FURP.ORG / PUBLIC DATA EXPLORER

STONEHILL FRANCISCAN SERVICES: Form 990, tax year 2022

View the entire original 990 at ProPublica ↗

Organization
STONEHILL FRANCISCAN SERVICES (EIN 51-0141775)
Tax period
2022-07-01 to 2023-06-30
Filed
2023-11-13
IRS object ID
202333179349306088
Schema version
2022v5.0
Source
Download XML · Original 990 at ProPublica

Every field in the e-filed return. Faint text is the IRS element name, for citing.

Return header ReturnHeader

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return2023-11-13T13:04:10-06:00ReturnTs
Tax Period End2023-06-30TaxPeriodEndDt

Preparer Firm PreparerFirmGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer Firm EIN450250958PreparerFirmEIN

Preparer Firm Name PreparerFirmName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Eide Bailly LLPBusinessNameLine1Txt

Preparer US Address PreparerUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1800 Nicollet Mall Ste 1300AddressLine1Txt
CityMinneapolisCityNm
State AbbreviationMNStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP554027033ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Return Type990ReturnTypeCd
Tax Period Begin2022-07-01TaxPeriodBeginDt

Filer Filer

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
EIN510141775EIN

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Stonehill Franciscan ServicesBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name ControlSTONBusinessNameControlTxt
Phone5635577180PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13485 Windsor AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityDubuqueCityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP520011312ZIPCd

Business Officer BusinessOfficerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
PersonPeggy StockelPersonNm
Person TitlePresident/CEOPersonTitleTxt
Phone5635577180PhoneNum
Signature2023-11-06SignatureDt
Discuss With Paid PreparerYes (1)DiscussWithPaidPreparerInd

Signing Officer SigningOfficerGrp

Person Full Name PersonFullName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Person FirstPeggyPersonFirstNm
Person LastStockelPersonLastNm
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
SSN999009999SSN
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
IRS Responsible Prty Info CurrYes (1)IRSResponsiblePrtyInfoCurrInd

Preparer Person PreparerPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Preparer PersonKim Hunwardsen CPAPreparerPersonNm
PTINP00484560PTIN
Phone6122536500PhoneNum
Preparation2023-11-04PreparationDt

Additional Filer Information AdditionalFilerInformation

Trusted Customer TrustedCustomerGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Trusted Customer2TrustedCustomerCd
Authentication Assurance LevelAAL1AuthenticationAssuranceLevelCd
Identity Assurance LevelIAL1IdentityAssuranceLevelCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Tax2022TaxYr
Build TS2023-04-26 12:10:37ZBuildTS

Form 990 IRS990

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Principal OfficerPeggy StockelPrincipalOfficerNm

