FURP.ORG / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

BRIDGEWATER COLLEGE: Form 990, tax year 2023

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
BRIDGEWATER COLLEGE (EIN 54-0506306)
Tax period
2023-07-01 to 2024-06-30
Filed
2025-05-12
IRS object ID
202531329349301508
Schema version
2023v6.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2025-05-12T08:17:43-05:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2024-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN540504608PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BROWN EDWARDS & COMPANY LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1105 ARBOR DRIVE 3RD FLOORAddressLine1Txt
CityCHRISTIANSBURGCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP24073ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2023-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN540506306EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1BRIDGEWATER COLLEGEBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlBRIDBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5408285487PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1402 EAST COLLEGE STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityBRIDGEWATERCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22812ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonMICHAEL GROENERPersonNm
Person TitleINTERIM VP OF FINANCEPersonTitleTxt
Phone5408285487PhoneNum
Signature2025-05-09SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info Curr0IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonMARK WOOLWINEPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00647446PTIN
Phone5404433606PhoneNum
Preparation2025-05-09PreparationDt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2023TaxYr
Build TS2025-03-06 01:10:19ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerDAVID BUSHMANPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1402 EAST COLLEGE STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityBRIDGEWATERCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22812ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$90,675,744GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website AddressWWW.BRIDGEWATER.EDUWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1880FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateVALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionBRIDGEWATER COLLEGE IS A PRIVATE, COEDUCATIONAL, RESIDENTIAL, LIBERAL ARTS COLLEGE OF APPROXIMATELY 1,400 STUDENTSActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body26VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent25VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee892TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers41TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$37,630TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$36,951NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$9,426,938PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$9,067,815CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$69,356,008PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$73,966,698CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$1,922,538PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$5,653,968CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$1,245,746PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$940,766CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$81,951,230PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$89,629,247CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$38,964,738PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$42,515,415CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$23,762,877PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$25,757,624CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$1,508,981CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$28,979,188PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$29,325,598CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$91,706,803PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$97,598,637CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses-$9,755,573PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses-$7,969,390CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$215,060,961TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$211,735,125TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$61,505,323TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$62,631,711TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$153,555,638NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$149,103,414NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionBRIDGEWATER COLLEGE EDUCATES THE WHOLE PERSON BY PROVIDING A CHALLENGING AND SUPPORTIVE LEARNING COMMUNITY THAT FOSTERS THE GROWTH OF ITS STUDENTS AND EMPOWERS AND MOTIVATES THEM TO LIVE EDUCATED, INTELLIGENT, HEALTHY, PURPOSEFUL AND ETHICAL LIVES IN A GLOBAL SOCIETY. THE COLLEGE EMBRACES THE CORE VALUES OF INTEGRITY, EQUALITY, SERVICE AND COMMUNITY, WHICH HAVE BEEN INSPIRED BY ITS HISTORY WITH THE CHURCH OF THE BRETHREN. THE COLLEGE IS A WELCOMING, DIVERSE AND VIBRANT COMMUNITY, COMMITTED TO UNDERSTANDING AND RESPECTING INDIVIDUAL DIFFERENCES AND ACTIVELY ENGAGING ALL OF ITS MEMBERS.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$59,801,840ExpenseAmt
Grant$42,515,415GrantAmt
Revenue$58,049,577RevenueAmt
DescLOCATED ONLY TWO HOURS SOUTHWEST OF THE WASHINGTON, D.C., METRO AREA, BRIDGEWATER COLLEGE HAS A TOTAL ENROLLMENT OF APPROXIMATELY 1,400 STUDENTS AND OFFERS BACHELOR OF ARTS AND BACHELOR OF SCIENCE DEGREES IN MORE THAN 75 MAJORS AND MINORS, ALONG WITH PRE-PROFESSIONAL PROGRAMS SUCH AS MEDICINE AND LAW AND TEACHER LICENSURE. THE COLLEGE ALSO OFFERS MASTERS DEGREE PROGRAMS IN ATHLETIC TRAINING, DIGITAL MEDIA STRATEGY, PSYCHOLOGY, AND HUMAN RESOURCE MANAGEMENT. GROUNDED IN LIBERAL ARTS, STUDENTS AT BRIDGEWATER COLLEGE LEARN ABOUT A VARIETY OF DISCIPLINES, ENABLING THEM TO BECOME ARTICULATE, ANALYTICAL AND ASSERTIVE. THEY ARE CHALLENGED BY RIGOROUS ACADEMICS IN A CLOSE-KNIT COMMUNITY AND COLLABORATE WITH FACULTY TO CREATE PERSONALIZED AND UNIQUE LEARNING EXPERIENCES.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty2 ProgSrvcAccomActy2Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$9,270,803ExpenseAmt
Revenue$16,684,056RevenueAmt
DescTHE RESIDENTIAL CAMPUS IS LOCATED IN THE BEAUTIFUL SHENANDOAH VALLEY OF VIRGINIA. ON-CAMPUS HOUSING FEATURES SEVEN DORMITORIES, SHARED HOUSES KNOWN AS THE COTTAGES, APARTMENT-STYLE LIVING IN THE WAMPLER TOWERS, AND THE STONE VILLAGE HOUSING COMMUNITY. DINING OPTIONS INCLUDE THE MAIN DINING HALL IN THE KLINE CAMPUS CENTER AND SMITTY'S CAF IN THE FORRER LEARNING COMMONS.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty3 ProgSrvcAccomActy3Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$12,282,609ExpenseAmt
DescWITH MORE THAN 60 SOCIAL, CULTURAL, RELIGIOUS, AND ACADEMIC CLUBS AND ORGANIZATIONS, THERE'S ALWAYS SOMETHING HAPPENING ON CAMPUS. NEARLY A THIRD OF THE STUDENT BODY PARTICIPATES IN ONE OF THE 24 INTERCOLLEGIATE SPORTS BRIDGEWATER OFFERS AT THE NCAA DIVISION III LEVEL. STUDENTS ALSO HAVE THE OPPORTUNITY TO BENEFIT FROM THE BRIDGEWATER COLLEGE EQUESTRIAN CENTER IN WEYERS CAVE, VA., FOR RIDING LESSONS AND THE EQUESTRIAN TEAM; FITNESS OPPORTUNITIES THROUGH THE FUNKHOUSER CENTER FOR HEALTH AND WELLNESS; AN ARRAY OF INTRAMURAL SPORTS AND AN OUTDOOR PROGRAM; MUSICAL ENSEMBLES SUCH AS THE CONCERT CHOIR, CHORALE, SYMPHONIC BAND AND JAZZ ENSEMBLE; AND A RENOWNED ENDOWED LECTURE, LYCEUM AND CONVOCATION SERIES, WHICH BRINGS SPEAKERS AND ARTISTS FROM ACROSS THE COUNTRY TO THE COLLEGE.Desc

