PURSUE A CAREER IN SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY, AND SUPPORTS BUSINESS CREATION AND ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 11BA DRAFT RETURN IS PRESENTED TO THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS BEFORE FILING AND THE FINAL RETURN IS DISCUSSED IN A BOARD MEETING PROPR TO FILING THE RETURN.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 12CANNUALLY, THE MEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF DIRECTORS ARE GIVEN A DOCUMENT WHICH COVERS CONFLICTS OF INTEREST. THE MEMBERS ARE REQUIRED TO IDENTIFY POTENTIAL CONFLICTS AND SIGN THE DOCUMENT STATING WHETHER THEY HAVE A CONFLICT. IF AND WHEN CONFLICTS ARISE, BOARD MEMBERS ARE NOT ALLOWED TO PARTICIPATE IN THE DISCUSSION OR VOTING ON THE TRANSACTION TO ENSURE TRANSACTIONS ARE MADE AT ARMS LENGTH.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15ATHE COMPENSATION COMMITTEE (AN ARM OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE) DETERMINES THE COMPENSATION OF THE PRESIDENT. THE COMMITTEE USES COMPENSATION DATA PRODUCED BY NACUBO AND COMPARISONS OF OTHER INSTITUTIONS AND THEY ATTEMPT TO FACTOR IN THE LACK OF BENEFITS PAID AND THE FACT THAT THERE ARE NO RETIREMENT CONTRIBUTIONS BEING MADE.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 15BTHE BOARD AND THE PRESIDENT REVIEWED THE SALARIES OF SENIOR MANAGEMENT AND DETERMINED INCREASES.
FORM 990, PAGE 6, PART VI, LINE 19THIS INFORMATION IS MADE AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC UPON REQUEST.
FORM 990, PART XI, LINE 9DIRECT FUNDRAISING EXPENSES 6,016 STUDENT AID - OFFSET TO REVENUE ON FINANCIAL STATEMENT -10,799,077 DIRECT FUNDRAISING EXPENSES -6,016 STUDENT AID - EXPENSE ON FORM 990 10,799,077