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13485 Windsor AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityDubuqueCityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP520011312ZIPCd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Gross Receipts$27,312,486GrossReceiptsAmt
Group Return For Affiliates0GroupReturnForAffiliatesInd
Group Exemption0928GroupExemptionNum
Organization501c3Yes (X)Organization501c3Ind
Website Addresswww.stonehilldbq.comWebsiteAddressTxt
Type Of Organization CorpYes (X)TypeOfOrganizationCorpInd
Formation1985FormationYr
Legal Domicile StateIALegalDomicileStateCd
Activity Or MissionProvide quality residential, respite, and health services for older adultsActivityOrMissionDesc
Voting Members Governing Body11VotingMembersGoverningBodyCnt
Voting Members Independent10VotingMembersIndependentCnt
Total Employee595TotalEmployeeCnt
Total Volunteers89TotalVolunteersCnt
Total Gross UBI$0TotalGrossUBIAmt
Net Unrelated Bus Txbl Incm$0NetUnrelatedBusTxblIncmAmt
PY Contributions Grants$541,632PYContributionsGrantsAmt
CY Contributions Grants$491,215CYContributionsGrantsAmt
PY Program Service Revenue$25,048,209PYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
CY Program Service Revenue$25,554,777CYProgramServiceRevenueAmt
PY Investment Income$90,039PYInvestmentIncomeAmt
CY Investment Income$30,596CYInvestmentIncomeAmt
PY Other Revenue$700PYOtherRevenueAmt
CY Other Revenue$600CYOtherRevenueAmt
PY Total Revenue$25,680,580PYTotalRevenueAmt
CY Total Revenue$26,077,188CYTotalRevenueAmt
PY Grants And Similar Paid$0PYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
CY Grants And Similar Paid$0CYGrantsAndSimilarPaidAmt
PY Benefits Paid To Members$0PYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
CY Benefits Paid To Members$0CYBenefitsPaidToMembersAmt
PY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$15,848,156PYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
CY Salaries Comp Emp Bnft Paid$15,945,785CYSalariesCompEmpBnftPaidAmt
PY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0PYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Prof Fndrsng Expns$0CYTotalProfFndrsngExpnsAmt
CY Total Fundraising Expense$0CYTotalFundraisingExpenseAmt
PY Other Expenses$9,621,846PYOtherExpensesAmt
CY Other Expenses$10,002,682CYOtherExpensesAmt
PY Total Expenses$25,470,002PYTotalExpensesAmt
CY Total Expenses$25,948,467CYTotalExpensesAmt
PY Revenues Less Expenses$210,578PYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
CY Revenues Less Expenses$128,721CYRevenuesLessExpensesAmt
Total Assets BOY$38,832,179TotalAssetsBOYAmt
Total Assets EOY$38,996,793TotalAssetsEOYAmt
Total Liabilities BOY$13,010,514TotalLiabilitiesBOYAmt
Total Liabilities EOY$12,784,512TotalLiabilitiesEOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances BOY$25,821,665NetAssetsOrFundBalancesBOYAmt
Net Assets Or Fund Balances EOY$26,212,281NetAssetsOrFundBalancesEOYAmt
Info In Schedule O Part IIIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartIIIInd
MissionWe, the Stonehill Franciscan Services community, in the spirit of St. Francis, offer a continuum of quality lifetime care in a dignified atmosphere.MissionDesc
Significant New Program Srvc0SignificantNewProgramSrvcInd
Significant Change0SignificantChangeInd
Expense$24,045,880ExpenseAmt
Revenue$25,554,777RevenueAmt
DescThe purpose of the organization is to operate a nursing home and an independent and assisted living facility which provides retirement housing for senior citizens. Stonehill Franciscan Services exists to enable seniors to enjoy an outstanding quality of life. The support services are designed to promote independence and compliment the efforts of family caregivers. Throughout the year each of the ministries provided unreimbursed care to the public for a community benefit total of approximately $995,836.The campus provides a complete continuum of care designed to create quality of life for residents with every level of need. Staff members bring a high degree of personal commitment to the task of caring for each individual. Medical therapy services include physical therapy, occupational therapy, and speech therapy.Assisi Village gives every resident the closeness to others that adds greatly to overall quality of life, without giving up personal space and a feeling of independence.Assisi Village's well-structured and supervised daily activities are a welcome alternative to staying at home.Desc
Total Program Service Expenses$24,045,880TotalProgramServiceExpensesAmt
Described In Section501c3Yes (1)DescribedInSection501c3Ind
Schedule B RequiredYes (1)ScheduleBRequiredInd