Prog Srvc Accom Acty Other ProgSrvcAccomActyOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Expense$7,301,981ExpenseAmt
Revenue$70,956RevenueAmt
DescACADEMIC SUPPORT AREAS AT BRIDGEWATER COLLEGE INCLUDE THE ACADEMIC ADVISING CENTER, THE ALEXANDER MACK LIBRARY, THE WRITING CENTER, THE INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY CENTER, THE OFFICE OF CAREER SERVICES AND THE ACADEMIC SUPPORT CENTER. REVENUES OF $18,219 ARE FOR BOOK COMMISIONS WITH THE ONLINE BOOK STORE, WHOSE OPERATIONS ARE OTHERWISE DIVORCED FROM BRIDGEWATER COLLEGE'S FINANCIAL STATEMENTS.Desc
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Other Prog Srvc Expense$7,301,981TotalOtherProgSrvcExpenseAmt
Total Other Prog Srvc Revenue$70,956TotalOtherProgSrvcRevenueAmt
Total Program Service Expenses$88,657,233TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying ActivitiesYes (1)LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of ArtYes (1)CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi EndowmentsYes (1)DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other SecYes (1)ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School OperatingYes (1)SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To IndividualsYes (1)GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J RequiredYes (1)ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt Bonds0TaxExemptBondsInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash ContriYes (1)DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded EntityYes (1)DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document1986IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Employee892EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over LimitYes (1)UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Form990 T FiledYes (1)Form990TFiledInd
Foreign Financial AccountYes (1)ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Foreign CountryCJForeignCountryCd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo ContributionsYes (1)QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contri DisclYes (1)QuidProQuoContriDisclInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members26GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member25IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business RlnYes (1)FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board Members0ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldNHStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
States Where Copy Of Return Is FldORStatesWhereCopyOfReturnIsFldCd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1THE ORGANIZATIONBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone5408285487PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1402 EAST COLLEGE STREETAddressLine1Txt
CityBRIDGEWATERCityNm
State AbbreviationVAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP22812ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (36 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtOfficerOfficerIndKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
D CORY ADAMSON
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
ANDREW B AGEE
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
D BRUCE CHRISTIAN
CHAIRMAN0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
ANDREW GROSSNICKLE
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
JENNIFER HEDRICK
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
HOPE H HICKMAN
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
LAWRENCE M JOHNSON
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
MICHAEL K KYLES
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
J ALLEN LAYMAN
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
CHERYL M MASCARENHAS
VICE CHAIRMAN0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
NATHAN H MILLER
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
PAUL E MUNDEY
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
WILFRED E NOLEN
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
JUSTIN PRUETT
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
BONNIE F RHODES
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
DENISE E SAUNDERS
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
MARK A SHERMAN
SECRETARY0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0Yes (X)
ASHLEY B SMITH
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
ROBERT I STOLZMAN
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
DONNA P WALKER
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
JAMES H WALSH
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
G BENJAMIN WAMPLER
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
DEWEY M WILLIARD
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
KATHY G WRIGHT
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID A YOUNG
TRUSTEE0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
DAVID W BUSHMAN
PRESIDENT40.00Yes (X)$362,911$0$19,810Yes (X)
STEPHEN BRIGHT
FORMER VP FOR FINANCE AND TREASUR40.00$230,030$0$17,244Yes (X)
MARGARET RINER ONCKEN
VP FOR INSTITUTIONAL ADVAN40.00$156,135$0$12,770Yes (X)
LEONA SEVICK
PROVOST & EXECUTIVE VICE P40.00$235,141$0$8,676Yes (X)
LESLIE FRERE
VP FOR STUDENT LIFE/DEAN O40.00$165,401$0$17,876Yes (X)
MICHAEL POST
VICE PRESIDENT FOR ENROLLM40.00$219,906$0$19,508Yes (X)
CAROL SCHEPPARD
PROFESSOR OF THE COLLEGE40.00$129,738$0$8,950Yes (X)
KRISTY RHEA
DIRECTOR OF INFORMATION TE40.00$143,730$0$5,934Yes (X)
AMBER PARKHURST
VP FOR MARKETING AND COMMUNICATIONS40.00$133,264$0$5,488Yes (X)
CURTIS KENDALL
DIRECTOR OF ATHLETICS40.00$127,272$0$14,149Yes (X)
PENNY REARDON
DIRECTOR OF FINANCE & BUDGET40.00$125,013$0$5,076Yes (X)
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$2,028,541TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$135,481TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K20IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 KYes (1)TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (5 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
WAM HOLDINGS LLC
42459 N CUMBERLAND DRIVEVAN BUREN TWPMI481112379HVAC$183,262
BOTKIN ROSE
3190 PEOPLES DRIVEHARRISONBURGVA22801LEGAL SERVICES$154,729
EDC
1660 HUGUENOT ROADMIDLOTHIANVA23113CONSTRUCTION MANAGEMENT$139,500
SOUTHARD AUDIO LLC
4301 TIMBER RIDGE ROADMOUNT CRAWFORDVA22841AUDIO VISUAL SERVICES$121,077
MUTECH LLC
PO BOX 262HARRISONBURGVA22803SOFTWARE DEVELOPMENT$120,000
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K5CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$346,661GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$8,721,154AllOtherContributionsAmt
Noncash Contributions$5,221,725NoncashContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$9,067,815TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (5 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
TUITION611310$57,200,148$57,200,148
RESIDENCE HALLS AND FACILITIES721310$8,840,364$8,840,364
DINING SERVICES AND CONFERENCES722514$7,843,692$7,843,692
OTHER PROGRAM SERVICE REVENUE611310$64,065$64,065
COLLEGE STORE445100$18,429$18,429
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$73,966,698TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,654,836TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue-$333UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$2,655,169ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$85,923RealAmt
Personal$20,515PersonalAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$70,831RealAmt
Personal$0PersonalAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$15,092RealAmt
Personal$20,515PersonalAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$35,607TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$20,515UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$15,092ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$3,225,592SecuritiesAmt
Other$749,206OtherAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$176,639SecuritiesAmt
Other$799,027OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$3,048,953SecuritiesAmt
Other-$49,821OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$2,999,132TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income-$49,821RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Exclusion$3,048,953ExclusionAmt

Other Revenue Misc OtherRevenueMiscGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmtUnrelated Business RevenueUnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
OTHER611310$621,810$604,362$17,448
STUDENT ACTIVITIES AND FEES611310$189,278$189,278
COPY SERVICES611310$47,138$47,138

Miscellaneous Revenue MiscellaneousRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$46,933TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$46,933RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Revenue Total$905,159OtherRevenueTotalAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$89,629,247TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$74,804,588RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$37,630UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$5,719,214ExclusionAmt

Grants To Domestic Individuals GrantsToDomesticIndividualsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$42,515,415TotalAmt
Program Services$42,515,415ProgramServicesAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,722,832TotalAmt
Program Services$600,350ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,900,467ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$222,015FundraisingAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$18,155,519TotalAmt
Program Services$15,803,585ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,620,788ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$731,146FundraisingAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$664,821TotalAmt
Program Services$551,111ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$88,847ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$24,863FundraisingAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,882,695TotalAmt
Program Services$1,460,954ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,350,875ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$70,866FundraisingAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,331,757TotalAmt
Program Services$1,116,818ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$158,522ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$56,417FundraisingAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$141,408TotalAmt
Program Services$6,144ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$135,264ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$52,807TotalAmt
Management And General$52,807ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Srvc Invst Mgmnt Fees FeesForSrvcInvstMgmntFeesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$718,900TotalAmt
Management And General$718,900ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$435,391TotalAmt
Program Services$174,253ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$261,138ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,443,008TotalAmt
Program Services$872,367ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$462,876ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$107,765FundraisingAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,695,366TotalAmt
Program Services$1,689,519ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General-$24,704ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$30,551FundraisingAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$4,261,585TotalAmt
Program Services$1,859,474ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$2,402,111ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$974,278TotalAmt
Program Services$876,007ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$51,383ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$46,888FundraisingAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,837,488TotalAmt
Program Services$1,832,321ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$5,167ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$5,847,082TotalAmt
Program Services$5,162,974ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$684,108ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$540,746TotalAmt
Program Services$151,330ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$389,416ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtFundraisingFundraisingAmt
UNRELATED BUSINESS INCO$8,320$8,320
OTHER$5,817,279$1,753,163$3,845,646$218,470
CAFETERIA EXPENSES$3,506,421$3,506,421
GROUNDS$2,045,519$1,613,867$431,652

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Program Services$6,200,892ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General-$6,200,892ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$97,598,637TotalAmt
Program Services$88,657,233ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$7,432,423ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$1,508,981FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,039,997BOYAmt
EOY$5,740,838EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$15,342,817BOYAmt
EOY$2,500,000EOYAmt

Pledges And Grants Receivable PledgesAndGrantsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,972,284BOYAmt
EOY$5,994,956EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$403,439BOYAmt
EOY$654,177EOYAmt

Oth Notes Loans Receivable Net OthNotesLoansReceivableNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$948,225BOYAmt
EOY$593,023EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$174,152,806LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$88,747,042LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$80,996,962BOYAmt
EOY$85,405,764EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$87,982,492BOYAmt
EOY$87,424,532EOYAmt

Investments Other Securities InvestmentsOtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$19,983,939BOYAmt
EOY$22,655,909EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$390,806BOYAmt
EOY$765,926EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$215,060,961BOYAmt
EOY$211,735,125EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$4,713,771BOYAmt
EOY$3,565,003EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,429,833BOYAmt
EOY$1,288,485EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,841,206BOYAmt

Unsecured Notes Loans Payable UnsecuredNotesLoansPayableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$49,158,999BOYAmt
EOY$54,761,037EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$3,361,514BOYAmt
EOY$3,017,186EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$61,505,323BOYAmt
EOY$62,631,711EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$37,634,993BOYAmt
EOY$30,347,700EOYAmt

Donor Restriction Net Assets DonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$115,920,645BOYAmt
EOY$118,755,714EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$153,555,638BOYAmt
EOY$149,103,414EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$215,060,961BOYAmt
EOY$211,735,125EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss-$7,969,390ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$3,517,166NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Info In Schedule O Part XIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartXIIInd
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit RequiredYes (1)FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd
Federal Grant Audit PerformedYes (1)FederalGrantAuditPerformedInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SchoolYes (X)SchoolInd

Gifts Grants Contri Rcvd170 GiftsGrantsContriRcvd170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$5,746,866CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$17,711,996CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$13,760,576CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$9,426,938CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$9,067,815CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$55,714,191TotalAmt

Total Calendar Year170 TotalCalendarYear170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$5,746,866CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$17,711,996CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$13,760,576CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$9,426,938CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$9,067,815CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$55,714,191TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total170$55,714,191PublicSupportTotal170Amt

Gross Investment Income170 GrossInvestmentIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$1,896,729CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$2,718,029CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years-$38,252CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$2,486,671CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$2,690,443CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$9,753,620TotalAmt