Political Campaign Acty0PoliticalCampaignActyInd
Lobbying Activities0LobbyingActivitiesInd
Subject To Proxy Tax0SubjectToProxyTaxInd
Donor Advised Fund0DonorAdvisedFundInd
Conservation Easements0ConservationEasementsInd
Collections Of Art0CollectionsOfArtInd
Credit Counseling0CreditCounselingInd
Donor Rstr Or Quasi Endowments0DonorRstrOrQuasiEndowmentsInd
Report Land Building EquipmentYes (1)ReportLandBuildingEquipmentInd
Report Investments Other Sec0ReportInvestmentsOtherSecInd
Report Program Related Invst0ReportProgramRelatedInvstInd
Report Other Assets0ReportOtherAssetsInd
Report Other LiabilitiesYes (1)ReportOtherLiabilitiesInd
Include FIN48 FootnoteYes (1)IncludeFIN48FootnoteInd
Independent Audit Fincl Stmt0IndependentAuditFinclStmtInd
Consolidated Audit Fincl StmtYes (1)ConsolidatedAuditFinclStmtInd
School Operating0SchoolOperatingInd
Foreign Office0ForeignOfficeInd
Foreign Activities0ForeignActivitiesInd
More Than5000 K To Org0MoreThan5000KToOrgInd
More Than5000 K To Individuals0MoreThan5000KToIndividualsInd
Professional Fundraising0ProfessionalFundraisingInd
Fundraising Activities0FundraisingActivitiesInd
Gaming Activities0GamingActivitiesInd
Operate Hospital0OperateHospitalInd
Grants To Organizations0GrantsToOrganizationsInd
Grants To Individuals0GrantsToIndividualsInd
Schedule J Required0ScheduleJRequiredInd
Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)TaxExemptBondsInd
Invest Tax Exempt Bonds0InvestTaxExemptBondsInd
Escrow Account0EscrowAccountInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Engaged In Excess Benefit Trans0EngagedInExcessBenefitTransInd
PY Excess Benefit Trans0PYExcessBenefitTransInd
Loan Outstanding0LoanOutstandingInd
Grant To Related Person0GrantToRelatedPersonInd
Business Rln With Org Mem0BusinessRlnWithOrgMemInd
Business Rln With Fam Mem0BusinessRlnWithFamMemInd
Business Rln With35 Ctrl Ent0BusinessRlnWith35CtrlEntInd
Deductible Non Cash Contri0DeductibleNonCashContriInd
Deductible Art Contribution0DeductibleArtContributionInd
Terminate Operations0TerminateOperationsInd
Partial Liquidation0PartialLiquidationInd
Disregarded Entity0DisregardedEntityInd
Related Entity0RelatedEntityInd
Related Organization Ctrl Ent0RelatedOrganizationCtrlEntInd
Trnsfr Exmpt Non Chrtbl Rltd Org0TrnsfrExmptNonChrtblRltdOrgInd
Activities Conducted Prtshp0ActivitiesConductedPrtshpInd
Schedule O RequiredYes (1)ScheduleORequiredInd
IRP Document36IRPDocumentCnt
IRP Document W2 G0IRPDocumentW2GCnt
Backup Wthld ComplianceYes (1)BackupWthldComplianceInd
Employee595EmployeeCnt
Employment Tax Returns FiledYes (1)EmploymentTaxReturnsFiledInd
Unrelated Bus Incm Over Limit0UnrelatedBusIncmOverLimitInd
Foreign Financial Account0ForeignFinancialAccountInd
Prohibited Tax Shelter Trans0ProhibitedTaxShelterTransInd
Taxable Party Notification0TaxablePartyNotificationInd
Nondeductible Contributions0NondeductibleContributionsInd
Quid Pro Quo Contributions0QuidProQuoContributionsInd
Form8282 Property Disposed Of0Form8282PropertyDisposedOfInd
Rcv Fnds To Pay Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0RcvFndsToPayPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Pay Premiums Prsnl Bnft Cntrct0PayPremiumsPrsnlBnftCntrctInd
Indoor Tanning Services0IndoorTanningServicesInd
Subj To Tax Rmnrtn Ex Prcht Pymt0SubjToTaxRmnrtnExPrchtPymtInd
Subject To Excs Tax Net Invst Inc0SubjectToExcsTaxNetInvstIncInd
Info In Schedule O Part VIYes (X)InfoInScheduleOPartVIInd
Governing Body Voting Members11GoverningBodyVotingMembersCnt
Independent Voting Member10IndependentVotingMemberCnt
Family Or Business Rln0FamilyOrBusinessRlnInd
Delegation Of Mgmt Duties0DelegationOfMgmtDutiesInd
Change To Org Documents0ChangeToOrgDocumentsInd
Material Diversion Or Misuse0MaterialDiversionOrMisuseInd
Members Or Stockholders0MembersOrStockholdersInd
Election Of Board MembersYes (1)ElectionOfBoardMembersInd
Decisions Subject To Approva0DecisionsSubjectToApprovaInd
Minutes Of Governing BodyYes (1)MinutesOfGoverningBodyInd
Minutes Of CommitteesYes (1)MinutesOfCommitteesInd
Officer Mailing Address0OfficerMailingAddressInd
Local Chapters0LocalChaptersInd
Form990 Provided To Gvrn BodyYes (1)Form990ProvidedToGvrnBodyInd
Conflict Of Interest PolicyYes (1)ConflictOfInterestPolicyInd
Annual Disclosure Covered PrsnYes (1)AnnualDisclosureCoveredPrsnInd
Regular Monitoring EnfrcYes (1)RegularMonitoringEnfrcInd
Whistleblower PolicyYes (1)WhistleblowerPolicyInd
Document Retention PolicyYes (1)DocumentRetentionPolicyInd
Compensation Process CEOYes (1)CompensationProcessCEOInd
Compensation Process OtherYes (1)CompensationProcessOtherInd
Investment In Joint Venture0InvestmentInJointVentureInd
Upon RequestYes (X)UponRequestInd