Other Income170 OtherIncome170Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$924,832CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$831,956CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$589,458CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$1,173,901CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$905,159CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$4,425,306TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Support$69,893,117TotalSupportAmt
Public Support CY1700.79710PublicSupportCY170Pct
Public Support PY1700.78820PublicSupportPY170Pct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY170Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY170Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule C IRS990ScheduleC

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
VolunteersYes (1)VolunteersInd
Paid Staff Or ManagementYes (1)PaidStaffOrManagementInd
Media Advertisements0MediaAdvertisementsInd
Mailings Members0MailingsMembersInd
Publications Or Broadcast0PublicationsOrBroadcastInd
Grants Other OrganizationsYes (1)GrantsOtherOrganizationsInd
Grants Other Organizations$733GrantsOtherOrganizationsAmt
Direct Contact Legislators0DirectContactLegislatorsInd
Rallies Demonstrations0RalliesDemonstrationsInd
Other Activities0OtherActivitiesInd
Total Lobbying Expenditures$733TotalLobbyingExpendituresAmt
Not Described Section501c30NotDescribedSection501c3Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART II-B, LINE 1:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationBRIDGEWATER COLLEGE BELONGS TO THE COUNCIL OF INDEPENDENT COLLEGES IN VIRGINIA AND THE NATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF INDEPENDENT COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES WHICH LOBBIES ON BEHALF OF ALL ITS MEMBER SCHOOLS AND THEIR STUDENTS, ON ISSUES OF IMPORTANCE TO PRIVATE HIGHER EDUCATION.ExplanationTxt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Coll Used Scholarly RsrchYes (X)CollUsedScholarlyRsrchInd
Collection Used PreservationYes (X)CollectionUsedPreservationInd
Solicited Assets Sale0SolicitedAssetsSaleInd

CY Endwmt Fund CYEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$102,601,810BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,296,422ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$8,059,738InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$3,342,736GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$4,419,107OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$685,094AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$103,511,033EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus1 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus1YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$97,906,052BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$2,988,397ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$9,519,661InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$3,342,736GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$3,719,646OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$749,918AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$102,601,810EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus2 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus2YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$122,095,181BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$1,028,923ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses-$16,975,218InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$5,059,800GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$2,356,946OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$826,088AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$97,906,052EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus3 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus3YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$91,944,523BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$4,251,863ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$31,313,874InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$3,196,225GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$1,506,848OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$712,006AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$122,095,181EndYearBalanceAmt

CY Minus4 Yr Endwmt Fund CYMinus4YrEndwmtFundGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Beginning Year Balance$95,758,089BeginningYearBalanceAmt
Contributions$745,288ContributionsAmt
Investment Earnings Or Losses$326,187InvestmentEarningsOrLossesAmt
Grants Or Scholarships$3,051,914GrantsOrScholarshipsAmt
Other Expenditures$1,260,749OtherExpendituresAmt
Administrative Expenses$572,377AdministrativeExpensesAmt
End Year Balance$91,944,523EndYearBalanceAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Board Designated Balance EOY0.00900BoardDesignatedBalanceEOYPct
Prmnnt Endowment Balance EOY0.62400PrmnntEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Term Endowment Balance EOY0.36700TermEndowmentBalanceEOYPct
Endowments Held Unrelated OrgYes (1)EndowmentsHeldUnrelatedOrgInd
Endowments Held Related Org0EndowmentsHeldRelatedOrgInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$288,138InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$288,138BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$328,847InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$124,805,842OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$65,620,620DepreciationAmt
Book Value$59,514,069BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$12,851,102OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$9,076,144DepreciationAmt
Book Value$3,774,958BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Investment Cost Or Other Basis$2,052,201InvestmentCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Other Cost Or Other Basis$33,826,676OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$14,050,278DepreciationAmt
Book Value$21,828,599BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$85,405,764TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Securities OtherSecuritiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescALTERNATIVE INVESTMENTSDesc
Book Value$22,655,909BookValueAmt
Method ValuationFMethodValuationCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Securities$22,655,909TotalBookValueSecuritiesAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
DescTRUST AND ANNUITY OBLIGATIONSDesc
Amt$3,017,186Amt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$3,017,186TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$49,305,881TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$3,517,166NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Other Revenue-$677,048OtherRevenueAmt
Revenue Not Reported$2,840,118RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$46,465,763RevenueSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld$718,900InvestmentExpensesNotIncldAmt
Other Revenues Not Included$42,444,584OtherRevenuesNotIncludedAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$43,163,484RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$89,629,247TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$53,758,105TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Other Expenses Included$70,831OtherExpensesIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Reported$70,831ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$53,687,274ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Investment Expenses Not Incld2$718,900InvestmentExpensesNotIncld2Amt
Other Expenses Not Included$43,192,463OtherExpensesNotIncludedAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$43,911,363ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$97,598,637TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