Books In Care Of Detail BooksInCareOfDetail

Business Name BusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Susan PearceBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Phone5636909630PhoneNum

US Address USAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line13485 Windsor AvenueAddressLine1Txt
CityDubuqueCityNm
State AbbreviationIAStateAbbreviationCd
ZIP52001ZIPCd

Form990 Part VII Section A Form990PartVIISectionAGrp (18 entries)

TitleTitleTxtAverage Hours Per WeekAverageHoursPerWeekRtIndividual Trustee Or DirectorIndividualTrusteeOrDirectorIndOfficerOfficerIndReportable Comp From OrgReportableCompFromOrgAmtReportable Comp From Rltd OrgReportableCompFromRltdOrgAmtOther CompensationOtherCompensationAmtKey EmployeeKeyEmployeeIndHighest Compensated EmployeeHighestCompensatedEmployeeInd
Gretchen Brown
President/CEO40.00Yes (X)Yes (X)$294,836$0$41,856
Susan Pearce
CFO-Secretary/Treasurer40.00Yes (X)$232,346$0$40,162
Peggy Stockel
VP of Operations40.00$218,838$0$21,209Yes (X)
Karla Waldbillig
VP of Human Resources40.00$205,908$0$55,257Yes (X)
Matthew Jahn
Director of Health Service40.00$104,777$0$3,510Yes (X)
Kim Budde
Chair0.50Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jodie McDermott
Vice Chair0.50Yes (X)Yes (X)$0$0$0
John McDermott
Director0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Sr Brenda Whestone
Director0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Lynn Osterhaus
Director0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Jeff Mozena
Director0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Randy Ambrosy
Director0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Dave Davis
Director0.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Sr Pat Clemen
Director as of Aug 20220.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Kim Hermsen
Director as of Feb 20230.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Sr Carol Ann Berte
Director thru Aug 20220.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Sr Camilla Hemann
Director thru Oct 20220.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
Sr Jean Beringer
Director thru Oct 20220.50Yes (X)$0$0$0
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Reportable Comp From Org$1,056,705TotalReportableCompFromOrgAmt
Tot Reportable Comp Rltd Org$0TotReportableCompRltdOrgAmt
Total Other Compensation$161,994TotalOtherCompensationAmt
Indiv Rcvd Greater Than100 K5IndivRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Former Ofcr Employees Listed0FormerOfcrEmployeesListedInd
Total Comp Greater Than150 K0TotalCompGreaterThan150KInd
Compensation From Other Srcs0CompensationFromOtherSrcsInd

Contractor Compensation ContractorCompensationGrp (2 entries)

Address Line1ContractorAddress/USAddress/AddressLine1TxtCityContractorAddress/USAddress/CityNmState AbbreviationContractorAddress/USAddress/StateAbbreviationCdZIPContractorAddress/USAddress/ZIPCdServicesServicesDescCompensationCompensationAmt
Conlon Construction
PO Box 3400DubuqueIA520043400Construction$2,186,414
Select Rehabilitation LLC
PO Box 71985ChicagoIL606941985Therapy services$1,877,530
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Cntrct Rcvd Greater Than100 K2CntrctRcvdGreaterThan100KCnt
Government Grants$46,000GovernmentGrantsAmt
All Other Contributions$445,215AllOtherContributionsAmt
Total Contributions$491,215TotalContributionsAmt

Program Service Revenue ProgramServiceRevenueGrp (3 entries)

DescDescBusinessBusinessCdTotal Revenue ColumnTotalRevenueColumnAmtRelated Or Exempt Func IncomeRelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Resident Service Revenue623000$25,162,583$25,162,583
Amortization of Advance Fees900099$168,368$168,368
Gym Memberships713940$106,598$106,598

Total Oth Program Service Rev TotalOthProgramServiceRevGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$117,228TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$117,228RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Program Service Revenue$25,554,777TotalProgramServiceRevenueAmt

Investment Income InvestmentIncomeGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$174,397TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$174,397ExclusionAmt

Gross Rents GrossRentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$600RealAmt

Less Rental Expenses LessRentalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$0RealAmt

Rental Income Or Loss RentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Real$600RealAmt

Net Rental Income Or Loss NetRentalIncomeOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$600TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion$600ExclusionAmt

Gross Amount Sales Assets GrossAmountSalesAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,091,497SecuritiesAmt

Less Cost Oth Basis Sales Expnss LessCostOthBasisSalesExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities$1,190,286SecuritiesAmt
Other$45,012OtherAmt

Gain Or Loss GainOrLossGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Securities-$98,789SecuritiesAmt
Other-$45,012OtherAmt

Net Gain Or Loss Investments NetGainOrLossInvestmentsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column-$143,801TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Exclusion-$143,801ExclusionAmt

Total Revenue TotalRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Revenue Column$26,077,188TotalRevenueColumnAmt
Related Or Exempt Func Income$25,554,777RelatedOrExemptFuncIncomeAmt
Unrelated Business Revenue$0UnrelatedBusinessRevenueAmt
Exclusion$31,196ExclusionAmt