PART III, LINE 4:THE R.B. PRITCHETT MUSEUM COLLECTION, FORMERLY THE R. B. PRITCHETT MUSEUM, IS HOUSED IN BRIDGEWATER COLLEGE'S SPECIAL COLLECTIONS AND CONTAINS APPROXIMATELY 7,500 HISTORICAL ARTIFACTS, ARCHIVES, AND RARE BOOKS COLLECTED OVER THE YEAR BY THE PRIMARY DONOR AND OVER 350 ADDITIONAL DONORS. THE COLLECTION SERVES AS A HANDS ON TEACHING TOOL FOR STUDENTS ENTERING THE FIELD OF PUBLIC HISTORY, ACADEMIC HISTORY, ARCHIVAL SCIENCE, LIBRARY SCIENCE, MATERIAL CULTURE STUDIES AND COMMUNICATIONS.
PART X, LINE 2:MANAGEMENT HAS EVALUATED THE EFFECT OF THE GUIDANCE PROVIDED BY U.S. GENERALLY ACCEPTED ACCOUNTING PRINCIPLES ON ACCOUNTING FOR UNCERTAINTY IN INCOME TAXES AND BELIEVES THAT THE COLLEGE CONTINUES TO SATISFY THE REQUIREMENTS OF A TAX-EXEMPT ORGANIZATION. MANAGEMENT HAS ALSO EVALUATED ALL OTHER TAX POSITIONS THAT COULD HAVE A SIGNIFICANT EFFECT ON THE FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AND DETERMINED THE COLLEGE HAD NO UNCERTAIN INCOME TAX POSITIONS.
PART XI, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:CHANGE IN VALUE OF SPLIT INTEREST AGREEMENTS 36,782. NON-OPERATING EXPENSE NETTED IN REVENUE -713,830.
PART XI, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:SCHOLARSHIPS AND GRANTS 42,515,415. RENTAL EXPENSE -70,831.
PART XII, LINE 2D - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:RENTAL EXPENSES 70,831.
PART XII, LINE 4B - OTHER ADJUSTMENTS:SCHOLARSHIPS AND GRANTS 42,515,415. NON-OPERATING EXPENSE NETTED IN REVENUE 713,830. CHANGE IN VALUE OF SPLIT INTEREST AGREEMENTS -36,782.

Schedule E IRS990ScheduleE

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Nondiscriminatory Policy StmtYes (1)NondiscriminatoryPolicyStmtInd
Policy Stmt In Brochures EtcYes (1)PolicyStmtInBrochuresEtcInd
Plcy Pblczd Via Broadcast Media0PlcyPblczdViaBroadcastMediaInd
Maintain Racial Comp RecsYes (1)MaintainRacialCompRecsInd
Maintain Scholarships RecsYes (1)MaintainScholarshipsRecsInd
Maintain Cpy Of Brochures EtcYes (1)MaintainCpyOfBrochuresEtcInd
Maintain Cpy Of All SolYes (1)MaintainCpyOfAllSolInd
Discriminate Race Stdnts Rghts0DiscriminateRaceStdntsRghtsInd
Discriminate Race Admiss Plcy0DiscriminateRaceAdmissPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Emplm Fculty0DiscriminateRaceEmplmFcultyInd
Discriminate Race Schs0DiscriminateRaceSchsInd
Discriminate Race Educ Plcy0DiscriminateRaceEducPlcyInd
Discriminate Race Use Of Fclts0DiscriminateRaceUseOfFcltsInd
Discriminate Race Athlt Prog0DiscriminateRaceAthltProgInd
Discriminate Race Other Acty0DiscriminateRaceOtherActyInd
Government Financial Aid RcvdYes (1)GovernmentFinancialAidRcvdInd
Government Financial Aid Rvkd0GovernmentFinancialAidRvkdInd
Compliance With Rev Proc7550Yes (1)ComplianceWithRevProc7550Ind

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (2 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 3BRIDGEWATER COLLEGE DRAWS FROM A WIDE GEOGRAPHICAL AREA NOT COVERED BY ONE NEWSPAPER OR BROADCAST MEDIA AS A SOLICITATION FOR STUDENTS. AS REQUIRED BY REVENUE PROCEDURE 75-50, BRIDGEWATER COLLEGE HAS PUBLICIZED ITS RACIALLY NON-DISCRIMINATORY POLICY BY INCLUDING A STATEMENT OF THIS FACT IN ALL PUBLICATIONS AND PROMOTIONAL MATERIALS.
SCHEDULE E, PART I, LINE 6BRIDGEWATER COLLEGE RECEIVED FINANCIAL AID IN THE FORM OF PELL GRANTS, SEOG AND PERKINS LOANS WHICH WAS AWARDED TO OUR STUDENTS BASED ON FEDERAL GUIDELINES.