Comp Current Ofcr Directors CompCurrentOfcrDirectorsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$814,549TotalAmt
Program Services$238,836ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$575,713ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Salaries And Wages OtherSalariesAndWagesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$12,718,514TotalAmt
Program Services$12,117,099ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$601,415ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Pension Plan Contributions PensionPlanContributionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$280,768TotalAmt
Program Services$270,387ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$10,381ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Employee Benefits OtherEmployeeBenefitsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$1,156,388TotalAmt
Program Services$1,077,719ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$78,669ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Payroll Taxes PayrollTaxesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$975,566TotalAmt
Program Services$891,197ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$84,369ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Legal FeesForServicesLegalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$15,061TotalAmt
Program Services$1,084ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$13,977ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Accounting FeesForServicesAccountingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$51,420TotalAmt
Management And General$51,420ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Fees For Services Other FeesForServicesOtherGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,457,422TotalAmt
Program Services$2,201,667ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$255,755ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Advertising AdvertisingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$145,290TotalAmt
Program Services$98,082ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$47,208ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Office Expenses OfficeExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$631,522TotalAmt
Program Services$543,600ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$87,922ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Information Technology InformationTechnologyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$71,735TotalAmt
Program Services$64,115ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$7,620ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Occupancy OccupancyGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$854,531TotalAmt
Program Services$854,531ProgramServicesAmt

Travel TravelGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$48,331TotalAmt
Program Services$31,530ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$16,801ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Conferences Meetings ConferencesMeetingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$14,336TotalAmt
Program Services$14,336ProgramServicesAmt

Interest InterestGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$326,537TotalAmt
Program Services$326,537ProgramServicesAmt

Depreciation Depletion DepreciationDepletionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$2,794,974TotalAmt
Program Services$2,794,974ProgramServicesAmt

Insurance InsuranceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$195,126TotalAmt
Program Services$144,254ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$50,872ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Other Expenses OtherExpensesGrp (4 entries)

DescDescTotalTotalAmtProgram ServicesProgramServicesAmtManagement And GeneralManagementAndGeneralAmt
Food$798,509$798,509
Medical supplies$708,507$708,507
Repairs and maintenance$475,166$472,959$2,207
Bad debt expense$211,212$211,212

All Other Expenses AllOtherExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$203,003TotalAmt
Program Services$184,745ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$18,258ManagementAndGeneralAmt

Total Functional Expenses TotalFunctionalExpensesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$25,948,467TotalAmt
Program Services$24,045,880ProgramServicesAmt
Management And General$1,902,587ManagementAndGeneralAmt
Fundraising$0FundraisingAmt

Cash Non Interest Bearing CashNonInterestBearingGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,100BOYAmt
EOY$1,100EOYAmt

Savings And Temp Cash Invst SavingsAndTempCashInvstGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$5,220,712BOYAmt
EOY$7,715,292EOYAmt

Accounts Receivable AccountsReceivableGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,723,339BOYAmt
EOY$1,225,670EOYAmt

Inventories For Sale Or Use InventoriesForSaleOrUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$92,525BOYAmt
EOY$116,902EOYAmt

Prepaid Expenses Defrd Charges PrepaidExpensesDefrdChargesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$108,165BOYAmt
EOY$94,566EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Land Bldg Equip Cost Or Other Bss$53,899,066LandBldgEquipCostOrOtherBssAmt
Land Bldg Equip Accum Deprec$27,343,854LandBldgEquipAccumDeprecAmt

Land Bldg Equip Basis Net LandBldgEquipBasisNetGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$28,783,652BOYAmt
EOY$26,555,212EOYAmt

Investments Pub Traded Sec InvestmentsPubTradedSecGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$2,902,686BOYAmt
EOY$3,134,647EOYAmt

Other Assets Total OtherAssetsTotalGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$0BOYAmt
EOY$153,404EOYAmt

Total Assets TotalAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$38,832,179BOYAmt
EOY$38,996,793EOYAmt

Accounts Payable Accr Expnss AccountsPayableAccrExpnssGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$1,722,655BOYAmt
EOY$1,942,507EOYAmt

Deferred Revenue DeferredRevenueGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$246,027BOYAmt
EOY$689,433EOYAmt

Tax Exempt Bond Liabilities TaxExemptBondLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$10,177,682BOYAmt
EOY$9,626,555EOYAmt

Other Liabilities OtherLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$864,150BOYAmt
EOY$526,017EOYAmt

Total Liabilities TotalLiabilitiesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$13,010,514BOYAmt
EOY$12,784,512EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Organization Follows FASB117Yes (X)OrganizationFollowsFASB117Ind

No Donor Restriction Net Assets NoDonorRestrictionNetAssetsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$25,821,665BOYAmt
EOY$26,212,281EOYAmt

Total Net Assets Fund Balance TotalNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$25,821,665BOYAmt
EOY$26,212,281EOYAmt

Tot Liab Net Assets Fund Balance TotLiabNetAssetsFundBalanceGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
BOY$38,832,179BOYAmt
EOY$38,996,793EOYAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Reconcilation Revenue Expnss$128,721ReconcilationRevenueExpnssAmt
Net Unrlzd Gains Losses Invst$261,895NetUnrlzdGainsLossesInvstAmt
Other Changes In Net Assets$0OtherChangesInNetAssetsAmt
Method Of Accounting AccrualYes (X)MethodOfAccountingAccrualInd
Accountant Compile Or Review0AccountantCompileOrReviewInd
FS AuditedYes (1)FSAuditedInd