Schedule I IRS990ScheduleI

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Grant Records MaintainedYes (1)GrantRecordsMaintainedInd

Grants Other Asst To Indiv In US GrantsOtherAsstToIndivInUSGrp (2 entries)

Grant TypeGrantTypeTxtRecipientRecipientCntCash GrantCashGrantAmt
SCHOLARSHIPS AND DISCOUNTS1472$42,351,915
SEOG285$163,500

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE OFFICE OF FINANCIAL AID ADMINISTERS THE FOLLOWING POLICIES TO ASSURE THAT INSTITUTIONAL GRANTS AND SCHOLARSHIPS ARE USED FOR PROPER PURPOSES: THE AGGREGATE OF INSTITUTIONAL FUNDS THAT AN INDIVIDUAL STUDENT RECEIVES IS RESTRICTED TO AN AMOUNT EQUIVALENT TO TUITION AND FEES; ENROLLMENT IS CONFIRMED EACH SEMESTER PRIOR TO DISBURSEMENT OF INSTITUTIONAL FUNDS; ELIGIBILITY FOR ACADEMIC SCHOLARSHIPS IS LIMITED TO A MAXIMUM OF EIGHT SEMESTERS. RENEWAL GRADE POINT AVERAGE REQUIREMENTS ARE CHECKED AT THE END OF EACH ACADEMIC YEAR; ELIGIBILITY FOR INSTITUTIONAL GENERAL GRANTS REQUIRES A DEMONSTRATION OF NEED, BASED ON SUBMISSION OF THE FREE APPLICATION FOR FEDERAL STUDENT AID (FAFSA); ENDOWED SCHOLARSHIPS HAVE SELECTION CRITERIA SPECIFIC TO EACH FUND AND THE DIRECTOR OF FINANCIAL AID OVERSEES THE SELECTION OF ELIGIBLE STUDENTS; WHEN A STUDENT WITHDRAWS FROM SCHOOL, THE PERCENTAGE ADJUSTMENTS MADE TO INSTITUTIONAL AID ARE THE SAME AS THE PERCENTAGE ADJUSTMENTS MADE TO TUITION AS SPECIFIED IN THE CATALOG.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Idemnification Gross Up PmtsYes (X)IdemnificationGrossUpPmtsInd
Discretionary Spending AcctYes (X)DiscretionarySpendingAcctInd
Housing Allowance Or ResidenceYes (X)HousingAllowanceOrResidenceInd
Personal ServicesYes (X)PersonalServicesInd
Written Policy Ref T And E ExpnssYes (1)WrittenPolicyRefTAndEExpnssInd
Substantiation RequiredYes (1)SubstantiationRequiredInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed Payments0AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (6 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
DAVID W BUSHMAN
PRESIDENT$352,284$0$7,500$0$3,127$0$9,900$0$9,910$0$382,721$0$0$0
STEPHEN BRIGHT
FORMER VP FOR FINANCE AND TREASUR$230,030$0$0$0$0$0$6,901$0$10,343$0$247,274$0$0$0
LEONA SEVICK
PROVOST & EXECUTIVE VICE P$235,141$0$0$0$0$0$7,054$0$1,622$0$243,817$0$0$0
MICHAEL POST
VICE PRESIDENT FOR ENROLLM$219,806$0$0$0$100$0$6,594$0$12,914$0$239,414$0$0$0
LESLIE FRERE
VP FOR STUDENT LIFE/DEAN O$161,401$0$0$0$4,000$0$4,962$0$12,914$0$183,277$0$0$0
MARGARET RINER ONCKEN
VP FOR INSTITUTIONAL ADVAN$155,747$0$0$0$388$0$4,679$0$8,091$0$168,905$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 3FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationTHE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMPLETED A PERFORMANCE EVALUATION OF THE PRESIDENT AND APPROVED HIS COMPENSATION. THE COMMITTEE USED PEER SALARY DATA AND PUBLISHED SURVEYS FOR COMPARISONS. THE COMMITTEE ALSO REVIEWED THE COMPENSATION OF KEY EMPLOYEES.ExplanationTxt