FS Audited Basis FSAuditedBasisGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Consolidated Basis Fincl StmtYes (X)ConsolidatedBasisFinclStmtInd
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Audit CommitteeYes (1)AuditCommitteeInd
Federal Grant Audit Required0FederalGrantAuditRequiredInd

Schedule A IRS990ScheduleA

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Publicly Supported Org509a2Yes (X)PubliclySupportedOrg509a2Ind

Gifts Grants Contris Rcvd509 GiftsGrantsContrisRcvd509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$303,209CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$5,317,519CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$5,207,640CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$541,632CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$491,215CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$11,861,215TotalAmt

Gross Receipts Admissions GrossReceiptsAdmissionsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$22,061,493CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$22,874,095CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$24,015,667CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$25,048,209CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$25,554,777CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$119,554,241TotalAmt

Total509 Total509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$22,364,702CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$28,191,614CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$29,223,307CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$25,589,841CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$26,045,992CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$131,415,456TotalAmt

Amounts Rcvd Dsqlfy Person AmountsRcvdDsqlfyPersonGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Substantial Contributors Amt SubstantialContributorsAmtGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt

Subst And Dsqlfy Prsns Tot SubstAndDsqlfyPrsnsTotGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total$0TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support Total509$131,415,456PublicSupportTotal509Amt

Gross Investment Income509 GrossInvestmentIncome509Grp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$145,482CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$70,109CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$31,187CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$81,254CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$174,997CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$503,029TotalAmt

Investment Income And UBTI InvestmentIncomeAndUBTIGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$145,482CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$70,109CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$31,187CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$81,254CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$174,997CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$503,029TotalAmt

Total Support Calendar Year TotalSupportCalendarYearGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Current Tax Year Minus4 Years$22,510,184CurrentTaxYearMinus4YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus3 Years$28,261,723CurrentTaxYearMinus3YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus2 Years$29,254,494CurrentTaxYearMinus2YearsAmt
Current Tax Year Minus1 Year$25,671,095CurrentTaxYearMinus1YearAmt
Current Tax Year$26,220,989CurrentTaxYearAmt
Total$131,918,485TotalAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Public Support CY5090.99620PublicSupportCY509Pct
Public Support PY5090.99710PublicSupportPY509Pct
Investment Income CY0.00380InvestmentIncomeCYPct
Investment Income PY0.00290InvestmentIncomePYPct
Thirty Thr Pct Suprt Tests CY509Yes (X)ThirtyThrPctSuprtTestsCY509Ind

Schedule B IRS990ScheduleB

Contributor Information ContributorInformationGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
ContributorRESTRICTEDContributorNum

Contributor Business Name ContributorBusinessName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1RESTRICTEDBusinessNameLine1

Contributor US Address ContributorUSAddress

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Address Line1RESTRICTEDAddressLine1
Address Line2RESTRICTEDAddressLine2
CityRESTRICTEDCity
StateRESTRICTEDState
ZIP CodeRESTRICTEDZIPCode
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total ContributionsRESTRICTEDTotalContributionsAmt

Schedule D IRS990ScheduleD

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Agent Trustee Etc0AgentTrusteeEtcInd

Land LandGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$582,305OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Book Value$582,305BookValueAmt

Buildings BuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$46,565,122OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$23,787,238DepreciationAmt
Book Value$22,777,884BookValueAmt

Equipment EquipmentGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$4,558,441OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$2,836,901DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,721,540BookValueAmt

Other Land Buildings OtherLandBuildingsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Other Cost Or Other Basis$2,193,198OtherCostOrOtherBasisAmt
Depreciation$719,715DepreciationAmt
Book Value$1,473,483BookValueAmt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Book Value Land Buildings$26,555,212TotalBookValueLandBuildingsAmt

Other Liabilities Org OtherLiabilitiesOrgGrp (5 entries)

DescDescAmtAmt
Affiliated organization payable$191,926
Refundable advance fees$61,280
Construction payable$106,050
Accrued interest payable$27,358
Operating lease liability$139,403
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Total Liability$526,017TotalLiabilityAmt
Footnote TextYes (X)FootnoteTextInd
Total Rev Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$26,339,083TotalRevEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Net Unrealized Gains Invst$261,895NetUnrealizedGainsInvstAmt
Revenue Not Reported$261,895RevenueNotReportedAmt
Revenue Subtotal$26,077,188RevenueSubtotalAmt
Revenue Not Reported Fincl Stmt$0RevenueNotReportedFinclStmtAmt
Total Revenue Per Form990$26,077,188TotalRevenuePerForm990Amt
Tot Expns Etc Audited Fincl Stmt$25,948,467TotExpnsEtcAuditedFinclStmtAmt
Expenses Not Reported$0ExpensesNotReportedAmt
Expenses Subtotal$25,948,467ExpensesSubtotalAmt
Expenses Not Rpt Fincl Stmt$0ExpensesNotRptFinclStmtAmt
Total Expenses Per Form990$25,948,467TotalExpensesPerForm990Amt