Schedule M IRS990ScheduleM

Securities Publicly Traded SecuritiesPubliclyTradedGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Non Cash CheckboxYes (X)NonCashCheckboxInd
Contribution19ContributionCnt
Noncash Contributions Rpt F990$5,121,925NoncashContributionsRptF990Amt
Method Of Determining RevenuesAVE HIGH/LOW AT TRANSFERMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt

Other Non Cash Contri Table OtherNonCashContriTableGrp (2 entries)

Non Cash CheckboxNonCashCheckboxIndDescDescContributionContributionCntNoncash Contributions Rpt F990NoncashContributionsRptF990AmtMethod Of Determining RevenuesMethodOfDeterminingRevenuesTxt
Yes (X)LIVESTOCK1$90,000APPRAISAL
Yes (X)KAWAI GRAND PIANO1$9,800APPRAISAL
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Any Property That Must Be Held0AnyPropertyThatMustBeHeldInd
Review Process Unusual NC Gifts0ReviewProcessUnusualNCGiftsInd
Third Parties UsedYes (1)ThirdPartiesUsedInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePART I, LINE 32B:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationBRIDGEWATER COLLEGE UTILIZES THE SERVICES OF WELLS FARGO ADVISORS TO FACILITATE THE RECEIPT AND SALE OF STOCK GIFTS AND OTHER BROKERAGE ITEMS ON THE OPEN MARKET. BRIDGEWATER COLLEGE ALSO ENGAGES BOTKIN ROSE PLC TO BE THE INTERMEDIARY PARTY TO CONDUCT BUSINESS WITH VARIOUS SETTLEMENT AGENTS TO SELL REAL ESTATE THAT THE COLLEGE HAS BEEN GIFTED OR BEQUEATHED.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION A, LINE 2JUDGE STEVEN AGEE AND ANDREW AGEE ARE BROTHERS. JUDGE STEVEN AGEE WAS A LIFETIME TRUSTEE IN FISCAL YEAR 2022-2023 AND ANDREW AGEE WAS THE ONLY ONE THAT RETAINED VOTING RIGHTS DURING THIS TIME.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 11BSECTION B LINE 11B, THE 990 WAS MADE AVAILABLE ONLINE TO THE ENTIRE BOARD OF TRUSTEES. THE AUDIT COMMITTEE REVIEWED THE FORM AND APPROVED IT FOR FILING SUBJECT TO THE REVIEW BY THE FULL BOARD.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 12CMEMBERS OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES COMPLETE THE ANNUAL DISCLOSURE STATEMENT AND ANY DISCLOSURES ARE REVIEWED ACCORDING TO POLICY. THE DIRECTOR OF HUMAN RESOURCES COLLECTS THE ANNUAL DISCLOSURE FORMS FOR EMPLOYEES AND ANY EXCEPTIONS ARE REVIEWED BY THE VICE PRESIDENT FOR FINANCE.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION B, LINE 15THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES APPROVED THE PRESIDENT'S COMPENSATION. THE COMMITTEE USED PEER SALARY DATA FROM PUBLISHED SURVEYS FOR COMPARISON. THE COMMITTEE ALSO REVIEWED THE COMPENSATION FOR MEMBERS OF THE PRESIDENT'S CABINET.
FORM 990, PART VI, SECTION C, LINE 19BRIDGEWATER COLLEGE DOES NOT MAKE ITS GOVERNING DOCUMENTS AND FINANCIAL STATEMENTS AVAILABLE TO THE PUBLIC. THE COLLEGE'S CONFLICT OF INTEREST POLICY FOR EMPLOYEES IS AVAILABLE ON THE COLLEGE'S WEBSITE IN THE EMPLOYEE HANDBOOK
FORM 990, PART XII, LINE 3B:THERE WERE NO CHANGES TO THIS PROCESS.

Schedule R IRS990ScheduleR

Id Disregarded Entities IdDisregardedEntitiesGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityUSAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationUSAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPUSAddress/ZIPCdEINEINPrimary ActivitiesPrimaryActivitiesTxtLegal Domicile StateLegalDomicileStateCdEnd Of Year AssetsEndOfYearAssetsAmtBusiness Name Line1DirectControllingEntityName/BusinessNameLine1Txt
BRIDGEWATER COLLEGE PROPERTIES LLC
402 EAST COLLEGE STREETBRIDGEWATERVA22812540506306REAL ESTATEVA$205,000BRIDGEWATER COLLEGE
413-415 E COLLEGE STREET LLC
402 EAST COLLEGE STREETBRIDGEWATERVA22812REAL ESTATEVABRIDGEWATER COLLEGE