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart X, Line 2:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationManagement believes that it has appropriate support for any tax positions taken affecting its annual filing requirements, and, as such, does not have any uncertain tax positions that are material to the financial statements. The Organization would recognize future accrued interest and penalties related to unrecognized tax benefits and liabilities in income tax expense, if such interest and penalties are incurred.ExplanationTxt

Schedule J IRS990ScheduleJ

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Compensation CommitteeYes (X)CompensationCommitteeInd
Compensation SurveyYes (X)CompensationSurveyInd
Board Or Committee ApprovalYes (X)BoardOrCommitteeApprovalInd
Severance Payment0SeverancePaymentInd
Supplemental Nonqual Rtr Plan0SupplementalNonqualRtrPlanInd
Equity Based Comp Arrngm0EquityBasedCompArrngmInd
Comp Based On Revenue Of Flng Org0CompBasedOnRevenueOfFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd On Rev Related Orgs0CompBsdOnRevRelatedOrgsInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Flng Org0CompBsdNetEarnsFlngOrgInd
Comp Bsd Net Earns Rltd Orgs0CompBsdNetEarnsRltdOrgsInd
Any Non Fixed PaymentsYes (1)AnyNonFixedPaymentsInd
Initial Contract Exception0InitialContractExceptionInd

Rltd Org Officer Trst Key Empl RltdOrgOfficerTrstKeyEmplGrp (4 entries)

TitleTitleTxtBase Compensation Filing OrgBaseCompensationFilingOrgAmtCompensation Based On Rltd OrgsCompensationBasedOnRltdOrgsAmtBonus Filing OrganizationBonusFilingOrganizationAmountBonus Related OrganizationsBonusRelatedOrganizationsAmtOther Compensation Filing OrgOtherCompensationFilingOrgAmtOther Compensation Rltd OrgsOtherCompensationRltdOrgsAmtDeferred Compensation Flng OrgDeferredCompensationFlngOrgAmtDeferred Comp Rltd OrgsDeferredCompRltdOrgsAmtNontaxable Benefits Filing OrgNontaxableBenefitsFilingOrgAmtNontaxable Benefits Rltd OrgsNontaxableBenefitsRltdOrgsAmtTotal Compensation Filing OrgTotalCompensationFilingOrgAmtTotal Compensation Rltd OrgsTotalCompensationRltdOrgsAmtComp Report Prior990 Filing OrgCompReportPrior990FilingOrgAmtComp Report Prior990 Rltd OrgsCompReportPrior990RltdOrgsAmt
Gretchen Brown
President/CEO$249,836$0$45,000$0$0$0$8,700$0$33,216$0$336,752$0$0$0
Susan Pearce
CFO-Secretary/Treasurer$167,346$0$65,000$0$0$0$7,024$0$33,198$0$272,568$0$0$0
Peggy Stockel
VP of Operations$178,743$0$40,095$0$0$0$6,384$0$14,886$0$240,108$0$0$0
Karla Waldbillig
VP of Human Resources$155,908$0$50,000$0$0$0$6,961$0$48,356$0$261,225$0$0$0

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferencePart I, Line 7FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationBonuses are discretionary and not based on any predetermined criteria.ExplanationTxt

Schedule K IRS990ScheduleK

Tax Exempt Bonds Issues TaxExemptBondsIssuesGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd

Issuer Name IssuerName

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Business Name Line1Iowa Finance AuthorityBusinessNameLine1Txt
FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond Issuer EIN521699886BondIssuerEIN
CUSIP000000000CUSIPNum
Bond Issued2019-12-23BondIssuedDt
Issue Price$11,959,100IssuePriceAmt
PurposeRefund bonds issued 9/7/2011 Series 2011A and expansion of facilities.PurposeDesc
Defeased0DefeasedInd
On Behalf Of Issuer0OnBehalfOfIssuerInd
Pool Financing0PoolFinancingInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Proceeds TaxExemptBondsProceedsGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Retired$556,896RetiredAmt
Total Proceeds$11,959,100TotalProceedsAmt
Issuance Costs From Proceeds$237,314IssuanceCostsFromProceedsAmt
Capital Expenditures$5,801,107CapitalExpendituresAmt
Other Spent Proceeds$5,920,679OtherSpentProceedsAmt
Substantial Completion2021SubstantialCompletionYr
Refunding Tax Exempt BondsYes (1)RefundingTaxExemptBondsInd
Refunding Taxable Bonds0RefundingTaxableBondsInd
Final Allocation MadeYes (1)FinalAllocationMadeInd
Adequate Books And Rec MaintYes (1)AdequateBooksAndRecMaintInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Private Bus Use TaxExemptBondsPrivateBusUseGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Owning Bond Financed Property0OwningBondFinancedPropertyInd
Any Lease Arrangements0AnyLeaseArrangementsInd
Mgmt Contract Bond Fincd Prop0MgmtContractBondFincdPropInd
Any Research Agreements0AnyResearchAgreementsInd
Private Bus Use By Others0.00000PrivateBusUseByOthersPct
Private Bus Concerning UBI0.00000PrivateBusConcerningUBIPct
Total Private Business Use0.00000TotalPrivateBusinessUsePct
Bond Iss Meet Prvt Sec Pymt Test0BondIssMeetPrvtSecPymtTestInd
Change In Use Bond Financed Prop0ChangeInUseBondFinancedPropInd
Procs Nonqualified Bond RemdtdYes (1)ProcsNonqualifiedBondRemdtdInd

Tax Exempt Bonds Arbitrage TaxExemptBondsArbitrageGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Form8038 T Filed0Form8038TFiledInd
Rebate Not Due Yet0RebateNotDueYetInd
Exception To Rebate0ExceptionToRebateInd
No Rebate Due0NoRebateDueInd
Variable Rate IssueYes (1)VariableRateIssueInd
Hedge Identified In Bks And Rec0HedgeIdentifiedInBksAndRecInd
Gross Proceeds Invested In GIC0GrossProceedsInvestedInGICInd
Gross Proceeds Invested0GrossProceedsInvestedInd
Written Proc To Monitor ReqsYes (1)WrittenProcToMonitorReqsInd

Procedures Corrective Action ProceduresCorrectiveActionGrp

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Bond ReferenceABondReferenceCd
Procedures Corrective ActionYes (1)ProceduresCorrectiveActionInd

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail

FieldValueIRS element (for citing)
Form And Line ReferenceSchedule K, Part II, Line 1:FormAndLineReferenceDesc
ExplanationThe amount reported on Part II, line 1 represents the cumulative amount of principal repaid on the Revenue Notes as of June 30, 2023.ExplanationTxt

Schedule O IRS990ScheduleO

Supplemental Information Detail SupplementalInformationDetail (6 entries)

Form And Line ReferenceFormAndLineReferenceDescExplanationExplanationTxt
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 1aThe Board of Directors may, by resolution, create an Executive Committee. The Executive Committee consists of the officers of the corporation and the President/CEO of the facility. This committee has and may exercise all powers of the Board of Directors between meetings of the Board of Directors. The committee must report all its rulings to the Board of Directors at the next regular or special meeting of the Board. The Executive Committee does not have the authority of the Board of Directors to amend the Articles of Incorporation, adopt a plan of merger or consolidation, recommend to the Directors the sale, lease, exchange or other disposition of all or substantially all of the property and assets of the corporation, unless in the normal course of business, dissolution of the corporation, or amending the Bylaws.
Form 990, Part VI, Section A, line 7aThe Sisters of St. Francis of Dubuque, Iowa shall have the right to select not less than thirty percent (30%) nor greater than forty percent (40%) of the members of the board of directors.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 11bA copy of the Form 990 is reviewed by the entire Board before it is filed. The President/CEO and CFO review the 990.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 12cStonehill Franciscan Services has conflict of interest policies completed each year by all Board members thus monitoring any potential conflicts. The Board Chairperson reviews the statements and follows up on any potential conflicts. Any actual or potential duality or conflict of interest including but not limited to ownership or control of any entity that contracts with the Stonehill Franciscan Services for any products or services shall be disclosed to the other members of the Board and made a matter of record in the minutes when the subject of such interest becomes a matter of Board action. When a conflict arises, the Board member is not allowed to vote on the issue and may be excused from the meeting.
Form 990, Part VI, Section B, line 15The President/CEO's compensation is determined by the Executive Committee of the Board with salary adjustment recommendations based on an annual performance evaluation and comparability data. The CFO's compensation is determined by the President/CEO with approval by the Board of Directors with salary adjustment recommendations based on an annual performance evaluation and comparability data. The Key employee's compensation is determined by the President/CEO. The overall budget is approved by the board with salary adjustment recommendations based on an annual performance evalutation and comparability data. The Organization documents and provides substantiation for their compensation process. The process is completed yearly.
Form 990, Part VI, Section C, line 19The Organization's governing documents, conflict of interest policy, and financial statements are available to the public upon written request.